Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Madrid House 1 stars

Barbieri, 1, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#273 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 260 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 46

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no one there to let me in on arrival. Be sure to email them mintutes before you arrive. They never answered my calls. In the end it wasn’t a big deal. Madrid itself made up for it.

    It’s the best hotel experience because it’s not complicated. You feel as if you live there. No annoy staff and at any time did hear or see another client. It was like a private apartment.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning lady is the de facto receptionist, but nobody answered the bell. We got it tailgating other people. They didn’t have the room booking and the cleaning lady had to phone up somebody to confirm. 20’ later it was sorted. Bad, bad welcome management by the owners. Also- the room air conditioner should be binned: big like a fridge and noisy like a car engine. Impossible to keep open while sleeping, or you won’t sleep. To the owners: You need to have 2 pillows on a double bed, and not a single ultra long and thin pillow shared by 2 people. The most uncomfortable pillow in my life.

    Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was not aware that you can't check in between 2-6 pm. I had to hurry and get there before 2pm. It was a little inconvenient. Other than that all was well.

    Proximity to everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very very small. I requested check in between 9 and 10 and arrived at 9:30 only to find no one there. After calling they said not until noon. What is the purpose of asking guests for their arrival time if it is just going to be ignored?

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nobody present when we arrived and neither they picked up the phone call. When a lady arrive she did not speak english nor did understand it. Sadly, she forgot to apologize for the delay. The room was dim-lighted and a bit stuffed. Not recommended for english-speakers.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1) emergency light in the room lightened the whole room during the night (could not be switched off) 2) no breakfast service 3) no reception service (e.g. noclack room for late check out) Fortunately when I arrived, the cleaning lady was still there to let me in, otherwise I was standing on the street with my luggage at a closed hotel. 4) no one speaking English: the ad hoc receptionist communicated with me via Google Translate on her tablet.

    1) location, right near Chueca, excellent to go out. 2) comfortable bathroom 3) free safe & fridge available

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some staffs couldn't speak English and I had to communicate with them by my broken Spanish.

    The staff was helpfull. there are some complementary like tea, coffe, soda and water in the room. It was very clean.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast served at nearby cafe so not a great thing. But that is minor criticism.

    Excellent value hotel in the city centre and very close (next block) to Gran Via. Easy to get to. Helpful staff. Spotlessly clean and free wifi

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    there are many thing to mention here. first of all this is not a hotel. the place is an apartment has 7 small rooms, we stayed there for 5 days and we got the smallest room. we didn't like the place at all. the bed was very uncomfortable. the room was not clean, they clean our room only once. we couldn't get clean towels because the stuff never there and when we called we got answer machine and they never get back to us. the breakfast is the worst part of it. they gave us ticket per day to use it in the restaurant under the building. breakfast was only half glas old orange juice and half cup thee and only dry old bread, we were surprised that we paid extra for breakfast and they just ripped us off. this place is rip off. I advice people o think very good before saying at this place.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a budget place, you have to accept certain limitations for the price you pay. For us it was a place to have a shower and sleep. I would stay there again.

    I liked the location, and although my partner and myself are straight, we were Ok at having a room in the heart of Madrid's Gay area. One thing you can be sure of in that circumstance is great bars and restaurants. The place was very lively but very noisy at the weekend. We were able to walk to every location that we wished to visit in Madrid

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a 24 hour reception, breakfast is not available for early birds (starts 9.30 am), was quite noisy outside during weekend nights, because bars are just outside :)

    nice hotel in the city center, great wifi

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is poor and not inside the hotel, staff hardly speaks English, no lift, mini bar was not working

    Location is very central, close to Gran Via, rooms are comfortable and air conditioned, cheap

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air con machine was not fixed properly to the outside

    Great location. Very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisey Weird room layout Not 24h reception

    Good location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy air condition. The room is dark. Actually under renovation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of plain

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    None of the staff really speak English, but we made it work in the end.

    Fantastic location, and phenomenal value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy outside during the night

    Room nicely decorated and loved the hot tub.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location right in the centre of Chueca. Really good value for money. Very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard to find. Room was small.

    Great location. Good value.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no receptionist any time of the day or no one to talk to.

    The bed should be more comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    not very clean. the mattress of the bed was not in a good condition. very uncomfortable. It should have been replaced years ago. breakfast is served in a bar nearby and only after 9H30. it's not very good. the bar smells bad from the night before.

    the workers were nice.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    staff was incredible and polite, taking care of all my needs (Thanks Nuria for being so nice). Cleanliness is perfect and location is marvellous for visiting the city. Value for money = 10.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The room was very small for two people and so was the bed. When we booked, it wasn't specified that the breakfast, for which we had paid, was served at the bar at the corner, which only opens at 9.30 AM. At this time, we wanted to be already strolling through the city, visiting museums and such. We found a solution (having breakfast in our room with a boiler and some snacks), but it wasn't what we expected. The street facing the place can be a little noisy at night, but not a big deal. We also found the basin right next to our bed to be very uncomfortable, as water spills all over the floor

    This place is in a perfect location (a few steps away from the Gran Via, which means city centre and Chueca as well), it's kept very clean and the staff are super nice and helpful. They tried and did their best to make up for any misunderstanding. They are super fast in replying to emails and are always cheerful. There's a supermarket just round the corner and a lot of off-licence shops open until late. Loads of nice tapas restaurants are also in the area or, better said, in the street just under the hotel. The bar at the corner serves perfect espresso and we really enjoyed it!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bathroom is a sliding door closet, which makes the act of making a bowel movement with another person in the room a tad too intimate. The bed was quite firm and was a double and there's a lot of street noise in the mornings even with the blinds pulled down. There was also a broken 20-year-old computer (full disc drive and all) in there.

    The location is right in the heart of the Gran Via area and the gay village. You''re only steps away from great food, great sights and great nightlife. The room had a functioning jacuzzi and two balconies. There was free water and soda in the fridge as well.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were given an internal room with no natural light which was not in the description. Had that been on the room type when booking we would not have booked this hotel. It was very noisy internally. The running water was loud from very early morning. The flat above us obviously had a child who ran around agsin from early morning. With both of these issues I hardly slept. Not the direct fault of the hotel but none the less it took from our overall experience. You only got one set of keys. The staff were not on site at night time which concerned me should there be an issue with accessing the property.

    Location was excellent. In the centre of everything that we needed. Was clean. Room serviced every day.

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Problem with communicaton in English language.

    Nice place, nice and clean small room, short distances to city center and bars. You can walk everywhere.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I have stayed here twice before, over one year ago. The rooms and bedding have a general smoky smell and the bedding has not changed since. Some more cleaning and removal of unnecessary decoration such as dry flowers, could reduce the dust in the rooms. There is a useless huge computer in the room which I never used but has a dirty key board and an old style tower! Overall, a good place to stay if you get the right price.

    The location was perfect. Just a few minutes walk from Gran Via metro. Free wifi. Nice rain shower!

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - this hotel is located at the first floor of an old building. Our room was facing the street. This is quite a busy street so we could really hear the noise all night long. Madrid people party well, all night long (literally!) - the walls are thin so one can hear quite well the neighbors. - the ceiling is probably the original one and probably a wooden one so you can hear the person from the floor above walking

    - although the reception closes at 21h00, there was someone waiting for us when we arrived at 23h. It was also due to the fact we've informed them we're gonna arrive later. - location is close to Gran Via, to Chueca metro station and at a walking distance of many bars and restaurants. You don't need to go to the touristic areas to eat/drink.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Personnel is not speaking English. But they are very friendly

    Perfect location for going out. Close to metro station, as well in the heart of night life. If you are looking for party that is the best location

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Entrance was king of off putting when I initially arrived. I was unsure I was at the right location. No major sign. They could do a better job with the entrance. But overall it is still a great location and comfortable clean stay. My biggest disappointment was the Restaurant in the corner. The Angel Azul cafe, they overcharge for breakfast, $6 euro, for a piece of toast, tea and Scramble eggs. I don't recommend it. they seem to be trying to rip of tourist.

    Room was very clean, small but perfect for resting after a long day walking, shopping and touring. Free wi fi was added bonus. The hostel is close to many restaurant bars, la gran via and my major attractions. Ideal location

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing worth mentioning

    Location in Chueca is great, busy but not too noisy. Friendly staff, nice bed (might be too hard for some though), transfer to and from airport (at a fee), very clean, quirky interior

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing. Except perhaps improve the cleaning a little. The bedsheets had a smokey smell.

    Location - one minute from Gran Via metro. Very central. Good sized room for a city hotel. Clean bathroom. Nice rain shower.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    cleaning lady entered my room on the 2nd day morning when i was sleeping without knocking. really bad. i believe this was as isolated case and didn't affect my evaluation.

    Location, shower, AC, very nice receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy heating system which made so much noise it would wake us up! The breakfast (which you can have in your room) is minimal - orange juice, coffee and toast downstairs in the café or a soft biscuit if in your room. The staff do not speak English-they are not present all the time-we did not know they were leaving early so one day she was about to go and we had not had our room cleaned - luckily we caught the cleaner with 10 minutes to spare who gave us fresh towels - I'm being honest and these things are trivial when I think about our overall experience which was very good

    The style of the room with balcony, shutters, lighting and hot tub, free soft drinks in the fridge replaced each day, location, free wifi, security and décor.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows could be more firm. There was some mould in the bathroom. Otherwise perfect! :)

    We liked almost everything execpt...

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The noise at night due to the location and the pillow could be better.

    Staff very nice and helpful, excellent location, clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small room and the bed could have been softer and larger.

    Quiet location and nice staff. Tidy room.

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bathroom should be cleaned better.

    Location is amazing, room is fine.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Solo traveller

    NOTHING

    LOCATION,CLEANLESS,QUITE

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It's a great place to stay, location, Internet. The stuff are so friendly, clean rooms and I recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Get rid of the large bath and make a more spacious room . No 6

    Location was great ,

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    very nice room, close to the city center

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Perfect location, clean and tidy room, lovely staff, highly recommended! I will be back!

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and price

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pillow was very difficult to sleep with and very flat.

    Location, friendly, staff, free Wi-Fi a big plus. Very clean room.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 46

Browse Madrid House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: