Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Maga 1 stars

Iriarte, 11, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Spain

#95 of 108 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 315 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    6.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Just a basic place to stay at, I personally wouldn't call it a hotel. Smelly room, could barely feel fresh air after letting it in, old and poorly equipped bathroom, not as clean as seen on pictures. The room was noisy during the whole night until early morning e.g. passers-by, street cleaner machine. No parking nearby.

    Central place, everything within a 5 min walk. The restaurant downstairs is authentic, their food is delicious!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise carries from the street but it's not horrendous. Otherwise a clean, basic hotel that's very central.

    It's basic, clean and very good value for money. Our room was large with a little balcony, decent sized wardrobe and plenty of hangers. Room was cleaned every day. Shower was hot and a good pressure. Would use it again for a short stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, smelly room. The bathroom was not en-suite. It was across the hall-way. The staff didn't speak English. Lift started from 1st floor. No-one helped with baggage. Locked after 11:30pm, so you have to knock to get back into hotel. No free parking nr hotel. No hotel parking either. Worst thing was so noisy that got woken up by cleaners talking loudly and some big loud vaccuum cleaner early in the morning.

    Room was big

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can get noisy outside but that's due to revellers. Hotel is very good. Very good food and prices are also good. All pictures of the hotel Maga are exact. I requested more pillows and got them immediately. We extended our stay there without any difficulty

    Family relaxed friendly place

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic accomodation. Furniture looks all second hand. Can get very, very noisy at night. No parking.

    Extremely helpful staff. Very central location. 3 minute walk from restaurants and pubs. A good place for a short break.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were a little shabby, e.g. with some rotting around the window frames, and they weren't the cleanest either. Some of the staff were lovely and v welcoming, but others seemed a little hostile and unfriendly.

    Perfect location a 1-minute walk from the main plaza. (Some reviews comment on the noises from the central street but we didn't find this a problem, rather it added to the atmosphere!) Comfortable room with a nice balcony, and good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor electrics. Only one socket in bathroom and this tripped a fuse when I used my travel hairdryer. Staff had to sort it but did this very quickly.

    Free wi fi and safe. Had a balcony

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old and basic. Noisy gathering of people somewhere nearby until 4am. Street cleaning machine from around 7am. Seems the place is more like a cafe bar with rooms. In the hotel we saw no staff other than the person who checked us in. We had already paid for the room so just left the key. We didn't have breakfast there but went to a sea front cafe du paris and sat outside. We have stayed in that immediate area before and that hotel was a little less basic and not as noisy. Wouldn't have liked to stay more than one night

    Central location on pedestrian square. Cheap.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you are like me and find it silly to change on the bed more than once a week, this is not the place to be thinking like that. There are bedbugs here so have them change the sheets on the third day. Make sure they change the pillowcase too. Some places they just turn it around. The noise from the bar. It's very loud on friday and saturday nights but even though it's not as loud on weekdays it's still loud

    Great view. Ok bed. Good shower. Lots of hot water.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In weekends there was A LOT of noise at 5 am when bar's closed and all the young beoples come to sit right under the hotels rooms. It was impossible to sleep longer thant 5 during the weekens.

    Location was really in "middle of everything"!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    bed is so old, it sound creeeekkk... when you move. they dont replace my towel they dont speak english bro, you better be ready. but its ok, they know what you mean.

    i love the view on my room, it was great. there is a elevator, but you need to go up 1 level, what is the point of that? hot water and wifi is really good, i am at 2nd floor.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Most of the time there was noone at the reception, each time we needed to talk to someone it took ages and required repetitive asking the restaurant staff (in Spanish, as noone spoke English). It seems they are too busy with the restaurant to take care of the hotel. I booked a room with a balcony facing the square but got one without it.

    The room was clean and comfortable, the location is great - next to a lively square in the very center of the city.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    extremely noisy,badly isolated, no double windows. in other words: you won't sleep well.

    central location, surrounded by retaurants and bars but extremely noisy hotel, no double windows and therefore very noisy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel is obviously within a party/disco area. Very noisy all night. On Saturday night very noisy until approx 5 am. Without doubt, the noisiest room ever (Room 106).

    Location with Puerto is good. Good size of room. Excellent shower!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The one man on reception could have been more sociable ,like when l said hello he could have spoken back.

    The bed was very comfy the room was very clean if a little noisey at times someone seemed to bang nails in the wall above or something like that

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in took forever. Nobody maning there desk. Difficult to find entrance as it was looked. Entrance through restaurant!

    Nice location otherwise it would have been poor.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not recommend Hotel Maga! On site look great, but when you get into the room things change radically. Starting with the smell of the room, to the linen and cleaning. It smells like old furniture, linen was not freshly washed and towels were stained. The bed was uncomfortable, old and to small. We asked for a double bed, but I got room with separate bed. The breakfast was poorly!

    The only strong point is location, right in the center of Puerto de la Cruz.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts a bit frugal.

    Staff very friendly and helpful, unfortunately didn't speak much English. Location great, near buses, in centre of town, good restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    location too noisy, late night noise until 4-5am every day...and had to have window open otherwise like a sauna in the room

    staff helpful, large room, good shower

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very noisy during the night before 3-4am, then it gets quieter, but after that the machines cleaning the streets start making so much noise at 6-7am! Another issue were the towels, I presume they were washed on a low temperature or maybe with not too much of a detergent, as they still had some dirty smell caught in them.. Bed was okayish but oh my god the pillow(s).....one thin long pillow for two, which resembles a folded sheet - yes that thin.. you just have a hard time sleeping on that.

    Overall it's an okay little hotel, it's completely normal to be noisy because it's right in the middle of the city centre. Yes it was noisy but if you are a person who is all about nightlife you will be fine when you go home to sleep after 3-4am. It's not the hotel's fault it's noisy. It's an affordable good place to stay if you go to bed late.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you can't sleep if it's noisy, then look somewhere else. On one hand the bar downstairs is open until late, then the city workers wash the streets at odd times, then they pick the rubbish up and the noise doesn't stop until early in the morning. Windows are not very good at isolating the noise.

    location was good, even though finding a parking space was a nightmare. The nearest one I found where I could leave my car more than 8am was on top of a hill, about 15min away. It's near the beach so I suppose parking is not the easiest, just as it would be in a city centre. Staff were pleasant and the breakfast was enough to get us through until 4pm. The one star is probably for the noise, but this was definitely better than the 3* we slept in in Berlin

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed very uncomfortable, no extra pillows, no balcony

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    It was a surprise that toilet and shower was on the corridor. There wasn't enough light to read in the evenings.

    The locations was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, good value

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bad was uncomfortable.

    Cleen, size of room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No iron in room.

    Large comfy bed. Powerful shower and balcony overlooking street

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioner...

    Price, big room, cleanness

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The unfriendly staff, no aircon and the windows did not open properly.

    The staff were unfriendly and the breakfast poor.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough clean.

    Nice locations.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was very central. It was basic but clean and a good size. I would stay there again purely because it was so convenient for everything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little bit noisy

    evrething is good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was old and uncomfortable, the bathroom had seen better days and had a bad odor.

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness. Very poor.

    Nothing horrible place

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very very noisy in the area all night from clubs. not hotel fault, earplugs needed

    Excellent value, great location, clean and friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location downtown

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My son s room 301 smelled terrible I would have not been able to stay in that room

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed not very comfortable

    Central to everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street as people pass by from nightclubs.

    Friendly staff and cheap restaurant below.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise......

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were rude, only speaking intermittently, unfortunately the noise outside on Fri/Sat was terrible and whilst it is lovley that the cleanliness of the street outside is maintained to a high standard, every morning 6am really!

    The location was great, room was cleaned daily and the bed was comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    One electric socket was loose on wall but not a major problem.

    Large room, overlooking Maga Square which was a great view, could even see Mount Teide from window. Stayed mid-week and it was quite quiet despite having window open. Very clean and friendly. Nice roof terrace. Great value.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was in a really bad condition. The smell was strong and disgusting, of the chlorine. The room was poor with 2 beds instead of the fact that I ordered twin. The bathroom was dirty. The reception employee did not want to change the room when we asked for. Bigger problem relates to the reception itself - the lady dissapeared for more than 40 minutes during check-out time and we couldn't leave the hotel and travel further. WIFI - is working only in the common area, downstairs, not in the rooms.

    Hotel in the good location, in the city center.

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I had an own bathroom, but it was on the opposite side of the corridor and I had to use separate key for it and that was a bit uncomfortable. This was not clear from the description of the reservation.

    If you want to stay in an authentic surroundings and want to use your money for something else than for a luxurious hotel room, Maga is your choice!

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The owner or manager was sooo unfriendly, he would not even say hello, on one occasion he turned the tv off when I was watching it. It made me angry !

    I liked the location .

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Facilities are old, the bathroom is bad. Wifi is only available in front of the front desk. You have to wait 10 min for checking in and out. And very difficult to find a English speaker for surface.

    The location is very good. It's convenient to go everywhere in La Cruz.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately 2-3 sentences are not enough to mention everything. If you don't know Spanish, the language barrier between you and the staff is as big as the Great Wall of China. The hotel room (107) was fairly clean, but the common area looks really dirty. The breakfast is only two really hard loaves of bread, some butter, some jam, and a cheese & meat plate. Many people get their own things starting from day 2. If your room is looking into the street, you won't be able to sleep. The glass and the frame so thin that you think everyone passing through the street is walking next to your bed. Old, uncomfortable bed and shower with unreliable water temperature. Oh, and as if none of them were bad enough, the ceiling started leaking at 1 am in the morning! The staff fixed (!) it by putting two towels where the water drops. We listened to the drops until we went to sleep. And of course, no internet internet in the rooms. Please pay some more and get a decent place. This is your holiday!

    It was central. The hotel staff was willing to help, but they seem like they don't know how to deal with the problems in hotel business.

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The shower head on the shower needed replaced as spray went everywhere not expensive to replace and would make such a difference Breakfast needs to improve was disappointing

    The Staff were very helpful and nice especially Sonia nothing was to much trouble for her she was excellent Would stay here again

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only for party people, very noisy, sleeping impossible because of loud music in clubs nearby. Quite old hotel (old bathroom - peeling paint on bath), poor breakfast, no English speaking staff,

    great location, close to bus station and beach, but at a price of noisy nights (until morning!)

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Too low standard as for hotel in Tenererife. Only for Party people, we could not sleep till 6 am as music club is around and we had to change the hotel eventually.

    Great center location. Basic rooms.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not a dislike, but through no fault of hotel Maga,parking spaces are very limited in the town.---mainly due to loads of hire cars . Expect to get some exercise walking at times ! !

    As a regular visitor to Maga I always get a warm welcome. Staff are friendly, rooms are comfortable. It is in central PDLCruz so some " chatter" can be heard from the paseos below--all part of Spanish life.

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was fiesta time for the first 3 nights and very noisy until the early hours of the morning, but that is the price you pay for such a central location.

    very friendly atmosphere, and all the guests talk to eachother which is great when you are on your own. Nice Tapas Bar and not a bad restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Peeling paint on bath and holes in Lino floor. Only one tiny pouch of shower gel for two days stay. Breakfast is two white rolls and some coffee. Luxury it ain't. Pay a little more for a far better experience elsewhere.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My mattress wasn't very comfortable though I slept through the night every time so can't really complain.

    My room was very big with a balcony overlooking the street.My TV was changed the same day I notified the receptionist.The staff at the reception, the cleaners and the waiters were extremely friendly and made me feel at home:) The meals were excellent!!! :) Very good value for money :)

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Avoid the restaurant rest rooms in the morning, the chlorine they use to wash them really knocked me out for a couple of hours.

    My room turned away from the street, looking onto a tiny back yard. No noise whatsoever, despite being in the middle of a busy restaurant/bar area. Helpful and friendly staff, value for my money.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is in the city centre. It is noce during the day, but in the night this is a party area. We couldnt sleep in the night because the music sounds below the hotel bar, therefore our check out was at 1 o'clock in the night

    price

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor breakfast. No fruit, no eggs, only two rolls with cheese/meat/jam which is brought at the table, so that might take a long time on busy moments. A buffet formula would be a far better option (and less stressful for the 1 (!) person who has to serve everyone). People who arrive by car: it's very difficult to find a nearby parking spot!

    Excellent location in the very heart of the city (so if you don't want noise on busy nights, ask for a room on the back side of the hotel). Large rooms. Friendly staff at the reception. It's a pity there's only wifi in the common areas (which is mentioned in the hotel description, so we knew that) but it works well. Very good value for money. The restaurant of the hotel is quite a contrast with the breakfast, as it offers good dishes for reasonable prices.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the place is very noisy at night (ok) the bathroom was smelly (not OK)

    low cost

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location. Price. There were 3 beds in my single room!! And they were also very kind. Breakfast included even at this price.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice room but needs a small kitchen or at least a kettle for hot drinks

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Problem with the lift on our last morning

    Hotel was basic but fine for what we wanted,staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lift broke down

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No possible to park car

    At the city center

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a down to earth hotel situated in an excellent spot.Would stay again.

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Basic, well run hotel in a great location. Breakfast is a bit limited but fair at the price.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Value for money, friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Very noisy, sleeping impossible. Quite old hotel.

    Central in PuertoV

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    LOCATION

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very close to the centre,five minutes wark.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    broken shower, could hear the people in the room next door(paper thin walls),

    good location, in the centre of the town, great price

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    bathroom fixtures looked like they were 20 years old, with the coating coming of the bathtub

    good location and staff was alright

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bathroom was terrible room 304.

    The location was really nice

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Hotel Maga traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: