Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mar Azul 2 stars

San Pedro, 128, 03560 El Campello, Spain

#1 of 51 hotels in El Campello

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 363 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent small refurbished hotel,very good value and really close to the beach, cafes ,bars and shops The bedroom and bathroom were spacious very clean rooms .Quiet too. Breakfast was good and the owners really helpful.Recommended. June 2018.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    there are nog negatieve points.

    Our stay was wonderful. I traveled with my daughter en the stay was very nice. The owners of the hotel make you feel at home and go out of their way to meet your desires. We had sea view as requested and breakfast was delicious. Very friendly and warm stay!! We will stay here again for sure!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would benefit from soft close doors as people cannot be relied upon to be courteous to fellow guests when banging doors even though the owners have silencio signs posted

    Location. Traditional but comfortable. Lovely Hosts. Would definitely return

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are basic, but they are good enough if your plan is just to sleep and have a shower. The bed could be more comfortable.

    Staff at the reception were nice. The room and toilet were clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't dislike anything. The studios are better as bigger and brighter rooms and at the front of the hotel

    The location was perfect and the hosts were very attentive, friendly and helpful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with all aspects of our stay so no negative comments

    The hotel , beds spotless , very clean , they work extremely hard , clean bed and towels every day , balcony small but could still sit out , which we enjoy , breakfast served every day , boiled eggs , yoghurt, fresh orange , coffee, , cheese and cold meats , selection of toasted breads , cakes if you wanted , continental but more than enough , good start to the day , hotel 1 street back from the beach and near train station so great location . Staff friendly and helpful take a pride in their appearance . Overall comfortable and clean, we will go back

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    A small friendly hotel, with spacious bedrooms. The beds were very comfortable. We didn't have the breakfast but we saw other people having g breakfast and it looked very good value. I would definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Mother and I have stayed here twice now. The gentleman and lady that run it are the politest sweetest people and the location is one street from the beach. Debbie

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The room was spacious and had a table and chairs and a fridge which wasn’t expected but was really fantastic. The view was onto residential properties which was not an issue. Spotless.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, as staff were very happy to make sure our stay was happy.

    Friendly staff, quiet location, cleanliness and spacious room. Fridge in the room was handy and breakfast very good value. Only yards away from the beach. Great value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was fine.

    Lovely room with seaview. Bed was good size and comfortable.Lift was available. Very short walk to beach, promenade and big choice of bars & restaurants.Will return.Breakfast was available for a very good price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    85 Euros a night (without breakfast) - at the end of the summer season - is comparable to some of the deals that you can get on 4/5 star big hotels in major resorts......... so I could say it was a little over-priced. BUT I still think it is excellent value for money, given the standard of service and the location. And a little more storage space in the rooms would be nice - not everything fits in one wardrobe!

    The staff (the owners) Miguel and his wife could not have been more welcoming - they are very proud of their little hotel, and try their utmost to make you feel comfortable and "at home"..... everything was straightforward, well explained and - as the saying goes - "did exactly what it said on the tin". El Campello is a lovely location - a destination, not a resort - that caters for Spaniards and Foreigners alike with an equal welcome.........

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We missed english or bufet breakfast as an option. Only continental. As well would be great to have the safe not on the floor.

    Owners are great . Helped us with everything that was asked. Could not ask for more.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    My 3rd stay, and my friends 2nd. Always a very warm welcome from Miguel and his staff, nothing too much trouble. Rooms cleaned daily by 3 lovely ladies, who always had a smile for you. Can't wait for our next visit.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very conveniently located just one street back from the beach-front. Nice clean, comfortable and quiet room. Very friendly, helpful staff. I've stayed here a couple of times and have always been well satisfied.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to all amenities, 50m to beach, ideally located and very clean ,staff very nice and helpful, stayed for 4 nights while meeting family for a short holiday, 1st time to el Capello would go and stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wonderful stay for the second time. Could not have a better location for beach holiday. Miquel and his wife are the best hosts, we will be back next year

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is small and quaint The husband and wife team take special care of all guests. I would highly recommend for couples especially as no pool area. The accommodation is very comfortable and cleanliness is a top priority for the owners is very evident. The area is great for eating out too with Alicante a short tram ride away or of course Benidorm too

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I think this property should expand on their food opportunities.Their kitchen is spotless and has all the right equipment to stand out from the rest. I honestly have no idea why the y don't push the "English breakfast" theme.They would win hands down with service and friendliness.

    This property is the cleanest and friendliest property I have ever stayed in.It is only a two star hotel because it has no swimming pool,only serves breakfast and has not a large car park. Everything was perfect.The room was large and exceptionally clean.The bed was firm and comfortable.We stayed in room 103 on the first floor.Continental breakfast at 5 euro is good value when you compare it to others and is plenty to set you off for the day.It is only 50m from the promenade

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly - cannot think of anything. We really enjoyed staying here.

    This is truly a "little gem" of a hotel in what is a super resort. Miguel and his wife go that extra mile to ensure that rooms are spotlessly clean. Breakfast is simple but very adequate. The beach is 50m away and plenty of good dining along the Prom. Would we return?? - absolutely!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing to dislike at all

    Wonderful location wonderful welcoming staff very comfortable facilities good continental breakfast. Loved the stay will definitely visit again

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was excellent.

    The owners were hard working, professional and above all, lovely people. Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. Crisp white bed linen and well equipped bathroom. Air con was a bonus. Our room was the one on their site photo.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel one street back from the restaurants on the sea front. The whole place is immaculate and Miguel and his team do a wonderful job at looking after both the hotel and guests. The modern art paintings and sculptures throughout also help to elevate it. We also loved the secreted kitchenette, behind what looks like a wardrobe door: very clever.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owners are excellent hosts,room confortable, very clean,Very close to the beach. If asked they provide you with an umbrella, secured garage,sandy beach, good breakfast, could be improved by adding fruits and vegetables

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Can't think of anything

    Excellent hotel, comfort, cleanliness, great location, and staff could not do enough for you. My second stay and will not be my last.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Service, cleanliness, cheerfulness and breakfasts just fantastic. I'll go back. They even kept our beach chairs for next year. Just amazing down to the lovely chamber maids. I can't find them on trip advisor to give a review. Can you help? Thank you hotel mar azul.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Can't think of anything we didn't like.

    Hotel was very clean and linen was changed every day. Also, very near the beach and restaurants. The continental breakfast was very good. All the staff were exceptional. Would definitely go back to this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, spacious room, helpful friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good !

    The hospitality of host he went out of his way to help us, would be better of they would put in sattilite telivision missed my soaps !

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No tea making facilities

    The bed had a plastic sheet under the bottom sheet which made me hot during the night

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location close to the beach and the centre. The wi-fi was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great hotel, very clean rooms, helpful owners, perfect location. Thank you

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not dis like anything .

    Very comfortable accommodation and very clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent and friendly host and nice location. Very relaxing

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn't have internet.

    Highly serviceminded and meticoulus personell. Good!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent customer service. Clean hotel in a great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel and exellent service from staff (owners) we will for sure be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to dislike

    Very convenient for beach and restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs upgrade and renovating

    Terrace & verandah views & access to beach

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very helpful staff Interesting artworks in the lobby

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows were awful and the rooms need modernising.

    Ideal location, comfy beds, friendly manager, close to beach, restaurants and two supermarkets.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Great hosts, spotlessly clean, great location, could not recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    100% thanks , we thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Just Sent back from the beach old worldy clean tidy just what you need great hotel 10\10.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was Great No dislikesFandtastic

    Service was 1st Class from all staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    no

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hosts are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is calm and perfect for families. The location is very convenient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent inexpensive accommodation. Breakfast as you want or not great value for money

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking

    Staff cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    would have preferred a help yourself buffet style breakfast

    very friendly staff. lovely clean, big bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The staff,from the front desk to the cleaners,were extremely couretious and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely family run hotel. Spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a balcony/terrace to sit outside

    Location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price a bit expensive due to book with little advance probably.

    Excellent beds and location. Superb continental breakfast. Staff very kind.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, nice clean bright room

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super friendly and really great location, this was a perfect base for our beach holiday.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location as visiting family. Hotel very clean.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For us nothing could have been better!

    A friendly small hotel in a central location just off the beech front immaculate inside run by Miguel and Anna ,good continental breakfast served . A lovely quite resort , a very relaxing stay . Good local food and wine , also Natalie's bar just round the corner if u are missing home 🇬🇧

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was very conveniently situated just one street back from the coast. The staff were friendly and helpful. We arrived late from the airport and were moving straight on the next morning, so didn't avail ourselves of any provision other than the bed and the breakfast, and both were good.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really, but just a couple of suggestions.... A additional lamp hanging from the ceiling would be helpful as the room was a bit dark at night time and also a couple of free sockets on the room walls to charge phones, computers, etc would be very useful , so to avoid having to unplug existing room appliances, like the night lamps, TV, etc

    The cleanliness, the good service received by all staff members and the beautiful sound of the sea at night :)

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location was fantastic , just 1 minute from beach and restaurants. Continental breakfast was very good quality, and was served by the owner Miguel. Would defenatley stay again

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    it was perfect for what I wanted, stayed here twice before , it is super clean and owners are super friendly, ! street back from the beach, near to bus and tram stops. perfect

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to dislike met all our needs

    Excellent service outstanding cleanliness, near to beach and town facilities. Owners very helpful and kind. Nice restaurant two minutes walk away on same street. Weather hot and sunny added bonus.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble for them. We were aloud to leave our cases while we was ready to leave the hotel on our leaving date.

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is economical but a little bit modest. We had a lacerated tulle in our room. There is a neighbour house nearby, it obscures the view from her window. You can see only the windows of this house and, which is worse, your neighbours can see you. It seems that you are watching TV-show and taking part in it at the same time.

    This is a lovely family hotel with a nice atmosphere and favourable location. Staff was wery attentive, they always watched if there are any strange people in the hotel and they gave us umbrellas if it was raining.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing I can think of.

    From arrival to departure, couldn't fault the attentiveness of everyone, particulary Miguel and Ana, who were always very helpful. Room cleaned daily by very pleasant lady (sorry, don't know her name). As a female travelling on my own, I always felt very safe. Would definitely use this hotel again and recommend to others. Was in a good situation for beach/bars/restaurants etc.,

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    • Couple

    I can't think of any negative comments for this hotel.

    This hotel is a small family run business, the owners were very helpful in giving advice on locations and amenities. The room was very comfortable and tastefully decorated with everything required for a holiday. Breakfast was typical Spanish and plentiful (If you like a good old English type breakfast then this hotel is not for you). We only stayed for 2 nights but was a good experience, the location is excellent for the beach, restaurants, supermarkets and shops. We will certainly stay again if we visit the area.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only planning to stay the one day

    Friendly and helpful staff, parking is available be but a couple of streets away, the manager took us there when the directions on how to get there become a little confusing, great service. Breakfast was limited in variety but was table service, again great service. Hotel is spotlessly clean, close to the beach and while only a small hotel has a lift for your convenience

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bedroom decor a bit dated but bed comfy and exceptionally clean.

    Customer service over and above any experienced for a long time. Friendly, helpful, accomodating and personable.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    It's difficult to believe the hotel has been open for longer than a day. Conveniently located close to the beach and central Campello this wonderful cosy hotel is modern and completely spotless and moreover brand new. Excellent standard of furnishing and bedding and staff and service impeccable. Wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend it any time!!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't fault this hotel, spotlessly clean, towels changed daily, staff friendly and helpful. Excellent position close to the beach. Well worth the price paid, would definitely stay again.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location, friendly staff, comfortable and clean room

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I do not like nasa foam beds. The room had this in. But thats just me being picky.

    A good stay.

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: