Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Catalonia hotel reviews
  4. Tossa de Mar hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Golden Mar Menuda

Reviews of Golden Mar Menuda 4 stars

Platja Mar Menuda, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain

#8 of 30 hotels in Tossa de Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 571 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 46

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Perfect for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Music festival could be heard till 1 am. Not hotel’s fault. Little attention to bathroom. Skirting board damaged/dirty.

    Excellent food+ service. Location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    The staff were very friendly and they couldn't have been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very friendly and they couldn't have been more helpful from the very beginning. We booked a "partial sea view" room and it was partial. However, it still had a lovely view and it was absolutely spotless. Our bed was changed and room cleaned every day. The hotel is situated right beside the beach at the end of a nice little promenade so it was quiet at night but had enough beach goers to seem busy during the day. We had a fantastic stay and I'd highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    Perfect location in Tossa de mar!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -

    Make sure you get a room with a view over the sea and the castle. It´s magic! The pool area is nice and the beach too. Everything we wished for was within walking distance, shops, restaurants, cafés, hiking trails etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.2
    Tossa de Mar-vellous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ask for a room without the bed on a tiled raised platform/step if possible - we found this design flaw quite annoying. As we were there only 1 night we did not quite manage to program ourselves to be aware of this step when getting in and out of bed- some tripping and stubbed toes! I hope not all of their rooms are like this. Considering all the other plusses, I would still stay at this hotel again - not everyone lacks physical coordination like I do, so it may not be that big of a deal. My partner mentioned being able to hear noise from other rooms quite easily, but I did not find this to be the case, even though I'm typically a light sleeper.

    Unbeatable location right on the beach, beautiful view of the sea and sweeping vista with castle from the balcony, good in room amenities (decent enough shampoo plus extras like mint foot gel, toothbrushes + paste, combs..) including free drinks in mini-fridge and Nespresso, nice pool area with comfortable lounge chairs, breakfast was very good with made to order omelettes and a wide variety of choices - meat, cheese, bread, fruits etc. along with sparkling wine to make mimosas. Staff were very cheery, pleasant and helpful, and more than willing to hold our luggage so we could explore the area after we checked out.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    Loved it and can’t wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had 2 singles instead of a double in my room . That’s all.... I can’t fault anything

    Amazing breakfast . Beautiful views . Lovely staff- I truly enjoyed my stay :) thank you

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    8.3
    Overall we had a very relaxing time, this hotel caters for couples definitely not families.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room was small in comparison to other 4 star hotels. Not a lot of space for toiletries etc in bathroom. Huge TV sat on top of dressing table completely unnecessary,....with only one English speaking channel. BBC world news. No mirror over dressing table. Had to sit on toilet seat to dry hair and do make up. Asked for a Bloody Mary, was told they couldn't do it as it wasn't on the menu...in spite of having the ingredients!! I found this baffling as it stated they could make any for you. Complimentary nibbles stopped later in the week. Heard a lot of complaints about the food at dinner. We did try to book on our last night but were told they were full with guests on half board. Why have a menu on view to the general passing public if they can't cater for them. Bit of a shambles in that area.

    The location. Service was good at first, then declined by the end of the week. Good, fresh selection of breakfasts. Seating and loungers around the pool were excellent. Fabulous views and central position for town and restaurants. Brilliant shower!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    The location is a 10+.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the property. No negative comments

    The location is a 10+. Access to the to beach is steps away!! You can walk into town, the castle, trails!! Will be back again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    The view from the sea facing room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room we were in didn't match the quality of the communal areas/ restaurant etc. The menu could have been a bit wider. Despite there being signs up about not reserving loungers, the shaded sofas were reserved every day we were there before breakfast by the same people.

    The view from the sea facing room. The pool and pool area, it was mostly quiet when we were there, and great that kids can use it all day. The location across from the beach. The style of the restaurant and lounge area. The breakfast was good and lots to choose from. The parking was easy. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    If you do not count the money...this is the best choise in Tossa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Price - we understand it is the best place in Tossa and Lorret... but price is in the season is just a big (and we travel a lot so we have a comparision).

    The hotel is on the best place in Tossa. Beach is not so full and it is calm there. It joins the advantages coming from laying beside pool+using all services from hotel and swiming in the sea. Unbeliavble was the cleaning of the room - everyday absolutely perfect. Breakfast on the terrace was also amazing.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.5
    The location is the best in Tossa de Mar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The location is the best in Tossa de Mar. It is a quick walk across the boardwalk and then right onto the beach. The restaurant is good but slightly pricey and limited. I would recommend staying no longer than 3 nights at this hotel. Great location, limited activities as a result of little information provided. Overall - I had a great time and the staff was helpful!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Relaxing break, everything we could wish for and more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, nothing!

    Location the best i’ve ever been for a beach holiday. The resort has a lovely feel to it, everything you could want or need for a holiday. So good we have been twice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    We absolutely loved the breakfast so much to choose from hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only suggestion I would have would be to have some entertainement in the evenings... live little music to give a bit more atmosphere.

    We absolutely loved the breakfast so much to choose from hot and cold. The room was situated at the back and after asking for a balcony it was lovely kept cool all day and lovely balcony sun in the evening. Short walk and you was on a coach to visit Barcelona. Boat trip to visit other parts of the costa bravo coastline.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    We had a good time, but perhaps would've enjoyed it as much elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price for the position of room seemed high, and if we wanted a sea view, the extra amount seemed incredibly expensive for the quality of hotel.

    The location was superb.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information in the rooms ( about local area, hotel facilities )

    The location was second to none, the outdoor area and outdoor furniture was great for relaxing ,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    10
    Perfectly located hotel with comfortable clean rooms &...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    Perfectly located hotel with comfortable clean rooms & beds, facilities, friendly staff, terrific breakfast and more. Newly renovated rooms, furniture and facilities. No other hotel at this fabulous beachfront village is located closer or more convenient than the Golden Mar Menuda. Their pool lounges are perfectly located and positioned only a few feet from the beach. We were glad to have changed our accommodations at the very last minute to stay here.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful location, great bar and pool area, friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was badly designed with not enough of a screen so it was impossible not to at least slightly flood the floor every time. The bed was a little too small and hard.

    Great staff who were friendly and really accommodating and helpful. Absolutely perfect location right by the beach. The main draw that makes this hotel 4 star is the location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.1
    the hotel is in a good location but its over priced and not 4 star quality rooms dissapointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights

    breakfast buffet scrambled eggs often included other ingredients was not just eggs sometimes included ham and more important was not kept warm , when first visited the restaurant was not introduced how the service was run , for a four star hotel I would expect to be seated and order taken for eggs and also server with tea/ coffee etc. although I can see that there has been some major refurbishment to the hotel and rooms there are areas which had a little more money been spent would have made the overall experience better during my stay , one area that is always important when staying in any hotel is noise , it seems that there was attention to any of the closing doors in the hotel rooms where a simple soft closing mechanism would have reduced the overall noise levels especially at night , you could add soft door closers to the room doors to prevent slamming , to the balcony doors , and the wardrobe doors , I also feel if you market the market the hotel as 4 star then I would expect better quantity furniture in the rooms the bed was very comfortable but was not happy with the very cheap and poor quality except for the bathroom where most money has been spent which is far from perfect as all the showers leak due to the poor design shower tray on to the new wood floor not sure how long this would last also noted the shower controls are not suitable for children or elderly as the maximum hot water can not be preset and if the controls are knocked could cause serious scolding also there is a problem with bad odors form the bar restaurant especially in the evening not sure where it originates but is partially bad in the bar area , maybe some to do with the kitchen but did not encourage me to use the bar when booking a four star hotel would expect a level of quality and standards that match the room price and give good value for money , presently I believe this hotel is not good value for money

    good outside facilities new pool and plenty of sunbeds love chairs etc 50m to the beach excellent views

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel clean and friendly loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay for parking the second time I stayed First time was free. It's just nice when hotels give you free parking I know it's a thing but it gets boring after 6 weeks

    Super clean, wonderfully friendly beautiful location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    6.7
    Enviably situated hotel but performance failed to match the prices charged
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant and bar service was often amicably indifferent with requests going unheeded - and leaving your table often resulted in irritating and unnecessary hanging around to pay or sign for the bill. Dinner was very variable and not worth the additional cost. The restaurant sets itself up as a sophisticated place but the designer food was often quite mediocre. I would recommend guests go for bed and breakfast arrangement and eat at the numerous restaurants nearby just a few moments walk away. Finally a problem not seemingly the hotel's fault. The tractors that clean the beach or deliver the kayaks sometime expel shocking exhaust fumes and only a few metres from where guests are taking their breakfast. The Tossa local authorities should look into this as having a vehicle that cleans the beach while polluting the air is an absurd outrage.

    Bright seafacing hotel occupying an enviable position within comfortable walking distance of the town. Enjoyable much of the time but lets itself down on small matters that could easily be sorted with greater awareness of the guests. The breakfast was excellent (partly due to the self service element) however dinner not quite so.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Small but precious!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Frankly speaking I don’t want to recommend this place… It’s so nice, that one should keep it for himself:). But being egoistic is not good, so... The Golden Mar Menuda is freshly renovated and its owners were definitely not economizing. Everything, starting with the building materials and finishing with the hotel equipment is of a very good quality. Executed in light and elegant maritime style. Very friendly and helpful stuff, speaking good English. During our stay we didn’t see any dissatisfied faces – everything was made with a sincere smile. The hotel lies directly on the clean coarse sand beach. One can borrow beach towels at the reception for free (deposit – 10 Euro per each). The pool site has many loungers and chairs and we personally found, that it was more pleasant to lie there, than on the beach. The pool (filled with lightly chlorinated sea water) is not big – something like 5x9 meters, but there’s a perfectly blue and clear sea nearby:). The pool area, as well as the hotel itself was very clean and the pool water samples were taken every day. Our room on the third floor was a little small, but light. A safe, little fridge and coffee machine were included. Many lovely human friendly design details. The room could be cleaned every day (and very well by the way), but we didn’t want it from time to time and just changed the towels. Free WLAN was working blamelessly fast in all parts of the building including the pool site. The breakfast was nice: different kinds of fruit, local cheeses, ham and sausages. Scrambled and fried eggs, simple and filled omelets. Savoury and sweet bread and buns, various cakes. Yoghurt, cereals. Fresh juice, cava and extremely good coffee. The hotel’s barman makes a delightful Sangria, which helps to survive under a hot sun. If we visit Tossa de Mar once more, we shall definitely choose Golden Mar Menuda again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    Good for some days
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somehow limited service mentality.. no laundry., no help with luggage , with full board limited choice of meals, since the menue remains the same all day... meaning from 3 or 4 choices you have to eat half not counting repetition during a 12 day stay.

    Right at the beach...good quality hotel

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel ,but very poor room remodeling job.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was going through a remodel. Not finished in our room and we were checked in anyway. Still some finish work to do. Shower leaked, toilet water turned off and hot water took a long time. Room still smelled of wet plaster.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.1
    Hotel with potential, but lacking basic services / training
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seemed like the hotel was not completely ready to receive guests after the renovation. There were no informative material in the room (no info about room service, ammenities, scape routes, wifi, nothing). Staff gave contradictory information when asked about simple things like service at the pool. Pool towels are available upon request and a €10 per towel deposit (!), although nothing has been explained beforehand. When asked for an iron, I was told "we don't have any" (4 star with no laundry / ironing service). On the website, I have booked a "seaview" room, expecting to have the sea in front of me when I woke up, however the seaview apartment in question was behind the main building of the hotel, from where my main view was antennae and seagulls with a little ocean. The hotel has potential, but if they want to keep being a 4 star the crew needs to be better trained, the info should be clearer and have more services offered to be alligned with the renovations.

    Recently renovated hotel, good installations and pool. Parking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice beach hotel in Tossa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location directly at the quite end of the beach. Great breakfast and terrace. Super friendly and helpful stuff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.2
    Would definitely recommend the ocean front rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a balcony overlooking the beach and the location was perfect. Easy walk to the old town and the many restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    First trip with our baby girl
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great hotel with a view of the water. The breakfast is so generous we hardly had to eat anything all day until dinner. Pool area is very nice

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Looking forward to coming back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, with a super breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    8.8
    Great short stay,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    Great short stay, I must book the Sea View side another time.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, everywhere clean and smart.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, everywhere clean and smart. Perfect location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    7.9
    Pay for hotel parking .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay for hotel parking ... 😱😱😱

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Ecellent location, hotel and amazing week
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely rooms, and hotel was spotless, with staff that did everything they could to help you.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very near at sea, good breakfast

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms are on the small side, but very clean and comfortable.

    Wonderful location. Great breakfast. Helpful staff. Clean hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    6.7
    Bed was incomfortab
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was incomfortab

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Emplacement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bruit omnipresent. Insupportable.

    Emplacement

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location but an expensive stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Triple Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining was below standard

    Excellent beach location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.9
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent choice at breakfast; friendly and helpful reception and dining room staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.1
    Good stay. Very pleasant bar and restaurant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No help with luggage and parking expensive in hotel car park.

    Location excellent, good breakfast and comfortable restaurant areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice location.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from room.

    Book a ocean front room or you may look out onto the roof top air conditioners.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location with excellent staff and a fab breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming staff, good size modern rooms with complimentary refreshments. Location. Breakast buffet with bacon and eggs and omelettes made to order

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    10
    Location, and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location, and staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    An absolute gem of a hotel and resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything absolutely perfect, location incredible right on beach. High standards throughout

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    9.6
    Would definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to beach was excellent, pool very nice with plenty of chairs etc. included breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it all....no complaints at all.

    A lovely hotel, already. Booked a return visit!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

There are also 19 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 46

Browse Golden Mar Menuda traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: