Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marbella Playa Hotel 4 stars

Carretera de Cádiz , Km 189, 29600 Marbella, Spain

#47 of 59 hotels in Marbella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 135 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7

  • Paid WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 15

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Hotel pleasant and clean but some rooms much better than others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on a dual carriageway meant every journey was made more difficult. Not many facilities in the immediate area. No decent places to walk to. Beach loungers were chargeable- not acceptable for hotel residents.

    First room offer was a totally unacceptable. More like a bunker than a holiday room. Terrace was virtually non existent. Had to pay extra for another room in main part of hotel which was very good but cost an extra £350

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.4
    Very Unsatisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the first time I write a review on a hotel, as usually i don’t have much to say, but this time it is crucial. At check in, I already began paying for several things, such as very limited parking places. First of all the prices of the rooms are too high for their quality. We stayed in a classic room close to the swimming pool. The rooms weren’t clean, dirt everywhere, especially on the fan where air conditioning was coming out was full of dirt. The air conditioning was working, but there wasn’t a minute when we didn’t sweat and a ventilator that was broken. For the price we paid, out of 7 days of stay, 4 of them we didn’t get cleaning. The cleaning ladies knock at the door once, and if by any chance you are not there, they won’t come back again. Several times we called to get cleaning, and no one showed up. Great miscommunication between the departments, as each time we requested to bring something, it either took hours or never came, such as toilet paper. Another annoying thing is the WiFi as it works only in common areas and not in rooms, which in 2018 I still need to understand how that is still allowed. In the reception the WiFi was for free, but worked really bad as there were too many people connected. The rest of the “areas” was the main building. For better WiFi, still very low in most areas, you have to pay 20 euros for a week, or 2 euros for half an hour. Most annoying aspect was the restaurant. We paid for half board, pretty high prices, and moreover drinks were not included, and had to be paid immediately after the drink came to the table, which made us feel very rushed and uncomfortable. Finally, the waiters at the restaurant. Worst service I have had. Each time we tried to understand how the paying system works or general information, we would get bad looks, ironical or arrogant responses, especially Annette, who could have been a little more friendly and gentle with her answers.

    Very spacious and clean swimming pool. The food is good and there is a big choice of meals. Some of the staff members, especially in the front office were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.0
    One star should be taken away from this hotel. It's not 1990's anymore. Much maintenance needed!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    First impression on arrival - staff at reception mostly are newbies, who don't know anything without the "master". Anyway, if you will need help in changing something or whatever like that - the staff almost doesn't have any possibility to make decisions: everything is managed through central hotel chain office in Almeria. First room (bungalow) has VERY loud A/C sound from the neighbors, we changed the bungalow. That one had literally a small river from the fountain due to broken pipes, followed by weird water system sounds, which weren't okay during the night. All time with wet feet outside due to the "river". We got the twin bed room instead of double-bed, and the worst thing was an URINE smell from the mattress of another bed we didn't use. Nothing changed during our stay of 5 days: neither the "river" was fixed, not the mattress changed. You have to pay extra for almost everything, including sun beds at the beach. All inclusive hotel... :) In 1990's maybe it was something good, but now... sorry. Coffee (old machine and bad coffee combination) during breakfast was so awful that you go to the bar to get some good coffee to start your day.

    It's nice to walk around in early morning or late evening, when not too crowded. In any other aspect there are many people.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    Huge dissapointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn’t very good, 2double beds were advertised but were joined as one big bed that couldn’t be moved. cramped room. the pool area was like an 18-30holiday but with young kids thrown into the mix. the beaches were not sandy, more gritty, and dirty. not much choice of restaurants around. room renovations going on 2doors down causing a lot of dust to go everywhere and very noisy.

    Breakfast was good, didn’t hang around long enough to try lunch or dinner

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    3.3
    Not happy at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not sea view and not air conditioner and not good for children and young people Not good facilities at all It’s not sea view and not air conditioner and not good for children and young people Not good facilities at all It’s not sea view and not air conditioner and not good for children and young people Not good facilities at all It’s not sea view and not air conditioner and not good for children and young people Not good facilities at all

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Claean, comfortabel, relaxing wheter on your own or with familt
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    All was good here, one of better experiences.

    I found it a very relaxing place to be although I was on my own. Right on the beach, friendly staff - a;pways

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    2.9
    Never stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They did not make up the room at any time during a two day stay. The telephone in the room did not work. It was impossible to rest since there was noise the whole night.

    It is close to the sea.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.4
    :(
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an outdated hotel that is in desperate need of a FULL renovation. That goes for half of the staff as well.

    Nice location by the Sea. Cheap cocktails... you will need them!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly to the point...
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly to the point they even printed of our boarding passes for our return flight for us. We were only there for a short visit due to the circumstances myself and my daughter being there but managed to enjoy a number of their facilities

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    2.9
    rubishe hotel you are markting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the breakfast was to fill stomach only not to enjoy your holiday ,you have to wait to fill your plate with your choice ,SORRY only cost minded and making businece nothing to say you mislealed us to this h otel

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    NICE HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking is not Free , Internet is extremely poor at the Lobby , and not free in any other area , Safe box is not free . The hotel NAME on GPS systems is not Marbella Playa Hotel , and you have to focus on the advertising banner in the street stating Marbella Playa Hotel .

    The Breakfast Buffet was really nice . our rooms in the main building were overlooking the Pool and the Mediterranean sea with spacious terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture is a old!

    The location is very good! The staff is a very friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.9
    Good entertainment in hotel,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee not very good !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    5.4
    Location was very good for our purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Real estate from the 70th without modernizations. Staff focused on volume delivery and not customer satisfaction. Over priced in relation to room quality, services and food received.

    Location was very good for our purpose. Pool and beach part good.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    3.3
    Leaving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We read a review which said the staff were rude. I would not say they were rude, more a bit clueless. We booked online, but when we arrived they said we had to forward them the confirmation email. We had a mobile phone and spent 10 minutes sorting that out and then were told, we didn't need to do that? The room was 95 Euro and when we got the receipt they had charged us pounds when we expected to pay in Euros. They did not ask us which currency. When I calculated the exchange rate they had effectively charged us £3 more because the exchange rate was their rate??? That's called robbery. The manager didn't know how to reverse this so he said we had to wait, we had already taken 45 minutes to check in. Life is too short and we will never return. It got worse but we knew it was not worth complaining as Customer Service here means another long wait. Our hotel room was not in the hotel, they gave us a hut. The hut was a pretty colour and although dated was comfortable enough. Except it was about as far away from the beach as you could be. We wanted a room in the hotel, which is what we ordered, which is near the beach but we didn't get it.

    Leaving.

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 15

Guests also reviewed these properties: