Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Cookbook Gastro Boutique Hotel & SPA 4 stars

Urbanización Marisol Park, 1-A, 03710 Calpe, Spain

#4 of 13 hotels in Calpe

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 413 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel is set in an urbanisation which is not close to the beach. However we used the local taxis which were very efficient.the plus side of this was that it was very quiet and relaxing.

    This is an excellent small friendly hotel with exceptionally good food and friendly staff. Very comfortable and good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A hot food option at breakfast perhaps.

    Very friendly staff. Immaculately clean hotel. Traditional Spanish exterior with ultra modern interior. Sole use of excellent spa facilities which are free.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unscheduled wake up call each morning. Staff taking laundry we understand from the ground floor up the service lift to the first floor laundry store do this every morning between 7.45 and 8.15, make no allowance for sleeping guests and make as much noice as it’s possible to make.

    The comfortable cozy clean room. Staff attentive and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    When we booked we were unaware the Michelin Beat restaurant did not open on Mondays or Tuesdays therefore we didn't get to experience it. The Komfort restaurant was casual and enjoyable with helpful staff.

    Large Bed was very comfortable. All staff were happy and friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was nowhere in the hotel that we could enjoy a meal with the company of our very small behaved dog who just sits under a table. We did however find a lovely restaurant in town which was only a short walk away.

    Excellent welcome by great receptionist who spoken very good English. Very comfortable bed. Lovely breakfast. Dog friendly apart from in restaurants. Very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect within walking distance to the beach but far enough away to provide a quiet and relaxing stay. The staff, rooms and gardens were exceptional. The Beat resuaurant was Michelin star quality with fantastic food with staff and service to match. Can't wait to return......

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very welcoming and quiet hotel with free parking. I had a corner room with a nice view over the city of Calpe. Breakfast was indeed beyond expectations! I enjoyed very much the cooking library (learned new things about jamon and Spanish cuisine). Dinner/lunch is not cheap, but it is really worth every penny. For those who want to try very special dishes in the Beat restaurant discounts are available on halfboad/fullboard booking option. There were also a few pleasant surprises - free 40 min SPA, free tea and coffee at any time at the reception. Special thanks to Carolina at the reception for her guidance and advance. Location a bit far from the beach, but for me that was not a disadvantage...

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had an adjoining room so it was noisier than we had hoped as there was no insulation over the door. We had asked for a quiet room.

    The personalised welcome and check-in service we received on arrival.The way they served breakfast. Free tea and coffee at any time. Free 40 minute private spa session. Nothing was too much trouble!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Just one suggestion, a kettle in the room would be very convenient

    I liked everything, the immaculate facilities, the breakfast, the staff, the reception, etc and the staff is exceptionally friendly and professional.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above.

    Lovely place, luxury exceeding expectations. Was my partners birthday and they did several things to acknowledge that. Only problem was main restaurant was closed on Wednesday and no bar available when we came back after her party. Otherwise excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Fantastic Large Bed, Breakfast was lovely especially the Eggs Benedict. Smiling, Friendly Staff is a great welcome at all times. Great Team. We had 2 chihuahuas with us and the staff even spoke to them.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A news channel in English would be good.

    The hotel is set back about 10mins walk from the beach in an urbanisation. This made it quiet and relaxing compared to the busy beach front hotels. The free parking was also a bonus. Every member of staff was especially helpful. We ate in their restaurant on a half board basis and were very impressed with the quality of all three courses. We intend to go back for a long break at the earliest opportunity. For a nice visit drive the 20 mins along the coast road to Morira.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negative comments !

    Every member of staff was happy ,and friendly. This hotel is a little gem. Small enough to be very personal with many extras to make your stay special. The location on an urbanisation means it's quiet and relaxing.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard room can use an update and the spa is limited (40 min) ; first time free - further €30 pp is too steep. Outdoor pool was not heated (too cold for October)

    Personell is truely excellent and very helpful to make you feel at home and appreciated. Goes for for both reception and Komfort restaurant. Food at Komfort restaurant is a joy, very good quality and prices surprisingly low for such a standard. A good location for couples and business people.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds were a little hard, I would advise asking for a few more pillows too but other than that I can't complain about anything else, it was just perfect.

    The pool was amazing and the sunbeds were just incredible, so comfy with handle adjusted head height, it was bliss relaxing at the pool - complete luxury. The room was clean and although a little small, was ideal for what we needed. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, they even packed us a breakfast to take to the airport when we left as we had an early flight,. We eat mainly in the Komfort restaurant and the food, presentation and quality were excellent value for money. Breakfast was lovely, with a wide range of fresh fruits, pastries, cereals and cold meats & cheeses. It was always quiet in an evening so never a problem sleeping and always woke feeling refreshed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waiting staff were serving Spanish people way before us and did not even acknowledge that we were waiting yet they had seated us. The pool bar was not open and should be in August when it's so hot so the fab reception again organised drinks! We will definitely go back just one thing I wish all hotels would offer a drink at reception free even just iced water - after traveling so far we were desperate, but whoever you are even if you travel from the airport you need a drink. I was a hotelier before and now run holiday homes and we ensure complimentary water, tea coffee and cookies are in the room. Makes a huge difference

    The staff on reception were unbelievable especially the two girls when we arrived Anita and colleague. So lovely and could not do enough for you - tea coffee free and they will give you anything!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were disappointed by the food! Both breakfast and the overprised lunch the first day. We ordered scrumbled egg for breakfast the first day, it was drunked in oil and herbs. The next day we ordered egg and bacon, and the same happened. We tried to tell that we wanted it plain, but the boy who served us couldn't a word English.

    Quiet and peaceful place, a bit outside (20 minutes walk) from center of Calpe. Nice, small pool area. Friendly receptionists.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WIFI didn't work for 3 days. Pool service is non-existent, you have to go to the hotel, then someone comes, and then everyone at the pool orders drinks? Also, the hotel guests are treated less than the restaurant guest, the seating area next to the pool is reserved exclusively for 'Beat' restaurant, normally there would be a specific area for guests? Strange.

    Nice friendly manager. Great breakfast and the kitchen has improved immeasurably. Lovely pool area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything.

    Everything possible was done to make my stay the best it could be. Luxury, spotlessly clean. Super friendly. Especially pet friendly. Out of this world food. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No proper laid out breakfast buffet which resulted in having to ask personnel for requests each time, also no hot water to make tea or tea pot available. The air inside hotel was not nice (maybe from air conditioning).

    The garden anlage / ambient very nice and relaxing as well as giving a private atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    lack of service from the komfort restaurant close at 2.30 pm and the hotel was over priced for what you got and breakfast was just a joke only one staff member cared I filled in the questionnaire it will be interesting to see if management contacts me about the concerns I raised

    the Beat restaurant it excellent the food was amazing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing to truly dislike, just some nits: Room was quite hot on arrival (but air conditioning cools it down quickly). Could not open lid of the A/C remote to access fan speed and fins position (was it sealed on purpose or just stuck?). Prides itself with a small library, but reading lights in the room are too weak for reading. WiFi is on the slow side. Coordinates point to the (closed) back entrance - true coordinates of the entrance to the property are: N 38° 38.850', E 0° 3.662'

    Really likable modern hotel with very warm and accommodating staff. Nice room with a large balcony and good view, large bed. WiFi worked reliably (but is not fast). Seems the hotel has lots to offer (two restaurants, spa, free drinks), but our schedule did not allow us to try it out.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No need for background music outside All you can hear is bass round the pool Breakfast could have been better

    All generally good Some things could be improved

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were hardly any slots available left for our free sauna. Only time was after 9pm or 11am following morning. Booking did not put any photos of the pool or sauna so we did not know to book in advance.

    balcony view overlooking Calpe rock and straight on to carpark where there is free parking. Restaurant very good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little bit hard for me but that's just personal preference I guess.

    The staff were really welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The free tea and coffee was great news too! We would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff really let the place down, attitude is really bad. And advertised as spa hotel but we got 1 40min session free for a weeks stay, not the best. Shame as it could be excellent hotel if staff was more friendly. We didn't even try the food as felt we didn't want to pay for such poor service from staff.

    Nice hotel, could be really good but the staff are very poor, bad attitude.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the hotel is like an oasis, the Urbanisation surrounding it looks very tired and in need of some TLC.

    The room was good value, a pity about the laminated floor, I hate fake wood.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was good! If we have to be peaky, then I'd say that the light on the balcony didn't work. But that's just peanuts.

    The hotel is simply great! Very modern with Spa oportunities and still very calm, because it's located in a nice and quiet neighbourhood. The food in the restaurant was also great. We especially loved and appreciated Maria, the chef of the reception, who was very very kind, friendly and helpful. We'll stay there again for sure!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we stayed in was a little out of date.

    We booked last minute and got a really good deal on booking.com. Overall the hotel facilities are excellent. Great breakfast, pool and spa. Our accommodation was good but not fantastic however it could be that we got the last room due to booking last minute. Had a great stay and Calpe is a beautiful place and worth visiting. The beach is awesome!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast pretty bland on weekdays.

    Both restaurants excellent and the sunbeds are amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The dinner was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great intimate place, extremely kind employees. Excellent food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The breakfest and restaurant with nice staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    The staff could not do enough for you'

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi not working not enough hot water to fill the bath

    room comfort. restaurants. spa

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not able to use the spa as arrived late in the day.

    Friendly relaxing environment. A good start to our holiday. Would definitely stay again

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ineffective aircon Breakfast not meeting expectations

    Friendly staff Good confitioms of the buildings and interior

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Chic and comfortable. Excellent friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really creative and delicious cuisine. A good range of wines at very reasonable price. Fabulous cocktails!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Almost nothing

    This is an amazing hotel with many pleasant surprises.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More Menu choice, a bar.

    Great Spanish-Staff, value for money, food very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    GPS co-ordinates took us to the back entrance of the hotel not the main entrance.

    Staff could not do enough and the food was superb.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location

    Excellent hotel with excellentstaff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    • Couple

    Very friendly and attentive staff. Great cuisine (really talented chef) and great service in restaurant. Lovely pool area which was empty a lot of the time as many people seem to like going to the beach not far away. Good air conditioning.

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast could be more sufficient

    Very good service with English speaking personal, nice restaurant, free parking and Wi-Fi, excellent bar and pool, very clean and cosy room with A/C, minibar, TV set and big wardrobe, fantastic bathroom, each room has a balcony with a table and two chairs (at least), LiDL supermarket is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel, 15 minutes walk to the beach and seaside promenade with restaurants and shops

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast made to order did not work very well, bacon was undercooked and egg smothered in oil. One waiter/ chef/ receptionist trying to do everything was probably over stretching it.

    Easy to find with good sized car park. Very friendly and efficient reception. Lots of facilities, all exceptionally clean. All round excellent standard of maintenance.

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The customer service, staff, attitude, approach to families (it is supposedly adult only but they allow children.. weird).

    The breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely hotel with really friendly and helpful staff. The food in the restaurant was really top notch.

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    absolutely nothing!!

    food superb! staff fantastic! fantastic stay! breakfast great !

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    six of we're staying at hotel the services were very very slow , but the staff didn't seem that bothered

    The hotel was very comfortable

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53