Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Marixa 1 stars

Sancho Abarca, 8, 01300 Laguardia, Spain

#8 of 9 hotels in Laguardia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 395 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.6

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 62

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Fantastic end to our road trip!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking can be a problem

    Lovely hotel, great location, we had large balcony overlooking the walled City. Stunning views from the restaurant where we had superb food. Staff helpful, beds comfortable, dog friendly. We will be returning to this great place!! Thank you .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    6.3
    A hotel with a warm welcome and just-adequate accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ate lunch in the hotel restaurant, the view from the window was excellect, the meal indifferent, and the maitre d offhand. We were very surprised to see bread chunks already set out on the side-plates, where they were hardening nicely against any inquisitive fly. Needless to say, we were not tempted to eat bread and decided that the 2€s charged for it on our bill would be more than enough 'tip' . We breakfasted in an excellent bar just inside the village walls.

    The two young women who fielded our arrival could not have been more helpful; it is entirely their effort that earned the "staff rating" marked. The location was perfect for visiting the village which is clearly a draw for tourists.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    The view from the balconies are fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would skip the restaurant. Could be refurbished, but didn’t bother me as is. Adds character. We were so lucky with parking next to the hotel every day, but if you’re not lucky parking in La Guardia is challenging.

    The view from the balconies are fantastic. We had the corner room and couldn’t be more delighted to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine. Please upgrade it is worth it. You can forgive the battered furniture and old bathroom fixtures once you step outside. The beds were comfy. The decor old fashioned. The location is perfect to explore the old town and surrounding wineries. The breakfast is simple but worth it. Tip. Spend a day in Haro exploring 7 old wineries, after you hit the classics like Marques de Riscal.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.1
    Laguardia is a good base to explore the area. The town has become a day trip hotspot.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The terrace is under loved and would benefit from the flower beds being replenished and some cushions for the chairs. There is no tea of coffee facility in the room which is a great shame.

    The hotel is a little jaded but the staff are friendly and their bar below is excellent. Everyone was friendly to our little dog and we will be returning here for a third time in September!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    4.2
    Decent location outside the walls of LaGuardia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff were never at the front desk or available for questions. Quite unfriendly and did not even provide a map. Bad coffee was hard to get in Spain, but that's what we got for a bare minimum breakfast at hotel Marixa.

    Decent location outside the walls of LaGuardia.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.3
    Great views, friendly staff, perfect location - not 5 star but value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Beds were comfy, but décor although classic in style is getting tired. Bathrooms need a facelift although water pressure was great so more cosmetic really. Some of the other rooms looked a bit small.

    We stayed 4 nights in Room 10 which I believe is the best room in the house with windows on two sides. We usually go for higher-end places, but we really enjoyed the big terrace with fabulous views in all directions. The front desk staff were very friendly helpful despite the language barriers we managed and the café downstairs was delightful. The location is unbeatable and we had a delightful stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing terrace overlooking the mountains, fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is tricky but the staff are very helpful with directions

    Amazing terrace overlooking the mountains, fantastic location. Very clean and comfortable room!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Good location and a clean, comfortable room with a nice outside veranda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was a foul odor in the bathroom that could be alleviated only by keeping the window open.

    Clean, comfortable room and excellent location just outside city walls.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Very good. Relaxing hotel in a busy atmospheric town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was disappointing. Just bread and croissant plus a plate of hams.

    Enjoyed having a balcony overlooking the vineyards and plains. Hotel had good restaurant with excellent wine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Really enjoyed my stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stairs. Travelling with large suitcase so having to bring our suitcase up and down flights of stairs wasn't the greatest.

    Very charming establishment. Staff was very kind and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is limited near the Marixa, which is across the street from the entrance to the old town. May have to walk a few hundred metres up/down the hill. Wifi is very patchy. You need to ask for the "secret" user ID and password or you will not get Wifi in the bedrooms

    Fantastic views east over the Rioja region

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    5.8
    Adequate for the price but only suitable for the young and fit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No lift and 37 stairs to bedroom floor - only suitable for fit persons with very light luggage! No help offered with luggage. Shower ok but blocked drain so water almost ankle deep by end of shower. No hotel parking and nearest available is down steep hill.

    Bed comfortable. Pleasant balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    9.2
    Great location with easy walk into the walled city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wish there was wifi in the room. It was only in the public access areas and the lighting was really poor in the lobby so it was hard to see. Also wish there was hot water in the room for tea.

    Breakfast was a great value for the money. Loved our balcony and the view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.4
    Love Laguardia but stay elsewhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist was extremely rude to us over ringing the bell to get back into the hotel late one night. Apparently there was a code to use that we didn't know about. You'd think we had trashed the place the way she spoke to us! We won't be coming back!

    Location is perfect and nice view from terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Lovely location in a perfectly lovely town
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balconies in either direction (towards the mountains and towards the town wall) were huge and an excellent feature of the rooms. The location was perfect for exploring the town. There wasn't much parking outside but there were spaces to drop off the bags and it was reasonably easy to find spaces down the road. Would definately recommend :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel in a beautiful town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was overpriced.

    Fab location right next to city walls, beautiful views over the surrounding vineyards, great terrace to watch the world go by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    8.8
    On the road around the medieval town, just off the highway,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On the road around the medieval town, just off the highway, very easy to find. There is a tiny free parking lot next to the hotel and a bit of free on street parking, we got the last space. Otherwise there is a larger lot down the hill a bit, only a few minutes walk but would have wanted to drop off the luggage (even just our light carry-ons) if parking there. Marixa is also a fairly upscale restaurant (we didn’t eat there) and is in a nice older (though not medieval) building but kept up well. Room and bathroom were average but there’s a nice terrace with table and chairs looking right onto the beautiful church tower and town walls. Wi-fi a little slow but worked OK, AC worked fine. Breakfast was 5€ per person was average at best (and not much of it, not a buffet, it was served: OJ, coffee, one croissant, one toast, two pieces of ham) but probably worth 5€.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice relaxing stay
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was spacious - sort of old-fashioned but nice - clean and air conditioning worked fine - there was a beautiful view of the mountains from the balcony - I would recommend this hotel - location was great - and good value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    5.8
    risky
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    there are no smoke detectors in room or landing no fire extinguisher on landing and no fire notice in room on how to get out of hotel if there was a fire also in shower lose metal cover over drain hazard risk of cutting foot or toe

    good walking distance to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    9.6
    Just outside the medieval walls, with views to die for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel had the feeling it had been there forever - sweet, old-fashion and traditional. The best thing about it was the spectacular 180° view from the enormous private balcony off our bedroom. Taking a shower in the morning with the huge bathroom window wide open, sun streaming in and views of miles of vineyards will not soon be forgotten! Granted, the facilities were a tad shabby, and the breakfast was only fair, but the atmosphere was lovely and the views worth the price!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.5
    Great location with stunning views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property was listed as having a laundry service however this was not the case which was rather irritating as this was a main consideration when I had booked this property.

    Great location just outside the gates into the main plaza. Lovely balcony to sit and enjoy the beautiful views of mountains & the city walls. Views over the vineyards from the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.1
    Convenient stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no lift and 21 steps to reception and a further 12 or so to access the room. Difficult after a knee operation, and no help offered. The breakfast was from 8.30 but the owner only arrived then, so no early breakfast or checkout available. The breakfast was adequate but no choice available and the table still had breadcrumbs on it from yesterday's breakfast!

    There was a disabled parking spot outside the hotel. It is convenient for the town, which is well worth a visit. Fabulous views from the windows.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    7.1
    Good location, basic comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The let down for me was the breakfast Very basic and not good quality. I would definitely recommend going into the centre for breakfast.

    The location was good just outside the city wall and easy walking distance to explore this gem of a town. The rooms were basic but comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    5.8
    Location was awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 3 was not clean. It was was overly scented, so much so we needed to keep the door open to get rid of the strong perfumed smell. Heat registers had not been wiped down for some time. Floors and tile/grout etc not clean. Carpet was old and worn out The clerk at check out was not pleasant The side chair was old and tacky, other rooms had wooden which were nice. The walls and celings needed painting. We recieved an email from the Marixa the day after we checked out...in spainish...which we do not speak. but using google translate it appeared that they thought we took the TV remote and Airconditioning remote...we didn't even attempt to turn on the TV and it was raining and chilly so airconditioning wasn't used or needed. bottom line, we got what we paid for, we saw other peoples rooms and they were cleaner and nicer.

    Location was awesome. Price was fair Quiet Front balcony/terrace was awesome] the Clerk at check in was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    Just as expected, would return...........
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is a bit difficult and we had to leave our small camper approx 500 mtres away. It was FREE on street though ! Breakfast on a plate brought to you. I would have liked a little more choice BUT the view from the breakfast room window was fantastic over the countryside.

    Location. location, location ! From our balcony (and great seats) you could look down at the medieval entrance gates to this hill top town and see all the coming and going......... We managed to get a seat in the square oposite the old clock and watch the figures dancing at 4 mins past the hour. All the locals know that it is not on time !! A

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.3
    Good comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought overpriced compared with other hotels in Spain.

    Good comfortable bed. Very central location and room with outside balcony that had tremendous views.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    8.3
    We liked it very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it very much

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.9
    Balcony overlooking countryside, location at entrance to old...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Steep stairs (2 storeys), no lift

    Balcony overlooking countryside, location at entrance to old town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel just outside old town. Our room had a great view across the plane.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Large terrace and view. Location beside old town was great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Amazing views, very friendly staff and they are pet friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Less steps

    Amazing views, very friendly staff and they are pet friendly. Food was very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    7.1
    Location, nice view to the winery close to the town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is not so helpful

    Location, nice view to the winery close to the town

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.2
    Location location and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location location and value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    A/C, balcony, location, price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant menu only spanish

    A/C, balcony, location, price

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel on the Ignacio Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent hotel on the Ignacio Camino

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    Good, small hotel with no frills but nice charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for an overnight stay and great location to explore the wonderful town of Laguardia

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    10
    Fabulous View in excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous View in excellent Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice place, great location. Heat could not be turned down though and was WAY too hot.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heat was not controllable- way too hot!

    Veranda was superb! Staff were great!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    8.8
    The girl at the reception was super nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The girl at the reception was super nice. La chica de la recepción, muy simpática.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    7.5
    Great views from restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are pretty shabby.

    We had a good deck off our room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.6
    A lovely relaxing stay with a fabulous meal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They were expecting us and had a safe place to store our bicycles. Tje meal was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Lovely place in a nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely place in a nice town

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Would stay there again. Perfect location for visiting Laguardia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Optional, reasonably priced breakfast

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful site.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful site. Lovely balcony

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    Superb views from restaurant and from balcony overlooking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Superb views from restaurant and from balcony overlooking countryside. Very pleasant municipal outdoor pool 2 minutes away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in Laguardia
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from the private balcony and the staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    Location is what recommends this place. Town is very charming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi, stairs.

    Location was excellent. Stairs were a problem with luggage...no help offered. Wifi was bad.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.8
    Great views/location and reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic views of mountains and vineyards. Very conveniently located to old city.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Comfortable not too expensive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could not have breakfest before 8h30. There was nobody at the reception, not in the evening when we came nor in the morning when we left.

    The balcony

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Great position, helpful staff, good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi not available throughout hitel

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.5
    wifi was useless in the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi was useless in the room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Great view from our room, and good location (walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great view from our room, and good location (walking distance to the old town).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    6.7
    Staff were ambivalent, though all else very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were ambivalent, though all else very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    A special town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the stay and the room had a fantastic view, right next door to the old town centre. Laguardia is a must do part of Spain

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    7.0
    Road noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise Bathroom pipes had airlock

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Location was perfect on the town walls but still accessible...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We should have got a room with the mountain view as the vineyards in the autumn were colourful and stunning site.

    Location was perfect on the town walls but still accessible with car. Room was comfy and bathroom worked well as did wifi. For price we paid it was exceptional value for money. It had a nice balcony.the town was just over the road with plenty of bars and a visit to see the church door is a must.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    8.8
    Lovely (small)bedroom and bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Restaurant was promoted as being an award winner. Unfortunately it was closed for dinner during our stay (Sunday night) The Wi-Fi was not working.

    Lovely (small)bedroom and bathroom. The bed mattress and pillows were wonderfully comfortable. Balcony was large and had seating and table to take advantage of both city and mountain views. Great value for money

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.6
    Happy helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No bad experiences at all. Laguardia is a very nice town with friendly people. Great place to visit to taste the wines of La Rioja.

    Happy helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    7.5
    We (2 couples) were the only ones dinning that night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We (2 couples) were the only ones dinning that night. We were put in the small dining room and had our own (unobtrusive) butler to help us with our menu choices. The excellent chef cooked just for us! The meal was superb. I have been before and I will go again.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    5.0
    Location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very poor breakfast

    Location

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    7.9
    Lovely location easy to locate and park
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The one staff member appeared to do everything and was skittle stretched

    Lovely location easy to locate and park

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2015

    8.8
    Great location, amazing views, simple and traditional...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Liked everything

    Great location, amazing views, simple and traditional accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    8.3
    Great views!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great views! (need to come back in summer though! )

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 62

Guests also reviewed these properties: