Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chic & Basic Lemon 2 stars

Pelai, 6, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#93 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1140 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good stay would have give you an excellent rating if the breakfast hadn’t been so poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was extremely poor value for money. I would recommend every one of your customers to steer well clear.

    very friendly and welcoming reception staff. Clean room effective fan kept the room cool with no noise. Good shower. The lemon theme gave a lot of character to the accommodation. Would definitely recommend to friends and would come again our selves.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    My Barcelona Crib
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No english news channel on our TV.

    Free coffee and water all day. Wonderful staff! Near plaza cataluña and la rambla. Train station is just accross.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Very Instagrammable!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing negative sticks out in my mind about the property. I do appreciate them providing unlimited water and teas. That is very kind! And shout out to the housekeepers! They did a great job keeping that place clean! Also they were really friendly.

    First of all, I love Vivienne or is it Vivian? ( I apologize if I spelled your name wrong.) She was the PERFECT person to see after a long 12 hr flight: warm and genuinely friendly. I actually spoke to her on the phone regarding my reservation a month before and she was very helpful & professional not to mention sweet then! So,seeing her in person was sooo great! The hotel itself was the most instagram -able places I’ve been. The pictures on the website looks like the real thing. My IG stories were lit! Haha. My best friend & I had a great time taking plenty of pictures, in the lobby as well as our room. I love the quirky details about this hotel, from their toiletries to the “do not disturb” sign on the door. I had many friends ask me about what I had posted on social media. It’s a very photogenic hotel! We stayed in room 502 which has a balcony. It was perfect for us. It overlooked the Main Street, but was not too noisy... but then again i live in a city so city sounds does not bother me. The bathroom was very clean and big enough. The beds were comfy for our tired/ jet lagged bodies... and passing out after many cava sangria nights. The walls are thin, so be mindful of your neighbors. We got lucky we had good neighbors. I can not rave enough about the location of this hotel. Just a great spot for the airport shuttle , train , city tour bus, shopping, site seeing, restaurants... The staff recommended fantastic tapas restaurant that were walking distance. My best friend and I’s favorite was Cuitat Comtal. We went there 3 times! We had a great stay here!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.8
    Good location, the staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small, it had a terrible smell, didn’t look so well cleaned and it was very noice since the window was near the terrace. It doesn’t value the price, I’ve stayed in better hotels in Barcelona, I wouldn’t come back to this one.

    Good location, the staff was nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.6
    All staff members have been really nice and accommodating,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The first room we were put in was a nightmare. Tiny, without a window (or better said, the window opened to the elevator space, which was obviously very noisy), and the bathroom smelled badly. After the first night, I asked to be upgraded and the guy at the reception was sympathetic and did it immediately. The second room had a big window and didn't smell, so it was OK (although it didn't have a toilette brush either!) Breakfast is expensive (9 euros!) and not good.

    All staff members have been really nice and accommodating, trying to meet our needs the best they could. Unfortunately, the hotel is not comfortable, or well equipped. The only good thing is the big terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice, cozy, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked an economy room and I didn't know that this type of rooms has only windows to the inner part of the house so to be honest for me it was like if the room had no window atall. Maybe I should have read the description better... The room was really small but as we were all the time walking in the city, it didn't bother us.

    Free coffee, water, a very nice lounge area and the patio. Perfect location! Very comfortable bed and nice interior of the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff could not do enough to accomodate us, so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff could not do enough to accomodate us, so helpful in every way a pleasure to deal with 😊 cute room very clean loved the quirkiness and common room, would definately stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    8.3
    The bed was the most comfortable bed ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was the most comfortable bed ever! Our room with balcony was very large and quiet even if it was directly on a very busy street! Everything was so good that I would definetely either recommend it or choose it again for my next trip in barcelona!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.6
    Value for money, everything you need for a city break/ couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were really helpful, even after we checked out there was a safe place to leave our luggage. The bags were locked away, and you had a ticket per bag so there was no chance of anyone taking anything. I also thought that the hotel was very instagramable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.6
    Amazing choice! We’ll be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need more sound proofing.😉But not a big deal!

    Amazing location! Close to everything but not between the buzzle of La Rambla! Friendly staff! Chic decoration! Free coffee and place to hang out are amazing plus! Stable wifi in every part of the building! Don’t even think about it twice! U won’t regret it!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Great place to stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to stay! Metro station universitat opposite to the hotel!It's 10 minutes walk to the la ramblas!Shopping center and food stores near by! Friendly people, free wifi, coffee and water every day! Room and hotel design perfect!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    Lovely place great value for money for a weekend away!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hear when next door had a shower like it was in our room. Security of getting into the building, felt like anyone could get buzzed in.

    Great location and very modern/comfortable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    8.3
    Room was spacious and comfortable, shower was powerful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Although the room was extra for a balcony however there is not enough space for two people to sit and enjoy. The balcony facing rooms are looking onto a busy road, so can be noisy at night even with the window shut. The shower was really good, but the water goes everywhere in the bathroom the minute you shower which is messy.

    Room was spacious and comfortable, shower was powerful and location was great, nice interior design. The shared area is really nice, with free coffee and water. You can relax in the shared terrasse which is comfortable and well laid out. Room had good air con, and gets cleaned daily.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Great clean hotel with good bed and location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift was a little slow to arrive, but it was manageable.

    Great sized bed and air-conditioning. Room was tastefully decorated and clean. The showers had good water pressure. Location wise, we found it perfect - it is 7mins to la ramblas and 2seconds to the metro which was easy to use. The hotel also provided free water, tea and coffee.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most reception staff were very helpful and friendly but one or two not so much.

    Great value for money. Great location. Nice common area & garden...with free coffee and bottled water, which was really handy. Hard to fault it really!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.6
    Modern, comfortable, clear, great location, very good value...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On the question of a romantic getaway, yes, for a young couple, but probably not for an older one. It is perfectly comfortable but basic.

    Modern, comfortable, clear, great location, very good value for the price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location! Design of the hotel is so cute with the yellow color decoration. The room is cleaned everyday and the shower gel is surprisingly good! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Great place to stay for visit to Barcelona. Funky decor, peaceful, love the free drinks!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First night's sleep was disturbed from 5am with noise of furniture being moved but we think this was possibly in adjacent buildings rather than in hotel and travelled up the lift shaft which our room was next to. When we advised the desk we were offered the opportunity to move to another room so you cannot ask more than that.

    As it says in the name, basic but very chic. Large comfortable bed, we had an internal room so no view but not an issue as we were out and about most of the time. Great they offer all guests free tea, coffee and chilled bottles of water! Great customer service, great areas for meeting up and chilling out downstairs if you are in a group or on your own.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location just outside the metro and several bus stations. 5 minutes walk from Placa Catalunya. The staff is super helpful and polite. Free coffee and water. Comfy terrace! Clean with hot water, airconditioning, free wi fi that works. Kept our luggage until check in time. A modern and comfy bedroom. All in all a perfect stay!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Central budget hotel in Barcelona
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our first room was very small. Our two medium-sized bags hardly fit into the room. It was next to the elevator. It was terribly noisy. It had no window opening to fresh air. The ceiling ventilator was also very noisy. We had to change that room. Our second room was fine though.

    Awesome location. Free coffee and water. Nice outside garden. The staff is awesome. They are very friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.5
    Room with no window that you can see out of
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only window is frosted, like in a bathroom. You can't see outside at all. If you open it, you realize you are looking directly into the elevator shaft. If you define a window as something that you can look out of and see the outside, our room was completely windowless. I would not stay here again.

    Very good location for a tourist. Short walk to the airport bus.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.2
    Cozy hotel and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be nice to have more table top space in the room.

    Although we didn't take the breakfast, the complimentary coffee and tea from the lounge was great. The reception staff was very helpful in recommending a very nice and popular eatery for our brunch. The room is very clean; and bed is of a good size and comfortable. I like the design of the lounge area, both indoors and outdoors.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel, perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    I loved the hallway and the style of the hotel, very instragammable. Perfect location!!! Little balcony with lovely view. Also the little loungeroom outside is top, perfect to chill after long walks... free water and coffee.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    9.2
    It is basic, but so lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good from memory. We would stay again 🙂

    It is basic, but so lovely. Room very spacious and I loved the styling of the whole property. So close to shops and public transport. Great WiFi, staff, the lot!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    The staff are amazing , the atmosphere is really friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are amazing , the atmosphere is really friendly and lovely , comfy bed , in the heart of the city , reasonable price , you can’t go wrong here . LOVED IT .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Great boutique hotel that embraces your stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was wonderful. They were friendly and courteous and extremely helpful. I work in the hotel/hospitality industry and would recommend this property. The location was central to the metro, cafes, shops and scenic areas.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Lemon delight!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a busy street so can be noisy, specially if you request the small balcony as we had. But you get used to the street noise.

    Thoughtfully decorated property- loved the quirky and colorful bits. Excellent location close to Universitat and Plaza Catalunya bus & train stops & airport shuttles. 10 walk to La Ramblas, excellent shops and restaurants close by- we walked most places and were able to return to hotel for afternoon break and head out in evening. Staff was receptive to fixes we requested. Adequate breakfast and lovely terrace and lounge space that we enjoyed.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.2
    Great Barcelona Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit more storage in the bathroom if anything, but again accomodation is great!

    Excellent location and friendly staff, bed was good size and comfortable, as per the name this hotel got all the basics right, we would stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    The staff was nice and helpful, they changed our room very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cheap and basic rather than chic and basic. The whole place has been home staged. The common area are nicely decorated with a few trendy markers, so are the rooms but you can see all the renovations have been done really quickly and the bathrooms haven't been at all. Our room was a superior one with a balcony on a very noisy street and you could ear the traffic even with closed windows. The shower of our first room wasn't working and we were lucky that another room was free. Really didn't worth almost 200 euros a night.

    The staff was nice and helpful, they changed our room very easily as the shower was broken

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    To begin with, when we arrived at the hotel the personnel of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Now as for the disadvantages, ( cause we always have something to write about it), is that the maintenance (house keeping) wasn't so "efficient"(?) as days went by and the room was getting a little messy at that time. In addition to that, the supplies(shampoo) and the amenities were relatively poor for a 2 stars hotel as there was no refrigerator in the room. Last but not least if you're having a full breakfast at the hotel it's not compatible of it's price.

    To begin with, when we arrived at the hotel the personnel of the reception made us feel at home by their hospitality and eagerness to help us acclimatize to our room ! The decoration of the hotel was very modern and made us a good impression too. The room was very bright and it had a view of the city center! I think, in my opinion, it attends even more to the millennial generation and if you're looking for a nice place to stay for a couple of days or so, I suggest you to visit this hotel as it is right next to the metro line and other means of transportation! Plus, it offers you free coffee for breakfast!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Rooms should have more mirrors!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms should have more mirrors! The only one was in the bathroom and not full length - it took way longer to get ready because we had to share one small mirror.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    The property was kind enough to safely store our luggage...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property was kind enough to safely store our luggage prior to check in and after check out which was really convenient! Also, the complimentary coffee was a bonus and also great! Staff was very kind and room everything we needed. Loved the lemon edge;-)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    The location is really good and strategic, the ambiance, the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They dont have a laundry service but there is one laundromat ~5mins walk from the hotel. You can have a good dinner at Wild Beef opposite the street while waiting for your laundry to finish 😉

    The location is really good and strategic, the ambiance, the place!! We took the front road facing room with the balcony for our honeymoon. The room is spacious and I particularly love the bathroom! They have bathtub lol. Reviews have said that the room can be noisy but we found it just fine (I am a light sleeper fyi) would love to comeback to this lovely place if I’m ever in Barcelona again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dark in the corridor which usually means dirty status. Thin walls, you can hear the discussion in the other rooms (Spanish and Japanese).

    Perfect location. Young and stylish appearance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Overall we were very happy with the experience and would be happy to return in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No real faults at all. Some have commented that rooms at the front were noisy - we didn’t find this a problem, we were easily able to sleep until 8:00am or so before the traffic and street noise increased.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. There was a relaxed and laid back feeling with free coffee and bottled water near a lovely outside seating area. Hotel is very conveniently situated to Las Ramblas and hop on/off tour bus points.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Hidden gem which punches above its weight! Best 2star hotel ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's only one lift (albeit) not a surpsing issue to encounter in Europe) and guests have to hope that it never breaks down! Lift is also quite slow.

    Return guest who once stayed in Hotel Marvi 4 years ago. It's amazing to see the refreshing change they made to modernise the hotel. I was happy to see Ignacio greeting guests at Chic and Basic Lemon because he was very helpful to me during my first stay in 2014. Ignacio was so incredibly kind and gracious to me during my previous trip that I decided to come back to this hotel rather than choosing to try another hotel in Barcelona!! In fact, all the staff in the hotel are very hospitable and eager to assist with my DIY travel itinerary plans and restaurant recommendations. If they didn't know about X or y I asked about, they would check it up on the computer (I can't understand Spanish) and even helped to call up to seek further clarification for me. Super grateful for their kindness and patience helping me to plan my itinerary for my mom and I.  We had a corner courtyard room facing the back street which was quite quiet. The toilet is quite big and basic shampoo/soap provided. The beds were comfortable and spacious for us and my mom also enjoyed the stay at this hotel. While there's no kettle or fridge in the room, they are able to store items for guests in the reception area. Complimentary Coffee and tea are also kindly provided. There's also a chic sitting area to hang out and relax near the reception area after a long day exploring Barcelona.  Location is excellent at Universitat - easy to get to the airport and Barcelona Sants. The busstops near the hotel also make it easy to take a bus to many parts of the city. We enjoyed using the bus to get to Parc Guell and Sagrada Familia.  Lots of student digs nearby for quick bites. I'd recommend Centric as a very cosy tapas place popular with locals !! 

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    10
    Very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff and cleanliness were wonderful!! If you're looking for a no nonsense, walk to everything location this is the place. There are no extras at this hotel so if you plan to be out all day and need a place to sleep this is it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall good would use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom furniture needs upgrading cracked sink and loo cistern

    Staff very friendly and helpful, lovely free tea, coffee and water. Nice sitting areas in reception

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Excellent staff, good service, reasonably priced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Barcelona is nice place to visit but in principle expensive for accommodation.

    Hotel location is central and in close proximity to majority of attractions and restaurants. Compared to other similarly priced accommodations it exceeded my expectations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    4.2
    Disappointing - loud and dirty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was dirty when we checked in with hair in the bath and dust everywhere. When I asked reception to clean it they didn’t even apologise said all housekeeping left for the day and there was nothing they could do. Room was so noisy. We didn’t even face the main road and the noise from the street was so loud even with windows closed going until early morning hours. Walls in the hotel are like paper you can literally hear people’s conversations Staff was very rude, really unhelpful - when we asked for restaurant recommendation they said oh you can eat anywhere. For the price we paid this hotel is so overrated and just too expensive. It’s basically a nice looking hostel.

    The location is good for sightseeing but it’s loud at night

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Since first minute you feel like home, very welcoming stuff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Since first minute you feel like home, very welcoming stuff, cute and nice lobby. Complimentary coffee and water any time of a day. Clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    9.6
    Chic stay at central BCN
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was overpriced for what you get and also pretty narrow selection of food available. We also didn't like that we found open windows when we got back to our room, but luckily nothing was missing.

    We loved the location / really central and close to hip bars and shops. We also loved designed goodies (tote bag, soaps, signs, etc). Staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    fabulous little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lovely little hotel, friendly helpful staff, comfy bed, outdoor area and coffee, croissants and water really appreciated. would definitely recommend as a base to stay. Near to the Las ramblas

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you’re a very light sleeper, ask for a room on the courtyard side on the property, rather than the road.

    Very clean, large, light rooms. Great customer service and good breakfast,

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    We were able to check into our room early upon arrival and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you get a room close to the road, it is exceptionally noisy at nighttime. We found it very difficult to sleep with the street noise at night.

    We were able to check into our room early upon arrival and the lounging facilities and free water/tea/coffee is a nice touch! The hotel is very quaint, clean and ideal location!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    5.8
    Cozyness is not sufficient to make an hotel a good one.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room, 507, was more of a bunker than a place to stay. The only window opened on the elevator tunnel. Basically you could never open it or get real light in the room. It was also very small. Pretty noisy as well. Cleanliness is average. But it is no sufficient to have 'cozy' soaps in the toilet or a colored wallpaper to make a room a good one.

    The location is great, the staff is kind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    It was a great value place to stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The 24 hour espresso machine was wonderful. The location was superb in the center of the city but yet quiet at night. The common area was inviting and the wifi was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    Location a total winner, clean fun decor without being...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy on street. Windows should be thicker and sealed tight but at that price it was essentially the only down side...I was very pleased and would stay again.

    Location a total winner, clean fun decor without being overdone. Bathrooms could use a little repaint a little moldy in some spots and vent very loud.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Great atmosphere and design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We unfortunately received a room without a window, which meant the room had little air and no option to open a window. The hotel also offers free coffee and water but unfortunately we found out after checking-out as the staff did not inform us.

    Great atmosphere and design. Big and very comfortable bed and pillows.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    The location is ideal to be at the center of action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view on the elevator out of the windows :(

    The location is ideal to be at the center of action. The bed is of better quality than some of other more expensive hotels

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    10
    Refreshing hotel in the city center with great staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The interior of the hotel was very modern and themed. All details were taken care of. Friendly and helpful staff, always ready to help! Free drinks (coffee, tea, water) all day long. Elevator Cleanliness of the rooms! Although the room was located next to the elevator shaft, we did not hear anything when it was moving.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    10
    Lovely staff and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only minor negative was the view from our window wasn't great but tbh as it was a city break its nothing to put you off.

    Highly recommend this hotel. Possibly the nicest staff I've come across on my travels and so so helpful. Perfect location and a good place to stay if your doing a lot of sightseeing. Would definitely book again thank you Chic and Basic Lemon!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Great value for the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing ,everything was excellent.

    the hotels cleanliness was excellent and the staff were very friendly .The hotel was very convenient placed in the center of the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    7.1
    Free coffee all day in lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk employee was less than helpful about out question concerning early morning public transport to airport. He basically said no you can't get there before 5am, which was false, since we had a flight at 6am. Our room was near the elevator and we could hear sounds of neighbors having loud intercourse throughout the night...

    Free coffee all day in lobby. Cheap and close to sites in Barcelona, including La Rambla.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.3
    Cosy stay in the heart of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are so thin. Some noisy groups may leave you without sleep when they extend their conversations to late night

    The location is magnificent. The university metro station on line 1 is just across the street. Room is clean, I advise room with balcony.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    5.0
    When we arrived to the hotel there was a “flood” in one of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived to the hotel there was a “flood” in one of the rooms. So they told us we had to move to another near by hotel by chic and basic. When they moved us the room was super small and it had a horrible paint smell. So we stay a couple hours there to see if we could be able to sleep with the smell. The wifi didnt work either. So later, we went there to the original chic and basic lemon and they found us a room. They could have done this, from the beginning instead of making us move twice with our luggage. It was so rude.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.0
    Its a cool place with a nice location, however, They dont clean the rooms after 1pm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were promised to get an early check-in, and they didnt keep their promise. One of the Staff was very arrogant first day. Rooms are a bit noisy. There is no mirror in the room.

    Location is practical

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.2
    Helpful and friendly hotelstaff, pretty good location, clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    badly soundproofed, could hear everything from your neighbours.

    Helpful and friendly hotelstaff, pretty good location, clean, hair-dryer, free coffee and water available

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    9.2
    location is perfect very close to metro station red line and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is perfect very close to metro station red line and bus station,well connected,the tea coffee and water they offer was a surprise that we liked a lot a u don’t find this a lot in hotel with this price,really good for its price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Worth the price! Probably the best option for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. You could here you neighbours pretty well🙈

    1. Center location 2. Metro just outside the hotel 3. Friendly staff 4. Free coffee/croissants/tea/water

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    9.2
    Super helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Super helpful staff. They gave great recommendations on how to get around, when to do activities, how to avoid unnecessary chaos, safety tips, quickest routes, etc. Endlessly helpful. One staff member followed us downstairs to make sure we had the right map and asked if he needed to book anything for us because he could get us a discount. Great location -- can walk many places or hop on metro or bus line within steps from property. Unlimited cafe drinks & water was a bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything.

    Very modern and stylish and felt very luxurious. Spotless clean. 30 second walk to the metro station. Far enough away from Las Ramblas that you aren’t kept awake at night but still a slow ten minute walk to all the shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable stay once again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My only grumble is looking out to see the back of the lift shaft but as I'm away from the hotel most of the time it's nothing to of putting

    For my frequent visits the hotel is in a great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Though our room had a window, it was very dark inside. But don't mind if you're here just to sleep over.

    Perfect location, unlimited water for guests, kind and helpful staff, very clean and modern room, very pleasant to stay in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    Would happily return and recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative point was that the bathroom in the room we were in, was a little tired. It could have done with being resealed and some of the tiles needed regrouted as they were loose.

    We arrived super early however this wasn’t an issue, our room was ready and we were allowed to check in immediately. The room was spacious, well decorated and the beds were incredibly comfortable. There were complimentary toiletries in the room and also a complimentary canvas tote bag. Free tea, coffee and water were available just beside reception and the outside terrace area was lovely. The location of the hotel was fantastic, within easy walking distance from everywhere and with a metro station across the road if we couldn’t be bothered to walk. The airport bus also stopped directly across from the hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.9
    The main highlight of the place was actually the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The main highlight of the place was actually the staff. The reception guy is an excellent professional. Polite, friendly and smart, plus he spoke several languages. He was extremely helpful : )

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    9.2
    Clean, friendly, perfectly located for everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    Great hotel, centrally located with a metro stop outside. Very friendly staff. My second visit here and i will come again. Nothing not to like and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    10
    Perfect bang for the bucks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My room is one with balcony on the outside right above the main street, a little bit noisy but to trade off with the fresh air from the balcony at this rate, it's a good deal for me. For those who doesn't really want the balcony, rooms on the inside is cheaper and quieter as well.

    - 24-hour Free Coffee & Water is so far my favourite offer never experience anywhere else - Perfect location: Plaça de Catalunya, La Rambla, Casa Milà, Casa Batlló, Gothic Quarter are all within 5-20 minutes walking distance, also locate right next to metro station Line 2 (Universitat station) very convenience to go anywhere else, very close to Airport Shuttle bus stop as well, plenty of foods, restaurant, supermarkets, pharmacies can be found just around the corner, 5-10 minute walk to shopping malls and shopping street. - Friendly and very helpful staffs (not a single one of 6 persons I met during my 6-day stay are not friendly) - Comfy bed & pillow (just right for me, not too soft or too hard), clean room & bathroom - All NON-SMOKING Rooms with very cozy & nice little garden patio for smokers - Free WiFi, not super hi-speed but good enough for video call

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Perfect break to stay in with the location being very close to the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The atmosphere of the hotel was amazing, very quirky and unique. The Hotel and room was very clean. The staff was very helpful with answering your quiries and having a good knowledge of the area of giving directions.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful rooms/hotel but no good service from one of the workers.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Exterior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed two nights during the weekend in December, the rooms are great but air condition wasn't working and was really cold couldn't sleep, couldn't call reception because phone wasn't working so had to get dressed and go to the reception desk in the middle of the night. The reception man was not bothered or sorry he just answered me With "what do you want me to do about it" eventually after 15 mins he brought a blanket but it's twin rooms so I asked him for another one as it's 2 beds 2 persons . He responded with bad attitude as if everything was a nuisance to him, he didn't want to go back upstairs so we would have to wait longer for the second duvet to be brought to our room. I had to go up to housekeeping personally to get the duvet. Not very good service. On the other hand other staff were friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    Fabulous modern hotel centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast could have been a little cheaper for what was offered.

    The location was excellent; within walking distance from where the Airport bus drop off is. The staff went out of their way to make my stay enjoyable. Also free coffee and water was a nice touch. The room was modern and comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, kind and helpful staff, good price for value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived before noon and knowing that check in is from 15:00 hoped that we can store our luggage, go explore city and check in later. Receptionist was very kind, checked if our room is ready and luckily for us it was ready and we were allowed to check in straight away. There is free tea, coffee and bottled water available in lounge area at all times. They also have luggage storage room which was great, because we were able to leave our luggage until evening on our check out day and collected it shortly before going back to airport. Location was perfect, airport bus stopped almost next to the hotel and bus stop going back to airport is 5 min walk away from hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.9
    The location is perfect, opposite to the subway, many...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only thing was that the aeration was very bad, bad air in the room and it was extremly hot (November). We didn´t turn on the heater it was so hot that it was hard to stay in the room, was terrible.

    The location is perfect, opposite to the subway, many restaurants, shops, supermarket nearby. Very close to the airport Shuttle. The service was great. Only thing was that the aeration was very bad, bad air in the room and it was extremly hot (November). We didn´t turn on the heater it was so hot that it was hard to stay in the room, was terrible. The room itself was big enough and clean, especially the bathroom.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    The help we received from the reception was very impressive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are small if you're travelling with family - with friends its probably a good size!

    The help we received from the reception was very impressive. Extremely courteous staff - they helped us with our bags while we were away on a little roadtrip too. Andrea was very kind and polite. The rooms were clean, small though for 3 people, but sufficient. The vibe of the place was very chic, very trendy!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.2
    great location, clean hotel with very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Outside noise was quite loud from traffic (we were on first floor with city view - the view was there but also the city sound)

    Nice location - close to Plaza Catalunia. Very friendly staff, clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chic & Basic Lemon traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: