Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Masia Del Cadet 3 stars

Carretera les Masies, s/n, 43440 Espluga de Francolí, Spain

#3 of 8 hotels in Espluga de Francolí

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 158 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    10
    Masia Del Cadet is a beautiful, relaxing place, with great food and run by lovely people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Masia Del Cadet is a beautiful, relaxing place, with great food and run by lovely people. It is 5 minutes from Poblet Monastry (which is definitely worth a visit). Highly recommended.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.3
    Disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival all staff were serving lunch in the restaurant. Reception area and bar were in darkness. So no welcome. Spoke to two staff in the restaurant and after a wait a man came to check us in. Not exactly Mister Personality. Room adequate, a bit old fashioned and dowdy. Restaurant opens 9 pm until 10.15 pm in the evening. A limited choice of menu especially if you are not a big meat eater. Breakfast at 9pm. Fruit prepared and left on the table (probably the night before and covered in cling film). Packet ham and cheese. Not worth the price.

    Situated in the countryside with wonderful views.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel within walking distance of Poblet Abbey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's was nothing we would have changed except we would have happily stayed longer.

    Our room had a lovely huge private terrace. We enjoyed wonderful breakfasts on the main terrace surrounded by lovely gardens and listening to bells from the nearby abbey. Our host was a wonderful cook and prepared classical region foods from recipes handed down from her great great grandmother.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    a very nice hotel, we ate twice in the restaurant and it was...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    a very nice hotel, we ate twice in the restaurant and it was very good. Did some fantastic walks nearby. Very nice and relaxing area. We enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a little expensive for us but, it was delicious, so it was worth it.

    Beautiful building, very quiet area, fantastic restautant, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    10
    A beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful hotel. Spotlessly clean and comfortable room. Very friendly, helpful hosts. Excellent food in the restaurant and delicious breakfast served on the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    A well-run, attractive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We ate a delicious in house meal with well matched local Priorat wine. Breakfast was plentiful continental style, individually set out on the terrace. Excellent air conditioning and lovely ensuite shower. Extremely convenient for the historic monastery of Santa Maria de Poblet

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.1
    A pretty location in the countryside.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was a little too hard for my liking.

    A pretty location in the countryside. The property is quiet due to its location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Pebs on tour
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location. Fantastic food

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    9.2
    Charming Hotel/Restaurant Run by Charming Young Couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A very good hotel restaurant run by a charming couple. We highly recommend.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    9.2
    The hotel has an excelent restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has an excelent restaurant. Great food and wines.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    10
    Just perfect, pleasant hosts, quiet room and well-kept.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just perfect, pleasant hosts, quiet room and well-kept.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    7.1
    The view from the patio was beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They charged for an extra cup of coffee at breakfast, something we had never experienced before when we purchased an included breakfast. On the second day, we checked out before breakfast was served and they did not offer us coffee or any reduction in price.

    The view from the patio was beautiful. Room was comfortable and the bathroom was modern.

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    9.2
    Bed was great and room good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast had no protein ..charged for extra cups of coffee!!!

    Bed was great and room good size.T V screen was tiny!! No English Channel ...BBC or CNN!!! No mini fridge ..restaurant war pricey!! The

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    9.2
    Very friendly multi-lingual staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly multi-lingual staff. Easy to find with great car parking. Excellent restaurant. We will be booking again for our return to UK this November.

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    5.0
    Friendly proprietress
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No breakfast before 9am. Evening food was only formal dinner from 9pm. Expensive. Remote from alternative bars/restaurants except other hotels. Asked for set menu but told there was none for 1 person (later found there was one!). Raw egg in soup not mentioned in menu.

    Friendly proprietress

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    8.8
    We had a lovely room with an enormous patio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a lovely room with an enormous patio. Beautful views. The dinner and breakfast were excellent...very friendly staff. We will certainly stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.2
    The staff were most hospitable and friendly and did...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing that we can think of.

    The staff were most hospitable and friendly and did everything to make our stay memorable. A lovely area for walking and visiting the monastries and villages. Within easy reach of Tarrogona and the sea.

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    5.4
    Arriving in L’Espluga de Francoli was rather like entering...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Did not like room 203 - small, worn and too many things did not work in the bathroom. The dinner was very expensive for what it was.

    Arriving in L’Espluga de Francoli was rather like entering ‘Stepford’; the advice given at the i did not transpire into the expectation; in fact, it was cras in as much that, despite our request for information re hotels and a place for dinner, we were never told about the excellent abodes that existed outside the drab town of L’Espluga de Francoli eg Monestir de Santa Maria de Poblet provided an excellent Hotel and even better dinner. Hotel Masia del Cadet has a wonderful terrace especially in the early evening as the sun sets but as the evening wore on, the whole place took-on a resemblance of Fawlty Towers; its owner and Manager was a mirror image of the thespian John Cleese. Choosing dinner from the menu was theatre in itself not only for us but for the other meagre 3 resident couples (mostly German) who clearly ‘enjoyed’ the process of choosing not only what they wanted to eat but what they were told they were going to get!! Rooms are impoverished (203), dinner was almost intolerable – twice the wrong beer was served; the veal was raw; the prawns were few and difficult to find on the plate; the chips weren’t cooked through and the cost was excessive. Wifi did not work in room 203 but was excellent in the lounge. The shower was broken; there was no pressure in the handbasin taps and no plug; we asked for a double room and got a twin. Despite breakfast not being served till 9am the lady (another mirror image, this time of John Cleese’s wife) was the last bastion of ‘something good’ about this strange place. We recommend you choose the Monestir de Santa Maria de Poblet only just down the road.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    It was a very pleasant hotel with excellent food and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a very pleasant hotel with excellent food and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    8.3
    We were looking for a hotel near the cisterian route so the...
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We were looking for a hotel near the cisterian route so the localisation was perfect. Good restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.3
    nice hotel, great room with Juliet balcony with nice views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice hotel, great room with Juliet balcony with nice views

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    9.6
    Wi-Fi inaccesible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-Fi inaccesible

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    6.7
    Easy to find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy to find. Comfortable quiet room.

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable Rural Retreat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable Rural Retreat.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    9.6
    Helpful staff, loved the food and wine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Helpful staff, loved the food and wine. The location is beautiful. The roads are fun to drive around with enough twists for any petrolhead!

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    6.3
    Nice place
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Bad light in the room and cold water shower in the evening as wel as in the morning. wifi was unstable

    Nice place

There are also 3 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Browse Masia Del Cadet traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: