Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Rural Masía la Mota 2 stars

Carretera Font Roja, Km 5, 03800 Alcoy, Spain

#2 of 7 hotels in Alcoy

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 128 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.6
    Magical place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- everything was excellent

    This is a beautiful small hotel situated in a stunning location high up in the mountains of the national park. The staff are helpful and friendly, quite simply they can’t do enough for you. The salt water pool is fantastic and stays cool even in August. There is no air con in the bedrooms but is cools down at night and the ceiling fans are sufficient. We enjoyed the hotel so much we extended our stay for another 2 nights. The food was also very good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Wonderful position with sweeping mountain views towards...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful position with sweeping mountain views towards Alcoi and close to many walking trails in the natural park. Beautifully and tastefully restored old farmhouse with antique furniture and pictures. Excellent restaurant with regional cooking open at the weekends. Very helpful and informative staff who speak English. Drinks and light meals also provided by staff when needed. There is a very good salt water pool outside with plenty of seating and with wonderful countryside views. Recommend booking a room with a view.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Recharges the batteries like only the Spanish mountains can.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is our second visit to this beautiful hotel. The hotel is charming & has been lovingly restored and decorated. The staff are all very friendly and professional, they made us feel personally welcomed and looked after. The setting is very serene, the local nature park is peaceful and well cared for. The food is excellent and typically Spanish

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    7.5
    B&b in mountains
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a b&b not a hotel which makes it expensive. No tea or coffe making facilities in the room. Restaurant wasn’t open but offered to do food but menu very upmarket and expensive ( best of luck trying to find food in Alcoi we ended up with a sandwich).

    Location, tranquil, Stylish building, owner Indira charming, Buffy the Schnauser.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.6
    Absolutely delighted with our stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would appreciate a bottle of water in the room.

    Beautiful location, so quite and peaceful with stunning views. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful with lots of suggestions of things to do and even drive us to town when our taxi didn’t show up. The on site restaurant is second to none!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Lovely but room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As it is an eco hotel there is no a/c just a ceiling fan. This in itself is not a problem but there are no screens on the windows so reluctant to open windows for cool air in the night because of mosquitoes. The pool had many dead wasps and leaf debris floating in it and although there were loungers around the pool there were very few shady places to sit. Also if you wanted to sit somewhere other than around the pool there were chairs and tables but no comfortable chairs or loungers. When the restaurant is open the earliest booking is 9.0pm. I appreciate this may be more a problem for British visitors than Spanish but for us it is very late to start eating.

    The room was lovely. Most staff very friendly. Very clean. Lovely countryside.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    7.1
    The setting of the property was very beautiful in a very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quality & choice of food in the hotel restaurant could benefit from improvement.

    The setting of the property was very beautiful in a very quiet relaxing setting. Breakfast was simple but very good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Stunning views all around this isolated converted farmhouse hidden in nature, 5 kms out of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were well meaning but forgot to fulfil some simple requests about the things in the room. We wanted to speak / practise our basic Spanish but they seemed even keener to speak English with us. The pool was freezing. Not sure how or whether it's possible to heat it a bit to extend the "swimming season" but that would have made it so much nicer to spend time there.

    Absolutely stunning views, lovely friendly staff, nice rustic ambience, and good breakfast with delicious fresh fruit to start (plus the other things you'd expect.) The pool is a lovely addition to the property, but sadly was freezing cold (in mid April) even with 25 degree sunshine days. The restaurant at the hotel is great for one or two dinners but we went elsewhere after that. It's quite a pleasant but long windy drive back into Alcoy so the attraction here is to get into nature and get away from town; so there's no nearby restaurants you can walk to other than the one on the property. Surrounded by olive trees on the terraced hills and a gorgeous dry forest. There's also two resident donkeys; nice to hear them at sunrise!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    9.2
    Hidden Gem in the trees.....bliss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A complimentary glass of Cava on arrival at the hotel would be a great added bonus but there is nothing to dislike here.

    We loved the warm and friendly welcome, all the staff are great and an asset to the hotel which is a beautiful, calm and restful place. We are coming back for an anniversary weekend! The donkeys who live on the property made my day!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    9.2
    Wonderful 3 night break in such a beautiful location. Would definitely return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small coffee table in room would have been helpful .

    A beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting restored by owners. Surrounded by mountains and overlooking Alcoy. The staff were extremely friendly. A sumptuous breakfast to start the day. Our room was very comfortable and beautifully decorated. Lovely walks from hotel passing the resident gorgeous donkeys.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Amazing paradise, so quiet and much beauty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    So quiet and amazing view from the hotel. There is very good hiking paths all around. The owners was very nice and friendly. The food at the restaurante was very good. The duck leg in Orange sauce was so excellent. Very likely that we Come here again. Thanks for us :-)

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    10
    Fantastic attention to details
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location to hiking trails.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    The owners of this beautiful hotel were very hospitable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners of this beautiful hotel were very hospitable indeed. We enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel, beautiful surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    8.8
    First class bedding, toiletries good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Our room overlooked an inner courtyard so impossible to get fresh air. Access to the hotel via a long, steep, winding road could be challenging in poor weather

    First class bedding, toiletries good. Excellent meal in the restaurant. Very welcoming and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    9.2
    The owners and staff were lovely and so helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners and staff were lovely and so helpful and accommodating. It was a real pleasure to stay there, in such a beautiful spot hidden away in the hills.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    5.8
    Cleanliness and lovely towels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cleanliness and lovely towels. Staff. overpriced and the room we were allocated SUPERIOR double room did not come up to the mark as far as we were concerned. The window opened into a covered courtyard (solely for the owners use) no fresh air in our room we had to leave door onto corridor open and open a window in the corridor which was not practicable for other guests. As we were in the mountains we thought we would be opening a window to a beautiful tree lined mountain view! Also extortionate charges for a sandwich and to open a bottle of our own wine. The sandwich was badly presented just two slices of bread put together with a little lettuce tomatoes and ham. This cost an unbelievable 18 euros! When we questioned this we were told it was the owners how governed the price code. The restaurant was open only on Saturday and you needed to travel a distance to find a reasonable restaurant Would definitely not return here and feel we paid over the odds. Just glad to be home!

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    9.2
    The restored Masa is a stunning building,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The last kilometre is a bit hairy The internet access is limited - the walls are very thick! The resturat service is not fully avaulable except at weekends

    The restored Masa is a stunning building, The place is peacful The owners friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    10
    This place is amazing about 1 hr between valenica and...
    • Couple

    Nothing

    This place is amazing about 1 hr between valenica and alicante and close enough to denia for a wee break from in all. The food is amazing to be honest the best I have ever had. The hotel is amazing. I got engaged here because to be honest I don't think I could have got anywhere more beautiful. Heading back next year.. The best hotel and food I have stayed in.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    8.8
    The thick mist prevented us from even seeing the building...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Our ground floor standard room had a view of the courtyard and lacked privacy. Would recommend a first floor superior room, which had views.

    The thick mist prevented us from even seeing the building let alone the surrounding area. We enjoyed the restaurant, for lunch and dinner. All the staff were friendly and helpful. We will return again and hope that the weather is good to us next time.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    7.5
    Disappointing breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Disappointing breakfast. Small rooms (we had superior rooms), small beds.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    9.6
    We liked the friendly staff, the beautiful situation and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We liked the friendly staff, the beautiful situation and the general ambience. The food was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    9.6
    everything except a/c
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    a/c was missing

    everything except a/c

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.6
    Lovely hosts and staff, could not do enough for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hosts and staff, could not do enough for you.

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: