Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Medplaya Aparthotel Esmeraldas 2 stars

Vilafranca del Penedès, s/n., 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain

#8 of 46 Holiday rentals in Tossa de Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 652 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    5.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    We checked-out at 5 am, so the day before checked-out we asked at reception a breakfast package. Receptionist told us there is no possibility to get a breakfast package. I think the possibility is always, you just need willingness to implement it.

    Nice and comfortable room, excellent food, perfect location, friendly staff, excellent wifi. In my opinion the hotel is absolutely value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a lick of paint but really trying to find something here.

    Our 2nd stay here after a brief stop off 3 years ago. The hotel has everything for a family, staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed for 6 nights and will be back next year. Better then a lot of Spanish 4 stars we have stayed at by a mile.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the fact you asked me that question!!

    The restaurant manager and chef were excellent, as our daughter is a ceoliac we found the other restaurants were unhelpful with gluten free food, at this hotel they really tried to help us and they went through the food she could have, but being 12 tje gluten free chips and omelette were perfect for her, we weren't charged for her meal as they said "she didnt eat much", also gave us a free drink for no reason.. so 20 out of 10 (i know) for hospitality all around. Carlos the receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful.. so applause all around!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not think that the coffee was nice ,and the dinners were OK.

    The bed was very comfortable, cleaneness, excellent'? Our apartment was cleaned everyday with clean towels. It was 10min to beach And 10 min to go to Church as my husband liked to get mass everyday.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    CHOICE FOR BREAKFAST WAS VERY POOR AND OF POOR QUALITY. THE LIFTS WERE WAY TOO SMALL, TO CATER FOR FAMILIES (MAX 4). SWIMMING POOL VERY SMALL, ITS FINE IN MAY BUT IN THE HIGH SEASON IT WOULD BE VERY CLAUSTROPHOBIC DUE TO THE AMOUNT OF PEOPLE AND THE CONFINED SPACE.

    ROOMS WERE VERY SPACIOUS, BATHROOM ANS SHOWER WERE EXCELLENT, TOWELS CHANGED EVERY DAY. THE TWO LADIES ON RECEPTION WERE SO NICE TO US AND WERE MOST HELPFUL

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely apartment and the food was lush. 3 staff should get a gold star the cook from Galicia, Juan in the restaurant and Isabel on reception.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Attitude of the staff was very good. We arrived late at night and the reception staff were very helpful. Next morning asked for an electric kettle which was in the apartment very quickly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. Internet - in reception/ground floor was almost impossible to use it. To slow, to difficult to connect, need wait to long to check even email ( not even talking about using skype etc.) 2. You can smoke in the apartment. Our room had smell of cigarettes, which for us wasn't nice as we don't smoke. 3. 6€ for one washing up and 1€ to print 1 paper (A4) - toooo expensive. 4. Double bed is 2 single beds put together. All the rest was excellent for 2 star hotel!

    We stayed for a week. Nice hotel, wonderful food, especially dinner (fish, different type meat, loads of different salads,yogurt and cakes). Dinner staff were very nice, always smiling people. Clean apartment. Not to far from the sea. Would stay again.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There were plenty of electrical gadgets in the kitchen but nowhere to plug them in! We had to put the kettle on the floor to use it. There was also a toaster, a microwave and a coffee machine which we had to put in a cupboard to make space. The entertainments staff tried hard but were not very well supported by the customers.

    Great location just outside the old town so if you come by car you can park on the street. Free wifi in the reception area. Very helpful reception staff. All you can eat breakfast was only 5 euros. Nice area round the pool. Not far to walk to the town and beach. Very clean. Love Tossa!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    If you travel here by car, parking can be difficult, the hotel has a car park at 8€/day, non-reservable, but it is usually full, spaces seem to become available from Sunday/Monday

    Everything about this hotel is exceptional, it is particularly child-friendly and welcoming. This was our second stay here.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no halal food and not much choice for coeliacs.

    There was a wide variety of choice for breakfast and staff were willing to make alternatives if not in the buffet. I liked the picnic prepared for us when we left for the airport at 5am. Room was cleaned everyday and clean towels provided. Staff were very friendly and always willing to help. Loved our stay and would definitely book again.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisier at night if yoU sleep by pool side and want it to be quiet but it turns of at mid night. Bit too many Brits this year even though I come from uk.

    Friendly staff. Great entertainment for kids. Clean. Good food and great value for money. Near to beaches, bus station, restaurants castle.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only thing we didn't like were really thin walls, we could hear all guests in the rooms around us.

    Very nice staff, hotel is located 10 min walk from the beach and very close to stores.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free wifi only around reception. If you want use wifi in the room you have to pay extra.

    Bathroom seems to be renovated and looks nice. In the kitchen anex you can find all necessary items you need as water kettle, microwave, cutlery, cooking pans etc.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checkout staff on the day neglected to check the coach transfer so we were left waiting for 45mins. Her response was 'I'm just an employee' Not helpful

    Very friendly and helpful staff who understood the needs of a school group

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very clean, good selection at breakfast, 24 hour reception and staff very helpful. Bar and entertainment excellent. 5 minutes walk from town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff and excellent value for money. We would definitely go again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was cold due to being in the shade most of the time and it is on the small side

    Good location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony and pool area could do with being spruced up.

    Nice staff, comfy bed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friendly and helpfull staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A bit far from the beach.

    The best balance of price/quality. Everyday cleaning. Perfect restaurant!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness stuff and their work

    The restored bath

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast a bit expensive, prices advertised in info in room were old and outdated.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    room didn't have an oven

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    LA GENTILLESSE ET DISPONIBILITE DU PERSONNEL

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very friendly and helpful staff, especially Isabel, very clean apartment and close to local amenities

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Excellent Staff, very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was perfect location and excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    that everything accept the room had extra charge, the games, the wifi,the special chairs, in the lounge and more...

    friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults + 3 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dedicated and very friendly staff. Brilliant restaurant food and service. Very pleasant hotel to stay at

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The pool was not clean and full of flies.

    The rooms were cleaned and towels changed daily.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi poor

    Really comfortable, lovely room, very clean, staff excellent

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast and dinner are perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Polite and friendly staff!

    Very old furniture, dirty playground for kids...

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Wi-Fi is super-super slow

    Everything but wi-fi

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I can think of is, the orange juice at breakfast was watery. Fresh orange juice would have been nice.

    Comfortable apartment with modern bathroom. Superb value for money. Breakfast really good value.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Definitely not big enough for 5. The pull out bed had hairs and dirt on the sheets. Again the bedcovers were old and dirty with stains so pulled off, lucky we bought some new bedcovers from the markets. No kettle or toaster in the kitchen with hardly any utensils. Kitchen very old. Apartment felt like an old cabin in a run down caravan park/holiday park.

    Near some good markets and a nice little playground. Nice towels. Clean modern bathroom. Reception area nice and clean and open. Wifi offered for free in bar area.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The free wi fi is too slow, try to download a map only 300mb, took more than 2hrs to download just 71mb, so have to pay for the proper wifi 5 euro per day. the door is key operated and not feel very secure. there is no additional lock.

    The buffet breakfast and dinner are very good, different variety each day and plenty to chose from. location is good, a short walk to town centre. free on street parking near hotel. kitchen fully equipped.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    - All facilities in a room are very old, except bathroom, though shower doesn't work properly too - Free wi-fi in bar is really slow - Really loud caraoke singing in the evening in a bar, we could hear it from 2nd floor

    OK location

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dated room needs re-doing. Hasn't changed since I last stayed 20 years ago. Very uncomfortable beds.

    Nice budget no frills appartments. Lovely new shower. Cleaners fantastic spotlessly clean and very friendly.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There is very little storage in the apartments and the beds are not comfortable. Bathrooms have been done up but the apartments are otherwise tired and in need of refurbishment .

    The half board option was good value, the staff were friendly and the location not too bad. 10 minute walk from the main tourist area. Pool area was nice and the pool a reasonable size after reading reviews saying it was too small.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool area is small but there are plenty of chairs and loungers

    Great location, quiet but 5-10 minute walk to shops bars etc. Staff were helpful and friendly Bar and food were nice the facilities were good Good value for money

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Wifi in the room is too expensive, and the free wifi didn't always work very well. Kiddies disco was a bit late for non spanish children.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. Hotel has all you need and we had a great holiday.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Beds are a bit saggy and uncomfortable. Wifi was very unreliable.

    The town is beautiful, the resort was a short walk into the centre. The apartment was small and a bit tired, but adequate - it had everything we needed. It was quiet at night. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and pool.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    There was no free wifi in room. Free wifi in canteen was weak and ineffective almost non-existent. Location is a bit far from the beach about 20mins walk. The pool is too small. No free parking. Air con was noisy. No free water or other drinks with dinner.

    Rooms are spacious. Air-con was effective. Clean environment. Friendly and helpful staff. The food was good.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Thought the pool would have been bigger, didn't feel comfortable with it so close and in view of restaurant area

    Location was good, supermarket was close as beach, apartment was clean and housekeeping was done every day

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    You had to make sure that it was closed every time.The matresses were very hard. And in all this hotel is at its end in service. By son manny things that you had to stop thinking about it to not ruining the whole trip for the children. When we were negotiating with the hotel I (Ihave very bad lungs) was to have a room on the first floor and my son and his family next to me and my wife. We ended up on third floor room 313 for my son, 318 for us. I could be all day talking but that would not change my opinion. O yes, one at last The picture you present your hotel with is a false.

    The front desk was very helpful when we had that experience that the hired cars whom we had payd for fully in advance, were not delivered at the airport and we were told by the goldcar rental service that they would not even pay usanything back. Your staff in the the catoring service is very nice and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool rather small for such a large hotel. WiFi in the room is quite expensive

    Large room with seperate bedroom, clean and ideal for self catering with adequate equpment provided.

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wifi in the public are is very slow.If you would like to use the safe in your room you have to pay additional amount of money.

    I liked a clever solutions in the room,small but smart, with all necessary belongings.Cleanness is ok.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Because of the updated bathrooms, all the baths were removed so all apartments only have showers. This is a bit inconvenient when you have babies and little toddlers. My toddler screamed every time I tried putting him under the shower. Also didn't like the kitchen area and furniture. The kitchen could also do with updating and more counter space is required when preparing meals. The sofa beds are very uncomfortable for daytime lounging.

    The apartments are clean. Staff are very friendly and helpful. They even got my husband 2 bags of tiger nuts which he had been looking for in all the supermarkets but couldnt find. The location of the hotel is very handy. There is are 2 supermarkets very close by and the beach is only about a 5 min stroll away. The bathrooms were updated and the shower is great. We had a corner apartment and the balcony was lovely to sit out on and enjoy the sunset in the evenings.

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wi Fi 5 € to pay per person ! Not per room !! Ladies at the reception were kind however they didn't mention that we have to pay 5 € person for internet no matter how many people are in room. Swimming pool is smaller then on the pictures. Hair on the shower drain by check in.

    Room had excatly what we needed!!

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Expensive WiFi

    Staff couldn't have been more helpful and breakfast was excellent. Great location and Tossa de Mar is a great resort with lots of small restaurants and beautiful old town

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only noise were the kids in the morning.

    Everything correct. Location is not in center neither next to the beach, but you are there in a short stroll.

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The wifi in public areas is weak. There is no kitchen soap or sponge in the kitchenette. The pool looked bigger on the pictures.

    The rooms were clean. The location not too far from the center and the beach. Late check-out possible for an extra charge. Great for families with small kids!

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms could be updated and refreshed to a more modern style, room can be very noise from the other customers as u can even hear people having showers and flush their toilets. Beds are a bit uncomfortable, but that depends from people to people but clean. Balcony is big enough but for the ones turn to the main street can be very noise for the other hotéis around and main road. No free Wifi no free car park...depending of the time of the year u can park around free of charge! Swimming pool looks much bigger on the picture!!!

    The food was okay, staff very modest but nice and helpful, new bathroom, lots of restaurants around and only 5mins from the beaches.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are tired

    Staff helpful

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Our vocation was great ,thanks Carla for all .we enyoed!!!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good location hotel very clean and friendly staff. Would recommend to any age

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast has less vegetariin option

    nice place

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Great value for money & very clean

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Attention = difficultés de stationnement

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Thin doors

    Clean, well run, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Shame only one pool. Beach was stoney and kids preferred to use pool.

    Perfect location. Close to shops and restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bare bones room. Cheap furniture, lumpy bed and no where to sit. Chairs were hard plastic or folding chairs.

    Loved the town.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a bit on the hard side but got used to it over the week.

    Loved the flexibility of self catering. Hotel nicely located in a quiet residential area.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool area

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    British tv channels very poor, likewise entertainment in hotel

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wi-fi very slow

    the hotel was nice, clean, good location

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed was hard

    in a very Spanish town

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    We had a very good stay in this hotel. No commplaints

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Room cleaned and towels changed every day. Very good buffet restaurant. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hard to find a good place to park the car

    Central location

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Guests also reviewed these properties: