Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Medicis 2 stars

Castillejos, 340, Horta-Guinardó, 08025 Barcelona, Spain

#279 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1244 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    The breakfast was supurb! The location was great! The number 45 bus (around the corner from hotel) took you right into the city centre! Lovely hotel and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one pillow each but that's scrapping the barrel.

    Prompt check in and helpful staff. We had room 602- excellent! It had a private large balcony. Bathroom came with shampoo and body wash.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi connection was very poor, it was nearly impossible to watch a video on youtube unless its definition is 144p. There is not a direct metro line going to the centre but still you can be there by travelling half an hour.

    They have changed the sheets everyday. Very close to sagrada familia. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy

    The receptionist Carolina who worked the day shift was extremely helpful and gave us excellent advise on travelling around and day trips

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit noisy in the morning from 8am on because of the traffic on the street, but we got up early to see a lot of the city so it was no problem for us.

    Very nice apartment with a good bath. Really friendly and helpful staff that helped us with all of our questions and problems. Really good position, metro station Sant Pau is just a few minutes by walk ago. Cafeterias, Resraurants, Supermarkets etc. are really close to the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of room.

    The rooms were smaller than it looked in the pictures. Not at all suitable for family with kids. Staff was very cooperative and good. Cleanliness was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent, very clean, room wasn’t huge but modern and had everything we needed! Staff were very friendly and helpful regarding information on where to go and how to get there! I’d 100% recommend! Excellent value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was very warm and temperature control was affected by opening the sliding door that accessed the balcony. The room air conditioner was configured to heat only.

    The location was excellent, with bus and metro nearby. Staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel was clean. Breakfast buffet was simple and plentiful, with 2 choices of cereal, bread, fruit, cake and a quality coffee maker.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noisy.

    Nice and simple room. Great location (near to bus station, metro). 10 minutes walking to the Sagrada Familia. Great value for money. And the balcony is a big plus as well. Perfect for a 2-3 days stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is very small, although for price I paid (about 44 EUR) it is good deal due to location (central Barcelona).

    Close to Sagrada familia and other sites, not far from metro station (walkable distance). Comfortable bed. Good sound isolation.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only very slight negative was the use of paper cups for the coffee facilities, normal pots would be better as they are reusable.

    When I first arrived the receptionist was cheerful and very helpful. All the staff I met at the hotel were all cheerful and very polite. The room is everything you would expect from 2* star hotel. A comfy bed, shower and tea/coffee making facilities and a TV (but only Spanish speaking channels). Room was cleaned daily. The only way to get to the rooms is via a lift. It is only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel to the Sagrada Familia. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from a metro station so you can get anywhere in Barcelona quite quickly. It was very good value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel room was very clean and the bed was very comfy. Just the right temp. Nice and quiet even though we were on the corner of a busy street. The continental breakfast was nice especially the granary bread for toast that went down a treat with the delicious coffee

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The WiFi was fine for checking emails on a phone, but that was about it.

    Very friendly, helpful staff. About a 10 minute walk from Sagrada Familia, so great for visiting early before tourists get there. There are a few good bars/restaurants on the same block.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was a bit tired. It looked like the bathroom had been flooded or something like that, and the ceiling was not repaired properly after that.

    The hotel has excellent location, just a few minutes away from Sagrada Familia and metro,and within a walking distance from all main attractions. The area is very safe, with lots of shops and different cafes around. The room is cozy and clean, towels are changed daily. The staff are nice and speak good English, always try to help. The terrace on the rooftop was closed, but they opened it for us.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location isn’t in the best part of town. It’s very near to Sagrada Familia and metro links are good so if you don’t mind not being in the best part of town then you’ll be fine. Location is very noisy. On a busy road and it sounds like the windows are open all the time! Rooms have very thin walls so you can hear everything. Beds move when you turn over and are quite hard. Only one very soft pillow. We didn’t sleep much during our stay which was really disappointing.

    Property was very clean. Rooms were cleaned and towels were changed every day. Staff were polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really tiny, things like water bottles were not replaced, very little TV, the balcony door didn't work very well.

    I liked the location, and that there were lots of cafes and restaurants nearby. It was clean enough, the stuff was friendly, not all of them very efficient though.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    As a suggestion, it will be good to include a laundry within the hotel, however I've received all clarifications and help to receive this service with third party.

    I had a good rest, the facilities were clean and I've received good attention. Staff is very kind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The value for money for Barcelona , as a frequent traveler , this hotel offers e exceptional value for money and also is very very clean. The most important thing for me was the lady on reception,a busy hotel normally does not have much time to ensure there guests feel welcome , but the lady , was FANTASTIC, A REAL CREDIT TO THIS HOTEL. The room had everything you need and was cleaned to an inch. Thank you HOTEL medics .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small business center was not working and we really needed it

    Great location and the lady who welcomed us was super nice and explained how to get to the various attractions. We had requested a crib for our baby and they had set it up in the room ready to use

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barcelona is not well known for its customer service, and this place isn't much of an exception. A lack of smiles/politeness doesn't bother me much, but receiving a bill for a cracked glass that was already present when I checked in and having to go down to the front desk and debate about it was a little annoying. Also, one of the cleaners just walked in very quickly after knocking while I was asleep and unclothed. I woke up instantly, and she didn't apologize or walk out, but proceeded to ask in a very normal tone if I wanted the room cleaned. Not a big deal to me but not ideal levels of customer service either. Some of the staff were very polite in all fairness, but others were clearly waiting for our brief interactions to be over.

    The breakfast was great for the money. The room was very nice, and was awesome to have a balcony. You can walk about 10 min. to la Sagrada Familia, there's a train station 2 blocks away, and can catch the bus right outside of the hotel to El Born or the Gothic Quarter. Pretty great location for not being centrally located.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very, very noisy hotel, located in a busy corner without acustic isolation. Not hot water in some periods of the day (in winter). Very small room. € 20,00 parking each day. Poor wifi (slow). Small elevator, only 2 people each time are allowed.

    The brakefast is very good in a very calm space. The rooms are clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds very comfy, rooms clean and better than expected for price. Excellent location, 10 minutes walk from sagrada familiar and virtually on the tourist bus route, would definitely come back again.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the rooms are a little small but I was along so it was fine. I could see this being an issue with more than one person. I also thought the breakfast (which I didn't buy) was a bit expensive for Spain.

    I liked that the staff was ready to help in all fronts. I lost my adapter for my computer and they let me borrow theirs (with at 10 Euro deposit which I got back).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed was a bit uncomfortable

    excellent location, nice and very clean,private balcony,great value for money, minutes of walk to sagrada familia and some metro and bus strations

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, except maybe the heat inside the roms. We couldn't switch it off, or maybe we didn't' know how to do it.

    Cleanliness, staff overly courteous. Rooms very comfortable and the hotel position. You had almost everything minutes away

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The view from the room wasn't great but I didn't go to spend time in the room.

    It was very easy to get there from the airport, one bus. There were good shops nearby and it was about a 15 minute walk into the centre of town. One easy bus ride straight to the beautiful beach, the bus only cost 1 Euro over there. There's a lovely Gelato place round the corner from the hotel called Slurpao. The breakfast was a bit limited but certainly adequate. The Manager was helpful with directions and info.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofness of windows and doors is not so good. you can hear sounds of hairdryer and bathroom ventilation from other rooms as well as traffic as well as a lot in the corridor

    Single room is small but quite comfortable and clean. Really comfortable and quite large bed for a single room. Excellent fresh fruits for breakfast (papaya!!!). Friendly staff and good wi-fi connection. Bus stop 15 m from the hotel entrace, and about 1 block walk to metro station. Some rooms have a little balcony with chair facing the street. Might be very nice during the summer months (could not use it in November, too cold in the evening). 10 minutes walk to Sagrada Familia and 1-2 minutes walk to great art nouveau site Recinta Modernista.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is just what I needed as a place to sleep.

    Good location, good price, 24 hour reception, clean room, quiet, easy to find, close to several stations, friendly staff, balcony.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, hard pillows, no covers on duvets, which were also stained. Didn’t restock milk for coffee, or paper cups for drinks. Reception staff quite brusque.

    Close to bus stop to town centre.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Be sure to check out the size of the rooms, we were surprised that how small our was. Also our room was really noisy (thin walls?), and more shelves or cabinets would have been really helpful.

    Nice staff, very good location, tidy rooms.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the black mold in the bathroom

    The girl at the front desk(can't remember her name but she was from Romania) was superb! soooooo helpful and knowledgeable about Barcelona!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Walls very thin, plumbing noisy.

    The reception staff were very helpful. The situation near Sagrada Familia is great but to get to other parts of the city you need to know your bus and underground lines very well. It took 3/4 of an hour to get to Plaza espana on bus.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1.We booked for a double bed, instead we had twin beds that were sliding away creating a bid gap in the middle when sleeping:(((. 2. I had to pay another 5.72 Euros when checking out. It should have added to the total sum when booking.:(((

    Just the staff and location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms at front suffer from heavy traffic noise as the hotel is at a busy intersection.

    Extremely helpful desk staff. Sunny roof terrace with some rooms. Excellent location near Sagrada Familia and bus stops. Pleasant modern rooms and comfortable beds, balcony overlooking street large enough to eat on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful staff. Very clean room. Only stayed for one night, would suggest you ask for a room with a balcony if you are staying any longer than a night.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Black mould, lots of black stains on the ceiling is something completly unacceptable. Especially when you have to pay more than 100 Euros a night. Please look after that bathroom. Thanks.

    Very nice and helpful receptionists. Thank you ! Close Metro and bus stations.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No blanket on the bed, just a thin sheet. Not the end of the world, because it was pretty hot, but would have preferred to have a proper blanket.

    Friendly staff, the room was clean and had everything we needed. There was a bus stop literally right outside which takes you halfway to the Gothic Quarter, or straight to Camp Nou.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start... The bathroom had ceiling mold, the bed was hard as a rock. If you are trying to go any where in the city that has a pulse after 20:00 get ready to spend money on taxis. Dont eat the provided breakfast for 10€ a head, its a ripoff. Go down the street and get much better home cooked meals for cheaper. The venue boasted cheap prices on the website. When we arrived our bill was much more than what was originally booked. Might be booking.coms fault or the property but I was turned off immediately after being asked to pay a huge bill for a motel like this. The deal was around 70€ a night for 3 nights then when I arrived I was greeted with a 350€ bill (around 400 something USD). Im not the type of guy to post bad reviews and I tried really hard to make the best of a bad situation but this place stressed me out. I thought I would give warning to anyone else thinking the price is worth the risk.

    There is a great restaurant right outside for breakfast if you are jet lagged when you land this is a great venue. I liked that the property was within walking distance of La Sagrada Familia.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 15 nights

    Bed was too soft for me. Our window was on sun side and the conditioner didnt manage to cool the room during the day. But I have to admit that it was too hot outside.

    Everything else.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel is just 5-10 minutes walking distance from Sagrada Familia. Well connected by buses just around the corner and metro Sant Pau nearby. Easy transport access to every major tourist attraction! Welcoming and helpful staff, can book visits to top attractions on offer and skip queuing in line. Would keep in mind to visit again in the future. :-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was compact but it had everything we needed. We were looking out over the fire escape so no view, but we didn't spend much time in the hotel. It wasn't near Las Ramblas but not hard to get there by Metro.

    The staff were extremely helpful. Very happy to print off our boarding cards for our return flight and storing luggage after check-out was no problem.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing to dislike

    I had a problem with my room and was moved as soon as was possible. The front desk and cleaning staff are excellent. The hotel is close to shops and restaurants. There's a bus stop right outside the hotel and the metro is a short 5 minute walk away.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We requested a queen bed and got two double beds next to each other. The beds did not have any blankets and although we were told they were in tbe closet, they were not. The wifi barely reached the room.

    The staff at the hotel was polite. The hotel itself is in a nice neighbourhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I'm being very picky, the bathroom could do with better ventilation.

    Brilliant location, near restaurants and bars. Only 10 minutes walk to sagrada familia & good connections to the metro & buses.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable location to the centre, straight line to the beach by bus (bus station in front of the Hotel), great coffee shops around the area. Room was very clean with nice terrace, very good bed and shower. Girls on reception were so nice and friendly!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You can hear a sound from next rooms.

    Very kind and helpful receptionist on arrival. Comfortable hotel. Accomodation is near by city center and only 10 minutes walking from Sagrada Familia,. A lot of restaurants near the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    So before you read on a little about me. I am an easy going traveller. I don't expect a luxurious hotel but i expect a clean and safe hotel. I use hotels as a base to go and explore. So what didn't i like about this hotel. Parking.... Luckily for me they had a space available and were flexible enough to give this to me however they only have 3 parking spaces available. If you are driving then make sure you book a parking space in advance. But beware if they do not have any available then the underground parking near by is super expensive. Cleanliness.... As mentioned i am a pretty laid back person when it comes to hotels. A clean and secure room are two musts and the rest i am pretty flexible with. So I checked in late in the day and went straight out for dinner and some drinks. When i came home around midnight i was about to get into bed when i noticed they had definitely not changed the bed sheets since the previous client. There were quite a few and noticeable pubes under the sheet.To be fair I did not bother complaining at this time as it was so late and felt they couldnt do anything at this point so didnt give them a chance to rectify the situation. I simply slept on top of the sheets instead. Breakfast.... Breakfast was definitely not worth the additional price. only a very small selection which with all the shops and cafes near would be better spent there. It s a shame really. As mentioned the hotel is in a great location and has the potential to be a lot nicer

    The location is amazing. 10 minutes to walk to the Sagrada Familia. This made it very convenient for the short trip i had planned. The area is safe and generally not too loud. The staff were flexible with the parking and were able to find a space for me to park from 11am instead of 3pm for the checkin. Staff were helpful in directing to the nearby sites.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel itself is just ok, not very comfortable and it's extremely noisy (possible to hear people talking, flushing toilets and having a shower in the other rooms at all hours). Beds and pillows could be better too. No places to put the suitcases at all. Lights are really weak in the room. Shower has good pressure but it's not well built, the bathroom completely floods after a shower, as there's no door. Also the bathroom ceiling was moldy and the exhaust fan had a lot of lint and dust which flew around while it was on. The staff at the reception was polite (but not very friendly) but one of the ladies was very helpful.

    The only good thing about this hotel was the location, just a few blocks from La Sagrada Familia and one block from Saint Pau hospital. A lot of cafes, bakeries, restaurants and mini markets around.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 001 window looks at inner communications of building so you can count - there is no window. But Barcelona itself is so pretty, than we dedicated to spend as less as possible time in hotel and not care about window .

    Barcelona's hotels are overpriced, so we look option by price this time and get what we pay for. Small room, good wifi internet, kind staff. Subway is few steps away. Air conditioner in room is very good. Descent breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street gets a bit noisy at night if you plan on sleeping with the balcony door open (there is air conditioning however). If you close it though you won't hear a thing. :)

    I got exactly what I booked: a single room, that was very practical, despite the small space. The bathroom was big enough. I had a street view to a square and even a small balcony (good for smokers, not me). Very nice people at the reception, very helpful. The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to Sagrada Familia and a 3-5 minute walk to the metro. Lots of places to eat around or buy groceries. Good value for the money spent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the location is good I would have preferred to be a bit closer to the old town. One day we were left with no large towels, but please note we did not notify the hotel staff, and had we done so I am sure they have quickly rectified it.

    The hotel is situated north of La Sagrada Familia, with good transport links including a taxi rank just across the road and bus stops and a metro station within 400m, or if you don't mind the walk it's around 3.5 km to 4 km to the old town. The staff were polite and helpful. We had some trouble working the air conditioning in our room and the receptionist fixed it for us and also offered to leave a key card in so the room would be cool when we returned later. They were also happy to advise about places to eat. The room itself was neat and clean. The bed was comfortable, and there was very little noise, allowing for a good night's sleep. The shower was gorgeous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable and friendly within easy reach of metro, La Sagrada and Ave Gaudi for good restaurants and very accessible by bus to get around the city.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Only one small niggle for us, Beds that had wheels! If you sit up in bed with your early morning cuppa your bed rolls away from the headboard. My husband tried to stop it but couldn't. Guess it makes it easier for the maids to clean, but not for the guests.

    The hotel exceeded our expectations. From the very friendly helpful staff to the cleanliness you could not fault it. The location was very good, and within walking distance of many sights, or if not either a bus just around the corner or the metro only a couple of blocks away. The T10 card you can buy from the Tobacco shop is excellent value for use on public transport. The breakfast was very good and a good choice of meats, cheese, eggs, bread and fresh fruit every day. The use of a computer was also convenient (ask at reception). Very nice seating area in the reception area, and they are happy to look after your luggage if required. Maps and information were always at hand and it was no problem for them to help. The use of an electric kettle in the room was nice, but be aware no milk is provided. Walk in shower in the bathroom was perfect for us and a small outside balcony to relax at the end of a long day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The trip wasnt long enough.

    Just what you need for a few days on a city break. Close to a bus stop and Metro station. Close to many bars and restuarants. Clean with really friendly staff. Everything was good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff, awesome rooms with a terrace and comfortable beds. A hop and a skip from all the tourist spots and a few blocks of extraordinary restaurants. What more can I ask for? Will be coming back.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is a good distance from the city centre. There is however, a very good metro and bus service which will get you there in about 15 minutes. Otherwise it is a 40 minute walk.

    The staff were so kind and helpful! They really looked after us and made our time there extra enjoyable. We had a beautiful terrace all to ourselves!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Bed and pillows weren't too comfortable -Mould in the bathroom ceiling

    -The staff were super helpful and very nice -Location is excellent -Easily accessible by public transport -A lot of restaurants nearby

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower managed to spray water everywhere. Demi-glass shield insufficient.

    Location. Close to public transit and Hop On Hop Off bus. Lots of convenient​ eateries. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mold in the bath room, the bed was really hard. We had to stay the first night in a room with no windows and it smelled really bad. The breakfast was Continental not a true breakfast which they charge $20.00 and that was a rip off.

    The location was perfect. The place was clean with the exception of mold in the bath room. Staff was friendly

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little hard to my taste, they could have added more pillows

    The room even though small was extremely clean with nice and modern decor, bathroom was amazing, balcony added a little more charm. Breakfast was really good...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit tight getting around bed, large shower but the shower screen wasnt any good so bathroom ended up getting soaked. Cleanliness wasnt the best found several hairs on bathroom tiles and on bed. Our room was on the side of a busy Street and patio doors didn't lock properly and was drafty.

    Room was good value for money, friendly staff on reception always happy to help , cleaned daily, room had small balcony,location was good for park guell and sagrada famillia. Close to gaudi avenue which has plenty of restaurants

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A small fridge (minibar) would have been useful in the room

    Very close to the bus and subway stations Nice view Even though the room was not very spacious, it was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too sparse, cheap, not enough cups or coffee, had to ask for extra cup, received one. Breakfast not included although it was continental.

    Location and cleanliness.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Near to a noisy street

    Our room had a balcony. Close to Sagrada Familia. Staff very helpful providing a map and information regarding public transports.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had issues with the electricity but the personnel was helpful to fix it quickly

    Close to Sagrada Familia and beautiful Hospital Sant Pau. Walking distance to Gràcia. Nice bakeries in the neighbourhood. Nice terrace on the top.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was difficult to use with my laptop, space was congested. The air conditioner never worked. It was very noisy with outside noise getting in so sleeping was impossible.

    The breakfast was great. One of the receptionists was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. It was great.

    We had a fantastic welcome, with a run through from the lady on reception about busses and sights to see which are noted down on a map for us. Brilliant service, room was cleaned each day and we had a small fridge in the room with wasnisea for a bit of milk, wine or beer!!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot, the air conditioning was turned off (winter time) and the screen in the room displayed 27-30*C. We reported the problem and were told it would be fixed but then no one turned up to solve the problem. As our stay was short and we didnt spend time during the day, decided to just sleep with the open window.

    Double room at the top of the building with massive terrace and beautiful view! Perfect location close Sagrada Familia with a number of Spanish coffee shops, bakery shops, restaurants and pubs.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside was a noisy neighbours next door.

    Great location - walking distance from Sagrada Familia, very helpful staff,clean and friendly place to stay.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small hotel with no backup. We had a leakage in the sink and a failure in the hairdryer, last one took more than one day to solve it. Also, in the first 2 days we had a noisy neighbor which make us feel inside the other apartments.

    Location near from 2 metro stations and sagrada familia. Despite some issues we faced during our stay, the staff were 100% concerned to fix all. Room everyday very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was loud, we could hear everything that went on in the room next door.

    The welcome was great and we got nice tips on where to eat and what to do. Perfect location, really close to the subway.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony door doesn't have lock; was nervous my 19 months old would open it and ... If you are with a child make sure you request a room with locks on balcony

    Bed not comfy because the double bed was made up with 2 single beds put together. Breakfast nothing exceptional

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The blanket! it's so soft and fluffy. Really gives me comfort after the long haul of intercontinental flights. The location is just wonderful too. Just a walking distance either to Sagrada Familia or to Hospital St. Paul.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our first room was on 6th floor and the noise coming from transformer room and kept us awake at night but after complain we received another room on 5th floor

    Close to Hospital Sant Pau and Sagrada Familia, a lots of cafes and restaurants nearby, 3 min walk to metro station. Helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 People)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit noisy in the night , although all windows are closed - they are not soundproof .

    The location near old Hospital is great! Sograda is in 10 min walking . Nice terrace for sunbathes on the top of the building ! In general - new and comfortable hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Medicis traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: