Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mediodia 2 stars

Plaza del Emperador Carlos V, 8, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#185 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 7311 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Good for a night or two, with a location close to transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was very confused and dissatisfied with the fact that they wouldn't charge the credit card on which the booking was made. It was through booking.com, but I have never had issues such as this and the hotels were always able to charge the card that was used at the time of booking. They did mention at hotel they needed my card to complete the booking, but at other hotels that was either not necessary or a picture of the card was enough. I was just not expecting that and had to pull money from other accounts which was just an inconvenience. The bathroom could use some work, especially the tub/shower. While showering the bathtub filled up to about my knees with water....

    The location is great - right next to the Atocha station and a whole lot of other metro/sub stations, also many buses. Around the area there were a lot of food restaurants/places. If you're not afraid of walking, you can quite easily get to a lot of tourist attractions within 30 minutes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    The breakfast was simple and not swish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, It what what we needed.

    The breakfast was simple and not swish. That was all we wanted. Staff excellent and helpful, every thing spotless, location close to perfect - main station and Metro literally across the the, next to Museo de la reina,, 200 m. to the Prado, cheap food and good food close by. The style of the hotel was modest but bed very comfortable. We requested a quiet room and despite the fact that a main road is out the front had an undisturbed sleep. Suited our needs perfectly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    8.8
    Very convenient for our needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We have stayed at Hotel Mediodia on 3 occasions now and have always felt safe in the area. We like it because of its convenient location. It is over the road from the Atocha Train Station, the airport bus and the metro station is close to the front door. It is very reasonably priced and yet our recently refurbished rooms have been modern, spacious and clean. This time we stayed in a large room overlooking the square where the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofía is located. This museum houses Picasso’s Guernica and many other priceless artworks. A must see! There are plenty of cafes and restaurants close by. We would stay at Hotel Mediodia again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    10
    beautiful hotel in excellent position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    i work as a Hotel Receptionist and can highly recommend this property, we had a room overlooking the Renoia Sofia with a little balcony over the square which was bustling but when shutting the doors no noise, air conditioning and a fridge very welcome in the heat it is walking distance to everything across road from the airport bus stop next to the atocha station and the beautiful retiro park a 5 to 10 minute walk bars everywhere loved the atmosphere my second time to this amazing city , the staff all welcoming and friendly and would come back to this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    8.8
    Located close to Atocha station and airport stop while city attractions within close vicinity.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff and facilities were excellent. Wifi on upper floors not working on arrival but after desk staff were notified technicians were contacted immediately and issues rectified. Traffic noise not a problem and air con excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Quality stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street a bit loud, but i didn’t mind sleeping with earplugs on.

    Location near Atocha metrostation and trainstation was great for us. Room was big and nice. Bathroom, beds, AC and everything good. View was ok.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location at Atocha train station at good value price point.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was spotty. It was hard to connect and keep a connection. It seemed like the bandwidth was insufficient. It worked great at 4 AM.

    Excellent location for Atocha train station and access to Airport express bus. Friendly and helpful staff. Room was comfortable and clean with good air conditioning on a hot day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is quite noisy at night. Not by hotel problems but by uneducated guests arriving from the bars in the middle of the night making noise. But they're there and they'll wake you up in the middle of the night. Also not a problem of the hotel but does not have any good restaurant in the vicinity.

    The hotel is very well located opposite the Atocha Renfe train station and a few steps from the Atocha metro station which provides an easy transportation to all the city and surrounding areas. It is next to Reina Sofia and very close to Prado and Thyssen Bornemisza. All other sights of the city are just a few stations away from Atocha. The hotel is old but the rooms were in good condition and although not large it is comfortable, airy and bright as they have a door to a tiny balcony. The bathroom was the only unconfined room I've seen in my 30 days in hotels in Spain, it has a window. The breakfast is no wonder but it is much better than what we can find in the nearby coffee shops. It is not a hotel for those who want to enjoy a hotel but it is perfect for those who want to enjoy the city and the hotel just to shower, sleep and store luggage.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    When we arrived the staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They went over and above for us. We had a great room with a view of the square. It was such a wonderful start to our vacation. We are definitely coming back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Decent Hotel, Great Location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing Specific. Just old property with decent interiors. Well, can't expect much for the price.

    Great location - right in middle of all the action. Various restaurants outside hotel offering varieties of option.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel but noisy on the street side
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road outside was a bit noisy. Other than that location was very good

    Right beside a metro stop. Square behind the hotel had a number of bars and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Value hotel when using the train station or express bus to the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The double glazing wasn't as effective as it could have been. There was still some noise from the very busy plaza outside.

    Much bigger room than we expected for the price. Remarkable value. We used the hotel for one night when returning to Madrid by train and catching the express bus to the airport, from outside the train station the next day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location and comfortable room, spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would be nice to have had Tea/Coffee making facilities in the room; Breakfast not included in the price but you can choose this as an option at the time of booking. Not a major issue for us, but please be aware that not all rooms are facing the outside of the Hotel, some rooms face the inner courtyard!

    Nice room, very powerful air-conditioning, comfortable bed, clean toilet/bathroom, very good location if travelling by Inter-City Trains to various cities from Madrid's Atocha Main Train Station which is right opposite, a 5 minute walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No fridge. Couldn't even get some ice for a drink back in our room!

    Great location, next door to Atocha train station and close to museums. Note they now have a new elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Comfort close to the best of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some street noise floated up to the room as you’d expect in the centre of a big, busy city.

    Love the location, opposite Atocha station, near the best museums & above a great bar with excellent coffee. The doors of the room’s balcony can be opened for fresh air and to see & feel Madrid in action.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Between the station & museums of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit of street noise, which was greatly reduced by closing the balcony doors.

    Love the location, opposite Atocha Station, beside the Reina Sofía and above a great cafe / bar. Medioda’s rooms are simple, spare & spotlessly clean with little balconies overlooking the street or square. Very friendly, efficient staff. Great security.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Great lot of bars and restaurants locally
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Great location next to bus/ train station which links directly to airport 5 euro for bus direct to airport one way. 15 minute walk to main shopping area

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    5.0
    Excellent location, close to Atocha station, metro and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The main problem with this hotel is that it is very noisy. You can very clearly hear what is going on in the rooms next to yours, people talking, television, music etc. Also all the noise from the corridors can be heard in the rooms. It doesn't help that a lot of school classes seem to use this hotel for school trips, so a lot of kids screaming in the corridors, the breakfast room can be very noisy too. Also, the pillows are a disaster. Very uncomfortable. Combined with all the noise in the hotel it made me have very poor sleep during my stay. Breakfast is very simple.

    Excellent location, close to Atocha station, metro and the three big museums. Staff is friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location, comfortable clean rooms, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Tea and Coffee making facilities in room would have been nice.

    Staff cheerful, welcoming and helpful. Any question we asked of them, ie where to eat, catch bus etc, took time to explain, even stepping out of hotel to direct us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.8
    A lovely stay and should I come back to Madrid you will find me here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Construction around the area.

    The location was amazing near 3 art museums, restaurants, the train station, car rental and exit routes from Madrid. The hotel had a pleasing presentation and the staff was always available to assist.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    Too loud. If you can sleep through noise, go for it.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Acoustics were horrible. This is an old building in a busy street, which is to be expected. However, the room next to mine was also very loud, also likely due to the poor acoustics. The staff was unhelpful for reducing the sound.

    The room was clean, if small. Wifi worked well.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    Perfect place with everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was probably a 20 minute walk from the main shopping area but we didn’t mind the extra walk as this burned off some of the calories we ate.

    Hotel Mediodia was the perfect accommodation, visible as soon as we stepped out from Atocha Metro Station. The room was clean and had everything we needed. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us a room with a great view on the 6th floor facing the fountain and train station. Standing on the little balcony overlooking this was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    I’d stay again for sure!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such friendly staff and a really homely feel to this hotel which is important when you’re a solo traveller! The location was perfect for me and I loved that my room had a balcony where I could watch the world go by. It was the perfect place to explore Madrid for one day! You must go for a walk in the park - it’s beautiful! Loved the close proximity of the station too for my train the next day. Honestly, i’d stay again and that for me is the measure of a good hotel!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.1
    bed and pillows were firm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi did not work from room 445 or the lobby. Staff said problem was with my evice/software, yet I got wi fi just fine at nearby cafes. The only chair in the room was ridiculously small.

    bed and pillows were firm

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Clean, wallet friendly and ideally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many, many groups of noisy teenagers running up and down halls, yelling.

    Great location. Wonderful value for the money. Very clean but, as is with most older hotels, noisy between rooms and in hallways.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfy hotel with excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisy but then it was also the night RM won the game so not sure if it’s the norm. The sounds outside and inside didn’t stop until the wee hours of the morning.

    Room was small but functional. Staff were courteous. We were there at the night RM won the soccer game so there was so much noise . Someone was stomping their feet above us. The walls are thin and we were near the stairs so the sound of people talking and shuffling around was very audible.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    I’m coming back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is nothing not to like

    Excellent location in centre of town. Close to beach, old town and plenty of bars/cafes. Rooms are incredibly clean and comfortable. Receptionist was the most helpful I have ever experienced. Gave information about area before it was even asked.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Great hotel - couldn't fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    We stayed here twice within two weeks. Amazing location, especially if you arrive by train which is over the road. Staff were so friendly and helpful. One room was more newly refurbished than the other but cleanliness and comfort were consistently good. We looked out on the main road but sound-proofing of glass doors was great - no problems sleeping. Reina Sofia was next door and free from 7-9 most nights. Lots of restaurants and cafes around and supermarket 5 mins up the road. Would definitely stay here again. Value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room not so clean ( dust at corner) Pillow and beds are not great - so you do not expect the day’s tiredness to be comforted ..

    Convenient location Great staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Place to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location, location, location. Walking distance to three major museums. Walking distance to Plaza Mayor. Walking distance to hop-on/hop-off bus which will help you decide where you want to spend time. We had a view of the plaza in front of the Museo La Reina Sofia. There were celebrations, music, and events. The metro system is at the corner. It is the third time we have stayed there and we will return.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.3
    Our unexpected extra night in Madrid turned out to be a good one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Our flight was cancelled and we needed to find a convenient hotel at very short notice close to Atocha. I found an excellent deal for the Mediodia on Booking.com which was perfectly located and a very good room for our extra night in Madrid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only complaint we can have would be outdated and broken Air Conditioning in the room. It made a lot of noise but absolutely no cooling ! We had to turn it off completely during night as it was impossible to sleep with that noise. Fortunately, we stayed there for only one night and it was not very warm outside ( May) but I can imagine the similar situation during summer.

    Good location, very spacious and clean room/bathroom, friendly and hospitable staff, good WiFi

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location - opposite station. Pleasant outlook onto square. So convenient for museums, park.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast - something cooked needed. Bread for toast ran out, ages before replaced.

    Great location - balcony outlook to square, comfy, updated bathroom. Breakfast adequate. Staff helpful though English sometimes limited.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Poor noise control in & out.Close to Atocha Renfe railway main terminal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin walls,poor sound isolation,we heard neighbors singing in morning showers..door closing loudly..4-5 hours of Live band music in courtyard in front museum ReinaSofia..No help in upping 4-5 steps up lobbing at entry portia.

    Just across 12 traffic lanes from Atocha Renfe..with padestran lights control

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    Superb location, close to everything I wanted to see and do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb location, close to everything I wanted to see and do. The room was very comfortable and large, I had a room facing the Reina Sofia which was perfect to watch the world go by. There was a fridge in the room which I always appreciate. Very clean room and very, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    10
    Excellent easy-access hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Perfect location for a 3 or 4 night stay in Madrid. Easy access from the airport by train Renfe to Attocha station and a 2 minute walk to the hotel. We requested a quiet room and it was perfect. Very quiet on 6th floor overlooking Reina Sofia museum. The room facilities were great. Plenty of natural light and cross ventilation from windows on two sides of the hotel room. Bed was firm but perfect after a long haul flight. Easy access to gallery precinct, hop-on hop-off bus and local eateries. Good 15 minute walk into the centre of the city. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rather noisy on the night we were there. Being on the first floor we were close to the revellers in the square outside.

    Great location very close to Atochi train station & hop on/hop off bus stop. Very spacious room in a nice hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old charming hotel, Visible and easy walk from station, busy road but asked for quiet room, no view but no noise, next to Reina Sofia Art museum which is free to public between 7-9 each night. Comfortable bed, big room and bathroom. Real value for money

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again and recommend the hotel to the price conscious tourist.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really it was a 2 star hotel punching way above its 2 stars. The room decor was a bit out of date but still clean and serviceable. Would of liked a kettle to make tea or coffee but it did have a fridge so maybe that's just something they don't worry about in Spain, making a nice cup of tea.

    The room was basic but more than adequate for our stay. The staff were great and while the rooms were not fancy or spectacular in anyway the hotel obviously upgrades the rooms and keeps them in good condition. For example the hotel had fitted new windows which meant that even in the centre of town the room was quiet. You could not ask for a better location for being a tourist as you are right in the heart of Madrid and a two minute walk from the main train station. The breakfast was excellent, really good value and eat as much as you like. Did I say the staff were excellent, very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Location,location,location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This old hotel has steps at the front, however staff were quick to help with suitcases. The walls are very thin and you could hear everything going on around you. My room was small.

    For a short stay, this older style hotel is in a great position. The bathroom had been completely renovated. My room at the back with its shuttered windows and small balcony overlooked an art gallery and large square dotted with many eating places. Opposite is the main Madrid station and airport bus link. The Prada and other art galleries are within a 5 minute walk. There is a taxi rank outside. Reception staff are professional and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Surely best value in center of Madrid
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Helpful staff , comfortable bed , big bathroom with toiletries , very good and tasty breakfast ,excellent location just opposite main railway station , metro station 50 metres away , all important museums nearby

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    9.6
    Great value and will be back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is conveniently located next to main transportation hub Puerta De Atocha. Mediodia is walking distance to major tourist attractions such as the art museum El Prado. We discovered a great eating establishment downstairs called 100 Monteditos which is open late and serves a large glass of 1,50 eur Tinto de Verano.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    Great Class in Madrid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Kindness of the staff. Excellent location near the train station and the metro. Very close to the Reina Sofia Museum and the Prado Museum. Breakfast is complete, rich, excellent quality.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    8.8
    Besides the view of our room (NOT A VIEW) we liked the stay at the hotel Mediodia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like that I had not a view to the outside, I look out on stone wall, due to the fact that the room was located in the centre of the hotel and not at the front or back side of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    5.8
    It was fine, but no more. It was at the acceptable satisfactory level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is basic, don't expect luxury. Think "travelodge" and you have a general idea of the standard you will get. Also, I have run 46 marathons and this is the first time i have stayed at a hotel that made no extra effort for the marathon clientele. The minimum expectation is that a hotel keeps a few rooms to allow the runners to shower. I had to travel >1000 miles back to the north east of Scotland without having showered. I had not experienced this before, but reflects the general feeling we got from the property.

    The architecture and location are good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.7
    Location great for museums but surrounded by down market eateries and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    NO toiletries aside from awful smelling liquid soap in a dispenser in the shower. No tissues/kleenex. Smelly room. Not one english speaking TV channel - either news or otherwise. VERY basic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    The property is right in the city center with metro and bus...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Internet

    The property is right in the city center with metro and bus stops really close. There is a taxi stand right outside. There are multiple restaurants just 100 meters from the place. The staff is amazing! They helped us out with information, print outs, extending one of the 3 rooms we had booked by an hour and letting us change etc. Top place!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff was really friendly and the hotel is just a few steps...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People staying next to us were really noisy and kept us up all night.

    Staff was really friendly and the hotel is just a few steps from Atocha metro station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Good for 1 night stay ONLY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy - no carpeting so you hear all hallway noise. Beds are not comfortable Mildew smell in bathroom Found Hair on bedding

    Location - close to Atocha train station. 15 min from airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    A very good reasonably priced hotel in a central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. A few minutes walk from the Prado, next to Reina Sophia museum, across the road from the Retiro park, across the road from the train station and the metro is outside the hotel. Lots of places to eat and drink around the hotel. The room spacious , clean and comfortable with a nice balcony. All very good except perhaps for the Internet. Sometimes only one device working but not a big problem. I will stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel - we will certainly stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The staff were excellent, especially those on reception and the supervisor in the breakfast room. We liked the fact that items were constantly replenished at breakfast. The sitting room was lovely. Great location - handy for both the city centre and the station for the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.8
    We had asked for a quiet room as we have problems sleeping...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had asked for a quiet room as we have problems sleeping and they definitely delivered there . Was only staying for one night , room was clean and great central location !!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Fabulous Hotel Great Location. Highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved the location, the shower the bed and the window with the balcony overlooking the Modern Museum of Art. Definitely recommend due to proximity to sites, Atocha Train Station, and nice restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.4
    Their location is not so good for people wanting to be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location... breakfast..

    Their location is not so good for people wanting to be walking distance ...The breakfast was not good. The room just serviceable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    4.2
    The hotel is convenient to get to Atocha and get the Ave.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very noisy, you can hear everything from other rooms (toilets, showers, people talking) if you are unlucky and they give you a room on the first floor you also hear the breakfast preparation and hear people coming and going to the cafeteria from early hours. Frankly not good value for money !

    The hotel is convenient to get to Atocha and get the Ave.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    Excellent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old style of heating can be insufficient during cold days.

    The spaciousness of our room.Comfortable for at least 2 person sharing.We were given a 3 single bed room.1 bed separated quite a distance which is good.Location right next to Atocha Station.A few restaurants close by.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    Overall a great stay! We would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Did not like the pillows.

    Great location, close to the museums and a good walk to the old part of town. Room was very clean and beds were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel with basic amenities and closeness to the Madrid Atocha train station is a bonus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The close proximity to the train station and metro is excellent! Plenty of food right next to the hotel as well. Museum behind it, too. Staff were really helpful :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.1
    Overall I liked the hotel specially with the new elevator
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room furniture and bed sheets need face lifting Furniture are very old fashion Bed is uncomfortable Bed sheets and covers are old smelly and old fashion

    Hotel is very close to train station Excellent staff Close to public transportation Reasonable price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    8.8
    All around pretty satisfi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was high priced for what they offered. Not as good as other hotels, by far. There is a sidewalk cafe right outside the front and their is a plaza behind the hotel that has restaurants, including a Starbucks.

    The room we had was inside. It was dark and we could hear lots of noise from the stairs where people went up and down with their luggage, VERY early in the morning. The bathroom was very comfortable and clean. When we came back from Toledo, they gave us an outside room, facing the train station. This one was so much better. WE could not hear the noise from the outside, unless we opened the windows. Excellent location if you ride the train. The staff went out of their way to help us, but they are under-staffed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Choose it for the location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    AC was not working inspite of us having traveled in the middle of March. The lights in the room could have been better, missed a full-length mirror in the room. Thin walls and a group of people staying in the rooms close to ours meant that there was disturbed sleep on a couple of nights.

    The location was amazing, right across Atocha Station. Reina Sofia museum was right behind the property and the Prado Museum less than a km away. Easy access to the airport through the aeroexpress bus.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    Excellent stay. Would stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t get a Wifi connection in our room but no problem in the lobby.

    Helpful staff, great location for train travellers & close to het hop on & off bus. Loved this hotel!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, price was fair, staff were lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no complaints.

    I needed to catch a train the following morning, and the hotel is in the best location in Madrid for that - right across the road from the station (Atocha). The staff was helpful and cheerful, the room was fine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location and Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel was perfect just opposite to Atocha Main station and Parque del Retiro and other places were just walking distance from the location. Even few of the museum were close to the hotel. Many eateries were just behind the hotel which can be tried for a change and variety.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.9
    Very pleasant surprise to find such a lovely hotel close to the main station at that rate.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was very hard. Breakfast was uninspiring. Noise of police sirens(to be expected in that location).

    Position close to the station. Condition of the hotel is excellent and the decor preserves the period. Room was in pristine condition.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    7.1
    convenient for travellers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wall between the rooms is very thin. You can hear people talk next door and from the corridor. The noise when you close the door is so loud.

    the hotel is clean and convenient. Across from the train station and next to Metro station.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    Just in front of the Atocha station.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noise came from other rooms. Also the cleaning ladies are a bit noisy in the morning.

    Just in front of the Atocha station. Perfect to overnight when needing a transfer to the train.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    Be prepered with a pair of ear-plug
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room is very small, however you can find everyhing, you may need. Noise insulation simply does not exist. You can hear realy everything from the neighbouring rooms and corridor. If you are not lucky, you can be kept awake.

    Good location, quick check-in, chek-out, bathroom newly refurbished, balcony overlooking to Reina Sofia Museum

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Location, just across the road from Atocha Renfe Train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location, just across the road from Atocha Renfe Train Station, also metro and buses. The Airport bus also stops here for 5 euros one way trip that takes around 40 minutes in the morning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is across the street from the Atocha train station. Located in a great area...The taxi station is in front of the hotel... A few minutes walk from the Museo Del Prado. My room was great! The room looked very modern. The shower was great! The staff is very friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable of tourist attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a single but got two twins. Also, there’s no toiletries included- just a soap dispenser.

    The location is spot on for walking Around in the Downtown Madrid area. And for the price it’s unbeatable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful city to spend a few days in but brush up on your Spanish!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffe facilities in the room would have been welcome after a full day of sightseeing. One English to channel would be good . Breakfast pretty basic looking but plenty of local restaurants to choose.

    Clean, comfortable and spacious room . Having a fridge in the room was great. Location was close to train station , trams and buses. Nice view from the balcony.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    8.3
    A very good 2 days apart from the wardrobe episode but got to the 2 bullfights and met with friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was pleased to see a safe in the wardrobe, very low but the instructions were written so small so I could not read them.

    Good location. Helpful and friendly front desk. Very nice, large room and bathroom. Easy walk to Plaza Santa Ana, metro and Atocha station to get home to Murcia.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    Best location to the trains/metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was terrible. It was hard as a rock. They only give you two hard pillows so it’s hard to get comfortable. With jet lag you can be so tired you’re going to sleep anywhere anyway. You get two large towels and two hand towels only. The room was the size of a closet but it’s an old hotel so it’s to be expected.

    We liked the location of the hotel to Atocha Metro/train stations. The balcony was very nice. There was a small fridge in the room to keep a few drinks cool. The bathroom and room was modern. The staff was all very friendly. The room was very clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.5
    Lack of manners with some staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff we first met were really friendly and helpful (sat 10th Feb during the day) at check in. However we had ordered tickets to see Real Madrid and there was a simple return strategy that a person from the company would pick them up and quote a 16 digit number matching that on our envelope. This was a major drama to the guy on reception sat night. He was quite a assertive and demanding! Repeatedly saying he needed a name which I explained we didn't have as we had used a company. We are seasoned travellers and have never met this sort of attitude before. He then risky spoke to his colleague about us and the situation. All hotel staff in our previous experiences bend over backward to help and make things easy for you. This was disappointing! I think customer service needs worked on. Also no iron !

    The hotel was functional and central to the Arocha station. As we were travelling to and from Caceres it wasn't perfect. It also had some great wee places for breakfast, food and drink in close proximity. A short walk to a the major attractions.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Mediodia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: