Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Medplaya Hotel Riviera - Adults Only 4 stars

Avenida Antonio Machado, 49, 29630 Benalmádena, Spain

#12 of 238 hotels in Benalmádena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 448 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    6.3
    Made the most of it but will not return very dissapointed with Belenmadina very run down and dirty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Found this hotel and rooms very tired indeed very dated not alot of places to sit in the evening to talk other than a room on the front of the hotel but to hot to sit in as no aircon on. Food average food at the buffett was only luke warm but the meat on the fesh counter was good. Seats in entertainment hall where wet and smelly near the doors really bad sat on them and stained our clothing was the same on the second night.

    Staff very helpfull especially the young lady on reception with long dark hair diden,t get her name but very helpfull and very nice. Nice gardens and pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    6.3
    I was supposed to have a sea-view room which didn’t happen...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was supposed to have a sea-view room which didn’t happen & the manager told me all sea-view rooms are occupied so i asked him for a refund for the difference in rooms when he’s reply was all rooms are same price.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.3
    Nice location and reception staff but beware the cleaners!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff were very loud in the morning outside the room and did not clean the room properly. The bed was very lumpy, uncomfortable and creaked loudly whenever you tried to turn.

    Wonderful reception staff and good location next to the promenade.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    The location right on the beach is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is very basic. I would definitely not give it 4*.

    The location right on the beach is excellent. You can rent sunbeds for just 5 euros on the beach. Also very close to many restaurants. The breakfast is in deed very good and very diverse.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    View was looking at a building site. Sun loungers very uncomfortable. Too many stairs and lifts very bad

    The breakfast was nice. The area was fantastic.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    9.6
    2nd best hotel we have stayed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking.com were remiss not informing clients that there is ongoing building work next door to the Riviera. The staff moved us to the other side of the hotel aftet 2 days. Very surprised Booking.com did not advise us of this noisy dusty situation.

    Everything else. Brilliant staff particularly Elena (sorry if spelt incorrectly). Superb hotel excellent food and large comfortable beds. Back next year booking direct with hotel to make sure we get same room or close.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    10
    Location is perfect, a good relaxing environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All guest were above 70 years old, which was weird to have this high percentage of old people at the same hotel almost 98% of the hotel residents

    Location is perfect, a good relaxing environment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    10
    A fabulous hotel. Fabulous room, excellent food, lovely staff and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flooring very squeeky and badly laid in certain areas of room. Wasnt told the safe was complimentary. The main bar area overlooking the pool was in the shade and quite cold by 5.30pm. Would have been nice to be able to get a drink there earlier. People selling goods right outside the gate to beach area got a bit annoying because of the area of walkway they were taking up and the seating.

    Corner room with Lshaped balcony fabulous. Room and bathroom brilliant. Tea coffee facilities excellent. Towelling robes and slippers. Cannot fault any of these.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    We stayed one night and left
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bath tap diverter faulty so couldn't fill bath, shower head sprayed more water through leaks in pipe than shower head. Hair dryer holder came off in my hand exposing live 220v mains electrical wires.

    All a bit worn and tired

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    5.8
    Good location , comfortable, friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room cleanliness and bathroom toiletries poor. Cutlery in main restaurant poor cleanliness. Building work next door very intrusive if room on west side, still a lot to do.

    Breakfast . Comfy bed. Hot water. Friendly staff. A la carte restaurant good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel and fabulous location however check comfort of beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not comfortable very lumpy and hard and if all beds are like that then would have to try a different hotel. However will stay there again but will mention this on arrival to test beds. It’s very important to have comfortable sleep. Room 515.

    Service ,breakfast great choice ,fresh fruits , friendly staff, location,pool area, ping pong table, room size..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.6
    A blissful few days in Benalmadena - great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The buffet was actually a little overwhelming, but I think that's a personal issue! Lots of staff running around and plenty of food, it's hard to know where to start. Though there was plenty of food, as a bit of a plain eater, I found it a little limiting as there was too much seafood which I just can't eat.

    Very comfortable hotel, with great views and plenty of places to relax with a drink and a book. The spa was great, very reasonably priced treatments and special offers every day. My room was huge which I didn't expect for a single person booking, and I had a sea view, however my view was also of the construction site next door, but this didn't bother me at all. I wasn't in the room during the day or evening as there were plenty of areas to sit outside or inside and relax. The chill out terrace was fantastic and as the weather was warm, it was nice to sit up there & enjoy sunbathing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.5
    We enjoyed our week’s stay. Ran out of time for all we wanted to do.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower room was not clean. There were soap scum marks in the shower, mould on the shower tiles, dust/fluff from the extraction fan which landed on the loo and bidet and wasn’t cleaned up, floor was only swept/ washed once in a week long stay. We were facing the building site next door and work started at 8am. In the evening when the sun shone on the balcony, the jack hammers were loud. Not the hotel’s fault but not great for a holiday either. The evening entertainment was varied and usually good. Guests however didn’t seem to want to remain after about 10pm. Felt embarrassed for the performers. The lounge is huge and seemed to affect the atmosphere in a negative way. Perhaps a reorganisation of the space would help. Also entertainers were stopped from doing an encore by the compère who just wanted to talk about the next day’s activities. It meant that the evening ended on a low instead of a high.

    for travel further afield, just outside the hotel. Easy to walk to the marina and along the boardwalk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    We stayed in January & April and will soon be thinking about a stay late in the year
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At breakfast the bread toaster were a bottle neck as the toast has to take 2 passes to toast, the wait to get to the toaster was slightly annoying. It is almost impossible to sign up for a Hotel loyalt card

    Meals were excellantly prepared and served, reception went over and above expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Fun in the sun.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of building work next door causing some noise, but nothing that spoilt the holiday.

    Wonderful place, half board for less than £100 a day including flights. Very comfortable, huge rooms and huge beds. excellent WiFi everywhere. Breakfast and dinner Buffet's are very good, with a big variety of dishes and a chef's station where they cook in front of you. There is also an a la carte restaurant where you can eat one night at no extra charge if you're booked half board. Admittedly we are here early in the season (Easter), but it has never felt crowded. Quite descent evening entertainment, the usual kind of thing, but the acts we saw were good. We will be coming again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.6
    Recovering from a broken foot this was the perfect escape....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift to the beach was out of order for 4 days but all the staff were helpful with updates. There is a building site next to the hotel it’s not overly offensive and the noise isn’t too much. Plus point is this side of the building gets the last of the evening sun and you still have sea views. We stayed on the poolside area (not overlooking the building site) the staff will try to accommodate you as best as they can.

    Location was fabulous and the views are beautiful, hotel was clean and our room was cleaned daily. We stayed b&b and there is champagne with breakfast every morning. There was a good range of ages at the hotel and quite a few people as solo travellers so I’d recommend if you wanted to travel alone as everyone mingles very well. There are lots of levels to sunbathe if you want to relax at the pool or find peace and quiet at the garden/terrace areas. Outdoor hot tub is free and again hidden away to be quiet enough on the garden level. The drinks are very reasonably priced. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel. Very chilled.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was uncomfortable, it was very firm.

    Great location directly on the promenade. Hotel was always immaculately clean in communal areas and room was cleaned every day. Staff helpful. Breakfast was good and always plenty of space for sunbathing on many levels.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Information on working the shower

    The bed was very very comfy I loved it, we both slept very well. Loved our room and the views staff were friendly and always very helpful.Breakfast was good but would liked to have had table by the window more often but were not always set! We enjoy our stay so much that we cancelled our Hotel in Malaga for the last 2 nights of our holiday and booked to stay on in the Riviera Hotel and were delighted we did. We would stay again no problem. But did feel it was a bit expensive for the time of year we went and sadly got very wet and cold weather for most of our stay. Not blaming the hotel for that, but a €100 per night for two people with breakfast was high for mid March would love to see more younger people staying here try and come up with a plan to bring in 30s and 40s age group as there is a lot of older people, dont get me wrong i love and work every day with older peopl.But a mix of ages would be better for everyone.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    10
    Lovely staff great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building site next door. I couldn’ Work the air conditioning in the room.

    There was a good choice of food at the buffet and it was always really nice. My husband has to be careful what he eats and there was always a choice of healthy options

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    10
    Great location and hotel receptionist very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like

    Great location and hotel receptionist very helpful. Breakfast choice was amazing.The view from our room was fantastic overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    6.3
    The room was very hot and the bed was very hard even though...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very hot and the bed was very hard even though they provided us with a mattress topper.we were also disappointed at the standard of food..which last time we stayed was so much better

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The room was a little small in comparison to other places we have stayed. Charging for water with the evening meal was very strange. We thought it was a little greedy.

    Staff were good. Quite a good choice of food. View from the sea view balcony was good. The hotel was very clean and spacious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Can't wait to return to this lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We weren't aware there was a hotel being built directly next to us...however my husband enjoyed watching this!! Work started before 8am but were up by that time anyway.

    The rooms were clean with a modern bathroom and extra large bed. Lateral sea view however you could book a room which is sea facing for more money. Fantastic views out to the marina from the terraces. Lift down directly onto the promenade was handy. Bar prices were very fair for a four star hotel. Breakfast offered a good selection of food including omelettes and pancakes cooked to order. I would return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pillows were very old style extremely soft ones. These days most hotels of this standard offer a pillow menu for those of us that have specific needs regarding comfort due to neck/shoulder ailments.

    The quietness and the very helpful pleasant staff. The location was great for plenty of options to walk.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel, good value.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was bit harf to find hotel, as outside it is named differently as Medplaya, past it through couple of times. There was construction works going right in front of the hotel, they have started works 8am on Saturday morning, not ideal. Bathroom floor was bit dirty and some sort of insect found in bide, and duvet didn't have cover, only sheet underneath which I thought is bit un-hygienic.

    Room was good size with massive bed. Big selection of breakfast, especially liked choice of fruits. They serve cava for breakfast too, as it was Saturday morning it was quite nice.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    nice hotel and location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    disappointing that you could not buy a glass of wine at the evening meal only a bottle. Disapointed that there was additional charge for leisure facilities and they were closed on a Sunday-during the winter months this should be open especially if the weather wasn't good.

    lovely hotel, rooms nice size. breakfast was a good selection, evening meal was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.3
    Retirees paradise - but fine for others too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast, rock solid bed (which you get use to after a couple of nights), frosted glass on the balcony which on the 4. floor (and up) only give you a view to the sky when sitting down. Your are charged for using the spa (therefore virtually nobody use it)

    The guests were by far > 70 years old and primarily from the UK. This was reflected on the catering and entertainment. Anyhow the dinner was fine with good selections. Breakfast could improve (bread quality). We got a very nice room looking towards the harbor which you could reach within 10 minutes walk. In general very good standard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent service, good atmosphere in hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too hot, air conditioning was not turned on. Engineer came to our room but made problem worse

    Staff were very helpful, breakfast was exceptional

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    9.2
    Evening meal was super breakfast a little dull
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought the external signage made finding the hotel difficult. The word Medplaya was barely visible so it meant we drove up and down the main road looking for the hotel and eventually had to call elsewhere to ask for directions.

    Evening meal was super breakfast a little dull

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.5
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was informed by booking.com to park at Bali but there was parking on site so we ended up paying when we didn't need to.

    Room was excellent choice at breakfast good .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were not informed of the building work hotel opposite, drilling am-pm Could not have patio door open. No requests met

    Very modern hotel, food excellent, friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing fun and spoilt
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing every thing brill

    Made very welcome ,staff wonderful lots of extra s I'd welocome bottle of wine free safe ,free wi fi food brilliant .will be going back soon

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.1
    Hotel accommodation and food was good. A bit of an oasis in a wilderness as the area around wasn’t g
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area generally is very tired with loads of poor guality cafes and bars. The price we paid for the room seemed high compared to many other places that we have stayed at. Probably as it was a bit out of season there was nothing open in the evenings.

    We had a good room with sea view. It was well equipped and bed was comfortable. Public areas and spacious and comfortable. Appeared to be one of the better hotels in area as some did look a bit run down. There was a breakfast and did buffet with a well stocked variety of dishes. Evening entertainment was very good for the 2 nights that we were there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    8.8
    A perfect winter escape
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room overlooked a building site which was very noisy.

    Descent and plentiful food. Interesting activities mainly suitable for seniors. Excellent access to beach and only a short distance from the marina. No shortage of space in the bar, adjoining living room and by the pool. Pleasant evening entertainment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent facilities and helpful staff great short break would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As is usual in most hotels these days wi if not particularly strong.

    Complimentary hour usage of sauna/ spa on arrival nice touch. Restaurant staff efficient and accommodating to any requests/assistance from guests.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    Very relaxing,good atmosphere,good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are a little uncomfortable,the room that we stayed in (825) was near the lift,so by about 6 am you could hear the groaning of the motors !

    Food was excellent,location very good,hotel very clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    We had a lovely visit in every way with a staff willing to be as helpful as possible at all times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Two small points is that we would have liked to have more drawers in our room and a safety mat in the shower as it was rather slippy especially for senior citizens!

    Proximity to beach and promenade.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    7.9
    Enjoyed our second stay here but standards (especially food) are slipping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Food not as good as the last time we came in May. Desserts were repetitive and luke warm as they had been out for so long. We paid extra for a room with a larger balcony overlooking the beach as it can be pot luck if you don't as to whether you get a room with a beach view or one of the dual carriageway.

    The hotel is located right on the promenade and has easy access to the beach and bars. It is a lovely quiet hotel which suits us. No problem getting sunbeds at anytime of the day although you still get the few persistent ones who think it is their right to reserve the same beds everyday!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Stylish, comfortable and friendly place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool needs to be heated - it was very cold! Soundproofing in bedrooms could be better.

    Comfortable bedrooms, good staff, nice breakfast. Very clean throughout.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    4.2
    Over priced !
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Over priced ! A room that had a tiny balcony looking onto a 2 metre hedge, could of booked a room half the price which would of been better, €268 for a twin room advertising 5 stars was a joke, hotel itself to be fair looked nice, pick your room carefully !!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Excelllent hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertainment is catered for the majority of the guests but was fine. Normally go out in the evening.

    Excelllent hotel. Rooms are very modern and the location is outstanding. One of the best hotels I have stayed in in Spain. The only negative is that it's is mostly older couples at the hotel. The entertainment if you're into that is catered around 50+ We used the hotel as a base the views and rooms were brilliant Would definitely stay here again

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    A little bit of luxury in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The way that they cooked individual omelette was much better in individual pan as previously rather than now on hot plate. Selection of Cheese and crackers after dinner used to be better selection

    The complimentary Cava at breakfast The fresh cooked option

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Lovely holiday excellent hotel would return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lifts can get very busy could do with more only a small thing overall an excellent hotel

    Very comfortable hotel great location nicely decorated rooms food excellent great choice friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice hotel but not 4 Star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a nice hotel but it's not 4 Star. Rooms are clean but basic, toiletries are cheap and basic and not replaced as you use them so you need to take your own. No robes or slippers, towels are old and do not work for the curvier figure. Evening meals, some days the food was amazing and other days it's was poor. I found a hair in mine food twice.

    The central location. Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Perfect holiday for adults only
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like about our stay

    Everything was perfect from we arrived until we checked out could not have asked for any better accommedition and location would definitely recommend it.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2017

    10
    4 night break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect as it was right beside the beach, within walking distance of restaurants and shops, bus stop outside the door and only 15mins to the airport in a taxi. Pool was a very good size and had an outdoor hot tub. Hotel itself was clean and staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    10
    Short stay in a lovely hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    From arrival to departure, excellent. Hotel was spotless, staff were accommodative, food was of a high standard and plentiful. The "chill out" area is lovely. Very central area. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel and pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was lovely but certainty a lot of elderly couples staying there, it could be the time of year but if your a young couple you may need to re-consider the hotel if your looking for some activity.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    beautiful place but needvs younger blood
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wifi is BAD too old public and more live in bar no happy hour although annouced required one big bed NOT TWO BEDS STUFFED TOGETHER

    the situation and layout

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent breakfast buffet with great views of the beach and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bartender Antonio should do much to improve. His PinaColada looks terrible. Attention, the bar can only be paid in cash.

    Excellent breakfast buffet with great views of the beach and the sea.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.2
    Pensioners
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening entertainment could have been pitched at a wider audience.. Not all the Guests were of Pensionable Age

    The staff were extremely polite and courteous. Every evening the main bar had at least one alcoholic drink on "Special" price...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    9.2
    GReat stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although it is very well located, right on the boardwalk overlooking the beach, if you wanted to walk to Torremolinos, you have to walk through or around the Marina. That was the only area we didn't like although there are shops and restaurants. Definitely for people who love to shop at touristy places.

    The staff is friendly and very helpful. The hotel is clean and the food is delicious. There is music and some activities. The dining hall has a great view overlooking the ocean. Beach access right at the back and side view, from room, of sea is still very nice. We were on 4th floor, so I imagine anything lower would not have as nice as view.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Old couples only
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was not included in price as was advertised. Poor quality of food in both restaurants. Not possible to have a glass of bubbly. Too many rules including not being able to enjoy breakfast on the terrace or eat snacks by the pool.

    Views and cleanliness

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    9.2
    The location of the hotel, with proximity to the beach was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the hotel, with proximity to the beach was excellent. The hotel was an oasis, excellent if you want a relaxing break. The area around the hotel is ok, but not as nice as the hotel itself. Halfboard was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    One of the best hotels in the resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There is very little to improve this hotel, maybe offer a free shuttle to the airport or into neighbouring Torremolinos or Fuengirola.

    This hotel is situated in one of the better parts of the town, at least out on the promenade. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. ignore those who moaned about the food, it was very good and a great choice. It is mainly a buffet so will not be piping hot but it is more than tasty and edible. Also 4 or 5 choices cooked as you ordered. Breakfast had everything you can think of, yes I didn't like the bacon and found the scrambled egg too runny but there are so many other choices. Seemed plenty of sunbeds with only a few people putting down towels early morning to hold the sunniest corners. We wouldn't recommend the main street as it is somewhat grubby looking with mainly bars, though the one we used one night was friendly enough. The entertainment was not of a high standard, but it seemed to go down OK with the older holidaymakers, especially those who liked to dance. We did the walks up and down the promenade and this hotel seems to be one of the best choices, we would use it again if we returned to this resort, although we have been to prettier resorts. Overall, if you are coming to Benalmadena then this is an excellent choice of hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    10
    a great holiday just before the start of the hectic season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the car park did cause some concern because it was small and made us wonder if we went out would we have a place on return. in the end we used public transport.

    the hotel and staff were great and the location on the beach fantastic

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The temperature of the jacuzzi could have been hotter. The shower temperature mixer could be better I.e hot then cold.

    We were greeted by a very pleasant young lady and offered a glass of wine. We asked for a high room with a sea view it was spotless.The room was lovely , we had a great view. The safe was included also a complimentary bottle of wine and water. Tea and coffee making facilities were in the room

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.2
    Short stay in the sun near the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you enjoy this type of holiday there is not much that I could suggest that would improve the overall experience.

    The staff throughout the hotel were all very helpful and polite. If you want to stay within the confines of the hotel there are plenty of things to do. Location is excellent and the food generally was varied. I only had bed and breakfast as I prefer to try different restaurants at night.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    10
    The hotel is beautiful, wonderful location, excellent staff,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wish I could have stayed longer only allowed 4 days with booking.com as room was not available for 7 days

    The hotel is beautiful, wonderful location, excellent staff, food very delicious and entertainment delightful

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    10
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks expensive, entertainment mediocre - bingo at 2100!!

    Location, stylish room, powerful rain shower, tea/coffee facilities, fridge - everything!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    6.7
    A short winter break on the Acosta del Sol
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marked down by having a room in the worst location - ground floor ,overllking the car park and busy road I have no doubt I would have given it a much higher rating if I had had a larger room with sea view as the furniture and bathroom was bang u p to date The hotel is designed for adult couples so do stand out on your own

    Location , food quality Overall a good quality hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    10
    Great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Elevator could have been better.

    Staff were friendly and helpful at all times. After dinner activities and entertainment were great. The view from the room was spectacular.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    10
    The Perfect Holiday Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only one thing I would say is that in the lounge all tables are for 4 when in fact most guests are in couples. Although we wouldn't personally mind sharing a table unfortunately some of the guests were not so amenable. We were told more than once the spare seats were for someone and at the end of the evening they were still spare. Other than that I can honestly say everything else was perfect.

    4th visit to this hotel and each time it seems to get a little better. It now belongs to Thomson which has added a full day and evening activity program. The food is excellent ... Service everywhere and from everyone is first class. The cleanliness is outstanding and the position of the hotel is good for strolling along the promenade... The park.. The old town.. The Marina or even into Torremolinos. If you want to go further afield the bus stop is right outside. Absolutely perfect holiday venue.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    January Sunshine
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet restaurant felt like a canteen and the food was largely bland.

    Lovely spa with sauna & steam room, pool & jacuzzi with no charge to use. Great location for a walk along the Prom in either direction. The a la carter restaurant food was fabulous!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel. Would stay there again in a heartbeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was brilliant. No negatives.

    Excellent hotel. Lovely comfortable room and super bathroom. Food was outstanding and great entertainment in the evenings. Only a 10 min walk to the marina and overlooking the beach. Would definitely stay there again,

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    6.9
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plates and cutlery quite often dirty had to check them. Also thought we could use hotel indoor pool for free not an extra payment

    Food was good, plenty on offer

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    7.9
    Comfy beds modern decor of bedrooms and communal areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could have been hotter. Bottled Water offered at meal times had very high sodium content. Had requested with Door sign for room not to be serviced , room was serviced anyway .

    Comfy beds modern decor of bedrooms and communal areas. Entertainment provided in the evening . Variety of food.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2016

    10
    Booked to go back again..!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.. evening entertainment a hit or a miss. Bar prices a bit on the pricey side

    Staff were brilliant.. most comfortable bed.. great facilities and food in restaurant was fantastic .. loved the chill out terrace and the entrance to the beach

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    7.9
    Winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar prices were ridiculous nearly £18 for two gins and two large beers everywhere outside the hotel you could get the same for £6 entertainment was only good on Motown night. Pool and snack bar closed for the season after our first day even though the hotel was full and weather was lovely. Staff worked hard in restaurant but we were never acknowledged by any of them and reception staff weren't friendly at all. We paid £800 for a week with booking.com and easyjet flights my daughter and her partner came the same time with Thomson for £560 they had a bargain we didn't.

    Rooms lovely everywhere very clean. Breakfast was very good evening meals were average. Excellent position. A la carte restsurant was lovely and service in there was excellent.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    5.5
    It is like a sanatory or retirement home, packed with people beyond retirement agen. Very depressing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel is presented on booking.com as ``Adults Only", but in reality they interpret this as ``senior citizens only": the hotel was packed almost exclusively with people above retirement age! In fact, I think the average was about 70. I am 49 years old, my girlfriend is 43, and we must have been by far the youngest people around! At breakfast/dinner it was very hard to access the buffet area, which was blocked by octagenaries moving veeeeery slowly. The same with the elevator: it took ages for them to enter it, sometimes with the help of nurses! Another problem: a lot of noise from the road. We were at 7th floor, close to top, supposedly with a sea view. There was a very limited side-view of the sea (or rather of the small gulf in front of the beach), but the main view is the road, which is super-noisy at any time, day or night. The beach is extremely small, by the way... Finally, the food was rather mediocre and the service at dinner rather unprofessional.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.9
    A very pleasant and relaxing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A table could be allocated for the evening meal at the start of the holiday and this would remain the case for the entire holiday. Also maybe the evening meal could be in two sittings to allow for the allocation of tables. The shower cubicle was showing wear and tear as the grouting between the tiles was dirty and the grouting was missing where the wall & floor met. There was a dip in the cubicle floor which meant a pool of water stood on the base of the cubicle which had to be constantly shuffled to the drain with your foot.

    The bed was very large and extremely comfortable, the food was excellent with lots of choices and the staff are pleasant and professional. The hotel is in a great position and on entering the reception you are met by a beautiful fresh scent. This is a great hotel which I am sure anyone would be happy to spend their holiday here.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.8
    Nothing
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    9.6
    very relaxing and very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I recognise that the hotel had no control over the building site next door but it did not impact adversely to our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bed is like sleeping on concrete

    Staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.8
    Very close to the beach promenade
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My bedroom smelt terribly of cooking and the terrace restaurant food was awful for lunch.

    Very close to the beach promenade

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: