Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melia Atlanterra 4 stars

Bahía de la Plata s/n, 11383 Zahara de los Atunes, Spain

#10 of 13 hotels in Zahara de los Atunes

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 602 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    9.2
    Family resort hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little tired €15 per day to use the beach sun beds Lots of notices saying you couldn’t reserve sun beds round the pool but most had towels on them by 9:30am.

    Great location on the beach. Fantastic staff Huge breakfast buffet

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.5
    EXCELLENT-RELAXING-ONE OF THE BEST RESORTS
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    THE BEDS-IF A COUPLE BOOKS YOU SHOULD GIVE DOUBLE BED NOT 2 SINGLE BEDS.

    EVEN THOUGH WE BOOKED ROOMS FOR COUPLES WE WERE GIVEN 2 SINGLE BEDS JOINT TOGETHER WHICH WAS NOT COMFORTABLE AT ALL-EXCEPT THAT EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT-THE STAFF WERE VERY EFFICIENT & ALWAYS A SMILE WELCOMED US.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Stayed over for a wedding beaches are amazing, staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed over for a wedding beaches are amazing, staff was really friendly, I forgot my pearl earrings by the basin called the hotel was put through to a lovely lady in charge of the cleaners who said it was already in her procession she handed them to some family members still at the hotel. It’s lovely to find such honest persons.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Great staff, but I expected something more
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For this price from 4-star hotel you expect more. For example, there was only one iron for an entire hotel! I waited 40 minutes before I could iron my shirt. Apart from that, almost nobody in the staff speaks English, which is really surprising in a hotel that was mostly booked by foreign tourists (but it's one of Spain's biggest problems). You also don't get anything to boil a water in your room

    The staff is the best thing about this hotel - they are always there, 24 hours a day, willing to help you with a smile with anything - you've lost your key card? You need a cab? You are looking for your friends? They are there, just ask. I also loved the breakfasts, the choice of food was enormous! The hotel is situated very close to the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant hotel for a short stay with good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not in an attractive location. Little to see in the surrounding neighbourhood.

    A nice property in which to relax. Good buffet dinner / breakfast. Nicely situated and well sized room. Lovely pool. Ideal for lazing around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant enough but wouldnt visit that hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process was long and there was a very long queue of disgruntled people. Not a good welcome. The air conditioning in one of the rooms leaked profusely causing the room to flood in the bathroom area. Dangerous and slippery. They attended and said it had been fixed but then continued to leak during the night. At checkout no comprnsation or apology was offered just a shrug.

    Location great. Dining room staff helpful and pleasant. Good quality food on offer.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    2.9
    it was a 12h stay at the hotel and most of the things went...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was a 12h stay at the hotel and most of the things went wrong. Upon arrival, the room wasn't properly cleaned, the amenities were completely empty. The next day when I went for a shower I didnt have any hot water. For a 300€ a night room these kind of problems are unacceptable. On a value for money consideration its the worst hotel I've been in my life.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.4
    Was just ok.. value for money not there 472 for 3 nights in a wet bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelt of dampness our beds and sheets were wet from it , the air conditioning didn't really work to well even on fan 3 and we left it on to dry out the room , but room was still roasting and beds still wet.. room 823.. Breakfast wasn't the greatest selection

    The pool was enjoyable

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    Nice place and facilities but a bit too pricey for what was included
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had to call a thousand times to get an iron and ironboard and when I got it the iron cable was not proper cover and I got shocked 2 times.

    The bed, amenities, location and pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    4.6
    Avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff when we arrived, rude. Charges 12e a night for parking yet there a load of free parking arouns, dont get caught. Zero atmosphere in the hotel. Nor is there any option around need to go into town. Overpriced. 26.5e for lunch or dinner if staying in hotel, crazy money for Spain. Further back from beach than lead to believe in pictures. Rooms extremely dated, chair was so grubby. Birds best was right out door of balcony (granted not hotels fault) however this meant daily there was a mound of bird poo and my boyfriend even got caught with it. The games area where you collect towels , table tennis rackets/books only open 10-2 3-5.

    Plenty of loungrrs by both pools and happy that we only stayed 2 nights here.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    8.3
    Pleasent small hotel, excellent staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    If you have not booked an all inclusive holiday you may find the hotel restaurant food expensive. self service dinner for two with two drinks was 64 euros. It depends on how much you eat of course, but we still found this expensive when a meal with drinks in the village was less than half the cost in the three places we used.

    The purpose of our visit was to bird watch in the general area. It was ideal for this. The beach is just at the back of the hotel, easily reached through a gate in the gardens using your secure pass. The staff were very good. Alfonso on reception provided invaluable service with translation when we had issues with our hire car. The village is just down the road, but it may need a taxi if the weather is very hot. lots of bars and restaurants all used by locals.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    I am disappointed and lightly angry on "Booking .
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am disappointed and lightly angry on "Booking .com" because when I was doing reservation in homepage of "Booking.com", there WASN'T POSSIBILITY TO CHUSE room with view to ocean. When we arrive to reception of hotel "Melia Atlanterra", personal explained that we have chuse basic room with view to "another side view". Next time definitely I will chuse my old way to reserv hotels, and not with "Booking.com". Regards, Customer

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    4.2
    Disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old building smelly rooms bedding Took till 9 pm to get room cleanef

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Plenty of space, very comfortable, the entertainment staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Level Room with Executive Lounge Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee in the room

    Plenty of space, very comfortable, the entertainment staff!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Breakfast was amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was amazing!! Great pool area. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Quality. Hasnt changed in years. One of my all time favorites!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaners where a bit load early.

    Service, bed comfort, spacious rooms.great buffet, non stop entertainment. At beach front.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They didn’t put extra bed for children

    Beautiful clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think

    Staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier breakfast

    Beach Gym Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was clean and well spread out, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was clean and well spread out, staff friendly. Hair dresser on site. Enjoyed my stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Nice Hotel ... I liked the layout
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Unsure about parking on street and as a result got a parking ticket

    Room even though beside pool bar was quiet when window was closed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    6.3
    Very nice beaches, soft air, big pool, green zone arround...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You should pay for car parking, the same food each day, small variety of fruits

    Very nice beaches, soft air, big pool, green zone arround small pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.8
    Will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Pool View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice pool and beach, nice facilities, location is good but car is advised

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.2
    Just a relaxing couple of days. The pool was very nice and we have really enjoyed the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking was a little bit expensive.

    The breakfast buffet was very good. The staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    6.7
    Location, swimming pool, staff, tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The extremely high price for the use of parking, towels, spa and breakfast, ridiculous. Internet service was really slow. Noisy room at night.

    Location, swimming pool, staff, tranquility.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    7.5
    The hotel is for families so if you got kids, this is the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They need an adult only pool, because as much as I appreciate it being a family hotel it needs to have a separate adult section. There is a separate secluded pool, but kids make there way there. It is a bit far out from the main centre, so unless you have a car or like a 30 minute walk then I would go further in. For me this was fine.

    The hotel is for families so if you got kids, this is the place to go. Activities for everything you could image. The food was great as was the service. The staff were friendly enough as well

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    10
    Food and facilities and location are great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Paying for the sunbeds on the beach. Sunbeds area in front of the hotel must be free for guests. Very limited parking. Cleaning of the rooms should not exceed 2 o'clock PM, otherwise you can't rest between 2 and 4 PM.

    Food and facilities and location are great! All the staff are very handy and smiling. Lots of flowers and trees and different areas for every need.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    8.3
    The resort has excellent pool facilities for all ages.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had asked for a seaview which was not available but we did get a free upgrade to a junior suite without asking. The Wifi didn't work in any part of the hotel.

    The resort has excellent pool facilities for all ages. The beach is amazing and not a problem to get a sunbed on the beach or by the pool.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    The Staff,the allocation the pool and restaurant by the...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    One member of the staff receptionist the one check me in she was not friendly the others really good. Also the breakfast .

    The Staff,the allocation the pool and restaurant by the beach also he bed

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    6.7
    Nice pool area, great restaurant for breakfast and dinner,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Room wasnt ready at 4, parking was impossible, worst room service and beach bar food ever

    Nice pool area, great restaurant for breakfast and dinner, close to the beach, above average service

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    7.1
    For the price i paid for the room should have courstly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For the price i paid for the room should have courstly included breakfast and the breakfast across the way was lot cheaper and the hotel charging more on the first night my son stayed as we arrive late already paid 179 and when checking out they paid me 64 euros for a child rate

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2015

    6.0
    The premium rooms above the reception area are a lot nicer...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was overcrowded and no other restaurants or shops in atlanterra. Needed car to get to Zahara de Los atunes 4km away but lovely restaurants

    The premium rooms above the reception area are a lot nicer than the classic rooms with pool view. Walking distance to beach

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    6.7
    Air conditioned room was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Check-in and out was slow and pedantic. Most of the sun beds were reserved by towels. Really annoying. An empty hotel car park because they ridiculously charge 12 euros per day to park. Hence, the ample street parking is pretty chaotic. Never felt good vibes around the place. It needs fresh inspiration.

    Air conditioned room was excellent. Breakfast very good. Location by the beach very good.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.2
    Well kept hotel, excellent food and lovely pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Well kept hotel, excellent food and lovely pool. Staff very good and helpful. A short distance from town with excellent eating places. Great beach.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    6.3
    Spacious hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfriendly checkin which took forever. Was not offered much info. No info on the spa given and no leaflets to pick up. Really only a good weather hotel. Not a cosy feeling in the bar or reception. Have to drive to the town

    Spacious hotel. Premium room bed was comfortable and clean. Outdoor pools looked lovely but it was raining when it was there. Breakfast was ample

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    6.7
    Well appointed hotel, with good facilities, excellent pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It took an age to book in, although reception had three people working, it was so bureaucratic. I also thought paying for parking at €14 per day (which of course most people didn't) and paying for WIFI, use of indoor pool and gym, sauna, and charging a deposit on pool towels a bit steep for a 4 star hotel.

    Well appointed hotel, with good facilities, excellent pool.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    4.2
    The large swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor service. Waited for 30 minutes to get served. Constantly ignored. Not so much the waiters fault but lack of employees. Rooms were dated and uncomfortable. We got charged 10euros as guests for using the hotels sun umbrellas. Snack bar is overpriced. Food was poor.

    The large swimming pool.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    5.8
    Wifi connection extremely poor
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi connection extremely poor

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    Great facilities, very clean, good beach, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The evening buffet was very poor and the types of food available was lower end types

    Great facilities, very clean, good beach, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    8.3
    Spectacular setting, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet was terrible, it took them ages to bring an urgent request to the room

    Spectacular setting, comfortable rooms

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.9
    The facilities and access to beach were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Not great wheel chair access everywhere .

    The facilities and access to beach were very good.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    9.2
    The staff are friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2015

    7.9
    food was wonderful and plenty.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    food was wonderful and plenty. all inclusive is a good option.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.7
    Comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Don't quote it as value for money

    Comfortable room Spacious

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    9.2
    The hotel, the location and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel, the location and staff. Nice holiday!

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    10
    Great hotel, food,staff location bit like a posh holiday...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great hotel, food,staff location bit like a posh holiday camp loads to do fantastic pool

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2015

    10
    Excellent location, good food, comfortable beds, huge pool,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excellent location, good food, comfortable beds, huge pool, great beach - what else do you need for a perfect holiday?!

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2015

    8.3
    Comfortable, well appointed hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    meals are expensive

    Comfortable, well appointed hotel.

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    5.0
    Beach location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waiting at reception Pool and restaraunt overly busy

    Beach location

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable bed, great pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dinner was not great

    Comfortable bed, great pool area

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Personal muy atento.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Calidad de los productos del buffet.

    Personal muy atento. Instalaciones.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    7.5
    Pools and chiringuito
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to climb stairs to get to room

    Pools and chiringuito

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The room, the bed, the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room, the bed, the pool

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    7.9
    The spa staff were very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Waiting half an hour to check in a waste of our time

    The spa staff were very good

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: