Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Meliá Cala Galdana 5 stars

Urbanización Santa Galdana, 07750 Cala Galdana, Spain

#3 of 17 hotels in Cala Galdana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 576 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, but overpriced for what is was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a charge of EUR25 per person to use the "infinity pool" for the day which I consider should have been part and parcel of the overall cost as the hotel wasn't cheap. The main other pool wasn't open until 11:00, this should have been earlier. We didn't eat in the main restaurant as it appeared very over priced. I'd describe the hotel as pretentious.

    The whole place was impecably clean, the room was comfortable and the view from the room was fantastic. The position was excellent with access to the beach very good. The breakfast was very varied and interesting. I felt it was expensive for what it was though.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The music was good a couple of nights but then there was a d j mixer playing some awful stuff . The entertainment wasn't nearly as good as one of the hotel's down the road .

    The staff were friendly , excellent location , good food . Comfortable room .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.4
    Location and view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room The Level with Executive Lounge Access (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price / quality ratio (nearly 1000€ per night for that?!?) Looking at the majority of the guests it felt and looked like a cheap all inclusive

    Location and view

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.7
    Great location, hotel is clean and the beach is one of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many employees are rude and unprofessional. Unacceptable! Also I found it very noisy, you can't sleep in the morning. The restaurants are terrible for a 5 star hotel especially comparing to what you will find outside.

    Great location, hotel is clean and the beach is one of the best beaches in the island.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.8
    Summer Getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to pay if you want to see the infinity pool, and it’s so small...

    everything! Great location if you want to move around the island (by car) everything is around 20-40min And if you just want stay in the beach, you don’t need to walk to visit the other calas you can just stay in Cala Galdana!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.0
    A beautiful place to stay with stunning views over the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a little small. A turn down service st night with chocolates on the pillows would have been nice.

    Friendly helpful staff, comfortable rom especially bed. Food sized bathroom. Lovely restaurants with excellent food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    9.2
    Great time away and great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we didn’t rate dinner in the beach restaurant as the fish was raw and we didn’t know when ordering

    Pillows were amazing room was very clean lovely sea view and breakfast was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    We took a day trip to Menorca from Barcelona and chose this hotel for the amenities and view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay longer

    No rental car needed and no getting lost looking for a beach with clear blue water. Everything we needed was right there. The beds were one of the most comfortable we have slept in on a vacation even if it was just for a quick nap. We cant wait to come back for a longer stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They don't have free parking, and even if you want to pay it is very small and not easy to find a spot. There was a bad smell coming from sink.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing views. Confy room although not very big but good enough and with nice small balcony and spacious bathroom. Breakfast is great and with all that you would like.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.3
    Comfy bed, stunning view and amazing breakfast. Ultimate relaxing atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pricey dinner buffet yet very good.

    Amazing location. The beaches you'll be able to reach on foot from the hotel are absolutely gorgeous and definitely one of a kind. Restaurants 5 minutes away walking. Clean and luxurious facilities.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Pleasantly surprised by all the natural beauty and hiking trails surrounding the resort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a big fan of large hotels. I found the breakfast crowd to be a bit overwhelming if you got there too late - however, the hotel on a whole was very tranquil.

    very comfortable and clean with an amazing breakfast! Located in a very nice, quiet neighborhood with wonderful scenery and hiking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Amazing location, wonderful people, felt luxurious
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The website and related websites for the hotel pride itself on a wonderful photo of an infinity pool overlooking Cala Galdana beach, but in reality you have to pay 30euros a day for the pleasure, so I did not experience this.

    Hotel entertainment was varied, the staff were wonderful, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, breakfast was great, the pool area and beach area weren't as busy as I expected in June which was great. When you have checked out, they offer you a full hotel room for an hour to show and clean up before you travel home, complete with fresh towels, shampoo, conditioner, hairdryer - really nice touch. A portion of nuts comes with every drink you buy at the outdoor hotel bar too and the hotel is really close to neighbouring beaches, with well sign posted hikes to them. Great place to stay!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.6
    great hotel in a lovely location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Asked for twin bedded but got kingsize...which was ok but not ideal. Didn't complain as with myson who has learning difficulties and it would have upset him.

    helpful, friendly staff, clean, comfortable, breakfast great, location fantastic, evening entertainment great, quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    7.1
    Nothing special other than the view to the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1- In our 20+ days trips in Spain, we felt like the hotel was very expensive for what it offers; 2- If you seek a place where you can have a meal with a sea view, bear in mind that prices in the beach club are very high (lowest cost meal is a EUR 20 burger). Also, we asked for a table with sea view and were told that tables were reserved, but we finished lunch and nobody showed up for the "reserved" tables. Frustrating. 3- Housekeeping was clumsy and did the bare mininum; 4- Breakfast had great variety but poor quality; 5- pool with sea view is reserved for a certain guest category, which is not clear in hotel descreption

    The view to Cala Galdana beach is fantastic. Our overall experience was okay, nothing special but expensive. Staff was polite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location on the beach and a huge variety of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a perfect hotel however the services from staff were not extraordinary and the ventillation in the bathroom didnt work meaning it was steamy for the whole day after someone took a hot shower. I asked for recommendations for a boat tour and hoped being a 5* hotel they would recommend a tour of the same standard but the boat was damp and dirty and not what you expect such a hotel to recommend. I would rate it a 4* as cleanliness and facilities were great. Just nothing extra special.

    Great location on the beach and a huge variety of restaurants to chose from. Amazing atmosphere!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    6.7
    Korkeintaan 4 tähden hotelli, jossa palvelut eivät vastanneet ilmoitettuja standardeja.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    At the end of may there were mostly families with little children running around and very noisy. This was not informed when we booked hotel. Restaurant was very noisy, meals were served quite cold and their selection was limited. The staff was very busy.

    Location was good, the evening program was entertaining, Hotel manager was friendly and solved some of our problems. Room maintenance was ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.1
    Great location - extremely clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor customer service - bar area closing early - staff just seemed bored & disinterested at times even rude! not 5* service at all

    Great location - extremely clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Five minutes to a fantastic beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The English translations of food items on menus can be very misleading or just wrong. At times you're not sure what you're getting.

    Clean and friendly and great for a beach holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.8
    A high-quality hotel with a few glitches that need attention, in a spectacular setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew the sea would be cold, but the pool was also too cold to swim in. Meliá has upped the price of the floors with the best views, probably because of reviews on travel sites recommending them. If you have not booked “The Level” at much higher prices, you are made to feel very much second class citizens...you have to learn where you can’t go. The breakfast area needs reorganizing...in high season it must be a mosh pit.

    Beautiful building and rooms...delightful ground floor outdoor cafe with excellent chef...spectacular view from the room. Very quiet. Friendly and helpful staff, especially in the restaurants. Not a party hotel (it was off-season) and lots of small children, but we liked that, and Menorca, thankfully, is not a party island. Great breakfasts, every kind of food you could imagine, including some you wouldn’t want to...Brussels sprouts for breakfast ?🤨

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    It was very relaxed and a perfect location for a family...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening entertainment wasn’t a children’s disco as advertised. But we were there the first week of opening for the summer season.

    It was very relaxed and a perfect location for a family holiday with young children.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.1
    Ubicación en una cala preciosa y con acceso directo a la...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dos de los días durante nuestra estancia hizo frió y lluvia y el hotel no esta preparado. En la habitación hacia mucho frió y cuando nos subieron mantas, estas olían fatal a cerrado. Ademas la zona del desayuno es abierta con una cubierta, perfecto para el verano y por las vistas, pero cuando llovía entraba agua y hacia mucho viento y frió. Tiene dos piscinas y la que tiene vistas al mar es de pago.

    Ubicación en una cala preciosa y con acceso directo a la playa. Es un hotel tranquilo y con buenos servicios, el desayuno estaba muy bien. Lo único que el parking es de pago, pero sueles encontrar sitio para aparcar cerca por la calle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    The location is top, if in a room with sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you have to pay 15€/day for the parking. No Nespresso machine in the room or breakfast!

    The location is top, if in a room with sea view. The staff is impeccable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.8
    Great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Pool not heated. Sea much warmer even in October. Last week of the season & everything closing & being taken down in front of the paying guests. Staff seem tired & just wanted to finish. Real shame they couldn't do this just 2 days later.

    Great location in the bay. Rooms, decor, cleanliness all fantastic. Kids loved the kids club. Food great. Bar great especially the beach side one.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Lovely hotel in an amazing location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I thought the evening buffet was too expensive (€30 for adults and €20 for kids) especially if you just wanted a light said or something. And it was annoying that you had to pay to enter the swimming pool at the beach side of the property.

    The staff were great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.2
    The best hotel in the best location on Menorca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hot plates in the buffet area were well hidden and sometimes the hot buffet food wasn't kept hot enough! On-site car parking was very expensive (16 euros per night) so we declined.

    An excellent hotel in the best location in Menorca. Spacious, clean, well equipped rooms with tea/coffee making facilities and great choice of TV channels. Magnificent buffets at breakfast and in the evening. The food, especially when cooked-to-order, was superb which meant we didn't bother going to the restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    It was amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Sometimes I found the breakfast area a bit chilly.

    I liked that the bed was really big and the toileteries were good quality. I liked the scent in the lobby.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.1
    Decor was very nice, everything was clean but for €100 a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1/ VERY expensive €100 a night for a side view, €135 for a front view per night or the one with the bath in the bedroom is €380 per night. For such an expensive hotel, you would think the breakfast was nice!!! 2/ NO, the toasters didnt work, the bread had to be put through 8-10 times to look toasted, the toaster was at one end the jams or butter at the other end, 3/ the coffee was only warm, and had to use the microwave in the middle to warm them up! 4/ the bacon I can only describe as fake tinned bacon not fried or cooked, the sausages are the same fake hot dogs one day it looked like real sausages again looking white and not cooked 95% breadcrumbs and the 5% offal. There was spinach and broccoli which I never understood?? The overall breakfast experience reminded me of a fake budget Butlins buffet experience, but very clean and with a good view! Breakfast let the hotel down!

    Decor was very nice, everything was clean but for €100 a night I wouldn't expect anything less

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.3
    Not what I expected!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in. Noise in the room. Small gym. Rudeness of staff at breakfast when get's to 10:30! Hotel is keep to have VIP guess and the rest ( you feel that everywhere)

    Clean and modern look off hotel! Location, location, location!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Very relaxing but not a lot to do in Cala Geldana but this might be due to the time of year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Great beach bar/restaurant which unfortunately was empty because of ridiculous prices. Evening entertainment was dull! Much more could be done for evening entertainment and general ambiance around the bar area. No waiter service around the pool area. You should have some concession for sunbeds on the beach outside the hotel. 5 star prices but not 5 star facilities.

    Great view from room, room was small. Great shower. We were B & B and breakfast was fantastic. Staff fantastic and very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    9.2
    lovely break in the late summer sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn't work well.

    Fabulous location, with sea view, right on the beach. The room was modern and clean. Dining room open until late. WiFi good and TV had British channels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    A nice scape...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing: if you're going to eat - lunch or dinner - I recommend you go outside. The hotel restaurants are expensive, and not so great, not a good value for money.

    Excellent breakfast, included in the price. Excellent location, great views from the restaurant during breakfast. Confortable bed, spacious room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    Great long weekend with Cala Galdana acting as good base for exploring the island
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The buffet dining room was uncomfortably chilly. We had unseasonably cool weather for September and the temporary window screens and roof awning provided insufficient protection to the elements. Great facility for mid summer but cool for autumn.

    Bedrooms well appointed. As we were two couples on a birthday celebration weekend, we were given interconnecting corner suite rooms. Staff were charming and the pre-ordered birthday cake was delicious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    10
    Great Fun!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly the catering is not the best. We chose to eat outside of the hotel most of the time,because the service was very erratic and we had several occasions when we did not get what we ordered. This was not very convenient when travelling with a 2 and 3 year old .

    The hotel offers a very friendly and luxurious atmosphere. The sea facing rooms have a spectacular view of the bay which is breathtaking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel, fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    The rooms are modern and immaculate. I highly recommend the premium rooms, the view was fantastic. Included was breakfast, which was great. A large selection of food and excellent quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    8.8
    very nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Didn't like that the pool was small, and didn't have a view of the beach. Would love it if the infinity level pool could be an adult only pool open to all guests. Also wish they had more meal options for anytime of day and wish the bars at the hotel stayed open later.

    Loved the property, very nice! Loved the beach bar/restaurant area and live music.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing break without too many CWE's
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not enough staff at reception with very long waits. Bus transfer booking used by the hotel too rigid causing lots of unnecessary fuss in both directions as they cannot cope with different party members flying in or out to different locations who wish to travel to the hotel and airport together.

    Staff friendly and helpful, outstanding location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    10
    Lovely relaxing beach stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not being able to use the infinity pool. A steep charge for this

    Excellent position on the beach, not too crowded especially being high season. Restaurants and bars a short stroll away

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite The Level with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The italian restaurant could be better. I tested a lot if different italian restaurants and this in the hotel is not for sure the best

    The hotel is very nice and sea / beach in front of the hotel is amazing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    It is an attractive hotel with attentive, friendly staff in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were staying at the hotel on a half-board basis and my main gripe was with the quality of the food on offer. None of the meals were particularly stand out; whilst the food was edible it was certainly nothing to write home about and since there aren't a plethora of alternatives in the immediate vicinity you're kind of stuck with the hotel food especially since it's already paid for depending on the package you opt for. We decided to try out the Casa Nostra restaurant in the hotel on our last night in the hope that we could have at least one decent meal before leaving. The menu was limited but the dishes sounded delicious. I ordered the lobster linguine and yet again I was underwhelmed by it, it certainly wasn't awful but it wasn't anything special either. This is not a hotel for foodies! The pool is nice but I think more could be made of it, it lacks ambiance and the bar staff were lovely but often absent from the bar itself. I think it's also a huge shame that there isn't a section of the beach reserved for hotel guests. It was impossible to get hold of a sun bed as the beach was packed each day so we opted to hike a couple of kilometres each morning to Cala Macarella where the beach is a little quieter but also stunning.

    It is an attractive hotel with attentive, friendly staff in a beautiful location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    9.6
    fantastic location, super comfy bed
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I wish there was a shower on the beach. It was weird that there wasn't one.

    The bed was extremely comfortable; fluffy comforters, extra large fluffy pillows, soft mattress (which is rare in European hotels) and good sheets. Plus the room was sound proofed, so although the hotel was at capacity, our room was quiet and I slept so well. all the rooms have sea views, and they are spectacular.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    8.3
    The position of this hotel is superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bar and restaurant staff could be grumpy, the bar staff at the deck bar were very slow and would sometimes take 20 minutes to get us our drinks! Not impressed.

    The position of this hotel is superb. The beds are comfy and the rooms and hotel super clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    9.2
    We had a very restful stay at this lovely hotel. The location is fantastic, right on the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are quite small for the cost of the stay but we did not spend a lot of time in the room.

    The location of the property on the beach. The views from our room and from the dining room were amazing. The cleanliness of the whole hotel and surrounding area. The decor is fresh and modern. The bed was comfy. The staff were helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel with great location, however expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    To be honest, it took some days to like the hotel. When arriving the reception was not welcoming and we had an issue with pricing that was not very well taken care of. You have to remember that this is a rather expensive hotel and you expect a better first impression (for example a smile and a welcoming "Hola!" and why not a glass of cava when arriving?). We got no help of finding out about activities like horse back riding and kayaking, we had to do it ourselves. Also when paying at the end the attitude of the staff was not what you can expect, rather irritated when asking about the bill and no "Good bay, welcome back"! It was a surprise when we got to know that we could not use the infinity pool as you have the be a "The level"-member (still we paid 5 000 Euros for three persons for a week!). The infinity pool is gorgeous with special treat - a disappointment not to be allowed to use it! An even bigger disappointment was therefore the main pool. It's located on the top floor behind the hotel with almost no sea view. It's probably fine for families with small kids but not if you expect laying at the pool side with a view of the cala. Most staff was cordial and nice but, especially in the buffet restaurant, many of them seemed to be stressed and were rushing the orders. You had to remind them (in fact in all restaurants and bars) too often what you have ordered etc. The whole experience you have from arrival to departure is that the hotel seems to be understaffed, an impression you should not have for the price we paid. We like Menorca and we found the hotel probably to be one of the best on the island, and will definitely come back. However, the management need to be careful about the value for money in relation to what the guests pay and what they get.

    It's a good hotel with smart, but small rooms. The view over Cala Galdana is astonishing and the beach is rather nice. It seems to be less crowded than other public beaches (all beaches on Menorca are public) we visited on the island. You have to pay for matrasses and umbrella but it's worth it (19 Euro for a full day for two persons). If you chose half pension it means breakfast and a buffet dinner. Both are really good and especially the variety of food in the evenings is good (new themes every night). The view from the buffet restaurant where you also have breakfast is just amazing and very pleasant. We also tried the beach club for lunch. Very pleasant and good food. We did not try the other restaurants as their locations were not as attractive as the buffet restaurant. We joined a lot of the free training passes that were offered. The instructors, Rodriguez and Marco, are truly professionals and gave you a fun, good, hard, and healthy training. The hotel is big and dominates the beach but it's still a nice, quite place located directly on the beach (no traffic, just walking path between the hotel and beach).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    6.7
    Mixed review , won't come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff didn't speak English, if they did it was very very little. Parking fees . Also we noticed towards the end of our trip that they would make our bed but didn't always put clean sheets on . So we would have sand on the sheets . Not good

    The room was great , however the staff at this hotel speak very little English. Which makes it hard to communicate. If for example I didn't want bread with chicken nuggets they didn't understand that. The parking costs 30 euro a day and it is the same distance to public parking which wasn't easy to find . Make sure you check your bill , we had some charges on ours that they did take off , because they didn't know what the charge was. Again when there are problems and you try to talk to the front desk staff who speak very very basic English .. not good. There was one young male staff member that was so rude and not very friendly and I don't remember his name. We liked the room and the view was great. Our king size bed was hard as a rock , however they did provide us with some down mattress which helped a little . Another thing we encountered was that there was only one place to order lunch from at the hotel and it was overpriced and not very good or one could order room service, which also was difficult as they didn't understand majority of what one said . If you are going to run a holiday hotel you need to employ people who can speak and understand English. Also there was no spa , no souvenir shop . The buffet for dinner was 30 euros plus one had to pay extra for drinks. Your better of eating at the small restaurants in the very small town. Also there is a infinity pool and that coats 20 euro a day per person . We will not come back to this hotel due to the lack of English speaking staff. Due to the very expensive parking and due to other small things

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    5.4
    We will NOT be returning here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you're not a Melia membership holder, or you're not staying on the Level.. don't expect the staff to be as friendly with you. We were asked on check-in if we wanted to upgrade to the Level, we said no (we didn't see the point).. it was an extra 90 euros per night, and to be honest we didn't spend much time in the room. As soon as we said we didn't want to upgrade, the receptionist's attitude with us changed & he didn't seem to care as much. The staff don't say hello when you walk past throughout the hotel which I found odd, as everywhere else we have stayed over the years always says hello. I was also really annoyed as I emailed the hotel twice (months before arrival) to let them know we would be staying for our 9 year anniversary, and if there was something they could do for us... both of our emails were ignored & no nice little touches in our room for it!.. This is a very corporate hotel, so we seemed to be just a number to them. I would highly recommend avoiding this hotel, we were hugely let down.. especially after seeing such good reviews! Perhaps we'll just wing it in future or go by family/friends recommendations. We will definitely return to Cala Galdana one day, but would much prefer to stay in a nice little family run place where they look after you better, or a nice little apartment overlooking the sea. The breakfast was also very poor! A few of the days the pastries didn't seem like they had been baked long enough, and was raw in the middle. Don't bother with the fried eggs, they aren't cooked properly on top & were snotty, the bacon was of bad quality & fatty. My partner asked for an omelette on the last morning of our stay, it wasn't cooked long enough & was still runny. He had one mouthful, and we left & went elsewhere to pay for breakfast! (We had to do this a few times)..

    The only positives - The location, and it was modern.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic family holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hidden extra of sunloungers on beach - 7 euros each plus 4 euros for umbrella. Adds up for a family for a week!

    Superb hotel - location and resort perfect. Very safe resort for kids (11 and 14 went into town on their own and very gradual seabed so great for small kids.) Staff unbelievably cheerful and helpful - couldn't fault them at all. Also in local restaurants and shops - a happy place to be!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    5.4
    Very Good location but very bad service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very bad reception desk. The guy at reception said that we have a superiour room and there s free parking for cars , then just in seconds he said that he made mustake but we still have a nice room with a nice view but not superiour. But the most important is suddenley there s no car parking because they have only few area and all is full. So you have to search parking in streets....breakfast is too bad, and you have to wait at the queu for entering the breakfast room....

    Great location , beautiful sea and coast, very friendly staff at children club

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Excellent beautiful location, restaurant places, view.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Too much screaming children with noisy families around you, no privacy, thin walls (hear cleaning laddies work too much), small rooms

    Excellent beautiful location, restaurant places, view. Very helpful and understanding stuff as we cancelled our booking

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    6.7
    The Level ? That didnt cut it at the Level it should have .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite The Level with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 3 nights

    as above

    mmmmmm , I should have gathered that things may not go right considering I requested early check in and late check out months before arriving via the interal booking.com site however was never contacted to update this this request. On arrival I was promised an update on late checkout and for Level staff to let me know if my room was available for an additional 2 nights on top of my booked stay. They never came back to me and I did chase this up with staff within the Level reception. As I departed I still noted I was never updated. Thats a shame , turningaway business and custom. As a well travelled person and being lucky to have aproximatley 3 to 4 breaks a year I believe my view and opinion to be fairly balanced . The bay of Cala Galdana is amazing to view, im sure all will agree. . The hotel we have returned to as our experinece was okay last year but the surrounding bays are a draw and I thought the hotel in its 2nd year with the new melia makeover and Level concept shall have it really together and be acceptional . How wrong I was . It has slipped from its first year . I had booked this propertey quite some time before visiting ie 3 months plus so it seems got a price a lot less than if i had booked nearer the visit. I opted again for a 2nd year to go for the Level option . A service that Melia group hotels promotes to be its highest and most esteemed service . Its okay to to good but for a 2nd year its not exclusive and I believe the money paid commands more from Melia . Anyone who reads my previus comments from last year will note I had said staff were not trained in a high end customer experience . This is a great shame given rooms are above good although have many faults ie wonkey tv wonkey shower pipes and touched in paint to areas of the room athat stand out like a sore thumb. I gave it a 2 nd year shot I wount be going again after a spend of £1400.00 overall in the hotel with drinks and food over 3 days . Sorry guys not good enough.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.6
    Serene setting, rooms have balconies overlooking the sea,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Serene setting, rooms have balconies overlooking the sea, easy walk to the small town with some fantastic restaurants, nice hike to other beautiful coves.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Perfect couples holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel entertainment was average.

    Hotel, location & the scenery were stunning. Very relaxing & staff were superb. Not overrun with children.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Faboulous hotel, fantastic food and great ambience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Glass barriers on balcony didn't feel that safe

    Lovely friendly welcome, staff very helpful, food beautifully presented and lots of choice. Although solo traveller felt very comfortable there. Absolutely immaculate everywhere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    The Melia hotel Cala Galdana a little slice of heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was busy and was made worse by the staff laying tables for dinner before the official end of breakfast but still fantastic made better with a free glass of prosecco.

    Rooms were spotlessly clean and the location was fantastic.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    8.8
    Great location, perfect for a short break!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did not have a bath in my room, just a shower, the room was small so was the balcony. In that respect value for money was not great. The swiminig pool was very small and there were not enough sun umbrellas.

    The friendliness of the staff exceeded expectations, the views are great!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    10
    Overall excellent service and facilities - very friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The breakfast staff tended to hover nearby a little too much to clear used plates etc. Overall fantastic otherwise!

    Overall excellent service and facilities - very friendly and helpful staff. A wide variety of breakfast food on offer.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    6.3
    Horribly noisy 9th floor!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - we were placed in a room above the dinning area, which was extremely noisy and the hotel was not even half full (I can't imagine on the summer); that was a really bad experience as we were there to relax; - unless you a Level guest (which we only heard about at the hotel) you don't have access to the pool that appears in all promotional photos so we felt like we were deceived; we should have been informed and the photos should have the proper description; - the hotel does not have beach facilities ( you have to arrange it with other promoter directly at the beach); -staff was arrogant; -15€/ day for parking;

    - Hotel rooms are small but lovely and comfortable; - the beach is beautiful; - the area is super safe and nice with cool restaurants and bars;

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    8.3
    Really loveley setting but watch high season crowds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast buffet good- Watch the queues! Hotel only opened this weekend and already very crowded in the breakfast restaurant. Simply not enough tables and serving stages. 3 waiters to serve large number at peak times very slow. Check in could take your entire holiday! I am always very wary of hotels that offer a separate "priority check in" like speedy boarding! Why? Its an admission check-in takes too long is it not? Dinner buffet poor and expensive!Pool disappointing. You need a car rather isolated bay. Then the hotel charges 15 euros a day for car parking !! Outrageous when spending £1500 euros for 4 days

    Location very good lovely views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    9.2
    Nice Hotel and Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel does not put any sun beds on the beach, even though it right in front of the beach, so you end up having to pay extra to stay on a bed at the beach. They do have some beds available with a nice pool that is facing the beach/ocean but that part is only available for guests who are part of "the Level" the ones who are not, can't have a bed overseeing the ocean. The pools the hotel have available are in front of the parking lot, and behind the buildings so you can't see the beach or anything close to the ocean from it. When you book a hotel like this, you imagine that the very least you'll be able to relax and enjoy the view while sun bathing, it is not possible at all.

    Exceptional view from the hotel, where you can see the entire Cala Galdana. Breakfast is amazing and so is all the restaurants and bars from the hotel. Rooms as comfortable and look incredibly new and clean. For the ones who are going with family it is the perfect place, but there are a lot of families and kids, so sometimes is not easy to have a quiet time.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    10
    Great hotel at an incredible location with a lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only the gym a little bit was poorly equipped and small, but other than that everything was great!

    We had such an amazing time staying at this hotel. The staff were absolutely incredible - extremely kind, helpful, happy and enjoying what they do. Was an absolute pleasure talking to them about anything we needed to know for our stay. I loved the hotel, the room, the pool, the hotel bars and the fact that you just go out of the hotel and you are on the beach straight away.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    9.6
    Total comfort on a splendid location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price of a bottle of still water was 3 euros which was compensated by the half a liter one of the house.

    Very comfortable beds and a wonderful location! Nicely decorated room with all the comfort you need. Very helpful staff.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    8.8
    Nothing not to like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff overall excellent .. some obviously v busy at peak times

    Nothing to dislike....excellent location right on beach...peaceful at this time of year.. a very good experience and I travel a lot

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    8.8
    Smart, modern, comfortable hotel in splendid location on beautiful bay. Food in buffet disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the buffet restaurant is not very good. It is not very varied. The buffet restaurant is huge, noisy and crowded.

    The staff, especially the reception staff, are very helpful, efficient and friendly. The food in the a la Carte restaurant and the terrace bar is very good.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    9.2
    Exactly what we were looking for - good hotel overlooking the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    If you don't want buffet food the options in the hotel are very limited - the Italian a la carte restaurant is booked up a week in advance so hard to get into. Would like another a la carte option within the hotel.

    Very well maintained hotel in a good location right on Cala Galdana Bay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    9.2
    Location location location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outdoor area of restaurants were closed and the one outdoor space wasn't serving food. Disappointing considering the beautiful beach location. Hotel also didn't offer many services, and if you're not staying in the level, the staff isn't very friendly.

    Incredible location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    7.1
    Lovely room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unattractive pool area at back of hotel. Sea facing sunbeds at front but in private beach club at 30€ pppd.

    Lovely room. But on first floor and too close to the outside bar.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Setting, scenery
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Setting, scenery

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.2
    Poor bar service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor bar service. You have to pay for sunbeds on the beach (at these prices for rooms they should be included)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Can’t wait to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You have to drive around looking for parking.

    One of the nicest hotels in menorca .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    the gym is small and should have more treadmills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the gym is small and should have more treadmills. 2 is not enough for the size of the hotel. I also missed a spa/massage service in the hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    7.9
    too many add ons pool for price was at back of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    too many add ons pool for price was at back of hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool facilities could be more child friendly

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.5
    Pay to use the swimming pool??
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pay to use the swimming pool is enaceptable. Some staff are vary rude.

    Hotel restaurants are vary good. Also they offer a live music daily.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very tiny.

    Perfect location with beautyful view. Good breakfast And nicely equipped rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Premium The Level Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room was a bit tight

    the excellent views. the level was good with nibbles and drinks at 5pm .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Meliá Cala Galdana traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: