Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fernán González 4 stars

Calera, 17, 09002 Burgos, Spain

#34 of 39 hotels in Burgos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3105 hotel reviews

7.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect spot! Close enough to the cathedral and the restaurants but far enough away not to be disturbed by late night crowds. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    5.8
    Disappointing
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was coldweather and there was no heating in the hotel. My room was very dark and old lightbulbs hand not been replaced. Booking.com adveet says there is a bar. There is no bar in thr hotel. The carpet was threadbare.

    Very good breakfast. Quiet area within easy reach of the Cathedral and old town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    4.2
    I don’t really understand how this hotel can be a 4-star...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t really understand how this hotel can be a 4-star hotel. The only thing that could be 4star is the entrance. - My room was decorate with mirror walls, 80s called back and wanted the mirrors back. - The bathtub was a half size of normal one. The light in bathroom was broken. The flasher didn’t work properly. Shower curtain was not so fresh. It was efficient with accessories in the bathroom. - The carpeted is probably from 80s so it’s not fresh - I tried the breakfast, egg/potatoes tortillas was frozen, “jamon” dry & “old”. - Very old and not worth it money. Maybe 2 star who wants to be 4 stars!!! - Far away to the restaurants (which are on the other sides of the river)

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    2.9
    Four star hotel? Maybe 20 years ago! 2 star max. More like 1 star. Do not stay here!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property not maintained; filthy bathroom; uncomfortable room. Broken items; annoyed staff. They didn’t seem to care. Did not assist or explain hotel services.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    6.3
    The noise from the corridors could be heard whilst in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the corridors could be heard whilst in the room On the second morning the water for the tea machine was cold, the croissants and other items were burnt and the coffee machine was out of milk

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    4.2
    Pretty average and breakfast below average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom was right by the lift and noisy.203 was the number of the room ! Burnt breakfast pastries!

    The blankets were old and looked grubby. We both got bitten in bed. The croissants were burnt black as we're all the other little pastries. All in all a very poor effort. We certainly would never stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    7.9
    The size and layout of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking was difficult via a one way street.

    The size and layout of the room. The whole hotel had opulent decor with good quality furniture and paintings.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    5.4
    Expensive hotel for his condition and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is centrally located in a picturesque building, but is somewhat neglected in maintenance, the bed mattresses were old and uncomfortable, the light from the ceiling of the room was not working and the bathroom was very small. A four-star hotel that shouldn't be more than two.

    The decoration of the hotel is baroque but curious

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    6.3
    we had one night in Burgos and long wait to checkin was frustrating !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in process was really poor - we drove for several hours from France and were very tired when we arrived at reception. Unfortunately we were made to wait while receptionist choose to process other bookings on computer after guests had been given room keys (inexcusable - this should be done when there are no guests waiting to check in) & then some other guests had problems with their keys which also had to be resolved (unavoidable, but the problem here was the lack of any other staff to assist)

    Liked old world feel of hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.4
    It was close to everything and looked very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The man who checked me in was so rude....to me and to a delivery person who came while I was there. He could/would not help me with anything....actually ignoring me while I stood at the front desk, then impatient when I asked questions. On the other hand, the next morning, Nohelia was FANTASTIC. She was so pleasant and willing to help. Always smiling and greeting people nicely. She made up for the rudeness of the man on the previous night.

    It was close to everything and looked very nice. Breakfast was nice and Nohelia at check out was wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    In the centre of Burgos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration of common places with old furniture and pictures was overwhelming (although some guests surely like this style).

    Located in the centre of Burgos, close to the cathedral and other places of interests. Great breakfast. The room was quite spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The underground car park was challenging for a large car. A very tight corner to negotiate on entry. But very necessary.

    The close proximity to the Cathedral, restaurants and shops. The buffet breakfast was very good value for 8 euros. Nice dining room. The public areas were very beautiful, lovely old, ornate furniture.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    8.3
    In the very center of Burgos
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Parking Included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Did not have a baby bed - said they had 4 beds usually but one was broken ==> we made the reservation in march for July. they could have thought about it earlier.

    Very very well located (200 m from the cathedral) Charming hotel, great decoration

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.4
    Never again!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The green, dirty carpet was obviously not vacuumed as we found stuff under the beds! Hairs on sheets and big spots on the pillowcase of the extra pillow I had requested; spots also on bed covers. The Bathroom had the toilet about 10 cm from the sink and was on one side so close to the wall that it was a problem to use! Shower head was so high up on the wall that we could not reach it to bend the straight downward pointing stream of water away from the faucet! The doorframe in bathroom had obviously been eaten by termites! (See picture) Headboards on beds were flimsily attached to the wall which in its entirety was covered in mirror, clinking every time we turned over. The walls of the room were dirty and scratched and the tv remote was so filthy that we did not even want to touch it. Just a few meters down the road from the hotel was a bar were people very noisily partied till 5:25 am (night from Thursday to Friday) which gave us about an hour and a half of rest. We had to keep the window open to cool down the room because the air conditioning unit was even noisier than the street below our 4th floor window. On checking out in the morning the receptionist apologized and offered us a 10% discount for our troubles (what a joke!). I could not wait to get out the hotel; I felt really dirty and just wanted to get home to take a shower. This was a one night stay and upon arriving early evening we made the mistake not to check the room. Thinking that a four star hotel would not take chances with cleanliness. At 11 pm, after visiting Burgos in 32 degree heat, and dining at a restaurant we came back to our room to find out that it was impossible to take a shower or to use the toilet properly! We do not recommend this hotel !

    Close to attractions, shopping, park and restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.3
    Location.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed wasn't comfortable. Only insane huge long pillows. Easy hearing what's going on in other rooms. Staff indifferent.

    Location. Parking available (needed reservation in advance). Style (almost as entering a Vasquez Painting).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    4.2
    The hotel had the comfort of a “50 years ago” hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel had the comfort of a “50 years ago” hotel. Owners stop investing decades ago. All carpets completely weathered (see pic). Bad smelling (humidity). We had three rooms and in two of them the A/C was not working properly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    We will visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insufficient staffing, when we booked in there was just one receptionist who was excellent but over worked. Our initial room was adjacent to a service lift however we were moved just as soon as we complained.

    We have stayed several times previously, it is a great location with a good breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.3
    The rooms were fair value for money given the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It had no bar or restaurant, the carpets were worn and the appearance was rather tired.

    It was a short walk from the bus station and the centre of the old city

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.5
    Burgos is a jewel and the Fernan Gonzalez is central and good value for money, but do not expect 4 *
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We waited 5 minutes for a receptionist to appear at check-in. There is a beautiful and beautifully furnished bar but this was never open while we were there. Whoever heard of a 4 star hotel without any sort of bar, restaurant, cafe or room service, but as far as we are aware the FG has none. I travel a lot and like to travel light, so no heavy shampoo or conditioners for me as I rely on the small bottle or dispenser that is 'always' provided by the hotel, no matter what its star rating the hotel FG provided nothing.

    Its location and its value for money are the main reasons for choosing this hotel. Burgos is a must see Spanish city the Fernan Gonzalez is perfectly placed to allow one to enjoy the place to the best. However, the idea that this hotel is rated 4 stars is a joke. And, indeed the price being charged for fine expansive rooms indicates that the rating is outdated. The staff when you can find someone at reception are kind and helpful, but one gets the impression that they often hide to avoid customers.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Good overnight stay on the Camino.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could have been better.

    The location of the hotel was excellent. It was right beside the bike path that goes along the river, easy for cycling the Camino. The hotel is also located across the river from the cathedral. Warm friendly welcome on arrival. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Great location and staff but hotel is a little tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel rooms are a bit tired and could do with updating.

    Location is fabulous, right opposite Bridge of Santa Maria and the entrance to the cathedral. We had problems with the first room and the staff were really good at moving us and sorting out the problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.6
    Close to city centre and all its wonderful amenities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was offered first was built by a dwarf for a dwarf but after complaining bitterly for the first time in all the times I've stayed there, I was given a room fit for a king. It pays to be forthright!

    Close to city centre and all its wonderful amenities. Helpful staff. Lovely place - can't beat it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    3.8
    Not a 4 star hotel.... a B&B only
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Disgraceful...can't even get a coffee! Should be described as a B&B. Only bed and breakfast available despite other services shown as being on offer on the website. No drinks available at any time during the day or evening.. no tea,coffee or alcohol despite there being a bar which apparently was only used for coach or party bookings held in the function room. No food or snacks available apart from breakfast. We were told to go to a local bar down the road. The receptionist told us that lots of people complain about it but there was nothing she could do. It was company policy. The decor is tired, bedroom carpets dirty, bed blanket stained, room noisy and we're really not sure how it ever got a 4 star rating. All very surreal really. Shame, as it marred the first few days of our holiday.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    IDEAL POSITION TO VISIT BURGOS ,VERY GOOD HOTEL, BIT DIFFICULT TO FIND
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    LIKE A PALACE INSIDE , GREAT ROOM , GREAT BUFFET BREAKFAST, HOTEL 5 MINUTES FROM SANTA ANA ARCH ENTRANCE TO BURGOS, ENGLISH SPEAKING STAFF, HOTEL PARKING 10 EUROS A NIGHT, GREAT LOCATION TO VISIT BURGOS.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    8.8
    Overnight stay on way to France after several days in Southern Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel has a lot of old-world charm but is a little 'tired' - needs some refurbishment.

    Excellent situation close to the centre of the city. Friendly welcome and upgrade to superior room was appreciated. Good secure parking nearby. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was very well appointed lovely furnishings, large...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi could have been a little better and a fridge would have been handy

    The hotel was very well appointed lovely furnishings, large & comfortable, hot water and helpful staff and nice view over river and close walk to every where, parking a big plus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Cost effective hotel located not far from the Camino with accommodating staff and clean, quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The heating system was not adjustable. The room was very warms d could not turn down the radiator. Only way to control temperature was open window.

    Stayed here while walking the Camino. Location is a short walk from the Camino and away from Cathedral. But was good value. Room was clean and functional. Staff was friendly and accomadating, able to get us into our room early.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    3.8
    Dreadfull
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms we tried 3 very strange reception area thought we we on a movie set

    Nothing The bed was awful the room was old fashioned mirror was held together with tape it was like going back in time!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    Not a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is not a 4 star hotel. I would rate it barely 2 star. Carpets in room were bare..no refrigerator, no safe, no room service have to let them know in advance if you want breakfast...could not even get hot water from kitchen to make my own coffee. They charge four star prices..it's a joke..very disappointed...STAFF WETE GOOD

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.5
    Convenient location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were not great. WiFi was terrible throughout the hotel. I asked for some hot water in my thermos and was told that was a service! I did get it without a charge, but I felt it was making him do something that wasn’t supposed to be done and it took about one minute. Since amenities were offered, see above, what was the issue. The place is dated in it’s style.

    Location. Amenities were given in the room. Two bottles of water, a comb, disposal razor, toothbrush with toothpaste. Parking garage is close, but there is a fee and reservation is required. There is an elevator.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.0
    Not recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyrthing is really old and worn, the room an bathroom wasnt exactly clean, the bathroom is small and uncomfortable, the walls are paper thin.

    Its a good location, but Burgos isnt exactly a huge city, so that not a big plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    8.8
    Very good value, great position and lovely old hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night

    I hated the parking. I have never been in such a confined place to park a car. It's almost impossible to navigate around down there! The bedside lights were both not working. The receptionist however came very promptly to see what was wrong - both bulbs had blown. About 40 minutes later someone arrived with two new bulbs.

    The breakfast was great and the WiFi worked immediately which is good as often it is complicated as the password doesn't always work straight away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room showed a little age. Worn carpet. Front desk staff was a little distracted.

    Great location near the bus station and the cathedral. Great breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    7.1
    Big room.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking very narrow,no indications how to get in,how to get out,no elevator for the luggage. The decoration is very all fashion but it’s ok for some people. The room was smelling very bad,the moquette was dated,not looking very clean.

    Big room.In the city center.Very good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Brilliant value for money, in a fabulous position in a beautiful city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The snow blizzard we set off in on our motorbike on our way to Santander!

    Loved our big room at the top of the hotel with its little sitting room and jacuzzi bath!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    8.3
    A convenient stay on our route through Spain 🇪🇸
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We pre booked a double room and ended up getting a twin. When I asked the hotel reception about this they said it was subject to availability. It seemed a very big hotel, and didn’t appear to be busy so not being allocated a double room was a disappointment

    Friendly staff, parking outside was good but pricey. Rooms were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    3.3
    Dreadful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No restaurant, no room service, threadbare room, no pillows, no ability to enter except up a flight of stamps, hotel did not answer telephone for about an hour, no bell at street level, no kettle so although advertised as having a restaurant I had no ability to receive any food or refreshment in the hotel at all. Eventually a glass containing coffee and a tablespoon to stir it with was produced and I was told that this was an exception.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    9.2
    A gem in the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent beakfast, 2 mins from a historical center, excellent customer service, had a hot water delivered to my room , which i really appreciated, so thank you again .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    Winter break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A little hard to find with the sat nav, I ended up driving 150 yards down a one way street.

    Great location, friendly and helpful staff and a massive bathroom, whats not to like ?

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    4.6
    Horrible experience. Completely unworthy of a four star hotel rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room - Parking Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smallest room i’ve stayed in since i was a teenager. And I had 2 teenage daughters with me this time. A backpaker would feel cramped. Bathroom space was so tight i couldn’t sit on toilet (and I’m only 6’ tall). Shower was broken. Water pressure was terrible. Room was impossibly warm and no way to cool it down except opening the window with subfreezing temperature outside. Wooden door to the room was damaged and bent inwards so you could see the corridor light from inside the room I seldom write reviews. I had to comment on this one

    PROximity to old city center Hotel parking nearby

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.3
    Central location, friendly staff on reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant closed.

    We stayed in the suite so enjoyed the extra space and view from the balcony. Excellent location for the cathedral and castle. Warm and comfortable bed. Plenty of choice for breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    3.8
    Unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds were terrible! Obsolete mattresses. Also antique stuff. The metal springs poking in your back. So...if you do not have a good night rest, which is the basic need for travelling guests, the conclusion is: a poor hotel, with poor management. Period! And upon complaining at the reception desk lady, she confirmed the mattresses are poor and are to be replaced soon(!). So they know! And still sell us a room aware of obsolete mattresses. A shame.

    The hotel is quite nicely decorated with lots of antique.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Check the bed first. All the rest is ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was "un-fresh" and I slept in my sleeping-bag that luckily I had with me. Too late to change room. WIFI not the best.

    great Breakfast. Great Location. Staff very friendly. Quite room with window on internal (no view...) site.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very spacious and comfortable for our group of 3. The insonorisation was perfect, so we could have a great night sleep and the beds were big and very comfortable. The hotel is just meters away from the main attractions of the city and the staff was nice and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast buffet was very good although not included in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning did not work or was turned off so had to open windows to cool the room and this allowed street noise.

    The breakfast buffet was very good although not included in room price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    8.8
    A well-positioned, friendly, quirky hotel; recommended.
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room did not have a view, in fact it didn't even let in a lot of natural light. The access ramp to the secure parking would be a challenge for someone driving a large vehicle. The free wifi was very slow.

    The hotel is exceptionally well positioned to see all the sights of Burgos on foot, and has the added advantage of secure parking just across the road from the hotel. I would definitely consider this hotel for a stop-off with a motorcycle. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The decor is a mix of 19th century opulence with even older (ancient) artefacts on display, especially in the restaurant. My room (109) was small, and a little too hot. The window opened up onto an internal void, and let in almost no light, but I had a comfortable double bed, a large TV and an en-suite bathroom. The breakfast was definitely worth paying extra for. Scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, delicious fresh bread, plenty of cold meats and cheese, coffee and tea, it was all there. Not the usual continental breakfast! Overall, I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Close to bus stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ventilation is not very good. Housekeeping is a bit disappointed. One of my slippers was found under the central of bed. Very difficult to get it out.

    Close to bus stop. Nice staff and helpful. Staffs can speak English. Has a big balcony.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    3.3
    This hotel would not deserve even a 1 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was not polite, the hotel is very very old. The carpet on the floor had holes, the paper on the wall was falling, the smell was horendous, the shower did not work and the bathroom was dirty. We got two rooms 311 and 315. Both were very bad.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.4
    Average - very average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    However, my booking said there would be air-conditioning and there was none. I was told by a member of staff that management had made the decision that, given the time of year, the system was turned over to "heating only". Yet, there was a heatwave when I booked in and the three nights I spent there were spent with the window open during the nights. My booking said there would be a hair dryer and there was not one in my room. This I discovered during my last night when I looked for one. During the last night I spent there, I awoke to discover a spring had popped out from the side of the mattress. This is in no way a four star hotel and I feel cheated at the price I paid in comparison with cheaper and better hostales and hotels I stayed in during my recent visit Spain. If I had paid half of what I did, it would have felt like too much. I would not recommend this hotel. Free toothbrushes etc, which no doubts boosts this place to a "4 star" don't make up for other inadequacies.

    This was very poor value for money. Yes, the location is great (very near the bus station and the centre of the old town) and the room was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    6.3
    As above!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air con from September - heat only for the winter! No windows in the first room we were given! Parking facilties provided by the hotel an absolute nightmare ... extremely difficult to manoeuvre ... limited space ... scraped car!

    Excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    5.0
    Overpriced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not worth the high price - 100 euro plus. Naked walls. Window with a view at an dark inner yard. Quite clean but a bit run down. More like a bed and breakfast in the country, not a 4 star (what a joke) hotel. No mini bar, nor wine to order. The parking is in a garage and the space is way to narrow to crawl out of the car.

    Close to the heart of town, yet convenient to reach by car. Good breakfast. Private parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location with secure, bookable car-parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The 'boutique hotel' description is a bit of a stretch, whilst novel, in most of the public areas you could make the mistake of believing that you were in a baroque RC cardinals house. It looks a bit dated although our room was fine. We asked for a quiet room and so were right at the end of the 5th. floor; perhaps because of this the wi-fi was unacceptably weak.

    The location together with the pre-booked secure car-parking is excellent for foot access to Burgos old-town, both during the day and at night. The area felt very secure.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    4.2
    You get what you pay for.....but I would at least like a clean place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would never go back to this hotel for the fact this hotel needs a full makeover! It looks like time as stood still in the rooms and lobby. The rug in the room was worn and dirty, the curtains had not been cleaned in years. We booked and prepaid for three nights or we would have gotten the heck out out of there. They could not even provide a full roll of toilet paper after each cleaning, just left half used rolls for our comfort...lol

    Breakfast was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    5.8
    Old and overpriced hotel but nice location and friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very small and the interior is old. There were stains of humidity on the carpet, toilet that doesn't flush properly, no decent curtain in the bathroom (I think everyone could see me on the toilet), a very small bed. The wifi is terrible, impossible to do my work with a connection that drops every minute.

    Location is good, close to the center and possible to park. Staff is very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Motorcycle tour passing through from Salamanca to Bilbao
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a bar on site but it's very close to the old town activity so it's not a problem.

    I stay here whenever it's available and I'm in Burgos. What more can I say?

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.1
    Overpriced and tired looking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price and cost of breakfast. For a luxury hotel you'd expect a lot of extras, but there was no kettle or bar fridge in the room.

    Location to Cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.9
    A fine place for one night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dated hotel. The air conditioner was beside the window and blew cool air behind the curtains and not into the rest of the room

    The staff were helpful and even gave us a cot to use in the room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    5.0
    Lovely city shame about the welcome or non by one of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it was living on its past glory which is so antiquated also the beds need changing as they are very old and worn found it was uncomfortable and did bot sleep

    Area it was in which was very central and easy to get to sites and restaurants easy to find

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    8.3
    Great location sells it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night

    The garage is very tight for larger cars, but worked ok for us with lots of care. Decor in hotel was a little strange - must have been a church at some stage. Would have liked some history of the building to explain this.

    Good breakfast choices. Hotel has really good location just a short walk from main historic centre of cathedral and restaurants. Private parking garage. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    4.2
    Don't go there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personel was not friendly, neither helpful. The room was extremely warm and they refused to do anything about the airco. The 3rd bed metal frame was piercing through and the bathroom filthy! No way this qualifies as a 4 stars boutique hotel. Terrible experience on our el Camino.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    4.6
    Not a 4 Star Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel did not meet requirements for 4 star. more like 2! old fashioned basic small rooms. old furniture. bathroom needed refurbished. no bar!!!!! didn't even want to check out breakfast.

    location was good

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    9.2
    A stop over before going to the port at Bilbao
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could have been a bar in the Hotel

    Excellent location for visiting the old city. Very close to all the bars, restaurants and the best of Burgos city life.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.8
    Motorcycle tour stop over on the way to and from Bilbao port
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    could have been a bar in the hotel to relax in after a long hot journey

    It was a really quiet night despite being so close to the centre of town where so much is going on.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    3.3
    4 start rate not deserved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities of the hotel were none. 4 start hotel very highly rated. It took me 2 days to get an iron, the room was super hot with not fridge at all, the parking does not exist, and the stuff lost our public parking ticket and don't even apologise to us. Not recommended at all. Don't see why it has 4 start, very ridiculous.

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    4.6
    Not four star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On arrival at 1430 car park full. Aircon an ancient wall unit which was totally inadequate . No bar fridge (there was a hole for one) . The beds were the worst. Hard ,old ,noisy matresses which squeaked when we moved. Put up with it all as it was only one night. Asked for an ice bucket & corkscrew. Eventually found the ice bucket but never found the hotels only corkscrew. With effort could achieve 3 stars. Promotion Photo is infternal because the outside is so ugly.

    Good location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    7.5
    The hotel is very nice, also the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the room you don't have mini bar, you can't buy anything to drink from the hotel (juice, bear), you have just a bottle of water in the room. At the breakfast, the food was finished very quickly, so when we asked for butter or yogurt the personal told us that there is no more. I think is not acceptable for a hotel to not have enough butter at breakfast!! And we went A-T breakfast very early in the morning!!!

    The hotel is very nice, also the rooms

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    4.6
    Don't visit Burgos on a weekend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar No tea or coffee making facilities No evening meal No extra blankets in room Heater in room not working Burgos was closed for the weekend!!

    Reception area nice

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    6.7
    Great location. Ok for a 2 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a long drive it would have been nice to be able to sit & relax with a coffee or a cold drink. There is no bar or cafeteria in the hotel. Basically it is a hotel with bed & breakfast only. There are no amenities so it does not earn 4 stars.

    Excellent location. 5 minutes walk to cathedral & old quarter. Near to good restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.9
    Fabulous location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not aware that reception/check-in was closed 2-4pm. Should have been indicated on confirmation email.

    Fabulous location. Easy 10 min. walk from train station. Good value. Small hostel with some private rooms, and a bunk room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel restaurant serves only breakfast and no other meals, but this is probably due to its close proximity to all the restaurants and bars of central Burgos.

    Spacious and comfortable bedroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Private secure car parking only minutes way from hotel. Breakfast was very good value at only 8 euros for a wide choice of hot and cold foods.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.9
    Hotel located in a great central location in Burgos.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little beat up, could have used some updating. It was warm outside and the ac would only give heat even though it was set for summer mode. We had to open windows, then there was street noise.

    The Location was excellent. Walking distance to main drag where we found great restaurants and other cultural activities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.0
    Wrong Hotel choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was supposed to be a treat staying a junior suite after the camino. Decorated like a brothel. Very hot room in April, non working air con. Can't imagine what it would be like in summer .Beds saggy, poor state of repair, chipped furniture and walls. non working blind to keep out the sun?! Intermittent wifi.

    Large room. Very close to the centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    5.4
    Just the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needs a renovation. No mini bar, not working wifi, no working telephone to reach the reception. The service is for a 2 stars hotel rather

    Just the location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Very satisfied with location and cleanliness of hotel room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room - Parking included
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very satisfied with location and cleanliness of hotel room and common parts. The staff spoke English and were most helpful. Excellent garaging for car, which was included in price. Very good and plentiful buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    9.6
    Like it was designed ny a nun and a drag queen in 1961!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Soundproofing is a concern. It really sounded like people were entering my room when neighbors used their doors.

    Lovely reception - so helpful and welcoming. Great breakfast buffet in unforgettable room.

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: