Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melia Fuerteventura 4 stars

Playa Barca Pájara, 35627 Costa Calma, Spain

#15 of 44 hotels in Costa Calma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 787 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entertaining poor, really poor. Nothing special for kids. Cats around hotel (my daughter is allergic on cats hairs) , it wasn't good 😔

    I really liked this huge swimming pool and the views around.Views there are amazing. Beach beautiful. Staff was really good and helpful. Rooms cleans but for this value of money I expected more, not 20 years old dirty sofa. Food - Breakfast and dinners a lot of choices, quite good but lunches poorly, all the time the same, nothing special.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Have to pay for water in the restaurants, for a 4 stars in 2018, it is just ridiculous (like the price of water, see pictures). Staff rarely speak english. 1 cockroach, and a bird inside the dinning area Mosquito Don't even think of eating outside, birds will come eat on your table even if you are here. 1 shop in the hotel is selling health care product from Malaysia (this is ILLEGAL and dangerous, EU regulations) (see pictures). The building and most places need serious renovation, feel like the 90s.

    The area is great if you like kitesurfing, windsurfind, or the wind.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Level Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 7 nights

    2 single beds pushed together !

    Great sea views, good food. Plenty of loungers around the pool. Can't seem to get a double bed despite being described as a 'double'

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator!!! Too long and too small!!! And all the espresso machine broken at breakfast !!!

    Very friendly staff, the food very good, very clean, amazing view and so many nice little area to retreat and relax in and around the hotel. So convenient for kite surfer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were checked in to room but the room wasn't ready. No fan in Bathroom. Sun didn't hit balcony.

    Lovely staff at every area. Very clean everywhere & large clear areas in Hotel. Great decor. Always room for sunbathing. Great choice for meal times.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food most of the time cold, except soup, but otherwise good.

    Very nice hotel, spacious room, ocean view fabulous, nice layout around main pool area, full board worth well.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought that there was a very little choice of deserts..choice for lunch and dinner was limited ....but breakfast had a great choice

    We loved our room...bed and very pillows comfy...overall with lots of areas to relax and Sit.... entertainment very good...the group on Sunday night in the Fun Pub were brilliant.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs renovation and more attention - small details like dirty glass cubes above funpub which are at the Gorriones restaurant terrace next to dinner tables. No bottled water for all inclusive guests - disappointing as we did not like the filtered still water from the beverage machines. Extremely slow elevators. Just one heated pool (sports pool) which was under renovation at time of our stay. Bravo - although the construction site was a little messy.

    Amazing location, besides splendid beach we also liked the plants around the hotel. A must destination when visiting Fuerteventura. Very good room service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half board does not include any drinks with evening dinner, not even a glass of water. I would say at the very least a simple glass of water could be granted ;-)

    Staff was great and very helpful. Location of the hotel is amazing. From all we have seen of this island (and we’ve seen most of it), without a doubt the best place to stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was not enough space during the breakfast and dinner in the restaurant as well as in the lobby bar. Even though there was written in the hotel information that in the lobby, there should not be children after 7PM, it was not true. Lastly, deposit for beach towels is overrated and staff at the reception should not make differences among hotel guests.

    Hotel has a great location, close to the beach. The room was clean and very comfortable. Hotel restaurant offers variable of food and drinks. STAFF in the restaurant and cleaners were always helpful and polite. Thank to them my stay was great.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is a major construction site on the south side of the building. Please make sure you do not stay in one of the rooms close facing this side.

    The staff was super friendly and the location is superb. There a many amenities in the hotel. Great place to stay for couples and families.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wine for All Inclusive was poor quality. There must be a better, cheap wine to be found in a country like Spain, famed for its wine, for the hotel to provide. I suspect a possible reason for not doing so is to encourage those who like a reasonable quality wine with meals to pay for a better one. This we did but as with all hotels and restaurants, prices range from approximately 16 to 30 euros a bottle.

    The location, the beds, the rooms the food, the staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    NO wi fi in the rooms (only at the reception area and sometimes at the swimming pool area); lots of mosquito at the end of November; no clear area for nudists who were walking all along the beach (not a great view for kids)

    Location: few steps away from a beautiful sandy beach with crystal clear water; facilities: large, heated swimming pool; kids playground, pool & entertainment; polite, pleasant staff; lovely surprise from hotel guest experience department: a bottle of sparkling wine and delicious macarons; kids enjoyed eating ice cream and drinking juices at the snack bar all day long (all inclusive package); delicious food and cocktails

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was difficult to get a really good cup of tea because the water wasn't hot enough. Also, it would have been good to have decaff coffee as an option. But these are only minor issues in what was a wonderful stay.

    The hotel has a lovely spacious, unhurried feel. It was calm and soothing, although there was plenty going on. The staff were helpful and smiley, the room was clean with plenty of space. There was a nice variety of places to relax and soak up the sun while sipping a glass of chilled white wine.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a black woman i experienced alot of racism from guests,mainly German, which made my stay uncomfortable.i got told not to ise the swimming pool until he had finished and i had incidents where i could not fully enjoy the facilities i had paid for due to racists. Hotel should sort this out and not tolerate such behaviour. As i believe everyone who has paid from their pockets has a right to enjoy aand if alnyperson feels uncomfortsble being around a person of colour than stay at home!

    The staff are so friendly always greeting u with a smile.very hospitable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The replenishing of items at the breakfast buffet, it needs to faster when items run out. Supervisors around and did nothing.

    Check in staff very good Paula and Marina, and the excellent service in the bar from Conchi.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For us there was nothing

    The room we stayed in was very spacious with contemporary decor and very clean. The outside space was nice and was close to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn’t like that they didn’t tell us drinks not included and there was too much noise starting from very early in the morning.

    Everything was perfect. The food was so delicious:) Very good location for vacation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few cockroaches around, bar closed quite early, breakfast food heavy. I did not have any chairs for the table in my room.

    This hotel is in a fantastic place for an activity holiday. If you are here to relax then it's better rent a car and see the island. Not much going on in Costa Calma.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a room overlooking the beach, got a room on the lowest level with a view of the trees. I asked to move to the upper floor. In the new room did not work Tv, balcony door horribly crawled during opening.The service is oriented mainly to guests from organized groups. This was clearly evident during my attempt to change the room. We asked for a king bed. Unfortunately we did not get it.

    Room service very nice. Nice staff at reception. Very close to the beach.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double beds! Jut twins pushed together so not comfy. Shower was very poor and they told us they had given us a 'free upgrade to a sea view' when in fact we had booked the room with a sea view and paid extra for it. The access to the beach is good and although the staff were friendly enough they weren't very helpful. The website and the information inside the hotel advertises that there's a bus to the local town of costa calma however because of construction works the bus isn't currently running meaning we had to get taxis there and back or hire a car. Perhaps this should have been brought to our attention upon booking.

    Good choice for breakfast, clean throughout

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kite Surf school directly next to the hotel (largest in the world as Wikipedia says), in consequence many kiting people everywhere along the beach.

    We had luck with the room and got one in a "Casa" in first row with magnificent view on the ocean and lagoon, nice interior, wonderful balcony with sun from 8am to 5pm on it. Short walk to the beach. Food was pretty tasty, especially breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Level Double Room with Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The shower was broken and it took several tries to get it fixed, and there were large time delays between each try. Also, compared to last year, they shut down one of the two larger sweet-water pools and the gym. A new, better gym is *planned*, but this time 'round, we had to do without. The floor around the pools urgently needs some repairing and look out for mosquitoes at dusk and dawn!

    At "The Level" the breakfast buffet is excellent. Especially the cooked-at-your-request omlettes and eggs are out of this world delicious, as is the freshly squeezed orange juice. The beach is one-of-a-kind and comes with a huge, marvelous lagoon (depending on the moon phase) and the on-site surf and kite school is great. Also, the hotel comes with a picturesque little park with palm trees, cacti and flowering bushes that is perfect for relaxing. The daily sports classes (mo - fr)at the hotel, ranging from Pilates to Pool Biking are also fun AND you get a nice work-out!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't really enjoy the food - there was a lot of choice but quality wasn't great and we constantly had to wait in the queues. I would either opt out or get an upgrade to the ground floor restaurant which was less busy. Decor of the main building was quite outdated.

    We were offered to stay in the new part of the hotel which was amazing - brand new, big room with a modern decor and a beautiful garden in front. Loved it! Beaches in front of the hotel are just stunning and there is a cool beach bar just couple of steps away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There were a few minor things that created some discomfort. There are no double beds - just single ones pushed together which drift apart easily. The air-condition in the room wasn't particularly strong and on a hot day you could feel the difference. The tap water is non potable so you need to buy bottles of water from their mini market. As the 1lt bottles won't fit in the mini fridge, make sure you also buy a couple of smaller bottles to fill them up and have cold water. If you only have Breakfast Included, and not All Inclusive, the drinks (hot and cold) at breakfast aren't included in the price. Water isn't included either, which is especially annoying since tap water isn't an option. But still... the resort is very beautiful, at a great location and I'd go again.

    The best thing about this hotel is its location. It's isolated, right on Sotavento beach, allowing you to enjoy the wonderful scenery while at the same time there's easy access to nearby towns. The resort has mini markets and you can find everything you need there. So you could just spend all your days there if you choose to. Make sure you book a room with sea view. It's totally worth the extra money. And if it faces east, as ours did, you'll enjoy a wonderful sunrise from your balcony every morning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    beach mainly for sports, only a small section for swimming, which is not very good, for the size of the hotel, hotel needs updating, food was ok, not 4 star in my opinion, if your not all inclusive you cant even get a cup of tea with breakfast, outrageous.

    fresh bread made , daily. staff nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom maintenance (floor tiles broken) despite having had to pay to upgrade to this room since our standard room offered was too small, buffet food was at times bland & tasteless at times meat products need to be labelled accordingly not many vegetarian options.

    Pool, beachside location, exterior gardens

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Level Double Room with Executive Lounge Access (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    WLAN/Internet not usable, Living in the 9th Floor can be annoying as there are only two Lifts. Dinner could have more variety especially more sauces and the beer is not drinkable only one brand available.

    Prices for drinks are good. Close to the beach in particular for Kiteboarding. The Level access is a must when staying over a longer period.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms smell damp and do not feel clean. Flies everywhere at breakfast and dinner, eating room feels like a school hostel hall. People only go to his hotel to eat as much as they can. NO WIFI in the room, although advertised as if there is free wifi. Hotel is over its peak. Overall a 2 to 3 star hotel. Not recommended.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Cockroaches in room - damp smell in two of the rooms we tried (disgusting) - old & dated decor (feels like a hospital) - paying way more than what I should have - looong walk from room to lobby / restaurant / pool - Being ripped-off for water-sports activities (most schools on the island will charge you half the price of what they charge here) - Parking is a mess - Not a lot to do in the surrounding area. I have no idea how this hotel got a 4 star rating! I was very disappointed with my visit, so much so that we cancelled our last two nights and left early. I'd suggest going to Correlejo rather, much more to do and hotels are of a better standard and half the price!

    The food was good and the pool area is relaxing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Lots of poor quality repairs. Platerboard boxes around columns in restaurant poorly erected and painted. Attention to detail poor on what could be a higher end hotel. Food quality quite good, but varied. Bacon was inedible. Lounge seats/beds in the reception bar empty every evening (as chargeable), taking up space and not being used. Rene Egli kitesurfing (not hotel) staff could be more friendly/stoked/inclusive. Maybe they think they don't need to compete with Dahkla/Soma etc

    close proximity to kitesurfing. Good amenities for non kitesurfing family. Bar staff in reception bar excellent. some Rene Egli staff really helpful

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Obviously I don't know if the hotel could do anything about but the flies at the pool and dining outside literally made it miserable. I did not reduce the rating because of this because obviously this is nature. I think the beds could be a little more comfortable, the drink selection was bad except at the lobby bar which we did not discover until the last day and maybe a shuttle to and from the airport would be nice, we paid so much money for the taxi.

    The pool was gorgeous, they upgraded us to a pool/ocean view for very cheap. It was such a nice little four day escape. The food was great, honestly it was such a great price for all we got. Thanks for the mini vacation!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 8 nights

    - Mosquitoes! Hotel staff should notify all customers about mosquitoes. Give nets, anti-mosquitoes means, etc, etc. All children go there with red mosquitoes bites. - A bit windy if you just want to relax on a beach or near a pool.

    - Excellent choice for kitesurfing or windsurfing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food, especially dinner, was definitely not ****. The atmosphere in the huge, crowded and loud restaurant felt more like a canteen than a four star hotel and the food quality during dinner was also below average. On the beach it can become extremely windy on some days.

    There is a nice beach next to the hotel ideal for wind-/kitesurfung, but also for swimming. The lagoon between the beach and the hotel, but it depends on the tide - on some days it does not fill up at all (see the surf school rene egli for a tidal calendar). The hotel is old, but refurbished and has a very nice and large pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The place is extremely far from any village (the closest is 45 mins by foot). If you plan to visit some place you need to rent a car. Also, if you don't book for a full board stay the only way to have dinner would be to buy some snacks at the shops (the bar has à la carte choices at lunch, but there's no equivalent service for dinner). Public WiFi available in the hall only.

    Quality of service, direct access to the amazing beach, nice common areas, handy shops inside the hotel (mini markets and sportswear). If you're looking for a nice place to rest yourself and do watersports, you must consider this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We paid for Half board but the buffet was appalling, terrible quality anonymous food drowned in oil with no flavour at all served in giant trays like a comedic school dinner. No drinks were included with the half board - EVEN WATER WAS NOT INCLUDED - and the service to get a drink was almost non existent, then incredibly overpriced when the options were presented. When eating outside, if you leave the table pigeons will swoop and carry off anything that is on it, scavenging anything they can grab. You will not want to eat what is left. In the room no minibar was provided, a fridge was there but it was empty. There was also information missing from the check in, if you want to open a tab you need to leave a 100Eur cash deposit otherwise everything must be paid for when taken. Finally, NO WIFI IN ROOMS! in 2017! The hotel is old but this is unbelievable that its not provided. The age also is eveident in wear and tear to furniture throughout the hotel such as chair legs and arm rests, etc. Finally there were mosquitoes inside the room and we had the doors closed so they must come through the vents.

    The view was outstanding and the staff were very friendly, responsive and tried to help. We paid extra for a hot stone massage and it was brilliant. Excellent access to Windsurf and Kitesurf hire and long sandy beach with area for swimming and sports separate. Parking directly in front of the main door was very convenient and a welcome drink is available on arrival including chilled cava. View from balcony attached.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi really slow. A lot of staff doesnt speak english. Gym was close whitch we didnt know because nobody told us.

    Nice garden and swiming pool. Food was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking could be better as i used my classic car this weekend and was concerned of being damaged, wifi did not work.

    Great location, very well thought of exterior use, i.e good size pool and plenty of sunbed space. Good quality food, and helpfull staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like the cockroach we found in our bathroom. I think that for a 4-star hotel at 132€ per night is not acceptable. Furthermore, the explanation by the receptionist was very upsetting: " You have to understand that we are located in a nature location". Also, the hotel is quite old. Specially, the rooms.

    I liked the services offered to the guests (kitesurf, pool, tennis, padel...). Breakfast was very good but busy.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The majority of restaurant and bar staff acted as if they were begrudgingly doing us a favour in serving us! No smiles. This seemed to be the case with other guests too (which was a relief in that it was not personal!!). Also it was uncomfortable to finish eating in the restaurant towards the end of service. This is because tables were cleared around us, beverages removed, hot drinks machines turned off and staff clattering and banging to clear away. Also outside there was an ongoing problem with pigeons who would fly down and steal food from the tables. It would have been nice to have tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    The variety of foods on offer, especially the range of fish and salads at lunchtime in particular. The setting is spectacular. Right on the beach which extends as far as the eye can see and with no other development around it. Shallow lagoons appear depending upon the state of the tide - ideal for paddling or safe for little ones

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived the reception asked us for the credit card we used to book the room.unfotunatly,we left that card at home and gave them our m&s card. Will you refund the card our what happens next? Regards, Keith

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Omg, the place was old, poor customer service in the morning by the male staffs, the females work at night had better customer services, i think they should switch. Or replace all the reception staff to women or lady. Dirty floor, no mini bar no kettle in the room, fml the worst 4 star hotel we have ever been to, don't let the pictures fool you! U need to paid 20 euro to sit on the lobby sofa bed ( we kinda chose this hotel because of the picture of this sofa bed in the website) U need to get the taxi to nearby town for food if u don't want to have buffet in the hotel, and if u dun drive, ~8euro on the taxi each way to costa calma and never trust the stupid bus schedule!!!!!

    Near the one of the best beach in the island Lucia (receptionist) is super helpful. Breakfast and lunch and dinner are buffet only

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms were a bit run down, however were clean. Both pool tables were out of order, which was disappointing as it was near impossible to get time on the one ping pong table. Wishlist: more than just a buffet option for dinner, provide a kettle and iron in the rooms.

    Breakfast buffet variety was excellent. Plenty of sun loungers and places to sunbathe/chill out. Minimarket was very convenient and has everything you may need at affordable prices. Overall a really pretty and well looked after resort - surrounded by plenty of flora with friendly cats to pet!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room as a whole does not represent a quality of a 4 star. The bed creeks, moved and we're uncomfortable during the whole stay. Bathroom - the alternating scolding got to icy cold shower. Fixtures and fittings- were hanging off. General feeling of 90's in the decor. Swimming pool - they were lovely to look at however, you needed a wetsuit to get in. Food- buffet on repeat "mix it up a little bit please"

    Beautiful communal areas such as lobby bar and sun bathing areas.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only 1 elevator was working so if you didn't want to go by the stairs you had to wait about 15 minutes for the elevator.Our room was so far away from the elevator that it was another 5 minutes to get there.First night we could't sleep because of the mosquitos. The antimosquito device needed a refill, but because of the elevator thing we didn't want to go down to the reception (from 8th floor).Maids should have refilled it before we arrived...It was strange to me that you have to pay extra to use the sauna and yacussi.The minibar was empty in our room.

    The food was excellent. Everything you can imagine they had. Nice garden.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    this area is really not the nicest of the island nothing else than the hotel no place to go for lunch without a car hotel is getting old - old fashioned music every night in reception makes it noisy in the room

    close to windsurf - René Egli club, material & team is great food OK, restaurant staff is nice breakfast outside

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was good but not excellent. Breakfast was fine, but dinner was a little bit repetitive , especially the main course. I thought that in the evening the dining room was a little bit like a canteen, very bright and loud. Staff cleared away desert bang on 9pm on a couple of nights and staff laying tables for breakfast before 9pm when the restaurant closed. We do tend to eat late, but the dining session is until 9pm. We felt very pressured to eat up and leave by just after 9pm. This is perhaps fair enough , but I would have preferred a more relaxed dining room. It's a minor complaint though.

    Exercise classes, sports pool, design of the hotel and gardens which was beautiful. Felt like everything had been thought through and all the staff were lovely.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old decor, no restaurant a la carte, poor wifi, ants in the room, staff extremely slow and not responsive to guest's needs, no complimentary late check out, deposit for a bath towel 20Eur!!!

    Nice view from the hotel

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    HAVING TO PAY TO USE THE SAUNA AND SPA WHICH DOES NOT BELONG TO THE HOTEL GROUP, HOWEVER IS ADVERTISED AS A FACILITIY OF THE HOTEL GROUP.

    COMFORTABLE BED

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was built in the 1970's and I don't think it has been updated since. Although clean, our room was dated as well. It smelled like "old basement". My bed felt as if it were around a few decades as well. It was like a cot with a dent in the centre, in which I felt the springs. Other than that, the location and stay made up for the room.

    Location was excellent. The staff were genuinely extremely friendly and helpful. Everything you need is onsite; from medical aid to mini mart. A little charming community all in one resort. It was a great stay!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Dinner - hardly any food for vegetarians, for example rice in 'chinese corner' had some ham (?) added, most of hot meals contained meat, good salad bar, but it'll be nice to eat something warm. Very poor wifi in the rooms (which is suprising in 2016)

    Great location, just by the lagoon, looked very tropical. Amazing spot for kitesurfers. Good size swimmingpool. Very tasty breakfast (a lot of vegetarian options). Friendly and polite staff.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not aware if the beding was changed during our stay Air con in the rooms needs attention, upgrade. Logging onto wifi is a challenge. Not huge issues really.

    Loved the food, location the pool and the hotel team. Wifi is free.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel quite shabby and lots of leaks in the roof when it rained. An expensive hotel but mean on extras for half board guests - no water with meals, no coffee with dinner. Bathrooms very tired.

    Good location. Beautiful beach.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    not enough lifts and smoking in outside restaurant/bars a lot of the guests were rude, pushy and disrespectful especially middle-European little exception for older people with disabilities I have arthritis and had a knee replacement no priority for older disabled people - would recommend staff arrange seating for guests prior to entering restaurant which would alleviate the problems and ensure people with disabilities are prioritised

    location and comfort

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No internet in rooms, even if you're willing to pay. Villas are inaccessible for strollers or wheelchairs. Quite bad value for money. Parking space is very limited.

    Great kite and windsurf schools on site.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms decor needs urgent updating to keep up with reception area of a 4 star hotel. Only one chair on the room terrace although room was for 2. Night buffet ends slightly on the early side at 10 when you are on holiday. Gim facilities are not well kept and are dirty with plenty of dust. House keeping forgot to leave shower towels on 2 occasions. We returned from a day out and informed reception that there where no towels since we wanted to take a shower and we where told that we had to wait until next day to get them. We ended up using hand towels but we believe this is highly unprofessional and where very close to make a complaint.

    Location if you are after quietness and lovely beach. Breakfast buffet is amazing. Rooms and bathrooms are very spacious.Bed and pillows comfy. Common areas have been refurbished and are very nice. Live Dj was very good. Pool area is lovely.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Long time waiting for check in 40min. Our room was flooded by rain. Dirty and smelly rooms. We found 3 cockroaches in the room! Very old hotel not worth the price! Loads of people so you can't relax at all! Loud music by the pool area! Drinks are not included for half board guests! Very unhelpful receptionists! If you are not all inclusive guests, you'll be treated a lot worse! We felt like intruders in this hotel! This is defo not 4* hotel- however it might have been in 1960 :/ it's not good for families. Very bad experience. Never again. Not for this price!

    Cleaning staff very friendly and helpful. Very nice food. Good location for windsurfing and kitesurfing only.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi doesnt work, staff was not helpful, no room service, very basic rooms, bed not comfortable, spa facilities overpriced, hair dryer broken, cleaners didnt clean the balcony at all, no change of sheets for 10 days!!! This Hotel doesnt deserve 4* at all.

    the only good thing is Sotavento Beach

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only good when you are very experienced surfer. Very gusted wind. Lagoon is not always full with water, and less beautiful than pictures show. In the evening you can't go anywhere and in hotel not much happening after 23.00 (no disco, or nice bar)

    Rooms are nice and clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mix up with booking, hotel tried to charge extra 500 Euros at checkin although problem was sorted. Standard rooms had amazing views but decor a little dated, bathroom a bit shabby and AC very poor. Food mostly good/excellent, although some dishes fell a bit short, especially meat dishes.

    Beautiful location, uncrowded, good food, good pools and family entertainment. Great spot for kitesurfing although wind super strong and super gusty. Reasonable prices for food and drinks etc. Mostly very good and friendly service throughout stay.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child )
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I travel the world with my work, but this was my first stay in a Melia hotel,and it will be my last. The room provided for three was tiny, dirty, and dated to pre 1990s.The staff were rude, and seemed intent on giving us the worst available room, so we would pay more and upgrade,their objective seeing as we were Swiss was to make extra cash. The internet never worked,even in the reception area, this was to trap guests so they could not see what else was availble nearby.The food was tired and lacked flavour, the dining area had one old coffee machine,and people had to cue 15min to get a steak or an ommlette. After 4 days we moved to the Esmeralda hotel closeby with sea views,new bigger rooms at 20% less than the Melia backpackers. The owners seem to run the place on a "can we get away with it" mentality ..NEVER AGAIN..

    The reception area,the beach and the swimming pool were nice.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location especially if you want to do water sports. The food was excellent and really friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No WIFI in the rooms

    Awesome location, friendly personnel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and management charged me almost 200e extra in my card without my consent an never give me back.

    Nice place to relax, comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi didn’t work

    Location right on the beach and close to windsurfing spot Good options for breakfast and dinner Big room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the pool area and the views were amazing. The stuff was really lovely and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Ocean View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great , could not recommend this place more

    Loved the place

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Everything was amazing!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    no internet in rooms poor in lobby old and abandon building

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It all met my expectations. Nothing l didn't like

    All good but the hotel is now a little dated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym and poor entertainment

    Position And Food

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a bit dated

    Great facilities, clean, spacious rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Ocean View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was very dated but ok for what we needed, overall this hotel was very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Sometimes hard to find parking space

    Staff were fantastic; buffet food excellent; the pools and lounging areas were delightful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little bit old.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Melia Fuerteventura traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: