Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of SH Villa Gadea 5 stars

Partida Villa Gadea, 03590 Altea, Spain

#3 of 9 hotels in Altea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2497 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No significant complaints- ice cream would be great to accompany delicious cakes in main buffet

    Hotel is very well presented, rooms large clean and well furnished, staff very friendly and helpful - poolside and cocktail bar very enjoyable- both restaurants offer good value for money- would definitely return

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three adults in a room so one of us on the sofa bed very poor quality, springs in my back for 4 nights! When asked if this could be changed for a bed I’m afraid the answer was no.

    Clean great location for us quiet and relaxing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The many hotels we have stayed in I was disappointed with the breakfast quality and cost , I had a coffee, slice of toast and a yogurt and thought very expensive, my husband had from the hot buffet and found the bacon nearly raw and cold not amazing for your quality hotel....

    Nothing was too much trouble, our room meet expectations

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bar service could be a lot better

    Spacious bedroom, beautiful sea view. The welcome we received on arrival was exceptional. Breakfast good, Japanese restaurant excellent. Swimming pool area amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maria in the lobby gave us such a nice welcome and the staff over all. The swimming pool and outside area exceeded my expectations. The sushi on one of the restaurants was one of the best that I've had and the breakfast good as well. Very happy with the stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Located a nice distance from the hustle and bustle of Altea with several nice inexpensive restaurants within a 15 min stroll. Hotel facilities excellent, staff excellent too. Loved the location, worth paying for a superior room with a sea view.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant next door had a late night party on the Sunday night music was very loud and went on until 3 in the morning making for an unrestful night

    Excellent room with a great view. Swimming pools very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Find it hard to criticise anything, but we would have liked some facility in the room for making tea or coffee.

    We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts.The choice was excellent.The variety of fruit on offer was amazing.We came home feeling fitter and healthier. We came to "chill out" and found it so relaxing. The staff catered for our every need ,couldn't do enough for us ! Thanks, Len.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were driving south of Valencia to check out a few of the coastal towns and decided to make a one-night reservation in Altea at the SH Villa Gadea. Now I wish we had stayed there longer! It was comfy, the views were gorgeous, breakfast was amazing, and the grounds were spectacular. We paid extra to visit the spa pools and showers and it was worth every penny. I'm unable to rate the restaurants, however, because we didn't eat at any on site. I did give the staff a lower rating, however, because of one problem we had: my husband and I were in the outdoor patio tub on the third floor in the morning and, shockingly, we see some man's head poke up on the other side of the terrace opening! It was a worker who was cleaning out the terrace flower beds. I got out and stuck my head over the terrace and he saw me but kept right on working, ruining our privacy! :( Not exactly what one might expect when soaking naked in a patio tub with a beautiful view that you paid extra for!! I am extremely disappointed that a quality resort like this would not schedule this kind of intrusive maintenance when the surrounding rooms were NOT occupied. The desk staff was apologetic but I felt they should have offered us some kind of compensation for such an intrusion of our privacy. Ironically, when we came back to our room later that day to get our bags in order to check out, the battery failed on the door lock and we were unable to get in our room with our key card, resulting in a delay while staff had to call maintenance up to get us into our room. This was nobody's fault - what are the odds, right? The rest of the time the staff was extremely helpful and I would not let our terrace tub incident dissuade you from visiting this property. It was probably a fluke incident, but I still feel like it needed to be stated in my review, and it was a factor in the satisfaction of our stay. This place is absolutely gorgeous!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The same as the last time, the coffee, I am sorry is terrible.

    The bed was very comfortable, you allowed me an early check in, the room had a great view, the bathroom was spotless. Chocolates on the bed were a nice touch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not a lot..

    Our stay was excellent, the food was delicious ,varied and in abundance; the breakfast buffet was as good as you would find anywhere with some choices not seen in other places..The hotel is beautifully appointed and very comfortable. The staff are friendly ,efficient and obviously well trained.This was our second time at Villa Gadea and we hope to return in the future/

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had a suite with balcony jacuzzi which needed a few renovations: Tap in shower leaking, Hair dyer useless (bring your own), minibar poor selection, coffee machine broken but fixed and replaced after reporting, coffee capsules extra charge, room service charge expensive, and little atmosphere in the hotel. I visited off peak season so the hotel was very quiet and this would explain the lack of atmosphere. Overall, this hotel is good but not excellent. I visited the SPA which also had issues: The changing facilities are small and pokey. A few features in the SPA like the jet showers were broken and many of the buttons for the SPA just did not work. The SPA needs improvement but the staff were lovely and could not do enough to help. In my opinion this is the best Hotel in Altea but needs improvement.

    The Staff were lovely. Great Sushi restaurant. Beautiful reception area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything

    no good for me it was a let down rooms small bath even smaller and took ages to fill because very low water pressure and to be charged 22 euro to use indoor pool area was a total joke andalso before i forget no coffee or kettle in rooms will never return

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible bed, don’t go. Worst we ever slept in. Breakfast and food was not good. This is not a 5* hotel, more like a good 3* hotel

    Good location - nice staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    tv channels. needs sky news. no cotton buds in bathroom.

    bed was a little firm, i didn't have breakfast, but in the evening i ate in the japanese restaurant which was really good. the room was comfortable .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meals very disappointing with the exception of Christmas Eve.

    Excellent size room, very comfy beds and spotlessly clean very friendly staff. Good choice at breakfast. Excellent location on the beach, would be great for summer vacation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was fantastic, the beds very comfortable, the whole ambiance with beautiful Christmas tree, decorations etc ..the food was amazing, the sea views fantastic, recommend getting breakfast....

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the cleanness of the water in bath tube in jacuzzi on the balcony and in the outside spa pool . I noticed the reception about these problems hope they solve them out

    excellent location, view from the room (sea view), breakfast, fantastic

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in December and guests have no free access to indoor pools. It's not made clear before booking what guest do and don't have access to. The only indoor pools are within the spa and are not worth a €20 euro fee for 1.5hours. The facilities aren't up to the standard you would expect in a 5* hotel spa. The showers didn't work properly and the outdoor spa pool isn't heated. This wasn't made clear when paying to use the facilities and the staff refused to refund the fee. The staff should be more accommodating and respectful to their guests. We were disappointed by their attitude particularly as we stayed over the xmas period.

    The room was of a good size. We had originally booked a deluxe double room but changed it two day before arrival to a standard size room. Upon arrival, the check in staff upgraded us to a deluxe for free (so it was handy that we made that change).

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No entertainment,even on Christmas Day,no atmosphere. Booked a superior room with spa bath and sofa was given a standard room without either.When i queried this they changed the room immediately but did not help us transfer our luggage.

    The food was very good,staff obliging.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought the waiters were a little to keen to clear tables ,while u were still eating .

    I loved the decor .Beds large and very comfortable .Two good restaurants in the property .Breakfast wonderfull .excellent hotel .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar service was very slow , the first night we got nibbles with our drinks and not again ! We sat by the pool for 4 hours one day and no one came to ask us if wanted a drink , very poor....

    The breakfast was very good but the evening dinner was very limited and the service at dinner was very poor, staff were ok but we had to wait for ever, dining room was a small room tucked away upstairs , in fact we changed from half board to bed and breakfast and used the lovely Japanese restaurant next door which was a separate franchise and had to be paid for, we had to travel into the nearby town by car to get a good meal

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That you had to pay for the sauna and indoor pools

    Room was lovely and bed was perfect, hotel lovely but client needs to know that the spa facility is extra costing, i.e. Pool sauna , our door spa pools 😢

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little over busy at the lobby bar and only just 1 girl serving on. We had to wait along time but it wasn't her fault. In the end we complained at reception and she got the help

    Hotel was beautiful and the staff were absolutely great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The downside was we had to pay extra money to use the indoor heated pool and as we were there in October it meant we couldn't use a pool during our stay with the kids. We wouldn't have minded a small amount but an extra 60euros for 2 hrs (which was the children's slot) was a bit of a shock for a 5 star hotel.

    The breakfast was very good, the room was comfortable and very spacious but a bit dated. Excellent views on the coastal side. Staff were friendly and welcoming, excellent with children. The bar was nice with evening music.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We could overhear the music form a nearby bar. It didn't finish very late, though.

    We got our room upgraded for including breakfast in our stay, and it was worth every cent. The room was very big, very clean, and very comfortable. Everybody in the hotel is very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast!!!! Every morning rotten watermelon, sometimes melon and orange too. Asparagus on our last breakfast was also bad and rotten. Also not every morning we could find a porridge on breakfast. Service is in the middle, not bad not good. But of course some people were very helpful. The choice of food in the restaurants is very simple and not healthy in my opinion especially on the buffet. I would recommend sushi restaurant, as it is really tasty.

    Territory, rooms, quite and green location. The hotel is located a little bit far from the center, so you can have a rest from the crowds. But even the city is also very quite in comparison to nearest towns. It would be really great, if after the season is ended on 1 of October, there will be sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach, because the beach is stony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to remark.

    Everything from the first step at this property is really satisfactory. Staff is just remarkable, eager to help, efficient, friendly.. We found room in perfect condition, clean and equipped, and all common facilities also at higher level. No complaint at all to make. honestly one of our best experiences ever for a beach property.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had food at the sushi place in there which we thought it was too expensive for what it is. One of the window frames in our room had a part that was broken and the room was very noisy during the night and when you go to a 5 star hotel you expect your room to be perfect.

    The spa was amazing and we loved the time that we spent there. The polls outside are so nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE BEACH,,very relaxing

    The staff and hotel were great,lots of ants by the pool which bit you,pool was very good and lousie was excellent at the bar pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ATM machine on site, hotel is in the middle of no where. Beaches are very poor (pebbles) and the food selection at dinner time wasn't worth the money and poor.

    Friendly staff and great hotel with everything you could ask for so that you could relax. Have come away fully relaxed and rejuvenated

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Quality of surroundings & professional approach by staff throughout. Could not fault anything. Have stayed here before and definitely will be booking it again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Initial reception staff were bordering on rude. Made us feel like yet another irritating customer. When we complained the reception manager received our complaint politely but we were unconvinced he cared at all. On check out, more senior manager was a lot more friendly Broken fittings in bathroom WiFi very poor indeed, slow and had to relogin after any period of inactivity

    Very well fitted hotel in beautiful building Room was large Fabulous views of mountains Nice big bath

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very over rated for the price. 4 star maximum based on our room. Food was not of 5 star quality.

    Gym and pool facilities good, Evening entertainment good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    had ants in bed, staff dealt with efficiently but a little disconcerting, breakfast was bedlam after 9am,

    it is a lovely hotel, plenty of sunbeds which cannot be reserved, fantastic breakfast choice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did allow me to use spa without extra charge!! There was no water kittle in the room while it suppose to be a 5 star hotel.

    Lobby Location Breakfast Staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Husband found bed a little hard. Could have done with better pillows. Would have preferred to be located nearer the Main front, restaurants etc. One had to drive to most places

    Excellent breakfast and buffet suppers. Gorgeous pools .lovely view over pools and sea from room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Charging for access to health spa. Should be free for hotel guess.

    Staff friendliness and service was excellent. Food of a high standard with plenty of choice and variety. Pool catered for all patrons. A child friendly pool one end and a separate quieter pool for adults the other.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    For five star hotel unfortunately the room did not have Iron, coffee and tea facility and small bottles of water at least. The half board meals had limited varieties and hotel daily entertainment events are almost non existing.

    Staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were good, others not so helpful. Very vague information given about how to get to altea old town which resulted in us getting lost and walking for hours. Lack of clear info about where the tram stop was / how far it was. Not willing to contact any other airport transfer to help us other than their own which cost 100 euros. Had lunch on last day at buffer which wasn't 5 star quality and a member of staff was very sharp with us as we had sat ourselves down because we had waited at the entrance for a while and nobody came. She said she was on her own that day and we should have waited - quite rude and not our problem that she was away from the front entrance for 5 minutes. Reception staff efficient and helpful in check out day. It's about a 35 minute brisk walk to altea and there are no shops to buy water close to hotel. Buses go rarely and there is no shuttle. Tram stop is 15 minutes walk away although give the impression it was just on the other side of the road.

    Lovely room, beautiful reception and bar area. Great pools. Room was quiet and very comfortable. Drinks reasonably priced and breakfast had a really good selection. Plenty of sun beds.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great family hotel but being critical Not as good as last year, food quality and staffing levels felt stretched and drinks were expensive!

    Great pool and buffet eating

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Expensive drinks. Beach wasn't very child friendly (pebble/rock & no sand). Quite remote (nowhere that close to walk too) Altea is approx 30 min walk either along the main road (no pathway) or along the beach. No snacks around the Oasis bar (Pool bar) apart from bags of crisps, They should have a snack menu. I would say its a 4* rather than 5*

    Rooms are spacious and fantastic sea views. Pools and sunbeds were very good. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    First class hotel - excellent value for money - friendly and efficient staff fantastic breakfast - lovely grounds - fantastic pools - beautiful rooms with view

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location: A bit outside the village of Altea that can only be accessed by car unless you walk along a heavily trafficked highway. If you are here just to enjoy the hotel pools etc, I guess this is ok. However, it means that nearby restaurants are on the hotel premises. The beach outside the hotel is quite rocky. WiFI poor, only worked sporadically and then often quite slowly, not the standard of a 5 star hotel. I was given a WiFi expander at the reception which only improved reception marginally. Gym too small and not properly conditioned. Additional services in the bar and dinner buffé relatively expensive.

    Staff, especially at breakfast and in the reception, was always helpful, flexible, welcoming and friendly - extremely professional. Rooms were spacious, bathrooms were nice. The pools were large and plenty of sunbeds. Clima in this area is nice, seldom above 30 degrees even in august.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel has very small area and it's crowded with children. They are very noisy. If you don't have a children, it will uncomfortable to you. You just can't find place to rest

    Very nice receptionist Good breakfast Authentic atmosphere Tasty food in restaurants

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very very very hard, i moved several times over to the sofa and slept there. Two things from the room went missing, i asked about it several times beacause i tought it had just gone with the bedlinnen in the wash...but i never got it back. The bar is very expencive and hotel guest bring there own drinks into the hotel because of that, there are no shops close to the hotel.

    The garden is very beautiful, lot of plants and flowers. The pool was very clean and the staff super friendly. The sunbeds I give and 8, not the best but OK. The hotel is quiet and very relaxing.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet lunch dinner is exactly the same on the evening. There should be an information file/booklet in your room. The costs of lunch/dinner in the buffet restaurant is expensive.

    The pool areas and breakfast buffet. The location and the view from our room was good.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to sort a better system out when booking a taxi with reception as it becomes a bit of a free for all. Also pool attendant take away towels when you go for lunch which is a new initiative that seemed a bit odd and needless. Maybe needs an exterior lick of paint.

    8th time I've visited. food, atmosphere and service all great again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First evening g meal in restaurant I thought was included in price but was not also was supposed to have chocolates and bottle of cava including with package but did not.

    Friendly staff on receptionists helpful to allow for an early check in

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is not a hotel for you if you are looking for a romantic getaway. Now don't get me wrong this is a great hotel but was mainly full of small children and there can be a point of being to family friendly. We were looking for a nice hotel to relax, enjoy the lovely weather, accommodations and to enjoy a romantic week but that part was a bit difficult. We booked it for a second honeymoon but was not the right atmosphere for us in the end. The pools were full of young kids, babies, toddlers, and teenagers. We tried on numerous occasions to enjoy and us the wonderful swim up bar but many times the seats we occupied by playing children. And on the occasions, we did use it were hit with flying pool toys and had to almost yell to speak to each other over the loud shrieks of kids playing. The swim up bar and this pool should be adults only as a bar is no place for kids. Adults who are not traveling with children should have at least one place to be without the interruptions or distractions of children. For these reasons, it was unenjoyable for us. Also, the bar inside was similar, we went down for a drink one night and then again were kids all in the bar even sitting on the stools, so we left without getting a drink. It's a great hotel and had a lot of potentials to be a fantastic romantic getaway but it did not turn out that way. Next time we might plan this to come when kids are in school so maybe it would not be so overrun with the youngsters and more adult oriented. But being in Spain was an extremely expensive vacation for us so was disappointing slightly to not get that romantic time we were hoping for, We had a room overlooking the center of the hotel towards the ocean. Again fantastic view, but since you are in the middle of everything you will hear music and entertainment in your room until well after midnight. We also had a room with a tub on the balcony. Yes, it is a jetted tub just like you would find in a normal bathroom.

    Definitely a five-star hotel with excellent staff. The hotel grounds and pool were great. The pools were well kept and clean. Ease to the beach was very convenient. The view was spectacular from our balcony. Parking in the garage was perfect with huge spaces and elevators everywhere. The food at the restaurants was excellent!! The bbq pork fillet was possibly the best I've ever had. And at check out no surprises on my bill! If you include breakfast with your room you will get a choice of the downstairs or upstairs dining rooms. The downstairs one has much more selections and greater assortments of foods. The upstairs one might be smaller and quieter but service was slow and only a quarter of the food choice that is downstairs. But still, would recommend adding breakfast with your room charge as other breakfast options are not as convenient and as good. The spa and massage were EXCELLENT. The water spa area was very relaxing and enjoyable. It is extra and not included so for those reasons there were not many people including children so it was very quiet and relaxing. The many water jets and features were fun to explore. We both just loved our massages. I would say the best massage we I have ever had. It would give any Las Vegas or other resort community a run for their money on the quality of the massage. Would recommend. The beach out front of the hotel is not sand and is small rocks. Now do not let this deter you! It is very comfortable to put your blanket or towel down and relax. We actually liked it much more than the sand beaches as everything was not full of sand and your body was not left with that all over sand feeling! No sand in your feet or hotel room either. Rent the paddle boat out front to the left of the hotel on the beach and go out to the small island it not expensive and made for a nice few hours!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Distance from Altea - unless you want to drive it's a taxi there and back. Understaffed terrace bar - could wait 15/20 mins for a drink and then another 15/20 mins to sign tab. We arrived about 2.30pm (long journey) all restaurants closed. Piano bar and restaurant never opened during our 5 night stay.

    Wonderful hotel, excellent facilities, garden and pools. Beautiful beautiful views. Fantastic breakfasts with lovely helpful smiley staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Considering that the hotel is 1.5 km away from a supermarket there was no complimentary water apart from on the first day and last day of my stay . We off course over came this and either walked or taxied up to buy water as the water in the hotel was naturally expensive. I had dinner in the restaurant and it was terrible. At 29Euros one should not have to heat up their food in a microwave at the start of dining. The food was not reflective of a 5 star hotel. I would not recommend eating here unless they do something about the quality and maintenance of food temperature. There is no food after 3pm till 20.00 apart from room service and the lobby bar which has a very limited choices. This is frustrating if one has decided to enjoy the hotel and not go out.

    The breakfast content was excellent. The reception staff were very good. Sorin and Jennifer in particular went the extra mile. The male staff (did not get his name) who delivered room service on 10 July and other nights was very accommodating. The general ambience was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service was very quick however, the food was a little hit or miss on certain days. There also wasn't very many good places around the actual hotel to pick from that were in walking distance so usually had to stick just to the restaurants in the hotel.

    View from the room was amazing and staff very helpful. The beach was in close proximity and usually pretty empty. Also there was always plenty of sunbeds near the pool to pick from at all times of the day.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wi-Fi reception was poor. Think the hotel could promote the area more - for example excursions available, tram timetables, perhaps a shuttle to Altea old town and the airport. Airport transfers expensive.

    Good Breakfast, pool area & staff. Large rooms and excellent bathroom. Altea old town is lovely with good choice of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is overprized for the location as the beach is only a pebble beach and you don't have any amenities or atractions within walki g distance. We treated ourselves for our honeymoon.

    Hotel is lovely. Our room was very spacious! And on arrival we had been given a bottle of Cava! Bathroom was very nice and on the balcony we had a jacuzzi tub, which was just amazing to use at night with view of the sea! The breakfast was very good! Fresh pastries and freshly made omlettes were our favourite!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    You need a shuttle to go to town A shuttle would be nice for the airport People want to pay for such a service !

    location and the hotel are with her staff are top !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    didn't have breakfast as it was an extra 31€ each !! Also drink prices too expensive.

    Standard room, plenty big enough for one night, bed very comfy, jacuzzi in bathroom, excellent stay.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More than 3 km walking to Altea center by inconvenient road is impossible.Only taxii s a choice.

    Croissants we small so well cooked ,so even better than in France. 3 pools were wonderful.All rooms are sea view.Our JR suite was really like a real suite: two separate rooms,2 bathrooms.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drinks could have been cheaper but other that that! Perfect!

    Had a great time! Buffet was amazing and so much choice! Staff very friendly and happy!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite far from everything, the restaurant had no vegetarian food and given the price I would have expected spa access to be included.

    The hotel was nicely done up, the staff were mostly friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking could have been better. Although it was free and beside the hotel, it was limited and I think that in high season places would be difficult to guarantee. The road was right beside the car park also, which made exiting difficult.

    We were upgraded to a larger room once we agreed to buy breakfast at the hotel, which was a great deal. furthermore, I would highly recommend the breakfast, it was superb! The hotel was comfortable, clean and bright. The staff were helpful and good humoured. The pools were spotlessly clean and had a lovely atmosphere. The clientele suited us perfectly. We were told at check in that Saturday would be a bit busier and possibly more noisy, but we were prepared for it and, actually, it wasn't too noisy at all. There were communion celebrations going on, but they were kept very much to one area and therefore easy to avoid. A very well managed hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not obtain the double - bedded room with sea view which we had booked and someone made the mistake of setting up an extra bed for a child. We had no child with us! The beds were rather hard although the pillows were comfortable. We were given a ground floor room overlooking the pool area. Children were supposed to vacate the pool by seven at night but this was not adhered to. Noise was not a problem at this time of the year but if you like a really quiet stay opt for a room on the other side ,away from pool! We were happy with our stay but would point out that at the weekend the noise from children running around the bar area was very off-putting. We were surprised to find children still there and making a noise and nuisance at 12.30 at night! The hotel needs to re-think this policy of children in or near the bar!

    This was a very nice and comfortable hotel and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable and there were very good facilities. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice ,even had gluten free products! Nice venue for a short break or a longer holiday.Particularly attractive gardens and lovely heated outdoor pool! The parking charge was not excessive for Spain.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (2 adults + 1 child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overpriced, spent €1800.00 for 4 nights excluding flights for £699.00.Food was so bad with no choice although we paid for full board but ended up eating out as could not bear to face the menu which never changed. The waiters didn't understand English , service was the worse I had seen anywhere. Waited for dinner for over 45 minutes and when it was served it was half cooked. Had to get up and leave! We could have stayed at the Waldorf Astoria for this and paid a little bit more and not complained. Requested for manager to get in contact after 4 days no one bothered. Thus reflecting the attitude of the rest of the staff. Just a bad experience.

    The room was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    room wiew. had to be sea or yard wiew, we get to on the parking side, need always ask what is wiew vill be

    We spent a great vacation at this hotel. Room did not meet my expectations (wiew) so exchanged to another after one night. food, service, nature's perfect. there will be happy to come back again. I recommend it for families and couples.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the breakfast isn't great. Spa is pricey. Couldn't get sunbeds easily by the pool. Need more vegetarian options in the restaurants.

    The staff are great. Hotel is nice.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    t.v. had only one English channel BBC news but lots of German and French channels. Staff were not always aware of what days their own restaurants were closed.

    Rooms very comfortable and good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing, no complains

    What a wonderful hotel. We had a lovely short break and stayed here for 5 nights. Beautiful outside pools, lovely room with seaview. Attentive staff. Really nice little curio shop, a delightful sushi restaurant and at last but not least really nice breakfast with everything you could wish for. We will be back!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much constant noise of traffic. The rooms are next to the main road. Uncomfortable beds and pillows are not meant for a 5 star hotel.

    Breakfast was nice and included in the rate. WiFi was good and free.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi fi - weak and had to log in every time you move 2 metres

    Breakfast, great staff, friendly atmosphere, excellent view of sea and Calpe/Altea, gym

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As it is out of season at the moment there was some work going on around the pool areas which is understandable, but as we are planning for our wedding guests to stay at this hotel we would have liked to have seen what the pool areas were like. But maintenance is very important.

    The room was nice. The best was very comfortable. We had a hire car so the parking outside was perfect. We enjoyed the singers on Saturday night, so much fun.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (3 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I personally think whilst the selection is great, the buffet food is not good quality for a 5* hotel and also the bed linen and comfort of the bed is below what I would expect (no duvet).

    The Spa facilities are excellent, very clean and well kept!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bed rather firm, pillows not the best. Not of the standard of other 5 star hotels! No water provided at night. Breakfast okay, not the best.

    Staff were super helpful, couldn't have done more. Room very nice with lovely view of the garden, pools and out to sea.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing you could fault.

    Exceptional staff, very helpful. Lovely spacious rooms and very comfortable beds. Delicious breakfast. Spa was a real treat.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was not open during our stay and the buffet was very poor. Breakfast was the better of the meals. The evening meal was awful. Like school dinners, very disappointing as we went to celebrate my wife's birthday and was looking forward to a nice meal in the restaurant. Would not recommend this hotel for food.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very disappointed in the restaurant on Christmas Eve. Food only average not much choice and the staff more concerned with looking after a private party in the next room than the hotel guests.

    Stayed in December 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: