Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Meliá Bilbao 5 stars

Lehendakari Leizaola, 29, 48001 Bilbao, Spain

#12 of 47 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2605 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel and location for Guggenheim museum
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had to pay extra for parking, quite expensive

    Great position for Guggenheim, 10 mins walk. It took us 20 mins to get to Bilbao for the ferry, very easy drive even at 8.30am

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    50/50
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The worts parking lot ever seen it cost 24 Euros at night 😮 and expensive extras: we got charged twice for our son. A daily fee for him being in our room plus a daily fee for his bed. Shouldn’t it be one or the other? No micro and the refrig is full of their stuff, no room to place water or other cold items.

    The location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (King-size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us a room right next to a guy who had a dog and it did not stop barking. We asked to move and they accommodated us but the room they gave us was compared to the room we moved from.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Great chance to re-charge the batteries in great surroundings with really good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Big Toshiba conference, meant that bar and bistro were off limits in the evenings (but plenty of excellent alternatives close by, so no real hardship).

    Excellent in-house gourmet restaurant Aizian - food , wine and staff all peerless. Beds very comfortable. Location perfect - close enough to historic centre for nice walk and far enough away to be a little quieter. Excellent transport links too (train, bus and tram stops all within easy walking distance).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    8.8
    Busy and very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit dark

    Bed very comfy and great bathroom. Good variety of food and drink at breakfast. I had an evening meal there also which was delicious. Efficient and friendly staff and everyone seemed to speak English thank you .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    A business hotel, not many thrills. Good, comfortable, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (King-size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The A/C in our room didn't work when we arrived, but it was fixed quickly. Breakfast is good, but VERY EXPENSIVE!

    Really pretty design, cool lobby. Awesome location! A quick walk by the river to the Guggenheim and center of Bilbao.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    9.2
    A good start to our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with view (king-size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Didn't really like the bar area. The lighting in the evening was not relaxing.

    We were close to the Guggenheim museum which is one of the reasons we visited Bilbao. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Staff helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel but make sure you reserve parking if you need it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We specially chose this hotel for parking facilities but no parking available when we arrived. At no point during the booking process where we advised to reserve or request it specifically.

    Great location. Large & well appointed rooms. Breakfast is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely hotel. Helpful staff. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed too soft, not very comfortable. This might be good for other people though.

    Location. Electronic blinds. Very attentive and friendly staff. Looks great. Free pool and gym.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.8
    Very friendly staff; billed as a 5* hotel but did not meet expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double with two beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is advertised as a 5 star hotel, which was also reflected in the cost of the room. The hotel also implied that it has spa facilities; however when I looked into this, the spa facilities can be ordered in which is not the same thing. The bedroom was also quite tired looking with regard to the decor. The restaurant was also closed for a private function so we were unable to have lunch in the hotel. For a 5* hotel, the facilities did not meet the expectations.

    Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel but not five star
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (King-size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor modern but minimalistic, cheap and dorm-like. No artwork of any kind on walls. No kettle or coffee maker in the room. Stains and obvious wear and tear on carpets and walls. One would expect more comfort and elegance from a five star hotel. Expensive breakfast.

    Practical location on the river, minutes from Guggenheim and across the street from a shopping mall. Stunning interior courtyard with colorful modern design. Beautiful views from windows, in our case of the river and university. Room was good size and bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Close to amenities, that’s it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Concrete jungle, business hotel not any soul. In my opinion not a five star. The junior suite was plain and soulless and looked tired.

    Close to amenities, that’s it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Hotel was really nicely appointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with two beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were 3 people and booked a large bed with a twin (room chosen from the pictures on booking.com) how ever this is not what we got. We got two twin with a cot. Would have been nice getting what we booked.

    Hotel was really nicely appointed. Pool and gym were great and we had a drink a the bar which was relaxing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    4.2
    if you travel with kid less than 12 years be aware, only location is good, the facilities are old
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (King-size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff was not helpful, first they asked us to upgrade for small fee which we agreed then try to charge while checkout extras ( extra bed). At their policies with kids they have a misguide.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    10
    Excellent Stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with view (king-size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to have dinner at the hotel in the Aizian restaurant, but unfortunately being Sunday this was closed. Next visit!!!!

    Very modern and spacious hotel. The staff are very friendly and informative. Very accessible to the Guggenheim Museum and the city centre, and restaurants. Parking space is excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, well located, good room and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (King-size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tiny parking garage, place is not so easy to find when first arriving.

    Good location near Guggenheim, good room, excellent breakfast, nice glass door elevators in the high hallway, give a spaceous impression!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.9
    satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room I was offered on arrival but on complaining I got a better room more like the one I thought I ordered but there was a further premium charge which I considered unfair.

    room good, bed very comfortable and bathroom clean and good, towels a little worn.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Excellent central location for exploring Bilbao and the entire Pais Vasco
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was disappointed that the parking fee was a stunning €24 for one night---to park the small rented "eco prosthesis" [Mini Countryman]---but there are virtually no alternatives to parking in the hotel's garage, as there are no secure parking lots in walking distance from the hotel. I was also disappointed about the offered spectrum of TV channels for the hotel's guests---in a 5-star-hotel---since there was no available channel to provide TV coverage of Formula One Motor Sports, especially given the worldwide popularity of F1 Racing (second only to soccer), and its popularity within Spain. Lesser hotels in the area are at least offering the RTL channel, which is---according to information received from the staff of another hotel---a free TV channel in Spain.

    The hotel receptionist staff was extremely friendly/courteous and helpful, advising me of all relevant facilities and services of the hotel, which is perfectly located to explore the beauties of Bilbao and the entire Pais Vasco. I was provided with a room on the 10th Floor with a spectacular view over the entire city from the small balcony. At night it was very windy at that elevated location, and the door separating the balcony from room showed signs of age and functional deficiencies, so that it was pushed open from the pressure of the strong winds. I also enjoyed the Outdoor Pool of the 6th Floor of the hotel, with an ambient air temperature of 20 ° C and a water temperature of 30 ° C. Spectacular was the breakfast buffet, in terms of selection/diversity and food quality, although a retail price of €30 appears to be rather on the high side. Although with my status at booking.com I only paid an additional €15 to add the breakfast buffet with the room reservation. If you are travelling with your own vehicle or a rental car, it is recommendable to reserve a parking place inside the hotel garage, as it appears nearly impossible to find a secure parking space in walking distance from the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.0
    Great city, ideal hotel location, but needs a little TLC.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with view (king-size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No ramp for bags or trolleys at the entrance. The room would need a little refurbishment. The carpet was frayed under the fridge. No coffee making facilities - we really missed this! No separate shower head attached at a lower lever for women. (No shower in the bath.)

    Location, the design of the building with the open, big atrium, big bed, nice pillows, the view from high floor and the little spa. Beautiful bathrooms, huge mirrors, we loved it. Hairdryer was very handy in the bathroom - very female friendly!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.9
    Located nearby tram station.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some stuffs in the room was broken.(Draining system of bath tab,Controlling temperature of shower).Staff did not help us to port baggage to the room after checking in...I have never experienced such a situation in 5 stars hotel.

    Located nearby tram station.Spacious room and large bath tab.Breakfast was so good(But does not changed everyday).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    8.3
    Designer hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 restaurant was open during our stay- the charge for posting cards was €1.50 per card - With it being an Easter break post offices we're closed so the only option was to ask the hotel for a stamp and to post the card as we were leaving - but rather expensive ! On arrival we could have been given more information as tourists to the area

    Design , spaces , pool - very clean - great views and location near to the Guggenheim-had a super massage the restaurant was well priced and very good quality food. Restaurant staff were super .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    I simply loved this hotel: location, room, gym, pool - was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (King-size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was very disappointing.

    I loved everything about this hotel actually: perfect location, gym, infinity pool, spacious rooms with a lot of light. I loved it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location and staff but cleanliness let the stay down
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms were not cleaned to the standard i would have expected, Mould in showers, Glass's in the room had not been cleaned from previous guests, Toothpick located on bathroom floor from previous guest, The Blind in the room was filthy and had been patched so didn't look particularly good for a 5* hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable Would come again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food in the Asian (?spelling) was excellent but the atmosphere was disappointing. The lights were way too bright. Candles on table would have been nice or dimmers.

    Staff at reception so helpful and charming from the moment we arrived

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    7.9
    comfortable stay, but way too expensive in my view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No coffee/tea making facilities. No comfortable lounge for evenings. Purely business feel.

    Very good location. Spacious room and bathroom. Excellent views.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    Buyer beware. There are hidden costs - 24 euros for parking per night - awful breakfast too!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double room with view (king-size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Difficult to find if you don't know your way around Bilbao - even with Sat Nav! Parking was an additional 24 Euros per night - there is no reference to this at time of booking. The cost for a small dog was an additional 30 Euros which is extremely expensive. I had booked a de-luxe room - the carpet was dirty and threadbare. The breakfast was terrible - with the 'hot' eggs and bacon etc being stone cold.

    I stopped here for one night on route back to the UK. Staff were very helpful and the location (once I found the hotel) was convenient to get around Bilbao. Nice view from the room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    2.9
    We stayed at the Melia, Bilbao for three nights over New...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (King-size Bed)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We stayed at the Melia, Bilbao for three nights over New Years. We had looked forward to discovering Basque country and had planned the trip for some time. At check-in at the Melia we were greeted by an unfriendly receptionist who provided us with no information on Bilbao. She said our room was not ready as we were early but she would keep our bags. We later returned to collect our key and asked about what we should do in Bilbao over New Years. We were told there was nothing to do and everything was closed. We asked could she recommend restaurants - she provided one name and told us everything was shut or fully booked. She then started doing her work while we were still standing there signalling she no longer wanted to provide us with any information. Later at a tourist office we were provided with a list of restaurants that were open and advice on trips we could take on New Years Day. On New Years Eve the Melia hosted an extremely expensive Gala Dinner. Hotel guests who were not part of this event had no access to the bar. When we returned at 1am we were advised that the bar was now closed but we could order room service. When we went to our room to order room service we were advised over the phone that this was also closed. The following night we went into the bar at 12 o'clock. The barman quickly escorted us out saying he was closed and then drew the curtain as we left. The vibe of the hotel staff was unfriendly, in particular reception. We met two friendly people during stay - an electrician working on the hotel who greeted us as we passed and the lady working in the leisure facilities. The room was dated. The carpet was frayed and stained. The blind had a slight rip. The walls required painting. The bathroom was nicely decorated. Housekeeping was done impeccably everyday. The truth is, we were happiest when we were out of the hotel. It was simply unfriendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    8.3
    The bathtub, shower and room service was great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two annoying noises in the room, the pipes in the bathroom going glu glu glu for so long after every use and a strange loud buzzing sound coming from the heater i think, but so loud the first night I woke up thinking it is an alarm! And a funny but not so important is that there was no tea-coffee set in the room which apparently is only for the superior rooms or so.. the room service compensates nicely but i found it funny for a 5* hotel.

    The bathtub, shower and room service was great! The bed was clean and comfy and the shades put the room totally in dark. Perfect for relaxing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was excellent but expensive as well as the parking place.

    Perfectly situated to the museum (walking distance). Close to a metro station to go to the old town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent, for the hotel itself, the location and Bilbao's attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double with two beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In-room tea and coffee-making facilities would be a good addition, and the price of a mini-bar Kit-Kat would buy you two beers.

    The architecture of this hotel is quite striking, especially the lobby, and the rooms are designed in complementary style. The staff were friendly, especially at breakfast, which was terrific with a very wide choice of foods. The bathroom was a good size and well-equipped, as was the room. The hotel's location is excellent - a short walk to the Guggenheim and also to the Maritime Museum, this redeveloped area very attractive, with a good tram service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, wonderful city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with view (king-size Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Difficult to improve on

    Staff were particularly helpful. very modern hotel with great facilities. One of the hotel restaurants was mid range and suited us very well. Within easy reach of the Guggenheim and the rest of the city. Great range at breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    8.8
    In all, our stay was excellent. We loved Bilbao and we hope we will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We made the check in late in the afternoon, we went out for dinner and when we decided to sleep we had a unpleasant surprise : one of the beds had been used and was not made up ! This mistakes should never happen in a hotel. After complaining, the problem was promptly resolved...but it is not a happy start!

    Location; the staff was very friendly and professional; the beautiful & functional infrastructure of the hotel; very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Breakfast, not because of the quality of the food which was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast, not because of the quality of the food which was excellent, but because of the organization of it. Too many people in a reduced space, long queues to have access to the breakfast room and waiters overworking to do things as fast as possible. The breakfast room is not big enough to cater for the number of guests. The hotel should look into this in the future.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    10
    Nice tourist hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms smelled. The window shades were torn and didn't work properly.

    The rooms and staff were fantastic. Our rental car was towed due to the valet forgetting to properly park it for the night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Expensive. Wd try somewhere else if we went back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As above and bar area uncomfortable

    Breakfast, didn't bring any drinks to the table such as pot of tea. Hot food was poor, cold fried eggs. Wide choice though. Very busy. If it hadn't been included wd have gone to local cafe for better service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.2
    Excellent staff at the reception!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could be better for a five star hotel. First day they accomodated us in a freezing cold secondary room

    Excellent staff at the reception! Beautiful architecture

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    3.8
    So bad we checked out and moved to the Gran Domine for the remaining nights!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with view (king-size Bed)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Checked in at 10.30pm and the first room was damp and had water damage to the roof and windows. Back down and requested another room, the grumpy receptionist huffed and gave us a second room- when we went into it was actually occupied by another guest! This time when we got back at reception his eyes rolled and then stated it wasn't his fault- he was just trusting the computer. 3rd room was apparently the last left in the hotel- and it wasn't the standard we had booked. It also had used tampax in the toilet bin! No apology, no offer to do anything about it. The 3 rooms were all dated and more like a 3 star hotel. Went down and informed the hotel we would be checking our first thing and staying somewhere else. As it was late and had been traveling we went to the bar for food and were told at exactly 11.29 that they stopped serving at 11.30pm so couldn't serve us anything! Thankfully another female member of staff appeared and offered to get us some pinxtos from the kitchen. At check out the manager was very good in listening to our complaint and trying to resolve it, including offering to help us transfer hotels and giving 20% off our one night rate. But it is not a 5 star hotel- it is dated, unclean and I have never experienced such a bad check in experience. Don't be lured by the pool and restaurant- not worth it!! The next hotel, the Gran Domaine was fantastic!

    only the location is a positive

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    Very enjoyable - the hotel was an excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff overstretched at breakfast times so service and replacement of food/cutlery rather chaotic

    Room quiet and beds comfortable. Spa and pool good. Breakfast excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Great location, but perhaps a little expensive. Some updating to the decoration needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was €30 each - poor value for money. Easy to go to a Bar/Coffee shop next door - breakfast for €5! Rooms and public areas in need of decoration, carpets need to be replaced - its supposed to be a 4-Star hotel.

    Location - short walking distance to both the Bilbao City Centre and the Guggenheim Museum. Large spacious room. Helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    5.0
    Not 5 star and the other 4 star hotels we used on this trip of Northern Spain were better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    We specifically chose this Hotel as it had a heated pool. I had booked 8 friends into this hotel as we were travelling Northern Spain on Motorcycles and was looking forward to a dip in a heated pool after our long journey. However when we went to use it it had green patches at the bottom and our friend who has a pool recommend we did not chanced using it. I reported this to a member of staff on our way out. The blind in the room smelt musty when down which our other friends mentioned too. The shower fittings were loose and it changed temperature while using.

    Compared to the other Hotels we stayed in on this trip not a lot. It was is a modern stylish Hotel is about the best I can say.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    Unsatisfactory.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and the customer service.

    The room was sold as having large double bed. In fact the room had two single beds pushed together. Very uncomfortable for a couple. The hotel mentionned they have complaints about it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.2
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with view (king-size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly worn - beginning to show a little sign of wear and tear though still fabulous design/architecture!

    Comfortable and convenient. Staff were very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel, good location, would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double room with view (king-size Bed)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but could get quite crowded at peak times

    Modern hotel with good sized rooms with a good location near the Guggenheim and a ten minute stroll along the riverside to the old city

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable but a bit squashed for 3 people and very expensive to feel disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Double or Twin Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    see above

    When I arrived I was very unhappy about the 3rd bed quality I was travelling with my 2 daughters aged 18 and 19. The booking website said we could have a triple room with full sized single beds. However when we arrived the 3rd bed was a trundle bed which is exactly what I wanted to avoid. The room was also a little too small for 3 people yet they advertised suitability for 3 people The staff were understanding and offered me a larger room but it had a double and single which was not acceptable as none of us wanted to share a bed neither should we be asked to given the hotel had advertised 3 singles. After some insistence the staff had a full sized single bed brought to the room. The desk staff were understanding and the staff who brought the bed to the room were delightful. However we arrived at the hotel at 10pm and I really didn't want the hassle and have to insist. We didn't get settled til almost midnight So I was a little aggravated about having to insist and also over tired by the time we had the room to ourselves. And this was despite spending Euro 240 p might. I don't think this was very good value for money. I could have booked 2 rooms cheaper and not had the hassle and enjoyed the extra space. The pool was very nice but there is no outdoor area around it to relax. which was disappointing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice modern hotel for a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double room with two beds (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was clean but was ready for a refresh. Same was valid for eg the swimming pool area (tiles missing...) Breakfast and parking are extra costs and are not cheap

    Beautiful modern hotel outside the touristic area but with good access to public transportation. Very good breakfast buffet. Possibility to park in the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    4.2
    Not agood hotel experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had bed bugs in our bed and was bitten all over first night, which you do not expect from a hotel that is rated 5 stars. The first room also had a big hole ca 20cm hole in the carpet . They changed our room second night . The rooms were in general all dated. The hotel's rating should be a maximum 3 star.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyable stay. Would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    Comfortable bed. Room overlooked a Fairly busy road but the blackout blinds, closed window and good air con ensured a good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.6
    The room was very spacious and comfortable.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing that should be improved is the staff at the bar. Not very friendly.

    The room was very spacious and comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and the check in happened very easily. I had a burger at the hotel bar and it was very very good. I would strongly recommend it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    6.7
    Extremely clean rooms and facilities, very nice heated pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was extremely unprofessional, subpar compared to the overall hotel standard. The hotel was experiencing some technical problems in its elevators. Ourselves and other guests had to wait a very long time to get to the lobby and up to or room (1/2 hr for 10 floors!). Moreover, the emergency stairscase was not well indicated which could be very dangerous. As we explained the problem to a staff at the lobby we faced a condescending concierge who belittled the issue and provided no explanation. We encountered rude staff also during breakfast.

    Extremely clean rooms and facilities, very nice heated pool and well equipped gym.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    10
    Gorgeous room with a beautiful room in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no place to get bottled water other than the bar.

    Gorgeous room with a beautiful room. Lovely bathrooms with a large bathtub. I hope to stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were friendly and helpful. The secure parking is great. The location of the hotel is near the park, tram stop and local bars/restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    3.8
    I do not recommend !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I did not like the attitude of the staff - was bloated and exalted. There was no possibility of parking in the vicinity of the hotel. Although most of the time we spent on traveling we had to pay EUR 24 per day. The floor in the room was dirty. I found hair in the bath. Moldy joints in the shower. I expected definitely a higher standard. The swimming pool on the 6th floor certainly decided on 5 stars of this hotel, certainly not cleanliness. Furthermore, we couldn't sleep until 1am, as the music outside was extremely loud.

    Hotel is located walking distance from Guggenheim Museum.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    The staff were very helpful especially a porter who took our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were very helpful especially a porter who took our luggage up to our room. Would like to have been staying for more than just one night in transit.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    The hotel is very well located near the Guggenheim and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaner swimming pool

    The hotel is very well located near the Guggenheim and the riverside generally. We had a very friendly welcome and could leave our bags early. The only downside was the small swimming pool, in which we found some long hairs. The sauna was good, though. All together a very good hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.1
    nice and comfortable but a few cons
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double with two beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea and coffee making facilities in room and no complimentary tea or coffee anywhere in the building to compensate. Breakfast was a bit disappointing as scrambled eggs tasted like made from a packet and bacon not tasty. Should all be free range at this price No where to sunbathe near pool and we really wanted to be able to relax outdoors.

    Bathroom was gorgeous, room was ok Building interesting Swimming pool adequate, gym adequate

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    9.6
    Good hotel in good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If your nervous of heights the glass elevator is a little scary.

    The staff were very accommodating and spoke excellent English. The hotel was great and in a fantastic location to explore Bilbao. Great choice of restaurants near by.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.6
    Great stay - bring a raincoat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    Beautiful spacious room and bathroom. Huge comfortable bed. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a 10 minute walk from everything - guggenheim, shops and restaurants. Bilbao has a superb variety of great places to eat.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel with really lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ate dinner at the hotel restaurant one of the evenings during my stay - the food was surprisingly poor.

    As fine a hotel as I've ever stayed at. Really lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    7.9
    Good location but needs a bit of TLC!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double with two beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is looking a bit in need of some upkeep! The shower head was coming away from the wall, the shower drain stank and the bathroom sinks glugged for what seems like ages after you pulled the plug. The mini bar fridge woke me up on several occasions with a clonk clonk noise. The prices seem to have really gone up hugely since we stayed two years ago. We loved it then but are unlikely to return now.

    We love the Melia and Bilbao in general. The pintxos at the Mercado de la Ribera are amazing, so fresh and tasty. The hotel has underground parking a bar and restaurant and a swimming pool. fab. On the surface the hotel seems really luxurious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    good location, facilities, food and staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Charged extra for a camp-bed in one of the rooms even though we booked two rooms for a family of 4

    comfy beds, very good breakfast with huge selection.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    Good parking. Overpriced given the star rating of this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I would have expected coffee facilities in the room. Dingy underground breakfast room that was over subscribed so we had to wait a good quarter of an hour to be seated: not what what you expect in 4 stars!

    Good spacious room with bathtub.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    6.3
    Not a 5 star hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were offered a room on the top floor with a terrace for an extra €20 per night which we accepted. The room was large, with a large comfortable bed but certainly wasn't 5 star ! The furniture was old & damaged in the room, the furniture on the terrace was old & peeling, weeds were growing on the ground around the edges, it was pretty grim. The housekeeping service was not up to scratch, taking our towels & not replacing them, not topping up soap, coffee or tea. We always choose Melia hotels but this was the worse one we have ever stayed in.

    Great location right on the waterfront, tram stop very close.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Bilbao is awesome and staying at Melià make the holiday special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    this place is so magical, all the staff is kind and polite. breakfast is full of choices. with my 8 years old daughter we enjoyed the wellness center and the swimming pool with a view is so cool :)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, would highly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building and facilities a bit dated, swimming pool was rusted in places and the tiles were coming loose.

    Fantastic location very nice staff with excellent service. Fantastic bed very comfortable 5 star service.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    6.3
    Being pressured into making commitment .
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double room with two beds (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being pressured into making commitment ... breakfast or not? It was gonna be cheaper if we committed to having breakfast the night before... we therefore decided not to and left early instead.... why should breakfast be more expensive??? Does bread and fruit cost more in the morning??

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    6.7
    quality of food offered at breakfast was not of the standard...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast could have been better. also on arrival we were told we did not have our parking reserved, something we had requested when booking room. they said they had no notification of this. we only got a space because there were some available.

    quality of food offered at breakfast was not of the standard attributable to Melia. especially the cold meats available.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    5.4
    Only the atrium is 5 star
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family room basic no 'home comforts'. Pool closed for maintenance. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Big queues for breakfast. Requested room with views - given 1st floor 😕

    Comfortable beds. Nice Bathroom. Everything else sadly a disappointment

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.8
    The bathroom was large and felt luxurious with good quality...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I don't like the minibar fridges which charge you if you lift something up even if you don't consume it. Quite frankly, I would expect a hotel of this quality and price to be able to provide mineral water free for customers. At other hotels we stayed in in Spain, water, beer and soft drinks were all provided free of charge, so Melia just seemed a bit mean. The pool experience would have been nicer if the shower adjacent to the pool was not freezing cold. I saw one person after another avoid washing properly because it was so cold, and consequently I don't suppose the pool water stayed clean for long...

    The bathroom was large and felt luxurious with good quality bathroom products and accessories. Plenty of towels provided. The architecture of the building (esp the lifts) was quite impressive. We particularly enjoyed the indoor/ outdoor heated pool. Amazing location- 5 minutes from Guggenheim and Bellas Artes galleries, and just across the road from the amazing Etxanobe restaurant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    Very disappointed with what was suppose to be a 5 star 3night break.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double with two beds (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking available despite space booked. No porter available to help with bags before being sent to public car park. Room not ready at 4pm - beds not made up. Room prepped for 2 person, yet booked for 3 i.e. Lack of towels etc. Staff varied from good to bad in attitude and helpfulness. Room not thoroughly clean - hairs all over settee.

    -Breakfasts. -Warm jugs of milk with room service coffee -pet dog allowed in room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    9.2
    To visit Bilbao this is the best hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and parking are really expensive. So book without. Enough parking garages and breakfast bars in the area.

    Spacious rooms, nice staff and perfect location (near Guggenheim and tram)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay at the waterfront and near the cultural attractions of Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Problems with the shaving mirror in the bathroom (must have been fixed by a body builder, was not able to be moved from the spot); few foreign TV programmes

    The large room and bathroom, the rich choice and quality of the breakfast (and the fairly good management of the crowds in the morning), the idea of the water and towel for the morning joggers ;-)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Two Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was comfortable and my stay was fine but I wouldn't rate as a 5 star hotel. The breakfast is a buffet, not even tea or coffee is brought to you. That is fine of course but again, not 5 star standard. The queue for breakfast is extremely long. In my room, there was a burn on the carpet, a rip in the blind, no complimentary water. I have had better service from 3* hotels.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    7.1
    Not very family friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Swimming pool. Very small with no space around it for family to sit. Disappointing. Shouldnt be advertised.

    Good breakfast choices and the prices were fair for children. No good dinner choices for children. Cafeteria is in the bar, not family friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.4
    Totally lost the glory of a 5 star hotel. You don't get the value & quality for your money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (King-size Bed)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is definately not a 5 star hotel. The rooms are not impecably clean, the decor & Style is quite old fashioned. Furniture is used up.The room had a very muffy strange smell. The aircon was way too laud. The balcony not clean with a very old dirty furniture. All this would be acceptable if you would not expect + pay for a 5 star hotel.We stay often at Melis hotels but is one was disappointing. Regarding some service asspects: We preorder the taxi for our departure the night before. It did not come at all. The staff was very relaxed and not attentive to reorder a new one. At the end we waited 45 minutes.

    Location of the hotel is prime!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    7.1
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    we have been in quite a few Michelin stars restaurants but Aizian Restaurant is not one that we would recommend Check your bill, they tried to charge us for a service we haven't had

    Location is great; building is beautiful Rooms are on smaller size but bathroom is very spacious; room service is fast but coffee are week ;

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: