Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel 5 stars

Portinatx, 16-18, 07660 Cala d´Or, Spain

#4 of 15 hotels in Cala d´Or

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    Just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely welcome with a glass of bubbly, spacious, immaculately clean rooms with crisp bed linen, lovely pool, comfortable sun loungers and accommodating staff who always have a smile. Perfect location for the beach, harbour and excellent restaurants. We will definitely return. Needless to say we loved it.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.1
    Do not need it again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor breakfast for Euro 20.00 / person. At a 10:00 pm arrival 15 min wait before we were served at the reception desk. No parking available. Question: "How do we park"? Answer: "Just drive around in the neighborhood to find a place". I just freaked out about that answer! This is a typical Melia hotel. They all try to be 5 star, but they really are not. They are by requirement, but they are not by the soul of the operator.

    All was good but not up to par with a 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    10
    Couldn't fault anything from the time we arrived until the time we left!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standard Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything!! The hotel was beautiful, ALL the staff were courteous and very accomodating nothing was too much trouble. The room was cleaned daily with clean towels.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    Good looking but in details it is nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The food was very poor. After few dinners at the hotel we decided to change from Half Bord to Breakfast only. Every restaurant outside was better than the hotel... Breakfast was also nothing special: no vegetables like tomato (it was delivered to us for request), cucumber, paprika etc but there was Marshmallows for kids (very healthy)... poor bread no choice, no fresh ham only some strange sausages or brawn.. The milk was sour. All looked good but nothing good was really to eat. Last important thing was the ugly smell for air condition. It wasn't every day, but it was few times during our 10 days.

    All the staff was nice and friendly. Nice garden.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel but very expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't enough sun beds, all beds at the pool were claimed first thing and the majority only used for bits of the day. The gardens were nice to sunbathe in but more beds would make it better.

    The staff at breakfast were excellent and very attentive.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    8.3
    Great staff and gardens disappointing decor and unfortunate location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Giving the five star rating of the hotel the junior suites needs an update and the first suite we were allocated to was poor whilst we were moved without issues this was down to excellent staff.

    We like the hotel gardens,staff and the communal areas of the hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were lovely but lacked attention that attention that a 5 star hotel needs. Cups missing from the kitchen, having to pay for the coffee capsules if you wanted to use the Nespresso machine. Ants in all rooms and maids insisting they clean your rooms even if you are not ready to leave. Pool area should be better managed as lots of beds having towels on but no one using them. This is really nit picking and we loved our stay but the price you pay these should be managed better.

    The hotel is very picturesque, the staff pleasant and the breakfast is very good and lovely veranda with sun loungers.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    Delighted with our short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sometimes the pool area got very busy, to be expected I guess but perhaps a few more beds would help?

    Central but tranquil location. Room was excellent, plenty of space and everything we needed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.6
    Relaxing, luxurious and peaceful(- bit expensive though)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite pricey for a family holiday. More selection please of cereals for breakfast. Quite expensive to buy breakfast for what you really ate.

    Beautiful hotel. Majorcan style. Elegant and relaxing. Services amazing. Very nearby to local attractions. Pool area beautiful with a gorgeous array of flowers around terrace.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Very relaxing and comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Double Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was very shaded. Limited sun beds available in the sunshine around the pool.

    Excellent customer service and we felt very welcome and very well looked after. The breakfast was superb. We really enjoyed our stay and are looking forward to staying there again soon. Lovely relaxing pool and pool bar.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    This is an amazing place to be!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    nothing at all!

    This hotel is fabulous!!! The staff are amazing, and it really is a lovely place to be. Food choice is varied and of a high standard. Will be returning to the lovely Melia very soon!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.3
    great hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For a 5 star hotel I did not like the fact that a nespresso coffee machine was supplied yet you had to pay for capsules, this was a bit cheap other 5 stars give these away as part of the room. There were ants in the room and all members of our party (5 rooms) complained of this. Again in a 5 star hotel this should not happen. There was only one coffee cup in our room and when we took one from the restaurant the maids took it away again without leaving another. These are only slight problems and did not ruin the experience but at the price of this hotel these things should be spot on. Car parking can be a bit of a problem

    the hotel is very nice, breakfast was good and the restaurant very nice. Staff were very polite and the whole experience was very good. Very relaxing and they had sky sports on the tv which was a bonus. bedrooms, bathrooms and living area all nice and fantastic balcony with sun loungers

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    9.6
    Extremely pleasant and comfortable with attentive staff and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pools don't open until 10.00 a.m.

    Lovely hotel set in beautiful gardens. Good sized room with plenty of little extras. Near a lovely cove with beach, the Centre with lots of eateries and the beautiful Marine with some nice restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.6
    Minor niggles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a purportedly 5 star hotel several small niggles showed. Our final room (of 3) had a jacuzzi on the terrace but was overlooked by adjacent rooms. A thoughtful hotel would have provided a screen to save our blushes. But didn't. Having booked in the restaurant for 7.30ed were told only times available were 7 pm or 8.30. Between our arrival at 7 pm and leaving at 9 pm only 2 or 3 extra couples arrived. Never was the Resteraunt full and plenty of empty tables were available. R very hard water Tiny soap tablet provided for very hard wate

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.6
    Couple from southern Sweden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bath tub with bubbles on the terass was a positive surprise. Very relaxing and comfortable hotel. Nice Nespresso machine in the room. Pool area with fresh towels. Good space. The hotel offered very nice breakfast as well as dinner. Will probably choose this hotel again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in Cala D'Or
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold floors Outdated remote control systems, controlling lights/ac etc. Mediocre room service, basic menu.

    Nice room layout, spacious and comfy king bed. Nice garden/swimming pool area. Good play area for children. Friendly staff, room was prepared for our toddler with cot etc. Efficient check in/out and taxi service.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    10
    our stat at Melia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    staff were very very friendly and helpful, room we stayed was very nice, huge bed,huge balcony overlooking one part of a well kept garden, all thing we read about this hotel being good were well surpassed. 10 out of 10.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    9.2
    Suite was spacious and good outside private space
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Suite was spacious and good outside private space

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    The shade around the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shade around the pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic place very clean staff very good could not find a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place very clean staff very good could not find a fault

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Really enjoyed our time at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony ( 2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The price of the breakfast!

    Facilities and Staff were excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Great time with family and friends, just service could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need more staff, there was nobody around to serve to drinks at an open bar, breakfast was very scarce if you went after 9.00

    Pool area, accommodation

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Another wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Balcony (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    everything was lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    10
    Pleasant and comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Five minutes walk to the sea.

    Outstanding service. Delicious food, breakfast and diner. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved it

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel, friendly staff, some updating required
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The balcony chairs were tatty and some outside areas below par

    Nice breakfast and friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    10
    An oasis of calm and quality in a busy resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    wonderful staff and beautiful hotel

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    9.2
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The turn down service started around 6pm which felt a bit strange when it was still very light and they left lots of lights on in the room which was a waste of electricity.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was very clean, with beautiful grounds and it was very peaceful.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    10
    Treated to a level of stay where I was able to say I'll ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't want to leave everything was perfect right down to a choice of pillows.

    Treated to a level of stay where I was able to say I'll be going there again.The service we received was first class.With meals to match.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    10
    The gardens and pool area were lovely and the staff great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only complaint I had was that I booked a double room and expected one bed and actually had two single beds side by side .

    The gardens and pool area were lovely and the staff great

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    8.3
    The staff were excellent and food was very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The only complaint would be the neighbour's dog that barked during the day and was particularly loud.

    The staff were excellent and food was very good. We also liked the area around the pool.

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2015

    9.2
    Hotel was in a perfect location with everything within...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only small issue was it would have been nice to have a little more activity in the evening, even if it was only the pool bar being open for drinks - there was the hotel lounge, but this was also a little too quiet. It could possibly be because there is so much going on in the area, but I think it would have just been nice for a little more evening entertainment.

    Hotel was in a perfect location with everything within walking distance - best beach we found was Cala d'Or or "Eco Beach". The hotel was set in beautiful tranquil grounds and the room was gorgeous, very luxourious and spacious (we had a junior suite). We opted for breakfast only as there were so many wonderful restaurants to sample nearby, but the breakfast was beautiful with a huge selection. The Staff in the hotel were extremely friendly and always smiling. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    8.8
    Staff were friendly and attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could have had a better view from balcony. We paid extra for a suite, yet the cheaper rooms had better views over the pool.

    Staff were friendly and attentive.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    7.1
    Staff and facilities are great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is variable and the quality of the daily room service left a lot to be desired - whilst the room was cleanish it lacked attention told detail which gave a poor perception on what is a nice hotel. Got the impression that whilst the perception and price is high end that it fell down on some small but important basics. The pool area needed management - numerous times went to the pool and people had placed towels and equipment on sun beds and no where to be seen - a system of if you leave the pool area you need to vacate the bed would seem sensible - pool very crowded small children/inflatables despite it being adult orientated.

    Staff and facilities are great.

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    10
    Everything especially the staff and the a la carte dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    having to go down to the pool early to reserve the sun beds you shouldn't have to do this in a 5star hotel

    Everything especially the staff and the a la carte dinner

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    9.2
    Rooms are very good and could not ask for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of sun beds is a concern. Previous visits not an issue but all beds gone before 9am around pool so was not as relaxing as could be.

    Rooms are very good and could not ask for more.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    7.5
    Friendly staff, quiet part of Cala D'Or
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lack of sun beds for 5 star I would not expect to need to get up at crack of dawn to find one, many were broken, so disappointing. Too many children in a fairly small pool.

    Friendly staff, quiet part of Cala D'Or

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    10
    Staff were exceptionally helpful and couldn't do enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing to fault. Perhaps could do a little more in bar area of an evening

    Staff were exceptionally helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Facilities were superb and the breakfast and dinners were lovely. A really nice quiet hotel with a fantastic pool area.

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    9.6
    Excellent staff, beautiful hotel and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We had booked this hotel because it is totally geared for adults and doesn't have activities or entertainment for children so we thought it would be quiet and relaxing. However, there were lots of children so it wasn't as relaxing around the pool as we had hoped. Not the fault of the hotel though; we should have booked an Adults Only hotel.

    Excellent staff, beautiful hotel and grounds.

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    9.2
    The evening meal on half board was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to wait quite a while for our room to be ready when we arrived. so it was late afternoon before we could unpack and settle in.

    The evening meal on half board was excellent. The chef produced 5 star quality food that was very well presented and served.

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2015

    8.8
    The staff is very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool is not so big. The principal beach in Cala d'Or is a bit crowded.

    The staff is very friendly and helpful. Very good breakfast. Quiet place.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in a good location - 5 minute stroll to nearest...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not enough sunbeds that weren't in the shade for most of the day. Lilos in the pool despite notices against this - it's not a very large pool! Music played from the pool bar most of the day even though it wasn't very loud it was quite instrusive

    Lovely hotel in a good location - 5 minute stroll to nearest beach and 15-20 minutes from the fantantic marina

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    8.3
    Room space
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not on the beach

    Room space

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    10
    bed very comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    bed very comfy

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2015

    10
    Lovely hotel with great ambience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel with great ambience. Very friendly and helpful staff who made us feel very special and spoilt.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    Hotel location - walking distance from beaches and shops but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel location - walking distance from beaches and shops but in a quiet position. Staff were helpful and friendly. Our Junior suite was perfect.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    10
    The pool, the room and very attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    only that we had to change rooms the 2nd day because someone was ill but not the fault of the hotel.

    The pool, the room and very attentive staff

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2015

    10
    The room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was great...the environment was peaceful and very pretty...the staff were friendly, happy and very helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2015

    10
    They were so helpful they even helped us track down an...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Couldn't connect to wifi

    They were so helpful they even helped us track down an iphone lost in a taxi. Great service.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    10
    The hotel was peaceful but near all the shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel was peaceful but near all the shops and restaurants of Cala D'or

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: