Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sercotel Horus Zamora 4 stars

Plaza del Mercado, 20, 49003 Zamora, Spain

#5 of 12 hotels in Zamora

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1217 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great value room exceptional quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very friendly and happy to help at all times There was a problem with our room which was sorted immidiatley This hotel was great value and exceeded my expectations both with room quality and staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely riverside old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel advertised dinner with a menu at door and reception but it was not available. We found it difficult to find a restaurant nearby even using phone, most were cafes and bars.

    Very good location for main shopping area with cafes and restaurants. An excellent churrería opposite the hotel entrance provided breakfast. All the old city very compact, we drove but possible to walk. Good clean room and helpful staff who could understand and speak English. Safe car park under hotel with internal lift access.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    The receptionist was exceptionally helpful all through our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist was exceptionally helpful all through our stay and particularly when we need advice about medical facilities in Zamora. She couldn't have been more helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    7.5
    Good room, watch the breakfast though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I would have said the breakfast service was appalling if I had not complained and received a champagne apology and waiver of the breakfast charge, though two days later the breakfast service had relapsed. A higher complaint, then, to the general manager, ended by allowing me to say here that things should have improved by the time you get there. The hotel agrees to the standard that all breakfast items should be evident on your first morning and always available (replenished) between the stated opening and closing hours of the breakfast.

    The room was well equipped. There was a bath. The bed was comfortable. There were enough power points though some did not work. The room was quiet and restful. It was well cleaned and the bed made nicely. The staff can be shy, abrupt and austere (in the Spanish way) but chat them up and they melt.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Zamora is a small interesting city to visit with beautiful narrow streets and friendly people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing that warrants a comment.

    Property location was superb! No need to get your car as everything is walking distance through pedestrian walks. Good area restaurants and stores. Friendly ambiance with children playing at nearby parks.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    9.6
    Great location in the center of Zamora
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room looked out on a back street with graffitied walls so not the greatest view. The first time we stayed there some years ago we had a room that looked out over the market square with a view of the lovely Art Decó market front so this second time around was a bit of a disappointment.

    The room was on the ground floor, large enough, quiet and comfortable. Large bathroom. This beautiful old mansion has a lovely art decó style staircase among other elements from that period. Breakfast was ok though not the best I've had at similar hotels. The attention and help of the staff was much appreciated!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Super rooms and Very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast restaurant is a big boring as it is located in the basement with no windows.

    Super nice rooms and the hotel is next to the old food market

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.4
    It was OK
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like two of the receptionists. I am Spanish and bilingual so language is not a problem. Although I am a native speaker of the language, the receptionist spoke at a speed that was impossible to follow. I asked her to slow down. She explained to me in a very sloppy, careless, unclear and rude fashion where to park my car. She did not mention anything at all about the surrounding area or the facilities of the hotel. The parking is not easy to find if it is not explained well. In general the receptionists except for one, did not give clear directions or instructions. I was disgusted with the first room I was given and asked to be changed immediately-which I was. There is a huge difference in the rooms they have to offer, so make sure you are given a good room. The first room I was given looked like it had not been cleaned recently and maybe not even used in a while; it also looked messy in its presentation. When I verified check out time, I was told in a rude way by yet another receptionist that my check out time was 11:30. I later asked a different receptionist who told me what I had thought which was that it was at noon. I had a reservation for the Spa ( which consists in a jacuzzi and a sauna) but cancelled when I was told that I had to go down to the reception first in order to then be let into the Spa where I would then be given a bathrobe. I thought this was very uncomfortable since usually one can go down to the Spa directly and in a robe. None of this was explained in a gracious manner. So, my main complaint is with the staff and the way they treated me as a guest. I expressed my discontent to one of the nice receptionists. I would go back for the location and because the second room was nice and quiet.

    I liked the second room I was given. It was spacious and the bathroom was large. I liked the light common in through the windows. I thought the furniture was beautiful. The location is excellent for going out and seeing the old part of the city-it is all within a step. It was very quiet and the bed was deliciously large and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    We were warmly welcomed, given some very helpful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were warmly welcomed, given some very helpful information about the locality and were pleasantly surprised to have arrived during the Fiesta of San Pedro. The hotel offers a very efficient and courteous service and the finish of the room and public areas was beautiful. Everywhere was scrupulously clean. The location suited us perfectly as we were able to access the attractions of Zamora easily on foot.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent central location with parking and helpful reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a bit worn, but this is only a small thing.

    Location excellent - really close to main square with bars and restaurants. Parking under hotel a bit tricky but good for motorcycles. Hotel reception very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    10
    Stopped en route to Portugal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stopped en route to Portugal. Really friendly staff, excellent position in centre of town, easy to find. Good selection for breakfast ( although coffee a bit strong!!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    9.6
    Restaurant superb, not always open sundays.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning sometimes difficult to control (too hot).

    Restaurant superb, not always open sundays. Beautiful decor. Very helpful staff. Located in middle of the town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Modern hotel with own parking close to old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A guests' lounge should be provided for this standard of hotel

    Parking under the hotel (not free); large suite; good value; closest possible to historic centre

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location was excellent

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    6.7
    Good for visiting the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was closed while there. Bedroom needed some TLC.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Very fine hotel in beautiful old city of Zamora
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel parking best accessed with narrow car

    Fantastic majestic staircase

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    Convenient hotel offering underground parking close to the historic city center of Zamora
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bath room and most of the furniture is rather worn out

    The breakfast was OK. The location is close to the historic center of Zamora Wifi was OK.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation for all purposes!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Central hotel with great facilities

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    9.6
    found our visit quite interesting and hotel and staff were quite pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    air conditioning could have been a bit more powerful.

    quite a pleasant stay. room as expected. staff pleasant

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    "Excelente"
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff, a relaxed atmosphere and in a convenient location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Will go back next year to Horus Zamora
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff receptiondesk and in the restaurante: friendly and affable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    6.7
    A room without a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I like a room with a view and this room didn't have one.

    The restaurant was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable accommodation; cafeteria serve good snacks& light meals.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Zamora hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit old but still quite in a good shape

    Very nice building, big room and nice bathroom. Breakfast was OK as well.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    8.3
    Nice hotel in the heart of a very nice town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is in the heart of Zamora, very handy, it also has secure parking under the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    7.9
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Tired decor, expensive food, paid extra for better room but no windows

    Location and staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    9.2
    Lovely location and very comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant was closed

    Fine rooms nice location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Art Nouveau in downtown Zamora
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff Beautiful place almost like you are in a book by Agatha Christie

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2016

    9.6
    Un hotel excelente, en general.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Su arquitectura modernista, magníficamente restaurada y conservada.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    6.7
    The location and good wifi.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff on reception ignored us completely on check out and continued chatting amongst themselves and just pushed across our invoice without even looking at us.

    The location and good wifi.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    4.2
    They did move us when our room became very uncomfortable...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    First room was very uncomfortable with no ventilation. No lighting in the graffiti covered garage.

    They did move us when our room became very uncomfortable because we could not open a window.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    7.5
    Helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wi-Fi very weak (4th floor) Restaurant overpriced for micro wave stuff (during Semana Santa)

    Helpful staff Art Deco interior (staircase) Closely located to the historical center Parking space available (fee) in garage under hotel Comfortable bed Breakfast ok, not extraordinary

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    5.8
    Helpful staff, reasonable breakfast and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find, front of hotel had scaffolding which obscured the name. Car park was ill-lit. Windows of room were grubby. Shower in bath lacked safety handles to get in and out.

    Helpful staff, reasonable breakfast and good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    9.6
    The building had some distinctive features e.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fourth floor rooms had severely sloping ceilings in places and they were lit by roof lights so there was no view. Breakfast could have offered more choice.

    The building had some distinctive features e.g. the staircase. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was good.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.5
    A hearty welcome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    For hygienic reasons we prefer rooms with a hard floor instead of wall-to-wall carpet

    A hearty welcome Good tourist information provided Located in the center close to the monuments Offers parking facility Room ok, early to mid-20th century furniture/style Has its own reasonably priced restaurant WiFi ok

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2015

    10
    Fantastic location , good car parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic location , good car parking.. The reception staff very very good and spoke excellent English , The car parking was very secure and easy to locate and there was a lift straight into the Hotel The food was fantastic we had a meal in the eveving which was excellent and very good value, Breakfast was also spot on.. My second visit here, we will return again !!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    6.7
    Nice stylish furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    My perception of a 4 star hotel is obviously different from the Spanish rating agency. In most other countries this would be a 3 stars.

    Nice stylish furniture.

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2015

    6.7
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A room with only a skylight window and a dangerous head height beam. We had to move the bed to avoid this. Poor breakfast.

    The location was good. Good garage for secure parking.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    6.7
    Fab location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Btown centerathroom was extremely tired with shower rail held up by fishing line. Not 4 star. more like a guest house. Car Park very dark two different lifts to get to it.

    Fab location. nice old building with interesting decor. Market is open early opposite with places to get coffee and snacks and lots of interesting food.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    7.5
    with-in walking distance to the castle and cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    tried to eat in the restaurant on the Monday night but it was closed as it was local holiday.If you are tall you would hit your head on the beams in the room on the top floor and no window to look out of

    with-in walking distance to the castle and cathedral.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2015

    10
    Location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was spotty which made working frustrating at times. Bed was very hard. Other than these issues everything was great!

    Location was great. Friendly staff. Large room. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    6.7
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor breakfast, had to ask for cereal and then for milk, when it arrived it was hot! The 'hot' selection of food was congealed and cold. Hotel restaurant closed on Sunday, asked reception for their recommendations and were sent to two - both of which were closed on Sundays as well! It is attention to little details that turns a stay from 'unremarkable' to super - or in this case, poor. Must do better for a 4*

    Location. On site secure parking. Comfortable bed.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    10
    The staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bar area could be improved, felt a bit like a cafe and not somewhere you could while away the hours. Although there is another bar at the reception that looks lovely, but was not open whilst we were there for the night. Bar serve was excellent though.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast offered a good choice. The rooms was clean, comfortable and quiet. Worth having a look around the hotel as some lovely original Arc Deco features.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2015

    6.7
    Location was ideal to explore Zamora.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were sadly lacking in terms of customer service. They were not friendly and quite curt when we asked for an iron - something basic to most hotels. They also did not tell us anything about the spa facilities so we ended up feeling rather unwelcome. Even during the exciting real fire alarm, we were left puzzling where to muster while the staff flapped about ignoring their guests. The local people in Zamora could not have been nicer so it was strange to find those in 'customer service' at the hotel so unfriendly and casual about their guests. It's a good hotel ideally situated: Nothing a decent manager couldn't sort out.

    Location was ideal to explore Zamora. The room was comfortable and spotless.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.6
    I love the period deco of this historic hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I love the period deco of this historic hotel. Everything was in very good and elegant taste without being pretentious. The location is perfect and the main places of interest are easily accessed within a few minute's walk.

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2015

    9.6
    Hotel is well positioned in the centre of Zamora, with easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing.

    Hotel is well positioned in the centre of Zamora, with easy access to the main shopping and restaurant areas. Tradionally decorated and furnished, but not in a tired way - very attractive. The receptionist on duty during our stay was outstanding - friendly, pro-active and spoke excellent English - a credit to the Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    10
    The central location,the warmth of the hotel, the friendly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Maybe shabby carpets should be replaced.

    The central location,the warmth of the hotel, the friendly reception, the excellent restaurant all make this hotel a great choice and very good value.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    9.2
    This is not a flashy hotel and the decoration is very out of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This is not a flashy hotel and the decoration is very out of date, but it is comfortable, spacious and very reasonably priced.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Very spacious rooms with antique type furniture, very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed a bit too firm

    Very spacious rooms with antique type furniture, very quiet

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    10
    Nice friendly and helpful staff, waitress at evening meal...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice friendly and helpful staff, waitress at evening meal was a joy. Hotel in great location for old town

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.2
    Just a pleasure to stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just a pleasure to stay here.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel, big suite with good bathroom.
    • Family with older children

    Lovely hotel, big suite with good bathroom. We were three adults in the same room and all the beds were comfortable. The staff was very kind.

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    10
    Lovely hotel, well looked after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lovely hotel, well looked after. Excellent location for town centre

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    7.5
    Well worth the 48euros per room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Well worth the 48euros per room.

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2015

    9.6
    Large Suite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large Suite

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.3
    hotel in centre of town walking distance to castle,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    hotel in centre of town walking distance to castle, restaurants and bars

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2015

    7.5
    close to centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    close to centre

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    7.9
    Nice architecture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast OK but not great.

    Nice architecture. Not noisy.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    9.2
    The best breakfast ever, plenty for everyone's needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, great location with off road parking

    The best breakfast ever, plenty for everyone's needs

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    8.3
    Large room, central location but quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room, central location but quiet room. fridge in room. Interesting market opposite front.

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    9.2
    Quality of furnishings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Quality of furnishings Quiet room Good night's sleep

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    8.3
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Central location Excellent dinner in restaurant Secure parking Good value

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    6.7
    Hotel was decently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bit old and expensive for what it had. Could easily hear noise from room above.

    Hotel was decently located

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    8.3
    Location was excellent .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpet needed cleaning.

    Location was excellent .

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in great location to explore Zamora's...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely hotel in great location to explore Zamora's historic buildings. Hotel restaurant is very good. Secure parking for motorbike a plus.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Central location ,parking for motorcycle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Central location ,parking for motorcycle

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    8.8
    Good central location, near the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    car park is a bit of a challenge to find.

    Good central location, near the old town

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2015

    8.8
    The city was compact and the old buildings were interesting...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The city was compact and the old buildings were interesting to wander around

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    9.6
    The location was perfect for all sightseeing the beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The location was perfect for all sightseeing the beautiful historic buildings. Beautiful breakfast selection. Car park facility.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    10
    We were allocated a junior suite which was just perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    We were allocated a junior suite which was just perfect

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    Comfortable, relaxing, private.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, relaxing, private. Helpful staff. Excellent location. Great breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    7.5
    Lovely bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Lovely bathroom. Nice room, traditional, not modern.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    8.3
    Ideal for our requirements
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Ideal for our requirements

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    10
    Everything is great, Spacious Room and Bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Everything is great, Spacious Room and Bathroom.

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sercotel Horus Zamora traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: