Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace 5 stars

Plaza de España, 19, 06800 Merida, Spain

#4 of 15 hotels in Merida

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2733 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in an interesting town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our air conditioner didn’t work very well and the pillows are a bit strange, but the rooms are a good size.

    Stunning hotel in the centre of a charming town. Beautifully restored building with a very welcoming staff. Front desk particularly helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel and in center of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say.

    Great hotel in the city center. Great service. Clean and friendly. Perfect for walking around the city and seeing the historic sites. Close to some great restaurants. Will stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    Our triple room was very spacious and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no parking. Arriving with a car and looking for a car park was very stressful. The pool is tiny and there wasn't enough room for the all the guests who wanted to be on the roof top terrace. The member of staff who checked us in wasn't very welcoming. Not rude - but not friendly.

    Our triple room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. The location is amazing. The views from the roof top terrace are lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    8.8
    Excellent base for visiting the Roman ruins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Air conditioning was poor. Breakfast quite limited

    Well located on the central square and close to the Roman sites. Excellent pool for children on the roof.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    7.9
    Location and beautiful old building, helpfulness of staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little option but to use valet parking, at 20€ convenient but expensive. In fact I would sum up this 5 star hotel in the same way. It was to be a luxury stop on our trip through Spain but it did not live up to that. On the hottest day of the year, 44 degrees, we were allotted Room 310, an internal room, very stuffy. There was a problem with the air con on the 3rd floor. At 6pm we were told a technician was dealing with it. At just before midnight when we returned, the room was unbearable. After more than one complaint we were moved to a junior suite on the second floor. Although we were happy with the outcome, I feel we should have been moved immediately. Pool is tiny!

    Location and beautiful old building, helpfulness of staff. Rooms highly decorated with Roman effects-bit too much for my taste but that is personal.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Value price hotel with 4 star amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we were only there one day!

    Amenities of a 4 star hotel at a great price. Staff were friendly helpful and efficient. Location was perfect for visiting the Roman ruins. Rooms spacious. A true gem.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    OK but would look elsewhere for the price we've paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffeemin the room rather than just tea. Also not really a five star hotel, four star at best. 24 hour room service was there but only after we insisted it said on the literature did we get it. Breakfast choice limited and uninspiring for the price.

    Location. Pleasant cheerful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.9
    Good breakfast, fantastic location, cozy small sun terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit worn down, and smelled a bit old/muld.

    Good breakfast, fantastic location, cozy small sun terrace with pool overlooking main square.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about really (but wish there was muesli at breakfast)

    Great hotel right on the main square... our room was eye level with spires and stork nests.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel has a great location and is easy to get to. We drove into town and pulled right up front. The staff was very helpful, friendly and welcomed us warmly. The rooms (2) were large with great beds and bathrooms. The hotel is beautiful and centrally located to enjoy the downtown.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Jouni
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Saturday night was little bit noisy, but not hotels fault.

    Room, location, staff and breakfast excelent. We like also very much about pool in top of hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Amazing hotel in the middle of Mérida luxury and charm combined with history
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location couldn't be better in the middle of Merida with access to all roman ruins and sites to see , plus very good bars & restos and allows you to walk to discover those. Service is amazing with care for guests and extra details. Nothing is a problem, you feel at home. They have vale parking as well so its all made for you to enjoy the space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel, wonderful staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room bathroom didn't offer hair conditioner and the shower pressure was quite low.

    The staff was very friendly and very helpful, even as we were very late with check in. The hotel was in an absolutely great location and my family and I had a great time a this hotel. The breakfast was great as well and the staff allowed us to eat even after the 11 AM closing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Lovely, would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really helpful and friendly staff. Hotel is right on a central square and the room was big and lovely, with a Roman tile theme fitting in with the Roman ruins of the town. Great recommendation from reception to go and eat at Nico Jimenez famous for Jamon ibérico and delicious tapas style dishes.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    Location was perfect and it’s a lovely boutique hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect and it’s a lovely boutique hotel. The staff could not be more helpful. Because it is so central it can be noisy at night but you have the option of closing the window and turning on the air conditioner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay in the middle of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing not to like about the hotel...be aware that the valet parking is extra and yet it feels necessary in the middle of the city.

    This hotel is in the middle of the city and offers valet parking (which makes it easy to pull up to, etc). It is lovely, somewhat ornate and formal. Our room, facing the square, was a nice sized with a separate entrance/closet area giving us plenty of room to unpack/spread out without cluttering the room. The breakfast, which was included, was a bonus: the only hotel we stayed at which offered eggs, any style along with an unbelievable spread of meats, cheeses, fruits, yogurts, pastries and so on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Marvellous 5* experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love this hotel. It is not only beautiful, nice bedrooms with amazing bathroom, delicious breakfast, friendly staff. Everything that you want or need they have for sure!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful hotel excellently located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sauna was closed with no justification. The extra-bed was very small compared to the normal ones which for three men over 1,85m made one of us sleep on a small bed.

    Spacious room with a big bathroom, with everything perfectly clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Although the breakfast was very heavily meat-based, there were also excellent options for someone who preferred something different or lighter. Very well located.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THIS IS NOT a 5* hotel by any stretch of the imagination. The pool is a glorified bath, the gym dismal and the bar not only is it not open all the time but has less of a selection than ones home bar. A five star hotel would serve food 24/7 here it was impossible to get food out of Spanish hours. A best this is a nice 3*

    Very good location, staff were very helpful and friendly, bed was comfortable and shower powerful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.3
    A centrally located, beautiful hotel.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A centrally located, beautiful hotel. But our room was way too hot. I asked to turn on the air conditioning, but it never happened and ended up sweating in my sleep which isn't something I'd expect from a 5 star hotel. Don't waste your time here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location for all the city attractions, excellent staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy inside the atrium of the hotel, also noisy outside. No hot food available until 20.30..? This is not good enough for a hotel of this star rating.

    Great location for all the city attractions, excellent staff, beautifully renovated property.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    9.6
    The Ilunion was a lovely, comfortable hotel, just make sure there are no events going in the square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    While not a reflection of the hotel itself, we didn't realize we wwould be in Merida on the first night of the Carnaval festival, which included extremely loud rock music on the square in front of the hotel until 5 am...we didn't sleep at all the second night of our stay.

    The hotel has a beautiful lobby! The room was comfortable, with a nice big bed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    7.5
    Good staff, poor food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a meal in the restaurant which, apart from getting different things than we ordered, the food was awful, and in the case of one item, still frozen! The risotto was just boiled long grain rice with a few mushrooms. I do not recommend eating in the restaurant!

    Well situated hotel with character. The Manager dealt with our concerns about our meal very well, and we left feeling we had been fairly treated, despite everything. (See below)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel - great value - little noisy at the front of the hotel due to location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilets smelt like sulfur, a room on the plaza is great as you have fantastic views but very noisy at night. Earplugs are needed to sleep. (which i had with me anyway)

    Huge room, beautiful ambiance, comfortable bed, great location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location and nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don't believe it is really a five star hotel, more like a four star.

    Amazing location, near everything you want to see. Staff very nice. All good in general.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed or stay very much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing really.

    Staff at reception were extremely friendly and provided information about all the Merida sights. Hotel is in an excellent location in the central plaza close to all the main Roman sights. Our room look out to the cathedral so to one side of the plaza and very quite. There is 10min easily accessible parking for luggage drop off and a valet service at 20 Euros a day. The paking is 15Euros a day or 20Euros for a week so if you are there more than one day take the weekly parking. The park is 800m or a pleasant 10min walk along the river. There is a 15Euro ticket to see the major sights of Merida at your leisure. Read a review that Merida was a small town with nothing to see! Clearly they had their eyes shut! Easily spend 2-3 days and still not see everything. Nice restaurants and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Really good - would go again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No garage facility but parked easily nearby on street - but it was a Sunday evening.

    Lovely interesting room - more like a suite. Interesting décor of hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Weekend in Merida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel had no parking on site, so had to pay EUR 19 per day and have the car driven away by hotel staff to another location. Very bad drain smells in the bathroom one afternoon. Seems like this was also the case in other rooms.

    Loaction was perfect, and facilities were very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.7
    We shall not use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived on New Years eve only to find that the restaurant was fully booked for that evening. There were no restaurants open in the town and the only food available was a much reduced room service menu (only 3 choices) which was very expensive for what it was. Ordering this was hit and miss as the kitchen staff did not speak English. Disappointing for a five star hotel. There is no car parking available at the hotel, only valet parking at an extra cost.

    The room was fine although we could not adjust the temperature to a suitable level.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    10
    A beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We should have stayed longer!

    What a beautiful building and the reception area is breathtaking. The decor is stunning and our room was comfortable, clean and we just loved everything about it.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, but expensive and with inconsistent level of service.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Plaza España is really busy so it can be noisy. Our room was at the back and the windows are soundproofed so we were fine but it's worth thinking about. Other hotels in town would have a more quiet location. The reason I have rated the property down however is because of an issue with breakfast on our day of departure. It's a long story so I won't go into the details but we needed to have breakfast half an hour before the scheduled time and the front desk wouldn't accomodate us in any way. I think a 5 star hotel with 24 hour room service should be able to offer something either to take away or even something small in your room in such a situation. It was especially an issue as nothing else was open when we left. I don't think the hotel handled the situation well. In saying that most of the front desk staff were extremely nice and helpful it's unfortunately just the one we encountered when we needed something who let the side down.

    The palace is a reasonably large hotel in an old building on the main plaza in Mérida. The building is lovely - we had two inconnecting rooms for ourselves and our two kids. This was a perfect sitiuation. Our rooms were large and very clean and at the back of the hotel so away from the noise of Plaza España. Breakfast on the first day was excellent. The rooftop terrace has lovely views over the plaza and surrounding stork nests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.6
    A great stay; work on the daily parking cost🙂
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking...The nice thing about the parking was, that it was valet parking. It’s the price, we did not like $19.50 per day. 😒

    The staff was very helpful👍🏾 The room was great, due to it being on the 1st level and our view was the Plaza. We loved the location...Everything you wanted to see was within walking distance. Good restaurants all nearby. Planning to come back to Merida and stay @ this hotel again. Stays in towns are wonderful, when the accommodations are pleasant, after a full day of walking to see the highlights of the town👍🏾 Could improve w/ the parking situation. Way toooo expensive to pay for parking😏

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.6
    Bed was massive and really comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning didn’t work and pit out hot air

    Bed was massive and really comfortable. Bathroom was really nice with two sinks, one for each of us

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    6.7
    Lovely property, but expensive, and service was not of 5-star helpfulness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was cold. Double bed was two hard mattresses pushed together - some springs could be felt. Hotel reception declined to pre-book a taxi from and back Badazoj airport. Printer attached to lobby PC did not work. Breakfast hugely overpriced at 16 euros.

    Stunning lobby Moorish decor, lots of lovely places to sit, including a roof terrace with great views of the square. Location perfect for exploring the town. Room was spacious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    7.9
    Central placed hotel to visit the sites!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise could have been reduced by better window glazing.

    Great position to see the sites of this wonderful town. The hotel had historical detail, loved the courtyard dining. The hotel had parking at a small cost per night. Staff took the car and returned it for departure. Our room was fine for a standard double and only a one night stay. The Plaza outside the the social centre of the town on a Saturday night so there was late night noise till late. There was a roof terrace with a small pool and sun beds. Great view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Good stopping off place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking on site is always helpful but this is not possible. Although a nice room it was noisy through the night due to it being Halloween!

    Perfect situation in the main square with a lot of character.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic location in a lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I arrived on a Sunday afternoon, and it was difficult to find street parking near the hotel. The hotel does offer paid parking, but it was a little expensive, especially because on Sundays, street parking is free.

    Very nice and quiet room, facing the back alley. The hotel is perfectly located for a walkable visit in Merida. Everything is close by, and the town itself has loads of history, especially from the Roman era. It seems a somewhat quiet town, but it becomes busier at night, when the locals come out to wine and dine. The hotel is right on the town square, which has loads of choice when it comes to restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Good central location to explore the sights of Merida.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were some painting works going on during our stay so we didn't get to hang out in the patio/bar area.

    Literally faces the central square so walking to everything was no problem. Also easy to find to by car - valet parking (€19/night) available from out front of the hotel. Waiters at breakfast were very patient with our broken Spanish.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    I did love the location right into the city centre in front...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I woldn't say this is a 5 star hotel. I admit it is nice and spacious, but there are some flaws, like the cheap room doors that are not sound proof. Also, the rooms decoration is a bit dated, or perhaps a little too fancy, with fake roman stone decorations...

    I did love the location right into the city centre in front of Plaza España. Great place to go outside for dinner or walk around the shopping streets. The building looks very nice from the outside and also the hall area and patio. My room was so spacious with all the necessary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Lovely lively area away from the busy tourist traps around the amphitheatre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was fantastic overlooking a large square where Spanish families gathered in the evening. Very easy to get to all the sightseeing attractions in Merida. We enjoyed eating dinner on the terrace beside the square. Breakfast was very good but expensive. We had booked a suite but found that it had no external window only one in the sitting area facing into a dark courtyard within the hotel. The staff promptly moved us to a large double room with views of the square which we were very happy with.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Pleasant and magical
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is built on an ancient Roman Castle with many of the original structure incorporated into the current structure! All the rooms overlook the ancient Roman Cathedral and Roman ruins. This small town is nothing like u have ever seen! It is like walking back into history, since every single Archeological structure has become part of their life!! I have traveled to many historical towns and countries and believe me nothing like that have I seen before!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.8
    Amazing location and hotel. Smallest pool ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff is good but not 5*. Breakfast is good but not 5*. Hotel pool is very small and there are not enough spots to seat

    Location, beautiful entrance and building, nice functional rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    6.7
    Not very good. Would choose alternative hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had an issue with our reservation, and needed to amend our booking but unfortunately the Hotel was not very accommodating. Had a poor nights sleep due to noise from outside the hotel. On a separate note the beds were very firm, and not very comfortable. Breakfast area was not very inviting. Would find alternative accommodation if we visited Merida again.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    9.2
    The breakfast was simply amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That we had to get 2 rooms for a family of 3 because of the beds offered in a room. Double beds would have made this perfect. I understand it is due to space.

    The breakfast was simply amazing. Also, for dinner, spectacular. I am telling my friends that the dinner we ate here was one of the best throughout our travels through Spain and Portugal. The chef is a keeper. We would dine there regularly if we could.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a 5 star rating but really is more like a 4. It's A lttle dated. We were offered a king bed,but it turned out to be 2 beds pushed together.

    The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful. Bar service was good and the food at breakfast was fresh and well prepared,lots of healthy choices. We especially enjoyed being offered eggs cooked fresh to order. We had dinner in the dining room our last night and we're sorry we hadn't tried it sooner. The food was much better than the highly recommended one we went to the night before.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.2
    I enjoyed my stay - the hotel was a pleasant refuge after...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I enjoyed my stay - the hotel was a pleasant refuge after sight seeing during very hot weather; my room was large with a comfortable bed; the foyer/bar area is a great space to relax with a drink and I had a couple of enjoyable meals from the hotel restaurant. Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated for exploring the town as it is on the central plaza. If deals are avalaible on the room rate it is very reasonable for the quality of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    9.6
    Top value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location, in the very centre of town. Great air conditioning much needed in Merida in summer. A very calm and relaxed atmosphere in the hotel, it is excellent value for money. Concierge very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.0
    Excellent choice as so close to all the sights. Lovely staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel food. After our first dinner we ate elsewhere.

    We loved the room. Clean,air con. Bathroom excellent. The only draw back was the dinner. Out of five desserts two were not available and the main course was reasonable. Nothing great. Really cannot fault this hotel and it is situated a walk away from all amenities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Good Overnight Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar appeared not to be open even though it was.

    Great location in the square. Easy to get to places of interest in Merida although walking around was hard during our stay as is was so hot! Good roof top plunge pool to cool off with sun beds to relax on with great views over the town. Room was comfortable and spacious. Valet parking was efficient. Didn't eat at the restaurant but enjoyed drinks outside in the shade. Would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in a great location but none of the facilities were available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No parking, outdoor pool closed, indoor pool closed, no fitness suite, food below average.

    Beautiful building, lovely suite, staff very friendly and extremely helpful, great location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    9.6
    Best choice ever.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower over bath requires a big step and there are no grab handles. The pillows could have been softer.

    The room and facilities are spectacular. Public areas gorgeous, staff charming. Decor superb and everything spotlessly clean. I like the attitude of the hotel towards disabilities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    Loved the rooftop pool!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was quite hard.

    The location was perfect. We could walk to the roman ruins. The valet parking was also greatly appreciated. We had the buffet breakfast and it was pretty good. The price was very reasonable. We also loved the pool!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel and v gd value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No bar or room service late at night so couldn't have a last drink on terrace. Probably a good thing!

    Beautiful building tastefully renovated. Our room was gorgeous and huge. Free soft drinks in mini bar. Staff were v professional. Wonderful roof terrace with plunge pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.4
    quite a disaster
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioner was not working properly (the temperature control was basically a decoration). we booked a double bed room and it was two single beds putting together. the hair dryer was broken with some previous customers hairs and dust inside... slow check-in. no views from the window. the sauna room was closed during the hours when it was supposed to open.

    room décor

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    It's a great hotel to visit Mérida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view for.... a wall right front your face. The noise coming out at night on weekend The breakfast could be better Please avoid the room 124 or near

    Room size. Cousy roof top with a great view to the square. The bathroom acessorize and good water pressure shower.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.2
    Historical significance
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Currently Plaza Espana was under construction. In a few weeks that will be completed and all will be good again.

    Location was central to all. The cafe and breakfast was good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    lovely hotel spoiled by building works
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Sadly, the very big problem with this hotel is that there is substantial building work in the square; which is very noisy and completely spoils the view from the terrace and pool. Even more sad is that,once the building is complete, 4 big, permanent concrete structures will be at the 4 corners of the square; Heaven knows why the town would do such a thing. The other slightly sad thing is the most spectacular room of the hotel (in white marble) has no chairs so can't be sat in.

    Very pretty hotel.Valet parking cost but was very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    7.9
    Location was fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The valet parking was well organised but we waited quite a while for our luggage to be brought down . We would have done this ourselves if we had known.

    Location was fantastic.Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    10
    Perfect stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is very nice, on a perfect spot in front of a main square with several terraces. You can go walking everywhere. The best, the swimming pool in the roof (not too big but perfect for a small swim). Receptionist were incredible nice and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    Good location but a little disappointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For the price I had expected better. It is not a 5 star hotel. It is very pleasant but the rooms are smaller than I expected. The toilet is in a separate room set off from the bath and sink area but it has no door. The rooms are supposed to be soundproof but they are not.

    Very good location right on Plaza de Espana.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel,rock hard bed 😞
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed, although very large with good quality sheets was very hard and uncomfortable. As were the rock hard pillows. A hotel of this quality needs to provide a range of pillows and feather pillows.

    The hotel was very clean. The public spaces were comfortable and the range of food at breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.8
    Good located, clean, comfortable and stylish hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The city was founded by Caesar Augustus Octavius about 19 B.C., an named "Emerita Augusta", then as the Musislims conquered the peninsula, the city takes its former name "Mérida". So it is a two milenian history city. When Christianity take it back, as it belongs restart its traditions as th Holy Week for instance or the beverage and food. Good wines excellent cheese.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.5
    Central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon not functioning. Staff didn't seem to know how to fix it. Would be a big problem in summer. Parking expensive. Works in Plaza Espana noisy but not hotels fault. Maybe advance warning would be good.

    Central location. Spacious room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    9.6
    Memorable and ideally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower is extremely slippery. Be very careful! The safe did not work when we checked in, and the first attempt to repair it was unsuccessful. The staff immediately offered to move us to another room, but we did not take them up on the offer. In any case, it was fixed soon thereafter.

    Lovey hotel ideally located on the Plaza de Espana within walking distance of almost everything you would like to see in Merida. The rooms are large, clean, comfortable, and well appointed, and the staff is quite helpful. we did not dine in the hotel but enjoyed the charming lobby bar.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    excellent hotel in interesting town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The signs on the road indicating how to get to the hotel

    wonderful hotel in ideal location - superb staff - excellent staff - great room and bathroom - everything absolutely perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Perfect location for those who want to know the city and its...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Should have stay longer

    Perfect location for those who want to know the city and its attractions (you can easily visit all by foot if you have the strength). The building is amazing.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Central location and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom could have been cleaned a bit better.

    The hotel located in Plaza de España of Merida. It's just a short walk from train station and all the tourist sites. The room was spacious and comfortable. I had dinner in the hotel the first night and the food was excellent. And all the staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. The price is reasonable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    10
    The amiable staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A problem in which the hotel has no part whatsoever: on the square below the window noisy youngsters meet and disturb your sleep until daybreak - so one had better ask for a room that does not overlook the beautiful square...

    The amiable staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2017

    8.8
    A good value for money yet forget the breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast (low quality) and harsh attendance. Inclusively, we left the 2nd morning due to a bad attitude of a waitress, complaining she wouldn´t serve breakfast 15 minutes before closing time. On the first day, I found bread with mould (it had green patches) and a waitress replied; oh that bread is not from today. Sooo...that means that a 5-star hotel served old, stale and mouldy bread to its paying customers...good to know.

    Room/bed very comfortable in spite of no view (window led to an alley). The valet parking was excellent as the car parking was a bit far from the hotel. Overall pleasant and centrally located.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable Hotel/ Good location to see the Roman sites of Merida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast should be included or at a way more reasonable price. We decided to not pay the high fee for it. There are plenty of places nearby to get breakfast though, so no real problem. The water was hot, but the water pressure could be a lot better. It's not a 5* hotel by our standards, but it's a nice hotel.

    The room was cozy and clean. The location was great to see all of the Roman ruins and museums. The wifi worked good for our entire stay. The water was hot, and the room was at a warm temperature (there in winter). The bed was comfortable and the staff members were friendly. It was very quiet, and we even overslept one morning. Oops! Still had plenty of time to see everything though.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    9.2
    Luxury anniversary treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Being unable to park and having to pay for someone to move your car somewhere else

    Location for seeing sights Bedroom and bathroom luxurious and quiet Architecture and décor of the building Bar area and food Staff very professional

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception area was not well marked, and we wandered around for a bit without anyone approaching us to help. The front staff were primarily wonderful but there was one person who acted as though she was too busy for hotel guests. Overall, nice though. No parking onsite.

    The hotel is lovely, and the location easily walkable to most major sites. The breakfast was really nice, good variety. The bathroom was great, and the rain shower fantastic. Loved the outside patio upstairs. It's on a small side street, so it was quiet.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel in Mérida
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can't silence the church bells...they ring on quarter hour which means you have to sleep with windows closed unless you can sleep through them. The AC failed on our last night. Controls a little wonky..too cold, too hot, never got it really stable. But minor in the scheme of things given time of year.

    The room was fabulous, big, comfortable. Bathroom was spacious, water pressure actually worth mentioning. Staff very helpful. Lobby spacious, a little worn. Bar good, a little expensive. Restaurant very good. Our waiter/bartender very nice. Location on plaza very convenient and lively in a good way, lots of families.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent location to walk old Merida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very little of the original building interior appears to be left Parking valet service overpriced given that it is a requirement of the location of the hotel

    Excellent location to walk old Merida

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.8
    Lovely traditional hotel in the centre of Merida
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only one person on the desk when checking out and so had to wait, but only 10 minutes. Everything else very pleasant.

    Very comfortable bedroom and bathroom. 5 star luxury. Walked out of the hotel onto the main plaza in Merida and all the action!

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Ilunion Mérida Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: