Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Melia Tamarindos 5 stars

Retama, 3, 35100 San Agustin, Spain

#22 of 79 hotels in San Agustin

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 676 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    10
    Absolutely Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad to say at all

    Melia was absolutely amazing, the staff and resort itself. Everyone was very helpful and welcoming, alot of restaurants and shops around the area. The beach was clean and the pool area within the resort was spotless. We had an amazing time so relaxed and didnt want to leave. The food for breakfast lunch and dinner had alot of variety everything was lovely. We had a sea view room very big clean and the view was amazing

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    8.3
    Location is great, facilities are awesome, everything feels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything is quite costly and overpriced.. staff should inform early about our checkout and not make the room key disabled without informing. Dat was d bad bit!!

    Location is great, facilities are awesome, everything feels premium, staff is friendly and breakfast is a sumptuous spread😋 The pool and beach are also wonderful. We had pool side dinner at TBN and it was awesome. Had a relaxing time otherwise.. made our honeymoon fun😊

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.8
    Loved grounds. Relaxing. Food none better anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were very dated and not five star standard. Unfortunatly we were not in sea view which made it worse for us. We requested a change but were unable to do. Not enough waiting staff so tables left uncleared all the time. Not staff fault they were all working so hard. Needed more. Wish I could have seen this hotel in its full glory areas not used that I was dying to explore. Was brill in its day I bet.

    Gardens fabulous all credit to the gardeners. Staff all lovely but not enough as said before. Food was best hotel food I've ever had beautiful and compliments to who ever is in charge there. We have stayed in a few melia hotels even red level and this hotel by far had the best food. Location on the beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Restaurant was good, rooms small but comfortable, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as such but some overall renovation would do the hotel some good. It looks like it must have been the place to stay in at least a decade ago if not more.

    Restaurant was good, rooms small but comfortable, nice property though very obviously old

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect location, pool, hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected at least free bottles of water, for 5 star hotel I expected to have some sort of drinks for free.

    The pool, the location, the staff, everything was perfect!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    5.4
    Hotel may be 5 star but rooms are not...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the half board and found we had to pay for drinks - even water from the minibar. This is not advertised as well. The location has great connection to maspalomas by bus but the san Agustin area is very dry. Not much to do there and in the night the area goes dead.

    Staff were extremely helpful and the service was great. Food was in good abundance for every meal. The pool area and the social element was good - the bar put on live shows each night which was the highlight.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.5
    Outside area was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were dated and were definitely not 5 star. There were no drawers in bedside tables or wardrobes so we had had to keep smalls in the safe. Also no iron or tea and coffeemaking facilities.

    Outside area was excellent. Very large lush gardens that you walked through to get to pools area. This area also had easy access to just walk out into the beach.it was blissful to hear the ocean behind and parrots squawking in the trees.The beds were amazing very large and the comfiest I've ever slept in.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    A very enjoyable holiday and we will certainly reurn.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 22 nights

    The security gate to the promenade was malfunctioning when we arrived and to make functional took six days of grumbling to reception!!

    The service was excellent, the staff were friendly and very helpful and we have no complaints and would return again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.3
    The suite was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Level Junior Suite with Sea Views and Executive Lounge Access (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Thought the choice of food was limited and did NOT like that we had to wait for fish/meat/pasta to be cooked to order. The LEVEL food was empty a lot of the time.

    The suite was perfect. The pool has a fabulous layout. The staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    5.8
    Swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy room Smelly toilet Uncomfortable double beds and horrible duvet cover which was made with 2 line sheets covering the duvet. In the morning the duvet was without any cover...

    Swimming pool Garden

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    7.9
    Lovely grounds, hotel a little dated in places and lacks atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room and bar have zero atmosphere. The ceilings are low and the dining room feels a little like a school. The entertainment in the bar was typical and not bad. Age group for the hotel is generally 60+ so quiet.

    The grounds are lovely. The pools are excellent, one small not heated and a larger heated one. Proximity to the beach is excellent but also secluded and quiet, no loud music pumping out which was a joy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Loved the Level service - the lounge with the special key...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub was always too cold for our liking (between 27 to 30 degrees!)

    Loved the Level service - the lounge with the special key access and hottub access for Level

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    3.8
    Horrible. Barely a 2star hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I begin.... Room orders were over 45 minutes late, and a concierge had to come to re-take the order after 20 minutes, no one in the kitchen speaks any sort of english and dont do orders as requested; Laundry is very bad(or not even working),laundry ia returned very late,and with room service, if you leave the laundry bag as instructed wont pick it up; There is no room upgrade ,meaning that you pay a 5 star price and you dont even get to see the sea, also, hotel wont refund you the days you pay if you have to check out early and wont offer you loialty points just because you book thru booking...like they dont receive the same money or something. Hotel overall is old, beds are uncomfortable, room is spartan with no kettle,microwave or a fridge that works( mine was leaking) , AC doesn't really work, water tastes funny, internet is slow to the point of unusable, and ,finally, the menu is pretty weak. All this for a 5 star hotel that barely is worth 3. You are being held hostage by the money you pay upfront. Highly do not recommend!! Will use different hotel next visit 100%. This one is a rip-off.

    Breakfast was alright.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel. Good situation. Great staff. Rubbish food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food served in the restaurant in the evenings was dreadful. Not cooked well at all and certainly not what we are used to. Certainly not 5 star standard.

    The breakfasts were great - lots of choice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    realy enjoyable and would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No real access to a drink of any type, soft, coffee, or alcoholic up in the hotel during the day unless you had paid to be on the levels, only bar area open during the day was down at the far end of the pool. Rooms a little tiered and could do with some TLC.

    The whole breakfast experience was good. We also had a meal in the a la carte restaurant and this was also exceptional. The pool area was also very nice with plenty of sun loungers.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable, would go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Check in took forever and seemed very complicated. All subsequent interactions with the front desk were excellent and they could not have been more charming or helpful. Seemed to be the process that was at fault not any of the staff. Very few pleasant spaces to sit when the rain starts. A daily special at the pool restaurant would have been great. I ate the same thing every day I was there as nothing else I liked.

    Staff were ALL charming and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.3
    Great location. 5 star gounds 3 star accommodation. Hotel is a little tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The check in was not good. The room was not ready. No problem as we were a little early, so as directed we waited in the reception area. No one came to inform us the room was ready, after half an hour we enquired and the room was ready. The receptionist failed to give us the room keys. Apart from breakfast we only ate once at the hotel as the food was poor and expensive. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room. 5 star hotel-really????

    The hotel grounds and pool area are immaculately kept and are worth a 5 star rating.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    7.5
    Good but not really five star quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Lack of higher quality food items on the breakfast buffet. The buffet itself has a wide choice but mainly cheaper food items. Worst bacon I've ever had in a hotel. Don't know how they prepared it but it was more cooked than crispy baked.

    Breakfast buffet was plentyfull but also consisted in a choice of cheaper food items. The team cleaning the tables at the breakfast are mostly older people BUT extremely good in what they do. Super team and helpful. Melia is five star because of the accomodation but they lack a real five star mentality. We saw staff laughing with people having problems getting from the reception area to the higher area with buggies and trolleys. The customers were helped by other customers while the staff stood laughing at the reception desk. Around the pool area, every 2 hours (just a guess, we only saw it once) somebody might go around collecting glasses and drinks from the tables. All in all, fair price / quality ratio but don't go there expecting topclass 5 star treatment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    We would propose some music/entertainment a couple of evenings, that would be nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The beds where too hard for our likes. The coffee at breakfast could be warmer. That's the only two things we were not fully content with.

    Very nice staff everywhere. Clean and nice. Good breakfast. Nice pool.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    5.0
    Hotel was bad value and weather disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception staff was indifferent to our request on arrival. we asked for a room with sun on the balcony Advised that none were available. Rooms with a sea view cost extra €30 per night, when available. We waited from 11;30am and were shown two rooms at 2;00pm When we expressed acceptance of the room with side view we were then told that we could have one of two rooms on 6th floor with sea view costing €85 per day. We took room 623 and paid an extra €255 on top of €520 for three nights B & B.The room was small with double bed and one single chair. It had a small balcony and limited WiFi. We had relocated from H 10 in Playa Meloneras Palace which is an excellent hotel. It was a very bad decision on our part

    a la carte restaurant was excellent as was the Level breakfast

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    4.6
    not wourth it at all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    well the staff at the reception was so so so not professional for 5 stars hotel as it took about 30 minutes to check in and in the end we get a room that wasn't already cleaned as the lady was still cleaning ,the bed was a desaster not comfortable at all slide door to balkong was so so so old as the hotel in general is so old and I paid about 370 euros for 2 nights and its not worth it at all and when we checked out we was asking to pay 9 euros for drinks that we drank in the bar a night before but we wasn't at all in the bar a night before and in the second day when we wanted to go in to the room the card didn't work when I went down to the reception asking about it they told me that was a wrong as we was registering to stay 1 day only and he fix it for us ,, so my opinion its not worth the money and it could be a 4 stars hotel or maybe 3 ,, I was disappointed really

    breakfast was ok

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyable most of the time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff did not have enough teapots during breakfast time. We could not sit outside on the balcony due to it been a smoking area.

    Location, straight on the beach. Lovely garden. Spacious dining room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    10
    Excellent and fantastic, would surely come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant choices, there should be more restaurant choices for all-inclusive, currently there is only one restaurant. Which is very good nothing to fault about and plenty of cuisines choices as well but for a course of 7 nights it gets a kind of monotonous as you are fixed.

    The service was absolutely good. The staff was very helpful, in fact everything was very good. The resort has everything that is required for a relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.5
    On the whole, a very clean, comfortable, attractive hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee was the worst I have ever tasted! Absolutely awful! WiFi was very inadequate and kept cutting out. Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in room.

    Facilities in hotel were excellent, pool was fab and jacuzzi only 3 euros per person for 30 minutes. Room was clean and comfortable with good balcony area. Good buffet selection at breakfast and dinner - one evening we had fillet steak and a chocolate fountain! Clean and comfortable communal areas and lovely gardens. Easy access to beach was a bonus. Buses easily accessible from very nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.1
    Staff and facilities was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the room with confirmation by booking.com that the hotel and our room had a balcony, this is big thing as we planned having room service k. Balcony and meals as was a nice view however not all rooms got a balcony this was not said on the booking and to contray confirmed 100% we would have a balcony, this ruined our trip as room was nothing like the photos or what we thought we was paying over £530 for 3nights for, the room was dark and would not have stayed here if I had known. This is booking.com thought for false advertisement unfortunately and the hotel was to fully booked to transfer us to a room with a balcony. Hopefully they update the rooms to state with and without balconies to avoid this happening to others. The hotel did say they would ensure booking.com updated this

    Staff and breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    6.3
    Lovely resort would look for different hotel if returned
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is expensive and as a five star disappointing that the spa was not really available unless you had booked treatments as well-this was not clear at the time of booking and I would not have booked had this been clear.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    10
    What a fantastic hotel, staff couldn't do enough for you - location superb. 5 star quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom a little small but adequate.

    The food was amazing - breakfast particularly fabulous - loads of choice of fruits, savouries, breads all super fresh. The beds were comfy and the balcony furniture excellent.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    3.3
    Cockroach warning !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Appologising to everything. No action at all to make your stay worth while

    Cockroach warning ! Terrible aircond. Roomsize. Booking.com 27m2 Real size. 21m2. They know the Word appologie but Do nothing Absolutly not 5 star.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.5
    In front of the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel on breakfast was seldom friendly. Used plates taken away only upon request. Friuts looked as they've been never washed. Glasses, cups, cattlery weren't clean quite often. I had room with separate bathroom and toilet, i cant figure out if it is good or bad but looked strange on the 1st glance. No complimentary water or kettle in the room (strange for 5*). Towels with holes several time.

    Really 2 steps from thr ocean. Big variety on breakfast. Room amenities. U should keep in mind that this is old hotel even in good condition. But for this price it is more than ok. We had 'mountain view' room - very quiet, no noise from the street. Luxury lovers better search another venue. Same for youth - very quiet hotel for people under 60 yo. Friendly staff at reception, but never asked about impressions on stay even upon departure. Free parking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    10
    Beach front with super relaxing pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi doesn't cover the entire property.

    Beautiful pool -- so nice we didn't bother with the beach outside. Spacious room with large balcony. Although the king bed is actually two doubles side-by-side. That was weird. Lots of tasty food at buffet breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    1. Breakfast Buffet had a lot of choices, but it is the same...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    1. Food was overpriced. For the same price of the dinner buffet, you could go to a fancy restaurant in town. 2. The water pipes are badly built. When in the bathroom, and the shower is running, you hear through the sink or toilet a loud blob blob, a sucking of air. Sounds like someone knocking at the door. Second is if someone takes a bath in any floor above you and takes out the drain, it sounds like a waterfall in your room.

    1. Breakfast Buffet had a lot of choices, but it is the same every day. 2. The grounds are very nice, away from all the busy part of town. The area of town is very quiet - what we like!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.5
    All Inclusive is NOT All Inclusive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to wear a wrist band. Also the fact that 'All Inclusive' was quite restricted and therefore is not all inclusive.

    Fantastic pool and friendly staff. Nice hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.8
    Beach is close, the hotel has free parking, staff is really...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast could have been better, and most importantly - glasses and dishes - cleaner.

    Beach is close, the hotel has free parking, staff is really friendly and helpful, spacy, peaceful and comfortable place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.7
    The room did not bave a view i could see only roofs and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room did not bave a view i could see only roofs and streets. So I asked for a better room with a view of the ocean, but i had To pay 30€ extra. No one helped with my baggage.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    8.8
    A very relaxing week
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Much as I like young children I personally would have preferred it if children were not allowed in the bar area after 11 p.m. Children running about unchecked is not conducive to a relaxing end to the day.

    Location of the hotel is very good practically on the beach. Normally we would have spent more time on the beach but because it is on the Atlantic fairly rough - waves kept knocking me over. Swimming pool very nice indeed. Food in restaurant very good and very varied. We were only there for 7 nights and every night was different. Spa located at the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    8.5
    Staff was good and polite
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing i can say bad is for one of the guy who is working on the bar. He in purpose tried to steal money from me when i was paying for my drink. Bad to see this when all other was good.

    Staff was good and polite

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing location by the beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breadroom decor outdated Food quality particularly meat could be better

    Hotel location is fantastic, we had a really lovely relaxing quiet break. Breakfast nice and food good overall. The only downside is the decor in rooms, the wall paper pealing...definitely needs a revamp however we did not see this as a massive set back. Let's hope it's revamped. Cleaning excellent. Overall a really perfect relaxing break by the beach!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    honeymoon hotel :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    -

    Location is perfect. Breakfast was delicious. We liked the garden and the beach. Kind staff, nice present surprised us in the room because of our honeymoon :)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    A very nice stay, but a few areas for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Overall really good, just maybe with some continuous improvements this could really turn the hotel into world class. This hotel is probably in reality a 4 star hotel on the cusp of a 5 star hotel. The staff are super friendly and helpful, but they need to be better managed in terms of how many are needed and when. There were moments at the pool bar and at reception where you could see they needed more specialised staff or roles at key moments to manage the flow and in turn generate more revenue for the hotel. The interior decor is starting to look dated. Replacing wall paper in key areas with fresh paint would do 80% of the trick. A danger area especially for kids and older adults were the tiles surrounding the entire pool area. So slippery!! My child fell once and my brothers child several times. Someone could break a hip. They need to replace these or lay down special sprays with grips. I spent the entire holiday saying "don't run!". Also the food at the pool bar has room for improvement. Menu is trying to be gourmet but generally fails at that. The chicken strips, wraps and tempura prawns/calamari were good, but some of the other dishes need replacing or simplified.

    The beach is fantastic, the staff very friendly, the choice at buffet for breakfast and dinner very good. Water though should be offered at dinner. very secure facilities. The pools are varied and excellent for children starting to swim, with various shallow areas and deeper areas for adults. The climate in the canary islands and the sea is first class.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    Very relaxing within 20 minutes of airport and walking distance of shopping centre and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bedroom was a bit tired and should be renovated and there were minor defects on the balcony. The balcony door could not close properly and accordingly the door sensor which controls the air conditioning was not performing properly.

    External features, gardens, pool area, patios etc. were fantastic. The staff were exceptionally efficient and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    7.1
    A tired hotel in need of a general update/refurbishment no longer warranting a five star rating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The hotel is very tired and should not be classifies as five star. The hotel endeavoured to impose a surcharge for the sea view on our departure without prior reference to us and disregarding the fixed price paid at the outset. The swimming pool surround is positively dangerous/ slippery and the tiles should be replaced without delay as part of a general update. The car approach to the hotel is breaking up and the surface needs urgent attention. The noise from the midday pool activities was unacceptably loud and unnecessary. We would not choose to stay there again.

    Very pleasant staff and good selection of food

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    5.8
    Got Tree View room instead of Sea View
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Paid extra for a Sea view room and emailed the hotel two weeks before our arrival asking for a sea view room on the 4th floor. We were celebrating my wife's birthday and wanted a room with a good view. When we arrived we were told the hotel was full and they could only give us a room on the 1st floor but it did have a sea view. To our disappointment our room had no view at all as there was a large palm tree blocking the entire balcony. We went to reception the next morning to complain and were told we could upgrade to the Level with a sea view for an extra €66.00 a night. When we checked out we again complained and spoke to an assistant manager and after much arguing she agreed to refund us €150.00 which was the extra we paid for a sea view. It seems this hotel puts customers in poor rooms with no view to extort more money from them to upgrade to a higher level. We were half board. The breakfast was very good, but the evening meals were not great, we only ate in the hotel two evenings of our five day stay.

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    5.0
    Paying 5 star prices for a 2-3 star hotel. Give it a miss.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Overall standard of service. Untidy dining room, not enough staff. Paid for a sea view, but could hardly see it. Couldn't get a drink in the hotel until 17.00 hours, but had to walk 150 yards to a pool bar which not very comfortable. It's rated 5 star, but it's nowhere near the standard of a 5 star. Some of the mains dishes looked awful. Also they had Brussels Sprouts once for breakfast! Entertainment lounge leaked rainwater, they had towels etc., on floor to soak it up. We also changed rooms after 3 nights because water entered our bathroom from the ceiling (pipe damage). Other guests shared the same opinion, this is a downmarket 'Melia' hotel, one to be missed. Not value for money.

    The grounds

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    7.1
    This should only be classed 4 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Bedrooms and dining room very dated and tired dining room ceiling leaked after it rained. WiFi didnt work around pool and intermitent in bedroom.

    Pool area was good with plenty of space and sun beds. Good timetable of exercise classes.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    10
    Fab stay recommend to all
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of like a tea coffee and kettle in room but everything else spot on.

    Lovely location, staff fantastic and room was perfect all the little extras were great too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    6.3
    Hotel was not what we expected from a 5*.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast only 3*, jungle music almost everywhere. We were not allowed to view our room before payment. Not allocated a table for breakfast.

    View out to sea, and the day we left.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    9.6
    Bday break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected the rooms to be a bit more modern for the price we paid

    The food was very good,the atmosphere was calm and relaxing especially the pool area amazing,the hotel staff was friendly and able to organise site seeing activities for us.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel but eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food at the hotel buffet restaurant was mediocre. There was a fairly good selection of food but the most of the hot foods were barely warm and the flavour of the food was very unimpressive compared to other places in the area. The coffee was very good but the only option was milk (a no fat or 1% milk, no cream available) I would go back to the hotel and have breakfast there (for the convenience) but eat elsewhere for lunch and supper. Also make sure, on leaving, that you read your hotel bill carefully. There were several items added that we had not used, as well as an automatic donation to a local charity. It was quickly corrected but nonetheless something that could easily be missed if you are in a rush to leave for a flight as we were.

    Service was excellent. Staff speaks several languages. Very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Good amenities. Easy to walk all the way to Maspaolmas and beyond. Plenty of shopping and restaurants close by. Photos on the hotel website are accurate and up to date.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.3
    The property was easy to get too.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Half board I assumed covered all non alcoholic beverages to include the stock coffee in the room, but I got the surprise bill at the end which was upsetting especially cause for $300 a night my coke and in room coffee should be free. The food was ok not much variety for toddlers. Lots of seafood and bread and cheese, no substitutes. I can't feed a non meat eating toddler bread and cheese all day though. They had on the cooking section some shrimp but when I asked them to cook me just the shrimp without the weird noodles I was denied so I was upset. I asked for plain rice as all they had was Spanish rice and they refused. Desserts weren't great either . The one thing I looked forward too was this chocolate mousse looking thing, but it wasn't chocolate it was coffee. Yuck!!! Made no sense, chocolate mousse is more universal. Breakfast had more variety but the dinner sucked for the extra price we paid. Jacuzzi could be hotter there wasn't even steam and it's not open to the hotel guests as public to access the jacuzzi you had to go to the spa and pay. Price wasn't bad 3 Eurostar for thirty minutes. But I like it hot!!!! The daycare part wasn't available on weekends so that was disappointing as we wanted to do the spa for two deal and couldn't. Wifi was hit or miss. I'm a member of this hotel but aside for the generous upgrade I wasn't blown away!

    The property was easy to get too. Glad we rented our own car easy to drive there. Loved free parking. We booked the family room and they upgraded us which was great! We booked half board so it was easy for us but read my review cause it wasn't worth it. January was cold and the acclaimed heated pools varied in opinion. The pool was only slightly heated (25 degrees) so still cold to get into. Spa deals were great and I highly recommend booking a spa treatment. the alcohol and entertainment was amazing! Location is bout 7 miles from Maspalomas which made for some fun day trips. The beach walk was great. The fun four level mall up the street perfect for beach shoppers. Staff always incredibly friendly. I highly recommend sangrias all day. Their drinks were well made and great priced!!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    7.9
    Double bed was huge and very comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main pool that was heated wasnt family friendly. U had a choice of a very shallow end (no good for adults) or a very very deep end (no good for young children or adults who arent strong at swimming) so there was no where for us to play in the pool as a family. The pool that would have been suitable wasnt heated and so was far too cold to use. The amenities of the hotel were in keeping of a 5 star hotel but overall i was disappointed. Not the luxury standard i was expecting.

    Double bed was huge and very comfy. Had great sleep. The area is good, location of beach is excellant and 1 good restaurant nearby. The others arent in keeping with a 5 star venue but were fine. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. The entertainment and services at the hotel were good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    5.4
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Not worth the money

    Definitely not a 5 star hotel. Worn and in need of an upgrade. wi-fi works poorly. I can not understand why we had two pay in advance in a 5 star hotel, Is contrary to the information at Booking.com. Did not eat much at the hotel, there are better alternatives close.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    6.7
    Won't go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not drink the coffee at breakfast buffet it was dire also sangria at the pool was terrible we would have expected much more for such a highly rated hotel had to go to the restaurent next door every morning for a coffee absolutely ridiculous

    Staff pleasent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    5.0
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely not a 5 star hotel. Poor choice of food, staff where very inattentive, night life was very poor. Drinks for the all inclusive was very limited & poor quality. Certainly was not worth the extortionate amount of money we paid to stay there.

    the bed was comfy & room clean, but shabby, very basic even on The Level. the pool was clean & sun beds all well kept.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    8.8
    Short but worthy stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    * the bed wasn't a double bed but a pair of twin beds next to each other

    * garden in the front and in the back * modern and beautiful furniture * distance to beach as well as bus stop * swimming pools and beach racks

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    8.3
    very goood,peaceful and friendly place ,would recommend it to anyone,service top notch!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The lunch cafetería near the pool was ok ,however has the big problem of imnumerable flies making it difficult to eat in peace without worries about swallowing one the flies.better fly control needed

    attention was 5 stars ,very friendly and helpful staff and location excellent ,food was very good ,especially the buffet restaurant

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    6.7
    I didn't like the first meeting we had with the Staf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the first meeting we had with the Staf. We got a very boring and dark room though we were staying nearly two weeks at the Hotel. The Staf in the kitschen and the housemaids were absolutely nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.1
    Lovely experience and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The a la carte restaurant was disappointing: no one present to greet us on arrival, the waiter did not know what was on the desert menu as they did not offer what was on their printed menu and they served Ben and Gerry ice cream as the ice cream option!!! Whilst the breakfast buffet was really good with lots of variety, in my opinion the evening buffet fell short of what you would expect in a 5* hotel.

    The gardens and pool area were beautiful and the fact that the paseo could be accessed from the gardens was very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    4.6
    poor hotel wallpaper all ripped in bedroom towel s holes in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    staff miserable not a 5star hotel !towels had holes in took 40 minute s to check in very poor . not enough staff anywhere !!

    plenty of sun bed s breakfast was ok

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    9.6
    Lovely location and classy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Level Junior Suite with Ocean Views and Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Buffet meals could be a bit annoying.

    Clean and efficiently run hotel with nice pool area and short distance to livelier resorts and shopping.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Beautiful garden & excellent food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s rather old

    Beautiful garden & excellent food

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Level Room with Sea View and Executive Lounge Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This complex is fantastic. Pure luxury. The staff cannot do enough for you. If I could give 10 stars, I would.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Pool area was nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was below expectation for a 5 star hotel.

    Pool area was nice and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.1
    The iland and sea views are facinating. Walking along the promenade is a great pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    I would appreciate having tea and coffee makers i the room.

    Breakfast was very good. Pool area and facilities are nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was clean, beautiful and breakfast fantastic. Right on the beach

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was outstanding, presentation creativity of the highest quality

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    6.7
    The room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room. Those on the back (view on the motorway) are not worth a 5-star price

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.8
    The vacantion for relaxation I expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Acces at seaside, pool, position

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    7.5
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They charge for use of the outdoor jacuzzi Very dated rooms Needs some serious refurbishment

    Clean hotel Great location Staff friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    The staff was incredibly nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was incredibly nice!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay would be happy to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was very cold although is meant to be heated.

    Great comfortable hotel. Staff friendly, helpful and polite.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    2.9
    Terrible tennis court, food was ok, but not for 5 stars...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Terrible tennis court, food was ok, but not for 5 stars hotel, very bad beds.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice Birthday surprise in the room - a bolle of Cava.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet didn’t flush. Bad pipes.

    Nice Birthday surprise in the room - a bolle of Cava.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel, though a little dated for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely hotel, though a little dated for the price. Perfect location. Fantastic breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    6.3
    Generally good - rooms and buffer area a bit dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired decor in room, hard bed , staff could be friendlier!

    Garden, pool, food in pool area.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: