Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Iberostar Grand Mencey 5 stars

Dr. José Naveiras, 38, 38004 Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Spain

#1 of 16 hotels in Santa Cruz de Tenerife

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1690 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was fabulous!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on 2nd floor with City view and it was very noisy with the windows open so had t sleep with closed windows

    Breakfast was fabulous! Leisure and spa facilities were outstanding!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    A Holiday Retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My Pisco Sour (on Saturday night) was less than elegant, but I think the bar staff were very busy, so just a very, very minor issue.

    The location was really good for exploring Santa Cruz and my room was just wonderful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant, just what we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It just did not feel like a five star hotel.

    The location was excellent, what little contact we had with the staff was very pleasant. For some reason it did not quite feel like a true five star hotel. But we booked through Booking.com and if the same deal was on offer again we would not hesitate to stay again. One piece of advice go to the park on a Sunday morning, there is a new cafe/bar there called Strasse. great coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    My favourite holiday hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! Ideal relaxing hotel which caters for largely business clientele with some tourists. Great for couples looking for relaxation - less so for children. Beautiful landscaped gardens and good public spaces. Get a garden room with views/rather than city and enjoy late afternoon sun from the balcony. Quiet relaxing pool and spa facilities too.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Perfect stay with perfect service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Asked for "late check-out" which would cost 39€. Towel card syteem doesn't work properly. After 18:00 Hrs you can drop your towel at the desk but can't recuperate the Towel Card.

    Friendly Staff, excellent breakfast !!! Nice setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We felt the music in the restaurant could be more relaxing/appropriate. Rather than modern music, we would have preferred classical music as it was better suited to the surroundings. We also felt coffee should be provided free of charge in the rooms and that access to the pools in the spa should have been complimentary for one visit per person.

    The staff were very helpful, friendly and kind. They went out of their way to help us at every turn. We cannot recommend them more highly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    8.8
    Good time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking procedure when they challenging the conditions agreed with booking.com. Slow WiFi

    The location, the sport facilities, food, breakfast, garden, park close to the hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sound of the tennis ball when you are relaxing on the balcony.

    Fantastic location 5mn on walk from the city center (park close to the hotel is great) and easy parking. Very good breakfast buffet and good restaurant. Hotel facilities (swimming pool, sport equipment, ...). Quite place too. A real 5 stars hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Amazing hotel featuring everything you need for a relaxing city trip...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great hotel with amazing facilities: gym, spa, outdoor pool, bar, restaurant... Location is really good to discover the city, but at the same time quite and calm. Rooms are very clean and has a great charme. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect accommodation also with children, excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would suggest to improve the quality of the Spanish coffee- Cortado. Thank you.

    Perfect accommodation also with children, excellent breakfast with lots of choice. Friendly staff. Clean rooms. Very nice gym and swimming pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    8.8
    Great stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking as an extra. As a guest, should be included.

    Good facilities and bedrooms great. Staff friendly and always willing to help. Breakfasts were superb

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was lovely, not at all stuffy which is something that we have found with previous 4/5 star hotels, everything was well maintained and clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    9.6
    A kind of place where you are always sorry you are not staying a couple of days more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole territory of the hotel is like a bit of a paradise in the middle of a modern busy city. Ideal for relaxation, meditation and staying together with a loved one. A wondreful place!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.6
    Old fashioned in a good way- we had a lovely relaxing stay at this grand hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our first receptionist did not know about local restaurants- there are plenty within 15 minutes walk.

    A grand hotel, spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were delightful; efficient , cheerful and keen to help. Super garden, pool and sports facilities. A little expensive, but worth it. Excellent breakfast. Nice park just over the road.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.2
    nice to stay but more attention about some fetures
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    poor knowledge of tourist information by the one who is responsible for. bad maintenance of bed-sheet and door lockers of room - quick answer but not solving the problem

    location, staff helpfulness by reception, management, breakfast,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Just terrible.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole experience from beginning to end was a nightmare. At check it the room wasn’t ready. Then. I was giving the wrong room. The room didnt have a bathrobe which I would have expected in a 5 stars hotel. Then the gym had no stretching area and people were not allowed to stretch in the studio that was empty and locked. After complaining to 3 dif staff the made an exception. All the food was really bad. I tried ordering food in 3 instances. It was almost a joke. I even took photos. The food did not even match the description. They were also understaffed it looked like nobody knew what they were doing doing. Even after checking out and paying for the remaining. I receive a call 2 hs later saying that I needed to check out and that I had remaining payments 🤦🏻‍♀️ I was like ermmm, noup, already checked out ages ago and paid. 😒 A total mess. I’d probably never stay there again. I’m attaching a photo of my room service where I had ordered a main dish. I asked if it was enough. They said of course. That it was a tower of grilled veggies with a special sauce and nuts and bla bla bla. It sounded lovely. Have a look at what I received. I returned it and asked for a refund. That was 18 euros.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    8.8
    Can't wait to go back 😁 we loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    THE ONLY THING is stained carpets along corridors except ground floor.We didn't expect to see such a terrible quality of carpets in we'll known 5 star hotel in capitol

    We Loved location ,amazing views from swimming pool , qiute turtles pond ,super friendly bar staff and lifeguards

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    10
    הגענו לקרנבל בטנריף.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    הייתה בעיה עם המזגן - לא הצלחנו להפעיל על חימום. לא היה מאוד קר, ולכן ויתרנו ולא דיברנו עם הקבלה על המיזוג. אם היה יותר קר בלילה, היינו פונים אליהם. השמיכה חיממה מאוד ועשתה את העבודה.

    הגענו לקרנבל בטנריף. המלון במיקום מעולה, ממש מרחק הליכה מכל האקשן. לקחנו חדר סוויטה ג'וניור שהיה מרווח מאוד. צ'ק אין היה כמעט בחצות - הקבלה מאויישת 24/7. ארוחת הבוקר הייתה עשירה ביותר והשתנתה מעט מידי יום כך שהיה גיוון נוסף על המגוון העצום. הכל טרי וטעים והכי חשוב לנו - היו ירקות (מצרך נדיר בארוחות בוקר באירופה)! ההמלצה שלנו היא לא לוותר על ארוחת הבוקר במלון הזה. המיטה הייתה גדולה ונוחה, החדר נקי, חיבור מעולה לאינטרנט, בידוד מצוין בין החדרים והמסדרון, בחדר הייתה אמבטיה ענקית שהיא גם ג'קוזי. בקיצור - מאוד מומלץ!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    Staff were fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    food in the restaurant (on an evening) extremely over priced I would expect for the price excellent food, it's merely average. We charged everything to the room and paid when we checked out, the invoice was impossible to understand, everything was charged as a lump sum rather then per item so you have no idea whats what.

    Staff were fabulous

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    A good hotel in very pleasant location - 5 star for public areas but 4 star for our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was smaller than expected and there was only one (rather uncomfortable!) lounge chair and one desk chair. At breakfast, the "hot" food was tepid and the Nesspresso coffee machine only produced very strong coffee - they need to provide mugs to allow more milk!

    The hotel was very clean and in a good location. Our room faced the pool so had no traffic noise and the view over the hotel grounds to the city and hills beyond was good. Breakfast selection was good, especially bread and pastries, with plenty of fruit on offer. The car park (12 euros per day) was great with plenty of space.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.9
    Hotel to stay when in Santa Cruz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing which bothered me is, that there are lot of rooms facing to the pool. Those are really nice and even get sunset to their terraces. I requested that room when doing the booking. I sent another message night before check-in to make sure that we would get the room requested. Never got any message back and our room ended up being on the east side facing to the busy road (heavy traffic from morning till late evening and trash trucks & building machines working through the night). So it wasn’t relaxing at all. I asked to change a room three mornings in a row but no luck.

    It seems this is the hotel to stay when in Santa Cruz. You can have really enjoyable stay while staying in a city. The gym is really good and there are instructed classes as well (pilates, yoga, circulo etc.). Breakfast buffet is really good!!! And staff working there is super nice. And poolside is okey as well, partly in shadows but you will find a sun spot if wanted.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.6
    Great looking grounds and lots of outdoor places to just sit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Great looking grounds and lots of outdoor places to just sit and relax. Good location for the view, and a great park nearby, but most attractions are a 20 minute walk away.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Perfect luxury weekend break in Santa Cruz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small queue for breakfast on Saturday morning at 9am. Did not spoil experience.

    Wonderful experience. Great choice at breakfast with everything evidently made on site. Staff always had a smile. Plenty of places to sit and enjoy the sun. Fabulous dinner in Papa Negru restaurant, made you feel at ease and happy to accommodate dietary requirements. Fairly straightforward to get appointment in the spa at late notice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    10
    An excellent, well located hotel in Santa Cruz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening dining was limited to a buffet (not our cup of tea) in the main dining room or a late 8:30 p.m. Opening time at the hotel's gourmet restaurant. We passed on evening dining at the hotel.

    A large but very friendly hotel on the edge of downtown Santa Cruz. We had a lovely room with a beautiful balcony and view. The room was well furnished and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and varied including the nice touch of complimentary sparkling wine..

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 11 nights

    a little bit disappointing maintenance

    the staff was helpful from the manager to the reception and other staff members. excellent breakfast. central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.1
    Clean and comfortable, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee making facilities in room, but they provide it when asked. There was no English speaking channels on room T V

    Booked room only, we had one expensive buffet breakfast costing 36€ for two.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel with very friendly staff, pleasant design, good...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air-conditioning is not is not suitable for winter - no heating (at least in our room), therefore it was rather chilly in the room with outside temperature just above +10C and rain

    Nice hotel with very friendly staff, pleasant design, good restaurants, conveniently located, car parking is a big advantage in the city center

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.2
    Majestic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a lot wrong with the hotel. The only knit pick I could have was that there was a large bleach stain coming out of a store cupboard along the hall but it wasn't that easy to notice. Fabulous experience all round.

    We stayed here only one night and never wanted to leave. We stayed for my girlfriend's 22nd birthday and the hotel couldn't have been more accommodating; sending a bottle of cava and a little treat with a letter as well, was a wonderful surprise. Highly recommend staying here and we will certainly be back. Hopefully next time for a little longer.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Everything one may desire is there: food, convenient room, restaurants, bar, and even a casino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    -The very convenient hotel parking seems to have not been mentioned on the hotel internet site at the time I booked the hotel.

    -All crew were polite, helpful and cooperative and very fast to attend to all our needs. -Hotel wonderfully designed and decorated. -Breakfast buffet kept us gaping in amazement. Could not decide, at first, where to start from, making us wish to swallow everything with our eyes. -Wonderful local restaurants are within short walking distance from the hotel. -Main city points are within 2 km of the hotel. Taxis are easy to get and are non-expensive. -If I were to be there once more I would certainly book the same hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    8.3
    Very comfortable with excellent facilities but not quite 5 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The choice of breakfast food was vast: the quality less impressive. Some decor looked a bit tired especially the corridor carpet leading to our room.

    The bed was superbly comfortable. Facilities excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    10
    Awesome 3 night stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, room (junior suite) big and cool. We had harbour view however as Santa Cruz is always developing its a okay view (4th floor). Breakfast was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Parking was next door and they parked it for us (12 Euro a day - cheap compared to other hotels). Grand entrance and although not used they have great conference rooms (one had been set up), restaurants seem classy. Rambles street is at the front but we had a room off the side street so the noise we didn't hear (have seen other reviews). If noise is a issue you'll need the garden view. Otherwise excellent all round. Easy walking about Santa Cruz, use Google and Trip Advisor, get out and go try great foods and the Canary wine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    9.6
    Luxurious pleasant atmospheric
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather. Would have liked more sunshine

    Very classy hotel. Not touristy Beautiful breakfast including wonderful smoothies in the outside court yard from lovely waiter Julio .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel in a nice part of Santa Cruz with reasonably priced restaurants nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was on a street side of the hotel and at times there was noise from refuse collection during the early hours. No tea or coffee making facility within room.

    Hotel is of a high standard.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel in Santa Cruz
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little to dislike. The spa, which is great, costs €18, although this is good value I'd say. Car parking is €10 a day, which is ok value. You could park on the street. Perfectly safe, but limited parking.

    There was nothing to fault. It was an excellent hotel, friendly staff, and the best hotel breakfast. Location was great to walk into Santa Cruz and easy access elsewhere further out if you have a car

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    8.8
    Very good except for gym restrictions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym didn’t open until 9 am on weekends and holidays thus ruling out exercise before breakfast on 3 consecutive days. It had not occurred to me to check opening hours in a 5 star hotel catering to an international market. Would have booked elsewhere if I’d known.

    Staff at all levels friendly and helpful; clearly well trained. Fixtures and fittings of v good quality with a high level of cleanliness. Excellent breakfast, both choice and quality.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.2
    The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had one dinner in the hotel and service was very slow.

    The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. It was cold, because it got no sun and the weather was exceptionally wet and cool, but the hotel lent me an electric heater, which I much appreciated. The buffet breakfast was good, with a wide range of food and lovely fresh pastries. The hotel is located opposite a beautiful park and near a bus stop.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Beautiful hotel but make sure you receive the room you have booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Booked a double room but received a twin room with the beds pushed together. The twin beds were on rolled wheels and just freely moved. This means whoever was unfortunate enough to roll into the crack between the beds would rapidly end up falling on to the floor. Hotel reception refused to apologise or change this. Some staff were unfriendly. The hotel advertises a heated swimming pool but it is actually freezing cold. But then, conveniently the hotel will offer their properly heated swimming pool at a charge of €14 extra per day.

    Beautiful hotel with high, vaulted ceilings and a modernist stye. The outside bar is gorgeous and overlooks part of their impressive gardens (which have a tortoise enclosure!). The room was clean, and had a lovely balcony. Room service was excellent. Every evening, the hotel ran some sort of entertainment at the bar (DJ, singer, pianist, etc) and it was a lovely place to relax after a busy day out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Hotel was lovely, staff were excellent but I wouldn't recommend it for a relaxing holiday break it w
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no tea making facilities in the room. No rove which I would have expected from 5 star hotel. It was really geared for business people with lots of business conferences. I felt it wasn't geared for holiday makers. A notice board with information 're. Daily weather forecast & public holidays would have been helpful.There was a public holiday on Friday when we were there everything was shut...it would have been nice to have known the day before.

    The beds were very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. Facilities around the hotel were excellent.very central location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    9.2
    We had a great time, would recommend the property to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are reasonably priced, but everything is extra from the indoor pool, spa, parking, breakfast, etc. The price will add up quickly.

    Within walking distance to many stores and restaurants. Hotel and property cleanliness were excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    9.6
    An enjoyable and relaxed stay at this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel and rooms were cold. Parking is not well signposted

    Stylish hotel with good facilities. Excellent location near a beautiful park and within walking distance of the city centre Staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The smell in my toilett was really bad. I had to close the door since it smelled sewer. Try to call the reception early in the morning (04.30) without any answering.

    Special baked bread just for me due to my allergy to nuts. Very sweet staff at breakfast. great arrangement to get breakfast to my room when leaving early in the morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    7.5
    good room service food and drink in the night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows don't close tight to make it really calm, unpersonal note in the hotel, more something for business trip than holiday

    good room service food and drink in the night

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    10
    A truly five star service. Special thanks to Ana on reception, always so happy and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only thing and i hate to mention it was that the towels were very thin. !!

    This hotel is amazing. It is very beautiful and wonderfully maintained but what makes it special are the fabulous staff. Nothing was too much trouble and everyone was so helpful. Particular mention to the breakfast staff. Breakfast itself was simply fabulous but special thanks to Guilia who kept a smile on her face even when having to deal with awkward guests. It defies my imagination that anyone could find anything to complain about!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed and pillows, beautiful view from the garden...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer in the bathroom doesn’t function well, quite old one. That’s all.

    Comfortable bed and pillows, beautiful view from the garden view deluxe room and fantastic breakfast. Best neighborhood and it was very easy to park around the hotel ( it’s free). Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    Great stylish hotel in a central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too busy at breakfast with children - there should be two different breakfast areas. The choices at the buffet were really impressive. The same was true for the evening meal if you stayed in for your meal in one of the restaurants- we didn’t. Also whenever we sat outside we were stuck with people smoking in our air space, choosing to sit next to us!! A no smoking area would improve things greatly

    Best hotel we have stayed in Tenerife to date. Well appointed and great city access

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    Adequate and comfortable stay in Tenerife's capital.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception on our arrival lacking in charm. Had to wait 45 minutes for one of our rooms. Expected more of a 5 Star Hotel.

    Comfortable bed and good linen. Clean. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    10
    Luxury stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Woke up at 7 in the morning because of strange noise coming from air-conditioner (some king of water running noise).

    Hotel is nice, staff is very helpful, beds are comfortable, breakfast is fantastic. Nice spa and other facilities, very nice location. Luxury feeling.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    10
    Very happy with hotel, would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfasts were a little disappointing, fruit could have been more varied and hot dishes hotter.

    The staff made our stay special. They were so friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Would recommend this hotel to anyone, we were treated really well, we will definately be going again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking could have been cheaper.

    The staff were really friendly, the facilities second to none. Rooms fantastic, huge bed, excellent power shower, robes and slippers provided and a couple of free bets and drinks at the local Casino.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    8.3
    pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    In Papa Negra restaurant they played 4 songs on a loop through the whole evening - awful!

    Fresh oj at breakfast and fresh smoothies were great. The black rice at the pool side restaurant was excellent. Waiters and waitresses were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    It’s intrinsically a nice property with wonderful staff but too many little niggles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In winter time the swimming pool captured little sun. There was limited indoor seating which was a problem on cooler evenings. The hotel restaurant papa negra - chaotic and slow service ( wrong meal delivered after a 50 minute wait and desert course inedible).

    Very friendly and cheerful staff. The bed was lovely and the bedroom good too. The breakfast buffet was plentiful and varied.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    8.8
    Amazing property in the less touristy part of the Island - loved it !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff sadly are not really 5* level and do not do the property justice: reception staff are lovely but the staff at breakfast are not very professional - they spend ages with one or two preferential guests while ignoring all others. Housekeeping was also a bit haphazard - some days we had too many towels and other days not enough - one day our room was not even cleaned! The bar staff also forgot one of our drinks and it took much frantic waving to get her back to our table. I would definitely stay here again because the property is just amazing and these are little things - which hopefully would be better next time!

    This is a beautiful property in an excellent location with very good facilities. Loved every minute of our stay - breakfast and the pool are the outstanding bits.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    9.2
    Over all very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Key for the room we have to change 11 time in 2 weeks,tried to book a meal on arrival for New Year’s Eve and every table in the hotel was booked up.most of witch was with people not staying at the hotel. The only option we were given was a package witch worked out £600 for me and the wife for a meal.

    Staff were very good,hotel very clean,pool restaurant amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    10
    Top quality stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No suggestions for improvement. A great place to stay when visiting the capital of Tenerife.

    The staff we extremely pleasant and helpful making our stay very comfortable and enjoyable. The free shuttle service to and from the beach is a wonderful added bonus.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Great stay & experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was next to where the cleaning staff put their material and tools and it was quite noisy when they were in there, made me open my door once to check if everything was ok as it sometimes sounded like someone was bumping into our wall. Informed management about it.

    A great quality of the facilities, perfect location, the Management Staff is polite and helpful, room service efficient and good even on a busy day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    5.0
    Will not return to this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered 2 city view room but one of the rooms was fronting the windows of other rooms. We asked for the help of the duty manager who could not be of help. He told us to come and speak with him the day after but he disappeared.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location - difficult to get to from town centre

    Breakfast, friendly staff, pool - 24hr access, excellent service, balcony in room, entrance area in room that gave buffer area from main corridor, availability of taxis outside property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    5.4
    Sleepless.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not getting any sleep due to Caxia bank staff partying nearly all night. And the senior manager telling me we were British and that she was German. Not sure what she was trying to imply.

    The receptionist.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    3.8
    Not really good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is small and not very clean. This hotel located on the high point of the city which means it is not easy for family with a stroller to explore the city by walking. Furthermore, there is only one narrow swimming pool and not really clean. The cleaning lady even left our room door opened (no one was there) after the daily cleaning. I would say we were lucky without anything lost. We will not recommend the hotel for family (especially with kid) to stay during the holiday.

    Good breakfast. Good location in the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    8.8
    Food was good at breakfast and dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with City View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony does not provide any privacy at all from other guests - almost shared balconies.

    Food was good at breakfast and dinner. Very nice hotel. Clean. Lovely ambience in poolside bar at dusk. Knowledgable and friendly staff. Room nice and clean. Shower had an issue and a very polite handyman was sent to fix it promptly. Beautiful surroundings in hotel grounds. Can get a bus from airport that stops almost right outside the hotel. Near tourist attractions. Bus interchange not too far. Very good hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful historical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing I didn't like

    The hotel was really lovely. The grouds are just beautiful and the building is stunning. At no point it felt busy, though I was told they were almost at full capacity. The pool was nice and quiet and the overall feeling was luxurious and relaxing. Because it is located in the city it is easy to walk into town for a meal or to get anything you might need.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    7.1
    Smart hotel with nice public areas and grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow and duvet felt a bit cheap. Bed rocked about on wheels! Coffee making facility in room would be have been nice. Spa rather expensive.

    Smart hotel with nice public areas and grounds. Very quiet room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    6.7
    Very nice hotel but not really 5 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Some old equipment in the gym (upright bike and rowing machine need maintenance, no tea or coffee in the rooms, use of swimming pool was at extra cost

    Good location, nice rooms

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    10
    Loved it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very few, one, English channel on TV, indoor pool costs extra and I had problems with the room safe. The view from 299 isn't great but otherwise a lovely hotel and stay.

    Large room with luxurious bathroom and excellent facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    8.3
    Very lovely break in Santa Cruz - near lots of lovely buildings and great park
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a junior suite - and this sounds a little 'diva-esque' but I was surprised there were no bath robes. Also, difficult to keep the light out at night even with the black out blinds - they just didn't quite reach.

    It's a beautiful building and the renovations are excellent. The pillow menu is great - I became Goldilocks in the search for one that was 'just right'. We stayed here 5 years ago and it was a little dated but now they've really made it special.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    10
    A very beautiful, relaxing hotel in a wonderful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    No bath. Snack bar - squid was very rubbery (possible cooked from frozen) and the tomato salsa that came with the iberican ham was bland, this put us off eating in the main restaurant at night as you expect the standard to be the same across the entire hotel. We arrived on a hot afternoon and had to wait a few minutes before being checked in -a glass of water would have been nice

    Breakfast was fresh, abundant and had a fantastic selection of pastries, fruit, hams, cheeses, bread, drinks, homemade smoothies and cava! The pool was salt water, such a tranquil spot with lovely deck chairs and a friendly lifeguard on hand to answer and questions or to assist with any needs. The bar in the evening was a relaxing spot complete with a singer and a great range of drinks and snacks. Room was quiet, bed was very comfy and the cleaners were very thorough. The hotel is situated near the most beautiful park, a must see spot.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    9.6
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was comfortable and luxurious, and I really enjoyed the generous buffet breakfasts. Staff were excellent and happy to help. If you're coming from Tenerife South airport, it's an easy transfer: 111 bus to Santa Cruz (€9.35) and short taxi ride (approx €6).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is still under renovation, carpet is old in the corridors. Breakfast floor area outside need to be renovated. When we had a drink they came with a very old trolley, not suitable for a 5 star, very old and not classic.

    The desine is beautiful. Lots of space.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice location, good rooms but staff's English could be improved.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff's English in general wasn't great. We tried to call room service a few times but they didn't understand us and directed the call to another person with equally poor English. Also Spa wasn't great, quite small and the atmosphere is nothing special. One of the two showers in the Spa area was broken and the other didn't have hot water. Not worth paying the extra for it.

    Location of the hotel is great, it's a short walk from the city centre next to a great park. Rooms were good clean and convenient, hotel is nice in general. Parking is around £12 per day, but it's easy to find free parking on the street a short walk away so we ended up parking for free for the whole stay. Breakfast is great with Cava included.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable and well located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor coffee and tea presentation around the pool with polystyrene cups. In a 5 star hotel you’d expect quality non-breakable cups and saucers. It’s not difficult.

    Very comfortable and well located hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel, poor catering
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast whilst extensive was not great, hot food choices we not hot. Had an al a carte meal in Los Mencey dining room which wasn’t particularly good.

    Room god, clean and nice public areas

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.6
    The service was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with City View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The service was really nice. We were checked in by Eduardo? and he explained facilities of hotel really well as well as advised us where to go for sight seeing. And also there is free taxi service by hotel to the beach which was impressive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    The staff and facilities are fabulous. Food/drink is quite pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found out on our last day that the hotel offered breakfast discounts which would have been helpful to know at the beginning of our stay however when we highlighted this to the receptionist upon checkout, they apologised and refunded the difference so we were able to avail of the discounted prices after all. Brilliant customer service! Our balcony was located about the kitchen of the hotel and this was quite noisy, especially early morning (breakfast) and sometimes until 11pm.

    The staff were so friendly and helpful. The gardens were beautiful and it was so peaceful lying by the pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    10
    Relaxing short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better.

    Beautiful grounds, comfy bed, quiet garden facing room, friendly, helpful staff. Relaxed atmosphere, excellent art work.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    Luxury in a modern Spanish classic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Although very modern the building was in the style of older Spanish properties with small central courtyard. everything was very tasteful and very well laid out. An oasis in the centre of the city.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Iberostar Grand Mencey traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: