Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Meninas - Boutique Opera 4 stars

Campomanes, 7, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#245 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 394 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    beautifully renovated old building on a quiet street, original staircase preserved, economy room compact but charmingly decorated and immaculate, wonderful location in the old city but near open spaces (the opera, the palace gardens etc) and much dining and shopping... easy 15 minute walk to the Prado... in a more intimate and local area of the city but with easy walking access to the more grandiose and most urban parts Madrid...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Furniture all needs to be updated, little worn and hard. Bathroom had a little mould and toilet door didn’t slide close. Room service needs a little attention.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv didn’t operate properly and wifi kept dropping out . I mentioned this at reception but nothing was addressed as to my concern.

    The bed was great really comfy and location is a real plus

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only a minor niggle — I stayed on the first floor with a view out onto a courtyard. As a result, my room was quite dark even during the day, so I had to keep the lights on all the time.

    A characterful boutique hotel in an unbeatable location just minutes from the Palacio Real and Plaza Mayor. Double room was small and basic but comfortable, with a good-sized bathroom and walk-in shower. Staff were very polite and accommodating.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First night got room without balcony despite booking it with. They solved it next day. Water pressure in shower could be better

    Great location, good breakfast. . Very very helpful staff. Large rooms

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms of the hotel vary greatly. The ones I've seen are very small (unlike what it shows in the pictures). They say that they have larger rooms as well so if you book there, make sure you ask for those. The rooms are very minimalistic in their design. They're also not equipped with basic stuff like a teapot (which I had to ask from the reception). Cleanliness could've been better. Some of the walls and sheets have stains on them

    The location is excellent. Right in the center and one minute from the subway station. The staff is very nice and polite and helped me with recommendations/restaurant bookings or when I needed to do a late checkout due to being very ill on the last day of the vacation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was very bad I would not recommend to anyone. We also had problem with receptionist who was so impolite and rude. She didn't knew that we speak Spanish and she said infront of us to her manager that we called her lair. After my husband told her on Spanih language that we understand what she said to her manager, she didn't even apologize .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very basic, scruffy furniture, no coffee and tea making facilities in room and room service brought luke warm drinks.

    Location superb, staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee in room or iron.

    Excellent location, steps away from the Opera, Grand Palace and Palace gardens and metro station. Lovely rooms with comfortable beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    cleaning service eas not satisfied. someone moved my stuff so i thought losing it at the last night of staying. that made me freaked out.

    the staffs were very kind. location is not bad

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This is a typical 4-star hotel you find in Europe. Mainly we booked here because of its location, and that was a mistake. The location was good, but everything else with the hotel was sub par. Dark narrow hallways, strange wallpaper, a duty-free sales display in the lobby with out-dated cheap crap (duty-free sales at a hotel? Who cares anyway). The room had a window that looked out to another building that was literally 5 feet away, and no natural light came in of course. The bed: Try to imagine using a cardboard box for a mattress and a bag of dead leaves for a pillow. The bathroom was shabby (fixtures coming off the wall, cold and damp, shower door wobbly). My advice: Do not select a hotel based on location alone. Many hotels understand that their location is a prime selling-point, so they don't see a need to invest in comfort, maintenance, etc. This is one of those hotels in my opinion.

    The location was central and close to restaurants, shops, etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is nice. It has updated bathrooms and amenities. It has lack of detail. It is nice but looking run down. Baseboards beat-up, doors chipped and cracked in places; same with the furniture. Holes in wall paper near the lift. Hair dryer old and worn. Again it was nice but there is a lack of attention to the details that makes it look not so nice. We stayed in other comparably priced hotels in Madrid, Barcelona and Sevilla and this one just didn’t quite live up to the price...about $150.00 per night. It just needs some attention to get it back up to par.

    The location was great. Near a main plaza, Plaza Mayor and a market. Right across from a small local store for easy shopping if you want something. Friendly enough staff. Also near a metro station. Loved the room with a “balcony”. Sound proofing was wonderful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Double bed seems too small for 2 persons. -no water boiler in the room which can't self-make the coffee & tea.

    -A good resting area at lobby area with supplying water & fruit. -the staffs at reception desk is very helpful. -just opposite the hotel, that's a supermarket which let me to obtain fruit & water everyday.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sound carring up from the street. Very noisy.

    We were lucky enough to get upgraded to a Junior Suite which was lovely and the 1st that has ever happened in all our travels. The room was beautiful with lovely furniture and large shutters opening onto balconies.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location for Royal Palace, restaurants, shops, opera. Large bedrooms. You can't park at the hotel but there are underground car parks nearby - expect city centre prices for parking but there is a discount when the hotel stamps the ticket. We paid 50 Euro for 48 hours. Taxi rank close to hotel and the rates are vey favourable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For all the "extras" thrown in with the room - such as personal care items on the bathroom, down to bath slippers - there was no facility for tea / coffee / drinking water. Also, for this price I would expect a coffee-and-croissant breakfast, at the minimum.

    The location and the staff. It's ideal for getting around. The staff were extremely helpful.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture seemed like it was ikea quality and while I'm sure it was cute at one point it truely showed signs of wear. The bed wasn't particularly comfortable, not great but also not the worst. Unfortunately the AC wasn't working the night we arrived and the room was very stuffy as a result.

    This hotel is in the heart of the city and only a few minutes walking to the royal palace and gardens. The family suite we rented was spacious with a huge bathroom and a sitting area that doubled as an additional keeping area with a daybed that had a trundle underneath. Besides the location my favorite part of the hotel was the staff. They were friendly, responsive when we had an issue and went above and beyond to compensate for the fact that the act wasn't working when we arrived. They discounted our stay and gave us free breakfast to compensate for the cafe which went a long way in making up for the poor sleep the night before. Also, the breakfast was really good!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although there is a sitting room downstairs, it's not very inviting. Wifi cuts in and out.

    Near the center of things, yet quiet. There is a grocery store across the street and a laundromat next door.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Better Maps that have clear street names, orientation, and scale on Website and in print.. The position of the hotel should be clearly visable in respect of the Opera Metro station. It is only a short walk, but we got lost and dragged cases, needlessly, looking for the Hotel in 40 degree heat.

    Very good position, close to transport (Metro and buses, easy walk to Pradeo etc.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at The Meninas before so was disappointed this time round. Room was tiny and no slippers and gown provided as previously. The light from the passage opposite shines into the window onto the bed and blind doesn't sufficiently block it. Makes sleeping difficult.

    Location is good to access Metro and easy walk to various sites and Gran Via. Variety of restaurants nearby. Staff at hotel are pleasant and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything about this hotel. It was very nice the staff was very helpful and polite, the room was very clean and comfortable. It's very close to everything within walking distance to the royal palace and the metro train leaves you right there. This hotel is located in the heart of Madrid. I do recommend and my sisters and I would definitely stay here again. Thanks

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was horrible - small, no light, though it has a small window above the head of the bed opening to a very small light shaft - its more like a prison cell setting in this respect. Its quite dark inside the room even when the sun is shinning so brightly outside. Wi fi was very weak given the layout of each floor - 8 rooms per floor, with only 3 rooms have windows open to any space - which is the street. All other 5 rooms have windows only to either the small light shaft of our room, or another a little bit bigger light shaft. A lot of 4 stars, 2stars have better layout of room. And given the layout, even if you make use of your own device for data, its not working as almost no 3G/4G signals can pass through this tiny light shaft, we were on the 1st floor, which made it even wors Not hot water the first night until quite late in the night. We were forced to take cold water shower about 6pm. House keeping was terrible too, 1. stained/used glasses not replaced/cleaned, 2. litter/rubbish bid not emptied, (only the tips under the pillow was emptied !) 3. Both room was not tidied up also. The twin bed, after the staff has tidied up the bed sheet, was left a few inches from the wall - I needed to push it back against the wall myself. The front desk staff as the couldn't care less type. The coffee from breakfast is also very poor - not even by ordinary Spanish standard. To be fair, the charge for breakfast is cheap - only E8.5. The value for money is very poor - at E220/night, but still full, its only because its an Easter weekend. Just checked again during other days, just 1/3 of the rate - a good indicator.

    location - central yet on a quiet street. But nothing else. air conditioning - surprising adequate even during the beginning the hot season.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was rather small. Wifi reception in the room was very poor. Room was hot and we couldn't adjust the air con. TV only had one English channel.

    bathroom and bedroom were OK. Storage space was adequate. Good breakfasts. Hotel staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask to move room as original one very small with window looking out at wall. Only had the breakfast once as fruit not fresh looked like it had been there for a few days and it was the same with the bread. Dispit as to what it says on hotel description there was no bar and told we had to go down the road for a drink.

    Location very good and staff helpful.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Style was a slightly odd mishmash. My phone couldn't reliably keep wifi signal in certain parts of the room, including when sitting up in bed.

    Location is great - easy walk to Plaza Mayor, the royal palace, Gran Via, and several metro lines. Staff was helpful in providing directions and making dinner reservations

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast wasn't the best but was a decent price, also the beds were uncomfortable for my taste.

    Location was AMAZING!!! Within walking distance to everything you want to see, tons of excellent food around and the staff was very helpful!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a bit smaller than we expected but that was not as much of a problem as that the AC was not very good. It was unseasonably warm when we were there and the room just would not cool off

    Well located. Very clean. Staff very nice. Easy check in. Very comfortable mattress.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, the level of accommodation is not consistent with a 4-star hotel. Our first room was downright claustrophobic and overlooked an interior air shaft. It was impossible for two people to maneuver comfortably in the room as it was very small. We arrived at midnight but this should not have been the reason for acquiring such a sub-standard room. The staff was very kind and understanding, moving us to another more comfortable room the next day. The first room also had the aroma of mold and no toilet paper. Also, the body lotion provided by the hotel resulted in an allergic reaction for my Mom. Not the hotel's fault but overall, It did not make for a very good first impression.

    The staff and location....and the character of the second room we were given. The front desk staff was very kind. Their dining suggestions were very good. They did try very hard to change our first impression of the hotel and its accommodations to a more favorable one on the second day.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a room that was like a dungeon. The only window did not let in any light and when open an offensive smell was evident. The window covering was broken, the shower had no ledge for soap etc., the shower head height adjustment was broken. There was no luggage rack. We expected more for the €150/night paid.

    The breakfast selection was ok

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked breakfast included. Nice selection of food in the morning.

    Loved the location. Very comfortable, lovely and very accommodating staff. We stayed our 1st night at a sister hotel and they moved us with no interruption to our touring plans. Recommend this hotel if traveling to Madrid as everything is within easy walking or Metro

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A disaster! A really big Warning about the information of the rooms at Booking.coms website and at the hotel's own website. It says that every room has a balcony but that is false! It says that all the room are isolated but they forgotten to say that the doors and windows aren't! They have a receptionist that can't speak english at all! At a hotel! In Madrid! It's really bad! They said that my room was ready but the cleaning wasn't so I had to wait outside in the corridor until they was ready! I had to climb over all the cleaning stuff which stood in my way when I get out of the elevator! Bad, bad, bad!!!

    Close to the most.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location; close to transport, cafes, restaurant & sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too much niose

    Great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    air conditioning was not working ok

    Room and bed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room for three people

    Great location,friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reading lamp was weak and placed far away from the bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom fixtures loose; gap in shower door allowed water to leak all over floor, a potential slipping hazard.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wonderful staff, very good location, nice hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the AC wasn't on (Apr 2018) and the window is not next to the bed.

    great location, great value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea making faciities in room would be perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast could have been included in the price.

    The room was very spacious, modern and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable. Location - superb!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One choice of eggs, scrambled that were a bit cold and tired.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location - breakfast - staff - room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillows were a little uncomfortable.

    A nice quaint hotel. Very good location. Metro station is a minutes walk away. Plenty of taxi cabs nearby.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Room was to small.

    The hotel's location is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent service and facilities.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no noise from the street good air conditioning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small bed, not suitable for two people

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was quite expensive and without breakfast included

    Locations is great and also stuff and cleanliness is something to say...excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice small hotel...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing, everything fine.

    Location, friendly staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds weren't comfortable

    Excellent location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast is really good and near the palace

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was made from two single beds, bed linen was replaced after quite long arguing.

    Excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    better insulation from noise very noisy at night during refuse collection

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Family bedroom not as sold to us. A little cramped.

    Fantastic locstion

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms small; at times smell of sewage/toilets, probably coming throught the pipework

    very good breakfast; very good location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tiny so called single bedroom that's so small you couldn't swing a cat in it. Awful old two layers of blinds that lets light in but they call it four stars ! Barely adequate English at reception

    Modern up to date bathroom

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access to sights and the metro. We discovered a gem of a restaurant right outside the entry to the Metro - De Maria. Excellent breakfast selections and friendly staff. Small room but very clean

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Perfect location, we had the small room and the bed was really uncomfortable. Too hard. Otherwise the hotel was nice and the breakfast above average. too bad all rooms don't have a balcony. Clean and neat bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff should greet everyone the same way! I don't remember who greeted us when we arrived but he was friendlier towards the older couple who arrived before us. (We were a young couple vacationing for honeymoon)

    Great location and spacious rooms.

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would have liked a window or have been advised room did not have window. Would have liked to have a drink in lobby

    Comfy bed warm hotel staff lovely breakfast very good location excellent would recommend this hotel to young and not so young travelers

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The smell in the room was disgusting-drainage problems -despite request on first night we were not moved-offered move on last night but not worth it as leaving next day-no discount given despite being told we would get one -fruit basket left in room to compensate-breakfast was very poor also-would not recommend or stay again

    Location of hotel and beds were really comfortable

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed really isn't that comfortable. We didn't sleep very well. The bathroom was large but not overly practical. There was no ventilation or extraction other than a window that once open will allow people from other rooms to look directly in. The lighting was also poor in the bathroom, I had to put on my makeup by sitting on the floor and using the bed side table as the other mirror had equally bad lighting. The shower flooded really badly and soaked the floor. It is also worth adding that we paid for a "larger" room, but it actually was a standard size room. I can't complain as it stated the room was 21m2 but it did feel a little disappointing.

    The staff could not be more helpful, their advice and recommendations were perfect. The bathroom was a great size and the TV was also bigger than expected. The hotel is situated in a perfect location with everything in walking distance and a metro station a minutes walk away. Everything was very clean and beautifully decorated. Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Excellent location - short walking distance to most of the sights. Lovely hotel with very helpful staff. Breakfast was on special offer (€8.50) while we were there - good value.

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We asked for a room with light and/or a view to the street and got one with window opening directly to a wall, dark and small. All the towels were overly used, very rough, need to be replaced. No one told us that we had to request the fridge be unlocked, so we reported it broken on the last day (we couldn't open it with the key); they just apologised for not telling us but didn't offer anything to compensate.

    Location was great, room very clean and staff friendly.

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Service at the reception desk was alway friendly and very helpful. The hotel itself is very stylish and modern. The room was the perfect size for me traveling alone. The room was cleaned well everyday and the personell was friendly asking me if I needed anything else. I had wifi worked everywhere and was very reliable, which was good since I had to work from the hotel during my stay. It goes without saying that the location just doesn't get any better than this. Despite its location I did not find the hotel to be that noisy which was a big plus.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location of the hotel is excellent, only 2 minutes walk to Metro station (Opera) and within 10 minutes walk to Plaza Mayor. The staffs are very nice and helpful, highly recommend this hotel!

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Record heat wave but staff did nothing about lack of air conditioning in our room. In fact, little concern about our comfort or well-being. The hotel is 3-star at best.

    Great location as walking distance to Gran Via, museums, good restaurants.

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room's location made for a poor view and virtually no natural light.

    The desk staff was wonderfully helpful and friendly. The room was clean and modern.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked the larger double room for our romantic escape away. In the pictures it looked really charming and stylish. In the end, we got a tiny dark room which didn't even have a proper window!! Just a small inside window overlooking a 1x2m hole. The walls were white and boring, there was not a single picture hanging, and no attention to details what so ever. Breakfast buffet is plain and overpriced. The bread was old and the orange juice isn't even natural.

    The location is, what can I say, perfect. The rest, not so much!!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I did think it was very over priced for a small room where the bed could only be accessed from one side, and the only window looked into the airwell! A bit disappointing for the price of the room.

    Great location, lovely decor and friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nighttime noise at front of hotel was unbearable, especially the 2am garbage collection.

    Very good pleasant staff arranged for us to change to quiet room, smaller but quiet. Breakfast staff remembered how I like my coffee.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location of the hotel was perfect, enabling us to see the best sites of Madrd easily. There were also numerous restaurants to hand for ease of dining.

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Meninas - Boutique Opera traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: