Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mesón de Sancho 3 stars

Carretera Cádiz -Málaga, Km. 94, 11380 Tarifa, Spain

#18 of 37 hotels in Tarifa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1948 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    Superb food very tasteful decor , wonderful views , extra comfortable bed friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really except that the weather became colder and we felt a tiny bit cold in the hotel but the bedding was adequate so not cold in bed!

    Second visit in two weeks. Absolutely love the place Very relaxing!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    10
    Great location especially for a birdwatcher being so close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The menu could have been more varied during our stay.

    Great location especially for a birdwatcher being so close to major European raptor migration watch points. Female staff particularly were very friendly and engaging and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.3
    Very good choice if you have a car.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is reachable only if you have a car. It was quite cold in the room in October, the stuff doesn't speak english. No small refrigerator. Prices of the restaurant are little bit high.

    The hotel is surrounded by beautiful trees, gardens, 2 swimming pools, close to nature. The room was cleaned each day.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Very pleasant and excellent value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We rented a bungalow by the pool. It was quiet and private, with a quaint look. The surrounding garden was beautiful. Breakfast was a generous buffet. Covered parking is free.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent atmospheric setting with spectacular views from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing springs to mind

    Excellent atmospheric setting with spectacular views from our apartment. Ideally situated for birdwatching, many of the migrating bird species flew right over the hotel. Friendly maid service, the room was beautifully clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent place to break the journey from Cadiz to Malaga; very friendly staff and good breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was the perfect stopover for our journey from Cadiz to Malaga airport. No negative comments. In spite of being on a very busy road, our room was very quiet.

    Our room was extremely comfortable, bright and clean, with a lovely terrace overlooking the hills.Breakfast was good, lots of variety and delicious fruit.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice garden and nice rooms for that rate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing !

    Nice garden and nice rooms for that rate. Service and personal are very good, room was clean and has space. In the summer the garden with flowers and the ppol are superb. Really quiet and relaxing locastion.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    9.2
    Beautiful hotel in lovely setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Parking situation worked out OK, but was a little confusing. We were told just to park anywhere, which meant along the highway, in the gas station lot next door, in some other deserted areas near the hotel. The pool was large and very pretty. However, the water was really cold and deep. There was nowhere where your feet could touch the bottom.

    Our room was large and beautiful. The balcony overlooked a lovely wooded area with mountains in the distance. The breakfast was outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    9.6
    Fabulous. Can't wait to go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. It was our choice to stay in an economy room at the opposite side of the road with quite a lot of steps leading to it. That should be pointed out when booking. The hotel offered to change our room but it was fine for us.

    Loved everything about the place. Great to have kettle in room and a choice of fruit teas . Beds fantastic. Breakfast superb. Gorgeous "Menu del dia" served at night as well as the A la carte menu..Thank you to all the staff for their friendliness and efficiency.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Great place for our stay as home base for our visit to Morocco & Gibraltar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some rooms are in a property across the busy highway & that’s where we were located. Luckily there is a tunnel under the busy road, but on the other side there are a lot of steps & hard to haul suitcases up. Thankfully a wonderful man helped us lug our bags up. Would have preferred to have stayed on other side. Hard to get out of parking lot & onto highway safely. Need to trim bushes for better view of highway as location is bend of busy road & visibility not good. Would have liked the use of a safe.

    The room was very comfortable; cleaning staff wonderful. Kettle a nice touch. Breakfast was terrific. Lots to choose from & very fresh. Beautiful room to dine in. Quiet even though on busy road about 10 km. outside of Tarifa. Lovely property with helpful, friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    10
    Pretty, helpful, clean, convenient and a great price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were very happy with this hotel.

    The location up on the hill outside of Tarifa suited us perfectly. It's very close to the road, but we couldn't hear the traffic from our room. We loved the outdoor seating areas for each room, and the small pool in the newly-renovated west side pavilion was just great. Very helpful staff who let us leave a suitcase for two days between our reservations while we took a side trip to Morocco. Highly recommended. Can't speak to the restaurant as we brought our own dinner, but it seemed busy with happy customers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    6.5
    Nice decor of the rooms;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors not properly cleaned in bathroom and bedroom - hair lying around Quite old fashioned table clothes in the dining/breakfast area

    Nice decor of the rooms; nice pool area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    7.1
    The evening set menu was good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Parking was difficult at times if all the parking bays either side of the road were full. We paid a supplement to have a terrace with 'views over the surrunding gardens'. We were disappointed to find we had no view, as the terrace was blocked in with trees and tall shrubs.

    The evening set menu was good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    5.8
    Old character hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel built either side of a busy road, with a lot of traffic noise during the night. No acoustic secondary glazing to windows. Pool small and grounds somewhat tired in appearance. Parking very difficult and limited. No reserved space and had to park in the petrol garage next door!

    Old character hotel. Restaurant offers excellent food.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    10
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to return a meal in restaurant. Disappointed with the food for the price.

    Spacious room, lots of sitting areas. Friendly staff. Styling is french. Something a bit different.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable, quiet getaway for our weekend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining area overlooking the pool was being used as an overflow, and could have been laid out in preparation for additional guests rather than keep requesting for the essentials.

    Good selection available for breakfast. Restaurant team were polite and food superb. Comfortable room and the nearby pool made it feel like a quiet community.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect end to our holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant was excellent. The building is very beautiful and it has a good size swimming pool. It is out of town and in a quiet secluded area. The rooms are extremely comfortable with lots of pillows and lots of space. Hairdryer, toiletries, fluffy towels, air conditioning that works, strong shower nothing to fault.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    7.5
    Strange room, fine for a short stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When booking I didn't realise we weren't going to have a room in the actual hotel. Instead we were taken across the road to a Cabaña which is a little wooden house - a room with a bathroom. This was fine but quite basic and the Cabañas fellt a bit separate from the rest of the hotel.

    Good choice at the breakfast buffet, nice facilities

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    A lovely hotel with attractive rooms, pools and gardens and we would happily return if in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of any improvements ! Just a general comment though. Hotel is on a main road and you have to drive to towns locally. You cannot walk to any shops, restaurants or beaches. This was not a problem for us and there are 2 swimming pools at the hotel so excellent for relaxing there.

    Super comfy bed. Pretty room and lovely gardens. Everywhere spotlessly clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Charming hotel, full of character and very Spanish in style...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Charming hotel, full of character and very Spanish in style which was lovely. Wonderful views from this hotel and a very scenic 10-15 minute drive to Tarifa.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    Overall a very enjoyable short stay and would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the staff, incuding the owner / manager need to smile more!

    Croissants were good quality! Breakfast food generally was very good and reasonably priced. Nice swimming pool area. Liked general decoration of hotel. Lent us a parasol for the beach, which was a nice touch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Total relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about the Hotel was perfect, from the towel arrangement to the view. I would recommend this place to all my friends that need accommodation near the Tarifa beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay! A little gem - definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    A great find! Lovely rooms, we stayed in the bungalow with two separate rooms which were spotless clean, spacious and we even had our own courtyard. Pool area was very clean, even the hotel was full we didn't even notice that. Staff were attentive and nice. It is close to Tarifa beach and amenities, hotel restaurant is very good as well. I definitely recommend unfortunately we onlt stayed for one night but will definitely come back next year for a full week at least

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Very pleasant overall and a useful stopover for 1 night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little further outside Tarifa than I thought and on the busy main road so some traffic noise. Although that made it easy to access and not as stuffy as maybe Tarifa accommodation.

    Room was very comfortable if a little dated. Great pool, food was really good and staff friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    nice hotel, if you are on the right side of the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    close to main road! Beautiful scenery, but noise of the road... aks for a room at the restaurant side of the road (so you do not have to cross the road every time).

    very nice breakfast! Big pool!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    6.7
    Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location. Not proper for kids. It’s located in front of the main busy road to Algeciras. When you book , you don’t realize it until you arrive there.

    Staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Comfort and friendliness in a beautiful building.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    A return visit and the hotel just keeps on getting better. Very comfortable rooms with everything you need, large and spacious and a very comfortable king sized bed. The reception area is well attended and very inviting. The bar and restaurant give excellent service and value. Beware, the portions are very generous. The staff are faultless.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    9.2
    Spacious and clean rooms - we rented a bungalow.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner at the restaurant was not as expected. The entrecote we had was very bad quality and chewy. The staff was friendly enough but clearly not very well trained in waiting tables. We probable had a bit too high expectations based on the professional and promising impression and the nice setting of the restaurant. Breakfast was good though with wide selection:)

    Spacious and clean rooms - we rented a bungalow. The pools and pool areas were nice and although close to the road you felt secluded due to the garden lay-out, trees and plants. Friendly staff and relaxed atmoshphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    6.7
    Nice room! A lot of flowers in summer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was situated on a really driven road. You could hear the cars pasing by. In bad the smell was really bad because the exit pipe does not have a siphon trap. The pool should be free of leafs.

    The room was confy in a romantic look! Verry nice. Near Tarifa, can go there if you have a car!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing getaway in a beautiful setting surrounded by nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything i don't have any dislikes

    Everything room was spacious, spotless, comfortable. The pool area very peaceful, lovely settings and the hotel was beautifully decorated. I loved it and food delicious. I highly recommend it and definately will return.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    3.3
    Broken down wooden garden shed with a beat up shower, which was not properly cleaned for some time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Literally a wooden shed with a bed and a shower. One could not call it clean and a lot of stuff was broken. Asking for a drink in the restaurant was met with an angry waiter sending us off...

    Not much to like, should have been listed as 'garden shed with a bed and shower'

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff were superb.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Location - slightly inaccessible - not close enough to walk to town, and no public transport. I highly recommend hiring a car, unless you're an excellent hill cyclist

    The staff were superb. Every single one of them. Very helpful and accommodating throughout our stay. Always with a friendly greeting. Great Wi-Fi, I had a meeting whilst I was out there, nice fast, stable connection. Location - beautifully placed in the Andalusian - I could see Morocco from our room

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Gorgeous grounds!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gorgeous grounds! We were nestled in a cottage amidst beautiful flowers. The aroma of flowers and mountain air was incredibly relaxing! Enjoyed every minute!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful oasis just off the coast road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal was ok but think we chose badly

    Beautiful oasis just off the coast road. Big pool, cold but didn’t seem chlorinated and once in - sooo good. Lovely big airy room with great view of tree tops and valley.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    6.3
    Value money need transport or car
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This old fashioned Spanish style apartments are located out of Tarifa by 15 mins and you need a car for transport. Parking is near by on busy main road.

    Pool is large but deep and cold not suitable for small children. Not enough Sun lounges for guests. Rooms are traditional hotel style, clean simple. Limited eating options need a car to travel to Tarifa. Breakfast included was good variety & quality. Gardens are beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    perfect stay for travellers on the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to not like except location you needed a car. although it was on a busy road there was no noise in the room.

    the room was spacious and airy with a balcony . the bed and bedding was extra comfortable. tea and coffee available in the room. public areas were beautifully decorated and inviting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    A great family weekend in a very spacious hotel with lots of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel staff were extremely welcoming and the rooms were very quiet despite the fact that it is right on the due of a busy main road. The pool and surroundings were very relaxing with beautiful shrubs and again you didn’t hear any road noise.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    A hotel that is so light and airy and flowery that you feel your spirits lift
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast isn't free or very cheap, so we wound up getting it elsewhere. The staff wasn't exactly smiley -- you had to kind of make conversation, and then they'd warm up. I left my passport in the room, and then left at traveled more around Spain, and didn't realize my huge mistake until days later when getting ready to board a ferry. Thank goodness they had my passport, but I wish they had emailed or called to tell me because it was a bit of a nightmare, and I passed right by them on my way to the boat. But these complaints are actually small for me. I really like this place, and feel it's very special. Oh and the parking: If you park across the highway, do not make the mistake I made and run across the highway. I almost got hit by a fast approaching car coming around the curve. I didn't realize there is a stairway and tunnel that goes under the highway. Much safer! They should probably have warning signs for people like me. ;)

    The property is in a beautiful location, and is very well maintined. We felt like it was a bit of a gem. We were given a free upgrade to a superior room, and I think next time, maybe we'd just book that one. It is a dog friendly place, not like dog enthusiastic (no bowls or dog treats), but really it was quite nice for the dog. We were able to walk him around the very large grounds through gardens, and he loved it. He also loved our balcony looking out into the woods. While there is no coffee in the room, I ordered some from the restaurant, and it was delicious.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely bit of luxury
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it was lovely to be up in the mountains be aware that it is on the main road so rooms on the other side might be a little noisy. Tarifa is 7km away so a drive if you want to go out in the evening.

    We paid more and upgraded to a room on the side where the main building is. It was the last night of our trip and it felt a nice treat. Lovely building, beautifully appointed large rooms with luxurious bathrooms and a balcony looking out to the mountains. Plenty of communal areas all well decorated and comfortable. Comfy bed, tea and kettle in the room. Great pool area with gardens

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    Nice place but out of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It is a long way away from anything, so if you don't have a car you won't be walking into town or anywhere.

    Nice place, comfortable and food was ok, nice view, pool and gardens and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    7.1
    Room was nice and lovely views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't happy with the 2 meals I had in the restaurant. First night ordered a steak had to send it back as I asked for it to be cooked medium but it came out so rare. They bought out another steak after saying it was cooked longer and it was just as bad as the first. So needless to say I did not eat it. The second night I ordered a schnitzel and it came out burnt and well overcooked and was so chewy and I was unable to eat it. Although the salads were lovely. Managers on the front desk lacked personality and this showed. Although the young waitress in the restaurant was lovely and professional and so friendly and helpful. Always smiling and cheerful.

    Room was nice and lovely views. Overall the hotel was perfect and always clean. See above re the female waitress in the restaurant. Sorry don't know her name. But she made the stay so much more pleasurable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    10
    We loved Meson de Sancho and would happily recommend it and stay there again ourselves!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel lost power after we got there for a little bit! They fixed the problem readily and the night went on just fine. Another problem was that the water in the bathroom was slightly discolored, we figured the brownish color is from rust in the pipes!

    Beautiful view from the back balcony and beautiful bathrooms!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    A wonderful find
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A brilliant hotel with outstanding rooms and fantastic customer service. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend this hotel to all our friends when visiting Tarifa. Although we were initially concerned that the location was “too far out of the way”, our fears were quickly allayed as it is just a 10 minute drive to Tarifa. A lovely hilly location with great views! The food in the restaurant is also to a high standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.6
    Could not have been nicer. We were on motorcycles, cold and tired, and the
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was excellent, but Tarifa was a cold and WINDY place.

    The rooms were wonderful with very nice views of th surrounding hills. Excellent breakfast and service.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Nice rustic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a few mins away by car from Tarifa

    Nice rustic hotel. Despite being near the road, if gou vet a room looking at the forest you only hear the birds. Gave us a room upgrade.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Restaurant staff was wonderful!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotels generally should not list English as one of their supported languages when no one on staff can do anything but say “hello,” plus “yes and no.” Very difficult to get any question answered. Sadly, my limited Spanish was better than their English 😕

    Restaurant staff was wonderful! Very accommodating. Front desk staff was nice but not very helpful. Language was a bit of a problem.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    8.8
    Perfect for visiting Tarifa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It wasn't possible to open the windows in the room. You could open the balcony doors but then they would have been banging in the wind all night.

    Lovely hotel, nicely furnished, comfortable room with big bathroom. Nice views across to Africa. Great breakfast. Kettle and mugs in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Good place for a stop over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    - our room was smelling with chloride (a bit like at a public swimming pool) and we had an impression that air is very moist - it was very clean though. It would be hard to stand for more than one night. - outdoors, when walking around the property in some areas (pool, football field) there was a bad smell in the air (some sewage) - most likely coming from a creek running behind the property. Not a nice experience.

    Good location, clean rooms, very good breakfast (paid separately) in a room with open fire and quite rich whiskey collection. A lot of open space outside of the building. Common space is nicely furnished and stylish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    We rented bungalow for 4 people on the way to Gibraltar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We rented bungalow for 4 people on the way to Gibraltar. It was clean but basic, as expected. Bungalow has the outdoor space with table and chairs and there is swimming pool on the property. 2 TV's, kettle and tea are provided. living space is separated on two bedrooms by the wall but there is no door. Good food in the restaurant. Huge, delicious portion of meat and chips that we couldn't finish.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.3
    Better than we expected. An excellent location for an overnight stay enroute Marbella to Cadiz.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We come from a warm climate so the tiled floor made the room feel rather chilly as there were no rugs on the floor. The large bed was very comfortable.

    The ambience and character of the hotel and welcoming feel. The weather was unusually cold for early May so we really enjoyed the open fire in the dining room. The meal was excellent and staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    A piece of real Spain
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Spotlessly clean everywhere charming rooms excellent food very friendly staff reasonable prices Very peaceful welcoming hotel In the old Spanish style with all the facilities you could want in a much more expensive hotel Have stayed here on my way to and coming back from Tangier For more than 20 years The hotel only gets better as the years go by Would highly recommend just a stopover or longer stay wish I had the time to make my visits longer

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.6
    Extremely comfortable room and facilities on main road but very quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Salmon and steak both overcooked and disappointing although macaroni starter was good.. would recommend hotel as it was excellent value and very stylish

    Very stylish hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Very comfortable, friendly and good value hotel.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Have been staying here a couple of times a year for the past 15 years, and the place keeps improving. Some of the staff have been here for as long as I can remember, and are as friendly and enthusiastic now as they have ever been. The facilities are second to none and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. All have aircon, fridge, TV, modern bathrooms, and many have nice countryside views. They have recently installed a lift covering all floors. The restaurant offers a very good choice, but be careful as portions can be very large. The hotel is on the main road, approx 7 KM from Tarifa, and although there is some road noise, the rooms are double glazed and so it is not a problem.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location, not so far from Tarifa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, not so far from Tarifa Incredibly kind staff, caring much about the comfort of their guests. The room was very cozy and offered a beautiful view of the mountains Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Relaxing g and comfortable as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They shouldn’t change anything, they have just got it right.

    The hotel is just a wonderful p,ace to stay and relax. We have stayed here maybe 10 times now, and it is always the same, wonderful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful place close to Tarifa!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are up a walkway but this was not a problem.

    Very nice layout and facilities. The staff are outstanding. The manager let us park our cars there as we took the ferry to Tangier. Food was outstanding.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent pied a terre for visiting family and friends in south Andalucia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have stayed here before and use it when visiting my brother who lives just over a mile away. Indeed I stayed here as a kid in the 1960s! The mountain stream-fed pool is still deliciously cold!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.6
    Our experience was wonderful. Highly recommend this property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This had nothing to do with the hotel, but we had torrential rains during out stay. So, coming back to the hotel and settling in for the evening was great.

    The rooms were very comfortable, immaculately clean, with balcony overlooking a riding arena. The staff were superb. The restaurant meals were of excellent quality and reasonably priced.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Excellent pet friendly hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to dislike.

    Very spacious, comfortable room with excellent view from balcony. Highly recommend this pet friendly hotel as a base for visiting the area.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous stay, bit cheeky would have liked coffee in room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing!

    Fabulous stay, bit cheeky would have liked coffee in room but brought our own anyway. Only wished we could have stayed longer. Will be back for sure. Thank you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    8.3
    Very nice hotel. We will return but later in spring when it is warmer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather was in seasonally cold but the heating didn't kick on until 17.00, much too late. We had to use the air-conditioning. The food in the restaurant was good but not served warm enough.

    The room was large and comfortable. Double bed was very big and very comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    Friendly staff, clean &comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking near the hotel limited.0

    Friendly staff, clean &comfortable. Excellent breakfast and a la carte dining in the evenings. A very attractive hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.6
    Very beautiful place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very beautiful place! Amazing staff at the reception and the restaurant. Very very cozy place and clean rooms. Good free parking across the road. Fresh breakfast and delicious coffee. thank you for everything. Would like to return ))

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, bang in the right place.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only staying one night, we had already booked ahead otherwise we would have stayed longer. One to remember and visit again if we pass that way in the future.

    Everything, the whole place really, beautiful hotel, excellent layout, wonderfully furnished both in the public areas and our room, which was very clean and extremely spacious. Staff were very courteous and professional. We were on the upper floor and the views across the Gibraltar straits to Africa were stunning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful place in a great setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice breakfast though a bit expensive.

    Wonderful place in a great setting. I think we got a real bargain, because it was January. All the fittings and decor in excellent quality and taste, with solid wooden wardrobes. Our dog was allowed in too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Great overnight stop for the early ferry to Tanger
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't do breakfast so cannot comment. It is very convenient for us we travel regularly on the ferry to Morocco (we stay here 3 or 4 times a year). The restaurant is comfortable with sofas and a log fire, very welcoming in December.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    very good.....good feeling with the fire, wood burners and christmas trees. food disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    see above

    Although we had booked a table for 8.30 when we went to the dining room the table was not ready and we were asked to wait while it was prepared. Also two friends ordered the suckling pig which we have had before and their meat was not upto the standard we had before.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    During cleaning someone took a 10£ bill from our room. The staff was not helpful at all and did nothing to resolve this misunderstanding.

    Beautiful location. Rooms are spacious and new with a view of the surrounding hills, feels very cozy. Great breafkast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Great Acommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only let down was the breakfast. I wouldn't recommend eating here. Breakfast was a small Jamon Serrano sandwich and it was expensive.

    The hotel was beautiful and I would highly recommend anyone planning on visiting Tarifa to stay at this hotel. The rooms are large and spacious and the bathrooms are clean and modern.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    8.8
    Very nice stay, nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is very convenient for travelers by car or, as we, by bicycle. It is located just on the highway, so the nearest place of interest (restaurant etc.) requires driving. However, the hotel's restaurant is just wonderful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    If you want peaceful location out of town with great views - try this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Set outside Tarifa in the country- our room had wonderful views over to Africa and was very private. Pool area is well located. Staff very friendly and would definitely stay again. Breakfast however was overpriced for what we got. Also organised one day tour to Morocco.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.7
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed in one of the bungalows which was very cheap. All was ok until we were woken up by an animal (rat?) in the walls.

    The restaurant on site was better than expected. Easy parking. Good wifi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Bungalow (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location, a bit on the street but all the rooms are facing the garden and the pool so quiet overall. The staff is very kind and helpful. The family room was large and comfortable, facing the garden. Very convenient half way between Tarifa and Gibraltar.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.8
    I recommend this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner was not very good.

    The property is in a great spot, about 10 minutes from Tarifa. Miguel who works behind the counter was great and very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.3
    Good value and nice staff but hotel needs updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Bungalow (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room we stayed in could use some updating. The best word for it is rustic. Also, the unsecured wifi is not very strong.

    The price was good. The staff were friendly and professional. We appreciated the convenience of having a restaurant on-site.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: