Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mesón del Cid 3 stars

Plaza Santa María, 8. Para llegar con vehículo calle Fernan González, nº 68, 09003 Burgos, Spain

#6 of 40 hotels in Burgos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2830 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely gracious hotel on the Camino and at the center of everything. a wonderful treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My friends paid about the same with breakfast ( a full buffet); whilst mine was extra. My room had a good shower but others had bathtubs.

    Location, location, location. And extremely helpful staff. No need to pay extra for a Cathedral view, the rooftop view on the other side is lovely and less noisy.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    9.6
    An enjoyable stay in a prime location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant did not appear to be very competitive. We eat in the city. there were plenty of local restaurants.

    A brilliant location about 100m from the front of the magnificent cathedral. Good breakfasts and helpful staff. Interesting period décor and an underground garage, that was quire pricey, but very convenient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    8.3
    Very helpful staff and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The car park and hotel rooms are distributed across various buildings with different sets of stairs to navigate. Inconvenient if you are carrying luggage. Also (and I’m not 100% certain of this) but I’m sure when the room was advertised and booked online it showed a view of the cathedral. When we arrived we were told that these rooms would cost extra. Photos online should be exactly the same as the room that is being booked.

    Very helpful staff and excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Good location across the Cathedral if you don’t mind very old hotel room
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is really old, the door make squeky noise when you open it, you can hear all the sounds from room upstair too. Bed and all the furniture looks from century ago 😱. First I got a room with bed below the stair with the weird angle on top of the bed, I ask for a change as I can’t imagine to be able to sleep, they replace it with corner room, better.

    location & very good service at the restaurant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    9.6
    Gem of a hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you have a lower sports type car the parking garage is a bit of a challenge.

    Location and accommodation was excellent. Loved the decor. Would definitely recommend !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    Good value became expensive when the parking was added. Other guests were able to park in the street
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was a serious issue. I was given a parking place which was already occupied and charged 18 euros which I was not expecting and I consider excessive.

    The location right by the Cathedral is great and I love the old traditional feel of the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Revisiting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Visited 20 years ago and rembered the lady on reception still working there lovely hotel view to cathedral wish we had stayed longer Burgos is brilliant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    6.7
    Location is very central to the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were brusque but not rude. Parking is difficult to find! Making the parking address clearer would be helpful.

    Location is very central to the old town

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    9.2
    Superb hotel in excellent location overlooking the cathedral square.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Well run very clean hotel in excellent location. Lovely breakfast. We paid a little extra for the annexe across the road with has a view of the cathedral. Parking under the building at extra cost but we were able to park in the road outside. Fabulous city to explore.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.7
    Failed on the cama matrimonial this time. Otherwise excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We asked under special requests for a double bed but found two good sized separate beds. We were told the hotel gets a lot of travel groups who want separate beds and they only had one cama matrimonial. If I'd received feedback advising this I'd have cancelled. I think they ought to have told me and though I find this a convenient stopover hotel I wouldn't rebook it without an absolute assurance.

    We really enjoyed the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Fantastic location across from the cathedral and easy access...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel room and fittings were very tired, old linens, bed was too hard (and I like a firm mattress). Extra pillows in cupboard had not had pillow cases changed. Toe nails on floor. Front staff had no warmth.

    Fantastic location across from the cathedral and easy access to Pintxos bars. Cheerful staff in the breakfast room, great breakfast to start the day. Secure parking (18€ p.d.)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Centrally located grand but simple
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast could be more elegant given the rest. Restaurant is not open on a Sunday night.

    This is quite a grand place, very central and with underground secure parking - cool in high summer. What you lose in parking cost you gain for location. Rooms are thick-walled, with excellent views. A bit dark but in high summer that's a bonus. The cathedral is on the doorstep.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.6
    A very nice hotel overlooking the Cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather difficult to find as our sat nav didn’t take us there, but eventually found it via the street signs. We had to pay extra for parking but we were happy to do so for the added security.

    A very nice hotel next to the Cathedral. Perfect for visiting the beautiful city. We upgraded to a room overlooking the cathedral which was worth the extra €10 Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was very good, though they were rather slow in topping up the hot food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing end to our Camino walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything to dislike. Paid 10 euros more at time of booking to stay in room view which was worth it but could have been an option at time of booking.

    Amazing location. Great view of cathedral. Very clean. Good shower with good selection of toiletries. Mini bar with reasonably priced drinks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location and full of history. A charming very old building just metres from the cathedral -
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It took some skill to park in the car park! Very tight spaces - but then it is probably to be expected in an ancient city centre.

    View of cathedral. It was worth paying a little extra for these rooms Spacious and charming rooms, very helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.9
    Prime location , everything within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls in hotel accommodation were a little thin, could hear neighbours talking next door..

    Hotel right behind the cathedral, breakfast included very nice and staff were helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.5
    Old spanish hotel, well located, good size rooms in the old town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are out dates.. but quite big, so comfortable when travelling with loads of luggage.

    Location is right in the center.. for dinner, drinks and shopping. Pedestrian area so perfect for kids.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel. Perfect location. Helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thin towels. Be prepared to walk steps into the hotel from the town plaza.

    The staff was friendly. Great location. We happened to have a room that looked out on the cathedral. Loved it! Very nice breakfast was included.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel with a spectacular view of the Cathedral!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the junior suite which provided stunning views of the Catedral. The views were stunning. The room was lovely and comfortable; a 4 poster bed and sofa; a walk in wardrobe, small fridge and bathroom. The hotel is traditional and has it's own parking - as with many other old hotels and properties in Spain, the parking is quite tight, we have a large saloon car. But useful for location, charged at 10 euros for one night. Would recommend as is centrally located, within easy reach of the bars and restaurants. Beautiful history and architecture within this town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    3.8
    Not very clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom (Suite) was not clean. Had hairs all over the bathroom!! :( . We made a reclamation, no manager talked to us. Just the recepcionist told us to fill up some papers....

    The bedroom (Suite) was not clean. Had hairs all over the bathroom!! :( . We made a reclamation, no manager talked to us. Just the recepcionist told us to fill up some papers....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location and very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi didn't function at all and the staff wasn't helpful about that. One day the elevator was out of order and another day the aircondition was out of order.

    A very nice, clean and quiet room with excellent location next door to Iglesia San Nicolas and the Cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Best Location in Burgos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a fabulous hotel with right beside Cathedral, the reception offered us a room with a view of the cathedral for an extra £10, I felt if they had it free it would have been nice to just give it to us, we didn't upgrade but the room we got was lovely

    Liked the close proximity to Cathedral it was a stunning view & beautiful hotel, the dinning room is class. Staff also very good, would highly recommend

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    9.2
    Burgos was well worth visiting and we would certainly recommend Meson del Cid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had not realised that we had to book a parking space in advance but one was available. Not the easiest place to find even with SatNav although there are helpful road signs directing you to the hotel which did the trick in the end.

    Marvellous location - worth the extra for a room overlooking the cathedral. Very easy to walk into the city and up to the castle. Burgos was an attractive buzzing city with plenty of restaurants and shops within five minutes of the hotel. The hotel's own restaurant was good quality but a little quiet when we were there so no great atmosphere.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    I loved Burgos and will definitely choose this hotel for a return visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Cathedral bell-ringers could take some lessons from my local church!

    Fabulous location- and garage parking was definitely a bonus- nowhere else to park in the middle of the city! First hotel on our Spanish trip to provide a china teapot for my English Breakfast tea! Lovely breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Location was perfect and secure parking was an added bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Location was perfect and secure parking was an added bonus. Our room looked out onto the cathedral. The room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfast was exellent with plenty of choice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    Really good value with a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really basic decor. Staff helpful without a smile.

    Really good value with a great location. We did not have our breakfast there. Private parking available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Hotel with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff seemed surprised that we opted not to pay an extra 10 euros for a room with a cathedral view - we had glorious weather so were able to spend our time outdoors and seeing the cathedral from the square rather than from our room. Might be different in poor weather! Also parked safely outside on the street rather than pay an extra 18 euros for the hotel garage. Bathroom small and fittings dated although good powerful shower.

    An old building right next to the cathedral and with on street parking in the Calle outside if you are lucky. Room quite spartan and fixtures looking a bit dated. Very well situated for visiting sights of Burgos.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    10
    Ideal base for visit to Burgos - hotel recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Traditional style hotel with superb view of the Cathedral. (There is an additional payment for rooms with Cathedral view.) Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast, with extensive choice. Comfortable room. Great location, easy walking distance to town. Secure parking.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.9
    Great location very clean desk staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Reserved a terrace room - not a real terrace Very old room so had that old smell would have been great if it was aired before guest arrival.

    Great location very clean desk staff helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Great view of the cathedral from the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Disappointed with the parking. Was €18 for the night, we were told that we couldn't stay a couple of hours past our checkout time, despite it meant to be full day parking. Would recommend using one of the other parking for €10 a day a short walk away.

    Great view of the cathedral from the room. Right in the middle of town.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Nice town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You don't have to up grade to a room with a view of the cathedral as you can see it all the time the rooms at the back have views of other parts of the town. I have stay here before.

    Room was good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    8.8
    En route from Orihuela Costa to Caen
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds are a little on the firm side.

    Hotel is in an excellent location for the old town although there are quite a few steps to negotiate into town. The rooms were in the new part of the hotel and were very clean and a good size.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    6.3
    a disappointing experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sharp practice! We had requested, in advance, a double room with, preferably, a view of the Cathedral. On arrival we were told that if we wanted a twin-bedded room with a view it would cost an additional 10 Euro per night; if we wanted a double room with a view, it would cost an additional 20 Euro per night. Then we were told that it would cost 12 Euro per night to park our car. Later, when we queried the non-functional air-conditioning, we were told that the hotel did not consider it was warm enough to justify switching on the system! The room was dark and dingy. I would recommend avoiding this hotel.

    Proximity to the Cathedral and historical centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    We had a good time even though it was a short stay. Will look forward to a longer stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially as I had to take my wife to the hospital. The food and service in the restaurant were great and I would certainly book this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Bed definitely comfy and hotel location perfect for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking!!! Although for an extra €18 hotel parking available although difficult to navigate

    Bed definitely comfy and hotel location perfect for the Cathedral

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    This property was well located, clean and with a terrific view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed two nights and my husband is an early riser and was locked in and couldn't go out for a walk until the day receptionist arrived.

    Our view from the room was of the Cathedral and the Camino. It was extraordinary.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    7.5
    A place to return to
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants were closed and it was very difficult to get an evening meal

    This hotel was perfectly placed for visiting Burgos especially the cathedral Walking around the little streets was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Overnight en route from Bilbao to Teruel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite difficult to find but that was mainly because the GPS code wasn’t quite right.

    Location of the hotel was wonderful and car parking secure at 18 euros for the night. Easy walk into the old city about 20 metres! Quite a few steps down into town but there are alternatives. Plenty of bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good break point to catch the ferry as not too far from Bilbao
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not great if you have a mobility problem as there are lots of steps down to reception and breakfast.

    Lovely decor. Great position, right next to the cathedral. Beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.5
    The location couldn't have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was in the annex across the street which was a bit inconvenient when checking in and out. The decor is rather old-fashioned and could do with a makeover.

    The location couldn't have been better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    Spectacular cathedral views from the hotel, but beware of the stairway to heaven!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Be aware that that this hotel is located at the top of many, many steps, perhaps a hundred or more, and since most of the action (restaurants, bars and shops) is down in the main square, you will find yourself walking up and down all those steps several times a day. Great exercise if you are fit, but beware if you are traveling with someone who may not be able to negotiate all those steps. Also, bear in mind that the hotel actually consists of two buildings, one across the street from the other, so you need to be buzzed into the secondary building. Also, restaurant in the hotel was priceyl, so we went down into town for most meals, even breakfast.

    This hotel occupies a spectacular location at the top of a hill with breathtaking views of one of the most elaborate, wedding-cake cathedrals I have ever seen. It was worth the extra charge for a view of the cathedral and the city of Burgos behind it. The rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely appointed. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. By the way, if you are wondering how the hotel got its name, well, the legendary El Cid and his wife are buried in the Burgos Cathedral across the street. I never realized El Cid was based on a real person; but just movie roles for Charlton Heston and Sophia Loren to play. The city of Burgos is quite an impressive town, historic, scenic and elegant. with a gorgeous natural river running right through the middle of it. Just 3 hours north of Madrid, Burgos is a surprisingly upscale town, well worth putting on any itinerary. I wouldn't miss it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    5.8
    . And helpful staff. No seed or drink available on arrival.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very unfriendly and not all helpful on arrival.Had to walk up many steps to get to the hotel after a long hard day of walking. There was no food or drink available at the hotel and the staff weren’t interested in suggesting where we could go to get some. Our room was not in the main building and we had to go to another building across the road. Hotel is comfortable but old and tired and needs to be updated. It is a pity as it is such a wonderful location right next to the Cathedral.

    Good location Large room and good sized bath

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.2
    Lovely short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfasts were expensive at €10

    Superb location just across the square from the Cathedral and well positioned for restaurants and sight seeing. Has all the facilities you would expect from a top class hotel and right on "Il Camino". Lovely bath after 5 days walking was very welcome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location. Right on the Camino Frances. Very close to shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I need to be picky, the restaurant is overrated.

    Great location. Right on the Camino Frances. Right next to the cathedral. Very close to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Great views to the Cathedral. Place with great attention to details and very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    An amazing place, full of interesting details. I loved the floor tiles and the lace bedroom curtains. As well the corridors furniture with the antiques objects and manuscripts copies. A place decorated by history lovers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.9
    The hotel is old world which is perfect for its location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The weather!

    The hotel is old world which is perfect for its location, right in front of the magnificent cathedral. Plenty of restaurants to choose from & in walking distance. the hotel it self has a restaurant although we only had the breakfast, which was included. We stayed there again on the way back from Bilbao. PS check out the trees.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Idylic setting!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was beyond our wildest dreams!!

    Excellent breakfast and room service. The view from our room was spectacular!!!!The room was very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    9.6
    Wish we could have stayed longer..we will be back
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing for us.

    Fabulous place, filled with old world charm.Extremely comfortable. Wonderful views over cathedral. Fabulous breakfast and setting again over looking cathedral.Very friendly, helpful team. Parking worth paying for.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic view of Cathedral from hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel close to St. Nicholas Church is not the main hotel and did not have a reception area and one had to ring the bell to have the outside door opened.

    I have asked for a room with a view of the Cathedral for which I was charged extra. The hotel is easily accessible from the bus station and is exceptionally located just by the Cathedral. There are quite a number of good restaurants in the vicinity.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    7.5
    Just good enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception.

    Booked for 2 nights. Was offered a back of the annex room. Others staying for one night had main hotel rooms. Paid 15 euros per night extra for a family room, still in the annex, simply to get a view. Not impressed with the reception. The hotel is on the shabby side of shaggy chic. Beds good ,bathroom good, breakfast good. Position good. But the arrival attitude was away less than welcoming

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.3
    Bedroom confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Three of us arrived at breakfast at 08.45 to find that there is no food. No eggs no bacon. ! Only two staff on absolutely chaos.

    Bedroom confortable. No issue there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    6.3
    It was very central and beautifully located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the staff in Mesón del Cid were not as friendly as one might have expected.They did not give readily any advice where to eat in the city .

    It was very central and beautifully located.However, the staff on arrival did not smile once .They were in fact rather ‘bootfaced’ as if they seemed fed up with yet more visitors.They did not speak very good English either which was surprising. We did not eat in the hotel at all deliberately.Our first meal was the worst ever in a small restaurant off the Main Street. Burgos itself is quite the most stunning place.The cathedral was ‘WOW’ and a must for anyone to see.The City is a heritage site and the buildings were all beautiful. La Contina was a perfect bar about 400 yds away.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Great location right on the Camino with clean and quiet rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideal location if walking the Camino. Located right on the Camino. Rooms were clean and quiet. Staff good but not overly accommodating or friendly. Good breakfast buffet with very accommodating staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    10
    The place to stay in Burgos.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all was good.

    A beautiful hotel only yards from the cathedral on the Camino way. Nice rooms with large bathroom. Room 42 top floor with great views over the cathedral. Good breakfast, friendly staff. Excellent value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.0
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No indication on hotel website, Booking.com website or booking confirmation about difficult access for those with reduced mobility. To reach reception from the car park required my wife to negotiate flights of steps followed by steps into the hotel whilst using crutches, met with a shrug and told we could use a side exit to the car park on leaving - Steps from the side entrance! No indication on the hotel website, Booking.com website or booking confirmation that restaurant closed on Sundays. No practical assistance offered by receptionist who said there are restaurants in the main square (50 steps down) but most would be closed on Sundays. Parking fee on Booking confirmation 15€ notice on reception desk 18€. I was asked to sign a document the night before checking out to say I agreed to pay the itemized bill including 18€ for parking, I refused until the figure was altered and told I would need to prove the booking confirmation figure of 15€ !!!

    Geographical location and view of cathedral

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.1
    Spaciousness of our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Description of how to get to your hotel avoiding all the steps alongside the cathedral. We had got the train and then bus to the centre of Burgos, followed by a 20 minute walk and access to the hotel was not very wheelchair friendly. Afterwards we found a different route which was much easier - this should be explained on your website.

    Spaciousness of our room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.5
    Lovely place to rest for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No negative points at all.

    Superb location! The hotel is opposite the splendid Burgos Cathedral. Our room for the night overlooked the Cathedral. The room itself was very spacious indeed! It included a four poster bed, a sofa bed, a dressing room, a large bathroom, there was also a desk and chair, a TV and a mini bar. The room and facilities were all immaculately clean and beautifully presented. Please note an extra charge is applicable for this particular room because of the view. The staff were very courteous, professional and very helpful. Car parking facilities are also available at an extra charge, and located within an underground garage very close to the hotel, just steps away really. There is a restaurant at the the hotel, however, we chose to eat out at one of the many Tapas bars located in the town. The castle is only a short walk away too, however it is uphill all the way. The panoramic views over the town from there are absolutely amazing! There were several people walking the Camino staying at the hotel too.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Very contented good nights sleep in peaceful locatin
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor lighting in the bedroom. Unfortunatly restaurant was closed on Sunday evenings but plenty of restaurants within walking distance.

    Excellent location, worth paying extra €10 for room with Cathedral view, hotel has an old fashion charm. Convenient garage for our car. Good breakfast, lots of choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.2
    Vintage hotel in a perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not one thing.

    Perfect location for our one night stop in lovely Burgos and a very helpful and knowledgeable man at reception. Room was comfortable with a beautiful view of the cathedral from our window. Easy to walk everywhere in town . Breakfast was absolutely outstanding....probably the best of our trip. A delightful lady keeps the buffet full and sparkling clean. Buffet included scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, bacon, sausages, meats, cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruits, cereals, a variety of breads, rolls and sweet rolls and cakes. WiFi is good and we found free parking on the street. There is a parking garage available. We highly recommend!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.2
    Delightful hotel in a magnificent location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in the older building and had a view of the countryside. Small room but very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Close to everything yet quiet at night. We recommend it highly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.9
    Will never come back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    ALL staff were sourpusses !!! It was amazing !!!! NEVER a smile !!! The parking is outrageously away.....and very complicated. We finally just chose to leave our luggage in the car, just bringing an overnight purse. The people working here are not very happy. Very serious ans unpleasant. The location is GREAT !

    Location ! Great!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Great location next to Cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some furnishings looked a little scruffy.

    Great location next to Cathedral. Very good 3 star hotel. Staff were helpful and pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable. Room included a bath which was great as we were walking El Camino. Lamb in the restaurant is famous and divine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.2
    Charming, old-style hotel opposite the cathedral
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant served a good and varied breakfast but not dinner. However, there are plenty of other eateries nearby. There is an underground car park close to the hotel, but it's a bit pricey at 15 euros per night. Although we enjoyed Mesón del Cid very much, others might want to know that it is not a standard, modern hotel. You're paying for comfort, charm and character - and a little bit of lugging cases up steps!.

    Mesón del Cid is absolutely full of old-world character and is situated opposite the wonderful cathedral. Staff were helpful and spoke good English. The room was comfortable and, in an old fashioned sort of way, very charming. We paid a few euros more for a view towards the cathedral square, which was lovely. We were lucky to arrive on a night when there were fireworks. They made this attractive city even more interesting.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    8.3
    Convenient and very comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Friday and Saturday nights were noisy outside with people talking loudly etc; if you are happy with the window shut it's fine but if you like the window open it may be a problem.

    The beds were comfortable and the breakfast excellent. The view over the Cathedral was lovely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    A nice Spanish style hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Big room with comfortable bed. Ask for a room overlooking the cathedral for only €10 extra. Close to old town attractions. Very nice restaurant. Secure underground parking. Lift to all floors.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent location for sightseeing the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making would be a bonus.

    Excellent location. Secure underground off road parking. Room clean and modern. All staff helpful, polite and knowledgable on local area info.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.2
    We would happily pay a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the bedroom with views of the cathedral (even wth the 10 euro additional charge for one night ). Perfect location for walking into the City for sight seeing. The garage parking, although in a separate building across the street, was secure.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.0
    Great, great sights and great food and wine
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms looking a little tired

    Great for a 3star. Room clean and comfortable and bonus that we had a view of the cathedral from the room. Hotel is also very close to all the great restaurants and pinxos bars

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Great stop in a historic, beautiful city
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a room with a view of the Cathedral. Stunning! The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful suggesting the best places to visit in a limited amount of time. We had lunch at their restaurant and the meal and service were superb. We will definitely return and will recommended to our friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable hotel in great central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed a bit small

    Great location near cathedral. We paid an extra 10 euros to have 5th floor view of the cathedral. Large breakfast buffet, pity the orange juice was from a carton. Friendly and helpful receptionists

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    9.2
    Well situated hotel right opposite beautiful cathedral.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking a little difficult on first arrival but given the location nothing that can be done about it.

    Fabulous location if a little challenging to get to. V pleasant architecture in surrounding area

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Location fabulous, welcoming and friendly staff, superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in room

    Location fabulous, welcoming and friendly staff, superb breakfast, super secure underground car parking. Highly recommended

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.8
    Lovely city, hotel position superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay 10 euros a night for hotel parking. There was no where else to park!

    Breakfast very good. Room clean with outstanding view over cathedral for which we paid extra

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Hotel contributed to a great 24 hour stay in Burgos leaving us with a wish to visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic view of the Cathedral from the bedroom. Very comfortable,clean & spacious room. Good choice at breakfast with attentive staff. Underground car park.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.5
    Perfect for location The cathedral just in front. Don't expect modernity
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    difficult to go outside and mount steps and cross road to enter the restaurant in snowy conditions. Also difficult to reach reception from car park in building across street -again because of cold snowy weather.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: