Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Real Agua Amarga La Joya - Adults Only

Carretera AL-5106, Km.5, 04149 Agua Amarga, Spain

#1 of 13 hotels in Agua Amarga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 155 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic place. Exceptional staff. Rooms, facilities, food exceptional. Would very strongly recommend to anyone wanting a relaxing break in beautiful location. Could not recommend more highly. Will be back.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is in a spectacular location, the staff bend over backward to be of help and rnsure your stay is as peaceful and relaxing as posdible. The attention to detail from the rooms, poolside, private beach side and restaurant is second to none. I have stayed in some 7star hotels and La Joya made them look like a 3 star!! We will be returning next year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 12 nights

    The hotel itself is faultless but it is a bit off the beaten track. We found some of the restaurants in the nearby town of Agua Amarga a bit hit and miss.

    Isabelle, the manager, and her staff went out of their way to make our stay very special. Nothing was too much trouble. We have certainly never experienced better anywhere. Food was very fresh. The accomodation was super and cleanliness excellent. We had one evening meal at La Joya, and again this was first rate. The hotel is small so it is also very very quiet. Location is away from the village centre/beach so a car is a must to get about. Candles are lit through the grounds every evening. After 9:30pm there is an honesty bar by the pool with a full range of drinks. A top class hotel and perfect for a peaceful get away. Thanks again Isabelle!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing everything was exellent.

    The hotel is excellent, we could not fault anything about it, breakfast was fabulous and we had dinner one night which was really good. Our suite was fantastic with a massive balcony and then another one with sunbeds all totally private. A very large bed which was comfortable with plenty of storage and a TV, a lounge with another TV which we did not view except for the news. Excellent hotel all round with a lovely pool. The staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spending couple of days at Real Agua Amarga was nothing but pure pleasure. Starting from great suite with sea view and amazing breakfast by the pool, through freshly prepared picnic basket for our hike to the hidden beach and then drinks by the pool, and finishing with great dinner in a romantic setting. We will definitely come back again as this was the best place we ever stayed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything from the location to the staff. Clean and excellently appointed room. Lovely pool area. Excellent restaurant fabulous location with great views.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Further from beach than expected - it's an easy drive but not really an easy walk

    excellent hotel. Very clean and very conscientious and friendly staff. Very generous breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    24hr ice available without having to disturb anyone would be nice - maybe an ice machine in a quiet corner somewhere. Barista style coffee in the mornings would be a premium touch rather than vacuumed filter style. Domestic style nespresso machine available in the afternoon which is lovely so maybe consider a bigger commercial version so could be available for breakfast too?

    We (husband and I) just back from a week here in this super hillside boutique accommodation outside the village, Spacious junior suite with sea view - three truly excellent gourmet dinners in their guests-only restaurant - 12 rooms/suites own access, adults only - quiet, spacious, relaxed. weather was great which always helps. good free wifi, good accommodation, very clean, very comfortable superking bed, good jacuzzi bath. Great staff - really friendly, personable, helpful service - like being a guest at a good friends but better as you feel you aren't putting them out in any way! Great buffet breakfast selection and complimentary nespresso coffee/tea/fresh bake in the afternoon. You'd definitely need a car and possibly not great choice for people with mobility issues due to steps to access rooms/dining/pool etc. We'll definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frequency of hotel dinners

    The level of service was exceptional. Everything was well thought out l - the design, the ambience, the decor and the individual details.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor niggles! Mineral spa pool didn't work after first day of stay-no explanation given. Investigated fenced tree in view from pool which turned out to be one of the oldest olive trees in the world. Discovered this information after we had left which was a pity.

    Utterly peaceful with excellent accomodation and attentive staff. Good breakfasts beside the pool.Excellent view across natural park landscape towards the sea. Very interesting coastline.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Personally, I am not a fan of buffet breakfasts but as buffet breakfasts go this was very good, especially the croissants - the best in Spain

    Good location and very pleasant room with seating area and small private terrace. Excellent dinner, the best around. Sadly not available every evening, Comfy bed, lovely Jacuzzi bath, and nice bed linen. Spotlessly clean throughout. Fantastic pool and chilling zone.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flies!!

    The peace and quiet of the location and the guests were just what we wanted

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My wife would have liked a mirror in the room as well as one in bathroom

    Breakfast choice, the room in general, and the staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Evening dining by the pool wonderful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Room: Spacious and clean, very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom. Beds turned down twice a day, complimentary champagne and chocolates, great view from balcony with own private area with sun-loungers. Meals: Breakfast was lovely with great consideration for every detail, hot and cold options. Dinner was delicious, fresh locally sourced ingredients, very professionally cooked with friendly service, beautiful romantic setting. Staff: We were met by Racquel who was immediately very welcoming and helped us with everything from advice regarding places to go to booking taxis and restaurants for us. Isabel was charming and such a personable host. She went out of her way to make us feel special and at home and made sure our holiday was perfect. Maria was also lovely and eager to help us in every way. All the staff made our experience of staying at the hotel very personal. Location: Beautiful scenery, 15 min walk into town, restaurants close by.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had to let the bath water run for a while, as the water was initially brown, perhaps it had not been used in a while.

    We had a great stay at the hotel and wish we could have stayed longer. The room was very comfortable with a great ensuite bathroom. The outdoors area is what really makes the hotel, however. The pool house was a stunning place to have breakfast, overlooking the pool and natural scenery. The jacuzzi is also in a great location, feeling very secluded and with great views and a flowery backdrop. The staff were very friendly and attentive, we should have used their local knowledge more - since it was the low season, we found very few local restaurants open and could have used some advice.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing. Everything was perfect.

    Perfect in every way. The most beautiful location. Wonderful room. Lovely sorroundings and kind and helpful staff. Beautiful breakfasts served next to the pool. Highly recommended. So many nice touches that made it special.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Loved our stay! The hotel is nicely located, not far from the village of Aqua Amarga, which ensures tranquility, yet makes it close to all beautiful beaches & sites. Staff super helpful & friendly, and that surely added to the overall good experience. Restaurant at the hotel is excellent & we had an amazing dinner at the pool to finish our holidays.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Attention to detail and a welcoming atmosphere. Everything was immaculate and staff could not have been more helpful. Breakfast gorgeous. Standards were those of an exclusive hotel.

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We booked an evening meal for my wife's 50th,having read good reviews. The starters OK The main course was the worst we have had in spain. My duck was small very over cooked ( re heated ) with a spoon full of spinach, My wife's had a piece of fish That was it a small cut of fish with 8 peas in a large bowl. No side potatoes or other veg. We had to cover our drinks as the flies wanted to share.

    Over all the hotel was fine, just a few small gripes but we sorted this out at the time. Breakfast was very good.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing that I can think of

    Quiet, privacy, lovely staff giving you the good tips , garden , pool and nice breakfast

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Total relaxation and attention to detail. Superb breakfasts!

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Coming home.

    Total relaxation.

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and accommodating staff. Nothing was too much trouble. Cannot wait to visit again. Oh and the food was fabulous

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 25

Guests also reviewed these properties: