Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mio Cid 3 stars

Avenida Costablanca, 22 A, 03540 Alicante, Spain

#40 of 49 hotels in Alicante

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1754 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    8.3
    The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful , even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no tea or coffee facilities in the room - to me this was the only down side.

    The staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful , even when my flight was cancelled !!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Super budget hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to not like.

    The convenience of the buses to the beach and the city was excellent. Rooms were very good but if you want sunshine on the balcony request a pool view. Nice cafes and restaurants just across the road and the menu del diablo in the hotel was very good..... The Mediterranean salad was outstanding for presentation and value for money.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing break in alicante
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds and didn't have a blanket, didn't like cats begging

    The sun, good atmosphere, parking great, helpful staff, restaurant excellant, nice pool

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    5.0
    Location perfect for where we needed to be.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool area tired and needs renovation. Adults pool looked too dirty to use (water milky and leaves etc in pool and black around outside paint work) kids pool only had a tiny bit of stagnant water in the bottom with loads of bugs (got bitten alive laying round pool area). Very loud rooms could hear all the traffic from roads and the guests next door. Beds are 2 single beds pushed together which are flimsy and move apart. Only a sheet and 1 pillow were provided and there is no headboard so I hit my head on the wall in the night. House keeping were quick to provide a blanket and another pillow to act as headboard although this did not smell clean (scent of someone else’s perfume).

    Location perfect for where we needed to be. Fair priced room service menu.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for price
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head broke on last night, no clean towels even though we left them in bath as requested

    Sea view room, staff polite and friendly, food was lovely

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    8.3
    Overall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed pillows far to soft . shower cubicle far.far to small in room 301 .and never realised the hotel was pet friendly.to many barking dogs.however we had a pleasant stay.

    Swimming pool uncongested.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty walls dirty pool bad air conditioner blowing dusty air into the bedroom, the walls of the bedroom had clearly visible dirt all over them, stains on bedside lockers, nails in bathroom beside sink. Bathroom needs renovation paint coming off ceiling and grout on the tiles is gone black from mildew. No fridge in the room, floor under bed was extremely dirty and all the dust clearly visible in morning sun. No view of the beach from balcony. We booked hotel just because was on the beach. Really bad experience there

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Great holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was very poor

    Location,staff,everything was great staff was very helpful ,room very comfortable and cleaning every day . Price very good for that hotel,great location everything was very close beautiful beach ,main promenade, shopping centre it was very good time for us. I think that we will see each other again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    3.8
    We had the opportunity to make the payment at the hotel, but...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had the opportunity to make the payment at the hotel, but the hotel charged the cost before cancellation due date without my consent. The rooms were not really clean and at the breakfast there was food that expiration date passed, we worned the staff but they did not do anything. The cost of breakfast does not cover the value. The location was far away from the center. The hair dryer did not work efficiently. The staff was confused about our extra payments that we were almost had to pay for the vine we did not drink. The location of the hotel was terrible, far away from the centre.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    . Walls very thin, could hear everything from the next room. Too far from the City Center. But there is a village or small town with a lot shops including Aldi and number of other supermarkets. Turn right outside the Hotel go through roundabout up sligh hill take first left, town is at the end of that road.

    Reception staff very helpful, went out of their way to help with luggage.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.2
    A great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could do with a bit of doing up but shower great and this was minor

    This hotel was great Staff very helpful and friendly Room small but balcony was spacious and we spent a while sitting on it Pool was lovely and we used sunlounge rd Breakfast was great value something lovely about eating on terrace Location was great 5 mins on bus to playa sa n Juan and 10 mins other direction to alicamte We will be back

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    7.9
    Quiet location, friendly and helpful staff - all you need for relaxing few days
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedding! One of the pillows was literally tearing apart and the pillow covers they use could not hide it - rather unpleasant to place your head down. Air conditioning I would like to have a much stronger one, but on the other hand we ended up not using it at all as early hours each morning we would wake up to a strong 'loo' smell, which stopped coming through when we stopped using the air conditioning.

    Lovely quiet location, exactly what I was looking for. It could be boring to those who come for night time fun, but for me was perfect. Was easy to find, and a lovely San Juan beach is just 10 min away by bus. Lovely friendly and helpful staff. Dicent meal options for breakfast and dinner. Was mainly occupied by locals. Overall lovely experience as for 3stars hotel. I did enjoy a relaxing few days there.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    10
    The beds were comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing that upset me was Booking.com took the payment many days before my arrival, not happy about that, especially when they sent me an email the day before advising I still had time to cancel and would not be charged

    The beds were comfy The breakfast was sufficient The pool was good The staff were very pleasant

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.2
    Really liked the hotel it was clean had great air...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a long way to centre of Alicante which was ok fir us as we like walking although the bus is only 1 euro 45 each way

    Really liked the hotel it was clean had great air conditioning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    Quiet Getaway,,!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was on my own and there wasn't anything really I disliked, I'm not really a continental breakfast so I didn't bother, a disappointment was there was no english speaking television,,!!!

    I enjoyed where it was located although it might not suit other people as it was quiet but a great bus service into Alicante (€1:45) also bus to the airport from Alicante (€3:85), it was only a few minutes walk from the local beach and a few shops,,!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel quiet nice ambience and great staff. Spotless clean with towels changed every day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Food in the Restaurant was not good.

    This hotel is lovely and the staff are really exceptional. Nobody works harder than the girl in the residents bar. Nothing was a problem for her. The hotel is spotless and located in a nice location with a couple of really nice restaurants nearby. The only bad thing I have to say is the food in the restaurant was not good but there is lovely restaurants nearby or Alicante. Apart from that minor detail everything about the hotel is really lovely and we will definitely be returning to the Hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    I liked where we where as not too much hustle and bustle...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea facilities in room so came in late and couldn't make a drink.Tried to order room service one evening no one could understand me got the phone put down on me, but hubby went to reception they sent a person to our room to get the order couldn't of been more helpfull after and apologised.

    I liked where we where as not too much hustle and bustle easy to get to Alicante bus stop just down the road and was €1.45 pp each way, very Spanish area managed just about and we know nothing there is a small shopping centre just across the road with a pharmacy. Room was clean a little odd but I suppose that's the character it was a cheap hotel but all you need for a stay away . I have a mobility problem which on booking told them I could manage some steps but not many so they put me in a ground floor room which I was glad of still a few steps but I could manage .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel and possibly would stay again if in the area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was next to him area that gets emptied at 4am. The car parking was under the hotel and was not free even though we booked because it said free parking. On street parking is free so not too bad! The hotel can not be to blam for our noisy neighbours talking on speaker phone until 1.30am.

    Large clean room and reasonable breakfast. Good value for money.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    5.8
    It was a very good price but felt very ‘local’. Helps if you know basic Spanish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of that Staff barely spoke a word of English. Some of them seemed very blunt and unhelpful. Not allowed to use an empty room to get ready if you have a late night flight after checking out. No shops or bars nearby but the bus into town is cheap and runs every 20 mins.

    It had character, the outdoor seating area was nice, peaceful and sheltered with lots of plants. Pool area was a good sun trap.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    6.3
    Room comfortable, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was okay but could have had a better choice. Breakfast was standard for choice but the evening meals were poor for choice.

    Room comfortable, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.3
    It was quiet with very helpful and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach near by is not very nice and not a swimming beach, too many rocks. This property is quiet because it's in a residential area quit a ways away from town center.

    It was quiet with very helpful and friendly staff. Everything was clean with a nice bathroom. We were traveling and only there one night. Also there is a good market very close by.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    You get what you pay for!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was so hard and uncomfortable, the noise from people coming and going was all throughout the nights and you could hear people in the rooms next door

    Nice and clean, friendly staff. The shower was good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.3
    Very enjoyable stay thanks .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife has m.e and the mattress very bad pool and pool furniture not kept very clean shame .

    The food in hotel was very good the staff in restaurant and bar where excellent hotel good value for money .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    8.8
    Excellent stay at this small but well run hotel. It was ideal as a base for exploring the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room could have done with a small fridge.

    Great location close to Alicante and the beaches to the north. Great walks around the coast and a great coffee shop across the road - Arabica.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.2
    Really relaxing and comfortable. A great base for exploring. Nearby beach & views stunning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Local buses in to centre / return €1.45 from bus stops Palangre 4 & 5. 2 min walk. Pint of Amstel beer served in iced glass €3. Wonderful scenic, mostly beach front 90min walk in to centre. Staff very friendly & helpful, arranged me a 3.15am taxi to centre to catch 4.20am C6 bus to Airport €3.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a little difficult communicating with the bartenders, but they were so nice that it didnt matter, because we came to an understanding somehow. The only negative thing i have to say about this place, is that they don't have refrigerators in their rooms.

    Small, yet cozy and relaxing. A great place to enjoy some time off, and in a good harmoni with the locals. Also, only 10 minutes of local bus ride to the City of Alicante.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    6.3
    Close to the beach, room haad balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms compared to other hotels but worst thing was the lack of sound insulation - disturbed night due to couple in next room!!

    Close to the beach, room haad balcony

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.5
    Rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Pool area too small, not enough loungers. Staff members dog roaming around the Hotel and seen urinating on a sun lounger.

    Rooms are clean and the bed is comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    6.7
    O.K while in the hotel , although absolutely nothing to do there except eat drink and sleep .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Our room was in a terrible position , as were many others , facing the road . Ours was right on a roundabout with noisy cars , buses , lorries , motorbikes etc. Noise also echoed through the hotel at all hours with luggage being wheeled around and chairs dragged across floors and doors banging . There was no mini bar as advertised and no comfy chairs in rooms as shown . The restaurant food was expensive , but very basic , certainly not restaurant quality and very little choice . Drinks prices were O.K. The main problem was where the hotel was . A long way out of the Alicante city and nowhere near anywhere worth a visit . The nearby beach was by the sea but not exactly a beach more grit and hard ground . Our main problem was the bus from the airport . Do not use the bus as they put you off in the city and tell you to go and find another bus to get to your Hotel . We got on the C6 at Alicante airport , half an hour later i asked the driver if we were near our hotel yet and he said we don.t go anywhere your hotel . ''You must get off and find a number 22 bus'' He kept my E ticket which i had pre-paid £17 for . It was dark and late and we had no idea where we were and couldn't find anyone who spoke English . We had 2 large suitcases and 2 cabin cases . Aged 70 & 71 we were done in . Eventually we hailed a taxi who took us to our hotel at a further cost of 17 Euros . We booked in more than 2 hours after coming out of the airport . It should have been about 30 to 40 minutes . We couldn't face the same coming home so had to book a taxi which cost us 28 Euros . Unbelievable , do not use the bus if you go to Hotel Mio Cid .

    We liked all the staff at Hotel Mio Cid including in the restaurant , bar . and reception . The cleaners were lovely as well and always did their best for you . There was only 1 member of staff working the bar and food areas at a time , a lovely man and a lovely lady taking it in turns . They couldn't speak a word of English but we had fun communicating with each other and we had a good laugh with each other every day , 10 out of 10 to them both . The reception staff spoke a good amount of English , were friendly , and helpful . Rooms were clean and adequate . The breakfast was the same everyday , but had a decent choice and was tasty with bread rolls , cereals , fruit , yogurts , plain cakes , fruit juice , honey , marmalade , butter and fresh croissants . Couldn't grumble with choice .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    8.8
    An excellent, peaceful holiday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Lady reception manager was the only person who did not live up to the standards set by this good hotel but management did apologise.

    Don't know what Genius perks are? Hotel set in good suburban area away from tourists.. Bus tickets from newsagent opposite. 22 bus near hotel.. Travel to Alicante and onwards. Hotel are very unobtrusive. Dining manager is very efficient. She would make a good maitre d'i. A lovely person . It was like living in an apartment with all facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    4.2
    Hotel is really bad located. I had to took a cab each time when I was visiting city.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located far far away, behind the city. Beach near hotel is not recommend for beach sun or for swimming. Airport is located over 20 km from the hotel so if you have your fly to home during the night you need to take a cab that cost as much as your reservation for the hotel. It will be better to take something near to the city.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.2
    Would have no problem staying again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a little tired. New colourful bedspread would help enormously.

    Reception staff were very helpful. The actual building is beautiful but the decor a little tired. Good hot powerful shower. We didn't use the restaurant so cannot rate it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    8.3
    I'd go there once more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The only disadvantage of the hotel was that the room was cold, which wasn't comfortable, especially in the morning.

    Hotel is located near bus stop, which makes it comfortable to travel from city center to place of accomodation, beside that, part of the city in which it's located is much calmer and cozier than city center, perfect if you doesn't like traffic jam in front of hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    5.4
    Would not got again unfortunately
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No drink facilities after 10.30.am So if your sat by the pool and fancy a beer or a coffee or a bottle of water then you have to leave the hotel and go to the cafe across the road. Bar re opens at 7.30 pm.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.3
    Nice stay, and easy access to Alicante by bus from across the road from the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The menu was a little restricted but that could have been due to the time of year, also the seating in the bar was very basic but ok.

    staff were really helpful, first room we were given had a balcony facing the road but when we asked to be moved they gave us a room overlooking the pool, we had to wait till the next day when someone moved out but it was a nice room so didn't mind.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    2.9
    Waste of money. Spend a bit more for something decent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English Tv Heating did not work and staff not interested Very noisy due to thin walls so not much sleep Restaurant food poor and expensive No information in lobby of things to do Asked in advance for nice room/view for our anniversary and again when we arrived but did not oblige or care.

    Not much. Check out maybe.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Very happy with this hotel for a short stay, staff were friendly, would use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a connecting door between our room and the next which would be ideal for a family but not for a couple. Although the door was locked we could hear every word the occupants were saying and obviously they could hear every word we said. Hence no recommendation for a romantic break!

    The room was clean and had good facilities. Decor was good and in a good state of repair. Position of room had plenty of light. Decent amount of space to move around the beds

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    8.3
    Perfect for families and friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Offer an in room hairdryer and the option for another pillow in the wardrobe would be a nice touch.

    Absolutely lovely building style, room was laid out like a flat and had a nice balcony view to the sea and front road.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.9
    Nice and comfy but cheap
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was a little out of the way. Buses were a good service however.

    The bathroom was probably the best thing about the room. The shower was very powerful. I liked having a balcony also. The patio area was beautiful. It had lots of greenery around it which made it feel private.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    4.6
    Not up to advertised standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    2 tiny soap pieces the size of 50p piece and wafer thin . towels NOT replaced every day ....had to request at reception. Bath needs replaced as rust spots , filled in with grouting filler . ..Had to request extra 2 pillows as others flat . Room 229 at end of corridor is VERY noisy as every night hotel put large bins out only to be collected every morning at 7.40 HUGE NOISE .. BOOKING .COM, you need to get your inspectors out of office and RE VISIT your hotels as this is 2nd time hotels NOT UP TO YOUR STANDARD AS 3 STARS .....( Sachas , Manchester ).

    staff were helpful after I raised a few points, and helpful in obtaining boarding passes for return journey .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    7.9
    Room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are too thin making it impossible not to hear your neighbors. The rooms need serious updating and the pool should be kept clean even when not in use. The beds are ok but the décor was too simple and basic. A kettle and coffee or tea in the bedrooms would be a plus.

    The staff is this Hotel's treasure as well as it's location. The food was a delight.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    it was an amazing holiday, the hotel was perfect, will definitly go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most staff, especially at the restaurant werent the best english speakers but that was what was fun. The langauge barrier was pretty fun to try and get over. Google translate will be pretty useful. love the occasional challenge

    i liked the room we were in. double balcony at front and back. staff were amazing. the restaurant at the hotel was also really good. They even translated the menu from spanish to english for us

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    10
    Super friendly staff and quiet pool area with good coffee.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Super friendly staff and quiet pool area with good coffee. Bus 22 and tram 4 goes right to the city center. Highly recommend walking by the beach as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    9.6
    My sister and I had a wonderful stay and at the time were the only English people and the Spanish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no negatives to add.

    The linen was very clean, the bed comfy and food very good. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. The bonus for people, I think, is the fact they have special rooms for people with dogs.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Needed a quiet winter "retreat" to finish writing a book-the Hotel fitted the purpose beautifully
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights

    perhaps a little more variety than the "set" (but delicious) menu at lunchtime in the restaurant

    Staff were excellent, unfailingly helpful.. Had a small initial problem with noise when I first arrived, and was moved to a quieter room for the remainder of my stay. Great location, small selection useful shops across road and nearby bus stop to town/alternative beach.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.2
    I will try to come back in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    I didn't like I couldn't stay longer ;)

    One of the best 3-star hotels I have been to, nice and quiet, a little aside from the downtown mess and noise but with an easy and quick access to all you need. For sure, I will try to come back in the future.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    7.9
    Good little hotel, shame regarding dining times
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our major problem was the evening meal for the following reasons: 1. Dinner not served until 8.30 pm. This may be ok for Spanish clientele...we all know the Spanish love to eat late, but for us northern Europeans with our more orthodox eating habits this can be a bit of a drag. No fun having to wait until that time in December when it is dark at 5.30 in the afternoon with no lounge or entertainment offered by hotel. You are basically having to twiddle your thumbs or watch Spanish tv in your room. You can use the dining room to sit in to relax but no comfortable sofas. 2. Whilst the quality of food was reasonably ok, the range of dishes was very limited to just about 3 choices. Portions very modest shall we say. If the Spanish clientele want to eat late, fair enough as restaurant is open till 10.30 in the evening. But remember this hotel attracts customers from countries other than spain and we think it is only reasonable for the hotel restaurant to be a little more flexible with its opening times to reflect this reality. No other restaurants within walking distance so if you are hungry by 7 pm, you have got to get on a bus into town as we did on the final night although we had paid half board. We stayed 3 nights total.

    Bus stop nearby. Room 302 had a very nice view over to sea, alicante and citadel with a well positioned balcony. Other rooms may not have similar views. Breakfast adequate and buffet style. Quiet area, away from the hustle and bustle of alicante.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    6.7
    Freezing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms were very cold. Woke up several times in the night feeling very cold, had to wear clothes in bed, including socks! Heating was blowing, although not very warm but the problem I think was in the patio doors which did not seem to seal very well. The gentleman at reception was nice about it and gave us breakfast for free...but I had a very uncomfortable night, which was very disappointing as we had just finished a motorcycle track day (3 days) in Cartagena and were really looking forward to a good night's rest....not to be!

    General facilities were very good for the price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Overall we enjoyed our stay very much and would recommend this hotel to get away from it all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived Saturday early evening and the shops across the road were closed until Monday morning so you need to make sure you have all you need with you. The staff at the weekend seemed a little unfriendly as if they were annoyed at our arriva! but during the week the staff couldn't do enough to help.

    A quiet hotel with excellent food at dinner, we ate first night and last night of our break and food was very reasonably priced too. We don't eat breakfast so don't know about that. A great place if you don't want to be right in the tourist district.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    7.5
    An ideal starting point for us.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Balcony view was non existent owing to tree growth, you could reach out and touch the tree`s that must be starting to obscure the next floor up.

    Hotel was a good starting point for our holiday, it was close to a shopping mall with restaurants and bars. The hotels location was very close to bus stops and close to the electric tram line.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    4.2
    The sanitary ware is all old, light switch fell off the wall...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The sanitary ware is all old, light switch fell off the wall, bath/shower adjuster on the mixer came off. it's all a bit tired an in need of refurbishment.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    7.9
    The staff very helpful , though some was a struggle with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The staff very helpful , though some was a struggle with language but we got there in the end the room was a ...bit dull...not very good lighting. Basic wardrobe but sufficient , the room did have a musty smell on arrival however this seem to disperse after a while, also occasionally we would get a ..drain smell...not pleasant. Definitely would benefit from a Kettle in room....annoying having to keep going up an down stairs with drinks from bar Bed wasn't too bad, slept in worse for far more money! Food in restaurant , was ok....although very similar each day ....as was breakfast...but was edible just by day 3 was getting fed up Hotel was a bit out the way from other bars shops etc, there is a Centre across the way but honestly wasn't worth the walk over.. Bus stop few mins out side Hotel takes you into Alicante 25 min for 1.45 E...we did this most days...or going the other way. Takes you too St Juan...which has beautiful beach , clean lovely day out .....Soooo all in all we had a good trip met some nice people, an may return again in future

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    7.9
    Great value for money hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is more of a residential estate.

    Comfortable rooms, staff very helpful, close to bus stop for Alicante centre. (€1:45 each ) Good clean economy hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    I liked the building itself and cute little balconies with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable and squeaking. Bathroom a little bit unclean.

    I liked the building itself and cute little balconies with a nice view. Location is not bad, since it's easy to get a bus from the bus station or center, but we couldn't find places to eat nearby.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    5.0
    Helpful staff, easy to travel by buss 22 to the city, buy a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 19 nights

    The cleaning, No place to put the suitcases, they stayed on the flor, dustballs "growing" up behind them. The did not clean that, also cleaning of bathroom could have been a lot better esp. around the drain and on the wall. Breakfast, lack of choices, short on the fruit and no vegetables. I love coffe, there I had thea, says it all.

    Helpful staff, easy to travel by buss 22 to the city, buy a blue buscard (At Quick shop in the city center) cheaper travel and easyer to use than money. Good coffe at the nearby local center casfeteria Arabic 150 meters up and across the road

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel close to the city and the airport.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air con noise .main air con unit on the roof this is on all the time sending noise and vibration down the a/c system whether you have it on or not. It would also be helpful if they put thick felt pads on the bottom of furniture as we had people above us who liked to drag chars about at night .

    Nice Hotel ,staff friendly and obliging

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing and great value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good value for money , and the local bus to either the beach (san Juan) or city center stops just outside. Rooms comfy and kept clean every day. Staff very friendly and helpful too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    10
    A place to step of the world and re-charge your batteries
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I really couldn't fault the hotel or the staff or the surroundings, my only small thing was I could hear a baby cry all night on one occassion- so I don't think the walls are too sound proof, but it's not a party hotel full of young ones - its a retreat for single people, couples and families. I have no reason to complain.

    I picked Mio Cid because the building itself looked very traditional and it was not disappointing. There was a very easy transfer by public transport from the airport and the area that the hotel in is beautiful. The hotel is small and quiet and great for a tranquil holiday, there are some bars nearby if you wanted something a bit livelier and all within easy walking distance. I had a beautiful sea view that gave me the most amazing sunsets every night. Breakfast was continental and served until 10.30am every day, there was a lot to choose from and the coffee was perfect! The staff were helpful and cheery and your room was cleaned every day with new towels if needed and every day clean bedding. The balcony was private and over looking a small tropical garden where you could eat, you could sit and listen the chatter below until the restaurant closed. The bed was comfortable and the room as traditional as the outside of the building. There is also air conditioning in the room. I already am looking forward to returning. Tips: Airport to Hotel Mio Cid on public Transport - Bus C-6 - upstairs at the airport terminal ( every 20 mins or so) Ask to be dropped at Peurto la Mer ( 15 min ride) you will know when you get there - the boats are a wow factor and to your left you will see a fountain. Stay at that bus stop and wait for a Nr 22 and ask to get off at Costa Blanca - about 10 mins if that. The bus stop in Alicante has an electronic sign that lets you know when the next bus is coming and how many minutes to wait. You will get off at Costa Blanca ( there is a Pacha sign on a shop) and you walk up the hill slightly from there you are just a couple of mins walk and the hotel is right in front of you. Beaches: There are a few beaches in the area all in walking distance, there is one next to the hotel - hard, wet sand which looks more like a fishing beach.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.3
    Ideal for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea making facilities. Room not well lit (we left some clothes and had to return to collect them). Plumbing from adjacent rooms was noisey.

    Room clean. Bathroom modern and stylish. Staff very welcoming. Breakfast had something foreveryone.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    7.5
    Relax in Alicante
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We really love the location of the property, quiet and peaceful. Exactly in between the nicest beach of san juan and the city centre ( 15 min far by bus). There is a small commercial centre for food,drinks,pharmacy, hairdresser and bars 2 minutes walking distance. Of course I wouldn't recommend it if someone is looking for shopping,restaurants, nightclub and the chaotic life of the centre. Nice staff, clean, quite good and simple breakfast, nice swimming pool. On site there is also a restaurant, really nice for dinner and spanish cuisine!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    over all experience was excellent, will be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    No kettle in room,

    T he location was brilliant as it is about 10 mins by taxi from alicante centre, the hotel was very clean, the staff were very helpful, the food was excellent,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very basic could do with updating

    The hotel was 20 minutes walk to bars and restaurants and traveling by car was easy just following the A332 all the way up or down the coast. Staff very friendly always willing to help. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.9
    Overall very satisfied with hotel and location, would stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower in the bathroom was awful. Could not change position of the shower and the water was only going on the floor, it eventually broke and was replaced by the same type!

    Breakfast was great, the only thing maybe if there was more choice of cereal. Dinner was excellent. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Nice and comfortable room with balcony and near to Alicante bus only a few minutes away.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't find a thing...

    Everything was spot on! Very helpfull and nice staff, receptionists, cleaners, big thank you to all of you ! We will be back for sure.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    3.3
    The bed had a hard mattress, my husband had to sleep on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed had a hard mattress, my husband had to sleep on the floor in the bathroom. There was a main road outside, and arrived in the dark, in the morning there was a huge residential building hence the noise of cars at all hours of the night. Only got 2 hours sleep. Not vet

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable couple of days sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower could have been better

    Quite area with nice bar for food and drink two minutes over the road from hotel - on the main bus route to Alicante town centre - street parking right outside the hotel - room was small but clean - shower was not very powerful - staff were friendly and very helpful - pool and pool area small and clean - overall - nice place to stay but would be better if breakfast included in price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.1
    Overall I enjoyed my stay at the hotel it was very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was far from the beach and town. The hotel did not have enough sun beds around the pool. The food was geared for Spanish people.

    The hotel was very clean the staff were friendly and polite. The hotel was mainly geared for Spanish people with dogs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    2.5
    Worst hotel I have every stayed in,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff Dirty room Small single bed when booked more than six months ago and asked for double Dustbins out side room in street noisy and smelly Noise from staff with trollers You can hear people in next room when they use bathroom, I could hear when their phone recivied a message. No blankets on bed and one flat pillow Old hotel needs money spent on it . Terrible area , beach is shocking Right next door to a very tall residential block noisy .

    I liked when I checked out

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    4.6
    I will not come back too this Hotel. Too far away from nice beaches.
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad aircondition. I could hardly open the door with the key. Missed for ex eggs, dark bread at breakfast and some vegetables.

    Ceasarsallad was good! Decent price. Nice café near the Hotel, Arabica Café.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.9
    A pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Many details betray the structure years and the room entrance door required quite a bit of fiddling to properly open and close. The rooms are essential, don't expect anything fancy. A bit spartan, but it matched the price which was very competitive.

    Overall, it has been a pleasant stay: the medieval theme of the structure introduced a theme park feeling that contributed to a positive experience. We didn't use the various facilities ( pool, etc.) but they seemed properly maintained. We didn't eat at the restaurant but when we went by it was packed with guests, which seems a positive sign. The properly sized small balcony with a couple chairs and a table proved useful. A/C worked properly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    8.8
    Great Value for money and lovely friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have had 2 pillows in the room, neck was sore after the first night. Better air conditioning would be a great help as it was very weak and wasn't really worth having on

    Loved the pool and balcony. Hotel was perfect value for money and the staff were really helpful! Room was spacious and clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Its a medium sized hotel clean, ,nice pool, a relaxing ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors are somewhat difficult to open but not too bad once you get used to it.

    Its a medium sized hotel clean, ,nice pool, a relaxing and convenient place to stay. The staff are very friendly. Basic but nice at about the right price. I have stayed here several times now.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    7.9
    Lovely quiet small hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sewerage smell in the bedroom. No lunchtime snacks available outside only as room service. Not enough sun loungers. I had booked a double bed and a twin room but both rooms had twin beds.

    Bar and waiting staff were lovely. Reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.9
    To come back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    slightly noisy as the other rooms movement and the door slamming normally

    Nice location wqith very friendly staff that gave us a lot of information about the city and how to move around and what to visit. Food at the restaurant was good value for money mainly at lunch with the Rice dishes

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.1
    Nice little hotel in a quiet neighborhood, not to far from Alicante City Center
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I hate when other guests are smoking on the next table when I'm having breakfast outside. The breakfast buffet was rather poor.

    Hotel Mio Cid is a nice little hotel not to far from Alicante City Center. The architecture is unusual but very nice. The outdoor pool and The area was nice and clean.

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: