Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mirasierra 3 stars

Autovia A1 (E5), Km 99, 40590 Santo Tomé del Puerto, Spain

#2 of 3 hotels in Santo Tomé del Puerto

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 844 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2018

    10
    Convenient ad comfortable stopover
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was ideal just off the motorway for travelling through Spain. Staff very nice and helpful. Very interesting building. Good restaurant menu and plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2018

    9.6
    High standards as always.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was unfortunate a coach party of Spanish pensionistas was using the bar cafe as we arrived causing a delay in getting served. The staff had to work really hard to cope. Still it was really peaceful when they left!

    The hotel is pet friendly. Although pets are not allowed in the restaurant staff offered to let us dine with our dog in an area off the foyer. The rooms are large with wooden flooring so no worries about the dog. The menu is now available in several languages and food is always freshly cooked.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    7.9
    Large well equipped rooms, very comfortable beds and an well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant/cafe food was not to our liking and was rather expensive for what it was. Staying there you are a captive audience and I think that is reflected in the prices. We made the 10 min. walk into the village and ate at a local bar for less than half the price.

    Large well equipped rooms, very comfortable beds and an well equipped bathroom.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    Loved this gem of a find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...possibly just tea and coffee making facilities would be nice although I appreciate the Spanish don’t tend to do this.

    Loved this gem of a find! The staff were really friendly and it really did feel like a home from home. We had expected really basic due to the cheap price but it was really clean with really good, comfy beds. We ate at the restaurant in the evening which was good quality and price. Breakfast very nice too. If we happen to pass this way again, we would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    6.3
    As it was an overnight stay on our travels it was an destination well off the beaten track.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was in the mountains, on arrival there was no reception available meaning outside the Hostal we were lucky to find someone who directed us to a bar where the keys were held and the booking in. The internet was switched off at 10 pm and the connection was hit and miss.

    The room was very clean and tidy and had the facilities advertised

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for overnight stop, and maybe more with walking in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not keen on Spanish type pillows, but beds very comfortable.

    Café open long hours with sensibly priced food choices, and interesting dinner menu in restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant, made very welcome, well located for our trips to our home in Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom poorly maintained, menu's were a bit mucky.

    Great location, lovely staff and nice rooms just a little rough round the edges but will use it again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    Comfortable clean rooms, good food, friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have stayed here several times and preferred the old style dining room, which was a little less modern and more comfortable, but the food was excellent.

    Comfortable clean rooms, good food, friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    10
    The room was very spacious, clean and had a lovely walk in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No regular English tv channels to watch

    The room was very spacious, clean and had a lovely walk in shower. The food in the restaurant is excellent, staff were friendly and polite.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    fantastic little hotel...cant fault it at all!!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic location just off E5 motorway. Smooth check in. Helpful receptionist. Extremely comfortable bed. Would definately recommend and return here. Spotlessly clean too!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    6.3
    Good stop on our way home
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    How expensive the food was in the restaurant breakfast 10 € for continental per person and evening dinner 30 € 2 € for bread did not ask for my bill was €162.75 for 1 night dinner and breakfast for 2 people

    N8ce room clean nice garden to walk the dog let down by high prices in the restaurant 😀

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    Ideal hotel stop when travelling south/south east from a mid-day arrival by ferry at Bilbao.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The whole complex is almost faultless, but we kept losing our wi-fi signal in the room - so perhaps it could be strengthened. If we get the chance to stay here again we would definitely have dinner in the restaurant (based on the quality of what we had in the cafeteria).

    Beautiful, spacious, light public areas such as bar/cafeteria, restaurant, passageway to rooms, and fantastic banquetting room. Would have swum in the pool but weather was not so good on arrival. Room was modern-traditional, large space with well-equipped, good en-suite. A great welcome on our arrival. Very much enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.6
    The return trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot Water initially not turned on, but resolved after informing reception.

    The food, the situation and the lovely helpful staff. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.6
    Ideal stopover for our north/south journey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    EXCELLENT ALROUND PACKAGE THAT WE HAVE USED MANY TIMES BEFORE. SUPER CONVENIENT FOR THE MOTORWAY AND NOW EVEN BETTER WITH IT'S OWN FUEL STATION NEXT DOOR - DISCOUNTED IF YOU STAY! SEE YOU NEXT YEAR.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.6
    Have stayed here before and will do so again, very friendly and convenient for the motorway.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A very convenient location en route from Bilbao to Costa del Sol. We stayed with our dog and the staff were very accommodating, the gardens are pretty, lovely to sit out with a drink. The restaurant had a good choice of traditional food which was well cooked. Breakfast was typically Spanish but plenty of cold choices The bedroom was large and clean, slightly hard bed but that seems to be normal in Spain. We would stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    everything was good value - we have booked again for the journey back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the breakfast drinks were dreadful. both the coffe and the chocolate from the machine in the breakfast room were undrinkable. but the tea i had in the afternoon from the cafeteria was delicious.

    great people. good value.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect stop-over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just 2 things: no trolleys available to bring luggage from car park to room. And the menus in the restaurant were dirty and greasy ☹

    Location perfect for driving down from north to south. No road noise. Aircon worked. Beds comfortable. Secure onsite parking. Good food in restaurant. Great place - recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Great overnight hotel for travelling down to Southern Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't able to use the bath as there wasn't a plug

    Great roadside hotel for travelling to southern Spain. Comfortable room . Nice restaurant and bar and all staff were friendly and helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    Don Quixote excellent stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a shame there are no facilities for hot drinks in the room, not a big hardship in the greater scheme of things.

    The staff very helpful and attentive. Great situation as close to main carriageway's . Excellent food. Lovely room Highly recommend. Petrol station nearby. Pet friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Ideal stop over
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Position of the hotel just off the motorway is ideal for those traveling to and from Bilbao ferry port. It is very comfortable and very quiet considering its position near the road. We have stayed there twice and have booked to return in October. an recommend.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Ideal for stop over, just off the motorway.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool in need of refurbishment. Most sun beds were broken and green fungus on tiles

    Ideal for stop over, just off the motorway. Great cafe and lovely room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    This hotel never fails to impress, food is FANTASTIC
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would not change anything in this hotel. I very much look forward to seeing you all in the next couple of months.

    Everything. I have stayed here on numerous occasions and never fails to impress. The Manager, who I have met on several visits is probably the most genuinely helpful man you will ever meet. He works tirelessly to ensure the standards here are of the highest quality. The food in this hotel is fantastic with traditional cuisine local to the area as well as all the firm favourites and a wide display of delicious tapas. I will be continuing to use this hotel in the future and would recommend it to anyone, whether it be a business stay, family visit. This hotel will gladly cater to all. The fact that there are allocated pet friendly rooms is always an added bonus. Thank you

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Good stay once again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was excellent. We have stayed before heading a north to south journey. Once again we weren't disappointed

    The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms comfortable and the food good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent motorway stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only small niggle (possibly not the hotel's fault) was that I had to book 2 twin rooms to accommodate my party of 3 as there were no triple rooms available. When we got there however, I was put in a triple room on my own and my 2 children were put in another triple room - so there clearly were several available.

    A really pleasant surprise - right on the motorway, next door to a petrol station (but very quiet) is this very pleasant hotel. Cool, quiet, clean and comfortable and with a nice restaurant and bar on site. Breakfast was good value and with a nice range of food. Will definitely stay again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    As always we found the hotel comfortable and the staff...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Too much gin in our gin and tonics!!

    As always we found the hotel comfortable and the staff friendly and efficient. On this occasion we didn't have a meal but overheard a family praising the quality of their dinner.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Fantastically comfortable, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was lovely a mixtures of modern and traditional. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean and comfortable. Beds were also very comfortable. Staff could not have been anymore friendly or helpful or done anymore for us anything we asked for was supplied. A brilliant hotel I could not recommend any more. Fantastic place staff and food.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.6
    Overall great place to stay, fab location and excellent value
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, right off the main A1 motorway just North of Madrid. Somehow Booking.com had two bookings for me (I only had one confirmation) but the receptionist sorted it and I didn't pay for the second one. Excellent service. Room was lovely, great views of the mountains, excellent free wi-fi and English channels on TV. The slow roast lamb was absolutely DEE-LISH. Overall great stay and great value.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location, fabulous accommodation, great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome is very warm and the hotel is SO easy to find - right off the motorway. There is a service station on site and a cafe open from 6am to 1130pm daily and the main restaurant is open for breakfast lunch and dinner - the roast suckling pig is superb! The free wi-fi is excellent and there is free under cover parking. There is a lovely pool and fabulous views of the mountains. Its a great place to stay on the way to the ferries at Santander and Bilbao being about 5 and a half hours from Mojacar in the South of Spain and about 3 and a half from Santander in the North. the rooms are spacious, very clean and have air con and TV with English channels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    6.7
    Not a great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were two noisy parties going on during our stay and our room was very close to one of them, despite having requested a quiet room. We were moved to another room, which was quieter, but very cold. The restaurant was pleasant, but prices were high.

    Very convenient for the motorway. Modern decor and very clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Excellent location for a stop over to and from the ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose Mirasierra for its location near the Madrid/Burgos motorway. It is perfectly located for a stop over before taking the Bilbao or Santander ferry. The staff were excellent and friendly and the bar and restaurant very modern and clean. The food was also excellent. We plan to return later in the year on our next trip to Spain.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Handy good stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While food was excellant in restaurant but a bit over priced

    Pillows and bed very confortable. Quiet although near main road.Excellant responsive Wi-Fi Good overnight stop from/to ferry ports.Good tapas on village.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.2
    Simply superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The view from our bedroom should have been fine but overlooked a carpark (I think) covered in what looked like road materials which I trust is a temporary situation.

    First visit and certainly won't be our last visit. Far exceeded my expectations. Perfect for an overnight stop on the way South or North for that matter around 300km or so from Bilbao. An old property I presume but beautifully refitted throughout all the public areas that we saw. Sat out on the terrace and were waiter served from the cafeteria as wanted just drinks and tapas. We could have had just about anything from the Cafeteria or a full dinner from the restaurant. Even for a simple tapas meal our table covered with a tablecloth and we were given proper napkins. Could not fault our waiter or any staff with whom we had contact

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    Very nice room and convenient for a motorway stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive restaurant and food was disappointing, though good wine. We sent a message in advance requesting a room with bath and asking if we could bring our dog but received no reply. The receptionist tried to charge us 15 euros for the doe on departure which left a rather bad impression.

    Very nice room and convenient for a motorway stop.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Look forward to going again in August
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We have stayed here many times and it is always a pleasure. The staff are always very welcoming from the people on the reception ,who are very knowledgeable to the waitress in the restaurant. The food is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower screen could have done with being a bit bigger.

    Loved the space, a gorgeous building a beautiful mix of tradition and contempory styles. Food was stunning, staff all friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.6
    The location was perfect for an overnight stop on the way to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was perfect for an overnight stop on the way to southern Spain, Next to the autovia, but you would never know it. Great renovation. My wife had the Salmon, prawn and avocado salad and I had the Partridge salad, both the size of main course but more important, excellent. We both had suckling pig, AMAZING. Ask to see the extensive wine list and not the small one on the table.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    9.6
    A great stop over en route to the ferry. Have stayed here before and will definitely use again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, very comfortable and super clean room. A great stop over en route to the ferry. Have used before and will definitely use again. Thanks Mirasierra

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    10
    Very friendly staff and the hotel is convenient to the main road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the room numbers are adjacent the bedroom doors, it would help if the number was also at the bottom of the stairs enabling you to see which is your room with out going up the stairs to check the number.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful final stop to the ferry ports
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dining room rather utilitarian in contrast to the good food offered.

    Mixed thoughts about location: picturesque view with snow covered mountains one side; on the other, the hotel is right alongside the motorway, but absolutely brilliant for an overnight stop en route to/from the ferry ports. They welcome (rather than just tolerate) dogs and there are lovely walks just a couple of minutes drive from the hotel. The staff (particularly the manager) were exceptionally helpful and following internet reviews we had a memorable dinner. Breakfast was one of the best on our holiday and good value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    9.2
    Great rooms with super views of mountains to the back (watched three storks feeding!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As its family run their children are allowed to run around the bar! (might bother some but no big deal)

    Third visit. Great hotel, very close to the motorway. Beautiful well-heated rooms (arrived in a blizzard!). Bar / cafe / restaurant area very good, great coffee and super tapas / raciones.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    Will definitely use again and have recommended to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ideal overnight stop on way to ferry port. Close to motorway but no traffic noise On site petrol station offers discount to hotel guests who fill up. Very nice buffet breakfast for €8pp.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    10
    Pleasant stop over
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. Having stayed here many times we know what to expect and are not disappointed

    We arrived late in the evening and the staff were helpful and friendly. We needed to have a meal and were told when the restaurant was due to close. The menu was available in Spanish and English which makes choosing easier. We were served a free fish pate starter and also some ice cream sweets after the meal. The rooms are large and airy with wood flooring, great for the dog.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Highly recommendable for a night's stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    We've been here several times and it's always a pleasure to stay the night. Had a warm welcome and next to the hotel, owned by Mirasierra, is a petrol station, where you get 4 cents per liter discount after showing the hotel bill.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    10
    Beautiful place great for the dogs and the rooms and staff were fantastic Mr Brooks
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fantastic nothing to not like

    The hotel was beautiful the rooms look so clean immaculate clean for the dogs absolutely perfect perfect and the lamb was wonderful the staff were great and what more would you like from the hotel like this halfway point

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.5
    Well located hotel with secure free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridors leading to rooms were sparse and large with no carpet, which amplifies sound. We were woken up at 3am with very noisy inconsiderate Spanish guests returning to their rooms! Such a shame as would have recommended this hotel as a good stopover for people travelling through Spain via Madrid.

    Bed was exceptionally comfortable. Room beautifully warm. Our checking in and out was very quick and friendly. Great location, and good secure car parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Fabulous hotel, easy access, great facilities. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is right off the A1 Motorway just South of Madrid, a perfect stop off for a late afternoon arrival of the Ferry from UK to Santander. There is a cafe open all day and a restaurant open for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a lovely menu. There is also a service station on site. There is free parking and the rooms are spacious and quiet, the room was warm and had individual temperature control heating and air con. There is free wi-fi which worked very well in the room. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel which has lovely views over the surrounding mountains, covered in snow when I stayed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    9.6
    Mad very welcomed on a cold night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only persons staying that night but that did mean we were not looked after well. The bar was busy with local people calling in.

    The hotel was convenient off the motorway. It was warm on a very cold night. The bar and restaurant was excellent. A very good stopover on the road from Southern Spain up to Bilbao. The suckling pig is a must have.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    8.8
    The perfect stop-over from our visits from Southern Spain to Santander ferryport.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing really.

    Fantastic modern unit constructed adjacent to the original classic building. Very convenient to A1 autoroute. The staff from the reception manager to the catering staff were extremely pleasant. Secured gating parking all included. Dog no surchage.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    10
    It was a most enjoyable short stay and broke up a long tedious car journey.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Beautiful hotel and restaurant in a gorgeous location just off the motorway. Great food and a lovely comfortable bedroom. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I cannot recommend more highly!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    5.8
    Never again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is located high up in a mountainous region. It was very windy on our arrival. We had informed the hotel my wife had mobility issue. We were told that there were only six steps to our room! We went to bed at about 10:30pm and the wind was blowing a gale. Somewhere near our room the was a loose window or door that kept on banging in the wind. This kept us awake until the wind finished around 3:15am. We were just enjoying our sleep when the fie alarm activated at approx 6:15 am. There was not a lot of help from the staff and I personally believe inadequate exit signage to evacuate the building if there had been a fire. At this point we gave in packed up , payed our bill and started our onward journey at 6:45am. Forgot to say that the prices in the cafeteria were a little bit pricey. .

    Not to much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    A real improvement to the whole hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet behind the door in the bathroom was not good.

    The hotel has been refurbished in the last 2 years and is vastly improved on what it used to be.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    8.8
    Lovely hotel, shame about the food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food. Hotel very nice, friendly staff, easy access to motorway.

    Beautiful hotel, modern good facilities. Food not the best, I ordered suckling lamb expecting lamb with vegetables and potatoes, came as a piece of lamb which was the backbone as I had the vertibrae with not a great deal of meat and a few sauté potatoes which were cold. I had to send it back to be re heated. My wife had beef entrecote, which she asked for well done, arrived as a very rough, tough piece of steak which was still bleeding, again it went back as the potatoes were stone cold and the steak needed to be cooked. The proprietor brought us some fish pate and four little pieces of toast, which we didn't ask for and thought were complimentary but realized afterwards we were charged €10.80 for it so beware, even the bread on the table was charged for €2 for 2 slices. You could only have toast for breakfast, even though there were lots of items on the menu. Honestly that was the only bad point, the hotel I would recommend, friendly staff very comfortable surroundings, lovely decor, just eat elsewhere.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    A perfect haven to break the journey
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A stop on the motorway from south to north, an arbitrary selection but what a surprise! Everything was fantastic, spacious comfortable room with a good bed and a great breakfast. We had an evening meal in their restaurant and this was a quarter of a lamb roasted and shared washed down with excellent house red wine. Perfect stopover.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    9.6
    A good overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult choice between road noise and ventilation at night. Odd wonky light switch or toilet roll holder might be an issue for budding Hotel Inspectors but didn't bother us. Restaurant seems a bit expensive if you are used to Costa del Sol prices but is the norm for similar places in northern Spain.

    Welcoming family run hotel with staff with good English. Handy for Motorway if travelling through Spain Very clean and surprisingly smart. Good bar and restaurant serving quite delicious roast lamb and Leche Frita. Good reasonably priced drinks. Village is short walk away and very pleasant if unremarkable but had a welcoming bar restaurant and a posh bakers. We saw signs for a rail way so it might be possible to visit Burgos/Madrid but we HAVEN'T checked this out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    overall this is a very good stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing to say

    we arrived late @ 21.30pm.the staff were there to great me.we were too tired to eat but had a drink in the bar.we were served free tapas.the staff were incredible.the couldnt do enough for me. while i was there other people arrived who arrived in spain on the same ferry as me.they told they always stop there overnight.i can understand that.will definitely stay there again

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Superb. Would recommend to anyone, especially dog owners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was faultless

    Everything about this hotel was perfect. Accommodation, access, food and cleanliness was excellent. Our dog was made to feel very welcome the staff were outstanding.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    An excellent place to stay
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    One last ramp to make access to the rooms with a wheelchair 100%

    Improvements since our last stay, much more accessible for wheelchairs. Staff is very nice and very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.5
    Very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very easy to find, just off motorway, but road noise not a problem with double glazing and air con. Spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. English speaking staff. Stayed here many times, always good. Restaurant opens at 8.00 pm rather than the later times of most Spanish hotels.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast was good 8 euros pp
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Meals a bit on the dear side pushed overall stay well above our normal budget so sadly would not stay here again. Traveling Malaga to Bilbao worth pushing on a bit further to lerma or Burgos.

    Breakfast was good 8 euros pp Dinner was very tasty but really quite expensive at 20 Euro pp for lamb. Burgers around 12 Euro. no menu del dia was available or offered. One course dinner with 2 drink was 58 euros. Room was quiet and comfortable, long pillows a little firm for me. Wifi good. Nice to have a bath and toiletries and good towel provided. Very easy to find there is a small village and a couple of restaurants a little further up the lay-by. Staff lovely and all helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    It made a lovely end to a great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone is very welcoming, food is great and very good value for money. We look forward to staying there again, and yes the croissants were excellent and the bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    9.2
    Great stay and in great situation on road from Burgos to Marbella.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing I wasn't so impressed with was the breakfast. It may just be me, but the choice of cereals and fruit was a little lacking.

    The bed was super comfy, had a great night sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    9.6
    A good overnight stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Because of it's location the meals were possibly a little more expensive.

    It was easy to find. Their ability to speak to us in their English, and our broken( limited) Spanish was great. all in all a very good experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.1
    Shame a mixed performance.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Pets Allowed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Mani road was noisy and visible at all times. The excellent meal was served in the bar which was smart but not very warm and comfortable which was a shame when there was a lovely dining room on the first floor. Problems highlighted were bedside lamps not working when we went to bed and shower not working when we woke up, both of which could have been checked before we arrived.

    Room was comfortable and spacious. Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming. Near main road so not much of a diversion. Quality of dinner was excellent, breakfast standard. The two problems we highlighted were apologised for resulting in complementary breakfast, not much else they could have done as one problem arose when we went to bed and the other when we woke up.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    10
    Good place to stop on way to Santander
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Lovely family run hotel. We have stayed here on the way to Santander ferry for last 7/8 years and the standard is always very good. You must try the leg of lamb for two, scrummy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    very welcome and restful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    The bed extra comfy, the breakfast extra yummy and the staff and family very friendly and helpfull. The newly installed lifts very useful

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Unexpected joy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Fantastic food in restaurant. Very good buffet breakfast. Easy to find. Never been to this part of Spain before but definitely want to come back and explore ( and stay at Mirasierra again!).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Great location great staff will stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were slightly smaller than expected but ok Would have been nice if the swimming pool was heated

    Rooms were very comfortable diner and hospitality of staff was amazing and made our stay special.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely room and so comfy beds, had a real good nights sleep.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Pets Allowed
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we had our dogs with us we ordered a burger to our room, the presentation looked good when the delivered it but the the burger was nearly raw !!!!! even the dogs would not touch it.

    Lovely room and so comfy beds, had a real good nights sleep.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    10
    Owners have done a fantastic job of making this hotel a friendly and relaxing place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool didn't look very inviting

    Really well decorated hotel with everything you need to have a relaxing time, nice restaurant area and lounge. All very modern, staff are fantastic and will do anything to assist you. Great value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    As always a really pleasant overnight stay.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Pets Allowed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is nothing about this hotel that I don't like.

    I really like the genuine welcome you get from all the staff. They are happy to carry your drinks out onto the terrace, give you a meal that's not on the menu and are always able to give us accommodation that is dog friendly. I met a traveller who had been using this hotel for 35 years so it must be good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.1
    Ok good location for travelling back to Santander slightly expensive for 3 star hotel
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool not been cleaned for a while and very cold. Hotel has function rooms and when function finished in early hours it was very noisy with people leaving. Slightly on the expensive side.

    Friendly staff good food very clean convenient location just off motorway.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    10
    Wonderful! Such welcoming staff, lovely food and great room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A warm welcome, great food, lovely room and English speaking staff. We absolutely loved staying here on our trip south. A great stop not far from a Madrid.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    The hotel turns an overnight stay into a perfect break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This family owned and run hotel is an oasis of comfort and quality just one minute off the Madrid to Burgos motorway at Km99. The accommodation is spacious and very comfortable, and the public areas are extremely well designed. All the staff are very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel and rooms are immaculate. Best of all is the food which is served in the restaurant, the terrace and the bar. Local produce superbly presented with flair. We have been staying at the Mirrasierra for over 20 years and look forward to our future stays.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    10
    Great dog friendly hotel, will stay here again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have a small fenced off area where we could safely let our dogs off the lead so they could freely stretch their legs.

    Easy access straight off the motorway, friendly welcome, very nice meal, plenty of grass areas for the dogs to sniff. Clean and spacious room with good air con. Quick check out. Will book to stay here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    This location is ideal for those travelling through Spain,...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This location is ideal for those travelling through Spain, via Madrid, and crossing by ferry from UK to Santander / Bilbao. Great overnight stop and the continental breakfast is superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: