Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Modus Vivendi 3 stars

Sipiri, 32, 48600 Sopelana, Spain

#3 of 7 hotels in Sopelana

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 407 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in a perfect location for visiting Bilbau and local beaches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location, easy walk to the Metro, and to the fantastic local beaches, or to nearby shops and restaurants. The hotel staff were helpful and friendly and could speak English to us. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, especially the suite which had a balcony, (which we could use to dry our swimming costumes) and the breakfast provided was delicious. Lovely local bakeries, fruit shops and supermarkets, and a Tourist information centre. Free parking in the streets around. Perfect place to stay to explore Bilbau and the lovely local towns by Metro.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location for town and beach . will return and recommend to friends and family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to ask for extra coffee and waitress not around if hotel quiet.

    Great breakfast with lovely fresh products daily .best coffee ever in Spanish hotel .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.4
    It's fine but I'd rather go somewhere else
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bad noise insulation is a real problem, only one receptionist speaks english (it can be treated as a plus though. Sopela is not really english speaking city)

    Nice breakfast, hotels is very close to city center

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    8.3
    2 nights, end of trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The air-conditioning in our room was not effective for cooling. We just switched it off and opened the windows.

    The basement car park was good, with a lift up to our landing, an essential for us as on street parking was very busy. The room and breakfast were fine. The hotel is handy for the Metro into Bilbao for sightseeing. It was less than half an hour's drive to the Brittany Ferry port, avoiding the congestion of Bilbao itself. The wifi was fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.6
    Breakfast is satisfying, room is nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi didn't work. Maybe it was because of my phone but during my stay I couldn't access internet.

    Breakfast is satisfying, room is nice and clean. We prefered a calm accomadation so I love the location!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    10
    Perfect for Bilbao visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was ideal for Bilbao day trip; 34 minutes on the Metro. Also a good 20 minutes walk to a fantastic beach...with a fabulous restaurant. Room was lovely, bed very comfortable and the staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    Staff very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Staff very helpful. Easy stroll to downtown Sopela and metro to Bilbao. Bakery down the road is awesome.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    6.7
    The staff were so helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so helpful

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Clean hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful with any enquiries and would recommend for visiting Bilbao

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    7.5
    nothing special but good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit poor with not much choice.

    Great sauna at the hotel, staff was kind and nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    8.3
    Very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room doors very difficult to open.

    Very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Luxury on a budget
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Croissants best I've tasted . Very friendly hotel rooms very clean and welcoming

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    5.8
    Very well run but needs softer beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very very hard

    Close to train station but still 30 minute trip to Bilbao

    Stayed in August 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    8.5
    Extremely nice and helpful staff and a quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Only thing we found was someone else's hair in our bathtub.

    Extremely nice and helpful staff and a quiet room. We also liked breakfast. For a baby we got a crib and a highchair in a dining room.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    5.8
    The staff gave me good surfing tips about spots and boar...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Weak wifi signal. Expensive indoor parking. The worst was it's location. Very far from the beach. VERY.

    The staff gave me good surfing tips about spots and boar rentals. Room was ok.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.2
    Super friendly staff, willing to help us in our visit to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Agree that the place was a bit noisy, but that seems to be the case in every single Spanish hotel

    Super friendly staff, willing to help us in our visit to Bilbao Nice breakfast, especially for Spanish standards: croissant, bread, ham, cheese, chorizo, fruit, yoghurt, good coffee, fresh orange juice. Can't understand how people are complaining about this!

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    7.5
    However busy the staff was, they were vere friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It seemed a little like the hotel was run at a minimum of costs. There were no furniture at the poarch, even the weather would invite to sit outside for breakfast, the one staff at work was both receptionist and running the breakfast buffet and the rooms was not properly cleaned.as the floors were dirty

    However busy the staff was, they were vere friendly and helpful and the room was rather confortable and spacious,

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    7.5
    Quite
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WiFi a bit weak in some areas

    Quite

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    8.3
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Big room. Clean.

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    9.2
    Staff extremely helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff extremely helpful and friendly

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20

Guests also reviewed these properties: