Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monasterio de San Martin 4 stars

Carretera Ca-513, Km.4 Montenegral Alto, 11340 San Martín del tesorillo, Spain

#1 of 4 hotels in San Martín del tesorillo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 89 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 20

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Near enough everything stunning place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of information in the room on basic things like time for breakfast were to get pool towel No prices on daily menu or drinks list

    Near enough everything stunning place

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Mi casa e su casa with birdsong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast service became a little confused on our final day

    We were referred to this property by a friend and it lived up to its billing. We've stayed in many Paradors in Spain and this property compares well with that category of hotel. It's a beautiful building in extensive grounds including well-managed lawns and gardens, a very large pool and interesting outdoor seating and places to relax. We enjoyed a ground floor room with private terrace overlooking garden. The major difference between this property and Paradors is the level of personal service and attention from staff which allowed us to eat when and where we wished and with some style and quality of food and wine. It tries with some success to welcome you into a family atmosphere that we found very relaxing. Although it's only 10 or 12 kilometers from Sotogrande, you need your own transportation to fully enjoy this location which is surrounded by open countryside and about 4 km from nearest small community of San Martin del Tesorillo.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    9.6
    The welcome upon arrival
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The suite was a little too rustic for our liking.

    The welcome upon arrival The staff The owner The food and the personalised chef experience The open fire The grounds and gardens The common areas - lounges and bar The wine A little corner of heaven - we will be back!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    The best there is in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food ...excellent. Not massive choice but i like that because what you got was perfection. All quality local fresh ingredients. Not far to travel to local towns. Stunning countryside. Stunning property with lovely accomodation. Friendly. Relaxed. V near Local facilities. Loved it. They also do yoga / retreat specials which I was interested in returning to. Massive pool / area. Thank you Dennis ...Fabulous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing pool and gardens
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only Spanish channels on tv

    Amazing pool and gardens

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Central Location, restaurants nearby, friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    8.8
    The log fire was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The wifi was very poor

    The log fire was great. Dinner and breakfast both excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.6
    Great experience with hotel and evening meal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very interesting hotel. Nice in winter with lovely log fires. Staff exceptionally helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Must visit!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is absolutely gorgeous! Serene and relaxing! The staff was very helpful and the food was amazing. Wonderful getaway!!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    10
    The hotel was wonderful.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was wonderful. A little piece of paradise would definitely recommend to stay here. Absolutely devine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    Salones piscina jardines
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch de mediodia

    Salones piscina jardines

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only bad thing about the place is that I had to leave

    The photos don't do the place justice. It's a million times better

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    10
    Perfect stay! Very relaxing, beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great staff, Great food & Drink. A very relaxing stay - we are already looking to book our next visit

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    A Dream
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fantastique location the best Food in Spain relaxing, just great

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    10
    Perfect getaway from every thing place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Queen Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    9.2
    Great attention to detail by David upon check-in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great attention to detail by David upon check-in. It was our 6 year wedding anniversary and there was champagne in our room upon arrival. Nice touch! The waiting staff were brilliant too. Special mention to the chef, excellent dinner!

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    8.8
    The hotel itself, absolutely perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor internet and rooms could do with upgrading appliances, Tv and hairdryer. Poor breakfast.

    The hotel itself, absolutely perfect. Great staff. Nice dinner.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    10
    We love everything about the place, and will highly...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We love everything about the place, and will highly recommend it if you are looking for some real Spanish lifestyle. Located 25 min from Gibraltar and english speaking staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    7.1
    very nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    breakfast and snack not very good

    very nice place.. very relaxing nice decoration

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    I don't want to tell anyone about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just wish we could have stayed longer !

    I don't want to tell anyone about this place. It is a little piece of heaven.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 20