Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monasterio de San Miguel 4 stars

Virgen de los Milagros, 27, 11500 El Puerto de Santa María, Spain

#6 of 19 hotels in El Puerto de Santa María

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2706 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Lovely, classy hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Lovely, classy hotel. The most comfortable beds I have ever slept in in Spain. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice breakfast. The cafeteria/bar did not open until 16:00 - it would have been nice if they opened earlier, as we had to leave the hotel for lunch and drinks the days we spent by the lovely pool. All in all a very nice hotel with short walking distance to the best restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.3
    Handy for what we wanted
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cafeteria wasn't open in the morning for coffee etc. Car parking at €13 per day expensive.

    Nice room overlooking the pool, good size and quiet. Easy walking distance to town centre and ferry to Cadiz

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Another visit to this lovely old monastery after 6 years was just as warm and welcoming. Dated now!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Toilet brush needed and more toilet paper, free daily water should be supplied, TV listings of channels would help - a great TV but no info on what is on. Needs painting and some TLC!

    The location, the pool and the gardens, lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    6.7
    Make your own mind up
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very tired & needed decorating with poorly fitted laminate flooring. The bed was very comfortable. After breakfast had finished you couldn't get food until 8pm, you couldn't get a coffee until 4pm & the only cold drinks available around the pool was from a vending machine. The hotel lobby & other areas where beautiful. The pool & garden area was kept lovely. The breakfast was again very good. The biggest let down was the staff although they were not rude they were in fact miserable & gave you the impression you were lucky to be there & that was from reception staff to cleaners. Would I go back? No, but it wasn't a horrible experience the building itself is worth a visit.

    Included the whole experience above as I think bullet points can me misread.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    A very nice couple of days and we will definitely be looking to return soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows could have been a little firmer. Tea and coffee facilities in the room would have made our stay even better.

    Excellent value for money! Friendly, helpful staff. Big comfortable bed and clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    10
    Place is so freaking cool, if u want to visit a “haunted”...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is so freaking cool, if u want to visit a “haunted” property, I am certain this is a good bet. Was just totally surreal walking the labyrinth maze of corridors and hallways at 4am, imagining the lives of the monks in past. I had a killer room with a super awesome balcony overlooking the pool. I really didn’t want to leave. Ever. Staff was great too. Underground secure private parking. What else is there? Do it. Book here. You’ll thank me.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    7.1
    Hotel is O.K for a short stop-over but keep your expectations low.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel now looks like it needs a lot of attention as much of it's former glamour and details are looking very tired. Rooms are O.K but are now very dated as are the public areas in general. the mini-bar fridge in our, (and in two of our friends rooms) didn't work, the air conditioning was only just adequate in our room but was faulty in one of our friends room. There are no tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms and the strangest thing of all is that the Monasterio make you pay the whole fee for your stay when you check-in, not when you check-out: (maybe because they fear that you may complain and refuse to pay the whole amount due to some of the rather shabby conditions).

    Character Hotel with some impressive architecture being that it was once an actual monastery. Decent bar area, pool and garden.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.5
    Staff is lovely and bed are more than confortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More plugs would be a good idea. Just two available in the room: beside the TV and inside the bathroom.

    Staff is lovely and bed are more than confortable. Location’s great, those who have been living in El Puerto know that and those who don’t know will be satisfied

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    9.6
    Hotel is located in a historical building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Windows are to be fixed. Breakfast not remarkable.

    Hotel is located in a historical building. Only for this it's worth the stay! Public parking (very cheap) only is at 5 min by walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    never again this hotel, at least not for halfboard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    half board more then bad. been there +- 5 years ago. then it was perfect. great dinner every night in adequate location, now it wasnt woth the stay. it broke our holiday. Never again, owners changed apparently +- one year ago. i should have known. shame

    food was average for breakfast. coffee was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Would go bck-
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a single plug point for recharging. Had to recharge phone by unplugging the TV - or bathroom shaver socket! Car park is expensive and uncomfortable. Nearby public car park cheap & easy.

    The public areas are a privilege, rooms and beds are large and comfortable. Nice balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    First class apart from no restaurant!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On our first visit 10 years ago we had one of the best meals we can remember, but sadly this time The restaurant was closed, which was a great disappointment. The Café offered a very poor selection of meals, so we ate elsewhere

    ALMOST EVERTHING, super room, great shower, We overlooked the pool unfortunately didn't have a swimsuit. The staff were great, and the breakfast selection was excellent - everything fresh.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing concidering the fact that this is a historic place.

    The style, comfort (large rooms) and service. Dinner was excellent (gourmet food) and the buffet breakfast was very good and generous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Interesting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The atmosphere and closeness to the restaurants Can’t say much more as The concierge had to call for an ambulance at 3 o’clock on Friday morning, my wife was admitted to hospital where she still recovering The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.0
    The comfortable bedroom and beautiful spacious public areas...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The comfortable bedroom and beautiful spacious public areas with interior patio -has kept the feel of the old monastery. Quiet part of town but easy walking distance to centre.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    We had a huge suite, which I wasn't expecting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room had a pretty bad smell. I guess it's a really old building, but I feel like they should work on that.

    We had a huge suite, which I wasn't expecting. Two big TVs, bedroom, living room with sofa and table. Not bad at all.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    10
    Extremely enjoyable stay, walking distance to very good bars and restaurants
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor choice of beer in bar which is strange in Spain

    The hotel is full of character a beautiful building, though maybe a little tired Breakfast was very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Awesome,met our expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The option to make your own coffee a coffee or tea service in the room.The only option was to make use of the cafeteria or restaurants close by....not always practical if you go in winter.

    Staying in a Monastrio was indeed a awesome experienced.The room was awesome and huge indeed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    The architecture of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Despite the fact the hotel was a Monastery, as it is the case - strangly - in most of the Hotels, they made very noisy ROOM DOORS. Each time a client enter or exit his room, and in an hotel - obviously - this is done 24 h a day, the other clients wake up. In fact, 1) it is impossible to close these room doors without slamming the doors. 2) the problem could be solved even keeping these room doors just putting an internal door in the space of the entrance where there is the bathroom and the closet, but - even more strangly - the hotels do not do this.

    The architecture of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.5
    The beauty of an old monastery where it is located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Despite the fact the hotel was a Monastery, as it is the case - strangly - in most of the Hotels, they made very noisy ROOM DOORS. Each time a client enter or exit his room, and in an hotel - obviously - this is done 24 h a day, the other clients wake up. In fact, 1) it is impossible to close these room doors without slamming the doors. 2) the problem could be solved even keeping these room doors just putting an internal door in the space of the entrance where there is the bathroom and the closet, but - even more strangly - the hotels do not do this.

    The beauty of an old monastery where it is located

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Very enjoyable, comfortable and atmospheric with friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main restaurant closed, limited evening meal menu. No place for refreshments until 4pm. No handles on bath. Lid on bidet made it unusable.

    Hotel full of character. Our room was spacious. Good location, near to town and train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    - location was great and the hotel itself is a gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - location was great and the hotel itself is a gem - room pretty stylish, clean and very comfortable. - very nice staff as well. - great value for money - 2nd time we stay in, we will definitely come back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.1
    The cafeteria only opened at 4.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafeteria only opened at 4.00 pm breakfast served at 10 euros a head long walk husband disabled no coffee or anything served til 4.00 pm in March welcomed cafeteria coffee tostadas 3 euros so a real new rip off ! I asked at desk and we were told 20 euros for two no half measures !

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    9.6
    We have been traveling in Spain for 5 weeks, and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfect for our needs, but there isn't much to do in El Puerto Santa Maria other than visit sherry Bodegas (Osborne is the best). So we used it for our day trip base. Nothing too exciting in the restaurant category here either... go to Santilucar for great seafood.

    We have been traveling in Spain for 5 weeks, and the Monasterio de San Miguel is the best place we have stayed yet. Best bed (king size and felt new) best comfy cotton sheets, best bathroom (2 sinks), best water pressure and temperature in the shower, best authentic atmosphere. They up graded us to a junior suite, so we had a sitting room too...way cool. We initially a 1 nite stay that we expanded to 3 nites and used this as a base to explore Santilucar & Cadiz. Wonderful old convent made into a classy period authentic hotel. Great staff too; they eagerly got ice for my foot (still some pain from walking the Camino). Beautiful peaceful courtyard with a foundation on the first floor. Very quiet. Very clean.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    didn't like no tea or coffee in room .. pool closed.. had to ask for a double bed and pay extra as well... breakfast was poor value..

    verandah view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    8.3
    Impressive hotel with loads of history, very central to everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room overlooked the swimming pool and the filter came on in the evening and stayed on all night which was very noisy. The staff at reception were not very friendly but the staff in the cafe bar were great.

    The beds were really comfortable and the room was clean. The courtyard was a lovely area to sit out in the evening with a drink before going out for dinner.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.3
    A bit of luxury in a real Spanish town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast and parking expensive, but both available cheaply close by. Reception not brilliant for info, but great tourist office in town - directed us to a locals' Flamenca night! Brilliant!

    Comfy bed. Luxurious feel though seemed quite serious due to religious artefacts and pictures! Nice pool area. Handy for travelling by ferry to Cadiz and by train to Jerez and Seville.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast was well worth the price charge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was old and tiered. The bedroom floor was very tired laminated wood worn in places.

    Breakfast was well worth the price charge. Nice food and plenty of choices

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.1
    Good location, good choice at breatkfast, comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel just a bit dated, bathrooms need updating.

    Hotel was within walking distance to bars, restaurants and shops. beaches and places of interest within easy diving distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    10
    A beautiful hotel with a swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some people may not like the noise from the weddings. For us it just added to the fun of being in Spain, enjoying people enjoying themselves.

    A beautiful hotel with a swimming pool.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff efficient but quite surly. Don't greet anyone as they come in and out. There's only one socket in the bedroom which is under the dressing table so not ideal for charging phones etc. The welcome drink of a glass of sherry and a tapas could only be taken after 8pm for some reason.

    Very comfortable beds. Spacious room with nice balcony overlooking the pool. Great location, near to the railway station and catamaran for trips to Cadiz. Hotel full of character.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    wonderful. hotel with easy access to Cadiz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel was lovely Antique furniture and lovely courtyard to have a late night coffee and brandy. Great swimming pool for warmer weather. Staff very attentive Bedrooms and bathrooms kept spotless

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.3
    Ambience is cool, breakfast is great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Parking! Only if u find on the streets. No wifi in the rooms! only in lobby but not fast at all. Staff have attitude - i can not do anything, it is like this.

    Great ambience , good rooms, great breakfast! In the center of this city but to Cadiz - 30 min by car.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    8.8
    i stayed for 5 days at this hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    very bad wifi connection most of the times.

    i stayed for 5 days at this hotel. i had booked a single room, but i stayed in a large double room at the same price. the hotel is a 2-minutes walk from the train station, that connects el puerto de santa maria with cadiz, seville, cordoba and other big cities. the bed was very comfort and the bathroom quite big and clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    Really a
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a daily swimmer, the pool was immaculate but a charge for towels is not necessary. Towels should be free. Have stayed in lesser accommodations where the pool towels are free to use .

    Lovely, large clean room with balcony on top floor overlooking the pool. Enormous bed! Beautiful conversion of the monastery ...... the decor is tastefully done and in keeping with the history of the building. On a Main Street near to bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful monastery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was fabulous, the only thing was plugs for our phones which were difficult to find and not in good places.

    Beautiful decor and a swimming pool. The monastery is wonderful,we got lost a few times, but great fun.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    We would definitely love to stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No tea making facilities in the rooms. Car park charges at the hotel rather expensive.

    Very comfy beds. Beautiful hotel with lots of lovely paintings and old artefacts. Pretty central courtyard with fountain. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    5.8
    We enjoyed there being a pool but felt the room was expensive given the quality and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not included and was quite an expensive extra. We breakfasted in the town instead.

    The public spaces within the hotel are very pleasant. The decor in our room was a bit tired looking and the room itself bland and corporate looking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Lovely hotel, will stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No sockets by the bed for chargers etc. TV in front of the mirror seemed incongruous. No water in the fridge

    Lovely building, good conversion from original monastery

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    7.1
    Not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit weird with the monastery relicts that are hanging everywhere, so it may not be for everyone, the pool is actually not as nice as in the pictures.

    Nice breakfast, the location is good to reach both Cadiz and Jerez

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.3
    Enjoyable. Loved the area. Not commercialised
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Rather amazed that you have to pay for swimming pool towels to be laundered.It is only a small thing but I think the hotel ought to consider a change of heart.It colours ones overall judgement.

    Easy access to town,ferry and railway station. No need to hire a car.Well renovated building.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    5.8
    Good location, great historical place but did not meet my expectation of 4 star hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was superior room with a balcony but next to the lift, so I could here all the noises hence had difficulties to fall asleep. Overall, I would have expected high standard for 4star hotel.

    The building has its charm, especially the common areas and great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    It was a very lovely environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a very lovely environment. We especially all the different sitting areas, including the central courtyard. Our room on third floor was extremely comfortable and the view over the estuary perfect.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    5.5
    good location and very cool property as they did a great job...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    we were continually having problems with the door for our section of the hotel. We were also repeatedly locked in the garage and it took 20 minutes to get our car out on the last day. Wifi was poor to non existent, and checking in was a bit rough as the first room we were given had been smoked in and had twin beds instead of the double bed we requested

    good location and very cool property as they did a great job converting the place from a monastery

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    Breakfast good , service from staff curteous but nothing more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dated, smelled strongly of smoke . Broken safe and saggy shower curtain that had seen better days hence Water all over the tiled floor - very dangerous . Not worth the money or the 4 stars

    The communal areas are good - very interesting.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Fabulous facilities and staff, parking difficult and expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited parking and expensive at €13 per day.

    Staff polite and welcoming, no language issues, check in and out hassle free. Facilities are wonderful. The setting is peaceful and befitting of its previous incarnation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Relaxing and exciting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    See i what I did like.

    It's a beautiful building outside as well as inside, well kept, it's difficult I presume and expensive to maintain such an old building. Staff are quite friendly, however I did find it impossible to park in the hotel's parking spaces, although not difficult to park outside the hotel and much cheaper (13euros per day is very expensive). You do have to be careful not to be given some of the worst rooms, the wood floor had given way somewhat round the entrance but I gather that people go in with wet footwer, I was lucky enough to get a good one, silent, spacious bed, sofa, etc. I did stay here last year and would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    6.3
    I enjoyed the ancient/historical type of accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Comfort and cleanliness and the sympathy of the staff

    I enjoyed the ancient/historical type of accommodation like a monastery and in Spain and Portugal they are quite interesting and normally they are five stars but this one was a bit disappointing!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    7.5
    We wanted a Spanish experience and certainly got it at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were nice but were looking at bit tired! Very comfy beds thoughost and lovely and quiet!

    The public rooms in the hotel were absolutely gorgeous. Particularly the inside courtyard

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.5
    Good location, lovely town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad smell of drains at times.

    Good location, nice pool, lovely building. Good breakfast place just opposite. Peurta is a lovely town, lively but family friendly at night. Easy ferry to Cadiz. Visited during the day before but decided to stay a couple of nights so we could sample the Nightlife which doesn't get started til late.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.3
    Nice place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi didn't work well, perhaps due my room was at the end of the corridor. Toilet flush was too weak and some small maintenance details were too obvious.

    Excellent location and impressive building. The pool is deep and long enough to have a nice swim. Big room and extremely quite which was perfect to rest at any time.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    10
    Great holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A superb hotel ! Not too big and run by friendly, helpful staff. The room overlooked the pool. It was very quiet. Very close to the lively town. Hardly any English which suited us S it helped us to practise our basic Spanish. It made a pendant change to eat fresh Spanish food without a costa or Starbucks in sight! The ferry to Jerez was just a couple of euros and was a fantastic trip. Cadiz is a wonderful historic place with a beach too!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Would strongly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no parking on arrival as the car park was full for a wedding and it was a little difficult to find the nearest car park because of one-way roads and unfamiliarity. It was actually much cheaper to park in the public car park than the hotel.

    The hotel was a real find, unique, quirky and beautifully appointed. It was a little walk away from the main centre but accessible. Our suite was very comfortable, spacious, well equipped and spotless. The staff were great, helpful, and friendly.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    7.1
    Very nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This room appeared to have been opened at the last minuet,wardrobe door jammed,room stale,balcony full of weeds, table and chairs with bird droppings . Asked staff to clean balcony,only table wiped. This room did not match the rest of the hotel.

    Very nice hotel. Room poor.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    6.3
    Very disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service (selfservice in the cafetería, no help with the luggage, lack of information, unkidness of the personal..) Very old building, with broken windows in the room We booked a room with one double bed and there were 2 twins beds The hotel charged the room 2 days in advance (which was not advice in the terms and conditions of the booking)

    bed sheets

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel in quaint town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Monasterio de San Miguel is a beautiful hotel in a quaint town. The public areas are lovely, lovely. Our room had a small balcony which was nice. Room itself was fine, but a little "nicked" - corners of furniture, walls. That did not detract. It was clean, pleasing, and we would stay there again. Again, the hotel public areas are superb. A classical guitar competition took place in one of the salons during our stay. Contestants practicing in various rooms, salon of competition open to the public. Enchanting. Very helpful staff. We appreciated the clean, well-lit underground garage, even at 13e a day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Unusual style for a historic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Offered complimentary tapas but unavailable when requested.

    Traditional style with a contemporary feel. Location is excellent for the catamaran ferry into Cadiz and access to Jerez airport. Reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Good but not excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms. Internet very slow and limited to two devices. Only shampoo provided in the bathroom no shower gel

    Easy to find. Good location. Within easy reach of the centre

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar was expensive and the staff not as friendly as the rest of the staff. There were some areas of the hotel that badly needed some maintenance which was a shame as it was once a very grand building.

    Good value for money as we booked with a special offer. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel had some very interesting rooms and decor with lovely areas to relax in. The pool area was very nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel but could improve to make it great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the room More variety at breakfast. (More than one type of egg) Better air conditioning in bedroom

    Building very different to other hotels Large rooms Good pool area Short walk to centre

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.1
    Value for money in an interesting town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff were a little indifferent

    Being in a converted monastery was interesting and many of the furnishings were original pieces. The breakfast was very generous with a good choice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    9.2
    Old monastery charm - modern comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room, king size bed and terrasse onto the garden with swimming pool. The hotel has an "old spain" charm that conveys quietness. Good place to unwind.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    It really depends on which room you get
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we were assigned was pretty bad, noisy and smelly. Luckily they upgraded us on the second night.

    They changed our room for the second night and it was great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    7.1
    Lovely hotel but disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room smelled of drains and we were told that we couldn't change it on the day we arrived as the suites were all booked, but we could change the following morning. But we were visiting Osborne the following morning, which they knew about as they had arranged it for us. When I checked on booking.com that evening there were suites available so either management mislead us or booking.com got it wrong. By then I couldn't be bothered to argue the point. Was very disappointed that the restaurant was not open, particularly as bookings could have been made for half board - did they expect us to eat dinner in the cafeteria?! Fortunately we only booked bed and breakfast.

    The hotel was charming with beautiful public areas and the breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    9.5
    A beautiful historic hotel which we would certainly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our only difficulty was remembering which was the right staircase and corridor leading to our room - this was clearly once a huge monastery!

    Lovely hotel in an old monastery, with some fascinating old artefacts and pictures. The ambience is cleverly both elegant and informal. Peaceful, spacious and tasteful : marble floors, lots of comfortable seating in a choice of areas indoors and also in a picturesque central courtyard with a relaxing fountain playing. Our comfortable traditional type bedroom had a balcony overlooking the garden which leads to the pool area, from where we enjoyed watching swallows and other cheery birds darting about every evening. All the staff were friendly, courteous and efficient and the buffet breakfast was superb. The hotel is a short walk on the flat from/to the train and bus stations, and to the catamaran for Cadiz. Sherry Bodegas and Tapas bars also within easy walking distance, plus an excellent good value restaurant, La Cuchara, virtually opposite. A memorable stay and highly recommended.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    4 friends on motorcycles. I booked via Booking.com and asked for breakfast included and garage parking for 4 motorcycles. It turned out that neither breakfast or parking was included and had to be payed extra...bad

    Beautiful building. Comfortable and very well located.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only trivial issues like the lift is a bit small but nothing that's any real problems.

    They changed all the beds & mattresses during our stay, so all new & comfy. We didn't have the buffet breakfast but you can have a simple breakfast in the nice cafeteria. There are lovely public spaces to sit around. Rooms and bathrooms are spacious and there's extra toiletries like brushing or shaving kits.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    8.8
    Peace and quiet in a place full of history
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pool was being renovated so we did not get the opportunity to use it. The hotel parking is terribly expensive - 13€/day!! We were lucky to find a non-paying spot on the street. Still there is a public parking 200m away, for 3.95€/day. Not all the staff is properly trained - as we arrived we tried to get some food at the cafeteria but the waiter kept telling us that the kitchen would close in 5m... this went on until another person came... I just wanted a soup, something that had to be prepared already... only had to heat. The second waiter immediately managed it... I understand that no food would be prepared, but he could offer something already made, couldn't he?!

    The Monasterio is an ancient building (Monastery) very well preserved. The feeling is that you are staying in a museum, with historical objects and art all over. The breakfast is excellent, with lots of fresh produce and of very good quality. The room was actually a suite (even though we did not pay for a suite), big and very confortable. The inner patio is a must, for the quietness and water fountain. Overall it was a very good experience.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous welcoming hotel for a relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic ambience, very nice staff. Large rooms, relaxing stay, felt that you were wanted there, calm and congenital. We'll definitely go back. Welcome drink and tapas a great start. One of the most pleasent hotels we've stayed in. Wish there were more hotels like this!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    5.8
    Room was spotlessly clean and refreshed daily
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window didn't seal and room was at the front of the building above the bar and the road and consequently was very noisy. Desk manager was abrupt despite other staff being really friendly. We were not informed that pool sale be closed for repairs.

    Room was spotlessly clean and refreshed daily

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.0
    Stay here in Santa Maria to visit Cadiz and Jerez.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We were very happy there.

    The hotel is well located for the station, the historical centre and the promenade. There are some excellent, reasonably priced restaurants close by with some tasty tapas and wine. The hotel has character, and the staff were excellent. We used Santa Maria for easy access by train to explore Cadiz and Jerez.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    8.3
    bed was excellent and the friendliness of staff was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Access to car parking was difficult to locate due to road repairs being carried out

    bed was excellent and the friendliness of staff was very good.hotel was full of interesting areas an ideal place to tour local places,

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    4.6
    4 star hotel - not in my opinion. I do not recommend it and would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor beds, noise from adjoining rooms, poor internet with a download speed max at 5MBS and frequent dropped connections in evening. No use for a business traveller. Threadbare carpets in hallways, difficult to open shower valve in one room, bright cold LED room lights in some bedrooms, LED lights that made a noise in 2 rooms. Unattractive rooms and decor poor. Being given an "un-refurbished" room on the 2nd floor that was stinking of smoke. Smelly bathroom in our first room. No slippers unless asked for. No bath robes. No tea/coffee making facilities. We had to move to another room on our first evening as apart from anything else the room was too hot. There is no individual air-con but a central system that is either heat or cool depending on the time of the year so you have no individual control. Lack of mecahnical extract in Bathrooms leaves lingering odours One door on wardrobe that would not open and was broken and therefore no access to shelves or safe. Broken door handle on window where a screw fell out. Waiter at breakfast looked miserable. Food service in bar area could be better. No concierge. The hotel is currently replacing old CRT televisions and some 32" televisions with 43" TV's. On the 2nd day of our stay they placed the 43" TV on a writing desk where I used a laptop for business work. The large TV then blocked most of the 4 foot x 2ft mirror at the rear of the desk. So now you cannot see into the mirror and if my wife watched TV while I was working the my face was 12 inches from the TV screen. Why install new 43" TV's when you cant even receive any HD channels. The SD channels were extremely poor quality and many were unwatchable. CNN was impossible. If I were running that hotel I would give the place a good shake-up as in my view international travellers should expect more of a so-called 4 star hotel. Perhaps their low price reflects the actual standard of this hotel.

    Breakfast, underground car park.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    9.2
    Great clean hotel, friendly staff would recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went half board and the menu was limited, could have had a bit more choice.

    Staff were very friendly, hotel was very clean, room was nice, food was nice . Would go again however would only go with breakfast included plenty of bars outside of hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    Perfect foil to enjoy Spain
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bed was very hard and there were no spare outlets in the room.

    The staff was amazing! Helpful and provided great recommendations. There is a private garage for parking. Gorgeous views. There are a lot of restaurants and bars within walking distance for a varied experience. And if you don't want to go out you can stay in and enjoy the bar and restaurant in the hotel. I would definitely go back!

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: