Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Monestir de Les Avellanes 3 stars

Carretera C-12 Km 181 de Balaguer a Àger, 25612 Os de Balaguer, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Os de Balaguer

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 271 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 22

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For those who looking for quite place with beautiful pastoral views. Walking around the Monestir was quite enjoying. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This historical place has a very especial indoor atmosphere, beautiful and restful outside. Knowing some words in Catalan/Spanish will make communication easier.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was fairly unimaginable, breakfast was poor. Morning waiter couldn't really be bothered. Evening Waitrose was a gem. Reception staff very helpful.

    Tranquil and beautiful surroundings, could hear the birds in the morning, which is always surprising in Spain. The monastery wine was excellent, bought a bottle to take to friends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we asked for a coffee. There was no one available to do this so we tried the machine which also failed to provide us with a coffee. The young man on reception tried to help but he couldn't get the machine to work so we had to drive out to the next village to get a drink. When booking we asked for a quiet room - it was on the ground floor 30ft from reception with the doors open. There was someone talking there until after midnight and then furniture being moved / footsteps in the room above kept us awake for another 2 hours. At breakfast the cook hadn't turned up and the receptionist had to start preparing the very basic meal. Would I return - never. We were shattered for 2 days after our "relaxing" break at this monastery We could have liked it a lot more if the management had made sure that everything we had paid for was provided i.e. a quiet room, facilities open and when they said they had only 2 rooms occupied they shouldn't have let people arrive at midnight and start re-organising their rooms

    The location and the two people on reception who tried to help with the problems. They tried to communicate in English and we really liked them. We could have liked it a lot more if the management had made sure that everything we had paid for was provided.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If I need to say something negative, I would mention an evening event that was taking place in the location and a congregation of a religious group next morning, the noise was disturbing as you were not able to enjoy 100% the positive things of the location that I mentioned earlier. Also during our stay there was a small issue and we didn't had electricity in our room, but staff managed to solve the issue.

    Great place to stay if you want to have a calm stay. We specialy liked the fact that we could hear the birds all day long and the view from the window. Very good breakfast. Overall very satisfied with our stay.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Monday night diner isn't the best night to enjoy the meal. Which we did enjoy so much in October on Tuesday. The chef has its day off

    Tipical Catalàn breakfast, very complete. The stillness, of the place. Beautiful surrounding. A good starting point for several things to see in the surrounding .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place, different in every way but in w good way. We stayed for one night. Dinner is great and price can't be beat. The facilities are under renovation but we loved the idea of being in a historic place that was quiet.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast started a little late at 8.30...7.30 would have been better

    Very peaceful

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was poor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Separate beds in the two person room were not comfortable for a couple.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Todo en general, Mucha tranquilidad y un trato estupendo

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast time started at 8:30h and it was too late for me.

    The nature around the Monastery.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful old monastery in peaceful surroundings. The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. We had a lovely night's stay.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We came 10 minutes too late for dinner, but the restaurant let us by us a nice dinner. Flexibilty and customer focus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Character of building and location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    El personal son uns excel·lents professionals, en especial al recepció.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly staff Basic, but comfortable room Excellent restaurant given its value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What a neat experience! Staff were very helpful and friendly! Room was big, bed comfy, shower water was hot with plenty of pressure. Dinner and breakfast were great!

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    A Charming monastery with a very comfortable room. Nice view and nice walks in a beautiful sourounding. Don't miss out the wonderfull Cava the Monastery is producing.

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I think the bed was an original used by the monks - sleeping on the ground would have been softer. Also the dinner was mediocre but enlightened by how chef strode up and dropped each dish in front of you. Very Basil Fawlty!

    The Monestir is stunning and the location is the same. You can walk around the grounds and soak it all up. In the evening it with the sun going down it takes on a whole new dimension.

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Housekeeping does not seem to respect their policy to reduce the amount of towel laundry with regard to the environment.We did not put them on the ground and still they got changed.

    Very crisp dark skies for stargazing and meteor watching after the monastery turns off its beams, scenic areas nearby, peaceful, good room.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Extent of menu when there are few travellers

    A special place for walkers

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    toiletries

    Locación and people

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 22

Browse Monestir de Les Avellanes traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: