Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Monopol 3 stars

Quintana,15, 38400 Puerto de la Cruz, Spain

#94 of 171 hotels in Puerto de la Cruz

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 570 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Paid WiFi

    3.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    6.3
    Comfortable but rooms need air conditioner or a proper fan.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went in october and even then, it was too hot in the rooms. There is a fan on the ceiling but it didn’t make a difference. I had to sleep with a cold bottle of water next to me to be able to cool down. There was a woman who was not helpful at all. She was very nice but she was completely uninterested in helping us. The WIFI!!! There is no Free wifi in the room. You have to pay and even then, I couldn’t use it for some reason. After three days, the problem fixed itself.

    Most of the employees were really nice and helpful. The room was impecably clean everyday and they left a bottle of wine for my birthday. The hotel is really nice and you can tell it has history.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    we found a place to go back in Puerto de la Cruz :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was good ,but the juices were far too sweet, we compensate however with the tons of fresh fruit offered. Our room was located between smokers rooms so everytime they were in the balcony we avoided to go outside too, but there are so many areas to seat and relax in the hotel that it did not matter to us That was it....everything else was just great

    staff was really helpful ,attentive, mainly Oliver in reception and the housekeeping staff,also Pedro in breakfast.EXCELLENT PEOPLE!!! We loved the location of the hotel,so close to beach and amenities.The hotel was very clean...the room and the bathroom impeccable.We will be back

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Good location, nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - bathroom had a strong drain smell constantly - no parking around (about 10-15 min walk) - twin beds instead of double, with slightly different heights - bit pricy

    - beautifull seaview room - great pool - very nice building in th city centre - good breakfast - good facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    4.6
    Disappointing stay - fooled by nice foyer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Room was looking very old (not in a good way) and some parts looked filthy - Nightstands and table in the room were very sticky, either due to dirt or cleaning solution used, - Bathroom equipment (hair drier and all the knobs and levers) were covered in rust, - mini-fridge was old, smelly, had some leftover food in it, - ceiling fan was hanging by the thread and could be a hazard, - took hotel staff 10 minutes to open the door due to problem with the lock, - there was no Wi-fi in our room and in the corridor nearby for the duration of the stay and requests to transfer to another room were denied, - sound isolation in the room wasn't good, so the nearby construction (in front of our windows) was quite distracting

    Located in a nice area of the city, foyer looks quite nice, that's about it for the good things....

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Central to the Old Town- Old World Charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a lovely hotel, clean and central to the old town. The hotel has been there for years so has an old world charm. Loved the swimming pool, hot tub and sauna. As we were there on a Tuesday we were invited for a glass of Sangria in the evening and the manager gave us a little inside to the history of the hotel. A fantastic few nights stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    8.3
    a very good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    if the staff could speak a bit more english it would be better, in my personal opinion.

    Building and location are the best part of the hotel. Also the breakfast was very good and the pool is not a big one but is good enough to spend some time around.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely overnight stay, wish we could have stayed longer.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room a little tired, particularly in the bathroom, but it was very clean and comfortable and no complaints from us as it was excellent value for money.

    We really liked the traditional Canarian architecture, it was so lovely in the lounge area just off reception. Also liked the pool and hot tub. Location couldn't be better, just near the main square, lots of restaurants nearby and the sea just a couple of minutes walk. Perfect for us.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.6
    ALL GOOD BUT I WOULDNT RECOMMEND THE BALCONY I PAID FOR. A LIGHT OVER IT, SHOULD BE PROVIDED
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    HAVING TO PAY FOR A BALCONY. IT HAD A DANGEROUS STEP UP TO THE SITTING AREA NO LIGHT PROVIDED. AT NIGHT UNABLE TO SEE THE STEP, I TRIPPED OVER THE STEP AND AS A RESULT, BROKE MY ELBOW AND SUFFERED A HEAD INJURY. AN EXPENSIVE FALL. A VISIT TO A PRIVATE HOSPITAL AND AN OPERATION ON MY RETURN TO THE UK

    BRIGHT SPACIOUS SWIMMING POOL AREA. NO CHANCE OF GOING IN THE POOL AS WEATHER WASNT WARM ENOUGH

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    6.5
    very poor
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 5 nights

    bedrooms

    We have been staying at this hotel for the last 8 years, once sometimes twice a year. This year we paid extra for a better room with balcony, the bed was very uncomfortable and very noisy keeping each other awake. The Door need oiling. The Staff and the main area's of the hotel are lovely but the bedrooms need up dating. Not sure if we will return which is a shame as its in a really central position.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.7
    North of Tenerife
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No car park at the hotel and it's a 10 to 15 minutes walk with your suitcases. We had to ask for extra pillows was only on provided.

    Ideal location in the town centre

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location in the centre and close to a giant free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location in the centre and close to a giant free parking area at the seaside. The hotel has an amazing pool area and great central square with plants. It realy looks like the old style Canarian houses. Staff was very friendly! We loved it! Realy authentic and so much nicer than these giant resorts..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.7
    Characterful hotel in good location with great sea views but new beds needed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms and beds in need of modernisation. Awful pillows. Breakfast disappointing. Restaurant atmosphere was dull.

    Great location on pedestrianized street. Lovely sea views from the balcony. Characterful, Canadian style inside courtyard with palm trees. Walking distance to excellent restaurants

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.5
    - the central location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - no WiFi in the rooms, only the patio; - expected better breakfast - quite a small selection; - they lock the doors at night and you have to ring the doorbell before someone lets you in.

    - the central location; - the interior of the hall and the atmosphere of the place; - the pool facilities were ok but a bit small.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.2
    Atmospheric hotel in the older part of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds a little on the hard side. Restaurant was great for breakfast but did not appeal for dinner as another buffet style too much in one day.

    Excellent location for walking around the town. Very close to the sea front. Wonderful band playing at the hotel next door.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.3
    Could have been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room is outdated. The beds were quite old and rather uncomfortable; my back is unhappy about it. Not the best for a young couple. Rooms don’t have free wifi. Breakfast is average at best.

    The patio is superb and the location is fantastic. It has a vintange feel to it and an interesting history. Charming hotel with great potential.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    6.7
    A very pleasant first visit to the island but we will find a more modern hotel next time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Bed was so worn that our backs suffered. There was no air conditioning, only a punka fan. Luckily, the unseasonably bad weather made us wish for heating rather than cooling.

    Location and atmosphere were all we could have hoped for. The atrium was a magnificent sight with its mature plants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    10
    I would highly recommend this hotel. Prime position and authentic hotel if you like the old style.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel was very clean and I loved the authentic feel of the hotel. A very lovely hotel in a very convenient position. Breakfast was good. Staff very kind and professional.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.7
    Disappointing and cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold in the room this trip..needed sone form of heating..unacceptably cold in the room..swimming pool also not heated..freezing..disappointed this trip..also music at night not so good..one night just stopped with no explanation

    Staff in the restaurant charming as always..sauna and jacussi..food..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    5.4
    A disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tired decor. For the first time ever expected to pay for using the safe in the room- even when booking.com said it was included. Staff generally unhelpful and disinterested- expect for breakfast and bar staff who made a great effort to be friendly.

    Swimming pool and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    5.4
    Bit of a disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived very late after being snowbound in Paris and consequently missing connection in Barcelona. On arrival at Tenerife North we discovered neither of our suitcases had arrived with us. We arrived at the hotel after a twenty hour journey with just the clothes we were wearing, no toiletries, nothing. Could the hotel help? No! No emergency toothbrush/razor kit available just a disinterested shrug. The night manager then led us as far as one room away from our door and departed leaving us to work out how the key to our door worked (complicated) The room was a major disappointment. Very tired looking and the shower hadn’t been updated for many years. Thin towels. Not great value for money.

    Location. Traditional reception hall with Canarian balconies. Pool area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    Delightfully located, family-run period hotel mostly great but with a few rough edges.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No kettle and tea making facilities in the room. Reception left something to be desired. As an example, when we left there was no "goodbye and do come again", the receptionist just handed me my paid invoice and looked back at her screen.

    Food was good, not cordon bleu but varied and well presented. We had a sea view. Chamber maid, bar staff and waiters all outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    10
    I live in los cristianos and love puerto De la Cruz. The atmosphere is wonderfully Canarian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some areas difficult to get to but because of the age and design of the property it is expected. I have trouble with stairs and was in a single room only accessible by stairs, however I would stay again and recommend it to friends.

    the hotel has so much character unlike the “tourist” type big hotels the extra touches with the plants and flowers and the wooden balconies on the interior make it a hotel with a difference.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    4.2
    Miserable, unpleasant, cold
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was extremely run down. The first room we were shown to was a relic from the 60s with bathroom tiles painted over, no toiletries apart from some liquid shower gel screwed to the wall, mould growing around windows, very cramped, tiny balcony - in short, awful. The second room was little better. Our friends likened their room to having two camp beds. The public spaces were equally dire - dead plants, very scruffy.

    Nothing in particular

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.1
    Quaint Canarian Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were bordering on unfriendly. Linen was not changed during our week long stay. Beds desperately need upgrading.

    The location is wonderful. Room cleaned and towels changed daily. Restaurant staff were attentive and efficient. Public areas were lovely. Typical Canarian balconies were gorgeous.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    5.4
    Un patio sontuoso con letti da ostello !
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom. The wifi. El desajuno con poco qualitade de dulce.

    El wifi costa 3 euro al dia y non trabaca! Solo in Monopol hotel se paga il wifi respecto otros hoteles nel mundo es gratis ! The beds are little and the matress are finished. Rach morning problems with my back. Cheque the room 116. First I got room 25, I refuse it, bed smell and the corridor too. The property know these thinks or they care only to get money ? Overpriced hotel ! Avoid it .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    9.2
    Great place for restaurants, dancing, music, scenery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unlucky with the weather, it rained a lot. But previous times have been better.

    Room overlooking the square. Beautiful atrium. Friendly staff. Fantastic location right in the heart of Puerto

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    would definetly use again !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The meals were not tremendously hot with the heating system at the buffet..

    The Bread was exceptional.. the bed were quite poor, sinking in the middle ... views were fantastic ...seaview .. staff were very friendly... location is first class... views of the surrounding hills ( Tiede ) was magnificent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.5
    very charming but rather worn out hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    These days wind blows through window frames, bathroom water cannot get hot and small rooms dream about the glorious past...

    This place surely remembers the great times of yore where elegant gentlemen and beautiful dames sat in the hotel's lovely patio to drink tea and converse about worldly subjects. Those were the days!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed every minute and will definately return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Some overhaul of the fitments wouldn't go amiss, eg renewal of sink and bidet plugs to keep the water from running away, also remove the glass shelf above the sink to enable easier washing.

    Central location - All shops, restaurants, bars, plazas and beaches were an easy walk away. Hotel was old, traditional and unique - not one that you can find in any town, anywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    tradional hotel with long history
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can feel its tradition as many things (furniture, bathroom, lightings)in the room are old (so it is not those type of young or modern hotel, but if you like tradional stuff it would be good). Some noise from the next rooms and corridor.

    location is superb, close to the black beach and the old town square. Many nice restaurant can be found nearby. And the free bus to Loro Parque is just next to the hotel. Traditional environment and hisotorical hotel, nice terrace at top floor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    when we arrived at 2pm the room we were given did not meet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 12 nights

    No dislikes every thing very good and hopefully we will return this year.

    when we arrived at 2pm the room we were given did not meet our expectations but was very kindly changed the next morning to a better room without any bother and we enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to our next visit.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    3.8
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Broken bathroom door, fan made so much noise it was like Apocalypse Now, paying for WiFi (after the half an hour free), tired decor, uncomfortable beds....

    The communal areas are much nicer than the rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Nice stay an Monopol hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing in particular

    Nice location - in the center of Puerto de la Cruz, close to ocean shore, nice restaurants, parking (one paid closer and another one within 500 m - huge and free of charge. Nice staff and decent breakfast. The architecture of the hotel is really interesting

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    You can't get more central
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As always a really nice place to stay. The added bonus of a new gym facility, & new furniture in public areas. Staff can't do enough for you. It's a shame you can't live there, I would move in tomorrow.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    We love the hotel, with all its history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As very hot, air conditioning would have been great. Ceiling fan was OK. No extract fan in bathroom which made it hot.

    Good variety at breakfast. Great location. Lovely bathroom with walk in shower. Beds comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room this time needed up dating

    Friendly Staff, good location easy access for shops,bars, restaurants. We have stayed at this hotel six times . We visit family every year sometimes twice a year. However this time the room was not as good as usual it needed up dating. But we have still booked for next year.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel with plenty of character
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We parked the hire car in the nearby underground car park, which is 15 euros per 24 hours. There is free parking in the harbour area though.

    The location of this hotel is great for a mini break. Short walk to all you need. Lots of character. Lovely pool. Nice breakfast, everything you could wish for. Would stay again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    9.6
    Traditional hotel with lots of charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception staff are a little unfriendly as are the dining room waiters. The night porter was the friendliest and helpful.

    Super traditional hotel in the centre of Puerto. Great location for everything, including the Lago Martianez, the sea and Plaza del Charco which is a great place to spend an evening with both locals and tourists.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.3
    You get what you pay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was very hard and uncomfortable. The breakfast was very basic. The entire hotel needs more attention and an update.

    Old charme hotel in a pedestrian zone. We asked for a room with a balcony facing to the church plaza because we used to like the charme of that area. But we saw some disgusting and upsetting szenes this time. It has become a meeting point for alcoholics and drug dealers. They drink, sleep, fight and leave their mess there. The city of Puerto should do something about it! The sun roof and pool area look nice. Maybe a seaview room is thebetter option.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    5.8
    Alright if u want to save the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds, facilities, and the fact that you have to pay for a free Wifi

    The area was really great because everything was just outside the hotel the bars, restaurants, shops and everything you would need. The hotel itself was ALRIGHT. The beds were really bad, old stylish. We asked for a one double bed and we got two old single beds pushed in beside each other which was annoying

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.0
    Great location, even better staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Location is excellent, walk outside and you are in the heart of the town with mutliple restaurants within a few minutes walk. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Some nights had a local entertainment, for example singers or dancers. When my partner was sick and we need to call a doctor in the middle of the night the staff member on call that night was beyond excellent, nothing was a problem for him, I cannot give him high enough praise. Based on this alone I would recommend that people choose this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.8
    First visit to the Island and we strongly recommend the Monopol. It's old but has loads of charm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    It's a shame there is no parking at the hotel but that's a small price to pay for the excellent location. Air conditioning would be a major advantage and there are no tea making facilities in the room we stayed in.

    The Hotel location was excellent and all local facilities were close at hand. Staff and service were very good Beautiful old town with a lovely sea front.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    Charming elegance right in the centre of Puerto de la Cruz
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room (35) seemed a little small, and was rather dark, overlooking the alley between buildings. However, there was plenty of room for my things in the wardrobe/cupboard, and I didn't spend much time actually in it, except when I was asleep! The bath was also very small, although the shower was fine.

    Such a wonderful hotel! The staff especially were kind, helpful and supportive. I have already praised this place after each of my previous visits, and I KEEP COMING BACK! It has a charm and old-time elegance that is hard to find these days. The public places are excellent, with a lovely pool, three different terraces, plenty of space to sit in the blazing sunshine, or in the cool shade

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.1
    Not as good as we originally thought!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast never varied and the coffee was really not good.

    Closeness to sea and town. We have been to other hotels in same area which we thought were more suited to us.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location. Adequate but not luxurious accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Our room (25) was right at the end of the corridor on the corner next to a road and very noisy. The dust cart came to empty the bins at 1 o'clock in the morning and the traffic went by all night. We did get used to the noise and I suppose you can't have a central location without a bit of noise. Some rooms might be a bit quieter than others so if noise is likely to be a problem for you it might be worth asking about a quieter room.

    The location was excellent, very convenient and close to all amenities. The bed was comfortable and there was always plenty of hot water. The pool was open until 8pm which meant I could have a swim at the end of the day before going out again for dinner

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    7.5
    Perfect location and quaint charm of the old
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    there was a rock concert directly accross the street from our room until 1am and due to the poor windows the noise was so loud we could not sleep. The hotel told us they had not been informed about the concert which clearly was a lie as the parking bays were blocked and there were lots of police and offered us to move to an alternative room which was super tiny for 2 so with a spare bed we could not have circulated in it.

    the charm of the old building, the seaview and the location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.3
    A charming hotel with character but in need of some renovation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At night the bedroom was often too hot, although there was a fan. It was not as effective as air-conditioning. The hotel needs upgrading now in terms of bedroom and bathroom facilities which are getting shabby. We were disappointed by the buffet-style evening meal, although it was good value for money. We would have preferred conventional dining, but there are restaurants close by if you fancy a change or a treat.

    The room was directly beside the pool, which was an advantage. Breakfast was generous, buffet-style, with hot and cold dishes. The large bar with palms, like a traditional patio, is elegant and relaxing, while also providing a suitable space for entertainment in the evenings. We enjoyed the flamenco dancers and there was a musician/singer on another evening.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    9.2
    Hotel in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    if traveling with car, it is difficult to find hotel. No parking close to entrance. The best way to leave car in Parking Plaza de Europa, check in in hotel and later receptionist will explain where is free parking, not far from hotel.

    Hotel in the center of the city. few minutes walk from biggest close to sea promenade in town, local beach and a lot of other nice places. 1-2 km from Loro Parque. 5 minutes walk from free train which is going to Loro Parque.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel staff location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con and softer bed mattresses.

    Location, value for money, walking distance to everything including the lido swimming complex, free daily public parking at the harbour 2 mins away, very friendly staff, great buffet breakfast daily inc hp sauce, really a super stay for 11 days and I can't recommend this hotel enough. Our family has been visiting this hotel for various holidays for over 30 years and this was the best stay yet! Would definitely recommend Easter as the optimum time of year for the weather too as not too hot or cold - just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    10
    Fabulous place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shampoo and conditioner in the bathroom, there wasn't any.

    Beautiful courtyard inside the hotel and fabulous breakfast. Fantastic balcony overlooking the church square.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    3.3
    Don't.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom stank of drains. It was noisey, walls made of paper, slept maybe 4hrs. The bloke next door had an hour long shower and bathroom session at midnight, he may aswell have been in our bed! There was an oddly placed shelve just above the sink which prevented you from washing your face. At 6am the cafe in the street below opened and we heard everything about the local street cleaners weekend for an hour or so, after that we decided to get up. The whole place has been 'touched up' recentley, you can tell by the badly grouted tiles and dodgy silicon work in the bathroom. When we went to check out we were literally handed our documents without a word. I said 'is that all?' (I wasn't sure if the bill had already come off of my card), he grunted. I then asked if they'd like to know how our stay was, there was another grunt, I recounted the above and was told it would be passed on to the manager. I sent an email to the hotel the same day giving them a chance to respond to my complaint before I wrote this review, they didn't, so here you go.

    um...........to be fair most of the staff we nice, if a little matter of fact, but that's fine, I don't like over the top niceness.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    7.9
    Great tradional hotel. Didn't like the room in this occasion.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room 41 shared a frosted glass window in the bathroom with the adjacent room's bathroom. Although at a height we could hear all sounds associated with bathroom/toilet activities & vice vera I assume !!!!

    excellent location. a beautiful traditional hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    3.8
    Disappointing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a good location but does not warrant a 3 star status. Rooms are very dated and there seems to be a lack of understanding as to what a customer requires in 2017. The bathroom was distgusting, mould on grouting, tiles were painted to make them look like new ????? Photos available !! The hotel staff are obviously working on a fine budget and work hard. But there did not seem to be anyone "managing " the hotel at all. Great pity as it could be much better

    The central part of the hotel lobby Swimming pool

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    4.6
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needs some refurbishment, not super clean (we found cockroaches). Bed not great. Breakfast was ok, fair but not good quality. We left a day early...

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    Recommend this hotel but check your requirements are adhered to.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not the Hotel's fault. Nightmare to reach by car, therefore a long walk with our luggage to a suitable parking area.

    Ability of gentleman on Reception to resolve problem with initial room and promptly move us to a much more pleasant one.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    7.5
    Reasonably good hotel but we would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No free Wifi which meant that the hotel missed out on our eating there as all nearby restaurants and bars had free Wifi. Also, we were charged 3.90 euros for 2 cups of hot water! No tea making facilities in the room.

    Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good quality.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.5
    a good location a good room a big balcony but a very poor breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt the breakfast was very poor a very small selection of food no omelette nothing cooked fresh the hot food was just lukewarm was not impressed at all

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.5
    Room 218 was very large, with private balcony and private...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked tea and coffee making facilities in bedroom.

    Room 218 was very large, with private balcony and private sun bathing area. Excellent location, within walking distance of bus station and surrounded by lovely cafes, bars and restaurants In the old town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    7.9
    Historical Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel is historical, it is also dated. It badly could do with a pop of colour. It's not a nice surprise to need to pay extra for Wifi (3 Euro/day) or to pay extra for use of the security box in the room. Even so, this hotel is overall good value for money.

    The interior of the hotel is very historical. The hotel makes an effort to provide entertainment each night for the guests. My favourite were the Spanish guitar singing trio! You can't be the location in the center of town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.7
    Good breakfast, good location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi next to useless, when it wokrked you only got 30 minutes. Room I stayed in had quit tired deco. Bathroom door would not close curtains in the way. Reception staff not very friendly. No parking nearby car expensive.

    Good breakfast, good location .

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    6.3
    A unique hotel in an excellent location that could benefit from some sympathetic updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a shame that such a beautiful building has not been maintained! Internally it was ver shabby and the bedrooms and dining room looked uncared for

    The location and age of the building! It is a beautiful building in a gorgeous square in the centre of Puerto Cruz an excellent location for exploring. The staff were helpful when we had a problem with our original room

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    10
    Excellent choice of hotel in centre of everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water in the shower could be warmer.

    The flowers on the doorstep. The beautiful central covered courtyard which forms the lobby of hotel. The nicely lit bar with nice background music. I felt I was staying in a family owned hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    9.6
    We love hotel monopol.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon at breakfast good quality but very fatty.

    Beds comfortable. Loved the patio and flowers at the entrance steps. Made us feel so special, staying there. Locality so central.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    Unique hotel. Wonderfully convenient and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not amazing but didn't mind as everything else made up for it.

    Brilliant location and loved the character of this hotel! Lobby is stunning with seating amongst indoor plants and palm trees. Live entertainment nightly. Many attractions within walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    8.8
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bed mattress a little too firm for me. Strange, slightly unpleasant, odour in the automatic air purifier in the bathroom!

    Location. Atmosphere in Hotel. Excellent breakfast selection

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    6.7
    The flair of the hotel and the location in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a very tiny room in the basement. I would recommend if you make a reservation for a room on a higher floor.

    The flair of the hotel and the location in the city.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.2
    Two week stay in January..
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was a double and an adequate size as the room had been refurbished to include an end suite that was small. Ok was on the side of the Hotel so my room was warm but not hot. Could be noisy first thing in the morning but that is a price to pay for being in a square. With five was expensive, normally free so disappointing and should looked into by the management.

    Location was perfect, handy for the shops.Weather was good for January with places to relax out in the sun.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    7.5
    Food cold - location great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea/coffee in room . Stayed three nights and zero housekeeping. All restaurant food whilst plentiful and varied was COLD . Paid internet was slow .

    Location and staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    6.3
    Location good but in desperate need of make over.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The stench in the rooms and corridors. No kettle for tea/coffee as advertised. Did not get the sea view/smoking room as requested.

    The location is fab.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    7.1
    Old historic house with a lot of character.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's crying for renovation. Breakfast was free but I would prefer to pay and get decent cup of coffee instead. Internet is still at a charge like in the 90th

    Old historic house with a lot of character. Close to the sea. Good value for money

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    8.8
    Great location, loved the history.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are a bit tired and lighting was poor

    Great location, loved the history. Common areas were clean, well maintained and it looked beautiful with the Xmas decorations

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    6.7
    The location of this hotel in Puerta de La Cruz is fantastic...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room did`nt look like it was upgraded for many years, but it was since out last visit five years ago. We booked a room with a balcony, but we got a room with a very, very small balcony on the backside of the hotel. In the ceiling the paint was falling down, so with the size of this balcony it was useless and always in the shade, without any sun at all. The hotel have raised their prices with nearly 90 percent in the last five years, that`s really too much.

    The location of this hotel in Puerta de La Cruz is fantastic in the pedestrian zone right in the middle ot the town. The breakfast is very,very good, the athmosphere with the patio in the middle of the hotel. The swimmingpool is also nice.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    6.3
    Amazing building
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We knew that the hotel was only 3 stars we happy knowing that it was going to be dated but that was what we wanted, but we were very disappointed to find that our room had a problem with ants I noticed them on the first day but a few ants weren't going to spoil our enjoyment until our final morning when we got up and found lots of ants in our bed and found them in our luggage, we left soon after very disappointed

    The hotel was in a fantastic location exactly where we wanted to be, it was an amazing building we didn't want a modern looking hotel we wanted something more authentic.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    4.2
    Falling apart in every sense
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Monopol is one of those places that uses old photos to advertise but the reality is tired and very unloved. Our first room smelt of sewage, had mould on the walls, the worst mattress known to man, a 'hair dryer' that was actually a hose pipe, a sink about to fall off the wall and pillows as flat as a pancake as some of it's best features. On complaining to the indifferent staff we got moved to another room, which although much better, was still dirty and full of the other guests cigarette smoke. It also had a feature in common with the first room a marble sink that could collapse at any moment! It seems like the guests here are almost exclusively chain-smoking German OAP's. Nothing at all against the Germans but don't exactly expect a Spanish themed breakfast is all I'm saying! I expect this hotel gets business purely on it's location - which is great. However there are plenty of other (less mouldy and smelly) hotels with a good location that you should choose instead. My advice - AVOID

    In it's day some aspects of the hotel would have been nice - like the central foyer with the glass roof.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2016

    5.8
    Central to everything with fabulous little swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom incredibly tiny, could only just fit on the loo as it was squashed between the wall & the bath & I am not a fat person! Bed lumpy. Double glazing not good as heard all the traffic outside our bedroom window

    Central to everything with fabulous little swimming pool & big tearraces

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Monopol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: