Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AS Monreal del Campo 1 stars

Autopista A-23 Km 165, 44300 Monreal del Campo, Spain

#2 of 3 hotels in Monreal del Campo

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 315 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    5.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 55

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    10
    Excellent overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very pleasantly surprised, the room was a good size, modern bathroom and all very clean. Very comfortable bed, we even had a balcony. Fantastic value for money. The staff in the restaurant worked extremely hard and there was a good selection of food available.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.5
    Good value in ideal position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noisy door in the corridor, banged loudly until very late. Easily remedied by fitting soft closer.

    Close to motor way, big clean room and huge bed. Very efficient heating system, we stayed on nasty cold wet night. Hairdryer in bathroom

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    5.8
    It was spoiled by you taking payment when we booked and having to pay the hotel when we left.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paying twice.

    We had to pay twice for the booking!!! Once when we booked on line and again on the day when we left the property because the receptionist claimed that they hadn't received the payment we made when we booked. We will not be using booking .com again David Ellis

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Great rooms, but tricky access to them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a rather long and awkward walk from the reception, in the restaurant, up to the rooms,

    It has extremely large, comfortable rooms with a spacious bathroom and sliding doors on to a private terrace. The restaurant downstairs is open 24 hours. Unfortunately, being part of the a Midas chain, it tends to offer meals rather than snacks.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.9
    Excellent value as an overnight stop from Bilbao to Alicante.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at 6pm. The restaurant had stopped serving hot food so we had to make do with a baguette. Room was upstairs. Quite a lot of stairs and fire doors to go through. Not sure if there was a lift, didn't see one. Room was good, but the hairdryer was broken. However at a cost of 31Euro, that was a small thing. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, but again what do we expect at that price

    Just off main A23 road. Easy to find. Plenty of parking.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.6
    Great😎😎😎😅😅
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really 31 euros wow 😎

    Good clean a accommodation, good parking, good restaurant. Ideal stay off the the motorway. Bonus was bedroom balcony to view the evening sun set.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    A great place to break your journey and excellent value for money. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place had all we needed - and then some!!

    Just off the motorway. Nothing else around but we were just looking for a place to stop overnight. Excellent twin room with ensuite bathroom. Fantastic price and friendly helpful staff. Food was great and real value for money - 3 course meal for €12!! Staff in the adjoining petrol station were also really helpful. Loads of trucks pull in there so that's always a good sign of the food. Can't fault the place. Really great. Well done you guys.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    9.2
    A highly recommended overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only (small) snag is that all rooms are on the first floor and there is no lift, although the stairs are wide and easy to climb.

    As I have remarked in previous reviews of this hostal, It is an excellent choice for an overnight stop when travelling to or from UK and my home in Almeria province. The room is huge (21 ft by 11ft), there is a 24 hour cafeteria/restaurant and a spacious shower/toilet area. The rooms are air-conditioned/heated and even have a terrace. From here to Zaragoza is around 1 hour of driving, and the room cost is really low.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    8.3
    You should try the Carrillera de Cerdo (Pork Cheek) it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have stayed here on many occasions but all is not well in the hotel: 1. The Hotel lost my reservation (It has never happened to me before and I have been assured by Booking that there was no problem on their side) 2. Contrary to the hotel claims there is no WiFi in the rooms; fine in the restaurant but not in the room. In this communication age this is unacceptable and , unless improved, I will not be staying here again 3. I stayed 4 nights. On 3 of these noisy trolleys filled with rubbish were wheeled under my window at 4:00 and 5:00 am. Again not acceptable

    You should try the Carrillera de Cerdo (Pork Cheek) it is superb. I like the 24 hour service; if you want a snack in the middle of the night its all open

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    9.2
    Restful nights sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con not very efficient

    Good location just off the main road .plenty of car park space . Big room with balcony . Restaurant and shop on site .excellent wifi .easy access onto main road to continue on our journey

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    10
    A superb stopover destination, located about half-way between Valencia and Zaragoza.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I seldom rave about an overnight stop hotel, but this one, at motorway exit 165, deserves it. All rooms are on the first floor. There is no lift but the stairs are easy. The room itself was bright and spacious, measuring some 20 feet by 11 feet, with a 2 person settee and a writing desk. (which also held the TV set.) There was also a (smallish) private terrace. The huge bed was very comfortable, with blankets rather than a duvet, there were ample power sockets and a place to hang one's clothing with some shelving above it. The room's ventilation/heating was efficient, with a selectable temperature control, judging by which I can assume the air conditioning is also good. The bathroom was also spacious, with a proper shower cubicle and a large wash basin. There is only one mirror, which is in the bathroom, and due to the way the lighting is positioned, my wife tells me it was not good for applying make-up. The hotel reception is in the 24 hour "Medas" cafeteria, which means one can arrive late, and parking is plentiful. The self-service cafeteria has a large selection, including an inexpensive, multi-choice menu del día. (The house wine is eminently quaffable!) All the staff were remarkably friendly. The total amount we paid for our 3 course dinner, the room and a light breakfast came to less than I have paid for many a room-only overnight stop elsewhere. The big question - would I stay here again? I've already booked it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Very easy to find and will use again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV for Sky News

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Fair accommodation for the price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was of poor quality and very limited choice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.6
    Great stop over location if you are going this way.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place for a stop over rest night. Excellent room for the price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Why i picked AS Monreal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entrance to the Hostel is not welcoming , dark & unapealling

    Convenient for our travels

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    9.6
    THE ONLY PROBLEM WAS THE COLD
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    THE ROOM WAS COLD WE WANTED MOR BEDING

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    9.6
    excellent staff large clean room with good access to motorway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    large room with everything you need

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.9
    Ideal one night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food! Although it was okay but not value for money.

    Spacious rooms and clean. Close to our travel route. It even had a balcony with views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.3
    Good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit hard and none of the staff spoke any English.

    The location and the price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Overall very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No Bar, to get a drink

    Good place to stay for a night stop, nice room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    It was everything we needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy tiled corridor outside the bedrooms.

    It provided everything we needed for an overnight stay.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    8.8
    Locationfor travelling either north or south on A23 road
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Locationfor travelling either north or south on A23 road

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    4.6
    It is very near the highway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the aircon was broken.

    It is very near the highway. The staff was very friendly and solved the inconvenience very fast and well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    7.5
    Parkingoutside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parkingoutside. Coaches pulling up. No view at all of car. Just didnt feel secure

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    8.3
    Easy access from motorway.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately no secure parking which other A S Hotels do offer.

    Easy access from motorway. Room was large and airy, good value for your money.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    8.3
    Good overall stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    isolated position

    friendly staff,large clean rooms cheap menu del dia

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    10
    Great place for a quick stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The whole experience it was great for the price

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    10
    this was our third visit to monreal del campo and with luck we will surely stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the evening meals are served late

    the room was very large and very clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2016

    7.9
    Good hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just of the motorway very easy to find and nice room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    10
    quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    quiet

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    7.5
    adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no light bulbs in bedside lamps curtains kept closed with duck tape

    very clean and good disabled room

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent value for weary traveler.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fly's in Cafe area.

    We have often had a coffee here, but now we know it has a room as well, ideal for the traveler.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    7.9
    a very good half way stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    maybe have sky news ( British) on the tv

    room very clean and no noise

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    10
    The people and facilities at this hotel really make the stay enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The location of the hotel is perfect when travelling from north to south or vice versa.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    Nice stop over hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easy to get to of the motorway

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    7.9
    Very good location near to main road
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit emote

    Very good location near to main road

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    9.6
    Everything was OK, nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The member of staff on duty in cafeteria on arrival was a miserable old git,and very unhelpful.The younger member on duty the next day was the exact opposite and couldn't do enough for you

    Everything was OK, nice. and close to E23 & easy to find

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    9.5
    Location to motorway and space to walk the dogs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Most of the staff were very good but one was abrupt and rude. Not being able to get out of motel without going through restaurant in order to access the dogs in the car.

    Location to motorway and space to walk the dogs. Room was very comfortable and clean Although animals not allowed in we were able to leave them in the car in a safe location under cover. Safe access for people staying. Free WIFI

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    6.3
    The room was a good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very little food available in the evening. Snacks or two types of pasta both of which were dry and unpleasant. One,particular member of staff was surely and unhelpful. The bed was very hard.

    The room was a good size. Very convenient to the autoroute for an overnight stay on the way south.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.2
    Clean room, obliging staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Stayed in Feb, gone downhill cleanliness in outside area poor as was table sides and trays, caked in sauces and food. Luckily we had eaten. They need to get back on track.6

    Clean room, obliging staff

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.1
    The staff were friendly and the room was spacious with a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were hard. We had room 1 which is near the exit door. It was very noisy in the morning with people leaving.

    The staff were friendly and the room was spacious with a balcony.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    7.9
    I had a large clean room with a well appointed bathroom...
    • Solo traveller

    The restaurant or cafeteria could have been better, the chicken showing signs of repeated re heating.

    I had a large clean room with a well appointed bathroom,quality fittings and a versatile heating system.I had no complaints at all.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    8.8
    Great location for stopover.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very surly & unhelpful staff at food area you have to speak to if no-one on reception.

    Great location for stopover. Very nice reception staff. Very nice room.

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2015

    8.8
    location just off the motorway excellent for one night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we could hear doors banging during the night so I guess we were situated above the down stair kitchen area, but other than that no problems

    location just off the motorway excellent for one night stopover , large room with balcony, air con, great value for money, have stayed there three times just for over night whilst travelling

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Room size, cleanliness and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast pricey at 4.95 euros for a croissant, juice and coffee.

    Room size, cleanliness and location

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    5.0
    Handy location
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Some staff have no idea how to make a bill, certain lights don't always work in the rooms no soap in bathrooms.

    Handy location

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2015

    10
    Location
    • Couple

    Location Cleanness

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2015

    8.3
    Very good value and practically on the motorway but even so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All good

    Very good value and practically on the motorway but even so very quiet

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2015

    5.0
    Not warm no soap in bathroom.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Not warm no soap in bathroom.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    9.2
    The hostal is ideally placed for a north/south journey...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hostal is ideally placed for a north/south journey through Spain.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2015

    9.2
    excellent location with clean comfortable room at knockdown...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent location with clean comfortable room at knockdown price

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    6.3
    convenient position close to motorway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beds rock hard !!. No lift I found stairs awkward as I have mobility difficulties

    convenient position close to motorway. Simple clean accommodation.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2015

    10
    Good all round, everything one needed for a stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good all round, everything one needed for a stopover

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2015

    8.3
    staff were excellent - food great value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    staff were excellent - food great value.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 55

Browse AS Monreal del Campo traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: