Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of HCC Montblanc 3 stars

Vía Laietana, 61, Ciutat Vella, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

#250 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1679 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location - walking distance to plaza catalunya,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower does not drain well

    Excellent location - walking distance to plaza catalunya, las ramblas, restos and shops (el corte ingles where we had a good lunch wt a beautiful view and where we bought souvenirs); satisfying breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.0
    Decent, not great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom smelled like mold. The ac unit was very loud. The check-in staff were not particularly friendly nor the doorman. The laundry service was also prohibitively expensive and required 24 hours so it would not work for someone staying just a day.

    The air conditioning was strong so we were comfortable at night.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Great location and good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have coffee and tea making facilities in the room.

    Excellent location for people visiting Barcelona. Close to plaza Catalynia and La Rambla as well to many other great places in the city and with the metro and busses near to , you can go around and see as many places as you want.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    The initial room we were given was clean, comfortable and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we came back from dinner late one night we tried to open our room but the key did not work. When we went to the reception they said its because they deactivated the key because they had to move us to another room because there would be construction in our room. So we had to pack our luggage and drag it to another room in middle of night. They have not told us about the move before. The other room we were given was also noisy at times with construction. The staff were not as warm or friendly as at some other places we stayed at.

    The initial room we were given was clean, comfortable and quiet to sleep in. We had all the toilettries and things we needed for the stay. It is close to metro and also walking distance to restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    8.8
    Close to Palau de Musica and alas Ramblas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good.

    The location was very good as it was close to Palau de Música. Not far to the metro and Las Ramblas. The swimming pool is small but very refreshing after a day of walking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    5.8
    Would not stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar closes at 12, we asked for some water and was told No, go to the shop along the street. staff not friendly at all no smile not a pleasant experience. Breakfast was tasteless, people were walking in looking and walking out again, not good.

    Room was nice and big outside area nice

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.3
    The hotel was modern and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was a bit small for 3 people. There were only 2 electrical outlets hiding under the table and in the room entrance, But we asked for an outlet splitter and got one without any problem. The safe is locked using a key and we had to asked for the key (wasn't offered by default).

    The hotel was modern and clean. The location is great - 3 minutes by foot from placa catalunya.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    10
    This is our third visit to this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing it ismperfect

    This is our third visit to this hotel. I am reluctant to praise it too much as the world and his wife will want to stay there and there may not be room for us!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    HCC Montblanc MandJ
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation in the bathroom, fan, a/c or window. Shower head in middle of the tub made showering challenging. Tub was very slowly to dain. No air movement in room, window was to a ventilation shaft, a/c was not controlable and never got to a comfortable sleeping temperature. Also no outlets or USB charging ports near the bed

    Great location, extremely clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyable, I would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The swimming pool was disappointing.

    The location was good for getting around the city, which I have visited numerous times. The room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay - I was visiting with a cousin from New Zealand.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location and lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double room with a double bed, however the room actually only had two single beds pushed together.

    Clean rooms. Friendly staff. Metro station (on the red line) a 1 minute walk, basically across the street, ideal for getting around.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    4.6
    the view infront of the city, the bed
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    the bar in the pool, the pool very too small for swimming, the pillow in my bed, not enough connector for connecting, no ice from the room service, no homepod bluetooth, air conditionner to much noise and too cold at I...tv not enough internationnal channel

    the view infront of the city, the bed

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Location. Location. Location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff at the reception area and all spoke good English. One Metro Station almost across the road, 5 minutes to Plaça Catalunya and on the edge of the Gothic area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    I propose this hotel in Barcelona.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast time starts at 7.00 o’clock. It was too late due to my early flight. Unfortunately the breakfast package was very poor. Probably the standard breakfast is OK. The pool is small, it is not for swimming. The variation of daily menu is quite limited.

    Good location, comfortable bad, nice staff, well working air-condition, calm, quick check in and out, tasty Italian reastaurant is next to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location and a really good 3 star hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dated but for the price you pay it’s really good. Ask for a room high up and at the back of the hotel.

    Great location and a really good 3 star hotel! Hotel staff were fab and they let us stay in the hotel even though we had checked out (we had a really late flight)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location, although the street is creepy at night.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower in bathtub and no fan in the bathroom. Air con is right above the bed which is quite annoying.

    Good location, although the street is creepy at night. SUPER CLEAN!!!! Pool was small but nice and not too crowded. Breakfast was good (extra charge)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    5.4
    Very clean room, plenty of room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning didn't work properly in the middle of a heat wave. Elevators were like ovens. Afternoon concierge was unwilling to assist me in printing my boarding pass so I had to get the manager

    Very clean room, plenty of room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Basic room, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The window of the room faced the internal part of the building, so very little natural light. We asked for a double/queen bed and we got two single beds just besides each other. The locker is still the old style and has a key, so not easy to use and still had to carry a key around town.

    Location was great. Easy to get access to metro stations. Close to a selection of restaurants. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    This is our third stay at this hotel and we were stay there again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    We were there when the temperature was +38C and the aircon in the whole hotel was perfect. Staff were good and didn't mind answering all my our questions. Easy to use the internet to check-line for our return as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location but facilities lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plug sockets are in bizarre places. The internet did not work for the entirety of the stay, 2 of us couldn't even connect on any device.

    Location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.3
    If you're looking for an affordable hotel in a great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel is no-frills. Our room didn't have a key for the safe, and our two twin beds were pushed together with a slight gap in-between.

    If you're looking for an affordable hotel in a great location, HCC Montblanc might be right for you! We were walking distance to almost everything (Gothic Quarter, La Rambla, La Barceloneta, Boqueria Market, i.e). Check-in was quick, our room was available when we arrived, had AC which we could control, and the cleaning staff came by everyday to freshen up the rooms.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    9.0
    Very clean hotel good location close to city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really, perhaps a bigger pool but no major complaints.there are cheaper hotels but it's location is very handy.

    Very convient to city centre and just around the corner from Las Ramblas. Room very clean, with free wifi and safe. Our room 128 even had a patio and was quite apart from the noise from the swimming pool. The staff at reception was very helpful and spoke good English. Had dinner in the hotel dinning room which included a glass of wine and coffee. At 19 euro's per head it was good value. Very convient for airport bus and metro stations.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    8.3
    I Would stay again and recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise in the mornings from cleaners and other peoples hotel rooms.

    I thought the staff were very kind and polite Rooms were very clean and overall the stay was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Stayed for 2 nights, excellent loation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Stayed for 2 nights, excellent loation. The hotel was very clean and the staff were lovely, they were all very helpfull, but especially the receptionist who checked us in (Unfortunately I did not get her name)Would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay again

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    7.5
    rude staff and the payment procedure is not clear for business trips
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Staff was not friendly. Even though I entered company credit card details online, they still requested credit card at the property, which I did not have with me. I had to pay with my own money even though it was business trip.

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    4.6
    Awful experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reserved a room with triple beds, there was only one power outlet available, not close to the beds. Complained and got an extension cord, but still one outlet. Called booking.com and they spoke to the staff over the phone (most staff cannot speak English well), and told us that they will be switching rooms for us next day. Come next day, staff tells me that all the rooms are set up the same way and they will not change the room. They got an extension cord with multiple outlets, tried using it with extension cord provided earlier and I see a spark. Lost the electricity in the room. They come again and act like it's not a big deal, replaces extension cord and reset the electricity and leave. In shower, water splashes everywhere, creating pool of water each time. At the check out, they say we rented a multiple adapter which we never did. When I called for extension outlets, they reasked if I am looking for a multiple adapter but I said no and never received it... I was surprised to see that no one has complained about these issues until now.. This literally ruined my trip in Barcelona. I would try to avoid this hotel at all cost.

    Great location, in the heart of the Gothic quarter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic location and brilliant short stay, very relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the breakfasts I found were not good value got money. The Kitchen did not cope with supply and demand so each day we had to ask for specific items of crockery. we had the continental breakfasts each day, but we had to ask for dishes to replenished, not helped by certain guests piling up their plates but the coffee was excellent. If we were to stay again I would go for room only and have breakfast at the local cafes

    Location was excellent and easy for all travel. 5 mins from Pl Cataluna. for autobus, metro outside and short walk to Cathedral and walking distance to beach, beds lovely and comfortable and black out blinds made for a great nights sleep

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    The facility is very clean and the location is great .
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the hotel cannot provide us the adapter for our phone . So i can charge my phone . They told me to buy my own adapter. The hotel should provide all the guests for this ☹️

    The facility is very clean and the location is great .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.1
    Lovely central hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room very basic - i.e. no tea/coffee making facilities, and only 1 pillow provided, minimal toiletries supplied. Key not provided for the safe - you have to go back down to reception to collect a key.

    Location in Barcelona is superb - you can walk and see all main attractions. Metro is also nearby. Many small cafe's nearby for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was quiet small and very different to images. More dingy not as sleek

    Location was fantastic close to station walking distance from la ramblas and gothic quarter 15mins. 30mins work to the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location, rooftop pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At check in they took payment and when my wife was leaving they asked for payment and a bit confused she paid again. Saying that when she got home and realised she had paid twice I contacted hotel and manager Mr Matin sorted straight away. Great response.

    Spacious rooms and rooftop pool terrace and bar were exceptional for a city hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    4.2
    Find somewhere better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They RIP you off if you choose to use there exchange rate. They had two power outlets in the room one was by the entrance and another behind the TV..... The pool is not a pool it is more or less a bath tub outside, The AC was crap, the fridge did not work at all. Check in took 30 minutes, because the lady behind the counter completely ignored us and just kept answering phone calls. I wish I would have spent an extra 20 bucks a night and stayed somewhere else.

    The hotel was not worth the price I paid, but the location is about 1 kilometer from the gothic quarter.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall it was good but probably will not stay there again
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English tv. On arrival the receptionist was very curt and not helpful then the next few days did not acknowledge with good morning/ afternoon

    Bed comfy, room big,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    The location is on the centre and close to everything .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The naibourhbod was noisy , with some dogs barging at night .. the bed was combined 2 beds not one big king bed .. the pillow were not enough and they were not comfortable .. the hotel price rate for weekend is not the same like normal days .. it is not mentioned in booking.com .. we had to pay more for the nights in weekend

    The location is on the centre and close to everything . There is Arabic restaurant near the place , the bathroom was good and everyday the room is cleaned .. the staff is nice and helpfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.9
    - Amazing location.
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Amazing location. It is very close to pl. Catalunya. You can make easy connections with different transport. You can go on foot to a lot of the main places as well. - You can find various places for good breakfast very close to the hotel. - They have secure room where you can put your luggage before you check in or after you check out. So you can go sightseeing without worrying about the luggage and it is free of charge. They will give you ticket with number.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.2
    Seemed more than a 3 star.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Seemed more than a 3 star. The Staff were very helpful and the hotel was in a good location. Unfortunately the pool was closed as it wasn't that hot (clearly not the hotels fault) and we didn't try the food so I cannot comment. The room we were given had a lovely terrace and was clean and spacious with a comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    WE COULD HEAR THE NEIGHBOUR SNORING !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WE COULD HEAR THE NEIGHBOUR SNORING ! THE WALLS COULD DO WITH SOME SOUNDPROOFING . WE DID ASK FOR A CHANGE OF ROOM TO ONE WHICH OVERLOOKED THE POOL . IT WAS A BIG IMPROVEMENT BUT COULD STILL HEAR THE NEIGHBOURS .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.8
    Very pleasant, ideal location. Most areas within walking distance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was empty, if it does not operate during certain months it would have been nice to be informed in the hotel description. Vending facilities would have been good to obtain cold drinks, also would have liked to make a warm drink, the Lounge Bar appeared to close early and there was no Piano Bar.

    Location was unbeatable. Rooms great clean spacey, good air con. Disappointed the pool was empty, we had picked the hotel to be able to chill by the pool, but the Terrace was very nice and inviting. No Piano Bar. Lounge Area was very welcoming and comfy. Hotel as very smart with superb decor, staff friendly and helpful. Menu looked interesting but did not eat in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Everything was terrific.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant felt too formal and there was no view of the outside street so we wound up eating at a nearby restaurant.

    It was very conveniently located near the heart of Barcelona, the Plaza Catalunya and our room had a view of the Sagrada Familia. Awesome vacation!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    8.8
    We would stay there again even now knowing about a.c. situation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no a.c. in the room; opening windows made it very noisy and made sleep restless. We loved the hotel and everything else.

    everything was great; especially the staff, very helpful in recommending activities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    4.2
    Below average
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The main disappointment was the pool wasn't open, I was looking forward to swimming and this is advertised as main line of info when booking. Therefore if I had known it was closed would have chosen another hotel. TV not working.

    The location was best thing about the hotel and to be fair I didn't spend enough time in it to check out all facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.6
    Great location, tidy rooms, helpful staff, near to Rambla and bus station A1 A2 aerobus!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls are very thin so everything could be heard from the corridor or from neighbour rooms. Any way this is not a big problem as the hotel was still nice and comfi.

    The staff was helpful and friendly. The Hotel is at a very good place. Near to metro station and nice walk to the beach. Rambla is very near to the hotel and A1 and A2 Aerobus station is very near. We didn't try breakfast, the room was clean and has enough facility for 1-2 night stay. Early check in is available which was very helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.3
    Amazing location, everything else pretty much as to be expected. Nothing fantastic, no problems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi was inconsistent and we had to get it re-setup twice over a 5 night stay.

    Nice service, fantastic location close to the gothic district. Room service prices and drinks at the bar surprisingly well priced and very similar to other bars and places to eat in the area. Minibar as always crazy expensive

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    8.8
    Okay but nothing memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    *Small double room, seriously crowded bathroom. *You can tell they’re friendlier to Spanish speaking Personnel *Breakfast was too expensive but there are many nice brunch places around the area *POOL IS ONLY OPEN DURING SUMMER

    *Quality of bed was good. *Close to the airport bus drop off and pickup zone That’s about it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    7.9
    Everything is not bad, but nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s like in public transport - nothing personal between you and staff

    Everything is not bad, but nothing special. I would prefer to have blanket instead of sheet in winter time.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    Perfect New Year Celebrations Holiday
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I missed a kettle in the room to have a cup of tea. Our room faced the street outside so traffic could be heard in the night however I’m a light sleeper and didn’t think it was so much that I couldn’t get to sleep.

    Excellent location to explore Barcelona. Right next to Plasa de Catalunya square and on a street running parallel to Las Ramblas Main Street. Bed’s were comfy & room was clean. Restaurants close by.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.6
    Better than expected, great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that I can find. It would be good to have an A/C in the room, even at the end of December it was a bit warm but we left our window open. That was pretty fine for us.

    Comfortable and clean room Clean and stylish hotel Friendly professional receptionist who were well informed Great location, near all public transport, shopping, restaurant, etc....in Gothic area, the cathedral as well as Las Ramblas is just 5 min away. A complimentary glass of cava voucher which we could enjoy at the piano bar any day from 7 to 10 pm Our room was on the 6th floor facing the pool at the back. It was quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    6.7
    Safe, clean, and great location. Would recommend to anyone visiting Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff sometimes not too friendly. Also I learned from the first time that they didn't have washcloths (said it was an "American thing") so I took an old washcloth this time and left it when I checked out.

    Buffet breakfast included on room rate. I had previously stayed at this hotel and knew which room to request.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    10
    We would definitely book it again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room funiture is sparce but enough for a comfortable visit.

    The location was perfect. It is close to La Rambla street, close to the Picasso museum and the old town area, close to the hop on hop off bus lines. Our room faced the main street but it wasn't noisy. This is a great hotel when you want to tour Barcelona. We did not take the breakfast package as there are so many places to eat in the area.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent Location in city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not good as I expected.

    Location next to Plaza Catalunya and stop from airport shuttle, close to Gothic area (museums, restaurants, sightseeing), neat the Cathedral and the office I was going to. Staff really helpful. They have a pool but not in this season of course.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    Wish we'd gotten a better room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think we got the worst room in the hotel. I think it was 126. It was on the lowest level, on an alleyway and immediately across from a garage that opens 8-5 to do wood work with power tools. Pretty noisy. Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard, if your rate lets you get one; they are more quiet and overlook the pool area.

    Great location near both old town and public transportation. Very nice piano bar area, which seemed to be a focus point around happy hour. Checkin and checkout were easy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    10
    Great value for money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Too few power outlets. Only 1 in the room and 1 in the bath room, nowadays that is too little

    Location, easy to access public transport, friendly staff, clean, large amount of choices for breakfast

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    great location,will stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nedded more lite,specially in the bath,like more towels,a/c is very spotty

    bed is nice,room is fair,bath is spacious,water is nice ,hot and great pressure

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent stay and a good hotel during a time of political uncertanty!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Booking.com information said there was a swimming pool but it didn't say it was closed during the winter season. We were in the Hotel 23rd - 27th October and it was hot! One of the reasons for booking this hotel was so that my 13yrs old son could use the pool after a day sightseeing. Very disappointed and the 10% discount off the price was not really acceptable. The breakfasts were very ordinary.

    HCC's Montblanc's location is excellent for seeing all the central sights in Barcelona. Las Ramblas, the Gothic Cathedral, Segrada Famillia, beach and the Old Town are all within easy walking distance.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2017

    8.8
    The room was very clean and good size.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a little noise because it was to the street

    The room was very clean and good size. The hotel has an excellent location just next to a metro station and very very close to Plaza Catalunia and the Ramblas without being in the middle of the fus

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    The location of the property is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom walls are paper thin. The first room we had was near construction that went on all night. The staff relocated us near the pool area and gave us complimentary buffet breakfast for this which was nice of them (but if you’re looking to stay here don’t pay extra for the buffet, it’s not worth the money!) after being relocated I could hear the man next door snoring. The hair dryers in the bedroom need replacing too. It takes forever to dry your hair. Also I booked his hotel because it had a pool and turns out you can’t use the pool area (not even to sunbake) when it’s not in season. I would have stayed else where if I had known the pool area was not in use as there was cheaper places to stay.

    The location of the property is perfect. It’s central and located near plenty of shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.6
    Hotel in good location for walking around las ramblas and gothic quarter and sagrada familia.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price of breakfasts so we had them else where,and hotel on busy main road,and corridor outside our bedroom had smell of cannabis last three days of our stay. We never complained as the maids cleaning the rooms near ours must have been trying to mask the smell.

    Nice bedroom and bar area and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.9
    The location was excellent approximately 5 minute walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was on the main road so there was quite a bit of traffic noise but as we were out all day and tired didn't find it a problem to get to sleep. Would have been good if there where more power points to charge phones, there was only one under the desk which was a bit difficult to reach.

    The location was excellent approximately 5 minute walk from the Airport bus stop at Placa Catalunya. Room was a good size and the beds were comfortable. Buffet breakfast with a good choice to cater for all tastes.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Great location with good service and facilities.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I had noisy neighbours and could hear everything so I'm not sure how effective the advertised 'soundproofing' is. Make sure to ask for a pool-facing room as those on the street side are noisy due to the road noise. (A down-side to any hotel with a good, central location)

    The location is great. It's a short walk from the Airport bus stop and most attractions can be visited on foot. The room and en-suite bathroom are spacious and the staff, in general, are friendly. I would stay at this hotel again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location, bring ear plugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms was so noisy, could very clearly hear noise from the street, the neighbors in rooms beside and above us and the room doors were fire doors which slammed constantly. Sound proofing was stated as one of the facilities, it was not. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, no iron or ironing board, which is ok but for the price I would expect more.

    Location excellent. Could leave luggage in a safe storage area prior to check in. Staff friendly. Housekeeping were excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    9.6
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a little expensive but there were many cafes close S alternatives. Our room was outside an alley and the window didn’t open.

    Great location in Bario Gothic, a block from Placa Cataluna. Walking distance from everything and a block from the airport bus. Nice outdoor courtyard. Ask for a room with a courtyard view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.3
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were lucky to get one of the rooms with terrace on the 7th floor. And we were very happy with itL clean, large quiet room, comfortable bed and very big terrace overlooking the boulevard. 5 minute walk from Catalunya and Rambla, 20 minute walk to the seaside and beach. We highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    This busy hotel doesn't handle its business well
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Reception area at HCC Montblanc is way too small for the numbers of people at normal check-out and check-in times and is really crowded and disorganised. When I checked in initially I was completely misled about the room I had foisted on me (after me voluntarily saying that I would wait for a room that met my pre-booked requirements) by the staff member checked me in, and this led to a very frustrating process of having to return to reception with my luggage, return the key and then having to wait in a futile attempt to find out at least roughly when a room matching my booking would be available (I was prepared to wait but wanted to get an idea of for how long - a reasonable request I thought) - to the point where I just ended up leaving the hotel for a while and came back later to find out what was going on. This was the worst check-in experience I've had at a hotel anywhere in quite a few years, and certainly much worse than at other HCC hotels I've stayed at in Barcelona. The layout of the guest bar and sitting areas at this hotel is very poor and not welcoming. Walls are thin and poorly sound-proofed.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.4
    We are not coming back
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very hard bed (I didn't sleep at all). The staff didn't take us serious when we told them the air condition in on of our rooms didn't function. Had to get angry before they fixed it.

    Nice location, nice facilities

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.1
    The hotel is in a very good location, accessible to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can here everything outside the room clearly .. the room was not quite

    The hotel is in a very good location, accessible to transportations and surrounded by decent number of sights

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    10
    Smart comfortable hotel, in a very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good size room, everything we needed. We ate in the restaurant on two nights - the choice was not large but the food was excellent - and very good value.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.3
    great location, close to metro & tourist areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    we never got the complimentary glass of Cava that was mentioned on booking.com site. some rooms face apartments, you can hear noisy neighbors. small elevators, no English channels on the TV, couldn't turn on English close captioning or subtitles

    didn't choose breakfast option. I would stay here again

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Comfortable hotel in a good location. The reviews overstated the standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast room/restaurant had no windows, so not particularly nice being there although the breakfast was fine. Based on the reviews we had read, we were a bit disappointed as the general appearance of the hotel was a bit basic. It is a good 3-star hotel but no more.

    Excellent location and well insulated. Staff very helpful and friendly. Clean and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location to explore a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Not much atmosphere around and hotel. The piano bar always looked closed.

    Hotel was in an excellent location. Very close to the placa de catalunya where Aerobus drops you off. We didn't need to use taxis at all. Also rooms were spotless and bed very comfy

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    I expected more from the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a renovation in the building next to the hotel and the noise started around 9.30 in the morning. When I called reception, they told me that didn't know anything. When I was checking-out, I mentioned again the noise and they told me that it wasn't their problem (which actually is their problem because their guests are disturbed). I put "Do not disturb sign" but the chambermaid got in my room. I pointed her the sign outside the door and asked why she entered the room but I didn't receive an appropriate answer. I couldn't use the wi-fi before I wasn't checked-in.

    The location was very good. The room was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Really clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The no cancellation. Friend had heart attack and wasn't able to come but couldn't get any refund for them.

    So clean. Nice to have somewhere to sit outside away from hustle and bustle.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location for touring city center
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is ideally located for visitors to Barcelona. Comfortable room with modest décor and amenities. Easy walk to Placa de Catalanya and all major sights. Nice choice of local restaurants for dining.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Overall, good for a few nights stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls were thin between rooms and you could hear other guests talking and taking a shower etc.

    Liked the outdoor space with a swimming pool where you could sit and relax, after a days sight seeing, and have a glass of wine.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.3
    Hope the demonstrations will give a positive result .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get to hotel until evening , taxi drivers x 2 would not take me there. Had to walk with luggage several blocks ... I suppose I did not know about the demonstrations . The noise at night was disturbing also

    Great position when I finally arrived

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.6
    Great location: 5 min from Rambla, Cathedral and Palace of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location: 5 min from Rambla, Cathedral and Palace of Music. Very attentive staff: we had reservations for two different dates with early arrival and we were able to get a room within an hour.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: