Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Montecarlo Hotel & Spa 3 stars

Avinguda de la Platja, 2, 17480 Roses, Spain

#21 of 39 hotels in Roses

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1261 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 56

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    the room was not very big for three beds (this was known from the website, but still...) the sink in the bathroom was hanging at such position that you bang your hips into it when leaving the toilet etc.... or children banging their heads to it... the rest was ok :)

    gaat location, at the beach. The hotel is located more at the end of Roses beach/boulevard, what was very nice since this was giving a bit more rest and silence. and still at the beach site so great location. Free parking (public) available in the street. the (heated) pool was great since our holiday was in May, so not yet the climate for outdoor pool swimming. the buffet in the morning and evening was good, and the wine carte was perfect to match the dinners. we brought a little dog and this was no problem. Roses seems to be very dog friendly by the look at the amount of dogs walking on the boulevard....

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    In room safes were an extra fee.

    I chose this place because it offered an indoor swimming pool and sea views, as we were traveling in early spring and the weather was so so. Wow! what a surprise the indoor pool facility is brand new and literally on the beach! With glass windows right on the major walking path, it felt super luxurious. We had a blast swimming and soaking and using the sauna and hammam before and after our days exploring the area. The included breakfast was large and good. The "lateral" sea view rooms were excellent and I felt we did not need to spend more for the full sea view rooms. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. It was very family friendly and our child got to play with others at the pool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too far from Roses town centre, shops, restaurants etc. No changing facilities/wc for pool area. Had to access outside with shoes, which is not very hygienic. Superior room, very small.

    Right on the beach. Good buffet meal, great value for money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to outside in the cold to get to the pool, and return from outside through the busy bar - in wet costumes. There is nowhere to change for the pool, ezcept in one’s bedroom.

    The beach front location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Street parking is right outside - lots of spaces but is very busy and can be hard to find one. (I think the hotel has its own park but I've never checked it out - don't think it's free). WiFi is great downstairs but "iffy" in the room.

    Lovely staff, great room with air conditioning and good sound-proofing. Superb food and wine - a lot cheaper than eating out. Safe beach is right outside with palm trees for shelter. Sand is cleaned early every morning. Great place for an early morning swim. Lovely pool but more space in the sea! There are even warm showers as you leave the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom we had was quite small with it having 3 beds in, it was a narrow room and very old fashioned in style. This made it feel dark and dingy. There was no fridge and no English channel on the TV. However it was very clean and comfortable and the bathroom although small was well equipped and modern. An added bonus was a terrace with side sea view, this was lovely. If the rooms were bigger and brighter I would stay there again, but I found the rooms rather off putting, in comparison with the rest of the hotel.

    An excellent beachfront hotel, well run and excellent staff. The restaurant and bar are very light and modern and excellent buffet choices. Good area for sitting out in front of the hotel with entertainment. Very helpful reception staff and English speaking too. The small indoor pool and sauna and Jacuzzi were a bonus, and overlooking the beach and sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool wasn't very nice, it felt like you were in a glass box with everyone walking the promenade looking in at you. Website said it was outdoor but it had glass roof with only a few panes taken out which made it feel like an indoor pool.

    The breakfast had a very good selection, the restaurant was very bright and lovely beach views. The hotel is just across the promenade to the beach which is very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the pool was inside the noise from the beach till early hours the salesman on the pavement outside ( known as looky looky men ) they bring the area down. other meals should be cheaper to people staying at the hotel

    food clean helpful location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is superb. Bit tight on parking places. Hope that will be taken care of. Swimming pool could be bigger for swimming, not just to take big bath. Otherwise very good value.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no fridge in a "standard" room, very poor lighting at room - you cannot read a book, air-conditioning does not switch on properly.

    location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Although did not use the pool area ....could do with a bit of upgrading... Reception area , assistance was a bit lacking at some points of the day.....

    The property is well situated to the beach and flat for walking, beautiful long beach... The food in the hotel was plentiful and breakfast was extremely good ....The rooms are clean and sufficient with most having a view of the sea and sand ...Nice area , but not a lot of shops ...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The food could have been warmer when served, a microwave was provided but not everyone likes microwaved food.

    The staff were very helpful, we only stayed 2 nights out of the 7 as we were informed of a sudden bereavement, the receptionist was very helpful in arranging us to have the rest of our stay cancelled.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door loud squeak ...needs oil. Needs a reading lamp. Non slip mat for bath tub. Hooks for hanging bathrobe, towels, etc. Our telephone did not work. We called reception...they hung up...because they could not hear us. We missed urgent phone call ...we could hear her but she could not hear us.

    Wonderful promenade by beach...good for long walks. Nice neighborhood ....good for families and oldsters like us. Great breakfast buffet. Loved their whole grain breads and ripe fruit.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very strange location of the swimming pool - it is separated from the restaurant with a glass windows only, so you feel like an aquarium fish.

    Fantastic location near the sea! I can recommend it for stay with children. breakfast was good, but nothing outstanding. Very quiet as the overwhelming majority of guest were seniors (it was in May).

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Key card for room didn't work and replacement didn't work either but friendly cleaner opened door with her key for us. Charged extra for dog but amount of charge wasn't evident when booking.

    Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We checked into 4th floor west facing room 409 Hotel Montecarlo, with balcony, lovely bathroom except for small thin bath towels, ventilation that does not work if the balcony door is open, hair dryer with no oomph, and cheap narrow toilet paper, poor bedroom lighting, and intermittent wifi connection. In the room price you are forced to buy the hotel’s breakfast (always a bad sign) where there is atrocious coffee. Unfortunately clients are allowed to bring dogs into the bedrooms.

    View from the bedroom, and the balcony

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As there seemed to be a lot of groups staying in the hotel, there was a lot of noise from people shouting down the hotel corridors. Some noise from rooms on either side too. The lifts were often full of bicycles and this meant long delays in waiting for a free lift. Sometimes difficult to find a parking space outside. The swimming pool was disappointingly small and we did not use it, nor did we see anyone else use it.

    Nice room with balcony overlooking the sea. Bathroom was good. Cleanliness was good. Bed comfortable. Heating/air con worked well. Free wifi worked pretty well, a little slow at some points. Breakfast selection good. Reception staff helpful. Location good, easy to walk into town (perhaps 25 minutes but we were prepared and happy with that).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Internet access in rooms was poor - good in the foyer.

    Lovely staff, fantastic view from the veranda, great soundproof room, lovely food. Very clean and comfortable. The evening meal was really good value. A good selection of food. A three course meal for two lincluding a bottle of local wine was only 33 euro.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La restauration

    L’ensemblel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant chaîne tv

    Situation

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overlooking sea

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was poor and small No outdoor swimmingpool

    The location by the sea

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole place was just wonderful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cramped bedroom Useless hairdryer

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A nice clean hotel with good reception staff. Only stayed one night, bar was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked to have tea and coffee making facility in the room.

    Helpful staff.Great location by the beach.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cooked breakfast could have been hotter

    I found the hotel price more expensive than on booking form..so disappointed!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was inedible. Same food every day.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La demi pension l impression de manger à la cantine

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything

    Lovely friendly hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was a bit like a motorway service station.

    Location is right by the beach - no traffic to contend with. 2 great restaurants within 100 mtrs.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor decor. Tired bathroom. Not modern. No tea/coffee in room. No mini fridge.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pets on the same floor as mine Room number assigned to your table for breakfast

    Sea view

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at the bar is horrible !!! Not friendly + it takes ages to get a drink and pay !

    The bed is comfortable The view on the sea is nice

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    There is nothing to dislike

    Position of room with lovely views. All staff excellent. A VERY relaxing, enjoyable week, will be back.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast stops at 10 Wait long to get eggs Very hot In the meals room

    The situation on the Beach

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food.we only go bed and breakfast as the food quality is not the best. We know it is only buffet food but every morning it is the same .The"hot". Food is always cold and greasy cold sausages,bacon and boiled eggs.must say on our last day we found fried eggs.

    Location,facilities

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    As I had my dog with me I could have done with a fridge in the room for her food. There is no iron! To pay for ironing is a little silly and it's always something that is in a hotel room. Breakfast the first few days was great but on the Saturday it was quite bad. All the fruit was a little old and the head woman of the dining room was giving orders very loudly to the poor guy doing the eggs infront of all the guests. Pull him aside and talk to him in a low tone and with a bit of respect.

    It's definatley the best hotel in that side of the strip. The staff are super friendly and it's always clean. Free parking infront of the hotel is perfect.

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    1. Nobody speaks english except receptionists. 2. There was two ... persons serving at table .... they never smile...and make jokes about clients between them ...out loud. Never discovered politeness. ISABEL and Dioni is their name. They would come pick up your plate without asking, saying anything or even smile. - asked me once if I want to order some drinks and as I did not want just turned away totally unpolite discussing with the other person saying "nothing"...."I told you so"... they thought if we don't speak spanish we don't understand. .. and they were doing that to almost everybody....and they didn't have a single day off;-) This to old ladies were behaving like they own the place and we are kind of bothering them... and we had to put up with them for the entire week. The other staff members working in the kitchen and dining room were great. If wasn't for this two members of staff I would have returned there.

    Room was big,one double bed one single and an extra single. This was great as we went with my daughter - she is 5 and my son - he is 10. Very nice staff cleaning the rooms. Nice staff at reception. Good food... Lots of fish if you like it (I don't ).

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing that we didn't like! We come back every summer - that says a lot!

    Fantastic view from bedroom, right beside the beach with palm trees, BIG comfortable beds, cleanliness everywhere, excellent air conditioning, lovely food, really nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Freezing cold bathroom; mediocre breakfast; not enough lighting in room; incompetent daytime receptionist. Not recommended for out-of-summer season stay. Hotel opens specially over Christmas holiday and is on low burner. Overpriced for quality provided.

    Nice dining room staff, competent evening receptionist.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    L attente à larrive a l hotel

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location right on the beach with fabulous views. Dogs allowed; Good breakfast choice

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the dinner buffet I think it was just us as many of the other guests enjoyed it.

    Breakfast was good as were allmthe staff we met

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Too much noise from outside Too small rooms Too crowded dining room

    Location

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some guests smoking on their room balcony which is unacceptable in a non smoking hotel. Bed side lights were too dim to read by.

    Everything!

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception always seemed to be busy with a queue.

    Absolutely brilliant location with good views across the bay.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Just what we needed ,great location ,staff very helpful,

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The breakfast and the location of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms would have benefited from having a fridge.

    Good location for the beach and great to have free bike hire to get into the nearby town.

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The music every night until night

    The promerade

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Night time in Roses is a typical old style sea front. Tired and dated. In need of some TLC

    Convenient for our journey

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were friendly and the view and location perfect. The bathroom was excellent also

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The pool roof should of been.off as weather very hot.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast was the same every day cheap croissants rubbery cheese and cold hot breakfast Let's you down

    everything except food

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 56

Guests also reviewed these properties: