Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sumus Hotel Monteplaya 4* Superior - Adults Only 4 stars

Passeig Maritim, 50-52, 08380 Malgrat de Mar, Spain

#3 of 35 hotels in Malgrat de Mar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 403 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    8.3
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool and sun area

    We were very pleased to be upgraded to a superior room which was spacious with good walk in shower also we have kettle and tea and coffee which is very unusual in Spain. We would use same hotel group again

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.1
    The hotel is ok for sort term stay
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool. Food was so-so... actually the rooms on pictures look better than in reality - this probably made me bit disappointed

    Location, Wifi are good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    We liked personnel, our room, entertainment, location, sea...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food could be a bit better, but in general it was quite good anyways.

    We liked personnel, our room, entertainment, location, sea near the hotel and much more.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    The staff was incredibly nice and helpful,especially Tachi...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The variation in the breakfastbuffe could be better, specially for the ones who stay more than a couples of days. The bed only got sheets changed once in 7 nights. We didnt get any new toiletries for a whole week. Should be new ones everyday.

    The staff was incredibly nice and helpful,especially Tachi and Antonio.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    9.2
    After all, a very relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exclusive Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no gym and no hot tub. The breakfast was poor.

    The room was beautiful. The bed was comfy. The sweeming pool (two of them!) Was empty almost all the time and very relaxing. The hotel pool bar offers good food and good drinks at a good price.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Had a fabulous stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only went B and B thank god. Couldn’t have put up with the rudeness of guests in the restaurant any more than once a day. Also didn’t like the random hotel rules. If there are rules then all should be followed not some

    Liked the village feel. Very laid back and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    8.8
    The hotel was spotless, had a good location- near shops,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door was see through (non existent). No privacy for showering or using the toilet. Would not like to be staying with friends for this reason. Sound travelled very easy, was very loud as people walked past our door or if people were walking in the room above us. One member of staff was very unhelpful when we asked to use the phone in reception for an emergency, she told us the phone wasn’t working but 10 minutes later we saw her using it herself.

    The hotel was spotless, had a good location- near shops, restaurants, the beach and train station. The breakfast was good with a nice variety. The hotel is adults only so the pool area was quiet and relaxing. Majority of staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall it was an ok stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No bathroom door, no privacy. No working air conditioning, so we had to open the balcony door from which we had cigarette smoke coming in every single time. Food could bear some improvement.

    Very nice staff. Good wifi, better than expected. Close to the beach. No kids.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    10
    Had a wonderful time thank you to all the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Nothing

    The staff were all very friendly and efficient, this hotel far exceeded my expectations. I cannot fault them on anything and the comfort of the beds etc was superb. The bar staff and the dining staff were all great and the food was great... will be back again and I hope soon !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.2
    Good getaway close to barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not know malgrat. I'm happy we went out of touristic season as it looked like a touristic place, but not in a good way.

    I loved the fact that this is an adult only hotel. It was really peaceful. They upgraded us and the room was perfect. The restaurant was nice, super staff and nice food.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Would defo stay in this hotel again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Regarding the hotel, if I HAD to say something I didn't like was that bathroom didn't have a door, just a shower door to the shower and toilet. And if you wanted to sunbathe by the pool, the sun wouldn't reach you until about 10:30 and would disappear around 3ish due to the buildings either side of the pool. BUT you get over the toilet door, and if you want to sunbathe before or after that time, the beach is less than a 5minute walk!!

    Stayed here from the 30th August for 10 days and had a lovely time! The hotel is very clean, maids came to the room every day. The staff are very friendly and helpful! (Especially a Tachi, made me and my boyfriend feel very welcome). Food was the standard kind of food you'd expect to find, always plenty of it. Pool never seemed too busy, lots of seating area outside as well as inside by the bar. Good location, lots of souvenir shops around, places to eat and drink. Less than 5minute walk to the beach. 15-20min walk to a train station which can take you into Barcelona. Would really recommend!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Breakfast was great, bed linen clean and changed 3x a weak.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was weak. Nearby isn't nice, it's nothing else just english pubs and stuppid shops. You cant do nothing. It wasnt a 16+ hotel rather than a 55+...

    Breakfast was great, bed linen clean and changed 3x a weak. The price is correct in bar also, 6eur/coctal. Beach is ok. There a beach towel in hotel, wich chanchable every 2. days.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A special mention is deserved for Tachi, Yolanda and Hassan (Staff at the hotel) who made the holiday that much more special. Great Staff and I hope great friends for the future

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    A week of relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, I was expecting a little more of this hotel.. The biggest complaint I have is this: we booked here mostly because it was the only adult only hotel in the neighborhood, and it is indeed great to sit at the pool and relax without kids running and screaming. However our room was on the first floor facing the pool of the very family friendly hotel next door and from about 8 am til late evening you had to hear screaming and such from the many kids there. I know it's not the hotel fault but you should have the possibility of choosing the side of the room when booking Also, few minor things: it would be nice if the bathroom in the room had a door.. There is just a mildly blurry glass door between the toilet and the room. Not so private. But very hipster on the other hand! Some of the staff people are a bit rude. And some of them barely speak English :/ The rules are quite strict. There was an error in our booking and the room was booked for only 1 person instead of two. First of I am not sure how they did not noticed at first when we arrived since they scanned two passports and all. They only discovered at breakfast the second day because on the breakfast card it was written only one person (did not noticed the first day) and then after a bit of a mess they explained us we had to pay 200 euro more than what we already paid to commute the booking to 2. But it seemed like we could pay at the check out. Wrong. Next night we came back and they had deactivated the key of the room cause we did not pay. Now the extra money was not a big problem.. But it's a weird way to treat the situation.

    The pool is great The room was quite nice The breakfast is good and you can have some breakfast until 12 free of charge! Great if you want to sleep in Some of the staff people were very nice, expecially the bar staff :) The bar at the swimming pool makes awesome cocktails! Very clean and polished hotel The town is quite cute and you can easily visit the neighbor towns by train bus or walk

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice, recently refurbished, modern, clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food is pretty basic (plenty of choice) especially if you go for half board or all inclusive, gets repetitive after a while and isn't rich on the 'healthier' choices. It can be hard to park by the hotel, as spaces are limited and parking costs 10 Euros/day at the hotel. You can try to use the streets around the hotel instead. It can get noisy in the evenings, especially if you are facing the inner, swimming-pool side.

    Nice, recently refurbished, modern, clean hotel. The location is good, as the beach is only a 5 minute walk away, although there is an electric train line going through. It's not disturbing as such, but may not be for everyone. There is evening entertainment on the premises every day if you fancy staying in and all of the staff is welcoming and friendly which is nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.3
    Hotel pleasant , very dated resort , too much grafitti everywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too crowded in restaurant ,queing up for food, not enough space between next table .Amateur entertainment. Dogs barking all time in flats facing pool .

    Friendly staff, very clean .

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Every thing was ok!
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 1 night

    Every thing was ok!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Modern and comfy hotel but eat elsewhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor coffee at breakfast. Food for dinner - we had half board.

    Clean and spacious room. Big and comfy beds.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    10
    Excellent staff, cleanliness and food. Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and hotel were above expectations. I would definitely give this hotel 10-10. Staff could not be more helpful

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice clean hotel, room small but equipped.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    malgrat de mar wasn't a location we will return too

    Nice clean hotel, room small but equipped.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Meals were awesome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Meals were awesome. Especially dinner chief was excellent. Dinner hall personnel(especially Tachi) was very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.6
    Everything great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything great. Excellent place.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    7.5
    Good Hotel, Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Triple Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ac did not work in the room. Parking wasn't available.

    Staff was friendly and helpful, Swimming pool. Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    10
    Good friendly staff as always.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room - Adults Only 16+
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It seems that the airco works from May, but I'm not sure abou that, I will have to ask.

    Good friendly staff as always. Nice rooms. Very clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    7.1
    Pool was nice and clean and location was decent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Red spiders on upper sunbeds and the bathroom had a glass door.... not everyone likes to use the toilet in the open!

    Pool was nice and clean and location was decent. Food was okay without being spectacular

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    10
    The hotel is very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Like most hotels, the airco needs checking.

    The hotel is very quiet. Some hotels offer "animation", very loud noise until 1 or 2 am. This hotel has some quiet music in the bar, I did not hear it in my room. Cleaning good, staff friendly. The catering lady can be a little reserved, not rude. There are always people who have trouble with the hotel staff, while the rest of the guests have no problems. I had a very good deal through booking.com.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    9.2
    Breakfast is good and rich.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We'd love more than a variety of salads and vegetables at dinner. Mini fridge in the room should be part of the price of half-board hotel and a not with additional charge.. Too bad .. Also for weighing luggage service option should be part of a general service at no charge. Please note that the air conditioning situation: Air Conditioning operated only in June. We were in May and it was not necessary. The weather was good and plus it was raining on the last day .cc reasoning behind the decision not to operate air services by the hotel rooms sensible but overall it should be given to the guests. Discretion

    Breakfast is good and rich. Also dinner. The food was varied andgood.The beverages fair is certainly reasonable half-board. Staff very courteous especially in the dining room. There is a possibility for safe and mini-fridge in the room for an additional fee and it is quite reasonble price. The hotel is located a walking. Distance from the train station (we arrived from Barcelona). Hotel Promenade Central. minute walk from the beach.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2016

    8.8
    Amazing value for small money :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The realy only thing we didn't like was tall dark blond receptionist which was rude when I asked her to open the Gate to car park which I extra payd for, but everything else was briliant, specialy rest off the staff.

    Amazing value for small money :)

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    7.9
    Superior Rooms were very beautiful and cleaned, food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Reception was unfriendly. Walls between rooms are very thin, so you hear everything from other rooms. They dont serve any drinks in the lunch and dinner time, even thou you cant take your own bottle of water and have to buy from there and it cost quite much.

    Superior Rooms were very beautiful and cleaned, food was exelent. Paco and Hasan are the Hotel soul. Beach is very near and also train station.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    7.5
    The staff were very helpful and pleasant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The owner/manager was a very rude man; he shouted a few times at the guests and the staff also. The staff were very friendly and competent: However he was quite the opposite. Additionally the toilets beside the pool were closed for the complete duration of our stay, as was the play area for the kids and a great big seat in the lobby area was also broken.

    The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    7.9
    Great Room;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Food NOT bad but, can only be described as 'adequate' and repetitive.

    Great Room; well appointed, quiet & comfortable. (Third floor Superior room with Sea View).

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2015

    10
    This is a very well maintained Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was nothing to dislike. All comforts were met.

    This is a very well maintained Hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We were upgraded to the superior suite and were extremely happy and surprised as we checked in . Overall a lovely experience and we will definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    10
    This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is the fourth time I have stayed at the Hotel Monteplaya, I like the convenience of where it is situated in Malgrat, The Hotel is extremely clean, comfortable and serves a good variety of food to suit most palates.The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2015

    5.0
    Food OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff from reception unfriendly. Staff from restaurant unfriendly. Only the old man was very polite , very friendly and professional. Maria from restaurant was very,very rude.

    Food OK

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    8.8
    Location is good, beach is close and train station 15...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Walls between rooms are very thin, so you hear everything from other rooms. Noice from children in hotel next to monteplaya, until midnight. Room door closing very loud, will wake you up. Few power plugins in room. Tv in room is smaller than your laptop.

    Location is good, beach is close and train station 15 minutes walk. Staff is good. Food is amazing, range of food every day is very good. Wifi is free and connection is good.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    4.2
    The superior room is ok, new, nice bath, confortable bed but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Horrible place. Never go To Malgrat. Do not look at pictures. Very close to the beach but separated by railtrain. Very sad placee full of horrible palaces, gift shops. Very bad food both at dinner and breakfast We had a very bad experience during our stay. Below our romm there was a concert in the near hotel. It was impossible to sleep up to midnight. We ask to change the room and they proposed us an horrible one. At ceck out we forgot our documents and they forgot to give them back. We had to come-back two days later

    The superior room is ok, new, nice bath, confortable bed but very noisy

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    7.9
    Comfortable Superior Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower cubicle needs a shelf for toiletries and a grab handle as a safety issue

    Comfortable Superior Room

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    10
    The location, cleaning was good, the hotel is quality!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location, cleaning was good, the hotel is quality!

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2016

    8.3
    The bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Only had croisslnts once in seven breakfasts!!

    The bathroom

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    10
    Cleanliness of hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not great apart from in reception area

    Cleanliness of hotel

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    9.2
    Friendly and very helpful staff and all of the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Friendly and very helpful staff and all of the restaurant and bar staff were excellent. Food was first class.

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    9.6
    We enjoyed everything - nice weather, wonderful hotel,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We enjoyed everything - nice weather, wonderful hotel, friendly staff, delicious food, interesting places of visit.

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.5
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bugs in room at night

    The location

There are also 9 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: