Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Montera Plaza 4 stars

Avenida Carlos Cano, s/n, 11370 Los Barrios, Spain

#4 of 5 hotels in Los Barrios

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 403 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    3.3
    Far to be a 4 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are rude specially the receptionist ... location is far from downtown ... hotel is not 4 stars standard ... the food and breakfast are horrible .... swimimg pool is not clean The A.C is not working accordingly in the hot season

    The rooms is pretty clean ... room size are ok

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    5.8
    Location , cleanliness and the fact they respected genius 2...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a dbl bed but got given singles subject to availability was the cold reply . And it is a 4 ☆ that in my opinion has just ticked the boxes to obtain rating , does not have the calibre or grounds / facilities to be branded 4☆

    Location , cleanliness and the fact they respected genius 2 hr late checkout although again informed subject to availability .

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.5
    Great place better food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service in restaurant was a bit crap. Lunch starts at 1.30 Dinner starts at 8.30 so always late eating. Reception had no idea about packed lunch even though on website

    Food was absolutely brilliant! Menu was 15€ for 3 course meal and each was better than last.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Unfriendly staff (overworked ?)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None of the staff we encountered were friendly. They were all runnimg around without looking at customers. The quality of the food was canteen-like and when I showed my burned fish to the waiter he only shrugged.

    Clean, good bed, nice room with balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    7.5
    If our travels in future required a short stop-over around that area we would use the hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We thought the receptionist was a bit surly both on our arrival and when checking out. She did not seem interested at all.

    The carnival atmosphere - because the local feria was in full swing and the hotel was being used by the locals. Convenient mid-way stop on our journey.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked to book a table for dinner and was told there was no need to. When I went down for dinner at 7.30 it was fully bookef

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Secure parking for my motorbike in locked garage beneath hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    5.0
    Good but not enough for 4*Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was cold, the mini bar empty only two small bottles of water, then no cups in room only plastic in bathroom... if really didin't aspect that in 4 star hotel, no bathrobe.

    The receptionist and waitress/barmen was really friendly and helpfull. Clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    10
    Excellent accommodation ,good value for money ,Lovely staff ,Big thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the people who reserve the sunbeds by leavng towels etc on them then disappear for food or siesta just an annoying thing people do by pools

    Everything was good,Staff friendly and happy to help,especially young lady at the pool bar cafeteria very helpful and had a big smile !Room was spotlessly clean too .Only thing I would say wasn't enough beds by the pool ,and as always there are some who just leave their towels and are nowhere to be seen till later in the day .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    7.9
    Great staff, great food, filthy carpet!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet

    Fantastic staff but wow the carpet on second floor hallway was FILTHY! Never seen anything like it! Remained filthy for duration of my stay. However the rooms were immaculate! The food fantastic and the service great. Real shame about the carpet.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.3
    Think Twice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just about everything! I have been staying here for a good number of years. This year was awful. I found most of the staff far from helpful and one or two even rude! One of their maintenance men barged into my room one morning and luckily I was dressed. It was about a water leak, but it was the wrong room. Twice I had to send the same meal back because it was cold and eventually the waiter put it in the microwave in the restaurant and had the audacity to charge full price. The food is not good and the choice even worse. Last but not least, I was not allowed to use the swimming pool for the duration of my stay. Something about waiting for a report about the water.... load of rot. Probably didn't want to be bothered cleaning it, and it was very, very hot. I will certainly not be going back here in a hurry. There are no places around to eat in, so unless I ate with my family, I went without. It was an awful experience

    My son lives in Los Barrios, so I like the convenience of being close to them,

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.6
    Good for visiting Gibraltar
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is not heated. It is functional only in summer, probably starting in June.

    The bed was very comfortable. The enormous rooms and bathrooms are decorated with classic taste. The balcony. Diverse and very good breakfast. Staff courtesy. Very good location for those who want to visit Gibraltar and have a car. The garden with blooming banana trees.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    7.9
    good breakfast, large terrace with nice view to the garden;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    in cafe nobody spoke english, but staff was friendly

    good breakfast, large terrace with nice view to the garden; big free parking in front of the hotel

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2016

    7.1
    Short break in a good value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are very hard. This is my second time at the hotel and, to be fair, it isnt really a four star. Chairs on the balcony were coming apart and tatty and the breakfast selection on the first day was very poor. We weren´t late down but still, not a lot there. Day 2 and 3 there was some melon added to the buffet.

    Staff are lovely, particularly reception. Good location and easy to find. Nice big rooms, big bathrooms etc. Asked for a couple of extra pillows and they were delivered to the room by the time we returned from a drive out. Do like this hotel overall.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    6.3
    Bedding was poor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding was poor. Especially the pillows. Did not sleep well my wife in particular never slept at all due to such thin poor quality pillows. Only one thin pillow per person. We never asked for more so our fault I suppose. However should we have to ask at a 4 star rated hotel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    Spain is beautiful to the core
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was the air con was not great and noisey.

    The staff were excellent The room cleaners were excellent The food was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large, spacious rooms; cleanliness of rooms and facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    7.9
    On brochure they announced nigh shows was nothing to do they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On brochure they announced nigh shows was nothing to do they time on pool we don’t have any activity like they announce Don’t back again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    10
    Great place with Beautiful nature
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place with Beautiful nature

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Hotel with pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good size pool , heated and clean

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Fitness old and broken.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fitness old and broken.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    7.5
    Great location and food in restaurant very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deck chairs by pool worn down and very little shade

    Great location and food in restaurant very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.9
    Good for a visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Corridor was quite dirty

    Good location near the bullring

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    9.2
    Great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    4.2
    First and last
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I don’t like the breakfast and the location of the hotel also the gym equipment that was not maintain

    The reception woman she was nice and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.2
    Very helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning didn't work in my room. Wifi wasn't as good inside my room, but it was fine elsewhere

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    8.3
    Great
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location for me was a tiny hit out of the way but this is nothing to put anyone off

    Good value for money

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    7.5
    value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Basic / limited breakfast.

    value for money

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2017

    7.1
    Issues with payment of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Issues with payment of the room.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Memorable stay, excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was large and very nice. Excellent hotel. Wonderful pool, great breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    6.3
    Rude staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were rude

    I liked the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    9.6
    Superb staff, clean and tidy rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb staff, clean and tidy rooms

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    8.8
    MISSED VOCATION;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was OK , a boiled egg wouldn't do any harm and edible cornflakes would be nice.

    Spacious room and walk around balcony.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    6.7
    Restaurant opens 20:30 for dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant opens 20:30 for dinner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    8.8
    Everything was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was good. Comfortable bed. Good breakfast. Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    4.2
    4 stars hotel?!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stuff, service, room, restaurant, dinner, balcony, empty minibar...

    Coffee

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    9.6
    Very clean, staff was very friendly and the food was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very clean, staff was very friendly and the food was delicious ! We attended a wedding here and it was brilliantly organised and the food was excellent

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2016

    6.3
    Nice room and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Evening meal very average.lighting in bathroom very poor. We were a small group of friends and were not allowed to eat either breakfast or dinner in the dining room. Pretty poor for a four star hotel having to use the cafeteria.

    Nice room and breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2016

    7.9
    Stefano and Elleina were superb late night staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was advertised as seasonal. So perhaps empty it so the view does not include a slime pit?

    Stefano and Elleina were superb late night staff. We ate decent food and felt welcomed at a time of night when normally the reception can be cold.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    9.2
    Excellent staff, friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows aren't great!

    Excellent staff, friendly and helpful. Clean and comfortable room. Great bathroom with more than the usual items, included toothbrushes and toothpaste, razor etc.

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    7.1
    Nice room , pleasant staff & good selection for...
    • Couple

    The location of such a good hotel surprised me , there was very little night life & the town of Los Barrios is uninspiring to say the least

    Nice room , pleasant staff & good selection for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    8.3
    Montera Plaza was much better than we expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lack of in-room tea-making facilities in so many Spanish hotels is beyond the understanding of anyone from Australia where such facilities are standard even in the cheapest outback motels.

    Montera Plaza was much better than we expected. It's a smart but no-nonsense hotel that gave us a cheap launch site into Gibraltar. Friendly staff and a clean room were what we most wanted, and were what we received. The noisy wedding parties that are a regular feature at the hotel might be troublesome to some guests but did not bother us at all.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.5
    This Hotel was very modern and clean staff were excellent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had dinner the first night and it was not a pleasant experience the first course was cold sent it back it came back 15 min later it had been microwaved and was like rubber the main course was served 40 min later the veg was cold complained and left the restaurant. Later that night around 10.30pm room service delivered a fruit platter free of charge not impressed felt this let down the rest of the hotel which is a shame

    This Hotel was very modern and clean staff were excellent And very helpful the rooms were very nice.The breakfast was good.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    10
    The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pillows are not great, but you can always ask for extra, I'm sure it wouldn't be a problem.

    The staff were friendly and extremely helpful and polite. We went half board - well worth it, the food in the restaurant was delicious! *great choice too. The service was very good. The pool was clean and well maintained, as was the room, which was large, with good free Wi-Fi, balcony, lovely air-con. This hotel is just a ten minute walk to the bus station and a few minutes from Mercadona (if you want to stock up on supplies, like water, although prices are reasonable) we also got a free mini bar, with a few bottles of water and cans of Coke, which is a nice touch. It's also just a few minutes to the bars/restaurants of the area. The manager also allowed us a late check-out at no extra cost, even though they were fully booked the next day.

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2015

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Lack of shelter/umbrellas but the pool & lack of sun beds too Ants galore by the pool & a wasp nest, advised reception twice & nothing done. Wifi is intermittent Advertise English TV but none, an issue when travelling with young ones & going to bed early The shower screen is fixed to very difficult to bath toddlers Set menu doesn't offer variety for vegetarians

    Location Friendly dinner & lunch staff Free wifi & parking Good value food

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.3
    Friendly staff, great location for me as I have family in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Choice of food could be improved on. Main restaurant not always available so only have bar area to dine in.

    Friendly staff, great location for me as I have family in the area. Spacious, clean rooms and lovely pool and patio area.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    7.1
    Friendly and helpfull staff.
    • Group

    Do not come here early May as the hotel is then occupied by local families to celebrate communion and other festivities. Poor restaurant.

    Friendly and helpfull staff. Hotel is understaffed.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2015

    9.6
    For the Feria it's perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    For the Feria it's perfect. Right on the edge of feria so easy access to feria and town. Staff were all friendly and helpful beyond the call of mere duty. 60 euros for a 4 star is good value for money but in spain good hostal/pensions offer even better value. Secure underground parking was free even though the booking.com listing says its 8 euros per day so don't reserve or pay for it.

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2015

    7.1
    The room was spacious and the WIFI connection was really good
    • Solo traveller

    The bed was a bit hard and I was surprised to see a TV from the last century with only 12 channels to choose from

    The room was spacious and the WIFI connection was really good

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    7.9
    Large double room with a very big terrace!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed dipped in the middle making it uncomfortable.

    Large double room with a very big terrace! Bathroom was extremely clean.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    8.8
    Easy to access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Easy to access

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2016

    9.2
    the staff were friendly and most helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the beds were a little too firm for me

    the staff were friendly and most helpful

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    8.8
    Breakfasts good, lovely rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Pool wasn't open

    Breakfasts good, lovely rooms

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2015

    5.0
    Nice and clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very poor breakfast.

    Nice and clean room. Parking was free.

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2015

    10
    the staff were fantastic lovely area and gorgeous hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the staff were fantastic lovely area and gorgeous hotel

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    9.2
    Clean very good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Clean very good service

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    9.6
    Clean hotel , very good breakfast and perfect location for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Clean hotel , very good breakfast and perfect location for visiting Gibraltar on the way from Algavre to Malaga.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    10
    Large modern rooms , very clean , free parking , 20 min...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    breakfast can be improved

    Large modern rooms , very clean , free parking , 20 min dtive to Gibraltar border

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    3.3
    Holor que emanaba el baño.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Holor que emanaba el baño. Era insoportable

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    10
    Very attractive and comfortable.
    • Couple

    Very attractive and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    8.3
    Nice pool area with the kids, comfortably close to drive to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nice pool area with the kids, comfortably close to drive to Gibraltar

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    7.5
    Smokers right outside the exit door, so one had to walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Smokers right outside the exit door, so one had to walk through their fumes!

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.3
    Consistent, free WIFI, quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Consistent, free WIFI, quiet. Breakfast was great!

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    10
    very clean, amazing view, very fast free internet, free...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    not too much food variety, but good food overall

    very clean, amazing view, very fast free internet, free private parking

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: