Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Los Monteros Marbella Hotel & Spa 5 stars

Carretera de Cádiz, 187, 29600 Marbella, Spain

#29 of 59 hotels in Marbella

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1052 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    8.3
    The swimming pool was extra good, and the size of the room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The stuff is quite slow, but they were helpful. There is no private path to the beach you have to walk out of the hotel to go to the beach. The building of the hotel should be renovated to meet a 5star hotel level:

    The swimming pool was extra good, and the size of the room was very big and comfortable. The location is good, easy to access from the motorway.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2018

    10
    I have been there quite a few times, it has everything I need in a hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They provided diet jam for breakfast, wonderful for diabetics. Nice airy room great bathroom. Always taxis available Swimming pool is cold, more people would swim if it was a bit warmer.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    5.0
    Great pool and the whole place smelled great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable beds, level of cleaning wasn’t good. Got charged a random charge after I left. No idea what it was for and they haven’t responded to my email as yet regarding it. There are plenty of better hotels in Marbella.

    Great pool and the whole place smelled great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    6.3
    No
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff, overcharged our bill and weren’t at all apologetic about their mistake, wanted a crazy amount for a one way transfer to airport, got it for a quarter the price online. And was our honeymoon but they couldn’t of cared less!

    Restaurant staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.6
    Confortable rooms, clean and a lot of space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some specific treatment in the spa was a bit overpriced and a way too long (wax).

    Confortable rooms, clean and a lot of space. Breakfast is really good with a lot of choise. Staff is really friendly. La Cabane is really cool (beach of the hotel).

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.1
    Standard Golf Resort and Spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A basic 4* room with a huge 5* price. Our balcony view was of a large crane and workmen most days, not the type of room view you'd expect after getting an upgrade (which wasn't free). I would not like to see the room we would have got if we weren't offered the upgrade. The food is strictly meat with the odd salad. No place for a vegan or vegetarian or some one that is gluten intolerant. For being a 5* Hotel with a Michelin star restaurant, you think they would offer a more diverse food menu.

    The staff, friendly and welcoming. The look and design and smell about the place. The pool. Overall a good relaxing experience.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.1
    On the last day we used the facilities in the Spa as we had...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    On the last day we used the facilities in the Spa as we had checked out earlier. There was not toilet paper. The one hairdryer did not work and despite telling a member of staff nothing was said or done. This was very disappointing. Overall the hotel was lovely but some of the facilities are a little 'tired'.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Large and luxurious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large and luxurious rooms. Friendly and very service minded staff. The whole complex contributes to a very relaxing holiday. Thumbs up also for the spa and the staff there.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    8.3
    A very good hotel. Enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can only leave the hotel by taxi to get into Marbella Town. €10 to €12 each way, which isn’t so bad, but do that 2 to 3 times a day, each way, and it soon adds up. The lady that serves the hot food at breakfast had a chest infection and was coughing and spluttering a lot. Both my other half and I came down with stinking colds (I also have a chest infection now) and I’m convinced we caught it off her. Perhaps if someone is ill when serving food they should be made to stay away until they are recovered. Hot food and bacteria are not a good mix!

    We stayed in a Junior Suite, which was lovely and spacious and had a nice sized terrace. The staff are wonderful. There was one instance where the woman in the room next to us came in at 5am screaming and crying and shouting and banging doors (very drunk) and I called reception who got on it straight away and calmed her down. Nothing was too much trouble for them... always smiling and helpful. La Cabane beach club is wonderful and well worth the €20 pp each day for a sun lounger. The hotel is ever so slightly dated, but smells wonderful and is very clean. Spotless.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Staff excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not walking distance to the beach. However, there iss a beach club near by and you have to pay to use the sun loungers No shops or restaurants nearby.

    Staff excellent. Antonio the front desk clerk was very welcoming

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    6.7
    The staff were very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check out which room you have before you book some of our family were staying in deluxe suites which were like 2:3 star budget hotel in the U.K. And cost 425.00 euros per night for two people. B&B

    The staff were very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.5
    Apart from pool area and a few downfalls, I might consider visiting again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool was not of the standard of a five star hotel, there were lots of tiles missing which would cause an accident to anyones foot. There were lots of loungers but very few umbrellas. We were offered an upgrade to which we agreed and room did not have a view, so stay away from upgrade. My husband lost his sunglasses and we reported them missing we have sent several emails to Los Monteros asking for a note saying that they were reported missing for insurance purposes and it seems to have fallen on death ears.

    The food was expensive but nice and presentable, and rooms were very comfortable, well kept and clean.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    4.2
    Ageing, past it’s best - not 5 star anymore
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a 2 bedroom suite. The second room had no natural light, glass partitions and a low ceiling. Completely unacceptable, cramped and not fit for 2 children to sleep in. Tiny bathrooms. All of the rooms in this class are like this. Most irritating of all you have to pay in advance for your stay when you check in - not pre authorise an amount. Also they give you cards for the towels for 20 Euro deposit. Packet jam at breakfast, cheap bottled water, poor selection of cheap shop yogurts. Compares so badly to other 5 star resorts on the coast.

    Resturant was nice and staff there provided excellent service

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Lovely I enjoyed it. I will definitely came again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is not very close to other amenities. . I would recommend that you hire a car. However they are always taxis waiting outside the hotel.

    The staff where amazing . We got a free up grade for 2 both 2 rooms as it was my sister ‘s 40th and my partners birthday. They were all surprised with birthday cakes.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    10
    5 star experience in a welcoming relaxed environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was lovely but the shower was disappointing for a 5 star hotel but could not fault it on any thing else.

    It was a beautiful hotel. A wonderful experience. It was relaxed and we were made to feel very welcome.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.8
    Already booked it again! You won’t be disappointed
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to criticise really, but I guess free water around the hotel would of been a good idea

    Breakfast! The quality and comfort of the rooms, the restaurants and spa and gym facilities were great too. So impressed we booked it for our wedding. Great place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Size of the room was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an awful scent in the main lobby area that was quite choking and too strong. For asthma sufferers it is a nightmare. For the first time in a while, I had to look for an inhaler. I would not recommend if you have allergies/respiratory issues.

    Size of the room was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.1
    5 star price, 5 star prices, 3 star reality, old section of...
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    5 star price, 5 star prices, 3 star reality, old section of the hotel tired and very shabby, £5 for Chrisps at the bar, £12 for a mohito at the bar, the small tiles are falling off or the pool and all of the children have cut hands and feet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.1
    Clean, comfortable and well appointed. You will need to use taxis to get anywhere!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some of the waiting staff were a bit surly (They might not have been happy in their work!)

    We were upgraded from a superior room to a Suite at no extra cost. Our friends were upgraded to the Presidential Suite again at no cost. The bed linen was changed daily (maybe a bit over the top)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel with fabulous staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing!

    The staff were wonderful and the breakfast was scrumptious! The taxi rank just outside the hotel was perfect for us and La Cabane beach club is my favourite.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    5.0
    So so
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Old style, old furniture at pool, far from beach. Breakfast like a factory. Suite on 2 levels, noisy and no foreign channels.

    Old hotel that would need deep refurbishment

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice resort, reception hall and good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit outdated and there was a noise during the day as they were refurbishing something close to our room. Overall the rooms and facilities are more 3 stars than 5 but staff and service is quite good and you get what you paid for.

    Nice resort, reception hall and good breakfast. The beach club la cabana which is a short baggy ride from the hotel, is definitely worth booking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    10
    Exceptional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a shame that the restaurant/bar didn’t have more atmosphere in the evening. We didn’t want to go out every night and the hotel was like a ghost town. Not the hotel’s fault though. My Mum and I pushed our budget to stay here and I’m glad we did, but as guests of a hotel with a spa on the premises, I would’ve liked the spa to have had more affordable options. Sadly we didn’t get to enjoy these facilities.

    Breakfast buffet - exquisite. So much choice. Fresh. Excellent quality. Beautifully presented. Staff - every single staff member was friendly and professional and couldn’t be more helpful. Rooms - exceptionally clean including the beds, which were also super comfy. Coffee and tea making station was much appreciated as well as bottle of water waiting for us on arrival and little chocolates every day. 24 hr reception - a big bonus as we had a late flight in. My Mum was happy to find a little library of books, where she found a great read for the duration of our stay. A nice touch. Complimentary appetiser in the restaurant at dinner time. The food all round was delicious. La Cabane beach club was luxurious. About €20 for guests to enter. Any more and we probably wouldn’t have gone. Set right next to the beach, not actually on the sand, but nice. Restaurant here pricey, but food good. Best to call ahead and reserve a spot (the hotel can organise for you) as it does get busy and booked up.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.8
    Ok hotel, ok location, wouldn’t come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were called the day b4 our trip, offering an upgrade to a better room with ‘an amazing terrace’ for an extra €15 a night, which we did. I was shocked that the amazing terrace was in fact a balcony with a view of the roof of the hotel, not amazing in my eyes, would have been interested to see the room we had origanally book, and what the extra €45 was for. The beds were not comfortable at all, so bad in fact that our friends who had arrived a few days before us left a day early cause she had a bad back due to the bed, told the staff at reception when checking out, why but nothing was said. Food in bar wasn’t great, beach at beach bar horrible.

    Nice Beach Club. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.0
    The pool was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Front of house staff very rude, certainly need some training.

    The pool was very clean. There was a wide breakfast selection. The bedrooms were a good size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    9.2
    As enjoyable as prior visits - highly recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    First room was disappointing but was quickly changed to a lovely one . The gym is small and needs maintenance .

    Lovely hotel which we have visited several times . Great location and staff .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    We enjoyed our stay and we will return .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    This is a 5 star hotel , the staff are nice and helpful , the food is good the rooms are clear , the beds are good , all in all it is a good hotel , as it should be because it is an expensive hotel .

    They had some construction work going on in May 2018 when we were there , it was a small inconvenience and when we explained this they moved our room , we had a suit and they only had a superior double room which was fine , they should have informed us when we booked , we specifically asked for a quiet area as we were looking for a rest , some days the pool & garden area was not relaxing because of construction noise .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    Great location, helpful staff, good breakfast, luxury place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    La Cabane the beach club. Stunning place but very poor service.

    Mumm champagne at breakfast! Little touch of luxury goes a long way. All the staff are super friendly and efficient. Nice place, nice rooms, great location. Ideally situated close to Marbella and taxis outside. 5 mins away in the car.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    This really was a quality hotel, food was beautiful, waiter...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit ‘land locked’ you can’t really walk anywhere its either a taxi ride or bus from the hospital opposite. That said it was only 1 Euro 27 cents on the bus to Puerto Bannus.

    This really was a quality hotel, food was beautiful, waiter service by the pool, lovely grounds, great staff. Impressed..!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    4.6
    there was construction work going on above our room, woke us...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was construction work going on above our room, woke us up early each morning, very disappointing, why would you have a guest here with these works going on, definitely not 5 star

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Looking at the price compared to other 5*Hotels in Marbella it is definitly a fair deal
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Construction going on while we were staying at the hotel The public areas were old and a bit rundown (outdoor pave way and the mosaics in the pool ) Service at the Azure Bar (restaurant/terrace close to the pool) is slow /not well organized. It seems as they are working with lots of trainees in the F&B areas Super small gym

    the rooms were spacious and clean. Comfortable beds and a big bathroom Great service at La Cabane

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.9
    I have stayed at Los Monteros several times and I think this was one of the best
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bacon, hard and tasteless

    The service is excellant. the pool and beds very comfortable. the rooms very spacious with plenty of hanging space. Taxis are always available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.0
    The hotel is not even close to 5 stars, it’s located by the motorway which makes it noisy anywhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have been offered to upgrade the room ‘on the current promotion’ for €20 a night featuring a bonus of a sea view. Ended up having a duplex room with super noisy neighbours and a construction site on the left - pool on the right, no sea view at all. The woman serving us in the hotel’s restaurant was literally throwing things on the table and talking loud to her co-staff, like we were not even there, making jokes of us in Spanish. The shower in the room was extremely uncomfortable, slippery and tight. The main feature of this hotel is the garden and pool, but not very useful in March/ April as it’s still too cold to swim . It’s quite a walk to the public beach, and it’s not that attractive to come here in warmer months.

    Garden, pool

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well for the price you pay to stay at this hotel. The director could at least give the cutsomers everyday free bottle water in the room. I mean its just 0,47 cent in the supermarket haha! And while we stayed at this hotel there was no gym. (I think it was under construction). The pillows in the room was not comfortable.

    I like the space in the hotel and around the hotel. The view towards the moutains. And the way to the beach very calm and relaxing. The breakfast was enough choices and good. Taxi’s front of the hotel waiting.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That both showers didn't work properly. Water would not come out good from the square heads.and even from the small one

    The bed was extra comfy, and the service from when you walk through the door was outstanding

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    Fantastic romantic getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa and thermal circuit are fun and fairly good quality, but a bit overpriced for what they are (and for Spain... almost California prices!)

    Excellent breakfast buffet and very pleasant staff. The grounds were delightful, even in winter!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.8
    It was lovely having a real fire, as we had a couple of days...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dining room was cold to sit in, the bar area was much warmer.

    It was lovely having a real fire, as we had a couple of days of rain. We sat and read our books in a very comfort and relaxing sofa..

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    6.3
    Lovely big room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a five star resort I expected better, since the beach club was closed there is only a pity little gym available and there is nothing in walking distance so for eating out one has to drive elsewhere. It is ca 600 metres to the beach which is lovely and one gets to walk past lovely villas.

    Lovely big room. Great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    3.3
    Most unpleasant 5-star I've stayed at in over 20 years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Where do we begin? I've stayed at countless 5-star properties in excess of fifty countries at this point. This place, tops the list among the most unpleasant experiences I've had. Staff (with only a few exceptions) are very cold, unpleasant. Check-in, a gentleman was busy shuffling papers, looking around, really- doing nothing, until about ten minutes later he decided to look up, and ask if he can 'help us'. It happens. However, it only went down hill from there: at the restaurant, during breakfast (very early- restaurant was empty), we were asked not to 'work' on our laptops (I had a few urgent emails to check) by one of the staff, because the restaurant 'might' get busy. If it would, and people were waiting for a table, I'd gladly get up and offer my seat. This was very unusual. Beyond the general lack of courtesy/manners conveyed by several other staff, here are a few other notable 'gems' about this property: we visited the sauna. After a pleasant 15 minute stay in the steamroom, on our way out, we were asked for our room number- then- for a signature: on a bill, totalling 40 Euros. Yes, this 5-star property charges 40 Euros per couple for sauna use. Had it been mentioned prior to entry, I would have no issue with it. However, after leaving the sauna- being informed of the fee, is nothing short of cheap, 1-star hotel style tactics. It lacks any level of class or respect for your guests. The staff was 'kind' enough to show us a brochure, which- on one of the pages, mentions the fee. When is the last time you (or anyone in their right mind) took the time to read brochures, before entering a sauna at a hotel? Rooms: very nice, by 4-star hotel standards. 5-star? Plenty left to desire. You'll see what I mean if you book this place. The restrooms in the main building have an unpleasant sewage smell coming from them: if possible, avoid rooms in the main building.

    Several of the common/shared areas in the hotel are quite attractive, and up to 5 star standards. However, that's about where the positives end.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    5.0
    We have stayed on a number of occasions. This is first time not happy.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although not full they put us in a room nearly the furthest distance from the main hotel area. Purchased food in the evening and the rolls were stale.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.6
    Excellent !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The drinks are a little pricey in comparison to local restaurants.

    After reading a few comments that the resort was a little tired we were delighted to find it has been completely refurbished. Our accommodation was wonderful and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, not so great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is located next to the highway and you can’t walk outside the compound and find shops or restaurants. You need to take a taxi to bring you around.

    Breakfast is excellent and the room was nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    8.3
    Nicer base for exploring the coast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beginning to look slightly jaded, dinner was expensive and not that special, group of guest who decided to sing from the poolside throughout dinner!

    Lovely beach side facility. Friendly staff, helpful in terms of booking a restaurant and organising a taxi. Plentiful breakfast, nice grounds to walk around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Enjoyed but it could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would not regard hotel as 5-star standard. Gym offering very poor. Beach Club an expensive extra which should be gratis for guests. Difficulties in accessing Marbella by foot as hotel is truncated by a nearby motorway - taxi or bus only option.

    A safe, clean and comfortable place.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    10
    very pleasant in difficultl circumstances, so wll aybe come agan for a proper holiday
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the evening bar stopped food at 7 and then there was the restaurant as I was travelling alone and it was rather formal I was a little limited, but the room service although expensive very good. would have been nice if the spa had opened earlier

    good size bed, well equipped room, as I was there because my husband was in hospital across the road I was alone and yet did not feel awkward and was glad of the English tv channels. spa treatments excellant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    I had the perfect holiday relaxing fun a fabulousl experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was one thing I noticed ( the drains need attending to by la cabane restaurant and also some areas around the pool . That wouldn't stip me returning though

    The hotel was definitely five star it had everything we wanted beautiful bedrooms with lounge. Gorgeous breakfast with glass of champagne gorgeous views , fabulous sun beds , gorgeous spa , fabulous friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    5.8
    It was ok, but will not be returning
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very deceptive hotel description! It is not a golf resort because there is no golf course on site. I doubt whether they could get away with this in the UK. Restaurant service was poor and dinner food not up to 5 star standard

    Receptionists were good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little remote location for us And flys ...... no ones fault but drove you mad around the pool

    Very clean, our room was large and had all we needed, staff very pleasant and food delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Loved this location for a golf holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Gym was small, food expensive, and location far from any restaurants or town. Not enough complimentary water made available.

    The room was beautiful, large, and extremely easy to upgrade to the next level room if you wished. I loved the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Food was amazing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Wonderful golf resort with beautiful facilities and friendly service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite expensive, but so is Marbella. The hotel is not cheap to spend money at, but if you are not worried about your budget, it's just fine. The pool is very busy and it is very necessary to get there early to get a good seat. Very disappointed with the gym. For a golf & spa resort, the gym should definitely have been better with more facilities as they definitely have the space. I had to wait 20 minutes to use the treadmill as there's only one. Do not recommend if you are looking for a full gym. Quite far from town but very close to the courses

    We loved this resort. It was perfect for my husband, who took advantage of the golf courses nearby and complimentary shuttle service to and from the courses. Very nice pool, but get out early to get a chair. Great in September for weather, not too hot. Beautiful breakfast spread - with champagne! Had a few great meals here, as well. The lunch and room service does not disappoint. Wonderful, helpful staff and beautiful rooms. Definitely worth the money for the service, rooms, and helpfulness of the concierge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    6.7
    The bed and the pillows were absolute heaven.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in!! We came for 1 night, part of a longer holiday in Spain. We were not advised to bring passports, this was a major problem. We understood we could not check in without them! Very stressful, had to call a neighbour of our holiday house in Torrox and beg her to go into our house and photograph passports and WhatsApp them. Then, because I didn't have the exact debit card I HAD ALREADY PAID YOU IN FULL ON!!! You insisted on refunding that and asking me for another card to pay again!!! WHY??!! Very negative experience, for no reason at all. Then I had dreamed of a lovely massage and spending time at your beach club - SO ridiculously expensive - it would have been 180 Euros for me and my husband - just to have a massage!! That's without having to pay also for sunbeds. So, no massage, no chilled day at the beach club - that was the only reason for choosing your hotel. So over the top financially - we can easily afford it, but it was the principle of paying such high prices that really offended us. Not customer focused, all about profits.

    The bed and the pillows were absolute heaven. So comfortable. I'd like to know what type of mattress and pillows you use? Pedro is a wonderful ambassador, friendly, warm, professional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    4.6
    Very expensive have to change room and got no refund it was a bad experience Booking.com a let down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1 st room prices of lunches plus not a lot to Pick on the menu from and food was under cooked nutting for kids to do relly it wood even so me going back to Spain

    When I was going home the 1st room we got was a joke for the price when we changed rooms it was a far better room dan the 1st room and cheaper and nicer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Very good hotel with great facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Access and distance to the beach pool. It's a far but you could get there with a golf car available at the hotel. It's a small minus. You absolutely need a car because the hotel is around 7km from Marbella and other services

    Very good breakfast and good facilities. Excellent service.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.5
    Great hotel, lovely staff, still room for improvement
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was average and over priced. €3.50 for a small plastic bottle of water. Maybe this is just a personal gripe but for me, if you are paying for a 5 star hotel, water should be complimentary.

    Lovely hotel with a great pool area and good access to the beach

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    8.3
    Gorgeous hotel but the location lets it down
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only draw back with the hotel in my opinion is the location. It is location about 4-5kms outside of Marbella on a very busy dual carriageway. There are no shops or restuarants around the hotel - only the restaurants in the hotel which are very expensive - therefore you need to get either a taxi or a bus (from across the busy road) into Marbella.

    We stayed in the hotel for 4 nights. We enjoyed our stay. The hotel is beautiful - the decor, pool area, rooms etc. There was a great range of food available for breakfast. I loved the gardens in the hotel with the ponds and wooden footbridges. Very pretty.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    Nice for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything needed updating, very old school and worn out slightly.

    the staff and the breakfast spread was good. Friendly and willing to help. The breakfast choice was plentiful and the cook's omelettes were delicious

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    10
    Very relaxing stay with comfy beds and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Air con a bit noisey and the kettle lead could have been a bit longer

    Great maid service with clean towels twice a day. Upgraded to a larger room which was very comfy and spacious. Pool deep enough to have a proper swim.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    9.2
    Breakfast: not good and fast service, No self service Coffee...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast: not good and fast service, No self service Coffee machine slowed down service. Only one Bread toasters for all the guests !! Waiting to be seated was not comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    8.3
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast needs some friendly staff and they should put signs on the cold cuts to know whats what, breakfast was standard not wow. some staff were a pit rude. some reception staff should relax when helping guests as im not spanish they should learn english and relax while helping us not upset when we dont understand , their voice tone needs to be more friendly.

    Loved pool, rooms, drinks, atmosphere, location, hotel setup

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    2.5
    one of the worst places I've ever stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were incredibly rude. On my last night I ate at the hotel, and contracted severe food poisoning. I asked the hotel to let me stay in my room for a late checkout just so I could be near the bathroom. They charged me £100 to stay an extra hour. Not only that, when I explained to them that I had food poisoning from the hotel all the staff got defensive, angry and started blaming it on me. Insinuated I had a hangover (I don't drink alcohol btw) not only did they not apologise for serving me food which made me violently sick for 24hrs but they forced me to pay for it too. Worst worst worst experience I've ever had. Not sure who trained or hired staff like that.

    Nothing actually. I've stayed in some of the best 5star hotels around the world and this shouldn't be rated 5. Awful food, rude staff, no atmosphere or ambience, would not recommend you to go.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Top Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed transport to get to other restaurants and cafes. this wasn't a problem as we had a hire car but it may be to others. however taxi services is prompt

    The whole experience was fantastic. I loved the peace and quiet, with the very friendly staff. I would highly recommend this for a treat for you and the Mrs. Top hotel

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    3.3
    the floors in the bathrooms where utterly disgusting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the floors in the bathrooms where utterly disgusting. dried urine and other bodily fluids. i asked them to clean and disinfect to no avail. the staff in the bar and eateries always seemed annoyed.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    5.4
    Nice enough, but needs improvement in customer service and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not great. No eggs which meant a long queue for omelette, in general the staff are quite rude and for some reason especially at breakfast. Beds were really comfortable and rooms were spacious, overall the hotel was clean and poolside bar/restaurant the food was good. Not a bad place just needs to improve in customer service and quality of breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Huge rooms biggest we've stayed in marbella
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge rooms biggest we've stayed in marbella And huge and very comfortable bed Lovely pool area and facilities. Will defo stay again Late check out too

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    9.2
    Beautiful expensive hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel restaurants are too expensive, also there were no free water bottles in my room, and each tiny bottle costs 5 euros. So I spent a fortune on water bottles.

    Large room and nice staff; I had a wonderful time here!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.8
    Fantastic common areas , beautiful swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having two vouchers for two average pool towels that had to be exchanged at the start and the end of every day . Poor form for a 5 Star GL .

    Fantastic common areas , beautiful swimming pool

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    8.3
    Fun family getaway but needs work for 5 star rating
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Note - the 2 bed apartment is really too small for a family of 5 - it leaves no space for the family to relax as the third bed is a sofa bed in the living space. The total room is over 3 levels and each floor feels very very cramped. Not great for families who are looking for space.

    Buffet breakfast was fantastic - and the pool was great. The beach club was expensive for hotel guests but beach club menu was great. This is a 5 star hotel and it is too far from the old town to walk - the hotel should have a shuttle into the old town and Puerto Banus to make this hotel a true 5 star experience.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    4.6
    loose of time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the hotel is in the middle of nowhere. it is surraunded by private summer houses and there is nothing around it. neither a small market nor a cafe. even for a smallest need you have to go somewhere else by taxi. İn booking com the hotel shows ''la cabane'' club just as a part of the hotel, but everybody has to pay extra for it. even for the hotel guests there is no exceptance. besides, the ''La cabane'' which is described as a beach club is not a beach club. it is just a pool with a restaurant. it makes you feel you are trapped into a desert. no music, no entertainment. all they do is to try to get your money in the restaurant with a fake and exaggerated politeness. you have to eat everyday in the hotel or club because there is nowhere around. when considering the guests, the hotel is more like a pension for old couples, or it can be described as a luxurious prison.

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.5
    We both would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was small and felt claustrophobic and not a lot of equipment, the bathroom was ok but the bath/shower was small and not great for getting in and out off , glass door didn't help again it felt claustrophobic , we got 4 taxis into Marbella 1 cast 9euro 1 was 9.50 and 2 were nearly 13 Euro all dropped us at the same spot in the centre of the town

    staff were great , food was good , bar was good but not cheap

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.5
    Lovely hotel, just need more staff and quicket service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff on front desk or by pool, they were all run off their feet. Lunch was very slow and not great kids options. Kids play area not cleaned because it was "out of season" (there was a number of toddlers at the hotel). Lost phone not investigated thoroughly though use of hotel CCTV.

    Comfy, clean and great breakie.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    7.9
    Room lovely and hotel beautiful.
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening resteraunt staff a little disorganised.You had to pay xtra to use Beach Cabane and hotel is not really next to any additional bars and resteraunts. No shuttle service to n from hotel to airport which for a 5 star you would expect but again this was extra and 40 euros more than a local taxi.

    Room lovely and hotel beautiful. Breakfast excellent. Pool on site was really nice as well. I would stay again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    5.4
    A cheap very expensive hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym, the food, the fact that they didn't inform me about some things about the restaurant. The burns in my stomach caused by the food I ate there

    I need tho squeeze my brain to find out what I like

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    7.1
    It's a very good classic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That beside the hotel there is nothing nearby you have to take a taxi to go anywhere not even one shop or restaurant nearby we found it to be little inconvenient specially if you want to go to any other restaurant for another cruisine or bar it's an effort.

    Very luxurious in every aspect

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Nice outside facilities, but a face-lift will definitely help a lot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well, arriving at 3:30 and the room was not available... it is quite unusual for a 5* hotel. True, they compensated us with a later check-out the following day. Also, charging extra fees for sunbeds is not that appealing. And the distance to the sea was way beyond walking distance.

    Fantastic park, nice pool and a good in-house restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful hotel in lovely surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed at 1am. Would've thought the bar could've stayed open for a night cap especially if demand there. Our room was also small for the 3 of us. Probably our fault for upgrading to a sea view. In future would just stick to the lovely suites by the spa as they have more room.

    The complimentary champagne at breakfast was a nice gesture. The breakfast was amazing. The waiters and staff around the pool were very friendly and happy to help. The beach club is excellent too.

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: