Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of MS Amaragua 4 stars

Los Nidos, 23, 29620 Torremolinos, Spain

#14 of 52 hotels in Torremolinos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1482 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    3.3
    Feeling cheated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I cannot get over the fact that they felt fixing the air conditioner to 25C in the room was ok when advertising the rooms as air conditioned - unacceptable!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    BUT OVERALL , NEARLY PERFECT
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    That they, in their wisdom cut short some of the waiters and they took a long time to deal with the clients ( no fault on the waiters)

    Ideal location for having meals at La carijuela, Its very quiet. very clean and has a good parking situation. The staff are really nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    The location, right on the beachfront.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The variety and preparation of the food in the hotel was not as high a standard as I would have expected from a 4 star.

    The location, right on the beachfront.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    5.0
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated hotel with no regard for updating in at least 25 years. Rooms don’t have effective air conditioning (set temperature). Gym has no air con/ ventilation/ water and the machines are so old I would deem them unsafe for use! Unable to communicate with them through booking.com Sewage smell persistent on certain floors

    Good location Great breakfast

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    8.3
    very nice relaxing holiday as usual.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    a kettle and mugs in room for hot drinks, free parking as in many other hotels or a nominal 5euros a day.no towels to reserve sun beds . especially when people do not show up till they have had day out etc. someone should patrol pool area until 9am. then after breakfast all residents get a chance of a sun bed and parasol. sorry that these things not changed since last visits.

    room clean and beds comfortable. really wish they had kettle in room. cleaners did excellent job. breakfast plenty to choose. only had dinner once. more choice and cheaper to eat out, plenty of places to choose from within 5mins walk. on entertainment evenings beware . if you sit near entertainment stage etc drink prices jump up. parking charges 16 euros a day in hotel car park which is secure but, add this to your budget.as always our stay was enjoyable, staff helpful. spent most time around and in lovely pool. will be back in 2019.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.3
    The parking is a total rip off!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults) with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking is a total rip off! 17 euros a day for a parking when you have a room booked is day light robbery. And the fact that you have to pay 10 euros deposits for a towel and a 1 euro fee to clean it is a bit of a poor show. The rooms are from the time of titanic. The only good thing is the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Go on vacation!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A delicious and varied breakfast. A wonderful attitude of Staff , especially reception and dining room. A clean spacious room, cleaned and arranged daily. Beautiful design hotel with pool and sea view. Shows every evening, with wonderful bar service. The hotel's location is superb on the amazing promenade of Torremolinos (Indoor parking is available at the hotel for 15 Euro per 24 hours With the possibility to exit and enter at that time)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful location with pool within 1 min of beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff in the dining room were a little grumpy !

    Amazing location and half board was phenomenal value . Unbelievable choice and quality food . Highly recommend it for a weeks sun sea and relaxation

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.3
    We liked the hotel and location was amazing but do not pay for the partial sea view it doesn't exist
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Situation with sunbeds was frustrating as it seems like hotel staff do not care, that all of them are taken and there are no people for half a day!!! There was no chance to find one after breakfast during whole day, but they were all empty for a good few hours((( The women on the reception was too busy to check us in answering the phone, there should be at least 2 people. And the partial sea view we supposed to have... well you can see the sea if you'll fall out from the balcony, don't think it's fare to charge more for the view on the wall of the next building

    The room was a very good size. Bathroom - amazing (very very good water pressure, not very common thing in such hotels). Breakfast superb! Location great, you have plenty of places to eat, drink and shop just on your doorstep. For more busy place or for a boat trip - just 15 min walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    Location was great, Breakfast was good, Pool was lovely,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were uncomfortable (very hard), original room provided was tiny (708) had to request a move, cleaning staff picked up my swimming shorts with the towels and they were taken to the laundry (this appeared to be a common thing as the reception staff seemed unconcerned and they had loads of returned items from the laundry).

    Location was great, Breakfast was good, Pool was lovely, cocktails perfect, amenities in the room were fantastic, staff on the whole were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only downside was there was no tea/coffee making facilities in our room - that would have made it perfect.

    Staff were friendly & very helpful - hotel was spotlessly clean - always found a sunbed by the pool regardless of the time of day - great breakfast - excellent coffee - location is fantastic - everything you could possibly want on your doorstep and only a short distance from Malaga airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Breakfast was Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds shuffled away from the wall. A bit noisy in the hall way

    Breakfast was Good. Hotel is quiet. Beach is at 50 meters. Bar service is excellent Reception is helpful. Courtesy room. Evening entertainment

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    Fab!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish the air con wasn’t automatic because it was coming on during the night and I was keep waking up !!

    Brilliant location , lovely friendly staff which is rare these days .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Hotel itself was ok but the restaurant needs a major improvement.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food for dinner in the evening was the poorest we have come across and some of the waiting staff were the rudest we have ever encountered.

    Location was great. Room was fine. Cleanliness was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    5.4
    never rebooting in this place .. please back to me 40% from my money that i paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    1- the bed is very very very bad 2-You have to pay for a beach bed 3- You have to pay for changing the sea towel 4- i told them by e-mail and phone call i need room to handicapped .. they said (when I call them) when you came we will organize this issue but nothing happen and I had an accident in the bathtub I was hit a little so they give me shower room out of my room only 30 mins per day

    1- near from shopping area 2- spa 3- work team 4- Staff at the restaurant very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    8.3
    Good size bedroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Partial sea view means you can see it if you crane your neck over balcony which are mainly land facing. Evening meal quite basic and desserts very limited choice - ok if you like very sweet pieces of cake. No biscuits for cheese, which had quite a grand selection most nights (5 out of 7 nights) Only 2 beers on tap and neither very good despite branded names - very expensive compared to main promenade bars. Entertainment on 5 of 7 nights only and 2 of those appeared twice - every 3 days. No pots for tea bags - awkward to carry hot cups with walking sticks.

    Good size bedroom. Escalator to Restaurant helpful (as using walking sticks) but not always reverse direction by 8:30pm and never at breakfast. Breakfast choice very good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    The hotel decor is old fashioned and web site shows modern room, but all the rooms need upgrading
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a problem with a foul smell in our room. It was like bad drainage or toilet smell. We were told it was from the air con and despite maintenance trying to fix it during the first week it did not abate. After many meetings with the manager we were offered one night free and a 3 night voucher off a future stay, but we feel we should have got larger monetary compensation off our current stay as would be reluctant to visit a second time.They left us room freshener! As they said they could not move us. Hence we could not use air con. Room was spacious and clean but furniture very dated- needs a revamp++

    The hotel is situated beside the beach and pool was lovely- if you can get near it as people leave out their towels on beds as early as 7am. Hotel management should police this.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Excellent hotel and without doubt recomendable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Everything was very good. The only thing that one can probably be improved is the reception. Whilst staff was always friendly and efficient at peak times it becomes a little congested.

    Excellent location and infrastructure, very friendly and efficient staff, good food (breakfast and dinner). Also liked the spa. New parking next door with access from hotel. We very much enjoyed the stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Great location and would definitely stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we didn’t like is the sunbed situation had to get up early to get one

    This hotel could do with a little updating but apart from that we liked staying there, great location with the beach on the doorstep and loads of restaurants near by

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.3
    A perfect quiet getaway for couples with an ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con in the room we stayed in was smelly, it smelt like hair removal cream when it was on. The breakfast wasn’t as great as people had reviewed before. There was no structure to it and people were bumping into each other and the waiters weren’t clearing tables fast enough so it was hard to tell of the table was free or not.

    Staff were super friendly and changed my room after I had shown them the room I paid for in booking.com. Pool was lovely the facilities were super clean. Everything you want is on the beach.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    7.9
    Good overall bit listen to complaints
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have preferred the swimming pool to be less deep throughout to help those like us who prefer to be able to stand at chest height max all the way . We did have one problem in the single room with ants all over the bathroom and bedroom.this was reported but did not go away so we had to use the shower in the other room .we reported the problem before we left sund 3rd June but it was then too late. The single room was also quite noisy until after 12.30 in the morning

    The hotel position on the beach is good,the breakfast excellent, the rooms adequate although a bit dated and in need of renovation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    4.6
    averge
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location.

    rooms are dated, they provide one beach towel for a week and charge £1 if you want to change and charge for using a safe inside the room for £2.75 per day. breakfast was basic and SPA was dated. rooms are not like the pictures.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.5
    I eould return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fresh food facilities were undermaned ie omlets The tables need cleared more quickly a staff member should be showing guests to their tabkes to avoid guests searching for tables.

    The location was excellent near to all facilities. You could take a lessurely stroll along the prominad and visit all kinda of eating facilities and bars all Within different price ranges.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.3
    Nice hotel with a Number of issues needing to be resolveer
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Male Waiter at pool café unfriwndly and slow Corridors to rooms noisy as Carpenter taken away and peoples shoes male noise while walking becauae of the Cleaner they use , very bad and noisy Will think twice of staying There again And beds very old and hard to sleep on and bed spreads ar least 15 years old

    Locatiom and facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of choices for dining within the hotel.

    The hotel is on the beach but also has nice pools. It is very clean and well-decorated and has a terrific brunch.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    good overall including facilities but value for money based on hotel accomodation not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms quite small for 3 bathroom did not seem to have any ventilation and air conditioning was faulty very smelly took 3 days to correct on a 4 night stay

    pool very nice, hotel bar nice, courtesy room very pleasant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.5
    Very satisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every time I asked a question at the front desk they sent me somewhere else.

    This is a beautiful property right across from the beach. The breakfast is excellent and the pool is very clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    6.7
    Good location, very nice hotel, bad service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No irons in room. Unhelpful staff when asking for Iron. Very noisy, marble floors, woken every morning by squeaky feet on floors. Very very bad cooked breakfast.

    Close to the Marina (10 min walk) and La Caruela shops and restaurants. Very nice pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.9
    generally lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    hotel not providing iron and iron boards in the rooms and for requests, all need to be sent to laundry service and only in the morning. when I called reception in the evening between 8-9pm and asked for iron in the room, male receptionist told me '' ohh you need to organised your self in the morning if you need something to be done and now is to late, he wasn't nice to me on the phone'' same situation i had with day male receptionist. not very nice, when I asked him to extend my booking for one more night, what never happened and I did booking my self via booking.com and then kindly lady at reception desk amended for me. Generally i didn't like how that person treated me at the reception desk. just I can't remember his name.

    lovely housekeeping team, upon departure lady at the reception very nice and warm, well organised nice spa, pool, food amazing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    9.2
    Enioyable&on the beach.1
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast waiters were dreadful* tea was ristricted to one little cup pp which u had to que 10 mins for.

    Lifts were fast & silent On site parking Great loçation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    We had a great long weekend with family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What I didn't like about the hotel was in my opinion short of reception staff, took ages to book in and always a queue, I believe you should do with more employees.

    The Hotel itself was very good and clean and excellent location just on the Carihuela Beach.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.0
    The massage and beauty therapy services were fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard chain hotel, nothing special. There was a huge tour group staying during our stay with special activities laid on just for them. Felt slightly strange being two of probably a very few guests not part of the group. We stayed only one night, so no big deal but probably would have been if our stay was longer. Luckily we just missed what was a HUGE queue for a table at breakfast.

    The massage and beauty therapy services were fantastic! Very professional. Hotel was within walking distance to quite a few restaurants. Everything was clean and well run, and the staff helpful. Breakfast buffet was very comprehensive and tasty.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    3.3
    Bed was horrible, really hard and small.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need to improve on everything, specially the front desk, who don't care.

    Bed was horrible, really hard and small. Staff was not not cooperative at all, really mean. Would not recommend this place to anybody, Please do yourself a favor stay somewhere else.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Very very pleasant. Going back in October.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I suppose one thing. Charge per day for the use of the safe. If ur on a lower floor u hear all the movements above u. But thankfully only in the morning

    Everything here was first class. It caters for older people which suits me down to the ground. Families probably better suited to a place with children s activities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    10
    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would definitely come back again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately I was only in Spain 2 days and the spa hot tub was being worked on day two, but that’s just bad timing.

    Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Hotel staff were very helpful and facilities were fabulous.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    7.5
    It has a great garden, and has an up market feel in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed with Street View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdoor pool was not heated in April, very disapointed as this would make us come back. We might not come back because of this. The Amaragua would be the best hotel for miles if they could only heat the outdoor pool. Please could you do this, it would make coming to Carihuela a real treat, instead you feel frustrated because you see the lovely pool but you can not go in because it is too cold. Bedrooms a bit dissappointing. Many Thanks

    It has a great garden, and has an up market feel in the communal areas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed the hotel overall despite it being overpriced and the room very outdated.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are badly in need of renovating. The walls are scuffed and have many marks and are very dated. We were disappointed with the décor (dark red dated wallpaper). It looks like it hasn't been decorated since the early 1990s. I am amazed that you are charged per day (I think Euro 2.75) for the safe in the room - sorry, that's just plain greedy (especially when we have paid Euro 150 per night for the room).

    The swimming pools (inside pool and outside pool) were wonderful, beautiful gardens, very nice lobby area, the location of the hotel is fantastic, rooms were lovely and warm (as it was early spring and cold of an evening), nice pool bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic - I would certainly recommend this hotel to family/friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    more evening entertainment

    Views of beach from restaurant/ poolside were amazing. Great location - Easy access to the promenade, beach, restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests still reserving the sunbeds even though there are signs stating that it is prohibited.

    Very clean, very friendly, comfortable and very relaxing. Enjoyed the pianist in the evening and the Flamenco dancing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    7.1
    Clean, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid same price for two rooms one was old one was modern. Wasn’t given a disabled room and was refused a refund so had to struggle the whole stay. No disabled toilets round the hotel grounds; hotel doesn’t respond to emails

    Clean, friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    Clean and friendly but there are better options on this hotels doorstep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The food was disgraceful. Cold, stale and had sat for what looked like an eternity. I stayed at the Pez Espada a few doors along back in November and its in a different league.

    The hotel is clean and staff are friendly.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    7.9
    Nice😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It could be smart to change beds. I got a overmadrass when I asked after one night ( with a smile from both of us ), but many of their guests were talking about that. AND I missed not to make me a cup of coffee at the room in the morning. I bought myself waterboiler.

    The staff were so nice and helpful. Very god service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    8.8
    very friendly staff.v good buffet food.but desserts not the best .v reasonable bar prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    not for children. swimming pool indoors had short time slots for kids which coincided with busy adult times. wd be better to allow children in for time on their own .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.2
    Almost perfect, just sort out the aircon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room air-conditioning added warm air to the room and was switched off. Glad it wasn't summer! It might be that other residents prefer that in "winter" but I'm from Scotland so it's too warm.

    Clean and spacious lobby

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice location. Good hotel but some rooms require updating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was very dated. Mattress was really hard and uncomfortable. No tea or coffee making facilities in room. A group of us went and some stayed in newly decorated rooms on floors two and three which were better than ours on floor six.

    The location. Right on the beach and plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    10
    Excellent 4* Hotel in the ideal location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    nothing

    prompt and friendly check-in, we were allocated Room 236 which was a double with partial sea view which was perfect. Bar and lounge area was very comfortable with plenty of seating areas, comfy couches and spacious. The lounge leads to the pool area which was also spacious with plenty of seating. As we were there for the Christmas period we did not use the pool but it was large with small pool for children and lots of sunbeds. Breakfast was plentiful and waiting staff were very quick to replace any items that needed replenishing. Highly recommend this Hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    9.2
    Poor food choices spoilt a beautiful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food did not come up to expectations. There was too much salad and not enough hot dishes. Poor choice of hot food which was always running out. Dessert selection poor. Food was what the Spanish call "economico" in other words, cheap. At breakfast one guy on eggs always had a long queue and couldn't keep up with stocking the trays. Porridge was thick and lumpy. Loads of salad of course for breakfast. Mostly Scandanavian guests.. perhaps they like salad for all meals. Also didn't like the fact that on Christmas Eve the bar closed at 8.45. (Other Spanish hotels close early, but not that early) We had complimentary Cava but nothing going on, no music or anything which was disappointing, Never been to bed so early on Christmas Eve. Also found the fact that the restaurant was at the top of a flight of steep stairs rather odd. There was an elevator but it was touch and go which direction it was going in.

    Beautiful hotel, marble floors, flowers, nice pool etc. Rooms roomy and beds comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    8.8
    I enjoyed the MS Amaragua hotel a lot, it is a beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It would be more convenient if the gym and the pool were accessible earlier and for longer hours. The breakfast was good, but not out of the ordinary. As in many Spanish hotels - a safe is for a fee, pool towels are provided against a deposit - and do not loose any of your receipts (for the safe, towels or parking) - or you will have to pay twice, no niceties there. Wi-Fi was free, but quite slow.

    I enjoyed the MS Amaragua hotel a lot, it is a beautiful building, right next to the sea and its pleasant promenade (with all the restaurants - easy to find your place for dinner without the need to take a car). I also liked the warm pool and sauna - even at winter times there is a possibility to relax. Although I had no reservation, the spa salon managed to find a massage spot, which was of great quality as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    The best hotel ive ever stayed in!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Service and facilities excellent! Hotel is very clean and very elegant. Bath and shower with extra jets for the massage. 1 min walk to the beach. It also has ooutdoor and indoor pool and sauna. The selection and quality of food - the best ive ever had in any other hotel. Intercome in the rooms and bathrooms specialy for older people i guess. 5 star hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    7.1
    average quality for high price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Elite Double Room with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at reception not very friendly. Also very disappointed about room, booked superior room for 185 Euro with lateral sea view but view was blocked by exterior emergency stairs.

    Very close to the beach and good long walks alongside the promenade

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.2
    I requested a seaview when booking with booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a seaview when booking with booking.com however booking .com did not pass on this request we were looking at an apartment block last year we booked an apartment in Germany which was double booked never again will we use booking .com again

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We like the hotel very much. It is laying just on the beach and has a very nice outdoor pool and a warm indoor pool and spa and saunas. Our room had a terasse with afternoon sun, nice. Breakfast and dinner is good. Personal are very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    9.2
    A very enjoyable break with excellent weather in truly 4 star accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The facilities, the staff and the location of the hotel all exceeded our expectations. Breakfast was very good with plenty of room in the restaurant and the price we paid was right.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    3.3
    Overpriced. Room In need of a refurb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The soft furnishings such as the settee and bedding were very faded and worn. The wooden floor was faded and peeling. Room had a musty smell.

    The view from the balcony

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.1
    We would go back other than the late functions
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Functions going on until 6am Friday and Saturday night. Noise from disco and people coming to bed at all hours. I am far from a prude but this was bloody rediculous!!

    Nice quality hotel in wonderful location. Breakfast good and reasonable price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel in great location . Very nice for couples . Entertainment most nights .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been better . Not a lot of choice of hot food . Disappointing for a 4 star hotel .

    Lovely hotel in excellent location . Near to bars restaurants and shops . Nice beach

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    Fantastic base to explore, easy access to bus and trains which run regularly and are very reasonable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a little dark with dark furnishing but not that much of an issue.

    Great location right on the beach with a lovely promenade. Nice pool with plenty sunbeds at all times of day. Good choice for breakfast with Fizz available on weekends. Great view from dining room to watch superb sunrise.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel for older people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was like a sanatorium. There is even an escalator to the first floor for breakfast, besides a chair lift. So I am glad we only spend one night here. The coffeee was not great. For that price I would expect a real cappuccino and not from a machine.

    The room was spacious and the balcony had view at the beach and boulevard. The staff is friendly and there is a public parking next to the hotel where you can park your car for 15 euro per day. The breakfast was more than sufficient.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.3
    The indoor pool was warm with a lovely sauna and children...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I paid extra for a side seaview room but the sea was barely visible. The dining room was crowded and it wasn't always easy to find a table or a wine waiter.

    The indoor pool was warm with a lovely sauna and children were restricted to using it only two hours a day, making for a much more relaxing swim

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    Had a great time. The weather was better than expected for the time of year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed (3 Adults) with Lateral Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decor could have been a bit more modern but there were three of us sharing the room and it was a decent size.

    The hotel and staff were excellent. The pool area overlooks the sea and is stunning.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel for a relaxing holiday and sunny climate.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the small side. We requested a sea view bur but it wasn't possible. The mattress was hard which didn't help me to get a restful sleep.

    The layout of of the hotel facilities is ideal. The outdoor pool area beautiful and very relaxing with the view of the sea and landscaped garden areas. Plenty areas to sit in the shade or take the sun. Food was of good quality and and reasonably priced. Air conditioning was very good. Hygiene in all areas of the hotel was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    4.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a very small old room with a tiny bathroom. The balcony was so small we could hardly open the balcony door, sitting on it was not possible. No attention to detail, for instance ice cubes in a mojito instead or crushed ice. In our opinion not a 4 star hotel and not worth it's price.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.2
    Could not be better hotel for me definitely be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food spa very clean

    Location is perfect to the beaches hotel overall was excellent but I do think reception staff could been more helpful & also no tv in our room but didn't really miss it as there was plenty to do in the hotel like gourgus spa very clean modern quiet and all beaches so close u can see close while in the hotel I will definitely be making this my only hotel to visit when going to holiday in maliga perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    8.8
    Excellent except for the food at the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Frontal Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff weren't that friendly ,with the exception of the cleaning staff.The food at the hotel was terrible ,the chef on the eggs in a morning was diabolical he could not cook at all ,bacon either burnt or raw, nothing looked very appealing.

    hotel and location great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel right on the beach and close to shops and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    nothing really all good

    Fantastic hotel right on the beach and close to shops and bars. Plenty of sunbeds even though a few towels went down in the morning there was always spare ones and somewhere to sit. I travelled with a fussy vegetarian but ate no problem in the hotel most evenings with a great choice each night

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    A great Hotel experience, super accommodation and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would love to return to this property and In future would choose a sea view room as we had a street view with the noise this can bring. On some of the days we were here Coaches and Taxis were coming and going from nightfall to early morning, transporting guests arriving, leaving or travelling on excursions.

    Immaculate Hotel with great staff and facilities including; Spa, Gym, indoor pool, Lounge Bar, Terrace Bar and Lounge, large well maintained outdoor pool, excellent catering and service. Located just 15 minutes from Malaga Airport by car, overlooking the promenade and beach at La Carihuela. A short but steep (15 minute) walk to Montemar Alto train station and then 30 minute journey to Malaga City Centre at a cost of €2.10 each way.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely if you can afford the top price rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the cheap seats at the back. Nothing remarkable about the street view rooms. The car park is €18 a night. I'd actually wanted to stay here for a lot of years. Probably a little out of my price range

    Beautiful hotel, pool, location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    8.3
    Everything, I just think for 4 stars hotel could be the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The see view from the balcony, which should be according the picture much better, did not respend to reality. Then next building has on the roof some machine, which was quite noisy during the night.

    Everything, I just think for 4 stars hotel could be the rooms be renovated, It is completely old furnished.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    10
    Lovely holiday. Would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a street view and the balcony was fairly non existent. It wasn't possible for 2 people to sit outside and have a drink. It wasn't wide enough for a table.

    Plenty of sun beds. Always available. Room cleaned every day. Fresh towels. Beds changed every few days. Fantastic location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    4.6
    Neves again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Street View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Elevator didnt work correct! No one answer the phone in the reception for two days! Manager didnt respond to my questions until i left! Unpolite staff in the reception. They try to solv all the problems with a bottle of cava!?

    Nice cleaning lady

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    7.1
    Large spaciousness hotel, loads of marble, but getting tired
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar service slow, breakfast not to hot, limited TV channels, no tea and coffee in room, change for beach towel charge, a Euro per towel each time. For cost of room would also expect free bottled water. Lifts slow. Did ask for double bed not supplied, just two singles pushed together.

    location, plenty of sunbeds, live music,

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    8.8
    Staff were fantastic , hotel was kept very clean , food was good and location was perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was far to hard , people smoking in rooms next door and smoke coming in our room was disgusting

    Staff were brilliant , very clean hotel , excellent food

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Slightly disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I booked a room with double bed with partial sea view and with bath in the bathroom. I had single bed, tube instead of bath and did not really see the sea but the fire stairs. You can't sleep before midnight due to the evening show on the terrace every night.

    Nice staff. Beautiful area. Good breakfast and dinner choises. But I suggest to go for breakfast around 8AM to avoid fight with other guests for the table. Proximity of the sea.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    4.2
    It's an old and rather worn out hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's an old and rather worn out hotel. Coffee at breakfast terrible, and they only refer to self service at a machine. The Parking cost 15 Euro/night and it is public parking only.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    7.5
    Does its job but not really at the 4 star level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Partial Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms and hotel interior feels a little dated but hey, you're probably not at this hotel to be indoors. Smoking in pool area, mornings mandatory sunbed reservation by towels (expect that 50% of the beds are reserved by "no shows") and the pool side restaurant staff are not very attentive.

    Perfect location next to the beach. Nice pool that was tidy and adequately sized for the hotel. Buffet restaurant ok for breakfast and lunch.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse MS Amaragua traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: