Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Eco Hotel Mundaka 1 stars

Florentino Larrinaga 9, 48360 Mundaka, Spain

#3 of 10 hotels in Mundaka

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 417 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Right in the heart of lovely mundaka,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coach only suitable for kids to sleep

    Right in the heart of lovely mundaka, Charming hotel in quite street, Good breakfast, Comfy beds, Kind and helpfull staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Simply wonderful! A gem near the waterfront and in nature reserve Urdaibai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I did not like.

    Perfect location in this lovely, picturesque small town; near shops, restaurants, sandy beach, rocky shore, and park. Very welcoming and friendly staff, nice room and bathroom, cozy atmosphere. The surf theme and rich heritage is found throughout the hotel; photos and paintings on the walls, surfboard items here and there, really original. This ECO-hotel is a wonderful example of ECO-vacationing; eco washing and cleaning materials, bio/organic breakfast, home-made and regional delicious products such as jams, marmelades, nuts, fruits and veggies. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would go back there anytime. Gladly recommend it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    Overall, the friendly staff and modern faciltties make me want to come back, this time without a car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the Booking.com website said that the hotel has parking, it is in a lot a few minutes away. Through Booking,com, we made a reservation for a parking spot. But it extremely challenging to get in and out of the parking garage, and in the process of it, we damaged the side mirror and 2 doors on the passenger's side. So, "parking available at additional cost" is very misleading.

    Nice accommodation and very friendly staff. The breakfast was healthy and plentiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    Brilliant! Ticked all our boxes. We will be going back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The local area does not have much choice with regard to food etc or really much else to do. Not really something we did not like but more an inconvenience

    It is a simple property that does the basics well. It was good value for money and all the staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble. It is only a 3 minute walk to the water and they understand that many of their guests will be surfing at some point. Mike is the onsite instructor and is very helpful and good value based on other local prices. Highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    Cute town would be great for summer holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a great tome but it was raining most of the afternoon so we stayed in..but cleared up for dinner time!

    Rooms were very nice and easily accessed with elevator! Town is small but very easy to walk around and access anything!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.8
    The perfect enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were satisfied with everything

    The management were very kind and helpful The location is perfect and although there was the usual internal house noise the rooms at the back were quiet and peaceful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    7.9
    Great start to our surfing vacation from Mundaka to Zarutz to San Sebastian. Car really helps
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Each room should have a fan, because when its humid its hot. I guess you can get there from the airport by Bus, but its faster by car. Car parking is available, but off site.

    Location was great to the surf spot in Mundaka, Breakfast was good by European Standards, people who worked there were pleasant and spoke English. Good springboard for surfing. Small rooms, beds were hard, but heck were there to surf. Great place to store your surfboards and wetsuits in the garden. Lots of Charm, lots of Andy Irons posters.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    9.2
    Simple, friendly and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you miss the hotel's limited own parking be ready for a long walk.

    Simple, clean and welcoming. A lovely town popular with surfer types if this is your thing. Fantastic breakfast. Great bar across the road.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Superb service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb service.. The staff (and towns folk) helped us with local police--unfortunate victim of hit & run on my parked rental car. One of the healthier breakfasts, we had in Spain.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.6
    Close to the best left hand wave in Europe
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better waves, haha

    A two minute walk to the water was just what we hoped for even though the waves were non existent. We went to Mundaka in the off season so that was a gamble. The Hotel staff were friendly and spoke english well. No parking at the property but plenty close by. Breakfast was nice and the hotel bar convenient.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    8.3
    We stayed 1 night in this peacefull village 1 min walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some noises from surrounding rooms (e.g. TV ). But during the night it was silent.

    We stayed 1 night in this peacefull village 1 min walk to the harbour. Hotel room was simple, but all you need is there. Very nice bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Central, reasonably comfortable, perfectible
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that drinks for breakfast were not self-service and that the same staff person was in charge of breakfast and reception, which slowed things down. If you're the kind of American that is used to warm rooms, you may find this property (and all others in the area) a bit chilly. Locals have much more resilience than you and the heating only works when temperatures are in or below the 50s (F). May can still be cold and moist due to the sea's immediate proximity.

    The location, the charming village, some of the staff. Comfortable beds. Rooms basic but they have all you need if you can keep it simple. The food offerings for breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    8.8
    Outstanding value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Outstanding value for money. Officially rated 1-star but better than many 3-star hotels I have used. A superb location a couple of minutes from the harbour with its selection of bars and restaurants. The room was large and comfortable and the staff efficient and friendly. No view, but we did not mind.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    9.6
    We'll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi didn't connect on the first day of our stay but once it connected it was perfect!

    Perfect location! Parking is available through the hotel but we had no issues finding car spaces on the street. Room was a good size and super clean - the cleaner went above and beyond on her daily clean. All staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    7.5
    Great for a couple of days to watch the surf!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking a real issue unless you prebook with hotel. Underground parking which has a headroom restriction, so no chance if you have a van. We had to walk half a mile with our luggage from out of the town.

    Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    6.3
    Nice rooms, friendly staff, clean bathroom and towels...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No AC and no fan provided in the room, so it was always boiling hot. A little expensive for what it is with an additional 8 euro for a simple breakfast. Paid parking is advertised, however it was full the entire duration of our stay.

    Nice rooms, friendly staff, clean bathroom and towels provided. Great location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tea/coffee facilities in the room

    Particularly friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    10
    Great environment
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly, knowledgeable staff, real commitment to environmental sustainability

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.8
    Unique village in a fabulous setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very welcoming generous staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    8.3
    Perfect spot near the harbour and main square and adjacent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect spot near the harbour and main square and adjacent to an excellent restaurant, the Asador Bodegon - fresh fish off the open grill.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Night staff

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    for a simple hotel it is lovely place good people good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was lovely helping and always smiling with good atmosphere....very cofortable.....

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    Everything - clean, great location, friendly and welcoming people

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    9.2
    Large room and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large room and great location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Lovely hotel, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Perfekt location with walkingdistance to Surfspot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos

    Perfekt location with walkingdistance to Surfspot. The hotellpersonal was very helpful and serviceminded and the breakfast was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    8.8
    One night stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff. Location. Shower.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location, bit pricey
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very dated.Coffee in bar very bad

    Location excellent. Friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    7.5
    Room very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Local restaurants disappointing.

    Room very comfortable. Good value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    Nice eco hotel, perfect value for money, clean rooms, staff...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    basic facilities in the room, small badroom

    Nice eco hotel, perfect value for money, clean rooms, staff was polite.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    8.3
    Good and helpful reception.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. Mundaka is very quiet in November and consequently there were few restaurants open.

    Good and helpful reception. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.8
    Friendly staff and near the harbour.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You do get street noise from the rooms at the front.

    Very friendly welcoming staff. Good breakfast, good choice and tasty.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    7.9
    Great value for money. Well run.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Staff exceptionally welcoming and efficient.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    9.6
    Lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That I don't speak good Spanish!

    The breakfast, lovely fresh food, great way to start the day..better than being overstuffed with cooked food!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    9.6
    Location was great, staff friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Location was great, staff friendly. We had a car and parking was available 9.5€ off site, although we didnt realise that parking for free was available on the streets at this time of year. The owner even jumped into car with us to take us to parking spot. Quiet , comfortable room with cute balcony.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    10
    The headline says it all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The headline says it all! We were only there two nights and wish we'd stayed longer. When we find ourselves back in Mundaka, we'll stay here again.

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2016

    9.6
    It was a wounderful way to celebrate my birthday.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was a wounderful way to celebrate my birthday. Right next to the famous Mundanka left. Sleepy little finishing village. Have a picnic on the grass overlook. Very nice breakfast, but it's not included in the price of staying. Very highly recommended. Next time I make sure that swell is in the water. Would love to see that left light up ;)

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    9.6
    Staff was really friendly, enthousiastic and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was really friendly, enthousiastic and helpful. We had a free concert going on in the breakfast room in the evening and that the staff recommended that to us was really attentive. Plus, there are memorabilia of Kelly Slater and Andy Irons everywhere, which is awesome! It seems to me like many surfers stay at this hotel, there's even an own surfboard rack for guests in the breakfast room.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    7.1
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although central location it was really hard to access by car. Balcony in room was actually a very tight closed in space and if you wanted to open the window you couldn't sit in it.

    Central location. Room was spotless and staff really pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2015

    9.6
    Staff was really friendly, the hotel is located in the heart...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I can't really think about anything bad

    Staff was really friendly, the hotel is located in the heart of the town, free wifi, cafeteria with nice terrace, you can arrange surf courses in reception... And everything for a good price!

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2015

    10
    great size of room, nice bed, smart draining system on...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I only had 5hours sleep due to late arrival and early departure. (my fault). Very nice place where I'd like to return to try the surf.

    great size of room, nice bed, smart draining system on shower. friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2015

    9.6
    The staff was kind and our room was cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The breakfast buffet wasn't anything too special and not worth the price. We were glad it was an option!

    The staff was kind and our room was cozy. We loved sitting in the bay window and taking in the sun! Asier at the front desk was very accommodating.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    The rooms were of a very good size and the beds comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The rooms were of a very good size and the beds comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2015

    8.8
    Everything you need
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Black hair everywhere

    Everything you need

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    8.3
    Great Location, Friendly Staff, Great Breakfast in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi not to great upstairs, but that's a really minor point.

    Great Location, Friendly Staff, Great Breakfast in the garden.

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    staff very friendly and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    wifi a bit flaky

    staff very friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    8.8
    Great location, lovely room with a balcony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great location, lovely room with a balcony

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    7.9
    Staff, surfboard storage
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No aircon, inconvenient parking, wifi only works on phone

    Staff, surfboard storage

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    9.2
    Friendliness of staff free parking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    On the room discription it said balcony which we did not have

    Friendliness of staff free parking Good wifi breakfast

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2015

    10
    Such a little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Such a little gem

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    10
    The staff was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was great. We felt right at home here. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2015

    9.6
    Very clean and pleasant felt eco hotel .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Very clean and pleasant felt eco hotel . Enthusiastic and caring owners.Quiet room even facing street. Free parking is 20 m away.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    Staff very friendly and very good restaurants nearby
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff very friendly and very good restaurants nearby

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: