Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Collection Palacio de Burgos 4 stars

Calle de la Merced, 13, 09002 Burgos, Spain

#1 of 40 hotels in Burgos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2208 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Premium Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor room time without natural ventilation.

    Comfortable hotel in a great location. Room excellent except for being in the attic and no windows or external ventilation. Just roof lights.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning switches off after dark and blows warm air making room hot once you were asleep.

    Friendly staff, excellent breakfast service and variety

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No slip mat in bath Bin in bathroom had not been emptied (on arrivals) Breakfast very expensive and quite ordinary

    Very comfy bed Excellent location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel offers parking, but you can't book it .This is a problem with Madrid hotels, when you arrive it is full, so you have to park in a public car park.

    great breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walk from the lift to the room took ages and the corridors were very dark. Diner at 20.30 May be fine for Spaniards but not for Western Europeans. It is too late, we ended up in a tourist trap restaurant near the cathedral, Rincón, which opened at 19.00. Do avoid this place, the food was atrocious and expensive, choose a restaurant in one of the side allies. If you arrive at the hotel by car, get there early in the afternoon, the spaces in the hotel parking are very small, certainly if you have a bigger car.

    Location, very central.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Found it quite hard to keep the room cool. Bathroom and bedroom facilities not up to the standard of others in the hotel, would benefit from a face lift.

    Great location, good public areas, adequate room and bathroom, parking onsite if you are brave (very tight access)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in our room did not seem to work and we were very hot at night. No facilities for hanging towels next to basin and place to put toiletries. No mirror except in bathroom.

    Standard room was very comfortable with disabled bathroom shower which was useful as shower over bath had no hand rails or non slip surface. Building was lovely with beautiful cloister. Excellent restaurant and good breakfast with very wide selection of food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had no criticism of the hotel or its facilities so what follows is more an observation than a complaint - we would definitely choose this hotel again. That said, the breakfast buffet was a little overpriced - the quality and range of the food was excellent, and it was good to have cooked food to order, but we have experienced similar buffets which were not as expensive. The convenient car parking was also a little more expensive than usual but perhaps it's a supply and demand issue in a busy city. We ate in the highly recommended hotel restaurant and while it was good, it didn't quite meet the claims for excellence we had read about, apart from a very reasonable price. I guess if you choose the Prix Fixe menu (at an enticing 28 EU) you can't expect the best choice. We had a decent starter, a somewhat over-cooked hake, and a dessert which was rather over-sweet (though others might disagree) . The wine list, on the other hand, was impressive and very well priced and it was good to taste some unusual Burgos wine. And the service was impeccable.

    The hotel is very unusual in that it occupies a former convent. As such it has very interesting architecture, but with excellent modern adaptions. The cloisters, for example, were a revelation, and one can imagine this being a great venue for a special celebration. The room we occupied was spacious and very comfortable and, above all, quiet. We didn't have a view, but then we didn't expect for the very realistic price. I imagine the premium rooms, with views across to Burgos, would be very acceptable indeed. The hotel, unusually, also has a highly recommended restaurant - convenient and very stylish. However, it wasn't quite what we expect - see following comment.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. No hot water in the morning - couldn't take a shower before traveling for 18 hours 2. Heat was cranked through the night, and could not turn off on the thermostat. Made sleeping very uncomfortable.

    The room was gorgeous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are disappointing. May and the weather was warm. Our room was so hot but no air con due time of year. The windows only open a crack but thankfully a maid unlocked the window so it fully opened. The lighting is terrible. Only 2 bedside lamps for the whole room.

    Great location and beautiful building connected to a church. Comfortable and safe. Had to store bikes for one night so able to use garage. Laura from reception able to assist with translating with the bike rental person.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy, no negatives. We can’t rate breakfast as we left early.

    The location is great, very close to Cathedral and restaurants. Very easy to find, has a car park (with parking charge). We upgraded our room on arrival to a Junior Suite, very spacious, super comfortable bed. Large Bathroom with bath and separate shower. Tea & Nespresso machine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that the air conditioning was not available and our room was exceptionally hot and stuffy..we were offered another room out of the glare of the sun but that was only slightly cooler and a much poorer room...this is a problem the hotel , which is otherwaise exceptional, needs to address..we were not offered any recommpence for the fact that our stay was marred by this severe lack of comfort.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small suggestion for improvement - add a small carton of milk to the mini bar fridge. I ended up buying one for the three nights I was there as 2 capsules isn’t enough for someone who likes milk with their tea and coffee

    I developed bronchitis while walking the Camino and this was the perfect hotel in which to rest and recuperate - especially as it was snowing for two days! The hotel is warm and cosy. The rooms are modern and I found, very quiet. There is tea and coffee in the room - which is unusual for Spanish hotels. I loved this. The bed was very comfortable. There is a restaurant and bar on site but I didn’t try as I wasn’t feeling well enough. A couple of English speaking news channels which is also quite rare in Spanish hotels. I will definitely come back to this hotel and recommend it to my friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Impressive building in a former monastery, well located right next to the historical centre, friendly staff and good breakfast. However, the rooms (at least the one we had) will need a general renovation very soon. And a minor point of criticism - but since it was advertised in the hotel - the gym area was a bit of a joke since ecquipped very badly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My husband wanted to use the sauna...no one told him you have to turn it on to heat up first. It was off! No info at all about use of facilities.

    Beds very comfortable. Food good, wine good, service good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Pillows not comfy And night staff grumpy Service stated in brochure that bar and food till 1am but yet the porter refused to serve us Also reception staff....the next morning didn't really seem bothered by the lack of service available was disappointing because we couldn't feed our children when we got back from a long day at a dance festival

    Comfy beds

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was too hot in the room

    The feeling that I stay in an old palace, my bed had nice and at the same time modern decoration. Room was big and comfortably separated into three parts with entrance in the middle. Long late breakfast hours.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    A lovely hotel in a great location. All of the staff are exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to ensure your stay is perfect. The rooms are large, well equipped and VERY comfortable. The service in the bar is quick, friendly and efficient. I ate in the restaurant where they have menus in both Spanish and English and was attended by a wonderful waiter who really went out of his way to make sure I had an excellent meal. All of the food was delicious and the Catalan Chef's version of a Cream Catalan was just FANTASTIC

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo fue bien, hasta que olvidé algo de ropa en uno de los cajones de la habitación: calcetines, un pijama y una prenda de ropa interior. El domingo, día de salida, por la noche, escribí un email al hotel para avisar del olvido. Nunca recibí respuesta. Durante el lunes y el martes contacté repetidamente con el establecimiento, recibiendo únicamente largas por parte del personal, especialmente por parte de Laura, empleada de recepción, cuyo trato dejó bastante que desear. Finalmente, el miércoles, tuve que llamar a la gobernanta que, según me explicó, ya había dicho en recepción los días anteriores que habían tirado la ropa. Que “lo sentían”, pero que la habían tirado. Un servicio absolutamente decepcionante, que nunca habría esperado de una cadena como NH Collection. No es un hotel barato, y lo escoges esperando un servicio a la altura de lo que venden. Nunca esperas que en un establecimiento de esta categoría te “tiren” la ropa olvidada, cuando has avisado el mismo día de salida. Vergonzoso. No volveré nunca.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel was overheated, and even with the air-conditioning system off and the window open, the bedroom remained too warm. It is difficult to manoeuvre a car around the parking garage - very tight spaces.

    Excellent breakfast with attentive staff who responded well when one wants to eat quickly due to business commitments. The building is beautifully converted and aesthetically pleasing. The cathedral and shopping/ restaurant district is very close by.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Requested a double bed but got 2 twin beds together.

    Hotel looks very nice, both outside and inside. The staircase is Impressive. Breakfast is excellent: eggs made to order, fresh OJ, nice pastries, local cheeses...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although underground parking was available, it was tight.

    Amazing Hotel, with very good food in the restaurant, lovely room which was clean and comfortable. Great breakfast choice. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spain as ever, restaurants open late but when in Rome.

    Stayed here many times. Great hotel. Super quiet rooms. Perfect location with a very short walk over the bridge into the Plaza Mayor. The beautiful cathedral is here as are many eating places and lovely shops. Museum of Evolution just a few yards to your right of the hotel. Well worth a visit, but we had to cover this on two separate visits as there is so much to see. Just love this city.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Would have liked more milk in the room for tea / coffee. The bar in reception did oblige by giving us a jug with milk in.

    Lovely hotel with the most helpful and amenable of staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No view from our room. Car park was difficult and very tight also expensive. Very noisy breakfast room.

    Burgos is a lovely medieval town. Compact to walk around. Good location. Only a short walk to the old town. Quiet rooms. Room size ok. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The location is superb, just across the road from the Cathedral, lovely restaurants and shopping area. Fantastic hotel former convert - stunning Great breakfast - lovely waitress

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like

    We liked absolutely everything! Refreshing fruit infused welcome drink, great staff, beautiful, spacious rooms and bathrooms nicely furnished and comfortable. Complimentary tea/coffee in the room. Easy walking distance to fabulous sites such as the Cathedral (you must see it for its amazing artwork!). Also the Museum of Evolution and plenty of shopping, bars and restaurants an easy stroll away.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was well laid out, and staff super friendly. Dining was a treat, and location right across from the Porte Santa Maria and near two major museums is excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a little too soft for my liking

    Fantastic location in old convent just across the river from the historic old town. Easy access and secure but expensive on site underground parking. Nice room, well equipped with a great shower. Very quiet at night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A fabulous hotel in an historic building situated just a stone’s throw from the oldest section of town. The staff were excellent – both helpful and very friendly. And our room was a treat with a view of the gates to the city and the spires of the cathedral beyond. No hesitation – next time I am in Burgos, I will stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Long waits at the reception for checking in and checking out.

    Clean and quiet room with comfortable bed. Parking is available in the building and accessible via elevator.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The expensive car parking fee, although noticed a Multi Storey Car Park close by which would be a better option if staying for more than one night. Our room was in the roof so only Velux Windows, but no real problem for a one nighter, but you might want to have room on lower rooms for longer stays.

    The close proximity to the Old Town within 5 minutes.The ambiance of the hotel, felt more like a. 5 star hotel. The bedroom more than adequate for a 1 night stay, with very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful hotel in a historic building: massive doors & flooring. Near and at walking distance of historic city center and buildings. Lively place to stay, highly recommendef!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    great location to visit the city and attractions, five minutes and you are in the old town parking available but a tight squeeze underground! good breakfast, beautiful hotel building

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location and spacious room in historic convent building close to old town. Very supportive front office, great breakfast and attentive staff at breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I moved the waste paper bin in our room and a cloud of dust and fluff rose up. Then I noticed that the floor was not that clean in the corners and around the edges of the room. There were even remnants of what looked like dried grass on the floor ! I did not have a nice feeling walking around in bare feet after that discovery ! Having read the rave reviews of this hotel I expected a lot better. Our room was just ok...it was fairly big but rather characterless. Another minus was that the tv did not have the usual English channels...I think we could get China News today but not BBC World or CNN.

    It was very quiet throughout our two day stay. The breakfast room was large and beautiful and the staff serving breakfast were extremely pleasant and attentive. The bathroom was nice and the toiletries and towels were good quality.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    While underground parking is provided, access to it is difficult down narrow lanes with only one way in and out.

    The rooms were very spacious and the beds extremely comfortable. Staff were very nice and accommodating. Location ideal in a very central location close to the Cathedral and the Museum of Human Evolution. Enjoyed our time there so much we stayed an extra night !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very tight access to carpark. First room we were given was on Level Three and smelt of smoke, was dark and drab and had no window - just a skylight.

    Good sized room, good breakfast, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not very accommodating in particular David. He booked us into the restaurant. When we arrived for dinner we were told it was booked out. After complaining we got a seat only to be ignored for 15 minutes and then we walked out. I also arranged to send some emails to the desk to be printed for collection (bus tickets etc) and when we went to book out they weren't printed and the staff member did not speak English and had no idea what we wanted and was getting mad with us.

    The room and facilities were excellent. The hotel is really lovely building.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was too expensive and we don't eat much so we ended up going to a caffe near by which serves great breakfast and it's cheap.

    Elegant and comfortable at a reasonable price. We ended up staying 2 nights instead of one.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't need the extra put up bed in our room.

    The bed was amazingly comfortable. The room was very spacious and had a settee. Love the 'dressing room' leading into the bathroom. The foyer was grand with welcoming fresh cold fruit infused water.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking in the garage could be cheaper, or free.

    Very good buffet breakfast. Spacious and soundproof room with kettle, minibar, safe. Comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is expensive at €20 a night but we paid it because parking is at a premium in and around the city. There is only one way in and out of the garage which makes meeting incoming traffic a tad awkward but we managed ok in our right hand drive Audi A4. Not really a complaint but a suggestion: room service meals arrived on a very large tray. The problem was we had nowhere to put it. I had to move my suitcase to allow the tray to be placed on a flat surface other than the bed. A trolley would have made life much easier.

    The room was spacious with a draped 4 poster bed and settee The bed is made up of 2 mattresses side by side on a king size+ base. That may or may not be to your liking but it is to ours. Be aware that the restaurant is not open on Sunday evening but if you can't find somewhere to eat in Burgos, it's a poor show. We took room service on one night for convenience. It is open 24hrs. The location is spot on just across the river from the bridge to the Arco se Santa Maria. The staff members are delightful. Nothing is too much trouble and everything was delivered with a beaming smile. They are all a credit to the hotel. If we ever return I would book here again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked a view from the window facing the cathedral but we hadn't specified this and just had a high velux out of which we couldn't see anything! We were grateful for the secure parking underground but felt it was expensive.

    A lovely overnight stop en route through Spain. Burgos is a very interesting city and many of its most important monuments and excellent restaurants are within easy walking distance of the hotel. The hotel itself is well appointed with decent-sized, well-furnished rooms and en suites. It was quiet and comfortable and we slept soundly on good quality beds with wonderful pillows.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room decoration could have presented more characteristics. All in all, we like the hotel.

    Nice property as it was an old cloister converted to a hotel. The room is spacious with comfortable bed. Breakfast offers a good variety. Excellent location. Just a few steps to the cathedral.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have no criticism.

    Superbly located for the tourist. Excellent buffet breakfast, friendly waitresses. Coffee from the machine very good, the one that is kindly put in a can on the table is a dark sauce (tar). Room spacious, clean and functional. I liked that it is a modern hotel in an historic shell. Very good internet. Chief receptionist Sandra excellent. The others go through a learning process.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was excellent!

    This was our favorite hotel of our 3-week trip--great location, upscale design, large comfortable rooms, well-appointed and extremely helpful staff. We were only sorry we could not stay longer.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    From check in at reception, to check out- staff, service and location were excellent. We had a fantastic stay. Bedroom very comfortable. Car parking very near hotel. Breakfast fantastic. Very convenient to shops, Burgos cathedral. We have stayed in this hotel before- and look forward to returning again on our next visit yo Burgos.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stylish 500 year old building with stonework, cloisters etc but modern comfortable rooms. Right by the river and less than 10 minutes walk from the cathedral (don't miss) and the rest of the old town. Parking (payable) in their underground car park. We struggled (our own fault, wrong motorway exit) to find the hotel on arrival but when leaving it is very easy to find the road to Santander.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff not very helpful or friendly. Bar staff never in place to serve. Male receptionist went to find bar staff, but then disappeared too! The staff at the NH Ourense, the same hotel group, should perhaps be tasked to provide the NH Palacio de Burgos staff with training in how to provide customer service. Breakfast too expensive, eat in the city!

    Excellent location opposite the city main gate. Good sized, clean and comfortable room. Secure underground parking.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is faultless

    The hotel building is exceptionally beautiful. It is a very old monastery that has been renovated with great style. The rooms and common areas are very spacious, much more so than is normal for European hotels. With all of these comforts, the hotel is incredible value for money - it is luxurious but quite cheap.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been nice to be able to relax in the centre of cloister with a drink from the bar. Bar service slow, had to ask for a member of staff to come from the restaurant- just need a bell system maybe?

    Fabulous bed, so comfortable! Handy for town. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road noise at night, it's on a busy road

    Close to attractions Beautiful old building itself Excellent breakfast Large room seperate bathroom area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Professional, friendly staff. The room I had was beautiful and very comfortable. The blow dryer was the best I've ever used. The location was perfect for walking around the old town and access to the cathedral and museums.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a problem but having to stop on busy road to unload luggage.

    The option of an upgrade to a room with a view made it a very special stay in beautiful Burgos. The room most luxurious and extremely large with beautiful bathroom. On main thoroughfare but well soundproofed. Perfect bed for our needs.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms could have used a little more light/windows, especially with such a great view of the cathedral!

    Amazing breakfast spread! the location was fantastic and the building had an amazing history.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Frankly speaking nothing, ok, the places in the garage are rather prepared for a Fiat 500 but still…

    Indeed, a very good location, few meters from the old town however without the whole which is produced there. The room was very quiet. The breakfast very good.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful breakfast - lots of choice and wonderful friendly service. Building absolutely lovely and well worth a visit. Very central we couldn't have stayed in a better location!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The advertised WiFi was not operational in the room BBC World was offered on the television's menu, but did not operate Parking expensive at €18.60/night

    Historic building Excellent location Excellent breakfast Handy parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast quite expensive if not included in room price. Parking quite expensive, but there is a public parking place not far away from the hotel

    Everything good, wonderful location and incredibly varied breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Burgos centre is really lovely.Historically fascinating. Great atmosphere very good food.Truly Spanish.Would like to have spent more time here. A perfect place to spend a long weekend from the UK.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beautiful building on the river. Quiet hotel with comfortable public spaces. Good breakfast. Easy to walk across the street into the city. Comfortable bed with large bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room 210 had twin beds and we requested a large bed with a shower and were told by the reception that they only have twin beds and shower combos not large beds and showers, this is very strange for a hotel of this size, there was no comprise !!!

    The room was large and the bed was very comfortable. The position of the hotel was fantastic, a short stroll to the old town and all the cafe's and restaurants. The hotel is in an old monastery and has a lot of character and charm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfasts are excellent but pricy. The parking costs 18.90 euros a day, which makes no sense, since there is an excellent public garage a block away at half the price. The beautiful historic cloister is covered by a glass structure that really does not fit in.

    Superb location in a historic property.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cost of the on-site parking.

    We love the location & the atmospheric historic building. The interior design has been thoughtfully undertaken. You can drive to the hotel without going through the narrow streets of the old part of Burgos yet you are just across the river & only a couple of minutes walk from the historic centre.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was really lovely great views over the beautiful city , the breakfast was just amazing choice could not have been bettered anywhere recccomend to anyone staying in burgos

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly, with what is going for this hotel there were disappointments. Room service advertised in the room as 24/24 but, in fact only available when the restaurant is open, evenings from 8pm! Free wifi but for only one device and a large HD TV with only six (Spanish) stations and the only english speaking station was Chinese!!

    Beautifully appointed room and bathroom. Large, very comfortable bed with a good choice of pillows. Large HD television and a two seater settee from which to watch it. Great location near the cathedral and a very pleasant walking area. The breakfast was very good. Expensive at €17 but worth it.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is the only hotel I have stayed at where room service was not 24 hours (or close to).

    I'm picky about where I stay on my fairly frequent travels all over Europe, and always stay at the same hotels once I feel at home there. I will be definitely be staying at the NH on my next visit to Burgos. The staff, including Housekeeping - were very friendly, extremely helpful, and a credit to the establishment. My room - I had (what I assume was) a single-occupant double room that was extremely comfortable, quiet location, lovely bathroom. Hotel restaurant - the 3-course set dinner (which also included a complimentary aperitif and a glass of wine) was delicious and extremely good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Late night noise from the function rooms could disturb some people. Expensive breakfast.

    The location of the hotel couldn't be bettered. The room had all the facilities of a 5 * hotel. Staff were helpful and friendly. Excellent English spoken

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You asked if we wanted 2 x single beds or 1 double - we wanted 1x double but got 2 x single pushed together - why ask when no attention is paid to request ???

    Everything

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really hot - I am sure the air conditioning will have difficulty in summer in rooms not facing cathedral.

    Large comfortable room to spend time in. Sofa etc.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English tv channels. When I phoned reception they said they will send a technician the next day. We were not there anymore. This room no 230 was far away to walk. The hotel was not full.

    We like the space of the room and the breakfast although it's expensive.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great hotel well situated in the historic center of Burgos, a short walk to the cathedral. The rooms were quiet and generous in size. The buffet breakfast was the best we had on our trip.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking situation was a little tight for a larger car in the on site car park

    Loved the location and the staff. The rooms appeared larger on the pictures on the site, but my room was certainly cozy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is very close to the old part of the city. The hotel atmosphere is pleasant with very good design and quality materials. The rooms are very comfortable with excellent beds for really good sleep and relaxation. We enjoyed the dinner at the restaurant that offers some interesting choices and tempting desserts.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: