Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Madrid Atocha 3 stars

Paseo Infanta Isabel, 9, Retiro, 28014 Madrid, Spain

#205 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1355 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    VERY modern with up to date in room conveniences. Air Con (needed now in Madrid). Everything new, clean and crisp along with large flat screen. Fantastic breakfast with extended weekend hours. Selection of food and beverages were top of the line! Staff extremely helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    + Easy and helpful check-in + Speedy check-out + Comfortable and clean room + Easy to sleep and comfortable + Easy walk from the three major Art museums in Madrid

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning system was taking awhile to cool the room.

    Confortable bed, great shower, great WiFi. Across the street from major train station and subway entrance is 15 meters away from hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very clean, comfortable bed, easy to control A/C, plenty of plug sockets and USB charging points, a large tv, fantastic shower, convenient access to the train station and city centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was really comfortable. The breakfast has a wide range of options. The location of the property is excellent, across the street from the Atocha Station where you can take trains, the Metro and the Express Bus to the Airport for 5 Euros.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room with no bed for my kid and at reception the employee did not warn us. I wrote about my kid on the notes which weren’t taken into account. The room was so small we could not even have the luggages in. I asked a bigger room but a lot of problems were raised by employee. The new was a bit bigger but unbelievably small. To pay 155 Euro + 16 € breakfast x 3 people = 203 Euro x a room of this standard is very expensive. Last time they see me. Even to bring big luggages into reception was a challenge. Very small entrance, lot of stairs no help provided

    Nothing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room is rather small as it contains two twin beds and a large desk, leaving almost no room to walk around.

    ideal location for leisure as it is across the avenue from the atocha train station, within a few meters of museums and good dining establishments. small enough hotel that elevator is almost always available, cleaning staff efficient and good, afternoon refreshments are very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities in the rooms. This was a real pain. Adela the receptionist was great but the male receptionist was rude and frankly it was obvious he was wishing he wasn’t there.

    Great location Very clean Good breakfast Adela the receptionist was lovely

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much...my room was a bit small, but it was a single and it was for one night. Small yet cozy. Comfy bed/quality sheets.

    Very close to Atocha, but not like a train station hotel. Breakfast is 5 🌟.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small, taking into consideration the price to pay for that room size.

    The breakfast selection is quiet good in terms of quality and variety. The hotel has great location, just opposite to the Atocha train station, so for travelers this is super convenient. Also, you can find plenty of good restaurants and entertainment around the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a little bland although functional, very white!

    Very convenient for the railway station at Atocha and well connected by bus or metro to the main city sights. Rooms quiet despite location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am a very light sleeper and I could get when the heating come on in the night. For me it was a little to warm

    Staff very friendly and the Tom nice and cle

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was a tad small and very white.

    Lovely, clean hotel with lovely Plane Trees almost tickling the French doors that open onto a small but pleasant veranda. Lovely. Busy street but hardly noticed the sounds when the windows were closed. The interior lighting was very well considered and was as near to perfect as possible. It is clear that the designer of these rooms spent time in the rooms. The bed was firm yet with just the right amount of give. Staff were please and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were great making sure me and my family had a comfortable stay. They organised a cot for our daughter. Made sure our room was ready early and our second room was ready too.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have more hot selection and more cold cuts selection for the price.

    Friendly service from the front desk team during check in and out and breakfast attendant. Breakfast was not included but a little pricey. At 16€ you'll get several cold cuts, pastries, desserts, different juices selection. Hot selections only 2 choices, scramble or Sunnyside up already prepared in a tiny crockpot and placed on a warmer. Room is clean but small for a standard. Better option is the superior. For a one might stay is just fine since we needed a room close to Atocha Renfe station. It's literally across the street. Metro station is also near the hotel. Less than 3 mins walk. Would stay again if in the area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Love the location right across street from train/express airport bus stop. For me this is great as I don't have to lug a suitcase around uneven sidewalks, etc. As a walker all sites I wanted to see were within walking distance, Prado, Mayor plaza, royal palace and cathedral plus others. For a non walker may not be ideal. Beds were comfy. The window blinds are a nice touch in keeping the room dark. Can't comment on breakfast as didn't purchase the bed & breakfast. All front desk staff I dealt with were very professional and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only window was opening to the fire exit. It was not possible to leave the window open and feel safe at the same time.

    Outside window shaders let me sleep like a baby during the morning hours.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special.

    Great location. Right across Atocha station. They kept my luggage for a night while I was traveling to Toledo. This is the perfect hotel to stay if traveling by Renfe. Got an up-graded room and welcome sweets. Was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price per noght it is a little bit high for the size of rooms

    Fantastic Location in Madrid Center and The best location infront Railway Station, 1 min. walk...Just crossing the street!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room with a window facing a courtyard, but will all commodities.

    Very good breakfast! Super close to El Retiro park. Great for a walk or sports.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant doesn't open for lunch or dinner for part of the week (and there is no great places close to the hotel for a quick but good quality bite). Not a fancy building, just a regular housing facility where a hotel was placed without any other care to make it nicer. Which isn't really a problem for me but can disappoint some leisure-oriented, more demanding guests.

    Location is its main asset for travelers with Madrid-Atocha train station based stays. AVE and local trains just crossing the street, plus subway station right besides the hotel entrance and tons of bus lines passing by. Plenty of taxis around. You can connect to anywhere in the city very easily and some attractions are just at short walk distance. I was there for the second and third time in two separate occasions in a ten day span. Always quick and fluid check in and check out processes, nice staff in reception and the restaurant. Quiet rooms. Ok beds. Good bathrooms with proper set of amenities. Well equipped for short stays in business oriented trips around the train station. Decent breakfast. Wifi works properly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small, the bathroom stank continually of sewage, even with the bathroom door closed. Window view of brick wall, no tea or coffee machine in room, green light in room continuously on at night which lit up the room and made it difficult to get to sleep.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was well presented and plenty to choose from.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too warm in room for sleeping well. Needed temp control. Would like a more comfortable lobby lounge area.

    Breakfast was phenomenal. Very helpful staff. Quiet room as requested. No problem with WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the towel rail at the bottom of the shower stall made it difficult to hang up the towels for re-use!

    Bed was comfy, walk in shower with lots of water was a delight

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff tried to put both my colleague and i into single rooms when booking a double (at over €180 per room per night) rear facing rooms have view over.... tatty emergency exit and tatty building. Of the 7 plug sockets in the room, only one would actually take a plug, the rest were broken. No tea / coffee facilities.

    Location to the station, good AC

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small.

    Very nice breakfast. Very good sound insulation. Excellent location. Across the street from Atocha station with a metro stop at the door. Near Prado and Reina Sofia and many cafés.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The Hotel is situated across the road from Atocha Renfe Station, with easy access to the Metro to the centre of Madrid in a few minutes. The Hotel was clean and very comfortable! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's no lobby to relax. there's only one elevator and too tiny. The toilet and the closet in the bedroom were too tiny. for two people. No bar or fitness area and male staff are not that friendly neither welcoming.

    Rachel, the cafe server was excellent staff with excellent customer service. Friendly and accommodating. Paula was excellent likewise. She deserves to be manager. She is kind, helpful and constantly smile and make me and wife totally welcomed. She provided us with every help she can and answered all our questions with sincerity and professionalism.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The size of the single room was unbelievably small. It felt claustrophobic. Not worth the price for that reason only.

    The location is right across from Atocha cercanías. The room was clean and the staff checked me in quickly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Won't wow you if you are expecting a nice building (regular housing building converted in hotel, old elevator, tortuous corridors to the rooms, etc.), spacious room or nice views, but that would be pretty much your fault and wrong expectations. Works just great for the type of hotel it is. Not the most accessible reception if you get there with a lot of luggage or limited mobility.

    Excellent location for a train-station based stay (in my case, overnight layover from a flight to an AVE ride), right in front of Atocha station. Should work quite well also for leisure trips as it is in such a well connected part of the city and already nearby some main point of interest in Madrid. Fluid check in and check out process. Welcome package in the room with fresh fruit and bottle waiting for you, nice touch (very welcomed after such a night trip in this overnight layover situation). Proper room, not spacious but not much needed for a short stay. Just ok bed (probably a matter of personal preference). Quiet room, clean. Good bathroom with proper set of amenities. Good breakfast, both quality and variety. Ok wifi connection.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small but adequate.

    The room had all the essentials, USB connections, power points, comfortable beds. The bathroom was well equipped and modern. The location was great for our next trip by train. The breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    On arrival we were offered either an interior somewhat compact room or an exterior more spacious room. We made the mistake of choosing the exterior room as there was considerable noise and disturbance from the street below. The hotel's location is somewhat confusing with another NH hotel close by. Unfortunately, on leaving Atocha station I realised my wallet had been stolen (from my zipped up jacket pocket) and when I asked, in somewhat of a panic, for directions to the NH Hotel Atocha, was directed to the wrong one. However the staff there were extremely helpful, providing towels and tissues to mop my brow, the necessary telephone numbers to report the theft and clear directions back to the NH Hotel Atocha.

    The hotel's location was really convenient if you are travelling to or from Madrid Atocha station by train. The small dining room was spotless and the buffet breakfast was excellent. The room too was spotlessly clean and had a very comfortable bed. Although this hotel did not have a restaurant open in the evening, its nearby sister NH hotel did and it was superb.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location next to Atocha Station is a major plus. The neighbourhood of course boasts the major museums of Madrid which is a bonus. Breakfast is comprehensive and fresh.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much space between the end of the bed and the wall on which the TV was fixed, had to be careful not to accidentally bang into the TV.

    Ideally situated for access to Atocha Station, Metro, and Prado Museum. Staff welcoming and helpful. Although located on a busy main road, traffic noise was not as bad as I expected.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early just after noon. Reception staff were very pleasant and took our bags explaining the room would be ready nearer to 2.00pm. Not an issue at all. We returned at around 3.40pm and the room still wasn't ready! Almost as if it had been forgotten about. The biggest disappointment however was the fact I believed I had reserved a room with a terrace. The whole point of choosing the NH was it's proximity to the train station and the fact we thought we had a room with an excellent external space where we could have relaxed with a drink and perhaps a bite to eat and enjoy the Madrid sunshine. I did make this request in the 'extra information' box on booking.com and the hotel had ample time to let me know that this may not be possible. So I was very disappointed that we did not get what we requested. When I went back to reception to ask if this had been an oversight I was told that I had indeed got a Superior room and it clearly stated in the small print a terrace room was not guaranteed. I do not recall reading anything about that atvtte time of booking. If I had, I would probably have chosen a different hotel where the balcony/terrace was guaranteed. Instead I feel we both lost out - me as I did not get what I thought, and the hotel because we would have spent more time and thus more money had we got the room we believed. Personally, after the delay at check in I think they had given our room to someone else. Shame. What we got was quite overpriced for what it was, sorry!

    Modern, clean and nicely appointed. I a great location for the train station. Bathroom was particularly good. Not much room in the actual bedroom which was a bit disappointing for what was termed a 'Superior' room but it was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit difficult to operate the air condition controller to get the room warmer

    Room is spacious and very quiet when closing the window. Good breakfast. Close to the train station.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location was great. We like to drop our luggage near the train station and get out to walk and see sites. The hotel kept our bags in a secure area until check in time. We asked for some ice and were given an entire bucket for the evening. Friendly front desk staff. The breakfast room was efficient and the friendly staff kept the food supply ready for clients.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is okay, but you can find better and cheaper on the streets.

    Entrance to Metro Atocha at 20 metrres, Atocha train station at 100 metres. Central location for visiting Madrid city, most is really within walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. We were only there for one night to go to the tennis and it served its purpose perfectly.

    Great location straight across from the train station. Easy check in and comfy beds. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - if you are a person who care about having a view to look at from the window then make that so clear to have your room with the street side - they only put water kettle in superior rooms, but there is an early bird corner in reception if you like to have hot water in early hours of the day

    - location is great,,if you like walking you would find it new a lot of major attractions - staff so helpful and will answer your question and help you to be as comfort as possible

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room gets too warm and stuffy if windows are closed. staff was perfunctory and almost inhospitable.

    the convenience to atocha as it is just across the street, and the proximity to the prado, the reina sofia, the thysen and the botanical garden. also just a few meters away from the retiro.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bed was very firm. (I like a softer bed, but was able to sleep without any problem.)

    Excellent location for train and Aeropuerto Express bus. Super clean. Stayed one night for transfer. Great soundproofing from traffic (I'm a light sleeper). Extensive breakfast buffet avail at 7am for early departures.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bed in the single room was small. There wasn't bathtub. Sound from other rooms was noisy.

    Next to the AVE station. Close to the Prad and Sofia Reina museums. Staff was friendly. Breakfast was varied.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very handy for airport bus terminal and AVE station. OK for overnight stay, but would have been less keen for more unless using Atocha station frequently.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am still waiting for the receipt to be corrected. Very unefficient process to need to correct one word in the receipt through the HQ . Never managed to do it in spite of daily promises.

    The bed was comfortable, the pillows soft. The lighting good. The shower excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    fast easy friendly check in, good location for atoctha station, breakfast was very nice with good service although a little limited in choice, liked the way the scrambled eggs were presented in small pots with lids to keep hot and fresh. we booked a superior room thinking it came with balcony due to photos although to be fair booking.com did not mention one in room description but nh hotel web site lists balcony/ terrace for superior room. we checked in and were given a room on 7th floor at front of hotel which was nice but no balcony, looks like the rooms up the middle have just windows and the ones to each side have a small balcony. My wife went back to reception and just asked as we had also requested a balcony when booking, the guy on reception was really helpful an put us in the best room in the hotel room 801 right on the top floor, a large room with a balcony to each side and a small one in the middle, the left balcony had table and chairs and the right two sun beds, superb room with a great bathroom. we used this hotel for one night on are way back from segovia, but have stayed in this area before, easy walking to art triangle, park and city center from here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very practical location with access to Prado, Retiro, reina sofia as well as metro Ave and airport transportation. Free supplementary bed. Friendly personnel at check in. Scale of location avoids the impersonal feel often associated with hotel chains.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that worth to mention.

    Great location, very close to Atocha railway station. Easy to reach from Barajas airport by train and convenient to get an AVE train later on. In a few steps from the hotel's door there is an elevator that links train and subway station to the street. In some places in Europe, surrounds of railway stations looks seedy. Definitely it is not the case of Atocha station. Great staff and accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no noise insulation at all. Walls made with carboard, you can hear your neighbor peeeing in the room next to you. Staff is mean! And guys if i left sign "do not disturb" it means that i don't want and need you in my room anytime this sign is on the door. I don't need you cleaning, I don't want you to enter my room no matter if i inside or not! etc. lousy service.

    Room is clean

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was not extremely polite. Even if I arrived with my little daughter sleeping in my arms, no one offered me a chair, the check-in process took a lot, in the first stage, the room was not ready despite the fact they had confirmed early check-in (1h before the regular time) and only after we asked them again to find a solution, they miraculously found a room which looked more like a standard than a superior one as we had asked and paid.

    Very good located. We stayed there because we have to take the train from the Atocha next day, but we were very pleasant surprised to see that we are very close to the heart of Madrid. An excellent breakfast with a lot of options Everything is very clean and...correct

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was not anything I did not like.

    Location close to Atocha train station is convenient if you continue from Madrid by train. Free minibar with water and wine in lobby.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They automatically signed me up for some NH Hotels club and I started getting emails the next day. VERY DISAPPOINTING. The hotel was great but this really annoyed me.

    Great single room, close the the train station which is what I wanted. Not horribly expensive but not cheap either.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location across the street from Atocha station. From station front look across the street and see the NH sign on the top of the building. Another NH hotel National another block away, so don't get confused. If Hotel media at 12:00, then this hotel is at 3:00. Quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is just one elevator so it gets very busy.

    It is very close to Cercanias Atocha train station and a 20-minute walk from Puerta del Sol. The walk is nice. You will find Del Prado National Museum, Cibeles Palace & Main Square, and El Buen Retiro Gardens nearby. The breakfast offer is good. I loved the variety of cereals!!! The restaurant staff is very kind. They offer Chardonnay wine all day long. It was great!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are tiny and not everything is working properly. The air conditioning had some issues, the smell in the room is quite heavy and the noise when you open the window is terrible.

    Good breakfast, reasonable location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The corridor is old and narrow. The lift is small. But we didn't need to stay there for the night so I guess I got no complaints after all.

    The staff is really helpful. There was some problems with the air-conditioning at first and we called front desk to ask for solutions. The staff picking up the phone told us to wait for a couple minutes and we thought he was going to check with the central ventilation system or what. Yet indeed, the staff came by himself and checked with the room first before he headed to the system room. Loads of appreciation on his work passion. Oh, and the location, impeccable.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice hotel, unpretentious, clean and very comfy. Good facilities and but a stones throw from Atocha Station. This hotel gave us a good base and leaving point for our journey through Barcelona, Tarragona, Valencia, returning to Madrid. UTG!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room. Also access with case not very easy - had to manoeuvre down/up short but steep ramp to reception desk.

    Reception staff very helpful. Lovely shower.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was so small and the room was facing the street and was noisy. The fresh orange juice at breakfast was so old it was dizzy! Disgusting ! Also the pictures of breakfast on the website were amazing. What we actually got was disappointing. Two choices of old looking fruit, not the delicious range that was promised.

    Staff were friendly and it was very modern and clean

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very small. Seems good for business travelers or people who need to be close to train station.

    Breakfast, convenience, cleanliness, helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle. Miserable staff on check in and check out

    Close to station. Modern and bright

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rate was high as it was a long weekend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect ubication just in front of the Atocha station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are far too small.

    Location & Cleanness

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast is indeed awesome, location is convenient just a few minutes walk to train station and metro

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was expensive; breakfast would have been even more so. Typical one-night hotel.

    Convenient location next to Atocha train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room small and a bit Spartan.

    Very good breakfast buffet. Lots of thought went into that.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was priceless but the service was amazing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and helpful staff. Convenient location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no view room quite small

    clean modern room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable room. Good breakfast. I were having only a one night stay, and the comfort was well worth the price.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minha estadia neste hotel foi excelente superando todas as expectativas, certamente tornarei a me hospedar ai!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee machine in the room

    Nice and quite

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Kindness of staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great breakfast, lovely staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse NH Madrid Atocha traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: