Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Almenara 4 stars

Avenida Almenara, s/n, 11310 Sotogrande, Spain

#2 of 4 hotels in Sotogrande

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 558 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    9.2
    I will return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 10 nights

    1. Please introduce freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast. 2. Please add a kettle - or make availabe a kettle for boiling water to make tea. I did ask for one, was promised one, but it never arrived. Do, then, make available herbal etc. tea to drink in rooms, as well as coffee.

    Perfect setting if you like calm and silence, away from the busier coastline, but readily accessible. The magical location makes it wonderful. Restaurant staff are amazing, both in the terrace and upstairs in the main building. So friendly and helpfu!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.6
    Boring, lifeless and isolated
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Unless you intend to play golf do not consider this hotel. It is a taxi ride from everything, there is no onsite shop and the restaurant and bar are expensive. Zero entertainment provided for guests and if you wished to play a round of golf by hiring the equipment it is 230E for two people. It felt like an open prison it was so far to reach the public highway and the boundary of the golf complex. Birds flew freely around the restaurant at breakfast, pecking the bread and crapping everywhere.

    Good coffee and orange juice at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    9.6
    A very good hotel for golfers and couples.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food in the a la carte restaurant was not great. Bar and waiting staff could be more attentive.

    Excellent breakfast, Comfortable beds, very clean everywhere, helpful concierge and reception staff and lovely bar with sun terrace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    9.2
    Would recommend, relaxing environment although not right by the sea.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi needed separate email addresses for each device, which was fiddly. No tea/coffee facilities in the room, so I asked for a kettle.

    Lovely hotel even if you're not playing golf. Rooms are spacious and set in landscaped grounds. Super selection at breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. This was a business trip so I requested a quiet room, which is what I had, no problems at all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    8.8
    Stunning location beautiful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle or tea and coffee in the room. Dogs weren't allowed in the common areas. Took a lot of calls to order room service which was very over priced. Room was quite expensive too.

    Stunning location beautiful hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant and relaxing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being charged to use the spa, paying over €100 a night u assume access to the spa is included, hotel should not use pictures of a spa that is not included.

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    8.3
    Relaxing, comfortable holiday but could have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service. Not enough staff to serve the number of clients in restaurant. If they have large groups then staff should be allocated to deal with them. We left twice because we were left waiting for such a long time. Other clients left also without eating. The menu gets boring after nearly 2 weeks. A really disappointing part of the holiday but the staff were very apologetic and doing a difficult job. This is a MANAGEMENT ISSUE but never a senior manager around when you need one. The large group of golfers debriefed in the bar. On occasions difficult to get to bar. Space should be allocated for this activity not the public bar.

    The courteous, helpful staff. The Almenara hotel should be very proud of their staff. Nice warm comfortable room. Excellent maid service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel and restaurant but a very bad cook in the main restaurant , good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The main restaurant has a nice look but A VERY BAD COOK . The cook hasn't any knowledge about sauces and vegitables , this is not a cook but a kind of handyman / -woman really pitty for such an nice HOTEL .

    The environnement and the tranquility

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    7.5
    OK for a short stay
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast & restaurant staff not very helpful or friendly. Many empty tables but none of them prepared for new guests. We had to ask twice to get a table for breakfast. The only response was "do you stay at this hotel?". An hour later we didn't extend our stay but checked out...

    Large rooms.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    8.3
    Superb breakfast buffet, spa, quiet pool area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only 1 reestaurant for dinner serving only 1 vegetarian option and you had to pre-book. Last year the restaurant had a buffet for starters and desert which was much better. Location of hotel means you have to get a taxi into Sotogrande to find restaurants to eat and they were limited. Hotel has a shuttle bus which finished at 7pm and was constantly ferrying guests to and from the golf tournament so had to pay for a taxi every evening to get something to eat.

    Superb breakfast buffet, spa, quiet pool area

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    10
    A Gem tucked away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To go back home

    Everything. All of the Staff is very friendly and helpful .The Room was very clean .One Night we went to the , supposed to be , the best Restaurant in Sotogrande, what a waste . Yesterday I had Lunch and Dinner at the Hotel Alemenara ,it was very good and Iam very , very finicky (ask my Husband ). We stayed at a other NH Hotel and every time we are so pleased with the Breakfast Buffet .Even Cava is served , what a Hotel ! The Spa is a must and specially a Pedicure done by Jazmine .This was the BEST Pedicure ever. If you a Golfer this is the place to be. In the Afternoon enjoy a Drink at the panoramic Terrace We can't wait to stay next month at the NH Hotel in Salamanca Hasta loego una ano

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Pleasant and relaxing but pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi system was difficult to access requiring daily sign on. Food and drinks were much more expensive than other local establishments.

    The staff were extremely friendly and courteous. Beds were very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable but as my wife is a non golfer the hotel was a little too remote.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Too remote without a car or easy access elsewhere. Felt trapped at times and unable to use the restaurant when you wanted due to restrictive opening/closing times. Bar in reception area could provide snacks as with lack of food available you were forced to book a taxi and leave the hotel to eat. A small shop on site or better use of the general restaurant would help as we did see a number of people with children looking for somewhere to relax with informal eating.

    The setting is superb and if you are a golfer and have a car then it has all that you need. The breakfast choice was extensive although items did run out and were not always replaced. The pool area is lovely and when the snack bar was open it was busy but this was only open at weekends.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Everything breakfast was very good.
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool food was very very poor. But the the cocktails were nice.

    Everything breakfast was very good. Restaurants were also good rooms were nice clean and curtains were black outs.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.2
    Luxurious, friendly hotel for a stress free, peaceful break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff in the main restaurant could be more courteous at times. Food and drinks prices are high.

    Very comfortable bed, cool shady room which is appreciated when the weather is very hot; excellent staff at reception, delicious breakfast and excellent location and facilities -especially the pool and gym.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    10
    Great for a Romantic Weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    Location and style of the rooms as they were more like little cottages. Very quiet. A lovely place for a romantic getaway. Food in the main & al a carte restaurants 5*. Pleasant, friendly staff throughout. Pool area clean and felt secluded despite its location. Having drinks on the terrace was lovely overlooking the golf course and mountains. Took the courtesy taxi to the Marina, which was also worth a few hours out of the day to chill in one of the many bars/restaurants. Will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.3
    If you want a nice pool brill otherwise it is a rip off
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar service area were not vwry helpful and told me that my request for a simple tuna sandwich minus the vegetables was impossible bearing in mind they had done this for me via room service the night before. The main restaurant menu is very limoted for a hotel that is supposed to be high quality. I requested no pesto on my meal and was brought simole egg noodles with 4 tiny pieces of chicken minus the ham as advertised and was charged €20 plus for this. I have crohns disease and have to abide by some rules for my diet this has not been any problem until we went to this hotel making me feel that i was putting the staff out by making simple requests for my meals. They also complained they didnt understand when i questioned about the tuna sandiwich simply telling me this was the menu and it was impossible to change which i know is incorrect. Making me feel very saddened and thay i was causing them a problem.

    The bathroom was super clean. The pool area was gorgeous and the hotel looked gorgeous from the outside

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    9.6
    The facility is really great and secure especially if you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Apart from the breakfast, the food is APPALLING, I don't mean poor, I mean that can not be eaten. But there are plenty good restaurants near, so just be aware.

    The facility is really great and secure especially if you have small children. The staff is great. There is a great "miniclub" for children.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    10
    Wonderful golfresort set in the beautiful Sotogrande hills
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and spacy rooms placed in small houses on the Property. Breakfast buffet the best we have experienced in Spain. Nice golfcourse in good condition at a reasonable rate for resident guests

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel in general
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Confusion with bookings Lack of consideration by part of the recepcion in having cleaning staff knocking onnyour door so early for room service they should be made aware that we arrived at 6am and had to leave at midday

    Hotel and facilities cleanliness

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.2
    Refreshing Almenara Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Transportation to Sotogrande beach areas limited and not guaranteed.

    Excellent breakfast. Tranquility. Beautiful pool area and grounds. Staff very friendly and attentive. Marvelous sea and golf terrain views from parts of the property.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The baby highchairs provided at dinner were very outdated and not suitable for a 6 month old (the staff were so great, had we raised this I'm sure they would have found a solution)

    Made to feel incredibly welcome. Staff regularly checked if there was anything they could do for us. The half board option was very good value, the food was great and well presented, and the menu was interesting enough for a 3 night stay. Maybe not the ideal place for those after a more lively holiday but perfect for a relaxing golf break. It was our first break away as parents to our 6month old and we were a little daunted but a cot was promptly brought to the room and the staff were wonderful with him, from always taking time to chat to him, checking the temperature of his milk, to even taking away fallen dummies to be washed. We opted to upgrade to the junior suite on arrival, and while we didn't make much use of the extra space ourselves, the rooms were lovely and very spacious, including a small garden area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    A very relaxing break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    very comfortable room, friendly staff. My second visit. excellent pool . pool bar with good service. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Excellent choice at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    Will come again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The terrace bar wasn't open early.evenings

    The staff were friendly and delightful. The hotel was set in very pretty grounds. The flowers were fabulous.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    7.1
    seen better days
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service in the restaurant was incredibly slow and haphazard. The check in clerk was selling vouchers for the dinner and showed us the menu but forgot to mention that it is for a VERY selection of dishes. The resort has seen better days and could do with an update. the breakfast buffet is excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    9.6
    A warm welcome at a fabulous hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing, the concierge drove us to our room in a golf buggy because we were in a rush. Bathroom was lovely and the breakfast was brilliant- even serving cava!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    excellent hotel and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    that we could stay longer

    hotel was lovely. the staff were so friendly and helpful. breakfast was amazing...... loved the whole experience and would definitely be visiting again. the pool side was amazing too, lots of sunbeds. the whole hotel and grounds were maintained beautifully.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Resort seems to have been invaded by Essex and their feral offspring loudly ordering pizzas.

    Absolutely stunning property that is well maintained. Staff very helpful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.9
    Lovely stay ! We enjoyed our short golf vacation at Almenera!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice staff , always helpful , great breakfast ! When we needed to leave early for departure the breakfast was available 15 minutes prior to the regular opening time . Nice pool - Will try to come again !

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Very enjoyable two days and look forward to returning again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal in the restaurant was disappointing. Staff were excellent but the food was lacking. There seemed to be a problem with the local wildlife! Birds (sparrows) were constantly in the breakfast restaurant and on the cereal counter in particular. I have nothing against birds but please, not on food at breakfast.

    Excellent location, very helpful and courteous staff. Breakfast was lovely with an excellent selection, really spoilt for choice. Rooms were large with a huge bed that was very comfortable. Bathroom excellent with all amenities.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    10
    Food was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the evening restaurant maybe a bit slow when it came to the desert I had to call the waitress to order I think they should have been more on top but almost perfect

    Food was great

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    Lovely Hotel-more like a holiday park as the rooms are...
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little out of the way

    Lovely Hotel-more like a holiday park as the rooms are outside away from the main hotel desk/lobby. Nicely sized rooms and bathroom. Ask to have a room near the pool. Great secluded hotel within a gated community. Nicely located for the Polo and Golf enthusiast otherwise a bit out of the way. Fabulous breakfast variety. I have to thank the hotel staff who brought me medication after falling ill at 1am!!!! Thank YOU

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.8
    Elegant hotel in a prestigious environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The the huge, second bathroom of the disabled room is hardly usable for a wheelchair user. The hand wash basin is too high to even brush the teeth. The bathroom is flooded when taking a shower.

    Elegant hotel in a prestigious environment. Pretty and comfortable rooms, the staff is extremely friendly.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant golfing hotel but you need a car to drive to local facilities
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As stated the lack of character unless you are a golfing fanatic.

    attractive room, good breakfast, It was a pleasant place to stay but it very much feels like a golfing hotel so lacks a bit of character if this is not your interest. It is located within Sotogrande Alta (beautiful but faceless large houses) and you require a car to access local sites. It does have a swimming pool which looks lovely but even guests have to pay 16 euros daily to use the pool which I think is wrong.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    6.3
    How to make a shambles of an excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled of paint and was musty. We had two disastrous experiences in the restaurant.

    Reception staff were good. Spa was excellent. Hotel PR executive saved the hotel's bacon.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.5
    the restaurant spoilt it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The food in the restaurant was on the second nite not good, clearly microwaved without any vegetable or salad, the cod was cold and the pork was the worst I have ever had - we walked out in disgust.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel with amazing scenary and comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bottled water provided as courtesy and the closest supermarket is located 15 minutes away by car. You can refill your bottle when having a breakfast in the morning but if you don't want to pay 4 euros for a small bottle of water, make sure you buy them beforehand.

    Everything was perfect. We booked two doubles for our family and rooms were located right next to each other. Very comfy beds and lots of space. Didn't have kettle but when requested, staff brought a kettle, plus tea bags and sugar. Best breakfast we had in andalucia as well. If I ever go back, I will definitely gonna stay here.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    6.7
    Lovely hotel, excellent location, decent value for money. Just don't eat there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The evening meal was appalling. My wife (they knew she was 8 months pregnant) was served lukewarm chicken (barely warm) and when she sent that back they gave her a lump of greasy cod. The waiter then informed us that it was "good food" when we complained. They eventually knocked some drinks off the bill but only after we insisted that something needed to be done when we left the hotel. They were unable to provide my wife an edible main course.

    The room was lovely, good location and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    7.1
    Enjoyable and comfortable stay; but not cheap, and by no means perfect
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee- or tea-making facilities in the room.

    Loved the fact that the accommodation was more chalet-like, rather than hotel-like. Loved the plentiful self-service buffet breakfast. Also appreciated the fact you could park close to your accommodation.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    8.8
    Outstanding position and spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The orange juice served at breakfast was not truly freshly-squeezed orange juice. On one day it had definitely started fermenting, and I had to advise other guests not to drink it. for a Hotel of this 4* quality, this should not happen. Even the local 2* Hotel Patricia in Torreguadiaro manages to serve freshly squeezed orange juice.

    Location and setting, with breakfast terrace overlooking the hills and sea. Wifi throughout despite campus-type setting. Spacious rooms, some with views.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    9.2
    Lovely place for the wedding reception we attended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls in our room needed to be painted in areas. The plates for the breakfast hot food were cold and the toaster machine was not working very well. Need to add grab rails in the bathroom.

    Nice area/location Nice big and clean bathroom Lovely spacy bedroom Plenty of wardrobe space.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel for Golfers but not for tourists..
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its A golf Hotel,, you need transport to go anyplace other than the hotel complex,,No hospitality tray in room.. Drinks are very expensive, G & T 17 €..

    Hotel is excellent and extensiblely layed out,,Some rooms are quite away from reception..

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    8.8
    nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lunchtime meal in the restaurant was a little over priced and underwhelming in terms of quality

    Great location, nicely set out. comfortable and spacious room

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    8.3
    Nice and clean area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was supposed to get a discount because of an event in the area but because I didnt book directly but via Booking, I was told this discount couldnt be given.... not very flexible / friendly.

    Nice and clean area. Good rooms

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    9.6
    Great high position. Golfers and families friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 15 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    English breakfast sausages were not!.. Not enough shade available by the pools .

    Pleasant staff, wonderful views and amenities. Clean rooms and pools ..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    5.4
    Could do with an upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit remote and very expensive considering the location. The breakfast was alright albeit not inspiring and the food in the restaurants wasn't really up to par.

    The hotel is comfortable

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The key cards had to be changed every other time. The food could have been better. Encountered a few problems communicating as sometimes there wasn't anyone speaking at least some English. Not enough sun beds around the pool. The beach club has a charge to enter but the beach itself is sad looking, so we mainly paid for the access to the pool which was a waste of money as we had a pool at the hotel

    Beautiful hotel with amazing views throughout. Exceptionally good work of the concierge securing horse riding lessons for the children. Friendly personnel. The complimentary shuttle was a gem taking us to the horse riding and beach clubs

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    2.9
    Terrible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the stay was dreadful. Staff were pleasant but lacked knowledge of the local area and we're not very helpful when approached about other resturants in the area.Service was poor and slow overall. Room cleanliness was awful even when housekeeping cleaned which was often not till late afternoon. Food quality and choice was poor and cleanliness of the restaurant serving breakfast and lunch always looked dirty. The hotel had not much entertainment in the evenings. Was outraged when my family and I were asked to pay 16 euros each to use the pool in the spa as paying guests. Would not recommend this property. To some extent it ruined the holiday as it was far out from the local area and activities and resturant choice in the hotel was limited.

    Not much to like about this property.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    4.6
    I will not be returning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very high prices for everything. Bed very uncomfortable. Wifi connection, not good, kept disconnecting. Dinner was ridiculous, had to pay extra if "chips" were added to your steak! I just paid half board for this? Not happy.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast better than last time. Good golf in courses near the hotel. Don't bother with Almenara Gol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    See above

    Croissants glazed. Unnecessary! Small buffet area and held up by poor toaster so Q occupies what little space available. Main courses in heated dishes could be hotter.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful, enjoyable, quiet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location quite remote

    Lovely pool and good staff. Fabulous views.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.1
    Great Spa - facilities and staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Needs an overhaul... Lobby bar not open during the day.

    Great Spa - facilities and staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Flying ants in bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Flying ants in bathroom Not great service by pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel with the best breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our wedding night and they did not do something extra for us, perhaps a little gesture in the room would have made it extra special for us!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Relaxing and provided everything that I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike.

    Staff were welcoming, friendly and very efficient.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Classy place to visit. Beautiful restaurant settings in both restaurants, and lovely pool setting.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    10
    Amazing bed, rooms, pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing bed, rooms, pool...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was very good with much to choose from and gym was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very good with much to choose from and gym was well equiped

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    10
    Location and service
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and service

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Beautiful breakfast in a superb location attended by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful breakfast in a superb location attended by dedicated and smiling staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Staff couldn’t speak english
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff couldn’t speak english

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Stay here regularly and it's the first time problem I have had a problem with anything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ants in bathroom and shower didn't work.

    Amazing views and breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room too far from main building, had to queue for dinner, queue for breakfast (groups of golfers)....

    magnificent views on th golf course

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    The position , the set up , the golf , the staff , the food ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position , the set up , the golf , the staff , the food , everything was excellent 10/10

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    10
    Perfect weekend in the perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly and professional response of the staff. Generous buffet breakfast with extended hours. Beautiful and top ranking spa.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely location with great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View and the room was cold heating not put on prior to arrival which would of made the difference.

    Food staff and peaceful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful definitely be back for golf in the spring
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities overall perfect

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Will happily recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A tad tired and dated now.

    Breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    10
    Excellent value for money in a high quality hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Superb value for money. Extremely friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    9.2
    Happy, good place, good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poor staffing at reception - shouldn't take 15 minutes to be seen, especially when not busy.

    excellent value for money

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    I car damage on the parking space.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I car damage on the parking space. Another car pushed the door of his car to our and left damages that we had to pay for.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    Ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/coffee facilities in room & having to pay to use the spa

    Room size & views

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    Great
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service

    CLean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    9.6
    Very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice. Staff great.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: