Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Mercader 4 stars

Eje 2-7A, Polígono Alimentario Mercamadrid, Villa de Vallecas, 28053 Madrid, Spain

#269 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 995 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    6.8

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 74

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I did NOT like the asian grup Thes was in hotel and get Up 5 morning and scream and shut the dors i was police to get Them to police station in ordet for Them to lost the fly just to teach Them to respekt other pople from hotel ex i Got late at hotel i get in bed 1 and in NOT fare for some ipoctits come from Asia to dont have respekt and let other rest i myself go 3 time and say to Them to speak slow and have respect is like i speak to animals No perception

    I like the guy from reception Oskar was Nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The buffet was poor and its a potty cos the rest was fantastic

    The buffet was a bit simple and unhealthy, it could do with improvements, the rest was very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not walkable to anything. Staff not very friendly. Breakfast not worth the price. Furniture in lobby a bit worn.

    Good price for one night stay. Room was comfortable and clean. Free parking right in front of the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    After requests via website, via phone and via email, they will NOT send me a copy of the invoices for my accounts records. Wastes loads of my time their admin is useless.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was my second stay here, I think it has changed owners since the first time I stayed. The dining options are very poor, the 'restaurant' choices are a set menu with 2 options for each course, listed fresh squid but was very poor and all ingredients are clearly frozen, only bonus is it is very cheap but would rather pay more for quality fresh food. Breakfast was a slight improvement but again very poor compared to most hotels I stay in.

    Room was comfortable, bathroom was nice and clean and wifi good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Went to the restaurant story the hotel and was told to wait but there were at least 20 tables where no one was sitting. I don't need to be escorted to a table. In all my years of travelling which is over 20 years this was the first time I was asked to wait at a restaurant in the hotel. I believed I was paying for service but this person gave no service at all and the ridiculous part is that there were more empty tables than tab,Es with people at them. I believe this person is on a power trip. The rest of the staff were good.

    It was quiet.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's basically a Hotel in an industrial estate behind a fenced compound. Basically you have to drive anywhere. Had to drive to the Metro, I thought I could walk!! I think next time I will pick a hotel in central Madrid and put up with the €10 per day car parking fee.

    Free Car Parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location (When you enter the hotel you have to pass through a security gate were you are questioned every time about where are you heading) The breakfast choices were very limited The room was too small and the bed was not comfortable

    The staff were friendly and the free parking

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wallpaper in bedroom peeling. Window openings in bedrooms are dangerous & need to be restricted. Out of town (but city centre is accessible by bus & metro in 30 minutes). Décor is mostly brown & rather dull.

    Hotel was very good value. Air conditioning in rooms. Excellent value dinner available in hotel restaurant Monday to Saturday. Staff very friendly & helpful even though many did not speak English. Good pubic transport to all areas of Madrid. Bedrooms & bathrooms very clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thr location is not the best if you are not by car, but we were so no problem for us.

    Spotless!! Bed very comfortable, beautiful room, will sure be back again.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is in industry/logistics zone. Entering thru the gate where some of the security guards(no police) asking you to show them your ID or passport (during weekend) and they take your personal informations. Dont pay at the gate! Tell them you are going to the hotel.

    Clean room, good parking, good wifi

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better vegetarian option on menu del dia would be good.

    Clean, comfy hotel which is amazingly convenient for Madrid Open tennis. Staff very friendly and helpful. Must be good as third time we have used it when attending tennis tournament.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The front desk staff was not helpful and friendly. He assigned a no smoking room. I arrived after midnight and was very tired. I went down to have my room change, I told him that I don't smoked and I always request for a non-smoking room. He said that was the only room available and showed me my reservations. I showed him that the document specifically says "no fumada". When he saw it, that's the only time he changed it. Otherwise, he wouldn't even bother. He didn't read the booking at all and probably gives out smoking rooms. He didn't even apologize for the mistake. So, make sure you double check your reservations.

    The place is clean.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant is a disaster. Fast frozen pizza or a choice of chicken, beef or pork... that is not a restaurant. The location is in a middle of a wholesale district near Madrid. You need a car to get in. Don't flatter yourself with the public transport. I know there is a bus, but it still takes an hour to get in...

    Nicely built hotel with quality materials

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in desk is a little bit mess, but you spent there 3min per stay, so no problem

    The location is great if you have a car – just 15min drive from a center and close to highway (but still quiet!). The bathroom is very modern and nice. Check out was literally 15sec!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange smell in the room Have to pay for breakfast

    Complimentary water Restroom is very nice Television channels are good Staff is very friendly and helpful Enough space in the room, and the entire hotel

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely need a car to get to Madrid. Not much in the area around hotel.

    Free parking, secure area. Very comfortable room and very clean. Breakfast was good. Food and drink available readily in bar area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Had to pay tolls each time to get into the hotel area. Breakfast considered high price for what you received Still had to drive to station to get inot town. Definitely need a car

    Staff were friendly. Room OK for price Good car parking.Good WIFI

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very restricted public areas. No pool Not the place to stay if you want interesting things to do in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. This hotel is inside a wholesale (not retail) market. Be prepared for the gated checkpoint as you arrive. No convenient bus or metro. Very restricted menu choice.

    Free parking, inexpensive taxi ride to Madrid centre. Great value accommodation. Drinks and food very reasonably priced. North facing rooms on upper floors have a great view of Madrid. Good sized, pleasant, clean bedrooms.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a little bit out of the way hard to get to and ublic transport is every 30 minutes also the hotel restaurant didnt have a very god choice considering its the only place to eat

    Was clean and lovely rooms very nice hotel

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff did not understand english language(not all)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice Hotel. Staff are very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Todo fue estupendo excelente

    Todo en general

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was a little poor, in terms of variety and quality of the products.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Connection to public transportation

    Car park

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was on an industrial estate, staff could be quite blunt and unwilling to help

    Modern and clean

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the middle on nowhere

    Nice hotel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi not good, breakfast not great but price reasonable and where I wanted to be

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location and little variety for breakfast.

    Very clean and the staff is very helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern and clean situated about 6 miles outside the city which suited me. I simply caught an Uber into town and avoided the chaotic traffic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was perfect

    The staff was really nice and helpful. The room is big and comfy

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable and nice room. I definitely recommend! :)

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor food and drink. The menu and overall dining experience could be a lot better!

    Comfortable, clean room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice and safe place to stay. Juan Carlos, the front desk agent was very helpful. It will definitely be the top on the list when going back to Madrid.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Temperature of the hotel

    Near of the highway

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hotel's location is pretty bad.

    there wasnt much to like

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked more choices for evening meal. Set menu or pizza. None of my preferred choices.

    . Breakfast was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no pubic transport nearby. You need a vehicle

    very clean and comfort

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a great value budget hotel if you have a car or don't mind catching a bus to the tube

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to enter in the bathroom because the door was open very close to the shower

    Comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Food good but basic and menu limited. Quite a way from the centre of town - about €20 in a taxi.

    Good level of facilities for the price, very clean and staff helpful.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Buses from the area do not run every 10 minutes as suggested by hotel rather more like every half hour! The metro from Legazpi was brilliant. Cost of taxi from metro back to hotel in absence of a bus was €10. Breakfast was poor and not value for money.

    Availability of parking so close to Madrid was beneficial. Pizzas were great!

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing I really didn't like was the distance from the heart of the city but it was still a good experience staying there.

    Hotel was super nice and inexpensive. Staff was super friendly and the hotel itself just had a modern and clean feel to it.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    • Couple

    No room service but we received a call to collect our freshly cooked meal Old big box TV yet few good English channels Slightly odd location No duvet cover No coffee making facilities

    Good food Brilliant staff Few luxury touches in room and around lobby Comfortable bed Fab bathroom Pet welcome/friendly 12 o'clock check out Traffic free zone Free car park Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor quality food and wine. Lights that didn't work, large rust spot in the bath and a nightmare to find.

    The staff were very pleasant and the shower was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed wasn't so good and it was a twin instead of a double bed. The restaurant is like a schoolcantine. You pay 10euros for a three course meal with wine. All of it in a low quality, but not bad if you just need to fill your belly.

    Nice room, good shower, well priced, free parking at the hotel. To go into the city; drive to a closeby metro station and park for free. For example ciudad de los angeles.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms are too small for 4star hotel,TV was very old and small.

    The bathroom was large and comfortable. The staff was helpful. Internet connection was good. Breakfast was reasonable. Good parking place. Good security in the aria. .

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was no information given that hotel is in closed restricted area. No metro station in walking distance from hotel

    Very clean. Near bus stop. Free of charge parking

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel Mercader Easy access from the motorway system but not at all convenient to Madrid City Centre. The location is most unattractive as it is situate in a large wholesale fruit, meat and fish market and entry is controlled by a somewhat intrusive security system. To get to the Madrid City centre it is necessary to take a bus to Sierra de Gaudalupe Metro (€1.50 e.w.) and a Metro to Sol station in central Madrid (€2 ew). Parking is free, ample and secure. The hotel reception and bedroom is 4 star quality and the staff are most helpful.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location could have been problematic if staying midweek when all the markets would have been open.

    provided comfortable overnight accommodation Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's quite far from the center, but that was not really an issue for us, as we were traveling by car.

    The room was large enough, very clean, the wi-fi worked great. Free parking at the location. The price was very good.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The location is very bad. And it is in the south park of Madrid. If you go to the north part, the trafic in the morning is heavy

    The hitel itself it is nice. If you just go to stay in the hotel and not working in the neigbourhood, it is ok

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    If you dont have car , Very bad location Far from center , you have to change many times to get the center or airport Industrial area , you will not see anything except trucks !!

    Spacious , clean room Nice toilet Good wifi

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Characteristic smell of towels and bedding

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mobile beds! One flat pillow per guest! No duvet cover

    Staff and cleanliness

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    La atencion en la ecepcion lamentable

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Couple

    Twice we went the wrong way on the M40.

    Splendid meal at supper time.

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Dirty ! scruffy ! shower not working ! toilet not working! Lights hanging off wall

    Leaving !

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    the location is far from city center

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Parking

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Many trucks and buses because it's the centre of the wholesale market zone

    Easy access to City, free parking, great staff

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bathroom

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    • Group

    Quarto tranquilo e confortável, apesar de já revelar alguns danos (piso danificado à entrata para a csa de banho). Bom pequeno almoço.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi was not available during our stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    internet down for two days because of strike

    Facilities and modern

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The thief posing as a cab driver... He set the meter to start at 6 euros!

    I love the quiet away from town it was clean as a whistle

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location (more specifically - the need to go through the check point every time you go in).

    everything, but the location.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    • Family with young children

    No air con and very bad food

    Nice room

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Old CRT tv

    Modern hotel

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Restaurant. Blahh

    In out of the rain.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Access was complicated but not impossible

    Great staff and value for money

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Location, although it is served by good public transport. We managed to get the bus and metro combo even on Christmas day

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast a little lacking in variety

    Cleanliness. Room Ensuite WiFi Parking

There are also 38 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 74

Browse Hotel Mercader traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: