Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of NH Madrid Nacional 4 stars

Paseo del Prado, 48, Madrid City Centre, 28014 Madrid, Spain

#102 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2378 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.8
    Nice, clean place close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The parking facility was very tight and the front desk had very little information about it since it was operated by another company. By pure dumb luck was I able to catch the attendant during the limited hours he was onsite. Also, we were informed the evening before we were to leave that central Madrid was being shut down due to a bicycle race. Again, the front desk had limited information. We left at 6:30 am to avoid road closures. They should have been better informed.

    The location in Madrid was perfect. It was just a short walk to all major attractions and the train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    5.4
    What a waste of money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Viea and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't swing a actin the room which cost over £200 per night. Breakfast was on offer at a special price of 22.5 euro each!! We had breakfast in another nearby hotel got 8.8 euro!

    Looking after our luggage, after checkout.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    7.9
    Would be more than happy to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you want a quiet environment outside the hotel front door this hotel is not for you

    A week before we stayed at the NH hotel further up the road, this hotel was far better, the room larger public areas bigger and it appears that there is a major refit under way. Just across the road from Attocha station and a short walk to all the art museums.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with View and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything!

    Good location (Puerto del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Mercado de San Miguel and the Prado Museum are walking distance away), pleasant staff, surprisingly spacious room with a good view and I particularly appreciated being able to check in early!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Although a very short stay , we truly enjoyed the comfort of the hotel and its helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit noisy at times in the night hours from the street traffic. But that is quite unavoidable because of its location by a busy main street and so close to the central railway station.

    Modern, very clean hotel with excellent staff and facilities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Great place to stay in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was expensive, 26euros for breakfast. Look for cafeterias in neighborhood where you can eat a very decent meal for a fraction of the cost.

    Good location. Clean, comfortable, modern. Botanical gardens are across the boulevard. Prado museum within walking distance. Use red double decker buses to visit entire city inexpensively, hop on and off kind of thing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Everything a good hotel should be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We arrived at the hotel after a thirty hour trip, at 10 am tired and cheerless. Hotel checkin time was 3 pm. Maria Luisa the receptionist understood our request for earlier access to the room but advised the room was not ready. We sat nearby expecting a very long wait. In five minutes Maria Luisa came over and advised she had arranged early cleaning and that we could go to our room in ten minutes! A rare hotel employee. She continued to help in every possible: trouble with lost luggage, with our technology,etc. she made our stay a pleasure. The hotel itself has an ideal position. Within walking distance of he Prado and the Reina Sophia gallery. After a superb breakfast in the morning, we walked across the road to the station and caught the train to Toledo. A memorable night in Madrid. We’ll certainly be going back to Nacional. Everything a good hotel should be!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    Vers good hotel for value so more good time in the city !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obviously the view from the room since we did not have one, and one strong suggestion warm up the Lobby!!

    The staff at Tablafina was really good and spot on regarding their suggestions. The room was like a mini suit with the bathroom separated from the bed room, we liked it Location is great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel in good location; it's worth it to upgrade room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room looked out to a blank wall in a light well, which made the already small room feel claustrophobic.

    Breakfast had a wide selection of offerings, made eggs to order, and the dining room was lovely.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    10
    We really liked the hotel and discussed looking for your hotel brand for our future travels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have liked more English speaking channels and more movie channels available

    Great location Friendly and helpful staff Very clean Nice bathroom area with privacy door Great breakfast buffet The bar tenders were wonderful The restaurant offered on request ice at the bar which was great, my wife and I are used to having ice available 24X7

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    6.7
    Guys in the reception were so kind;
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was being redesigned; so reception was so noisy and entrance a little bit unsafe. There is no good indication outside of the hotel, so it was hard to find it.

    Guys in the reception were so kind; place is well located.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent stay and really enjoyed our visit to Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The entrance is a small sidewalk next to a main road. Can't really think of anything unpleasant.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Excellent breakfast with a lot of variety and fresh products. We were happy that we included that! Goods rooms with everything you need for a short stay. Location just next to Atoche train station which has a direct connection to the airport!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    Great place to sightsee Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle. Pricey mini bar. (Price list was also conveniently not there for first 5 days of stay.)

    Great choice of food and breakfast options. Delivered to room if required. Quiet overall despite city centre location. Right near to metro and train station. Saved us a lot on taxis.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended. Would definitely stay here again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillows weren't very comfortable.

    The location was great. A 5 minute walk to the train station and a 15 minute walk to the the city centre. The hop on hop off bus stopped right outside the hotel which was convenient. The botanical gardens are across the road and plenty of restaurants and shops close by. The rooms were lovely and modern, nice and clean. The bathroom was spacious, the shower was amazing! The air conditioning was refreshing on those hot summer days. Staff were friendly and helpful. We were given a refreshing bottle of water on arrival as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    I'll be back Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room with Viea and Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a big pricey, it had a good selection but definitely higher than what you can find outside

    SIMPLY AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! I fell in love with Spain and this hotel and its staff was a big part of that

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    superb and comfortable
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bath room facilities like provision of tooth brush, tooth paste and razors for shaving, provision of an iron, and facilities for preparation of tea/coffee in the room would add to the comforts of the guests

    SPACIOUS rooms, excellent location, walking distance from the train station, excellent variety of breakfast and courteous staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Location was great, very near to three of the best museums...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paseo del Prado can be crowded and noisy at times (but there are well insulated windows!).

    Location was great, very near to three of the best museums in Madrid and the main train station, and within walking distance to Plaza Mayor and Puerta del Sol.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    8.3
    A perfectly OK but standard city centre hotel, very well located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast fairly chaotic - lots of people in a cafeteria style restaurant. Not relaxing.

    Good location only 10 minutes from the Prado museum. The desk staff were extremely helpful when I had problems getting my car out of the underground car park (which is a public car park not run by the hotel).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing I'll be back 10 out of 10 from service, comfort and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with View and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at check in was very friendly and helpful, bedroom with nice balcony with views of Madrid, breakfast included in price and only for 5€ more I enjoyed in bed. I'll come back definitely. 9 out of 10

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice place to stay for a few days and discover the city.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Wi-fi turned off from time to time. Also there is no opportunity to increase air-condition temperature more than 24,5 C. It was not a big problem but hot meal like scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon is not provided all the time. So you need to order it when comes for breakfast. It can take from 5 to 15 min - so plan what are you interested in if you hurry up and can't be late somewhere.

    Breakfast was great! They provided everything from pancakes to scrambled eggs with sausages and bacon, from cakes to sandwiches and soup. Also you could get smoothie and champagne (sort of brunch?). Well, room was clean. In fact, restaurant on the first floor was good. Moreover, the bus stop was literally near the hotel. The same as it was about 200-300 m from the train station where airport bus arrived.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    6.3
    It appeared like it was going to be a high end hotel but it was more like a budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was hot and the AC did not respond. The water did not drain without taking out the drain cap. The parking situation was very difficult. And getting out took us a long time.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel between Atocha and the Barrio de las Letras
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The AC was hard to programme and didn't meet my expectations.

    Comfortable and spacious room in an excellent location between Atocha and the Barrio de las Letras.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    10
    Wonderful hotel very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Total first world problem (not really a problem): other NH hotels in Madrid have had nespresso coffee machines in the rooms and I was sad that this one didn't but it was honestly not a big deal. The room was still great!

    The beds were extremely comfortable and the rooms were very clean and modern. I really liked the bathroom and thought it was clean, brightly lit, and a great set up (sink was outside of where the shower and toilet were). There was also a small gym on the second floor which was great. The front desk staff were extremely nice and the location is GREAT. It's a very quick walk to all of the art museums and Retiro park. The AC worked well too!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    They upgraded my room for no reason and brought me a plate...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with View and Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    They upgraded my room for no reason and brought me a plate with fruit and macarons. Definitely would recommend, good location near Reina Sofia and the Prado as well as El Retiro.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    Perfecto! 10/10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A kettle and coffe/ tea in the room

    Loved the location .. loved the whole experience from check-in to check-out. friendly and helpful staff .. walkable to the city area .. right next to the Station. Perfecto!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    8.3
    Very nice if you can deal with the noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room with View and Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Loud! The building is old so the walls and doors are thin. You can hear every little knock and bang outside. The doors in the hall slam super loud and woke me up every time. I wasn't able to sleep well here. If you are a deep sleeper, then this place is great.

    Location is excellent. Within walking distance to many attractions and very close to the park, museums, and Atocha station. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    7.9
    Lovely hotel definitely worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have been great to have a coffee maker or kettle in the room

    Very close to Atocha train station. Lovely rooms and clean facilities. Walking distance to supermarket restaurants and park

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    8.5
    nice location, close to metro and just a short walking distance from Atocha railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel location is just around the corner of a busy road, traffic never stop until past midnight hour, and our room is on the 3rd floor..the night can be quite warm in May, and yet we could't find the way to adjust the air con to our needs, we did try to open up and leave the glass window open, but hearing all those unwanted street noises leave you no choice than to close tight that window.

    perfect location, just a short walking distance from the Atocha railway station. close by to the Atocha metro station, and there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel, and the city hop on hop off bus also stop there.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was great, room was nicely set up and clean.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of natural light. Mattress quite hard.

    Breakfast was great, room was nicely set up and clean. The lighting was very good, in some ways making up for the lack of natural light.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    6.7
    Comfortable bed, friendly staff. Noisy rooms & a little overpriced for what you get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not soundproof rooms No coffee / tea / water included in the room Lifts

    Staff were friendly. Rooms extremely noisy, you can hear every little creek from next door! Very good location, opposite the park and close to restaurants / cafes for breakfast if you don’t have included with your stay. Madrid bus tour stop is right outside too! Very comfortable bed. We were unhappy with our first room - extremely cramped & smelt awful! My partner asked reception to change rooms and they did so straight away, we were moved to a much more comfortable room. I think the hotel is a little over priced for what you get. I would say you’re paying more for location rather than comfort! Perfect if you’re only in Madrid to explore.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Nice stay during business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The parking option is expensive but the price is in line with parking garages in the vicinity.

    The Hotel has a very nice location with great access to public transport and access to the highways. The centre of Madrid is in walking distance. The breakfast buffet had a good selection and variety.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel, well located in a fabulous city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I asked for a quiet room and this is what we got and we slept well. If you choose this option for a standard room you will have a room without a view. There are windows of course but they overlook one of two small inner courtyard areas one of which has a glass/perspex roof which means you cannot look at the sky. To know what the sky looks like when you get up in the morning, for me is an important part of deciding what to wear! The alternative to a quiet room is one overlooking one of the two busy roads on either side of the hotel. They really are busy too, so bear that in mind. I have stayed here twice and would still choose a quiet room if I returned. The hotel corridors are all white (floors and walls) and the room service staff all wear white, it does produce a rather un-nerving clinical effect, almost like visiting a friend in hospital rather than returning to a nice hotel room (and they are definitely nice). The hotel is well located for visiting the fabulous art galleries close by but less good for finding a good restaurant in the close vicinity, unless that is you like McDonalds or KFC which are very near neighbours.

    I chose this hotel because of its location, being near to the railway station, the Thyssen and the Prado. It fits this requirement perfectly. It's also close the Botanical Gardens and an easy walk to Retiro Park which is always such a joy to visit. The standard rooms are small but very comfortable. The breakfasts are fabulous, a wonderful range of very well presented food and with very efficient staff topping up the contents of the serving area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    5.4
    Awful front desk staff, no aircon and tired rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The check in process was awful, it took 25 minutes and they could not find our reservation, instead of saying 'sorry just a moment' we stood there in silence whilst 4 staff ignored us. The house keeping did not clean our room till after 4pm we mentioned this at reception and the awful staff didn't even apologize just said 'housekeeping work till 5' - I have never stayed in a hotel before when my room wasn't cleaned by 4.15pm. Despite paying for an air conditioned room the central air con was not turned on and when requested was told it would not be turned on - it was 25 degrees out. I was offered no compensation for this advertised part of the room not being available, my partner and I sweated all nights we stayed. I would never stay again. There were stains on the floor in our room.

    Tablafina was lovely and the staff their were excellent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.2
    The breakfast is nice, the bed is comfortable, the reception...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The elevators is old and crowded. The hot water flow in the bathroom is not big enough(maybe it seem the kinds of environment protection)

    The breakfast is nice, the bed is comfortable, the reception staff is friendly and politely, the location is closed both downtown and sightseeing. It is convenient to go airport by public transport.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Propre et bien placé
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked two seperated beds but ended up with one king size bed and they didn't do anything to fix this. No iron in the room and I had to stalk them to finally get one.

    Propre et bien placé Clean and well located

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    A great hotel in a brilliant location and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately our room was located close to the lift on the 4th floor which meant we could hear the lift sound through the night although shutting the bedroom door did help. Having tea and coffee facilities and an iron in the room would make the hotel perfect! All round a lovely stay.

    Despite arriving prior to the allocated check in time, reception were extremely helpful in locating a room which was already available for us so we could use the room immediately - following our flight this was perfect so we could refresh before heading out to explore. The location was perfect and the bus stop directly outside the hotel was a bonus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    7.5
    Fire alarm went off several times with no response from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fire alarm went off several times with no response from anyone. Also several doors slammed and yelling in the hallway throughout the night- nice hotel but we had no sleep!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A suggestion for improvement - putting a kettle and Nespresso machine in the rooms. I stayed at 3 other NH hotels during my trip and they all had these in the room which was fantastic. This hotel didn’t though.

    Staff on reception were lovely, and let me check in early. Gave me a choice of rooms - one facing the street and one interior facing. I chose the interior room because the hotel is in a major street and I was concerned about the noise. The room was great - very quiet and comfortable. At times it was too hot - something I have found travelling around Spain - there seems to be a tendency to centrally overheat the hotels. I was able to open the window with no problem though. The hotel is very modern, and there is a great tapas bar/cafe in the foyer. I found the staff there very helpful and friendly. The hotel is in a great location to visit the Prado and other museums and it is 5 minutes walk from the Atocha train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    6.7
    Location and breakfast are good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite expensive rooms at this cost I would expect more. Actually there were no slippers, the rooms are very loud - you can hear litteraly everything what your neigbours do

    Location and breakfast are good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    8.8
    overall good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the room phone didnt work well

    it location was perfect, right next to the traun station and very close to tge botanical garden. the rooms were nice and had a nice view.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    8.3
    Great Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked room only - breakfast is expensive - 24 euro per person buys a lot of breakfast in the many surrounding cafes.

    An excellent location - the Reina Sofia is 200m away, Retiro Park is across the road and Atocha station is 5 minutes walk if you arrive or depart by train. The location does suffer from road noise but the double glazing is pretty much up to the job.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Great Location in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room service is not that good. We stayed for 5 nights and they did not change the sheets even once. The floor of the room was not cleansed at all.

    The location is perfect. The room was clean when we checked in.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.3
    Could be much better for this price, but still very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed there 2 times with a short break between (27-29 March + 31 March) The first time I got a room with unexpectedly small bed and very poor sound-protection. The second time was the same price, but with much better room

    Location is very nice The staff is friendly and helpful Everything inside is modern and stylish The breakfast is really worth its high price

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location for us, also because we came by car
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We booked a room with a view, but not really worth paying for. It was hot in the room, we turned the heating down and when we left in the morning we opened the window. When we came back in the afternoon the window was closed and they turned up the heat again. To warm in the room and we had to open the window and deal with the noice. Even with the window closed, there is still a lot of noice.

    Great location! Bus in front of hotel, parking under hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    8.8
    Good hotel at a wonderful spot.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The possibility of making tea in your room is always a bonus for me. That would have been good. Furthermore, my room smelled of smoke, perhaps the hotel staff smoke while they clean?

    Very good breakfast, fine bed and shower. That's what counts. The tapas in the restaurant were excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel but ask for a quiet room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was really noisy at night -we could hear the baby crying in the room next door and a lot of traffic noise but I guess this is to be expected in the location. Breakfast was good but expensive for what we actually ate.

    Very comfortable room, great for our two night stay. Perfect location for Reina Sophia. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.1
    great location, great staff, needs more attention to soundproofing the rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds were single beds pushed together that moved so we were forever falling in between the beds. The worst was the noise in the hallway. The doors seem to be hinged in a way that allows them to slam when you close them. The hallways were very noisy and there was virtually no soundproofing of the rooms at all. The front of the building is right on a busy street so needless to say, sleep was not easy.

    The location is perfect, very close to Atocha station and right across the street from El Prado Museum. The staff were very kind.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    The breakfast is amazing, with lots of variety and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast is amazing, with lots of variety and everything is very fresh. The hotel is quite central, perfect to get to know the central part of Madrid by foot in just a couple of days.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    8.3
    Easy to travel and to find good food around the hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was not soundproof, so I can hear some noise from the streets around hotel and even from the room next door.

    The hotel was very clean and the food for breakfast was good. Many restaurant surrounding the hotel with various sort of food. The location is very close to the main train station and the bus shelter is just in front of the hotel, so that it was very easy to go anywhere by public transportation.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable renovated hotel near major musems.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was cool-looking but uncomfortable to use. Dark-colored walls and very strong but uneven lighting from directly overhead are hard on female travelers who need to do hair or apply makeup. Fixtures are handsome but confusing- hit the wrong button when you are in the tub and you are soaked with an icy shower!

    Convenient location, pleasant boutique-style renovation of public areas and rooms. Lighting in the guest rooms is excellent. Good bed and large flat-screen TV. Everything worked. New double-glazed windows effectively shut out noise from the traffic outside. Staff was cheerful and professional. Everything in the breakfast buffet seemed fresh, and there’s a pleasant-looking wine bar/coffee shop in the lobby.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    6.3
    nice place to spend a short period!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was surprising that the reception people said they do not like at all when reservations are done via booking and others apps! They said, sometimes it is doses not match the offer made

    The location was great and the reception people attentive. It

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    10
    We felt at home ... we arrived at dawn and had dinner, we left at dawn and had breakfast! Great!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Better is impossible!

    The attention so specialized to the client, that we could feel in our own house during our short stay. We arrived at Madrid and the hotel at 2:00 am in the morning and the room service served us dinner! at that time! When we left we also left at dawn, at 4.00 am, and our breakfast was ready in the hotel lobby at that hour! They also called a taxi from the hotel so that we could travel safely to the airport. The lobby bar is very comfortable and quiet. It offers a varied and rich menu with varied drinks, juices, etc of good quality. The hotel is located in a quiet area and very well communicated, with access to all kinds of transport, restaurants, cafeterias and bars. Thank you very much especially Juan Parcis, who personally attended at dawn to arrive and leave the hotel. He is an incredibly attentive and efficient person, with a special gift to deal with clients. From the moment we arrived at the hotel he took charge of loading our bags and receiving us with a friendly WELCOME! Thanks to and thanks to Juan Parcis! We will return for sure!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.5
    Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast, I liked it, but could definitely be better. The staff is excellent and they do all they can to make you feel at ease, yet, there is not much variety of food offer.

    Location, room, comfort, and staff are all excellent. Breakfast could have been better but all in all was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    8.3
    Good location, just a couple hundred meters from the Atocha...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing major to report. Everything met my expectations.

    Good location, just a couple hundred meters from the Atocha railway station and El Retiro park - one of the top Madrid tourist attractions. The Prado museum is a 10 minutes walk. To city center is about 20 minutes (uphill though). Room was reasonably spacious, all the basic amenities were present. Breakfast was good with lots of options.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    5.8
    Greedy but beautiful location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Usually we pay extra charge on New year eve, and I asked for an expresso and they told me, our barman is not here. Why should I pay more on this night, when I will get less service and attention?

    The location is good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    9.6
    The location is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is amazing. It's a 5 to 10 minute walk away from a main train station in Madrid. It offers service to Barcelona, Seville and Toledo. Very closed to metro as well. The room is clean and a great value for its price. The staff was pretty friendly and was very helpful. Huge shoutout to Louis and Estella. Some accident happened during my stay and the staff have tried their best to defuse the situation and told us to wait for their manager to come back on Monday, who offered us a good solution. Thank you NH. I will always try to stay at your hotel whenever I visit Spain and I'm sure I will come back hungry for tapas and paella.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Good -affordable-no frills.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can expect basically no interaction, no willingness to recommend restaurants and no going over and above from the front desk staff here. So if it’s your first time to Madrid and you need a little assistance - this is not your place. They do not exchange money nor did I find them helpful or friendly in any way. The rooms, though very clean are noisey as to the adjoining room next door and are very stark and bland. I think they have tried to go with a modern retro look but it just comes off as looking stark and feeling like a dorm room and the temperature regulation ability felt like one too.

    Lobby Restaurant was wonderful.breakfast buffet upstairs was good but overpriced at $23-$25 for this caliber of hotel. Staff at both restaurants were very nice and went over and above. Lobby restaurant has wonderful amazing world class cheeses, tapas. Etc. The view over looking the park with the Christmas market was fabulous and having the ability to open the windows and here happy music and see the lights was wonderful for the holiday season.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    7.5
    Great location, comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room is poorly designed and really uncomfortable, especially the toilet part. Breakfast is 25 euros per person and is totally not worth it, coffee is one of the worst I ever had and also the food is nothing special. If you stay in this hotel don't waste your money for the breakfast, just go around the corner you will find a small cafe (managed by a nice guy) where you can have a nice breakfast spending 8 euros only.

    Great location, comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.6
    Stay in NH Madrid Nacional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is always warm to hot even with the AC on and at its lowest setting, the rooms are very loud (you can hear everything all your neighbors are doing), the beds and linens are the worst we have slept on affecting our rest nightly, the hotel gym's amenties are slim to none

    The location of the property was safe and convenient

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking is very complicated and all signs are not in english Car parking is extremely narrow No clear instructions in english on how to use the car parking No one to help you use the car parking when you enter plus when you want to pay and leave

    Location Staff Modern

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    no hesitation in recommending this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had great stay at this excellent hotel . From the great welcome we got from the very friendly staff on reception. Lovely room. Well worth it to add the breakfast you wont be disappointed. Great location near train station and galleries.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    8.3
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet door has no lock and leaves a gap which is not Good for privacy when staying with someone

    USB chargers in the room meaning you don’t need an adapter

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Great place to stay and will be back in the future
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit noisy in the early hours of the morning but nothing major!

    Everything was nice and rooms were clean. Receptionist was very helpful with everything including of how we could get around the city. Very ideal place to stay to get around with the metro across the road.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Good hotel near railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast service could be better. More attention to clients (by male waiters particularly) and not arguing with customers when they want a decent Spanish coffee (cortado/cafe con leche). That boiled coffee pot with ready-made coffee should be removed from all self-respecting up-market hotels. Leave it to hostels!

    Near railway station. Good beds. Good shower. Good b’fast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    Great stay in madrid. Loved the city. Loved the people. Clean and friendlyd place to stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    The staff was so warm, friendly, helpful. Great breakfast beyond our expectation. So diverse with many local home made specialties. Comfortable beds and spacious room. Do close to train from airport arrival. Near great restaurants in Barrie de Las letters. We enjoyed great tapas and local beer. Would stay there again. Very central location. Close to puerta del sol.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel buffet breakfast is 25 euro per person - way overpriced for what is on offer: cold cuts, pastries, yogurt, eggs, and the like.

    Location, location, location! Excellent access via Metro or Cernanias Atocha. Within walking distance to major museums, botanical gardens, and other attractions in Madrid. Many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    8.3
    Comfort near railway station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I never like bathrooms where the shower is in the tub. The shower was also difficult to operate without getting the water on your head.

    Splendid location, comfortable room. Very good b’fast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Generally OK, except for a poor experience at breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The first room I was given had been smoked in and smelled terrible. But they fixed this graciously and gave me a non-smoking room which was fine. - With the exception of the check-in counter, most of the personnel does not seem to speak any English at all. Communication at breakfast was impossible.

    Nice and spacey room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    Great location, great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is located close to the Prado gallery, Retiro park and near the area with lots of small, cozy restaurants. The standard room was rather small. I appreciated the cleanliness and good proper beds. I highly recommend this hotel for the location and also for their breakfast - absolutely great choice!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The ambience of the place was fantastic. Loved the bar with the cheese bar. The staff great and the most comfortable bed I’ve ever slept in . Hope to go back one day

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel, location, price, staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No wash cloths, but lots of towels.

    Food was excellent, staff was incredibly helpful, stay was excellent. Very well located too. In the heart of art museum area, good food, good shops, tour bus stop right in front of hotel. All excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    The whole family enjoyed their stay and we had a great time in Madrid.
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a little expensive but we did expect that as the Capity City.

    The hotel was very modern and clean, the staff were friendly some spoke a little more English than others but the overall stay was excellent and I would recommend this hotel to others. We had a really nice break, and will certainly return to Madrid.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    8.8
    On balance a good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff on reception were not friendly. Beware when you want to leave the car park - the English instructions to operate payment and get out are simply wrong. You will need to ask for help from someone who speaks Spanish.

    Excellent breakfast and very good position. Good, but expensive car park next to the hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    5.4
    Could do a lot better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Standard rooms are small and overpriced. Room was very hot and air conditioning unsatisfactory. Breakfast was 29 euros and poor value for money.

    Location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel without the extortionate price. Superb location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect hotel

    Arrived for the Champions League game between Tottenham H v Real Madrid on 17 Oct and could not ask for a friendlier and more pleasant hotel. Staff were superb, very helpful. It is a smart and chic place without the expensive price tab. I left at 5.00 am the next day and there was a small snack breakfast buffet laid out in reception which was a nice surprise.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: