Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal A Nuestra Senora de La Paloma

Esparteros, 12 3º planta, Madrid City Centre, 28012 Madrid, Spain

#15 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1943 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Very hard to find. Its located in a building between shops in the third floor. - Too noisy. Thin walls where you can hear everything.

    This place meant for the lone traveler. Its right next to plaza mayor' 3 min walking from the metro station. The room is well arranged with a comfy bed, good ac, shelf, and even a sink. However the actual toillete are out of the room in the hall but its fine. Recommended for 1 person who wants to stay 1-2 tops in Madrid

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nightmare. My room was beside the Privado room for staff - and they were super loud and were partying since i checked in. Asked to keep it down which was duly ignored. Around 11.45pm - I knocked on their door again, and the male receptionist was clearly intoxicated. I asked for him to be quiet and he threw or 'dropped' his remote control. I felt unsafe as she was quite rude and aggressive. I phoned Booking.com who got someone from customer service to speak to him. He eventually quieted down but i spent rest of the time not sleeping and checking out 6am to catch a train.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were basic but very clean and staff were friendly and accommodating. The location is so central and it is excellent value for money. Will definitely be back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy, I need to use my earplugs to fall asleep. The smallest room and bathroom ever I have seen (if you are above 38 European size, you cannot use the toilet). The price that I paid was equivalent to a 4 star hotel price and not worth for a hostel.

    It was very central

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find as a very small sign read 'La Paloma'. Didn't realise it was over another Hostal on the third floor.

    Bed very comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately everything was cool until after our check out we left baggage as there's Service "Luggage storage". Storage is just another empty room. We've asked for some confirmation on paper that our luggage has been left, but lady from reception assured us that everything is going to be save. We came back in the evening and there was different person in reception. We've said that we came back for our luggage and this man just opened the door to this empty room like we could take whatever there was left. Unfortunately in the same moment we saw that our luggage was just lying on the ground in the main hall, we took it and left. No asking, no confirmation. Fortunately nothing was missing, but this event left a bad taste. I do not recommend leaving your luggage there. Until it's in your room it's safe!

    It was quite cold when we were in Madrid, AC was working well as heater, room was really small, but cozy, close to the heart of Madrid and all of the attractions, I'd recommend staying there (I still think it's a bit overpriced just for 2 stars Hostel, but I understand it is the very center of capital of Spain with thousands of tourists).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on a fairly quiet side street just steps from Plaza Mayor, and only a few minutes walk to the Mercado San Miguel and all the great eateries on Calle Cava Baja. Super comfy bed - felt like memory foam! An unexpected luxury. 24 hour access and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very noisy, with street noise throughout much of the night and when I asked to stay an extra night, I was told that I would have to pay more then what I paid for the first nights.

    On the good side, the staff were helpful and the shower was great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing that I didn't like. It was so nice!

    I like the room, the bedding, the comfort, the price, the location which is at the centre near plaza mayor, the nice Filipina reception lady almost everything during my stay! Perfect for a comfortable budget stay in Madrid! Highly recommended!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noise. You could hear the neighbours and the outside trafic. The small double room is really small and the separtion from the bathroom to the room is a rolling plastic door. Not very classy..

    Clean, near the center and the metro station. It is ok if you get very tired in the bed and wake up before your neighbours do.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Common bathroom not that clean and need to be refurbished (shower!!!).

    Nice and cozy place for short stay. Small room with nice balcony. Great location and quality for this money.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reality of the Hostal did not match with what they have in the webpage. The room was very old, degraded, smelling humidity, and the streets behinds are very noisy.

    It was clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room really was a complete mess. Walls needed paint probably a year ago the bathroom looks like it was an afterthought and very poor materials were used to sandwhich it in to the room.

    Location is excellent staff was excellent

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise : My room was next to an office where a man phoned until after midnight. Sounded as if he were in my bed: wall was like paper. I knocked the wall and he gently moved to another office.

    Excellent location, nice staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The triple room that we stayed was good, beds were comfy. However the bathroom was very tiny.

    The location is very prime and 2 mins walk from SOL. It is very prime area with very easy access to metro (2mins). There are plenty of restaurants and fast food outlet near by at walking distance.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - room and especially bathroom is quite small, not really to modern hotel standards. However, price/quality it was very good.

    + location is very good. Close to Plaza mayor and Sol and 15min walking from musea area. Lots of bars and restaurants in the direct neighbourhood. + staff is really friendly. We travelled with a toddler and we got a lot of help from them.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was quite small, especially the bathroom and we could hear adjoining rooms when they were using the shower and toilet.

    The location was excellent, very close to Sol Square and the cleanliness and staff were excellent. The bed was very comfortable, appeared to be a foam matress and the room had air con, with a remote to set the optimum temperature.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I have book at the Hostal Nuestra Senora (on the 3rd floor of the building), but in fact I have been allocated to a tiny room on the 2nd floor of ...the Hostal Comercial. I guess this is common practice as they did not even mentioned or acknwoledged the fact that the room given was in a different establishment. The room per se was really small (could not fit 2 people). The pillows were extra hard and the shower not that hot. The TV was not working. The hostal is in a good location, but I think you can find better for the same price. At the end of my staying I received an email asking for me to write an excellent review for them. I found this really pushy and not nice.

    The Staff was smiley and nice. Helpful with my bags.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A Nice simple space, very close to Plaza Sol, with walking distances to most of the important neighbouhoods of Madrid. Highly recommend the place for travellers who are visting Madrid for a short stay and who want to see the cultural side of the city. The hostel is well kept, though the bathroom was very very small, but can be managed keeping in mid the location. Good that there is a lift to the facility, though it is small, 1 person with luggage can fit in.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Can't complain really.

    Very nice people. I had a shared bath which was occupied once, but clean and modern. The room was warm! (It was cold outside.) Room was rather old-fashioned, but I like that. Great location right in the center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property needs more attention - faucets moving and things fixed with duct tape

    Amazing location Very clean Shampoo, soap and shower gel provided Friendly staff Lift available

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location is really good, and staff was very helpful - giving guidance and tips. Room is what I expect to get for this price level, warm shower after long night out. You don't go to Madrid to sleep, you go there to attractions, food, drink, party and people :)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps the rooms are little bit small....in case you are looking for something more comfy.

    The staff is really friendly and helpful. Then for a quick night over it’s a good spot considering the location is one of the top. Great relationship quality-price

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed wasn't really comfortable. If you decided to stay here, remember to buy a pair of ear plugs.(the street gets noisy during the night and early morning)

    Great location, close to many museums and local shops. Friendly staff, clean room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Place is old and cramped and despite being super close to Madrid's center... compared to other more modern hostals in the area... this place is overpriced... by a lot.

    This is a hostal of the older types. Bathrooms are super cramped (had to sit sideways on toilet)... room was small. Buuuut... you couldn't be closer to the center of Madrid. So if you just really need a bed near the heart of Madrid... this place is great. That said... this place is NOT a great value or romantic or modern like more recently remodeled hostals like Hostal Lisboa. Owners need to invest in a refresh or lower prices. Service, by the way, was excellent and courteous. Their staff is great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The tiny bath/shower room. Movement was very restricted and the shower head difficult to keep in position.

    The excellent staff, the cleanliness of the property and the central location. The entire hostal experience was a delight.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    Joking apart, the ultimate weapon in the comfort of the room on a wet day in Madrid was the shower! It was superb and almost matched the ones in the Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky in Amsterdam! OK, the location was great, a few steps from Sol metro station and all the other criteria were very good but it was the blast of hot water that was of a different order.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room overlooked a pizza place, which was noisy on Saturday night. But everywhere in the heart of the historic district is noisy on Saturday night!

    Beautiful large twin bed room. The bathroom was huge with an excellent shower. Wifi connection excellent. Hosts extremely welcoming and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment door on ground floor is a bit hard to open.

    Staff is very friendly and accomodating. The extra efforts they put in making my bed looks pretty and comfortable though the room is a bit small.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room was far to small for two people very dated and the view from the window was abrick wall so much for the street view we were promised definately wouldnt recomend this hostel to anyone much preferred hostel mayor

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fire plan, no fire detectors, a real hazardous property. Very noisy from street activities thru to early morning;noise between adjoining rooms unsatisfactory.

    The location was the only plus for this run down hostal

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet flush and the faucet fixtures were loose.

    I asked for a quiet room and ended up with an interior room that had almost no light coming in from the single window, but it was perfect because it was very quiet and I slept for 12 hours after a long flight which I've not done in many years (I'm a 5 or 6 hour a night person.)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls were a little thin so you could often hear other people. The bathroom was very mini.

    The location was great, right near the Sol Metro stop and great shopping. The staff were great and they allowed us to store our bag when we got in before check in and left after check out

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy at night from the restaurants and bars. Shower very small .

    Cute building , little balcony with shutters . Air conditioner. Close to everything , including tourist office and bus , close to metro. Museums walkable. Staff helpful and courteous. Rooms private.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    The Hostel is right at the city center you can walk everywhere. Ely at the reception is delightful, she gave me lots of tips on places to visit, shop and eat. Ely if you are reading this , it was a pleasure meeting you and hope to see her again soon :). Its a very nice, cozy and homely hostel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A very small bathroom, room with less charm and comfort than expected, a bit pricey everything considered.

    Friendly staff, great location, elevator, (small) balcony.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really nice place, right in the center of the city, 5 minutes from the metro station. Wonderful historical building, very beautiful. Clean, comfortable, quiet at night. Perfect staff, helped with navigation very much. Have already recommended it to some of my friends.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    A very neat and tidy hotel with excellent staff. I needed an electric kettle for hot water and was given one immediately. They also held my luggage on the last day as my bus was not leaving until later in the day. The Shower was very good and a comfortable bed. Although not overly glamorous, the hotel was very clean and in the perfect location close to all atttactions and transport lines. Placa Mayor is right around the corner and plenty of shops and restaurants at your fingertips.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entire hostel lacks space, it is of very minimal dimensions, especially bathrooms and toilets. You will definitely not have urge to sing under the shower....

    Staff was very helpful in identifying a suitable room for myself, since the one I got assigned was super small and I could not fit in it.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the street at night. But in this location I suppose that street noise is inevitable...

    Great location in the heart of Madrid. So close and connected to everywhere by walking, metro/uber. Friendly staff. 24hrs reception. Good free wifi. Clean and modern room with AC and a balcony. Was thankful of the elevator (as I had a big bag). I will be back for sure!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was at room 7 near reception and it was quite noisy especially in the evening.

    very friendly staff especially Ella, she is always smiling and so helpful. She suggest me to visit some places and the choice was brilliant.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really nice, helpful and friendly staff, the room was super clean and tidy, had everything needed and was located in a great and super central area of Madrid. A bonus was having a cute balcony in the room overlooking the street, which I wasn't expecting to have. I really have nothing negative to say about my stay, loved it (and the city)!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really good price for such and amazing location. These homely rooms are right at the center of all the main tourist attractions and a metro station is almost right around the corner. The staff is really friendly and speak good English. No breakfast is offered but really good options are only a short walk from there.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The interior of the room looks cheap, but it is still well- maintained.

    As central as you can can. Hygiene is perfect. Staff are very friendly. The price is good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pillow is not confortable to sleep on

    The staffs are friendly. The room is big enough for one persone with enough accessories. The hostel is located in the center of the city so it's easy to go around

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Size of bathroom/shower. For young people shouldn't be a problem, older people like my mother had to make an extra effort (but she made it in and out every time!). Beds in our room were kind of stiff, but that is again a personal matter.

    Location is unbeatable, all main sights and tons of shopping and eating just around the corner. Staff is friendly and helpful. Aircondition worked properly. Elevator helped with luggage

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Two keys per double room would be more convenient. But leaving the key at reception is not a problem, of course.

    Friendly and helpful staff, fluent in English. Didn't expect anything more for this price.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, friendly staff, rooms are clean and have AC (a must have in summer in Madrid). The building has a lift (elevator) and there are plenty of eating options around. It is only 10 minute walk from Plaza Mayor and Mercado San Miguel.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location is perfect, the place is exactly in the heart of Madrid. Also, the staff spoke very good English, was super helpful and accommodating. If I come to Madrid, I will stay at this hostal again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There's nothing I didn't like, but maybe a little fridge in the room will be nice to have.

    All good, the staff excellent, clean, cosy, erco, location and money value. Will be back!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great, had a slight bother with the shower head to stay up however I wasn't too fussed and I am sure the staff would have helped.

    The old building had character and the modern furnishing made it feel new and clean. Location was the best I could ask for and the staff were very helpful, especially when I asked to leave my bags after checking out.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is tiny. If the window is kept open, it can be noisy with restaurants close by on the street.

    Location is great, close to major attractions and Metro. The staff is very friendly, luggage can be stored before check-in and after checkout. The air conditioning works well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice location , nice price and all the stuff in the hostel were friendly and passionate ! It's an amazing hostel ! They helped us a lot in these days 😃 I have booked so many rooms through booking . Com but it's my first time to comment and recommend , cuz it's too PERFECT ! Don't miss it if u come to Madrid 😃 Sincerely recommend from Taiwanese girls 👌🏻👌🏻👌🏻 超推 超讚

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the hotel is quite old (our room was on the 2nd floor which was in fact another hostel. Hostal Nuestra Señora de la Paloma is on the 3rd floor. Didn't see the rooms over there so I cannot compare).

    - the location between Plaza del Sol and Plaza Mayor - the very friendly staff

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had a late flight to Madrid so I really appreciated the 24/7 reception. The staff were extremely friendly and Oscar had even put the air conditioning on in my room before I arrived to make sure I can get some much needed sleep despite the summer heat in Madrid.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes the street noise penetrated up and into the room.

    Very friendly staff. They went out of their way to accommodate me in several different ways. And they had detailed answers for all my sightseeing questions. Location was excellent with what just might be the world's best pastry shop right around the corner. And who can't love a place to stay that greets you with treats on your bed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noises at night (which are inevitable given its central location), but not at an unreasonable level especially if you have ear plugs. TV signals are extremely bad, making the TV in the room practically useless.

    Central location; nice and knowledgeable reception staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It wasn't a huge room but the price for a big city like Madrid still made it a great value. There is so much to do in Madrid, we didn't spend all that much time in the room anyway. With the location, you could take a short siesta without losing any time whatsoever.

    Super helpful and friendly staff. Great location right in the center, close to sights and tons of restaurants yet quiet especially considering how bustling it was just a few steps away.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I came here for the second time. I reserved here because the room was very comfortable. I arrived and was given a "similar" room that was small and much lower category. I was angry. The next day they gave me a better room with a smile, and everything was in order. Sometimes Administrators do not take care of the details, so they need to be remembered what quality service means - and they do understand it very fast. This place has excelent service and cleaning, only the administration needs to be a little bit more carefull.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is excellent, extremely helpful, responsive and kind-hearted (thank you, Georgina , for your great help with our problems) Everything is immaculate and tidy . Location is very convenient . There is a lift. The complementary chocolates were a pleasure ))

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. If I really need to pick up something I would say the small common space and the noisy neighborhood. But it's understandable considering the hostal is located in Sol -- the heart of Madrid.

    Location! >> Perfect. Super close to Sol where you can find anything: cafes, restaurants, supermarkets, shops, metro and even post offices. Staff! >> Also perfect. They are very friendly, considerate and helpful. I arrived early and exhausted in the morning because of my flight. The reception lady just offered me an early check-in for free and thus I had a good rest. Thanks to her! Others >> It's clean and well-equipped. The staff even made the towels into creative shapes such as windmill. (I love it!)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom in our room was very small, but for the price and to have a private bathroom, this was not an issue.

    A great price for a hostel in such a central location in Madrid. The room was clean, the desk staff was very nice and helpful, and it is 3 floors up in an already quiet area. We had a private room with a full bed and a twin bed. It was only two of us and it worked great. The room was on the corner with lots of windows and a small balcony, a great way to start each day in Madrid.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed. Unprofessional staff. Staff demanded a 10 review on booking.com 3 times - once in person & then in 2 follow-up emails.

    Location is perfect.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room had a pregnant smell of mold and also we could hear from our room every noise from the neighbours or from outside.

    The location was great and the staff was nice and frendly and give us turistic directions for the city center.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing that staff could control . My friend found it noisy at night, but that is due to the location. Considering the age of the building, everything functions well.

    Superb staff, cleanliness, location, price, elevator

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At times, it was loud outside the building during the early morning hours, but I guess this is the price you pay if you want to stay in the centre of Madrid. The shower cabin was a bit small but manageable.

    The rooms were very clean and airy (large fully openable windows). The bed was comfy. I loved my small balcony with a view of the city. The property is right in the centre of Madrid. The staff (Ely especially) were extremely friendly and helpful. When I had an issue with my shower, it was looked into on the same day (didn't have to chase).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    All was good, no suggestions.

    Very, very clean room with extra touches such as a few welcoming candies, lots of soap and shower gel. Crisp, clean sheets and comfy bed. Friendly and welcoming staff also make a big difference, especially when you've traveled far and are tired.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bathroom was a little tired and needing refurbished but clean enough. Our room was above street so fairly noisy at night.

    Ideal spot for visiting tourist areas of central madrid. Very helpful & pleasant staff. Room had all requirements. Plenty of places to eat or sit with drinks nearby.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are rather thin and noisy although we as deep sleepers didn't really mind. The room sometimes smelt a little like sewer but when we open the window and let the air in, it went away quickly.

    Very tidy and clean rooms with great staffs who were always willing to help us out! Superb location; metro and taxi line was just few minutes walk, needless to mention major plazas and markets.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We like everything

    1) location is superb 2) Staff are so nice and friendly, very helpful 3) great value for many which make this hostel very busy and I was so lucky to get the last room 4) The in charge lady Elle is the one who make us happy there , w felt at home in responding to all of our requests even advices

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noisy tourist-neighbors discussing in the middle of the night. And the presence of a luggage stool in the room would be handy.

    Very friendly and accommodating lady at the desk. Sober but clean rooms and good bed. Charming "bird-towels" on the bed as a welcome. Excellent location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant under the flat is a little bit noisy.

    Everything was good. The room is small, but enough. The hostel is absolutly in the citycenter, everything is close.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is old and needs renovation. Bathroom is too tiny.

    The location is perfect. Plaza Major and Sol are within walking distance. You can also find many restaurants, shops, bars and 24 hour shops.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    To be able to make hot drink (tea) would be nice.

    Very good quality hostal, room more like hotel quality to me. Great location, friendly staff, short walk to metro, fairly quite street, Call Mayor just minutes away, really right in the centre of where you would want to be as first time visitor.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Travelled with spouse & 6 year old daughter.loved the location, staff is outstanding - both Elle & Oscar were courteous and extremely efficient. WiFi is good and overall a very clean place. We loved it and will return. Cheers Subeer

    Stayed in March 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal A Nuestra Senora de La Paloma traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: